How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

Started Aug 9, 2008 | Discussions
Kyle Coburn Forum Member • Posts: 74
How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

I am a mac person, but I am using a pc to try to use this d700tod3 program on my d700 nefs. I cant figure out how to use it for more than one file at once?

It works great on a single file at a time, but how do Iprocess a whole folder?

I have about 600 d700 NEF files in a folder, how do I make this program batch them?

phila_guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,360
Re: How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ . There's mac and PC versions

Make duplicates of the NEF files you want to convert in case I muck this up**

Launch Terminal on the mac and in the window, type the following:
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" where the files you want to convert are

so for example I have a folder of duplicate NEFs called "bogus_nefs" in my home directory

I would use
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" bogus_nefs/ nef

the above command will convert all the files with names ending in nef inside bogus_nefs to say that they were made with a Nikon D3 camera. The NIKON D3 has to be in quotes, otherwise you just get NIKON. This assumes that whatever RAW converter you're using can be easily fooled by lying about what camera took the picture. Exiftool does save the unmodified file as filename_original

Kyle Coburn wrote:

I am a mac person, but I am using a pc to try to use this d700tod3
program on my d700 nefs. I cant figure out how to use it for more
than one file at once?

It works great on a single file at a time, but how do Iprocess a
whole folder?

I have about 600 d700 NEF files in a folder, how do I make this
program batch them?

OP Kyle Coburn Forum Member • Posts: 74
WOW, Thanks!

WOW thank you so much, I did have one problem, the extension needed to be in CAPS .NEF

I owe you lunch, call me if you are ever in Dallas!

frankjoke Regular Member • Posts: 110
Re: How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

I use FastStone image viewer http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

You can installs programs (Settings/Programs) and if you install D700TOD3 there and select multiple NEF's and run it it will be executed for each file.

p.s.: I use FastStone also to import the files from CF card into a directory structure with Year/Month/Date...
--
Greetings
Franz
An amateur using a D300 with several nice Nikon lenses (also one Tokina 12-24)
http://einscherz.smugmug.com/

 frankjoke's gear list:frankjoke's gear list
Nikon D800
phila_guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,360
Re: How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

just a refinement of the command line, one that does not require making duplicates of the original NEFs and does not generate the original files

make a folder where the modified files will go, e.g. modified_nefs

the new command is:
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" -o modified_nefs original_nefs/ NEF

the -o followed by the folder name tells exiftool to output the hacked files to modified_nefs, the original files will be left untouched inside the original_nefs folder.

As for the NEF suffix, check the file names as to whether they come across from the camera as lower or upper case. The mac seems to favor upper case but linux uses lower case.

For the mac, if you're using external or network shared drives, you can point to a directory on an external drive using volumes/drivename/foldername. If you have spaces on your drivename or foldername, you have to enclose the whole thing in quotes, e.g. " volumes/My External Drive/Opus Magnum/" NEF

see the exiftool documentation
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/exiftool_pod.html

phila_guy wrote:
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ . There's mac and PC
versions

Make duplicates of the NEF files you want to convert in case I muck
this up**

Launch Terminal on the mac and in the window, type the following:
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" where the files you want to convert are

so for example I have a folder of duplicate NEFs called "bogus_nefs"
in my home directory

I would use
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" bogus_nefs/ nef

the above command will convert all the files with names ending in nef
inside bogus_nefs to say that they were made with a Nikon D3 camera.
The NIKON D3 has to be in quotes, otherwise you just get NIKON. This
assumes that whatever RAW converter you're using can be easily fooled
by lying about what camera took the picture. Exiftool does save the
unmodified file as filename_original

Kyle Coburn wrote:

I am a mac person, but I am using a pc to try to use this d700tod3
program on my d700 nefs. I cant figure out how to use it for more
than one file at once?

It works great on a single file at a time, but how do Iprocess a
whole folder?

I have about 600 d700 NEF files in a folder, how do I make this
program batch them?

mas54 Junior Member • Posts: 25
Re: How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

So, where do I find this command line? What program?

Michael

 mas54's gear list:mas54's gear list
Ricoh GR Digital Fujifilm X100S Nikon D800E +2 more
phila_guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,360
Re: How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

this is the program
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/

If you're in a mac, launch Terminal and type the commands, changing them to your directory names.

dunno what the windows equivalent is called..

there are GUI front ends for doing the same thing. Look in Related Utilities for a list at the page above

mas54 wrote:

So, where do I find this command line? What program?

