126

Video Overview: Fujifilm X-T10

We've been shooting with a close-to-final version of the Fujifilm X-T10 for a few weeks now, and decided to take a closer look at this classically-styled interchangeable lens camera, in our video below. The X-T10 is, in many ways, a slightly-stripped down version of the Fujifilm X-T1 (which we gave a gold award last Spring). It offers the same 16MP X-Trans CMOS II sensor and EXR Processor II, as well as plenty of physical controls and customizable buttons. 


One area we hope to see noticeable improvement over past X-series cameras, is autofocus. The X-T10 offers new "Zone' and "Wide/tracking" options for photographing moving subjects. Phase detect AF sensitivity has also been improved, which should help AF acquisition in less-than-ideal shooting scenarios.

We just got final firmware on the camera today, and are currently working on a shooting experience, to be published soon. Until then, check out the video above, read our first impressions and see some real-world photos in our gallery below.

View Comments (126)

Comments

All (126)
Most popular (4)
Editors' picks (0)
DPR staff (4)
Oldest first
smallLebowski

Same 90's 16Mp sensor? Come on Fuji, is it all you can do? Disappointing.

May 30, 2015
Txoni

I sure would like to know what you shot on the 90's. A very early prototype of the magnificient EOS 300D (2k3) maybe? a stolen copy of a pre-release version of the Nikon D70? (2k4).

Or are you just one of those pixel-counting nerds that would happily run an iPhone to shoot?

May 30, 2015
crashpc

Have you ever heard about "exagearion" word Txoni? :-)
Of course one can do 99% of things with that good Fuji sensor, but if it had better one, there would be more people having some reason to buy it and upgrade. While I see that sensor being inferior to even that old Canon 18Mpx one in certain aspects, i see it similar way as smallLebowski. It´s not up to competition and it is not future proof. It is just another camera "overlook worthy" for too many potential customers.

May 31, 2015
Txoni

I do understand exxagerated sarcasm, but I like correct comparisons. I don't think Fuji is doing that badly, given most of the current manufactuerers just buy third party sensors, rather than manufacturing their own.

Not sure which Canon sensor are you referring to (70D? 1DX? T5?). In general I see more complaints about Canon sensors (mostly dynamic range related) than I see Fuji complaints?

My only complaint about Fuji is the price I'd have to pay to replace my lenses just to have a nicer manual system ;-)

May 31, 2015
crashpc

Fuji is not bad. By any means. It just is not that good to most people. I´m referring to practically ANY Canon APS-C sensor, of course those newer are on the better side. Yes, Canon lacks in DR, and there are complains. Especially from minorities...
I have the same issue with replacing everything. Grass is not always greener elsewhere.

May 31, 2015
Txoni

It's nice that the article highlights the feature that I believe is the most important one in the fuji system, which is the ease to quickly setup aperture and shutter. Not even looking at the LCD or fiddling with buttons.

However those buying it should notice that most zoom lenses, obviously including the kit lenses and some of the nicer (even constant aperture) lenses do not feature aperture markings, and the cheaper kit lenses do not even feature a ring at all.

In theory, this system is much faster than PASM mode, but the when markigns are missing you have an added "A" switch on the lens, for toggling manual aperture mode, which effectively adds an "A" mode to the camera, imho.... it's a real shame.

May 27, 2015*
jozhua

too many fujifilm cameras. :( difficult to choose now.

May 27, 2015
photo perzon
photo perzon

So how does it compare with X100 or T?

May 26, 2015
VisualFX

Different types of cameras. This one has interchangable lenses. Also if it matters to you, the X-T10 is not made in Japan, like all other Fuji cameras.

May 27, 2015
jeremyclarke
jeremyclarke

The X-A1/X-M1 "entry level" cameras also weren't made in Japan, but they were cheaper in many other ways. X-T10 seems as nice as the X-E series, which were made in Japan.

May 27, 2015
DarnGoodPhotos

Beyond the obvious physical differences, the IQ is the same, but the XT10 has a new AF system that will probably end up in the X100T in a couple of months via a firmware update.

Jun 1, 2015
jeremyclarke
jeremyclarke

+1 to DGD's point. X100T has basically the same updated system as the X-T10/new X-T1 firmware (in fact it's ahead of the old X-T1 firmware on the evolutionary path). There's a very good chance they'll all sync up in the near future (unlike the X-E2, which is unlikely to get the full suite of updates but might get some much needed tweaks like auto-iso in manual).

