Forget the D3 – Video is the future

Started Oct 8, 2007 | Discussions
Shop cameras & lenses ▾
craigsaltwaterimages Junior Member • Posts: 33

As a working pro, I get excited when a new piece of kit comes onto the market, like the D3 I just tested. But, the future tool being handed to the press photographers is the Video Camera. The organisation I work for is experimenting with replacing the SLR with a HDV documentary camera, such as the Sony Z1. With the Internet uses having a craving for short video clips, the YOUTUBE generation is changing the tools we use.

Using frame grab technology to convert the 2Mp video image into a 65MB image file. At first it feels like being handed a D1 again and told to keep up with the Canon 1DsMk3.

But then the added dimension of sound and motion adds to the still image, a new challenge in photography. Or am I just becoming a Videographer?

-- hide signature --

A press photographer who never uses RAW

revaaron Veteran Member • Posts: 6,644
I hate video

made it's just me, but I really don't like video at all.
--
-----------------------------------------------------------
http://www.returntothepit.com

pictures up within hours of the show

Gary J Jensen Senior Member • Posts: 2,204
Re: Video is the future...

craigsaltwaterimages wrote:

... Or am I just becoming a Videographer?

Yes.

craigsaltwaterimages OP Junior Member • Posts: 33

One day.. maybe we'll all be going this way.

I BET THAT... Canon will soon bring out a new SLR that can shoot video.

Keep watching this space.
--

Ed Leys Veteran Member • Posts: 4,948
Re: Forget the D3 – Video is the future

Or am I just becoming a Videographer?

As has been said before, yes !

You also have to keep in mind that a great motivation for the development of digital cameras was to counteract the incursion of video cameras into the marketplace, which were causing a loss of revenue for still photography.