Michael

DaveEmtb Contributing Member • Posts: 546
Re: How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

Many thanks for the info. I really need to perform this operation on a mac too. Unfortunately that website seems to have been down for at least the last 24 hours Does anyone know of a mirror, or could someone email a copy to me?

Thanks,

Dave

phila_guy wrote:
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ . There's mac and PC
versions

Make duplicates of the NEF files you want to convert in case I muck
this up**

Launch Terminal on the mac and in the window, type the following:
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" where the files you want to convert are

so for example I have a folder of duplicate NEFs called "bogus_nefs"
in my home directory

I would use
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" bogus_nefs/ nef

the above command will convert all the files with names ending in nef
inside bogus_nefs to say that they were made with a Nikon D3 camera.
The NIKON D3 has to be in quotes, otherwise you just get NIKON. This
assumes that whatever RAW converter you're using can be easily fooled
by lying about what camera took the picture. Exiftool does save the
unmodified file as filename_original

Kyle Coburn wrote:

I am a mac person, but I am using a pc to try to use this d700tod3
program on my d700 nefs. I cant figure out how to use it for more
than one file at once?

It works great on a single file at a time, but how do Iprocess a
whole folder?

I have about 600 d700 NEF files in a folder, how do I make this
program batch them?

DaveEmtb Contributing Member • Posts: 546
Re: How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

I gather it's free software, so if someone has a copy and can pop it on some webspace, thre shouldn't be any icence/copyright issues. You might want to check the documentation though!

Thanks,

Dave

DaveEmtb wrote:
Many thanks for the info. I really need to perform this operation on
a mac too. Unfortunately that website seems to have been down for at
least the last 24 hours Does anyone know of a mirror, or could
someone email a copy to me?

Thanks,

Dave

phila_guy wrote:
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ . There's mac and PC
versions

Make duplicates of the NEF files you want to convert in case I muck
this up**

Launch Terminal on the mac and in the window, type the following:
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" where the files you want to convert are

so for example I have a folder of duplicate NEFs called "bogus_nefs"
in my home directory

I would use
exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" bogus_nefs/ nef

the above command will convert all the files with names ending in nef
inside bogus_nefs to say that they were made with a Nikon D3 camera.
The NIKON D3 has to be in quotes, otherwise you just get NIKON. This
assumes that whatever RAW converter you're using can be easily fooled
by lying about what camera took the picture. Exiftool does save the
unmodified file as filename_original

Kyle Coburn wrote:

I am a mac person, but I am using a pc to try to use this d700tod3
program on my d700 nefs. I cant figure out how to use it for more
than one file at once?

It works great on a single file at a time, but how do Iprocess a
whole folder?

I have about 600 d700 NEF files in a folder, how do I make this
program batch them?

phila_guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,360
Re: How do I batch process with D700TOD3 ????

DaveEmtb wrote:

Many thanks for the info. I really need to perform this operation on a mac too. > Unfortunately that website seems to have been down for at least the last 24 hours > Does anyone know of a mirror, or could someone email a copy to me?

if you need to installl Exiftool ASAP, its included in this GUI for it.

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25847/setexifdata
http://www.macupdate.com/download.php/25847/SetEXIFData.dmg

Once you have the dmg mounted on the desktop, you'll see ExifTool-7.25.dmg. Double click on that and you'll get the Exiftool installer

phila_guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,360
Exiftool Site is Back Online, Sept 15, 2008 11:24 EST

http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/

latest version for MacOS X is 7.42
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ExifTool-7.42.dmg

-- hide signature --

We have art that we do not die of the truth.
--Friedrich Nietzsche

DaveEmtb Contributing Member • Posts: 546
Re: Exiftool Site is Back Online, Sept 15, 2008 11:24 EST

Many thanks, got it now! Wonder what was up with the site before...

Ta,

Dave

phila_guy wrote:

http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/

latest version for MacOS X is 7.42
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ExifTool-7.42.dmg

DaveEmtb Contributing Member • Posts: 546
Re: Exiftool Site is Back Online, Sept 15, 2008 11:24 EST

Got them imported into lightroom now after a bit of faffing around.