Jun 1, 2015
mayurgogoi
mayurgogoi

Skin tones and nice detail in above samples are ++++.But I am not over all happy with this new camera's JPEG pics.Dark.

May 24, 2015
Tomasz_Wk

That's weird, I have a X-E2 and I nerver noticed any "dark" pictures...

May 26, 2015
Baiju Jose
Baiju Jose

its a decent handy mirror less camera just light version of XT1 with improved features. placement will be between XT1 and XE2. Concern X T10 remarkable improvement is their new AF system. Implemented zonal wide and AF tracking modes which is very easy to access from the front dial button and very effective and accurate. Top layer controls and buttons are well placed. also equipped with number of film simulation modes especially classic chrome is a great tool for portraits and street photography. small camera on flash also included which is not available with XT1. ISO sensitivity also improved a lot. color rendition also excellent. you can use direct camera jpegs without any post processing. Wireless control thru application also works very smooth. I feel X T10 is more than enough for an average user.

May 23, 2015
Neal Hood
Neal Hood

Samples definitely seem to have a "darkish" trait to them. I would not want to buy that camera without using it for a weekend or so.

May 23, 2015
GabrielZ
GabrielZ

Fujis tend to underexpose slightly. If you're shooting RAW it shouldn't be an issue or you can just adjust the exposure-comp dial to compensate.

May 23, 2015*
GlobalGuyUSA

That's not actually a problem, except for those who don't touch any dials on their camera, shoot jpg only and immediately upload to facebook (in which case, a point-and-shoot is probably better for them). You literally can set brightness to whatever you want with cameras like this (it even has a dedicated dial to do it), or adjust with the easiest step possible in post-production. By the way, its not necessarily dark, it might be realistic. A lot of cameras are set to add more contrast than actually exists. Finally, if you underexpose, you can often recover many more details than if you overexpose. Once you blow something out with a bright light or in sunshine, its often gone. But being slightly too dark, you can recover it easily in post-production.

One other note: You can change the way it looks by choosing a different "film" preset to a different style of "film" to get just the look you want. When you see "slightly dark" images, its often the preference of the photographer.

May 24, 2015*
mayurgogoi
mayurgogoi

I too find little dark!I find Fuji XT10 gives very nice detail--but JPEG should be little bright--straight from camera!Frequent compensation for brightness of the pictures will be cumbersome--hope through form ware this particular problem will be overcomed!We do not want dark pictures in next FUJIXPRO-2 or XT2!

Now mirrorless market has been going very compititive;Sony a7s is very promising except some Autofocus issues.We want more iso and dynamic range improvements in FUJI.

May 24, 2015*
GlobalGuyUSA

You guys don't seem to understand that the USER can change how bright the JPEG comes (straight out of the camera).

I think you don't understand how cameras work. If you have a Nikon D810, it comes straight out of the camera VERY dark and bland -- if you are in "FLAT" mode. If you turn it to "Vivid" its incredibly bright. You have to understand your gear.

To say that its dark is basically to say you don't know how to use a camera to make it bright. This Fuji comes equipped with several dozen "film" settings and controls to change the straight out of camera look.

May 24, 2015
mayurgogoi
mayurgogoi

Thank you for your reply--May be you are true in some cases!But pl go through above samples in DPR-I observed all pictures very carefully--I find skin tones ++++ and detail are very nice-May I assume that DPR has been using same setting or same pics style then?Let DPR should clarify--then only we will be more happy!Have a very nice day!

May 24, 2015
Seattle Myck

I think the exposure depicts reality here in the PNW. Since I don't see any bright sunlight photos, I am not in a position to judge whether those would be underexposed. As another commenter has said, better to underexpose than have the highlights blown which could be common here in Seattle. You can then push the shadows if need be.

May 24, 2015
Neal Hood
Neal Hood

Very good comments you guys. My concerns have been dutifully alleviated. I only shoot RAW so I'm sure it would be fine. I guess the author did not want to change anything and I understand this. Fuji makes a fine camera, but I would still want to play with this one a couple days. Of course I tend to feel this way with all cameras.

May 24, 2015*
GlobalGuyUSA

The bottom line is that the "brightness" and "darkness" are easy to change. 1/3 stop brighter, 1/2 stop brighter, whatever you want. ONE click, and youre good. You can also boost Contrast and Sharpness, etc, etc, affecting every photo. You have total control.

