Windows Basic or Premium?

Started Feb 8, 2009 | Discussions
Johnny B Regular Member • Posts: 373
Windows Basic or Premium?

Hey Mac folks,

I am in the process of setting up my Macbook to run Windows. I haven't done it before so I have several questions.

The first one is, do I buy Windows Vista Basic or Premium? (I'm assuming Vista is the way to go, despite the reported problems I've read about.) I don't know what Premium provides that Basic doesn't, and I don't know if it'll matter.

I want to run a GIS (geographic infor systems) software app on it.

I've got Bootcamp, and I've got Parallels. I have little experience with either, though I have booted up into Windows using Bootcamp. Is running Parallels worth the learning curve?

Thanks for the assistance!

Abbott Schindler Senior Member • Posts: 2,672
Re: Windows Basic or Premium?

Best bet, I think, would be to get VMware or Parallels and transfer your current PC image to a virtual machine (both VMware and Parallels give instructions for this, I believe). I'm assuming, of course, that you already have a Windows box. Otherwise...

If you can find a copy, buy XP.

If you can't find a copy and can afford to wait a bit, wait for Windows 7 (preferably SP1).

If you must buy now, go to MS web site or do a bit of research online and decide which version makes the most sense to you. I suspect you'll want one of the higher (more expensive) versions of Vista. I personally have been fortunate enough to not need to run Vista; I bought a copy of XP Pro before they were discontinued. XP Pro works great on VMware.

Learning curve???

I'm running VMware, and coworkers tell me that wrt learning curve, Parallels is similar.

On VMware there's no real learning curve. Setup was a snap. When you're running Windows from a virtual machine, you're just running Windows. You tell Parallels how to configure your machine (cores, memory allocation, shared folders, etc.) and you're done. Nothing really to learn.