Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

Started Dec 30, 2007 | Discussions
zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

You can have 9 customised Picture Controls.
They can be "created" by modifying a Nikon Picture Control.

However, you can modify those customised picture controls in order to have your oldies curves inside. One curve inside each customised picture control.

Oldies curves : (Replace xxx by http://www )
xxx.digitalkb.com/... ... tone_curves/my_curves/sreala/version_two
Those curves are from D70 or D200.

You must connect your D300 to your PC. Then use ViewNX (File/Picture Control Utility) to :

1 - Duplicate by copy using one Nikon D300 Picture Control (Standard or Neutral)

2 - Import a curve of your choice to that copy (Check the case : "Use Custom Curve" so that you can load your curve)
3 - Export this new Picture Control with its curve inside to your Camera
4 - Disconnect your Camera

5 - Go to menu and import your new Picture Control as you used to do with D2X Picture Control.
6 - Rename your new Picture Control (Velvia_Fuji, ....).

Hope that could help.

Exalix Junior Member • Posts: 39
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

The curve file does not have any extension, and when adding it manually, like .ntc, loading it into the Picture Control costum curve, nothing happens! The curve doesn't change, it's like the curve downloaded isn't being recognized correctly.

Tried loading the curve, into Camera Control Pro 2, it gives me "The selected file is not a valid curve file"

So..

Could you please be more specific on the method you are using, thanks you.

-- hide signature --

Br Exalix
Nikon D300, Nikkor AF-S 17-55mm, Nikkor AF-D 50mm f/1.4, Nikon SB800.

Darkroom: Ligthroom, CS3 and Capture NX on Core2 Quad Extreme (QX6600), 2GB RAM, Asus P5K Deluxe, Geforce 8800GTX, BenQ 24'1W-Z (1920*1080).

OP zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

I didn't use Camera Control Pro. As I mentionned, you must :

1 - Download your oldies curves (with extension .ntc, for example : Fuji-Velvia.ntc, Fuji-Reala.ntc, Fuji-Astia.ntc, or others names xxxxx.ntc). Those curves ware from D70 or D200. They used to be managed by Camera Control. But you can't use this sofware anymore with your D300. Saved them in a directory of your computer.
2 - Connect your Camera (mass média)
3 - Run View NX
4 - (View Nx) : File / Picture Control Utility
5 - Choose a predefined Picture Control (Neutral)

6 - On the right panel of the View NX's Windows : Check the case "Use Custom Curve" .

7 - On the same panel, click the button "Load" and locate and choose one of your oldies curves ( .ntc).
8 - Save

9 - Export the result (new picture control with your curve) to your camera (under the directory NIKON of your CF card).
10 - Disconnect your camera

11 - Turn your camera on

12 - Go to the menu / to manage and import your new Customised Picture Control as you used to do with D2xMode.

Hope that was clear enough.

Feel free to .... ask more.

Exalix Junior Member • Posts: 39
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

Why doesn't the curve graphic in the histogram on the right site of the panel not change after 7?
--
Br Exalix
Nikon D300, Nikkor AF-S 17-55mm, Nikkor AF-D 50mm f/1.4, Nikon SB800.

Darkroom: Ligthroom, CS3 and Capture NX on Core2 Quad Extreme (QX6700), 2GB RAM, Asus P5K Deluxe, Geforce 8800GTX, BenQ 24'1W-Z (1920*1080).

OP zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls
  • After N.7, you must see a graphic from your file ( .ntc) (Cllick on "load") .

Two cases must be checked

  • Manual Adjust

  • Use Custom Curve

Then click the botton "Load" to choose a file .ntc on your computer.

PS : don't forget to click "Open" after choosen your .ntc file to be back to your ViewNX. Change your file ( .ntc) so that you can see another graphic.

ViewNX lets you :

  • import an old curve inside a picture control

  • export your picture control with a curve inside to your camera.

This sofware doesn't allow you to create or change your curve.

  • You can manage and change your curve with Camera Control program.

OP zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

On the right panel you can see two curves :

  • A curve which depends on your .ntc file. ( )

  • Another curve in the form of a hatched area. This curve is from the sample image. You can replace this image by an another NEF image so that you can see this harched area changes. This curve doesn't depend on your .ntc

( ) Don't modify this curve if you don't know how to design a curve.

Exalix Junior Member • Posts: 39
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

So you're saying that, even though I can't see the Curve has been loaded in the histogram, its actually really loaded? Hope its not just me that find this confusing.
--
Br Exalix
Nikon D300, Nikkor AF-S 17-55mm, Nikkor AF-D 50mm f/1.4, Nikon SB800.

Darkroom: Ligthroom, CS3 and Capture NX on Core2 Quad Extreme (QX6700), 2GB RAM, Asus P5K Deluxe, Geforce 8800GTX, BenQ 24'1W-Z (1920*1080).

Erciro Senior Member • Posts: 1,708
Velvia Curve

Thank you so much. I did upload the Provia curve. I am looking for Velvia curve but can't find it any where. Can you point it out to me please? Thanks.