Its true that Fujifilm sets the default a little bit more traditional (compared to the "candy" like POP! of Nikon or Canon vivid). But you can make the same looking images with any of those brands. The author of this post was in a specific setting. The "guts" of this camera are similar to the X-T1, so all you need to do is look at what the X-T1 can produce and you can get a very good idea. Its true, some of the "film" sets have a "dreamy" film look; but others are completely modern. Seems fine to me:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/cafetricot/12649768735/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/claudiofrk/14565378359/

May 25, 2015*
ChowMonkey
ChowMonkey

Saying the JPG's are too dark shows this will probably be the first prosumer camera you get. Just use the exposure compensation dial while composing and it will be fine. Welcome to this very nice hobby :)

May 25, 2015
Rishi Sanyal
Rishi Sanyal

Are you guys maybe talking about the photos that were purposely underexposed to then have their shadows recovered? Apologies they seem out of order - the brightened shot (Raw conversion) should be right after the darker JPEG, but they're out of order in the gallery.

May 27, 2015
GabrielZ
GabrielZ

This really is a lovely little camera! I'm now actually starting to regret now that I didn't wait longer before purchasing the X-E2. Which is a great little camera too mind. I really like the X-T10s simple retro-geometric styling and silver finish too. Reminds me of the Pentax K1000 I used way back when!

When I first saw the scoop photos of this at Fuji Rumors, I thought it to be quite ugly and nowhere near as good looking as the X-T1, but watching this video its grown on me enormously! Hopefully it'll be a big sales hit for Fujifilm.

May 23, 2015*
CaPi

More reviews like this and I am sture to develop nervous ticks waiting for this camera to be shipped ;D

If only she had gps *sigh*

May 23, 2015
Esign
Esign

If you don't care much for stills, why on earth do you use a stills camera and not a real video camera?

May 23, 2015
Pat Cullinan Jr
Pat Cullinan Jr

The sample photos need heavy post-processing.

May 23, 2015
Raist3d

In what sense? They seem pretty good to me and they are JPEGS.

May 23, 2015
Pat Cullinan Jr
Pat Cullinan Jr

Well, they look sort of dark, for example Dan-beta-ACR-ISO400.

May 23, 2015
AlexRuiz

Since when does exposure need "heavy post-processing"? Wouldn't a small turn of the Shutter or Aperture dials correct it?

May 23, 2015*
Pat Cullinan Jr
Pat Cullinan Jr

>Wouldn't a small turn of the Shutter or Aperture dials correct it?

True, but apparently that was not done.

May 23, 2015
Matthew Miller
Matthew Miller

The exposure choice looks great to me. It may be that you just have a different preference. Alternately, you may want to check your monitor calibration.

May 23, 2015
Pat Cullinan Jr
Pat Cullinan Jr

>you may want to check your monitor calibration.

That rings the bell! I've been thinking that my monitor needs adjustment. I get little shadow detail.

Thank you.

Pat

May 23, 2015
Matthew Miller
Matthew Miller

A lot of them _do_ seem to have a tending-towards-lower-key exposure choice — I suspect that's part of the design towards creating a specific film-like look.

I'm not a Fujifilm shooter (at least, not at present...) but I don't think there's a way to bias this other than using EV compensation or adjusting the exposure each time, which is a little bit unfortunate. You can adjust saturation ("color density") and shadow and highlight detail, but not this. With Pentax, each of the tone curves (roughly analogous to Fujifilm's film simulation) also has a "high key / low key" slider. Ah well — nothing's perfect.

May 23, 2015
Raist3d

Pat- I dunno. They shots look reasonable here on my display.

May 23, 2015
Pat Cullinan Jr
Pat Cullinan Jr

I'll tweak my monitor and see.

Thanks for the input, everybody.

May 23, 2015
Coliban
Coliban

Hmm, the Fuji X-T10 was released last week and there are several tests, reports, studio scenes while one of the direct competitors, the canon M3 is already for months on the market and there is not even one studio comparison.

I like the Fuji X-series, indeed am thinking about purchasing whether the sony a6000, a Fuji or the canon m3, these are the main concurrent in this area, does someone know, where i could find test charts and comparissons for the Canon M3?

