Drobo Fail and poor corporate response

Started 1 month ago | Discussions thread
ForumParentFirstPrevious
Flat view
AJ1000 Forum Member • Posts: 68
Drobo Fail and poor corporate response

I've been a Drobo user since 2010 with an original Drobo S (replaced due to hardware failure) and a 5D both holding around 10GB of photographs.

Earlier this week I found both units powered down and found this was due to a failure of the external mains adapter/ Power Supply Unit in the 5D. This is the second Drobo power supply which has failed in the past three years.

I sent a message to Drobo Inc on Facebook telling them of my second failure and complaining that the only apparent source of replacement PSUs was Amazon UK who had units listed at £75.99 and a 2-4 week delivery. The Drobo store only shows them as SOLD OUT.

Firstly that's a bit expensive for a PSU. I realise these are specialised units running at 12V up to 12.5A but that means they are very hard to source. Secondly 2-4 weeks lead time is ridiculous, how is this supposed to be a reliable solution if you can't access your data for the best part of a month!

The response from Drobo Inc on Facebook was poor. After a day waiting they said it was "unusual" to have experienced two PSU failures and then without a hint of irony sent me a link back to the same listing on Amazon for the £75.99 unit with the 2-4 week delivery time!

If I was the VP of Customer Services at Drobo (assuming there is someone with that responsibility) I would want to keep my customers happy and not have them experiencing issues like this. I'd want to know why they are no replacement PSUs in stock - is it because they are failing frequently and customers are having to buy replacement units? How hard would it be to investigate this problem and get the Engineering team to fix it.

How about as a short term measure make sure we have sufficient stocks of PSUs in our regional stores so that we could FedEx them to customers to get them up and running within 24-48 hours and not expect them to wait 2-4 weeks for a solution.

Fortunately I have a workaround in place and, fingers crossed, I won't have to call my clients and tell them I do have their photos but can't access them until mid-November! I would find that conversation completely unacceptable but it seems Drobo Inc think that's just fine and dandy.

Guess which brand I won't be considering for my next storage solution?

Thanks for listening,

Adam

ForumParentFirstPrevious
Flat view
ForumParentFirstPrevious
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum PPrevious NNext WNext unread UUpvote SSubscribe RReply QQuote BBookmark MMy threads
Color scheme? Blue / Yellow