Can the Nikon D300 match the 5D IQ

Started Jan 30, 2008 | Discussions
peted1 Regular Member • Posts: 261
Can the Nikon D300 match the 5D IQ

Hi folks

I am a wedding photographer semi pro and am currently looking to change to either canon 5D or D300 Nikon. At present I use the Pentax K10D with various lenses.

My question is the D300 capable of taking shots of this guys quality http://www.pbase.com/dot_borg This guy uses the 5D with the 24-105 IS lens and produces amazing results.

I have yet to see the D300 produce these type of results. I realise this is because the 5D is 2 years old and a favourite amongst pros so we are going to see shots like this on the net. If anyone can point me to images like this taken with the D300 I would be gratful.

The trouble is at the moment there are a lot of amatuers buying the D300 and expecting to take shots like a pro. It dont happen thet easy I am afraid. Photography is about many other things besides the camera.

I am really keen on the D300 as it as so many more useful features than the old 5D but not sure if it can match up to the 5D in terms of IQ or as near as. Have a good look at the shots by this guy especially Models and Railway shots let me know your thoughts.

We all know its the lighting, lens and technique that makes a great shot but the D300 is so tempting for many reasons. For me doing weddings its IQ, low noise at high ISO fast accurate focus especially in low light and FPS that I crave but my K10D looses me down hunting for focus especially in low lit churchs etc.. even with fast primes

PS here are a few of my recent landscape shots with the K10D

I have posted a simiar thread over on the nikon forum but was interested in the Canon users point of view also. I would love it if canon bought a FF model out at the PMA or a 5D upgrade with a few extras like more FPS, weather sealing and sensor clean.

Cheers Pete
http://www.petedavis-photography.com

bucklenut Junior Member • Posts: 30