May 23, 2015
Pieterbaan
Pieterbaan

The Fuji cameras are actualy quite popular as Fuji shows real interest in the mirrorless cameramarket. Canon on the other hand shows no interest at all, don't even bring the EOS-M 3 to the States, so it looks like it is Canon itself that is the reason not that much attention to their new "baby"

May 23, 2015
Coliban
Coliban

@Pieterbaan, maybe, you are right. But that should not be a criteria for photo and tests sites because the goal should be to present a meaningful overview about the respective area of photographie and gears . But never mind, those tests are rather useful and i can wait until there are some adequate comparisons. I am going to buy when there is an informative overview of all relevant competitors. Until then, i continue taking foots with the D800E and my tiny Olympus E-PM2

May 23, 2015
Pieterbaan
Pieterbaan

@Coliban, The problem with this site and the Canon mirrorless camera is, is that this site is based in the US, the place where Canon decided not to bring the EOS-M 3 to the market, so it is harder for them to test the camera...

May 23, 2015
Coliban
Coliban

@Pieterbaan,

oh, i didn´t realize the yet, maybe because i think, i "live" in the internet. But thats a reason!

On the other hand, dpreview belongs to amazon, and amazon is acting multinational, so may, there is also a big interested user base outside the US.

regards

May 23, 2015
GlobalGuyUSA

As far as I know, the M3 hasn't been released in the US.

Canon seems to think that the M's will only do well in Japan or overseas. They were horribly embarrassed by the performance of the M1 in the U.S. and -- once bitten, twice shy, it seems.

That's too bad, because Nikon has had 4 generations of awkward "N" cameras, and it looks like only now, the "N5" is hitting its stride with the right balance of features and design that consumers want. I think Canon has been waiting for Nikon to carve (an expensive) path, and then it will capitalize on the marketing data, before heavily launching another M in the US. This is a classic business strategy (the second mover often does better than the first mover, learning from the first movers mistakes).

But I think Canon is making a mistake in not heavily being involved this generation. The time is right.

May 23, 2015
bazzap101
bazzap101

@GGUSA

What are those Nikon N cameras you are talking about specifically the "N5"??

Never heard of that one

May 24, 2015
Pieterbaan
Pieterbaan

I think he is talking about the Nikon 1 J5. It is a nice little camera with an 1" sensor.
The Nikon mirrorless are not very well recieved, but the small sensor makes it possible to create very small lenses with large equivalent FL.

May 24, 2015
Coliban
Coliban

@Pieterbaan,

i use a Nikon D800E, but i would never buy me a 1" sensor camera. If Nikon doesn't release one, they only can witness that their concurrents are selling a lot of mirrorless APS-C cameras. I don't know, why they won't sell an APS-C mirrorless

May 25, 2015
Pieterbaan
Pieterbaan

Personaly I think that Nikan wanted a niche for its own with the 1" sensor mirrorless cameras. They realy tried to put a lot of nice features in it, that might be nice for the P&S generation that wants a better, more versatile camera, not to the FF generation who wants a smaller backup... Unfortunately for Nikon the 1 series never got the attention they realy wanted.
And why they did not make a APS (or FF) mirrorless? Well many hers say they wanted to protect their DSLR market.

May 25, 2015
GlobalGuyUSA

"What are those Nikon N cameras you are talking about specifically the "N5"?? Never heard of that one."

The "Nikon 1" cameras -- the J5 is being very well-received. Nikon finally hit their stride, so we can expect better things to come. Like Canon, there was a rocky start.

http://www.dpreview.com/articles/5577838490/nikon-1-j5-what-you-need-to-know

May 25, 2015
gunkan
gunkan

The X-E series are dead already? Really nice camera! Now fuji just needs a 100$ 50mm 1.8 and a 200$ 35mm 1.8 to rule the entry level cameras.

May 22, 2015
ShutterNot
ShutterNot

Who says the X-E series is dead. People repeat that statement enough and start to think it's true. First the X-PRO is dead when the X T-1 comes out, now the X-E is dead because the T-10 comes out ?
Nonsense

May 26, 2015
BRPWS

This sound like a super baby brother to the XT1 and would make a great back up camera. Very nicely featured and designed.

May 22, 2015
BRPWS

4k. Great. I would like to see a real survey from Dpreview or any of the other review sites to find out how many people are really interested in 4K video as a feature to be incorporated in a still camera.

May 22, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

In case you haven't paid attention, the line between "video" and "still" cameras has been blurring for the past decade. To the point that now there is no longer any difference, at least at consumer level. Look at low-budget indie movies and they're virtually all made with DSLR's or mirrorless cameras.

