3 different HDR modes on the LX7 - what's the difference?

Started Mar 25, 2013 | Discussions thread
Flat view
pavinder Regular Member • Posts: 277
3 different HDR modes on the LX7 - what's the difference?

I usually take multiple exposures and combine them using Photomatix or other software, but for everyday snapshots this takes more time and effort than I'd like.  So I've been checking the in-camera HDR of my LX7.  And I'm very confused.

There seem to be 3 ways of implementing HDR:

1. Intelligent Auto iHDR

2. "Creative Control" menus --> "High Dynamic" option

3. Scene Mode --> HDR

As far as I can tell from experimenting:

1. Intelligent Auto iHDR is activated automatically if the camera thinks it's necessary. i.e. I have no setting to make other than switch it on or off.

2. The "High Dynamic" option works from a single JPG but doesn't shoot bursts.  I can adjust the contrast, DOF and saturation via pressing the thumb dial.

3. HDR "Scene mode" shoots bursts, but automatically kicks in some auto subject-detection algorithm (green rectangles appear on screen before the shot is taken).  This mode also allows me no adjustments (and often gives me overblown highlights or underexposed shadows if, for example I'm shooting an interior with bright view through a window).

Of the 3 modes, only method 2 seems to give a well-balanced result with highlights recovered and shadows boosted.

Can anybody shed some light on what seems to be quite insufficiently explained in the manual?

Thanks in advance.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Flat view
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum PPrevious NNext WNext unread UUpvote SSubscribe RReply QQuote BBookmark MMy threads
Color scheme? Blue / Yellow