434

Five ways the Canon EOS R could be improved (hint: it's all about the operation)

A critique, not a conclusion
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

A critique, not a conclusion

The EOS R is Canon's entry into the full-frame mirrorless camera market and, while it doesn't look all that revolutionary at first glance, looks can be deceiving: this is a big step for the world's largest camera manufacturer. The EOS R comes with a new mount, a new lens lineup, and some new functionality. Most crucially, it's capable of capturing fantastic photographs.

But as we approach the completion of our full EOS R review, we wanted to address a few areas where we believe it could be improved (just like we did with Nikon's Z7). These principally concern usability and, to a degree, ergonomics, too, but also include limitations of some of the features included the EOS R as well as limitations imposed on the user by features that have been left out.

While some of these issues have been a feature of Canon's various lineups for some time, the EOS R - and the fresh start it represents - are a great opportunity for the company to take a fresh look at how it can make the camera more usable for more people.

So without further ado, here's what we'd like to see Canon try to improve in the EOS R.

79
I own it
243
I want it
60
I had it
Discuss in the forums
View Comments (434)

Comments

All (434)
Most popular (15)
Editors' picks (0)
DPR staff (8)
Oldest first
cn_a75

After a short 30min test a i have to say the top LCD is useless and it seems very cheap. The grip is ok but need it to manage the buttons and the AF touching with other hand. I couldn't find how to move the AF points using the four-way controller, for me it wasn't moving at all.

I was thinking switching from SL2 but i stay and i'm very happy. Of course the EOS-R having the 5Dsensor , much better in low light and the quality of photos in general.

Check:
Canon EOS R users complain of fragile top screen and lack of 60p with EF-S lenses!
October 22, 2018

2 days ago
davev8
davev8

Well we have had 5 ways the 7Z can be improved and now the R ,,,look forwards to 5 ways to improve the A7iii

3 days ago
dpjoe1

The EOS R has one feature that can only be topped by a D850 with a Zeiss Otus 55mm F1.4 @ almost double the price. And that is the RF 50mm F1.2. And this lens has auto focus! It is optically equal to the Otus, but the R’s sensor is not equal to the D850’s.

A second option could be the Otus on an a7R3 with adapter.

Neither of these (options) will have the shooting, handling, and fluidity of the R with its native RF lenses.

That makes the R’s body only a passing accessory for building our new lens arsenals while exuding in “performance from another dimension” waiting for a better lens holder to arrive!

4 days ago*
Shutterbug1947

The first time I picked the EOS R up I hated it. It did not look, feel or operate like a Canon. Maybe Canon will correct that when the upper end model comes out at around 50 mp's, which is only a guess. But I am not buying this one.

4 days ago
3dit0r

You got through a whole ‘how the EOS R could be improved’ article without even mentioning it’s basically using a sensor and video spec which were already behind the state of the art when they made their debut on the 5D4 in 2016?

4 days ago
Leitz

The camera sucks for the price, but Canon has the best "COLOR SCIENCE" :) https://youtu.be/EMfCDujQywY

6 days ago
jay-A

if it was only about the price...

4 days ago
Mariano Pacifico

Smartphones have 4k video capture while dFF & dSLRs struggle to deliver 4k.

DIE cameras ... die !!! Long live smartphones !!!

1 week ago
Jeff Fenske

All serious mirrorless cameras should have a *multi-aspect ratio sensor*, so we're capturing more of what the glass sees. There is no reason to still be stuck in 3:2. I'm very disappointed that Canon didn't do this right away, now that the restrictive, 3:2 mirror box is gone, and they make their own sensors, so they could easily jump out of the 3:2 box that Sony has us stuck in, unnecessarily.

Multi-aspect that included 4:3, 3:2 and 16:9 in their native field of view, using the entire image circle is only 13% larger, but gives enormous artistic and practical benefits.

1 week ago
T3

This is a solution looking for a problem. Is it really that hard to just crop the image in post? After all, we are no longer in the days of using 6, 8, or 10mp sensors anymore. Canon's first FF body, the "high rez" 1Ds, only had 11mp.

1 week ago
Jeff Fenske

T3, cropping 4:3 or 16:9 from 3:2, instead of the image circle loses massive field of view, especially for 4:3.

Forcing us to crop from 3:2 is like having tunnel vision.

Multi-aspect, on the other hand, opens the field of view to use the entire lens circle.

3:2-only makes no sense now that the mirror box is gone.

The main problem seems to be a lack of understanding in how multi-aspect works.

The other main problem seems to be that Sony won't make any oversized sensors for any format, and many manufacturers want Sony sensors in their cameras.

Canon makes their own sensors, so they should break out of the restrictive, 3:2 box, providing a great service to the photographic community.

1 week ago
Eric Hensel
Eric Hensel

Your post doesn't make sense -how do you "use the entire lens circle" when the sensor is rectangular? Are you saying it should be circular?

4 days ago*
Jeff Fenske

Eric, what I meant is that in a multi-aspect ratio sensor, 4:3, 3:2 and 16:9 all fit into the entire image circle, instead of 4:3 and 16:9 having to be cropped from the 3:2 rectangle we're only given now.

A circular sensor that captured everything the lens sees would be the ultimate. An oversized square would be next best. But the oversized 3:2 sensor, which 4:3, 3:2 and 16:9 all fit in is only 13% larger than a standard 3:2 sensor, so it's a practical, cost effective place to start from.

3 days ago
Eric Hensel
Eric Hensel

"in a multi-aspect ratio sensor, 4:3, 3:2 and 16:9 all fit into the entire image circle,".
A physical impossibility. Either way pixels are thrown away. A circular sensor is only an advantage if you want circular, or square images.

3 days ago
Jeff Fenske

Eric, the image linked below shows how an *OVERSIZED* SQUARE sensor would work. *All aspect ratios* imaginable (up to 16:9 in length) would *fit into* this particular image circle with corners touching the circle — either horizontally or vertically.

The same would be true if the sensor would be ROUND, but would give additional advantages. If the image was shot cockeyed, no pixels are lost when it's straightened. Round images would rock, and the entire fisheye image that only the lens now sees could be captured.

An OVERSIZED 3:2 sensor is more cost effective than the above, so it's what I would consider what the bare minimum should be in all serious mirrorless cameras now. 4:3, 3:2 and 16:9 all have full native field of view and max pixels.

Square sensors for mirrorfree cameras (by Zoltán Biró).
https://www.43rumors.com/square-sensors-for-mirrorfree-cameras-by-zoltan-biro

3 days ago*
Eric Hensel
Eric Hensel

No one wants circular photos --we live in a rectangular world, love it or hate it. Both of those sensors are too wasteful of sensor real-estate --the thing you claim they eliminate. Perhaps when the cost of construction comes down by several orders of magnitude someone will build this. I believe digital photography will be wildly different by then.

2 days ago*
T3

@Jeff Fenske - "Eric, the image linked below shows how an *OVERSIZED* SQUARE sensor would work."

