How much abuse can the 1D take?

Started Jan 14, 2007 | Discussions
Lawless Forum Member • Posts: 72
How much abuse can the 1D take?

I am a new owner of the 1DIIn. I have not subjected the camera to any extreme conditions or hard knocks...yet.

However, I have been using a 20D for the last 2 years, and during that time I have dropped it from waist high onto a hard wood floor with a the 17-40 attached. On a rolling ship, my 70-200f4 rolled of a chair onto the deck. I have been caught by surprise by down pours while shooting. Not things I'm proud of, but things do happen.

The point is, to my surprise, and much to my relief, all the equipment survived with no ill effects.

The 1D build is significantly better than the 20D. How much abuse can it really take?

I shared my horror stories. Does anybody have some survival stories of their 1d's to get an idea of how tough this thing really is?

Dave Lewis Forum Pro • Posts: 10,425
Seldom any need for repairs.

Some one in these forums last year detailed an accident from a hotel balcony. The 1d and a big L lens fell three or four floors to the cement walk below. When he got down to the street, he picked up the pieces and decided there was no need for repairs. My friend who is one of the staff photos's for the Victoria Sun a couple years ago dropped his Nikon D1 into a canyon of the Frazier River. He decided there was no need for repairs for that one either. Looks like these pro cameras just never need to be repaired.
--
Dave Lewis

Psychic1
Psychic1 Senior Member • Posts: 2,227
My 1D sits on the bank...

...of the river while I'm fishing in the rain and never complains.

Last week a woman used my camera, and I had a problem.
--
Supermodels don't pose in the rain.

Psychic1's gear list:Psychic1's gear list
Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III Canon EOS-1D Mark IV Canon EF 35mm F1.4L USM Canon EF 135mm F2L USM Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM +5 more
Barry Horn Contributing Member • Posts: 591
Re: My 1D sits on the bank...

A lesson for us all.