Reformating vs Deleting images from SD Card.

Started Mar 20, 2013 | Discussions thread
Shop cameras & lenses ▾
ForumParentFirstPrevious
Flat view
SHood Veteran Member • Posts: 4,588
Reformating vs Deleting images from SD Card.

Some interesting comments from Kingston.

http://theonlinephotographer.typepad.com/the_online_photographer/2013/03/kingston-technology-to-the-rescue.html

"When you select "erase," the data (e.g. an image) is still there. What is being deleted is the location of the photo stored in the File Allocation Table. "Erase All" deletes every single location in the File Allocation Table. Although the information in the FAT table has been erased, there can still be "residue" from the file. What can happen is the next time something is written in that spot, the controller on the card may decide to skip that spot or write a partial piece of data to it, while the rest of the data is stored elsewhere. This is called fragmentation. Similar to a hard-disk drive, fragmentation can cause performance issues. A "reformat" deletes the entire table and then creates a new one for the next use, meaning that as new information is written to the card, it is done sequentially in the FAT table."

 SHood's gear list:SHood's gear list
Sony RX100 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 100-300mm F4-5.6 OIS Olympus M.Zuiko 300mm F4 IS Pro
ForumParentFirstPrevious
Flat view
ForumParentFirstPrevious
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum PPrevious NNext WNext unread UUpvote SSubscribe RReply QQuote BBookmark MMy threads
Color scheme? Blue / Yellow