It would also mean an *OVERSIZED* price. As you increase the size of a sensor, it gets more expensive. Large sensors with large surface area (more prone to defects, which greatly lowers yield) get very expensive. Anything that reduces yield (including making *OVERSIZED* square sensors) increases cost. It looks like your *OVERSIZED* sensor is double the size of a 35mm 3:2 sensor, which means it would easily be double the cost, at least! It would be easily more than double the price since the larger surface area would mean a higher defect rate. So from an economic standpoint, this is just not going to happen.

2 days ago
Jeff Fenske

@T3, a 4:3, 3:2, 16:9 multi-aspect ratio sensor that I believe should be on this camera is only 13% larger than a standard 3:2 sensor. The cost would not be that much more. And the cost of producing sensors has gone down.

Consider, how expensive is all of our glass? Why are we only allowed to use only the 3:2 area now that the 3:2 mirror box is gone.

Canon should put multi-aspect ratio sensors in all of their serious mirrorless cameras. And then they should market the tremendous advantages, which Panasonic barely did.

2 days ago
T3

@Jeff Fenske - "sensor that I believe should be on this camera is only 13% larger than a standard 3:2 sensor."

The problem is that a 13% increase in size does not equate to a 13% increase in cost. Size and cost of image sensors is not a linear relationship. It's most likely closer to an exponential increase on cost. But even if it were *only* 13% more costly, that's still a considerable increase in cost. Plus, I think you're severely underestimating the additional cost of your square sensors, especially if they are "oversized". The cost to benefit ratio just isn't there.

2 days ago
Jeff Fenske

@T3, I'm not claiming it's only 13% more. The number of people who would buy it because it's multi-aspect would pay for the increase. I, for one, will stick with Canon SLRs for now. If this were multi-aspect I'd buy it.

Portrait photographers usually prefer 4:3. They wouldn't have to always crop from 3:2 this way. For many people, 4:3 is often preferred to 3:2, and 16:9 is often enough, especially for those who do video.

4:3 with the super wide-angle lenses would be a dream come true, especially for night sky, architecture, etc..

I linked to a square sensor, because that was the diagram I had. Many people don't seem to be able to understand how a multi-aspect ratio sensor works unless they see a diagram.

A square sensor would be much nicer (and a round one even better someday), and would be nice if someone did one soon, but the lower cost, oversized 3:2 sensor is much more cost effective now.

If Canon would build a standard multi-aspect and would market it well, It could soar!

2 days ago
aerorail

why would they want to improve it?.........you want improvements you buy a more expensive canon. thats why they make more than 1 model.

im impressed they think of ways to dumb it down

lemme know when they make a camera that can access the internet and make phone calls

please click on the LIKE button below

1 week ago*
Jaselero

Unbelievable !!! selftimer does not admit more than one photo per shot when even the EOS 200D allows the choice from 1 to 10. And there is no timer (intervalometer)

1 week ago
Terrano

Do any of the moaners here actually own this camera or have even used it?

1 week ago
voronspb

Is there a secret IBIS system which is available only to actual owner, who signed the warranty documents? :)

1 week ago
The Fat Fish
The Fat Fish

Yes, I have used it. By using it I found more things I didn't like. I knew the 4K crop, lack of IBIS, single SD card, slow FPS in AF-C would not be ideal but it was only when I had a hands on I realised how much of a step back the ergonomics were. The touch bar is infuriating and the lack of a proper mode dial was a step back.

That said, I did like the flip LCD, few extra megapixels in it's class and the EVF was better than I expected. I think the EOS R would be a great $1600 camera.

1 week ago*
soundimageplusblog

I just wonder what any of this has to do with creating pictures? I have the EOS R and use it in the simplest way possible. When I downloaded the pdf manual and saw it was 644 pages long, I burst out laughing and then deleted it. Somehow I've made my living from photography for over 20 years without wading through this nonsense. Life is literally too short to even read something like that, let alone memorise it. Compose, Focus, Aperture, Shutter Speed, ISO - Photography CAN be simple, though not here it seems.

1 week ago
voronspb

In the past the camera was just a simple interface between photographer, film (sensor) and optics. But in 2018 the camera is as important for making good photos as the lens.

Therefore, in 2018 studying the camera is non less important than studying the photography technique. Otherwise, it's like cutting the firewood with gas chainsaw without learning how to start the engine.

1 week ago
Mike Sandman
Mike Sandman

Even if you just want to adjust focus and set aperture, shutter speed and ISO, The R and other current cameras offer some useful options. Sure, you can just use the default ways to make those settings, but there are some very useful options you'd learn about if you read just the first part of the manual (not all 644 pages).

1 week ago
Photomonkey

Some of the functionality included in the latest cameras does make for better images. IBIS (not here), self cleaning sensors, AF and other features certainly help. However, the bulk of the features DPR is critiquing revolve around settings, customization and the ease of switching settings. This presumes we are endlessly fiddling with our settings. If you are a hobbyist that twiddles dials all day I guess this matters, but most focus on the subject at hand and use the machine in a straightforward manner.

1 week ago
MrBrightSide
MrBrightSide

You probably have attained a level of talent that would allow you to make good pictures with a shoebox, a pinhole, and a sheet of film, so you are not really the target of the website.

1 week ago
zxaar

Handled R and speaking for me only it felt heavy enough to think that there is no point in getting it over a dslr.

1 week ago
NewsRadioFan

Forget IBIS, Full Frame 4k, Proper Eye AF, Dual Card Slots, Thumbstick, and Better Weather Sealing? Nah ... the number one feature missing from the EOS R is an illuminated grid AF assist.

1 week ago
VenusFivePhotoStudio

I can get used not having a joystick, but I'd like to see the ISO button back and the big front wheel!!!! I need that wheel, as a pro shooter is the fastest way to look at pictures.

Also IBIS would be a nice improvement :)

1 week ago
photoMEETING

One more way to improve the EOS R:

Add a flip mirror and an OVF.

1 week ago*
PHOTOJOE55

That's Brilliant!

1 week ago
T3

And have it take film! And give it a manual film advance lever!

1 week ago
photoMEETING

@T3:

Sounds radical to me.

1 week ago
bluevellet

Another way to improve the EOS R: Develop and release more mouth-watering lenses so their attractiveness override whatever shortfalls the camera body has.

1 week ago
T3

"release more mouth-watering lenses"

Maybe mouthwatering, but also wallet-raping. Do people not look at prices anymore? $3,000 for a 3.2lb 28-70 lens? $2,300 for a 2.1lb 50mm lens? Yes, these lenses are fast, but they are also very heavy, very expensive, and those fast apertures aren't so useful if you stop down. When people finally sober up and consider the cost and weight of these lenses, I don't think they are going to seem as attractive as some people are making them out to be.

1 week ago
voronspb

Indeed these lenses are attractive for youtubers and reviewers who can play with them for free (plane ticket to Hawaii and accommodation included). Most other people do forget that they aren't youtubers.

