how to photograph asteroids

Started Jun 9, 2006 | Discussions
ehosca Regular Member • Posts: 150
how to photograph asteroids

i want to photograph the Perseids this august with my 5D.

i would appreciate any tips on the subject as i'm a complete noob when it comes to astrophotography ...
techniques, equipment ...

-- hide signature --
keith_dc Contributing Member • Posts: 562
Re: how to photograph asteroids

You would have a very difficult time photographing asteroids with your 5D, especially considering that most and rather small and are found in a belt between Mars and Jupiter.

You meant to say meteoroids, which burn brilliantly when they enter earth's atmosphere. Check out some of these sites for tips:

http://www.space.com/scienceastronomy/astronomy/leonids_photographing.html

http://www.spaceweather.com/meteors/leonids/phototips.html

http://www.telescope.com/content/learningcenter/content2main.jsp?iContentID=638&CCNavIDs=19,20,82
--
Check out my galleries at http://keith-dc.smugmug.com

NeilJones
NeilJones Veteran Member • Posts: 5,455
Do you own a spaceship? (nt)

no text

Fritz Byle Contributing Member • Posts: 532

Yes, you meant meteors, which are the light trails produced by meteoroids as they are heated upon atmoshperic entry. A meteoroid that survives and is found on Earth is a meteorite.

Definitions out of the way, what you want to do is to shoot from a very dark area. Google "dark sky map" for a tool that will help find a dark area near your location. You can choose two ways to shoot:

• Track the stars so they appear stationary (requires a telescope mount or barndoor tracker). Foreground objects will be blurred.

• Let the stars trail and keep foreground objects stationary.