open message to canon exec about 5d AF

Started Oct 7, 2008 | Discussions
ben ob
ben ob Regular Member • Posts: 348
open message to canon exec about 5d AF

hello all

before you start with the T word, i would like to assure you that i DO have a 5d; and that, in many many ways, i have loved having it and using it to take photos (which is how i make my living)

HOWEVER:

the first time i used it for work, i did something i had often done with my old film camera (an eos30; and before that an eos 300)

i asked my models (well, actually, a bunch of thai air flight attendants to be exact) to walk away from the camera and then walk back again. 15 metres in each direction, me lying on the floor to be assured of steadiness

the camera was set on all the allfocuspoints setting (ie. it would choose whichever one happened to be closest, right..?) and the focus was on the servo mode which is meant to track incoming or outgoing subjects

frankly, i was AMAZED / flabergasted / extremely disappointed by how few of the shots were in focus - bearing in mind that i was comparing the 5d to my previous high end amateur film body and, before that, my entry level amateur body

a little bit of of the problem seemed to be that the points weren't spread out enough, but also, the bulk of the problem seemed to be that the camera much preferred to focus on ANYTHING ENORMOUS that wasn't moving in the background (in this case, the wall 70 metres behind the girls)

since that initial shoot, and after lots of tests and similarly disappointing experiences, i have now pretty much given up even attempting basic tracking shots with the 5d; and i have also LOST lots and lots of shots with a wide angle lens and a person who is off centre but apparently covered by one of the outer focus points (unless i select it specifically, which is a bit hard when you hand hold and take photos of people framed differently at great speed)