1 week ago
3dit0r

@T3 - totally agree. Lenses so big and heavy there is very little benefit to mirrorless. Don’t start me on the cost.

4 days ago
T3

@3dit0r - There is *plenty* of benefit to mirrorless other than size. Real-time exposure preview, live histogram in the viewfinder, focus peaking and focus magnification, face AF, eye AF, silent electronic shutter, no mirror slap, high frame rates at much lower cost, focus frame focus point coverage, etc. Especially with FF DSLRs, the focus point coverage is quite pathetic. With FF mirrorless, you can have focus points that goes nearly edge to edge in the viewfinder, with face AF too.

4 days ago
Vallkar
Vallkar

Too many negative comments here. What I prefer (as features or ergonomics) someone will not like, what others like, I may not like. As the saying goes "if you can't dance, you will blame the floor". The only option for some is to have a tailor made camera (if they can afford one).

1 week ago
Cerdo

I wonder if there are any photographers posting here at all. My workplace is now inundated with IT-kids, most of them with a mental age about 10. Btw, I bought an EOS R. A fantastic camera. It’s a joy to use. Haven’t had so much fun with a new camera since I bought my first Canon F-1 in 1979. Oh, maybe I should add the T90 in 1986.

1 week ago
Holografix

You sound like that old man in “The Shawshank Redemption”, you’re institutionalised. You can’t see past the bars of your Canon cell.
Im sure the EOS R is a great camera, in isolation if your ignore the rest of the market.
Relative to the Sony and Nikon it performs worse and it’s overpriced. Thanks for buying it, it’s good to have 3 competitors in the market if it wasn’t for people like you, too afraid to changed and sentimental with old age, Canon wouldn’t sell much.

1 week ago
Kevin DiOssi

The DPReview comments section is always filled with the opinions of people who usually have no experience with anything they're commenting on. A poisonous culture has been draped Canon as a result of extremely biased journalism from non professional photographers for several years now on many sites and YouTube. It has made Canon passé in the internet world.

It's all in an effort to sell more cameras. It comes down to the fact that year-to-year, there haven't been many differences between cameras to justify upgrading. So people pushed Sony. Sony hasn't been ready for professional primetime until last year (A9/A7R3/A73, the A7S2 being the exception), in my personal opinion and experience. So now the arrogance is incredibly bad. Not to give Canon a pass at all...they have really been slow to adapt to changes in the market. But the EOS R is a fantastic camera for both stills and video. It just isn't the do-it-all camera that the Sony A7III is.

1 week ago
diness

So, if someone has needs that a certain camera doesn't meet, then they aren't a real photographer? Interesting.

1 week ago
MILC man

yes, it'll build character, we should all suffer with weak sauce canon gear, that has lousy d.r., huge video crop, no ibis, unstabilized lenses, a dysfunctional mf bar, etc... NOT

I can't believe the fanboy drivel out here, trying to support lousy gear just because it's made by canon.

even Nikon knows milc better than canon does, and they had the common sense to make usable lenses, instead of halo effect glass that nobody can afford, that's too heavy to carry around.

1 week ago*
kodachromeguy

Photographers? Where, here, this crowd? The land of equivalence, film hatred, Leica jealousy, megapixel envy, monochrome denial, and dual card slot insecurity? OK, I can wait for some.

1 week ago
zxaar

This is a photography site so it is obvious that people who are interested in furniture visit here frequently. Real photographs don't visit photography gear sites at all.

1 week ago
Terrano

Just got mine and really enjoying it feels great, people are so spoiled today. My first digital Camera needed to do 4 captures just to create one image. Then the Nikon D1X only 5.6 Megapixels( $4000). Then the Kodak Canon Camera i think only about 10 megapixels( $3500) Then the Leaf Aptus Digital back 30 megapixels ($6000) only really good for shooting in the studio. Then the Canon 5DMK2(stolen) Then the Canon 6D We are so spoiled today.

1 week ago*
aerorail

how does a photograph visit a gear site?

1 week ago
kadarpik

EOS R is an amateur camera, amateurs never adjust setting, they do it may be one per session or once per trip. 90% they use auto. Enthusiasts have mostly time also. Worst thins in Sony and also EOS-R as I red now, is menus and no button blind interface shortcuts. It gets eyes tired and moments missed if you need to focus into camera 's screen in between and it is 1000x slower than pressing button like playing piano. Manufacturers do it deliberately or just project team contain different persons from different communities. Worst experience is smartphone camera, dynamical buttons and visual interface. It is good add on to a camera but really spoils all experience of shooting.

1 week ago
mammagamma

aha, so I do something I never do, thanks for telling me...

1 week ago
Terrano

No way an Amateur camera :-)

1 week ago
mpb002

The EIS R is canon’s first FF csmera. Like every first camera in a new seeies,there are alays things that people like and dont like.

It appears that this csmera really does not need anything, except Good photographers to use it, which some people using Sony cameres may not be, since they tend to complain more over what a camera lacks than actuslly does...take photographs.

1 week ago
T3

That sounds like a great marketing strategy: make a camera that is crippled, or lacks feature, or has lower specs, give it a higher price, then say that this camera "really does not need anything, except good photographers to use it." If people like you controlled the camera industry, we'd all still be using manual focus, manual exposure cameras, lol. Thankfully, people like you *don't* control the camera industry. Instead, we have companies continually pushing camera technology, camera features, and camera capabilities forward.

I understand that there are certain cameras that cater to a particular kind of user, such as Leica M rangefinder cameras. These cameras cater to a particular niche. But I don't think the EOS R is meant to be a niche camera selling to a niche market. If so, it will likely have niche sales.

1 week ago
Francis Sawyer

"the Register / Recall Shooting Function"

What is that supposed to mean?

Do you mean a way to save camera setups (a complete collection of settings)?

There's already a name for that: "camera setup."

1 week ago
voronspb

In Canon DSLRs you could assign DOF Preview button for instant switching the focus drive mode while you hold this button.

Register / Recall Shooting Function is basically the same, but here the button press allows instant applying up to a dozen of settings, valid only while you hold this button. And the camera can start seeking focus in this moment, buying some time for you.

Most users utilize this feature for "emergency response" button: no matter what were you shooting and in which mode, you can instantly recall the necessary settings for shooting unexpected live action. On Sony A7III up to 3 different setting sets may be assigned to different buttons.

My settings are as follows: Tv (S) mode, 1/250s, cont. shooting 5 fps, AF-С (servo), ISO Auto, lock-on AF, start AF. Recalled by holding the joystick.

1 week ago
Sutlore

I am looking forward to see Five ways to improve for both Sony A7 and A9 later :)

My opiniens for those are:
- better grip
- better menu operations
- 2 UHS-II card slots with (much) faster buffer clearance
- usable AF in low light (I expected -5EV with Z55/1.8) and more adjustable options for AF-C
- better high iso performance on sensor. I need at least 2-3x cleaner images at ISO12800.

