Paul Nicklen's photo series of Emperor Penguins won first prize in the 2013 Nature Stories category.

One of the premier photojournalism competitions, the 2014 World Press Photo contest, is now open for entries to professional photographers. The deadline for submissions is January 15, 2014 and the winners will be announced on February 14, 2014. 

Recent Videos

The contest categories are:  

  • General News
  • Spot News
  • Contemporary Issues
  • Daily Life
  • People
  • Nature
  • Sports

An international jury of professionals in the field of photojournalism will pick first, second and third prizes in all categories. First prize winners in each category receive a cash prize of €1,500 (~$2,065). Winners of second and third prizes, and those receiving honorable mention, receive a Golden Eye Award and a diploma. The top award, the World Press Photo of the Year, carries a cash prize of €10,000 (~$13,764). 

A user name and password are required to enter. If you have entered the contest in previous years, you will need to register again. The deadline for requesting a user name and password is January 9, 2014.