Basic Storage and External Drive Q's

Started Jan 5, 2009 | Discussions
jaydubbs15 Contributing Member • Posts: 614
Basic Storage and External Drive Q's

I am a complete photography newbie. Bought a 40D 6 months ago and an LX3 recently. I am concerned that my computer will not be able to retain all of the photo's I am uploading over the past 6 months of my newborn son's life. I don't know the best way to safely store my photo's and that's why I'm writing this post.

I have an 8 year old Dell Dimension XPS (Pentium III 256K, 128 MB RAM, 20.4 GB Ultra ATA hard-drive, 12X Max DVD-ROM (read only.))

What are the basics for secure photo storage?

I assume burning the photo's onto CD's/DVD's is in order, which would require a CD/DVD burner. A Dell rep offered to sell me a SONY read & write external USB DVD drive (5X DVD RAM, 8X DVD ROM), high speed USB power-burning for $92. Is that a good model and price and is that what I need?

I also assume that I should choose a web-based photo storage site, like Smugmug.

Should I consider doing anything else? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Jay

ojohn Senior Member • Posts: 1,137
Re: Basic Storage and External Drive Q's

The simplest way is to use TWO external USB drives. Keep complete copies of everything on both.

The free program TeraCopy will copy whole directories, and ask if you wish to skip or overwrite files that already exist. Skip is fine.

You can copy your new pictures to one drive, then manually start TeraCopy to copy the whole photo images directory over, skipping older files that already were copied over.

But keep TWO complete copies of everything on hard drives, you really, really, don't want to lose anything.

DVDRs or CDRs cannot be trusted to be readable after a few years.

A hard drive WILL fail sometime. With two USB hard drives, WHEN one fails, just get another and copy everything over again to keep two full copies.

This is essentially what I do or how I started.