1 week ago
Francis Sawyer

How about recording something other than crappy 8-bit video, and providing raw output through the HDMI?

1 week ago
KonstantinosK
KonstantinosK

Custom buttons settings not enough for you? You should plea Canon to offer a big amount of blank switches and dials with no initial assignment to them, so that the user could set their functions as they like. How about that?

1 week ago
cscanlon

IMO, it's unforgivable for any digital camera at all, from the very first DSLR produced in history to the most recent, to lack at least some form of intervalometer. The idea that making a digital chip _count_ is a difficult, expensive, or otherwise impractical feature in a camera at any price point is just ridiculous. Ok, maybe a "disposable" point and shoot where every user interface element added doubles the production cost, but anything else has no excuse. A camera of this caliber that can't be told to take repeated photos without some kind of dongle BS is just scandalous and shouldn't be tolerated. Again, IMO. :-) I understand they cripple these things to protect upmarket models, but how can they get away with not including an intervalometer? It's like making it not able to focus on Tuesdays and saying "sorry, buy the more expensive camera if you want 7-day-a-week focusing" and then we all need to use magic lantern for "Tuesday focusing". How do they still get away with it in 2018?

1 week ago
Francis Sawyer

Amen. No camera made today should lack this simple feature, which is essentially FREE to implement.

I don't see why DPReview doesn't call this out in every review; after all, they harangued Canon FOR YEARS about a relatively obscure problem where you could open the CF door while stuff was being written to the card.

1 week ago*
Bob Jameson

The problem is because Sony doesn't implement it also. At least the Nikon has it.
Needs more pressure to from other manufacturers to make it more competitive.

1 week ago
dansclic

Totally agree. I was interested in this camera but no second card slot and no intervalometer and the expensive and too big lenses give no chance for’me To buy this stuff. Again canon makes a camera with not enough or too much that sits in between ....

1 week ago
borax
borax

How to improve Canon R camera ?
Using a 45 Mpixel without AAfilter, with a 14 dB dynamic range.
Introducing IBIS on Canon camera
Improving autonomy
Making cropless 4K video recording available
Replacing the M.Fn bar by a scroll wheel.
Intervalometer
etc...

1 week ago
EDWARD ARTISTE

", the spookily accurate Pupil Detection option is only available in Single AF. "

Wait...WHAAAAATTTT??? Where did this come from?

Not a hint of this function in any writeup so far, and it's mentioned here as a passing note?

1 week ago
Thematic

Who cares if it can't track.

Eyes are so small when a head shot or shoulder up shot or worse full body shot is taken, any small movement of the portrait subject creates an oof eye.

1 week ago
EDWARD ARTISTE

Of course that depends on if the subject is moving.

If not...ILL TAKE IT*

*Seriously, its still better to have any assist then not. It's cray to argue otherwise

1 week ago*
Thematic

There is always a bit of movement with people. It's natural.

Think about a few millimeters of eye movement applied to a full body portrait and you'll understand why the lack of tracking makes it useless.

And yes I have tried the eos r vs nikon Z6 and Sony a7mk3

It's useless and that's why Canon doesn't talk about it.

1 week ago
EDWARD ARTISTE

Well, many of us have done pretty well without it, so the addition of it need not create any complaints.

Useless to you, is not transferable to others. My M1 is ..."useless" to other more snobbish photogs...but its only my most used body with over 40k frames taken

See what I did there :P

If other kit has better implementations, great, but you get what im saying.

1 week ago
Thematic

If you know something Canon doesn't, by all means share.

But dpreview and Canon are correct.

1 week ago
EDWARD ARTISTE

Now that i think about it more...um, that's "useless" logic.

One shot focus does the same thing, does it not?

So, that moots everything you just said....because there's no way you can call single shot useless, no matter how hard u try.

1 week ago
BlueBomberTurbo

@EDWARD ARTISTE

Single shot is good for things that don't move. On both ends. Might have been fine hand held back in the low res days, but now, with very high MP and fast lenses wide open, even a couple mm off will show (as AF fine tune users can attest to). That's why I shoot AF-C for most things, as I hand hold the camera 95% of the time. Hasn't let me down. Ever.

1 week ago
Stu 5

Thematic it is not useless. I have nailed focus on the eye in manual focus using a magnified view on a live view camera on hundreds of headshots in a photo shoot. It just depends on the subject and skills of the photographer. Single AF is perfectly useable. It does not need to track in your example if the photographer knows what they are doing.

1 week ago
PAntunes

Cameras without eye-af aren't useless either, but I'm sure many will love that function on the R. And many will hate it doesn't do it in EYE-AF-C. And as soon as canon has eye-af-c, many will think that's a massive omission and a dealbreaker in any cameras that don't offer it.

1 week ago
T3

@Stu 5 - You have to consider the bigger picture. Back in the early days of Canon EOS, the difference in AF performance between EOS and Nikon F was not humongous. Nikon had "perfectly usable" AF. Nevertheless, a LOT of Nikon users and new users opted for Canon EOS because of the edge in AF performance that EOS offered. This also pertained to Canon offering Image Stabilization, which also gave EOS an edge over Nikon. In both cases, Nikon users made the argument that these things are not needed "if the photographer knows what they are doing." But that argument really didn't work. These differences in technology and performance, however small in significance some people claimed them to be, allowed EOS to go from zero market share to overtaking Nikon in the consumer and pro SLR markets. Consumers really do pay attention to these factors when making purchase decisions. They generally don't say, "Oh, I'm not going to need that if I know what I'm doing." It's better to have than to have not.

1 week ago*
T3

@Stu 5 - As the saying goes, better to have a feature and not need it than to need a feature and not have it.

1 week ago
Mr Marco

I think it would be nice if you could customize the swipe option of the M.Fn Bar to swipe through the different assignable functions (like ISO, WB, AF,, etc...).
And of course there is still the issue with the missing interval timer....

1 week ago
Dantist

Tried today at local shops exhibition alongside with Z7 and my old A7. The haptic and build of new cameras, and especially of R is superb! The interface is a mess though. Nikon is Nikon, but R is quite confusing. Would have to read the manual:) And that Touch Bar... poorly placed, lagging, and lacking any sort of feedback. Changed iso 4 times in 4 minutes by accident :( And power switch on the left! On milc! What they were thinking of?!? Nikon is way better thought out. Unfortunately, focusing indoors is on par with 1st gen A7 :( Hope Z6 is better there...

1 week ago
Thematic

+1

Tried the nikon extensively at Photo Plus in New York and the af was a disaster as dpreview has written about.

Wiat for the z8 or z9

1 week ago
Dantist

you mean Z6? It's a pity then... still, I'll take a look, and if it's like Z7, will just go for A7III, much cheaper than Canon anyway. AF on Canon seemed ok, btw.

