what do you charge ($$$) for photography??

Started Feb 16, 2006 | Discussions
liustephen Regular Member • Posts: 305
what do you charge ($$$) for photography??

hi all,

VERY VERY VERY open question, which i know has a tremendous number of variables. just looking for some ranges.

i'm an amateur - i shoot because i love it. but, i'm finding folks asking for rates, and would like some direction.
-if anyone out there charges an hourly, approximately what is it?
-how about per project? (like an all day event?)
-or event photography (evening event)
-for set photography (movie filming/set work)?
-per CD of prints?
-per photo? 4x6s, 5x7s, 8x10s, 11x14s

thanks in advance to those who share. and yes, again, i know this is a very open question.
thank you,

stephen
http://stephenliuphoto.blogspot.com

Ken Phillips Forum Pro • Posts: 16,361
Your best bet ...

... is to search on the web for photogs IN YOUR AREA, who do what you do. I'm pretty cheap on my 'boiler plate' pet photography (but I charge a lot to do catalog work, which is NOT listed on my website.)
Ken
--

http://www.ahomls.com/photo.htm
Voted Best of the City 2004 by Cincinnati Magazine
I don't believe in fate, but I do believe in f/8!

paul1631 Regular Member • Posts: 108
Re: what do you charge ($$$) for photography??

I really think the only real answer is, "as much as someone is willing to pay you." There are no rules or guidlines. To give you a starting idea look at how much other photogs of similar skill and location to yourself charge.

nblaney
nblaney Contributing Member • Posts: 663

I charge on a project basis depending upon what the client comes to me asking for - its ALWAYS different!

I do have a minimum though. You should really pick up the most recent PDN magazine which profiles a photographer in each of the 50 states and discusses thier market and how much they bill. Interesting stuff.

BAK Forum Pro • Posts: 22,695