K7 am I'm missing something about the IQ!

Started Jul 29, 2009 | Discussions
Rodney Hobbs Junior Member • Posts: 40
K7 am I'm missing something about the IQ!

Hi All,

I was very interested in switching over to Pentax and the new K7 the key reason to investigate this was to use the great Pentax primes on a small well built body with good IQ. Well I had the opportunity to test a K7 today with a great DA35 macro and the results are very poor due to the level of noise! Now I am a professional photographer and have experience on many systems and I was not thinking that the IQ would be the same as my D3 but I think that it is fair to expect that the noise should be very reasonable at 400 and 800.

I just find the type and style to be very objectionable. I very much want to know if I have missed anything?

I have just tired the sample files in LR2 and they seem a little better.

Regards

viking79
viking79 Forum Pro • Posts: 14,156
Re: K7 am I'm missing something about the IQ!

Rodney Hobbs wrote:

Hi All,

I was very interested in switching over to Pentax and the new K7 the key reason to investigate this was to use the great Pentax primes on a small well built body with good IQ. Well I had the opportunity to test a K7 today with a great DA35 macro and the results are very poor due to the level of noise! Now I am a professional photographer and have experience on many systems and I was not thinking that the IQ would be the same as my D3 but I think that it is fair to expect that the noise should be very reasonable at 400 and 800.

It should be about 2 stops or more behind your D3, I imagine. ISO 3200 on the D3 might be about the same as 800 on the K-7 or slightly better. There is another fellow on here, user Duplo, that uses the D3 along with the K-7.

See his evaluation here:
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1036&message=32484668