1 week ago
Kevin DiOssi

The Canon interface is a mess? You are one of the first people to ever say this. It's widely considered to have the most organized and easy to navigate menus and interface system of any camera.

Canon DSLRs have placed the power switch on the left side for a very long time on their prosumer cameras. The 5D3, 5DSR, 5D4, 6D, 6D2, 70D, 80D, 7D Mark II, etc...people should really stop making this a talking point of reviews when they say "moved the power switch" when it didn't get moved at all...it's always been there.

1 week ago
Dantist

Kevin, I did not say they moved it :) It might be ok on dslr (even if not optimal imho), but on milc that’s really bad idea. The menus on R are different from their DSLRs, and I think for the worse. With both R and Z being new to me, Nikon was easier to get around. That’s a minor issue though, a matter of getting used to, the real problem is general control layout.

1 week ago
diness

Can’t beleive continuous FPS improvement isn’t on here. That’s the top thing for me personally

1 week ago
Edmond Leung
Edmond Leung

The trend is...
Professional still cameras = Canon
Professional cine cameras = ARRI
Others are.... too bad!

1 week ago
jkgal

No, the trend is for Canon to continue to suck

1 week ago
Yake

The trend here is Sony fans upvoting comments critical of Canon. Especially comments that say Canon "sucks".

1 week ago
BlueBomberTurbo

Well, it's not exactly easy to find comments complimenting Canon, so there's nothing else to upvote. :p

1 week ago
waldoh

1. Competitive sensor to Nikon/Sony (I suspect 2-5 are a result of 1)
2. 4K with no crop
3. 1080p120
4. Sharper video (Max Yuryev test)
5. DR that is closer to FF than APSC.
6. Competitive FPS with AF/AE
7. Joystick
8. Dual card slots

1 week ago
Anulu

And IBIS, and more dials, and sensor without typical Canon shadowbanding...

1 week ago
sh10453
sh10453

Very good suggestions, DPR Staff.

I haven't purchased this camera, but I continue to read feedback from actual owners (or people who claim to be actual owners), and filter out the fanboyish feedback.
It's reasonable to assume that different departments (or at least different groups) within Canon design the different cameras and menus.
From the feedback I have seen, it sounds like Canon has hired/stolen some Sony menu designers, making the menu either more complicated, more confusing, or simply requiring some considerable time to learn it (even for the Canon faithful).
I own both, Canon cameras and Sony cameras, and I know the difference in the menu structures.
There is no justification for the long learning curve, and the radical departure from your sensible menus, Canon.
I'll continue to wait and see what happens with future firmware updates before I decide on purchasing the R camera.

1 week ago
GabrielZ
GabrielZ

Yes, and replace that touch control thingy on the back with a joystick or something.

1 week ago
MikeStern

Wait??? First thing you guys forgot. Improving the image quality.
Brand new camera of now is still behind A7 models that are 2 years old.
Especially on dynamic range. Which is crystal aspect of image quality of a sensor.

1 week ago
jkgal

Image Quality is the raison d'être for a FF camera. Recycling a class trailing 2 year old sensor in order to save development costs? Unfortunately it's what we've come to expect from Canon.

1 week ago
BlueBomberTurbo

IQ really isn't bad on this sensor. Enough DR for most things, good high ISO, and sharp enough detail. It's not top of its class, but it's worlds better than what Canon used to produce. Now if only they'd move this tech down to their APS-C cameras...

1 week ago
Shiranai
Shiranai

BS. The camera is not behind A7II. Google the DxO numbers of 5D4 (same sensor) and A7II.
The R actually is quite the same like an A7II , just with more resolution, better focussing and far better ergonomics.

1 week ago
Anulu

Yes, but the A7II has the sensor from 2012 (originaly designed for a99mark1)

1 week ago
BlueBomberTurbo

DR might be similar, but the 5D IV should surpass it at high ISO. Even the A6300 does.

1 week ago
Arun H

I wonder how many of the folks commenting here actually own a Canon camera or are seriously considering buying one. Unless you are, Canon is very unlikely to care about your opinion!

1 week ago
Marc Bergman

I bought my first Canon in 1972. It was a Canon Ftb. I used it until 1981 when I got the Canon A-1. I continued with Canon until this year. You are right, Canon doesn't care about my opinion.

1 week ago
celestialemissary
celestialemissary

well they should care

1 week ago
borax
borax

Witch opinions do you think Canon should care about most ?
Loyal customers, who already own Canon lenses, and are captive customers ?
Or customers who still doesn't own any Canon material, and could quickly buy both cameras and lenses if convinced to switch ?

1 week ago*
BlueBomberTurbo

Believe it or not, this is THE time Canon should care. Everyone's coming out with FF mirrorless, requiring an entirely new set of gear, so the ball is up in the air for many users. Where it'll land depends on how good your product is, and Canon is far behind in bodies, as usual. On the bright side for Canon, Nikon didn't hit a home run, either, so the urge to jump ship to there isn't as big as it could've been.

1 week ago
stevo23

I like the balanced approach you guys are taking here. Good article.

1 week ago
Always Amateur
Always Amateur

I own one and 100% agree with all points made (albeit, I’ve never heard of ‘register/recall’). This camera is loaded with potential but the UI takes time to get used to, and even after you do, its still not as intuitive as it could be.

1 week ago
JackM
JackM

1. proper tilt screen. None of this "articulating" for selfies crap.
2. IBIS
3. 10fps
4. full width 4K video
5. proper tilt screen.

1 week ago
Julian

I'm just curious, can you define "proper tilt screen"?

1 week ago
PAntunes

Julian, I find that the solution that sony, nikon and specially fuji implemented are way better. If you just need to tilt the screen a little, you don't have to fully take it away from the camera and do an 180º rotation. It's a much more "self contained" operation. The canon option is much better for vloggers and selfie lovers, but I'm not sure that there are that many vloggers to justify the annoyance it brings to all other people.

1 week ago
Shiranai
Shiranai

1) Try to hold your superior "proper tilt screen" over your head or vertically under you and see how that works out for you. Sorry but calling a 20% tilt resolution "proper" is like calling a car that can only steer left proper.
2) No need for camera-overheating IBIS when you have IS in your lens.
3) It already does 10fps in single AF
4) Who wants to edit 4K video anyways? You need the latest hardware for that. Besides its mainly a photo camera. I've used the video of my 6D maybe 2 times.

1 week ago*
Strolic Furlan
Strolic Furlan

I'll choose the swivel screen each and every time over the tilt screen, simple as that.

1 week ago
voronspb

I've owned the cameras with both swivel and tilt screens, and honestly I prefer the tilt screen. It's a lot easier to adjust it to a necessary amount by simple pulling off the camera. The swivel screen needs to be flipped off completely and rotated by 180° for any kind of adjustment, which was annoying, so I simply haven't used this feature.

But yes, for many people the swivel screen might be better. It's just a matter of personal taste.

