Pentax K200d or Sony A200

Started Mar 31, 2008 | Discussions
sr32 New Member • Posts: 4
Pentax K200d or Sony A200

Howdi guys,

Getting my first DSLR and am a complete newbie at it and am seeking abit of advice. Going to be getting a Sony/Pentax 18-250mm lens with either camera as its mainly for holiday snaps etc. (for the time being)

The camera will be used mainly to shoot jpegs while travelling on holidays etc.

Both are similar cameras with features that I am after. One has AA's the other has a Cell battery.

Both camera's feel good in the hand. I was happy to choose the Sony A200 before I read a review that concluded by saying: If you are after a DSLR mainly for jpegs probably look elsewhere......

So now am strongly considering going back to my original choice - the K200d

I am after a camera that I can grow with as I get a little more confidence.

Both cameras felt great to hold so I can't really decide based on that.

Does the K200d take "good-ish" jpeg shots?

Thanks for any advice.

Steve.

*isteve Veteran Member • Posts: 9,509
Re: Pentax K200d or Sony A200

From the few samples I have seen, JPEGS from the K200D look great, so no problems there. They did a lot of work on the JPEG engine since the K10D which used the same sensor, so you have a decent range of processing parameters in the camera.

For travelling I would say the environmental sealing and AA batteries give the Pentax the edge.

The A200 looks like a minor upgrade on the A100 only this time they overdid the noise reduction to cope with the high ISO noise problem. The A300 seems like the same camera with live-view.

sr32 wrote:

Howdi guys,

Getting my first DSLR and am a complete newbie at it and am seeking
abit of advice. Going to be getting a Sony/Pentax 18-250mm lens with
either camera as its mainly for holiday snaps etc. (for the time
being)

The camera will be used mainly to shoot jpegs while travelling on
holidays etc.

Both are similar cameras with features that I am after. One has AA's