4/3 has no focal length advantage-correct him if he is wrong

Started Nov 15, 2008 | Discussions
clevechan Forum Member • Posts: 53
4/3 has no focal length advantage-correct him if he is wrong

A friend using Nikon FF told me recently that the E520 system I am using has no focal length advantage when he saw me happily snapping away with my 50-200swd toy.

According to him, when I say my 50-200 is equivalent to 100-400, it only means the field of view is equivalent to his FF 100-400 but the focal length is still 50-200mm, therefore, all the rhetoric about 4/3 size advantage is bs.

As I am new to photography, and too embarrass to attempt to reply to his remark, could someone here explain to me in more details what he meant and whether he is right?

Regards

Cleve

frieder schnabel Contributing Member • Posts: 889
you are right

there is a 2x ratio for the Olympus because of the size of the sensor. He has full frame with higher resolution, but the 50-200 is the same as his 100-200.

-- hide signature --

waterlike

Akemi Contributing Member • Posts: 789
Re: 4/3 has no focal length advantage-correct him if he is wrong

He is right. It is a 50-200mm lens with a field of view of 100-400mm.

Kikl Contributing Member • Posts: 986

clevechan wrote:

A friend using Nikon FF told me recently that the E520 system I am
using has no focal length advantage when he saw me happily snapping
away with my 50-200swd toy.

According to him, when I say my 50-200 is equivalent to 100-400, it
only means the field of view is equivalent to his FF 100-400 but the
focal length is still 50-200mm, therefore, all the rhetoric about 4/3
size advantage is bs.

As I am new to photography, and too embarrass to attempt to reply to
his remark, could someone here explain to me in more details what he
meant and whether he is right?

Regards

Cleve