Nikon's D800 has been awarded the prestigious Camera Grand Prix 2012 title and also won the public vote for best camera. The awards, organized by the Japanese 'Camera Journal Press Club' also recognized the Canon EF8-15mm F4L USM as lens of the year. Meanwhile, the Editors Awards were given to Sony's NEX-7 and the Olympus m.Zuiko 45mm F1.8.

The main awards, established in 1984, are selected by a 57-member panel made up from the Camera Journal Press Club (CJPS), along with a selection of editors and experts from around the world. The Editors Awards, meanwhile, are decided between the council members of the CJPS. The Editors Awards have a history of recognizing significant products, including Sony's back-illuminated CMOS technology and the Panasonic G1 (the first mirrorless interchangeable lens camera), rather than just the high-end heavyweights.