1 week ago
Strolic Furlan
Strolic Furlan

It is what I intended, here everybody has the truth by its side but, at the end, it is only a matter of personal taste, so my taste and preferences are not the perfect fit for other people but here there is the obnoxiuos tendency to say "I am right, anybody else here is retarded".

1 week ago
nick webster
nick webster

@shiranai

What if your lens doesn't have IS ? ( there are lots that don't )
When does IBIS overheat the camera ? Not a problem I've ever come across using it.

1 week ago
sh10453
sh10453

I agree with Shiranai on all 4 points.
I like the fully articulated / swivel screen much better, and I own cameras of both options.
I only wish that Canon would implement in-body stabilization in their cameras instead of their lenses.

1 week ago
EDWARD ARTISTE

"proper tilt screen"

Wow. Guess somebody was sleeping and forgot to realize that tilt screens are marginalized, downbeat versions fully articulated screens.

"i don't like it, so its bad"

Is that the thinking? Seems to be

1 week ago
T3

I prefer tilt screens because I just like my screen to be closer to the lens axis than what a swivel screen offers. And the whole rig is more compact even when using a tilt screen. Using a swing-out swivel screen doubles the width of the camera. The best would be to have a camera that can do both swivel and tilt, but if I can only choose one I'd rather have tilt. I think swivel might be better for videography (especially vlogging), but for photography I prefer tilt.

1 week ago
BlueBomberTurbo

Having to work around the LCD appendage on the side of the camera when you're holding the camera above or below you is a no-go for me. Had it on the GH2, and it was incredibly annoying. One-handed limits stability too much, and having to work your hand around the left side of the camera while changing angles, avoiding the screen in the process, is a PITA, and can lead to some awkward wrist positions that do nothing to add extra stabilization.

Fuji has the only useful variation of a fully articulated LCD out there, as the LCD doesn't get in the way of being behind the camera until you're in front of the camera (selfie/tripod). Only then do you need to flip the LCD out.

1 week ago
Julian

I think this sound like it is a personal preference thing, having never owned a "tilt" or "swivel" screen, it is hard for me to form a preference yet, although hopefully shortly I will learn to like the screen on the Z6. I can see that the extra flexibility of the canon design, but then the Tilt design looks to be much more robust, so there seems to be a tradeoff here between robustness and flexibility.

1 week ago
TMRoper

I rented it last weekend, and my biggest complaint is the placement of the control wheels. The index finger one is too far back, and the thumb one is too far in, so that both require you to move your hand to get at them.

Also, for $2300 I can't even resize the focus box with a pinch, like I can on my $500 Lumix G7. And "touch drag" to move the box while looking through the EVF is also much slower/laggier than my G7. That could be a firmware fix, but Canon needed to nail this out of the gate.

IQ is obviously good, and just holding it feels great. Actually using it, though, is another matter. It's not that it's bad, it's just a letdown for the money and the wait.

1 week ago*
wcan

"...what do you think?..." I think Canon should have produced a camera with feature parity to the competition. Specifically, full frame oversampled 4K and IBIS with a new generation sensor.

1 week ago
Barney Britton
Barney Britton

At an EOS 6D pricepoint?

1 week ago
Angrymagpie
Angrymagpie

I think it's reasonable for people to expect full frame, oversampled 4k and IBIS with a new generation sensor given the price point of the A7iii. It's unfortunate that Canon's camera at this price point is a little lacking in features (relative to a7iii & z6), since the standard has been risen by its competitors.

1 week ago
Endgame Trigger

Barney!

By specs and tech this is a 2012 camera ! I know bloggers and shooters over here, who even refused to test it due to initial boredom. One also could have kept the 5D MkII, when it comes to Canon. They aren't interested either in exciting technology or proper IQ/ISO-power and speed. Three fps (one silent), no Ibis, an old sensor which is almost one full stop behind the competition (when it comes to SNR and DR), a ridiculus slow and weak processor, no proper video due to processing, but even more thermal issues.

Why should anyone test this camera and for what reason ever? Do you test a five years old smartphone? It bores out of the box. So either your whole business is a hysteric clickbaiting industry for fanboys and empty consumpton zombies, then keep on with dramatic and provoking head lines or you are a serious editorial and testing department, then you have to admit that - compared to its competition - this body is 1000$ too expensive (same with the latest 5D and 6Ds).

1 week ago
voronspb

Dear Barney, a lot of time has passed since Canon could release the intentionally crippled EOS 300D, and it still would be a huge bestseller. Now the competition is fierce, and customers legitimately expect that 2300$ camera would not lose to 2000$ camera by any of major aspects. Especially considering the fact that Canon had had a LOT of time to study the competitors' offers and make a better product.

But Canon hasn't decided to make a better camera, they just wanted to be good enough to stop the customer base bleeding. Their failure was in price tag. For $2300 the photographers (specifically those who purchase it with hard-earned cash) want a lot more camera than EOS R offers. It's nice camera, by I look at Amazon sale statistics and I see that it's really overpriced.

The same goes for Nikon Z7 - in my country it's sold in the middle of tasty specials, trade-in offers, discounts, zero interest credit, free bundles and so on. BTW in Russia EOS R also goes with "free" EF adapter.

1 week ago*
wcan

Regarding price point....it's the "new normal" set by the competition. Sony really set the price/feature benchmark. The Z6/7 pretty much has feature and price parity with the A7iii/riii. The EOS R costs significantly more than the A7iii and is missing significant features (IBIS and full frame 4K).

1 week ago
voronspb

Nikon Z7 sports the consumer-grade AF in pro-grade body, according to recent articles... With Sony A7RIII and A7III it's the other way round. But with EOS R the things are a lot more mixed.

1 week ago
Bob Jameson

@voronspb, The Z7 single point AF is faster than the A7RIII. It's the firmware that was tweaked that Nikon users hope will be fixed in the future. The EOS R has potential with many detect points. Whether the camera has the horsepower to handle the many detect points in the big question. If it can, a firmware fix can take care of it.

1 week ago
voronspb

Using of single-point AF severely limits the potential of modern MILC AF system. It's simply not relevant to actual action shooting.

1 week ago
Angrymagpie
Angrymagpie

Z7 has a consumer-grade AF? Oh dear, aren't we all spoilt rotten?

1 week ago
T3

@Barney Britton - "At an EOS 6D pricepoint?"

Are you talking about the current 6D price point? Because the 6D MKI's current price point is $999. The 6D MKII's price point is currently $1,599. The EOS R is obviously well above those two price points, and even above the price point of the Z6 and A7III, For the price, it should at least have faster fps and IBIS, which the Z6 and A7III obviously have. This camera is certainly not at the 6D price point.

1 week ago
borax
borax

I agree with T3. I didn't notice the EOS R were a 1700 € camera. In France, it's about 50% more. And nothing to justify such a price given what the competition delivers (even if the Canon camera will make excellent pictures).

