Tired of SDM problems on my 3 DA* SDM lenses...

Started Sep 10, 2009 | Discussions
gerard boulanger Senior Member • Posts: 2,262
Tired of SDM problems on my 3 DA* SDM lenses...

Bought a K20D 15 months ago, then the 16-50, 50-135 and 300, all DA*, SDM, and not cheap.

I am not a pro, therefore I do not need my gear every single day, but I shoot at least once a week and more during weekends or vacations.

All my lenses gave me problems with SDM, all of them. The bad news is we can't even use them with the screw drive!

I spent $1,100 on the body and almost $2,500 on the lenses, I also bought the 540 flash unit a few months ago.

SDM is totally unpredictable. it works 1 time out of 5 and oblige me to use manual focus, so why ay for SDM.

They are out of warranty and I don't think I will spend 3 times $250 for repair and still doubt about it... I am the kind guy who keep lenses forever usually, but right now, I am almost ready to sell the whole thing for a good price and start from scratch.
If I do, I don't think I will stay with Pentax.

I love the K20D and was thinking of a K7 soon, but I won't...

There is no need to say which brand I might go for.\

I am extremely disappointed by Pentax and its SDM lenses.

-- hide signature --

Shooting in JPEG is like taking your roll of film to the store to be processed, and when
you get your prints, throwing away the negatives...

gerard boulanger's gear list:gerard boulanger's gear list
Fujifilm X-Pro1 Fujifilm XF 18mm F2 R Fujifilm XF 35mm F1.4 R Fujifilm XF 60mm F2.4 R Macro Fujifilm XF 27mm F2.8
falcon_wizard Regular Member • Posts: 316
Re: Tired of SDM problems on my 3 DA* SDM lenses...