DA16-45 VS Sigma 17-70 test {seek conclusion}

Started Sep 5, 2006 | Discussions
ssyli Forum Member • Posts: 82
DA16-45 VS Sigma 17-70 test {seek conclusion}

I've been through seeking a wide-standard zoom to replace the kit DA18-55 lens.

I have tried out DA16-45 and Sigma 17-70. To me, both of them are excellent lenses. Both of them are very sharp at the center. The followings are what I like from each lens

DA 16-45
16mm......
A lot sharper on the corners
A bit shaper on the edges.

Sigma 17-70
Longer zoom 70mm.....
f/2.8 on wide end
f/4.0 or less until 70mm (f/4.5 only at exactly 70mm)
Warmer white balance than DA16-45 (DA16-45 seems a bit too cold for me)
Seems better saturation

I've been through two copies of 17-70 and two copies of 16-45. And at the end I settle on the second copy of 17-70 (first one was suffered from back focusing problem) (both 16-45 were focusing perfectly)

Anyway, the following is my test photos. As many of you know, I am fairly new in DSLR and please provide any opinion/conclusion of the comparison as it may be useful for others (I hope).

The following pictures are taken with builtin flash, using builtin flash white balance, ISO 200, Pentax at 45mm, Sigma at 40mm

f/4.0 - Full Frame - Pentax

f/4.0 - Full Frame - Sigma

f/4.0 - 100% center - Pentax

f/4.0 - 100% center - Sigma

f/4.0 - 100% right - Pentax

f/4.0 - 100% right - Sigma

f/4.0 - 100% top - Pentax

f/4.0 - 100% top - Sigma

-- hide signature --

f/5.6 - Full Frame - Pentax

f/5.6 - Full Frame - Sigma

f/5.6 - 100% center - Pentax

f/5.6 - 100% center - Sigma

f/5.6 - 100% right - Pentax

f/5.6 - 100% right - Sigma

f/5.6 - 100% top - Pentax

f/5.6 - 100% top - Sigma

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

f/8.0 - Full Frame - Pentax

f/8.0 - Full Frame - Sigma

f/8.0 - 100% center - Pentax

f/8.0 - 100% center - Sigma

f/8.0 - 100% right - Pentax

f/8.0 - 100% right - Sigma

f/8.0 - 100% top - Pentax