This makes me really mad - there's clearly no technical reason to stop Lightroom 1, Capture NX 1 or Aperture 1 from reading D700 files, and I object to paying £100 to get a version of software that doesn't complain about 4 hex characters!! I think it's debatable whether the other new features are really worth that much money, too.

Grrr!

Thanks for everyone's help with this, anyway!

Dave

DaveEmtb wrote:
Many thanks, got it now! Wonder what was up with the site before...

Ta,

Dave

phila_guy wrote:

http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/

latest version for MacOS X is 7.42
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ExifTool-7.42.dmg

DaveEmtb Contributing Member • Posts: 546
correction to command line command

For those trying to do this, it seem on a mac that you need to go to the directory containing the NEF files, and enter: exiftool -Model="NIKON D3" .NEF

I couldn't get the instructions above to work where the path to the files is in the command entered.

patrickhall Senior Member • Posts: 1,180
Re: correction to command line command

Okay I am about to lose my mind with this. I downloaded both the executable and the full version for windows and installed some Activeperl program which I have no clue what it does.

When I click on the exe file (exiftool(-k).exe), it says

" Syntax: exiftool [OPTIONS] FILE

Consult the exiftool documentation for a full list of options.
-- press any key --"

and everytime I press anything, the program just closes. If I drag a file onto the exe, it does show all the metatag information but I don't see how I can edit this.

I'm so frustrated that I have to do some crazy hack to open my D700 files in NX. I'm about ready to just buy NX2 but I know they'll have a new version for the D3x in a few months and my purchase will be wasted. I don't see why they make using Nikon RAW files so hard!

Can anyone help me with this exiftool program? I can't believe the quotes people are saying about this program when it looks like it's a DOS based program with prompts! I'm on Windows Vista by the way
--
http://www.patrickhallphotography.com

phila_guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,360
Try this GUI frontend

http://freeweb.siol.net/hrastni3/

there are other GUIs on this link
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/#links

patrickhall wrote:

Okay I am about to lose my mind with this. I downloaded both the
executable and the full version for windows and installed some
Activeperl program which I have no clue what it does.

exiftool is written in Perl, it's a programming/scripting language. You need Activeperl
to run exiftool.

When I click on the exe file (exiftool(-k).exe), it says

" Syntax: exiftool [OPTIONS] FILE

Consult the exiftool documentation for a full list of options.
-- press any key --"

and everytime I press anything, the program just closes. If I drag a
file onto the exe, it does show all the metatag information but I
don't see how I can edit this.

I'm not on a Windows machine, but if you check the exiftool page, it suggests renaming the file you downloaded from exiftool(-k).exe to exiftool.exe and run it as a command line tool
http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/exiftool_pod.html

I'm so frustrated that I have to do some crazy hack to open my D700
files in NX. I'm about ready to just buy NX2 but I know they'll have
a new version for the D3x in a few months and my purchase will be
wasted. I don't see why they make using Nikon RAW files so hard!

Can anyone help me with this exiftool program? I can't believe the
quotes people are saying about this program when it looks like it's a
DOS based program with prompts! I'm on Windows Vista by the way

Yes, it is a DOS program (actually ported from unix) with prompts (that's what I mean when I write command line tool).

phila_guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,360
Re: correction to command line command

DaveEmtb wrote:

For those trying to do this, it seem on a mac that you need to go to
the directory containing the NEF files, and enter: exiftool
-Model="NIKON D3" .NEF

I couldn't get the instructions above to work where the path to the
files is in the command entered.

sorry you're having trouble but I've used exiftool to update the metadata on Photomatix tonemapped images which I imported into Hugin to make a panorama. Photomatix doesn't put in the focal length multiplier (which Hugin needs) when it writes the exif metadata. Note the quotation marks on the directory paths that have spaces on them. The files were on an external firewire drive BTW.

e.g.

exiftool -overwrite_original_in_place -FocalLengthIn35mmFormat=36 " volumes/firewire/pano/boathouse/dsc_1672 - Version 2And2more_tonemapped.tif" " volumes/firewire/pano/boathouse/dsc_1673 - Version 2And2more_tonemapped.tif"

Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads