Hints for Running Dog Shots

Started Jan 14, 2009 | Discussions
bobkeenan
bobkeenan Contributing Member • Posts: 714
Hints for Running Dog Shots

I am new to my Rebel XS. Sunday was a bright day and we went to the park. I had a 18-55mm IS lens. I probably had it around 35mm. I was shooting in P at an ISO of 100. I tried the AF servo both off then on. I had just the single center point focus. I had the continuous shooting selected. I focused on my dog from a distance, started taking shots while I commanded him to come.

He did a great job of achieving all sorts of dynamic dog in motion poses as he approached me. I managed to get all of the photos either out of focus or not a fast enough shutter speed. And I mean about 8 attempts at about 10 shots each.

What would have been some good settings so I can try this again?

Thanks

bobkeenan's gear list:bobkeenan's gear list
Sony RX100 III Canon EOS 5D Mark II Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Canon EF 17-40mm f/4.0L USM Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM +3 more
sbphotography Regular Member • Posts: 204
Re: Hints for Running Dog Shots

if you have your dog running toward the camera, try shooting in shutter priority (TV) mode and use a shutter speed of between 1/500 to 1/750

(P) program mode is basically auto mode with some manual features. it will set the aperture & shutter speed according to what the meter reading is.

But, since shutter speed takes priority in this case over aperture, it's best to shoot in (TV) shutter priority mode, set the speed you need for your situation and the meter will tell the camera what aperture to set. in the case that the light situation is very overcast, there may not be enough light to shoot at fast enough speeds to freeze motion without the use of a flash.