forthcoming D3X pro review

Started Feb 5, 2009 | Discussions
dchphoto Regular Member • Posts: 381
forthcoming D3X pro review

This forum has been a great help to me over the years. As a "thank you" to Dpreview, I am going to post my review of the D3x I have had for two weeks from the perspective of a portrait/wedding photographer. I have discovered some surprising findings not mentioned in other reviews. I will post my findings first and then follow up with posting the relevant files. Can anyone recommend the best free hosting site that I could post NEF and 100% crops and such?

First, about me. I am a full time wedding/portrait photographer who was happy using an S5 until clients started wanting huge images. My site is at http://www.harrislightcraft.com . The s5 cannot keep up past 24x30 with perfect technique at base iso. I bought a d700 in October but was skeptical I would see any real improvement since people on the s5 forum were warm to the d700 and a couple even went back to the s5. When I got the d700, I loaded up "portrait" mode and shot some tests. The difference in the quality of the files is simply shocking. Retouching at 100% at any ISO over 200 on the S5 is no fun and quite a challenge. With the d700 it is simple even at 200%. I do not see any practical difference in DR between the two cameras.