16-85 lacks sharpness

Started Sep 16, 2008 | Discussions
David Mitchell Forum Member • Posts: 99
16-85 lacks sharpness

I've had the 16-85 VR for a few months now and whilst initially impressed, I am now increasingly finding that most pictures taken with it seem to lack real sharpness. Since I'm still pretty new at this, I'd welcome some more opinions on the subject - is there an issue or am I simply being too fussy.

All photos were taken with a D40x & 16-85 and have had no PP. The colours are a bit off because i forgot to set the white balance correctly.

http://gallery.me.com/david.mitchell

mecc Regular Member • Posts: 121
Re: 16-85 lacks sharpness

Your apertures are not noted in exif data, but judging from the high iso's and low shutter speeds, I would guess you had lens stopped way down. My 16-85 is razor sharp @ f4.5-f11 up to about 70mm. Extended to 85mm, I ususally use f8-f11. It can go a bit soft when stopped way down past f16. Try shooting in A mode @ wider aperture & lower iso w/ VR on and see if this helps.

BasilG Veteran Member • Posts: 8,668

At this size, nobody can tell you much about sharpness. You need to post crops.

Other than that, most, if not all, lenses require some sharpening in PP.

BG

jfk Veteran Member • Posts: 3,068

I find this lens to be quite sharp!

One thing I noticed on many of your shots is the low aperture setting. Try using a higher setting. f/6.3 to f/8 on many of the outside shots should yield sharper pics.

In PP, you probably need to add some unsharp mask because Nikon seems to be rather conservative with in-camera sharpening.
jk

PhotoGo Senior Member • Posts: 1,688

Yes, your images look a bit soft.
At what F/stop did you shoot them?
Also can you post 100% crops at their focus points?

If you want a really sharp lens consider the 17-55, the 24-70, the 70-200 or some of Nikon's primes.