Another help with tripod thread

Started May 22, 2008 | Discussions
monkeyrpn Regular Member • Posts: 106
Another help with tripod thread

Hi all,

I'm a new S5Pro owner~ I need help with picking out a tripod for the new camera. I have no experience with buying tripods for cameras of this calibre... I used to use a cheap $20 tripod for my old s6000fd (which works great!). I'm unsure that tripod can hold the weight of the S5Pro... it's about 3 lbs with the Sigma 18-200mm attached to it.

I've search the forum.. and many talks about tripod brands like Gitzo, Bogen, etc... but I looked at these on B&H and they're really pricey! Can anyone recommend any lower priced tripod suitable for my needs? I try to take my tripod everywhere in case I want myself to be in the photo also. So I'm hoping for something light and easy to carry around too.

Thank so much.

-- hide signature --

BigPixel Veteran Member • Posts: 3,371
Re: Another help with tripod thread

The question you have to ask is, "How important is my work to me?"

The best advice anyone could give is buy a really good tripod even if you think you can't rationalize it. $300-$600 should get you a nice carbon fiber tripod, less if you shop eBay. Put a ball head on it and you'll literally be set for life. What will you accomplish if you economize on a tripod that delivers vibration, is not staable and probably too heavy to carry around? nada.
BigPixel / Hawaii

Bad Pic kev Veteran Member • Posts: 8,759
how much tripod do i need

a good safe rule of thumb is twice the holding capacity than what you need.

so your 3 pounds would be 6 pounds for tripod and head.

so the tripod alone needs to carry the tripod head as well as camera, lens and flash.

so you need a head that can hold 6-8 pounds and a tripod that can hold 8-12.

you can shop on ebay for a company called amvona. good gear at a great price.