CHDK firmware hack discussion (15)

Started Sep 3, 2007 | Discussions
Shop cameras & lenses ▾
GrAnd Regular Member • Posts: 325
Re: Possible real firmware updates

Charles Bandes wrote:

I am confused about the SD700IS - the wiki says it uses the 1.00B
firmware, but I can't seem to install it.

There is no CHDK firmware for SD700. The A700 is the different model.

funbot New Member • Posts: 13
Re: CDHK Exposure Bracketing with RAW?

John NA87 wrote:

Exposure Bracketing is one of the scripts that you can install. Go
back to the site and download some of the scripts. There was a
Universal Bracketing script that would do both exposure and focus
bracketing. Cool Stuff.

Can a bracketing script be used in conjunction with "Save RAW" (provided the timing/pausing in the script takes into account the longer save time)?

sej1001 Senior Member • Posts: 2,724
GrAnd?

Is there a Digic III in the works for the A650?

I have the A640 and want to upgrade, but would like to see the hacked features on it.

Any news?

Thanks

Steve

envisioning New Member • Posts: 4
Re: Vit40, are you back? A640 color profile still needs tuning

FYI, the following link contains a zip file with a jpeg and raw image of a standard G-M ColorChecker chart taken with an A640 at noon, bright sun. Dave Coffin used this to create a color profile for DCRAW:

Try this patch:

-- hide signature --

dcraw.c 2007/07/23 06:52:52 1.388
+++ dcraw.c 2007/07/28 23:22:31
@@ -5800,6 +5800,8 @@
{ 15591,-6402,-1592,-5365,13198,2168,-1300,1824,5075 } },
{ "Canon PowerShot A620", 0, DJC
{ 15265,-6193,-1558,-4125,12116,2010,-888,1639,5220 } },
+ { "Canon PowerShot A640", 0, DJC
+ { 13124,-5329,-1390,-3602,11658,1944,-1612,2863,4885 } },
{ "Canon PowerShot S3 IS", 0, DJC
{ 14062,-5199,-1446,-4712,12470,2243,-1286,2028,4836 } },
{ "CINE 650", 0,

Dave Coffin 7/28/2007

Here is the link:
http://www.zshare.net/download/36213893128a19/

Vit40 Regular Member • Posts: 269
Re: Vit40, are you back? A640 color profile still needs tuning

no text

Vit40 Regular Member • Posts: 269
Re: Vit40, are you back? A640 color profile still needs tuning

Tried this matrix on solenotte's sample crw_1205, but white balance tool on white plate in the middle of the picture results with color temperature 5950K and tint +24, which seems to be slightly off for me (like matrix for A620). From shades on the building it's evident it was sunny, so temperature 5200-5300K was expected

Anyway, you can set Coffin's matrix to header file with my proggy, applying following command in hdr directory (or making a cmd file for the purpose, like before), and try on your samples to see if you like the result

DngSetMatrix PS_A640.bin M 13124 -5329 -1390 -3602 11658 1944 -1612 2863 4885

... or you can use MakeDNGHeader.exe, supplied with DNG4PS, to build header file, after modifying PS_A640.txt - section Colormatrix1 and 2, to the same values
13124 -5329 -1390
-3602 11658 1944
-1612 2863 4885

Vit

pitquim Contributing Member • Posts: 528
What about "ND filter"?

is it possible to add the "ND filter" feature?
Thanks in advance
--
http://www.fotolog.com/pitquim

mx3 Junior Member • Posts: 27
Re: Progress on motion detection?

you can try this:
http://mx3.ip-com.com.ua/chdk/

this is alpha version

function md_detect_changes (

columns, input parameter. number of columns to split screen into

rows, input parameter. number of rows to split screen into

pixel_measure_mode, input parameter.
1 - for Y,
2 for U,
3 for V,
4 for gray,
5 for R, -
6 for G,
7 for B

detection_timeout, input parameter. number of millisecnds to abort detection. detected_cells_count will be 0 for timeout condition

measure_interval, input parameter. number of milliseconds between comparison of two pictures

threshold, input parameter. difference value for which procedure will trigger detection of changes

draw_grid, boolean input parameter.
true(1) to draw grid(detected sectors/cells).
false(0) - to not display grid/detected sectors

detected_cells_count, output parameter. count of cells where pixel values differs enough to trigger motion detection

clipping. allows to exclude some region from mtion detection triggering
or use onli selected area to make motion detection
I'm not sure that following parameters are required but using them anyway

clipping_region_mode, input parameter.
0 no clipping regions
1 - for excluding selected region from motion detection
2 - use this only region to make motion detection
clipping_region_column1, input parameter.
clipping_region_row1, input parameter.
this is top-left corner of clipping region

clipping_region_column2, input parameter.
clipping_region_row2, input parameter.
this is right bottom corner of clipping region

)

function md_get_cell_diff (
col [in], column of the cell we are requesting
row [in], row of the cell we are requesting
val [out] value of difference between measurements/comparisons
)

see md1.bas and md2.bas

reserved parameters
clipping regions,
pixel_measure_mode
draw_grid

GrAnd Regular Member • Posts: 325
Digic III news...

The firmware dump of G7 (Digic3) has been gotten. It was 'blinked' through AF-beam. A quick look through the dump shows that there is no significant differences between Digic III and Digic II. So, the porting of CHDK to Digic III based cameras is quite possible.

bluenoser23
bluenoser23 Senior Member • Posts: 2,032
To THE HACK EXPERTS: WHAT ABOUT ISO????

I've asked many times, in separate threads, posts, etc. about the hack's ability/inability to display ISO values for the S3 when using programs like Picassa, etc.

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHETHER THE HACK ALLOWS FOR ISO READABILITY???

If it doesn't...why not? It would be a feature that ranks up there with the battery meter for usefulness.
--
James
Canon S3, SD800 and A95

 bluenoser23's gear list:bluenoser23's gear list
Canon PowerShot A95 Canon PowerShot SD800 IS Canon PowerShot S3 IS Canon PowerShot S95 Nikon D40 +13 more
Koosla Senior Member • Posts: 1,105
That's truly great news, GrAnd!

Indeed good news. There are so many, DigicIII-based Canon p&s cameras now, an extension of CHDK to support them would be great news.

sammi1 Forum Member • Posts: 57
Re: Digic III news...

Dear GrAnd and Vit40
First, thank you for posting all this excellent stuff.

Is the code for "zebra" available anywhere?

Sincerely
Sammie

Ondina Forum Member • Posts: 99
Re: Digic III news...

Just got a A710 IS, but WAY TO GO!!!!!, GRanD. Amazing work, congratulations.

ToniVC Regular Member • Posts: 217
Re: Digic III news...

GrAnd wrote:

The firmware dump of G7 (Digic3) has been gotten. It was 'blinked'
through AF-beam. A quick look through the dump shows that there is no
significant differences between Digic III and Digic II. So, the
porting of CHDK to Digic III based cameras is quite possible.

WOW!!! These are GOOD NEWS!!

Tourenfahrer New Member • Posts: 8
CHDK firmware installation problems

Hi everybody,

I have problems with installing CHDK on my 710IS and do not know where to find help.

My firmware version indicates GM1.00A

When ever I want to load Version 148, I receive the error message "Update File Error!!!".

I already tried version 144 and also another SD card, plus is verified the root directory (location of the files), but the error remains.
I even changed the language setting from German to English, but nothing helped.

Do you have any idea what the problem could be or where to get further help ?

bye Martin

Marty Too Senior Member • Posts: 1,135
Re: CHDK firmware installation problems

Did you make sure you downloaded the correct version - the one for the 710?

http://grandag.nm.ru/hdk/

What program did you use to unzip the files?

P Jackson Junior Member • Posts: 36
Re: CHDK firmware hack discussion (15)

Can anyone tell me why I get a parse error when I try to use a script?
--
Stereo Photography

Tourenfahrer New Member • Posts: 8
Re: CHDK firmware installation problems

Hi Marty,

Marty Too wrote:

Did you make sure you downloaded the correct version - the one for
the 710?

yes, I used pre14-a710-100a-148.zip

http://grandag.nm.ru/hdk/

just verified the URL again, made another download but same result.

What program did you use to unzip the files?

WinRAR 3.51

bye Martin

Marty Too Senior Member • Posts: 1,135
Re: CHDK firmware hack discussion (15)

Can you be more specific?

Do you mean on your computer or in the camera? That is does the error show up as a message on the camera when you try to use a script?

Marty Too Senior Member • Posts: 1,135
Needs help with 710

Maybe someone with the 710 will help.

Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads