Recommend to me some training materials for understanding DSLR cameras

Started Dec 2, 2009 | Discussions
Garet Jax New Member • Posts: 11
Recommend to me some training materials for understanding DSLR cameras

Hello all,

I am a rank beginner with DSLR cameras and with advanced photography in general. I have recently put an order in for a Canon T1i kit with a 55-200mm lense. Please point me to some training materials:

1) Books
2) Videos
3) CBTs
4) Online courses
5) Websites/Threads

to help me start learning to take better pictures and also to effectively use the camera.

Thanks a lot.

Mike_PEAT Forum Pro • Posts: 12,846
All of the above. Seriously...

Garet Jax wrote:

3) CBTs

What's this?

to help me start learning to take better pictures and also to effectively use the camera.

All the materials you've listed are a good for learning. I suggest starting at your public library and see what they have (they may even have videos).

Can't really suggest titles (if that's what you were looking for) because there are tons out there and everyone learns differently. I could give you titles like "Complete Photography Course" or "dSLRs for Dummies" but those would be obvious.

There's four basic levels (actually a lot more but to keep it simple:

• basics of exposure (shutter speed, aperture, ISO, etc.)

• learning the controls of your particular camera (you may find a book for your particular camera)

• learning to see

• being creative (more advanced)

There's also camera clubs, meetup groups that you can join where you hang out with fellow photographers.

Rakumi Veteran Member • Posts: 6,232
Start wtih your manual....