-- hide signature --

Ahmet

---------

http://www.erciro.com
http://www.treknature.com/members/irimi/photos

Product and event photography pays the bills.
Nature and macro photography restore my happiness

 Erciro's gear list:Erciro's gear list
Nikon Coolpix AW120 Nikon D300 Fujifilm X-T1 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR Nikon AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED +9 more
Exalix Junior Member • Posts: 39
Re: Velvia Curve

Ok, Im seriously missing something here..
Here's what I do..

I download the Reala curve from the website above.

Extracting the zip file to its own dir.
I load ViewNX -> File -> Launch Picture Control Util
I mark the Neutral (predefined) Picture Control
I go to the right site of the Picture Control Dialog
While the Neutral is selected, I click the New botton
I name the new custom picture control sReala
I place the dot in Use Custom Curve
I press Load, and select All Files .
I point to the sReala curve and open it

I see no change at all in the histogram graphic and in the sample picture ( WHY ? )
I go to the left side of the Picture Control Util and click on Export
It exports to my CF card
I can now load my new Custom Picture Control

I see no difference, other than I can't change contrast and brigtness in the cameras Picture Control utility.
--
Br Exalix
Nikon D300, Nikkor AF-S 17-55mm, Nikkor AF-D 50mm f/1.4, Nikon SB800.

Darkroom: Ligthroom, CS3 and Capture NX on Core2 Quad Extreme (QX6700), 2GB RAM, Asus P5K Deluxe, Geforce 8800GTX, BenQ 24'1W-Z (1920*1080).

OP zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Re: Velvia Curve
OP zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Re: Velvia Curve

Don't click "New" !!!!

Just

  • Run View NX

  • File / Picture Control Utility

  • choose "Neutral"

  • click "Use Custom curve"

  • click "Load"

  • Choose your .ntc file (curve)

  • click "open" to come back to ViewNX

  • click "Export"

....

Bmark Senior Member • Posts: 2,332
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

Thanks, that is really helpful.

Mark

 Bmark's gear list:Bmark's gear list
Sony RX100 II Sony RX10 III Nikon D800 Nikon D850 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm F4G ED VR +11 more
bejmart Regular Member • Posts: 222
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

Thanks I will try it

Seal51 Regular Member • Posts: 264
This will be fun to try

thanks for posting this for everyone.
Ken

Erciro Senior Member • Posts: 1,708
Re: Velvia Curve

zenfr9 wrote:

Don't click "New" !!!!

Just

  • Run View NX

  • File / Picture Control Utility

  • choose "Neutral"

  • click "Use Custom curve"

  • click "Load"

  • Choose your .ntc file (curve)

  • click "open" to come back to ViewNX

  • click "Export"

....

I did it but not the way you describe it. Could you be mistaken on one of the steps?

I have to choose NEW right after I choose Neutral in order to name the new curve on the list on the left. Otherwise it doesn't get listed. And I also don't use SAVE either. I just export it while the card I use for curves in the cam.

Thank you so much for the Velvia curve link. I really appreciate it.

-- hide signature --

Ahmet

---------

http://www.erciro.com
http://www.treknature.com/members/irimi/photos

Product and event photography pays the bills.
Nature and macro photography restore my happiness

 Erciro's gear list:Erciro's gear list
Nikon Coolpix AW120 Nikon D300 Fujifilm X-T1 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR Nikon AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED +9 more
OP zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Re: Velvia Curve

No "new" , no "Save", just as I wrote, because I didn't need a name at that moment . The name on CF card and at the final destination (inside my camera) are more useful.

But you can use "new" and "save" on your computer (just a curve). "Export" gives you a Picture Control with "ncp" as extension. Picture Controls from Nikon have "nop" as extension.

OP zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Re: Put your oldies curves inside your Picture Controls

I love my D300 too much, but with Fuji-velvia inside and it's more fun to share.

It's my pleasure.

Best regards.

Zenfr

http://www.ipernity.com/doc/zenfr/slideshow

Exalix Junior Member • Posts: 39
Re: Velvia Curve

hmm, mine export botton is grayed out

How can you be sure the custom curve downloaded from the website is actually inside the .ncp file?

zenfr9 wrote:

Don't click "New" !!!!

Just

  • Run View NX

  • File / Picture Control Utility

  • choose "Neutral"

  • click "Use Custom curve"

  • click "Load"

  • Choose your .ntc file (curve)

  • click "open" to come back to ViewNX

  • click "Export"

....

-- hide signature --

Br Exalix
Nikon D300, Nikkor AF-S 17-55mm f/2.8, Nikkor AF-D 50mm f/1.4, Nikon SB800.

Darkroom: Ligthroom, CS3 and Capture NX on Core2 Quad (Q6600), 4GB RAM DDR2-1200, Asus Maximus SE, Geforce 8800GTX, BenQ 24'1W-Z (1920*1200).

RJSPhotography Senior Member • Posts: 1,686
Re: Velvia Curve

thanks for the info

 RJSPhotography's gear list:RJSPhotography's gear list
Nikon D3 Nikon D300 Nikon D810 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S 70-200mm F2.8E FL ED VR
OP zenfr9 Contributing Member • Posts: 846
Re: Velvia Curve
  • You must have your camera connected to use "Export".

  • To verify the result : Just take two photos, with and without your new customised picture control.

PS : perhaps there are another better and easier ways.
Just tried around, as I did.

Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads