D40/x size compared to D200

Started Jun 6, 2007 | Discussions
Scott Sherman Contributing Member • Posts: 880
D40/x size compared to D200

I have a D200 and many AFS lenses. I am just a hobby photographer and like to shoot occassionally when I see it as opposed to going to a specific location to shoot a specific thing. I have noticed that of late, I have not been carrying my D200 around as much because of the size weight, even with the 18-200mm. I have not been able to get out to look at a D40 since I live on an island. I have not been able to find a picture of a D40 next to a D200 to compare the actual size difference.

I am also curious if anyone else has purchased a D40/D40x for the same reason and if so, do you now carry your camera around where you were not because of the weight/size of the D200. In other words... would the outlay of about $600 be worth it, or do you find that now that you have your D40 it sits at home like the larger camera did?

thanks for the feedback and if you know of a link or can take a comaprison shot of the D200 to the D40 from a couple of angles it would be appreciated.
--
Scott Sherman
http://www.interactivephotos.com

Hubert Sasseville Regular Member • Posts: 133
Re: D40/x size compared to D200

Hi.

I recently purchased a D40X for travel purposes . It is much smaller and lighter than my D200.
I put my 18-200 VR on it and this combination is quite surprising quality wise.

The quality of pictures is very difficult to differentiate from the D200 with this lens. It also needs less post processing.
I dont think I need another lens for traveling.

I intend to add a SB400 flash to this combinaion, as it is reported to give great results, and is very compact and light.
I will keep the D200 for serious work with finer lenses.
Hope this will help you,
Hubert

gif Senior Member • Posts: 1,346
D40 vs. D200 Pic
heavensgate Regular Member • Posts: 101
Re: D40 vs. D200 Pic

gif wrote:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ntakahara/497203964/