1 week ago
Angrymagpie
Angrymagpie

I'm impressed by the degree of respect members display here in disagreeing with each other. What a happy thing to see on DPReview!

1 week ago
Thermidor

As a Fuji, Canon and Nikon user, and having tried both the Z7 and EOS R over the weekend, I was surprised with the amount of initial learning curve on the Canon. I moved away from Canon APS-C to Nikon full frame, but returned to a 200D recently. It's an extremely intuitive camera, and I didn't need any adjustment despite having been away from Canon for some 3 years.

The Nikon Z7 is very much along those lines, coming from a D750. I could essentially work the Z7 from my muscle memory, and everything I needed to adjust were easy to find and the menus made sense to navigate around.

I've been a very strong proponent of Canon's interface, more so with the touchscreen. The EOS R however, is just not as intuitive to use. Given an hour or two, I'd eventually find my way around, but it's just more complicated to adjust compared to the Nikon Z7, where I was working on muscle memory. It's a pretty neat camera otherwise, with some killer lenses, so Canon should really iron these kinks out.

1 week ago
NRBlack
NRBlack

What would I want.
A bigger body. The EOS R is tool small, especially for a touch sensitive swipe bar like the M-fn bar. Fine with more room on the back of the camera.

Phones are taking over regular everyday photography. What's left is the premium enthusiast end. Those lenses are commonly bigger than smaller. Who wants a small body with a big(ger) lens.

As for the customization. Add EC to the M-fn button menu. Flash EC is there but regular EC for M mode. Add EC to the M-fn swipe, for M mode with auto ISO.

1 week ago
Kevin DiOssi

Sounds like you haven't held this camera. It's every but as ergonomically accommodating as a 5D, if not more so. The group is extremely comfortable. I want more room in the area between the AF-ON button and the Mfn bar, but other then that, it's a pleasure to use and hold from an ergonomics standpoint.

1 week ago
NRBlack
NRBlack

And you would be wrong. I have held the EOS R side by side with the 7D2 and 5D4. Not enough room for my thumb with a *touch* sensitive bar so close. How would such a touch bar work on a bigger body like the 7D/5D. No idea. I might have the same comment.

The grip is comfortable. A bit small but probably ok with big(ger) lenses. Only way to know is to own it for a while.

1 week ago
Kevin DiOssi

My apologies if you have actually held the camera. I didn't sound like you have. Many people are plainly making bogus claims about this camera without ever holding one, using one, smelling one, etc. The Mfn bar is disabled on the right side for me. I literally hit it non stop when I'm shooting. I have the left side active and the swipe feature to change AF area modes. It works rather well for that.

1 week ago
bdbender4

@Kevin: I haven't held the R camera, but my point about the touchscreen making the slide bar an anachronism comes from using my EOS M5. The "quick menu" comes up with a tap on the upper right of the touchscreen. It brings up not only changing AF area modes, but other functions along both sides of the screen. You can choose among a number of common functions and arrange them in the order you want. A second tap and there you go. Quick, simple, easy, not prone to accidental triggering. With that available, what in the world is the point of the slider bar?

1 week ago
Kevin DiOssi

@bdbender4 speed. In order to change anything with that method, you need to take your face away from the camera. The manual function bar offers the possibility of changing several functions with ease while you have your face pressed against the viewfinder. At least that's what it's supposed to provide in theory. Everyone's mileage will vary with cameras and how they personally use them. I know I've found it useful but was forced to disable the right side entirely.

1 week ago
bdbender4

@Kevin fair enough, although you can program the M5 touchscreen to desensitize by quarters, so you can still use it as a touchscreen while looking through the viewfinder without your nose triggering it. I do use it that way fairly often, but won't claim it is particularly quick or always predictable/accurate.

It sounds to me like you are just using the slider as one button. If that works for you, great. But then the obvious question arises: why not just put a button there? The slider seems like an answer to an unasked question to me. From the comments I see, people are working around it or making do with it, rather than praising it as a great new control that unleashes new possibilities.

1 week ago
bdbender4

Whoever put the slider bar on there doesn't have or use a smartphone. If they did, they would know that the whole screen is already a "slider bar" and a much better one if you have competent software. 2 billion people already are "sliding" on phone touchscreens, all the time, every day. (Senior Canon management is Just as out of touch (ha!) as Apple with their slider bar on laptop computers when they also have a touchscreen pad already under your fingers.) And, just for the record, I say this as a Canon user, a bit sadly.

1 week ago
Camera Tribbing

You know the screen is already a touch screen / giant slider bar thing right?

1 week ago
TMRoper

The slider bar reminds me of something on an electronic device from a couple of decades ago. But not retro in a good way, just plain lame.

1 week ago
T3

@Camera Tribbing - That's his point. The screen is already a giant slide bar, so why have another one on the body?

1 week ago
Camera Tribbing

@T3 so one is good but two is bad? Does that also apply to card slots?

Touch Bars (regardless of size) are really only good for one function at a time. My understanding and experience isn’t very positive with the Canon Touch Bar, but that doesn’t discredit the purpose, just the implementation.

1 week ago
BlueBomberTurbo

@Camera Tribbing

Are we expecting newfangled slider bars to break now?

The LCD is in a more ergonomically friendly place, and can also allow more precision due to the much longer distance between ends (almost 3x). Even Nikon uses the touchscreen as a slider/dial on some of their DSLRs.

1 week ago
Camera Tribbing

@Blue - No? Not sure where I suggested that? I disagree that right where your face is is more ‘ergonomic’ than where your thumb naturally rests given the rest of the grip design / camera shape.

A larger touch surface doesn’t comfortably make it more suitable for more functions at the same time. So if one touch of is useful, arguably two are useful and certainly more useful than one. Just as two dials are more useful than one dial.

Equally having the Touch Bar does not stop the touch screen from working. So not sure I understand the ‘issue’ the OP has.

1 week ago
Shiranai
Shiranai

Still waiting for the full review which hopefully comes out before I buy the camera next year...

1 week ago
robert614

I’ve had the EOS R since it’s release. I’ve found a few things I’d like to see addressed with a firmware update.

1. Image Stabilization is always on. Seems like unnecessary wear and tear on the IS mechanism. I hesitate to put my EF lenses on it because of this. Please make it behave like a DSLR.

2. When zooming in to check focus, the camera zooms into the center of the image when using any AF mode where you manually select the AF point. Same thing happens when using Eye-AF or face detection. I want to zoom into the selected AF point, not the center. Works properly in any of the zone modes though. Not sure why.

3. Face detection and Eye-AF are only available in wide zone mode. Please make it available in all modes. That way I can be in single point mode, taking pictures. Then if a face is detected, the camera automatically brings up the face box. So I can quickly take a photo without having to change to wide zone. Take a photo. Then change back to single point.

1 week ago
salamander1

" Image Stabilization is always on. Seems like unnecessary wear and tear on the IS mechanism."

this is an excellent point!

1 week ago
JackM
JackM

Uhh, can't you just turn off IS with the switch on the lens?

1 week ago
Bob 1

Robert: "Please make it behave like a DSLR." You and DPR may have just convinced me that I don't need a very expensive mirror-less camera with less than ideal features. My idea was an EOS M with similar DSLR features. So why do I need to spend thousands more for a MC camera, and new lenses, when I can get the same or better image quality/features/size-weight with a DSLR? Thanks Robert... I needed that! HAGD! :)

1 week ago
salamander1

"Uhh, can't you just turn off IS with the switch on the lens?"
several hundred times a day? a thousand times???

1 week ago
photenth

Luckily the long lenses have an IS mode where only when taking the picture the IS is active. But I agree, this needs a software update.

1 week ago
BlueBomberTurbo

The IS should be electromagnetic. No significant physical wear, just electricity flowing like any other electronic part. That said, it'll drain the battery faster if it's always on.

Also, Sony has all of these features. Guess Canon didn't bother investigating Sony's cameras beyond what looked good on paper...

1 week ago*
Tom Holly

Buttons have limited customisation for a reason.

Being completely free and spoiled for choice with endless customisation option is the main reason Sony interface sucks.

1 week ago
jonathanj
jonathanj

No. It's really not. Confusing menu structure with enigmatically-labelled, sometimes-but-not-always-mutually-exclusive options is the main reason Sony interface "sucks". ("Sucks" is a bit strong, in my opinion as a Sony user, but it could certainly be improved.)
If you don't want to customize the buttons, you don't have to, you can use any camera entirely on factory settings if you want - but if you do want to move a frequently used function to a button, it's much better to have the option - and because camera manufacturers are not psychic and can't know exactly who wants to move which function, it's much better to have more, rather than fewer, choices available...

1 week ago
anticipation_of
anticipation_of

That's nonsense, Sensible defaults are good; the camera should come out of the box ready to go in a configuration that works decently well for most photographers. However, if you use the camera (any camera) a lot you will want to customize its interface for your needs. I have my RX10 IV set up very differently from how it came originally, and I can't imagine going back—to me, it handles almost perfectly now. Any function I need quick access to is right at my fingertips, and everything is set up for an aperture-priority-based shooting style that mixes landscape and wildlife still photography. It's just the way I like it, but it wouldn't work at all for someone else, which is why customization is so important.

1 week ago
Tom Holly

Canon knows more than you guys about interface design. They keep it limited for a reason. Less is more.

Sony hasn’t figured this out and their cameras are “C1”, “C2 “C3”...“Menu 6”,“Menu 7”

1 week ago
Paul B Jones
Paul B Jones

Some good suggestions to make a great camera even better.

1 week ago
G Master

You must be on some alternative universe.

1 week ago
Paul B Jones
Paul B Jones

No, just trolling people like you.

1 week ago
G Master

In that case, please don’t quit your day job..

1 week ago
Paul B Jones
Paul B Jones

No worries, trolling people like you is strictly an amusing hobby.

1 week ago
G Master

You’re easily entertained maybe you need a new hobby. What about collecting stamps?

1 week ago*
Endgame Trigger

Within Fanboy wars the last remaining bastions of the Canon army have been weather sealing (don't know, maybe a problem with bridegrooms coming too early and spontaneously. In any other given scenario I'd save my camera from the rain anyway and I don't go to the jungle), ergonomics (don't know, I never agreed with the unnecessarily heavy wall bricks and lumps, cameras have become since the film era), colour science or skin tones (don't know, that argument makes no sense whatsoever with three discrete digital channels, calibrate them to your needs or neutral and it's fine) and menues (really don't know, you like what you're used to, as simple).

The last remaining offensive weapons against Sony have been battery life, too small and fiddly, lens selection (!which is an argument!) and of course the nuclear option - EVF gives you eye cancer and no serious photographer could life with that whatsoever.

In my ears most of this sounded very desperate, more like a declaration of bankruptcy.

1 week ago
Endgame Trigger

...and now look! EVF seems to be as okay as limited lenses and poor battery life. What has happened?

But what still a major issue is, in fact an or the elephant in the room are the Canon sensors, which are almost a fully grown (with hairy balls) F-Stopp or even format factor behind the competition. And wasn't it Canon itself, which brought the FF 35mm sensor to the masses, with arguments which - at least with this brand - seem to count no longer now.

A way to heavy and expensive f2 std zoom, which is a very likely product, a fantastic lens as some other Canon lenses, makes no sense with such a slow and nonprofessional camera body. And if your standard zoom doesn't need to be a stylistic bokeh device, buy a 2.8 competitor which is twice as light and cheap and a fully stabilised body, which additionally gives you another stop of light or ISO-jump. I'm even quite happy with my 24-105 G lens, which is f4 slow, but has a wider and longer focal range and is also portable and affordable.

1 week ago*
Shiranai
Shiranai

So romantic, two toy camera fans found themselves in the Canon news comments.
Its getting slightly old how Sony fanboys are still trying hard to justify their superiority with that 1 stop more DR which is plain useless in like 99% of real world photography. BTW there is a tool which calculates that 1 stop in headroom from dual pixel photos if you'd need it.

Meanwhile you can take an EOS R in your hands and see its miles ahead in ergonomics. Plus it doesn't eat stars and has no pinstripe effect in certain light situations.

1 week ago
Endgame Trigger

Don't you find it ridiculus, to fight on against the superior brands only with oily sensor memes or by digging out 'stareater' memes?
The Sony and Nikons make always more details, linepairs and better edges, even with a few million pixels less and 'star eating', due to order of magnitute less outmapped defects on the sensor from the factory and better SNR. Where is your pride Canon Fanboys, that you keep getting cheated grateful by a company, that gives you a slow 2012 camera for the price of a 2018 product? Where is your pride? It gives one the douche chills.

Every landscaper, cityscaper, nightshooter, low light lover and so on... can use that one Stop in SNR and DR pretty good. So why not keeping your 5Douche IIs instead, with the corrupted red channel, or as Canon fanboys call it 'Colour Science', but stopp beeing such victims.

1 week ago
Shiranai
Shiranai

You write like a 16yo when I read words like douche.
Maybe you need to get a little more mature in your head to understand people don't buy cameras cause of sensors but because of the whole package. Canon produced a camera that has a former flagship sensor for $600 less, ergonomics that beat the Sony hands down, and simply takes beautiful pictures without the need to fiddle much in LR. Besides of already offering a huge lens selection that works flawless and native AND is up to 100% cheaper than the same Sony lenses.

1 week ago
ttran88
ttran88

It’s rather nuts to pay $2400 for a camera, knowing and hoping the manufacturer will fix the problems with a firmware update. By purchasing the product the way it is, you’re telling the manufacturer that you are happy with its current state.

1 week ago
BlueBomberTurbo

Fuji makes a bundle on that ideology.

1 week ago
Total: 117, showing: 1 – 50
« First‹ Previous123Next ›Last »