May 22, 2015
BRPWS

I am not so sure that the line is that blurred. Amonst the many students that our company teaches, we find there is virtually no interest in their still camera being a video camera. As a matter of fact it is a feature that they find little benefit. Now if you wanted to talk about their Iphone that is a different story.

May 22, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

Non sequitur. How do a bunch of people who don't seem to care for video prove that what I said isn't true? I'm a director by profession and I can show you probably an even larger group of people who don't seem to care much about the still features in their cameras. Virtually everyone who works with me, for start. Then my company's interns, and then virtually every young director I meet at film festivals.

May 22, 2015
straylightrun

4k recording will be standard on every camera in a few years time, but now is still too early. If you want 4k get the Panasonic GH4/G7. Video has never been a strong point on Fujifilm cameras. You should be able to tell looking at its design and controls that they have always focused on still photos.

May 23, 2015
lonepine

@Papi61 Rather than a stills camera with video, these days, the highly video capable DSLR is a strong video camera that happens to be a still camera. If you're approaching it as a stills camera, like BRPWS says, I don't see how video is so important.

One thing that I haven't seen (and I don't follow this sort of thing) is a true, easy and intuitive merging of the two as final output. I know Nikon and Samsung phones seem to have ways of adding a moving element in a still photo (like someone frozen spinning a basket ball on their finger), or multiple exposures of your subject in the same scene, but that feels more gimicky than a truly new art form.

May 23, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

" If you're approaching it as a stills camera, like BRPWS says, I don't see how video is so important."

Again, personal perspective. For any one person who buys a DSLR/mirrorless for its still features, there's another one buying it for its video capabilities. And in between there's a huge group of people who actually care for both.

May 23, 2015
ag80

That's funny, serious movie director hangs out in photo equimpent forum and complains entry level camera doesn't have 4K. What budgets are you guys dealing with? Thinking about shooting next Avengers with this fuji? :)

May 23, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

I actually use my XN1 and FZ1000 for tests. You know, what you do BEFORE someone puts out the money for the production... ;)

May 23, 2015
wy2lam

What's the big deal, if you don't like video, do not use it. A lot of these "I don't like video" arguments carries the misguided assumption that the same camera without the video feature would be more affordable - that cannot be further away from the truth.

May 25, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

I think most of the "I don't like video" comments stem from sheer snobbery. There are many people who apparently believe the still photographer is some kind of an elite breed... ;)

May 25, 2015
wy2lam

I have a lot of respect for good videographers. Good videos are a lot more difficult to produce than good stills, much more time spent on post, etc. Of course the best photos and the best videos are mostly incomparable due to considerable artistic insight, but most people don't achieve either anyway.

May 25, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

You'd be surprised how many great DP's and directors are also excellent still photographers. Check out any film made by Michelangelo Antonioni: each frame is a gorgeous still. Of course, if you're talking about Michael Bay and the likes, well, let's just say that their abilities as directors match their abilities as still photographers... ;)

May 25, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

I think that in 2015 many people would consider the absence of 4K video a deal breaker. Especially now that the Lumix G7 is out.

May 22, 2015
Raist3d

Some yes. Others would consider the lack of better image quality, color and ISO performance for their still photography a deal breaker.

Along with usability. So I don't think it's that clear cut.

Oh and when I say color I am also talking about raw. Not all cameras have an easy to get color from raw either for many raw converters.

May 23, 2015*
Beat Traveller

Many would, but there are other cameras for such people.

Myself, I'm almost at the point where absence of a dedicated aperture ring is a deal breaker. Video doesn't really concern me.

May 23, 2015
Paul Verhoeven

"Others would consider the lack of better image quality, color and ISO performance for their still photography a deal breaker."

Diff between G7 and APS-C in those regards is 1/3EV at best. Not even visible in real life. And at low ISO, real resolution of G7 might actually be better due to suboptimal color filter array of X-T10.
Diff in video resolution between G7 and X-T10 is at least 4 times though.

May 23, 2015
Raist3d

No, it's not. Sorry. I got an OMD EM5 MKII which has quite a state of the art m4/3rds sensor and a Fuji X-E1 which isn't 14-bit raw. There is a difference in color response and tone. I even shot side to side to help me decide if I was keeping that OMD or not. The whole "sub optimal array" is complete BS- use a proper raw converter to see it shine. And you get better sensitivity (more greens) for more B&W. The G7 has an AA filter anyway.

Video resolution & video - sure. G7 totally trashes the Fuji. But like I said, pros and cons. Some people care bout 4k video, some people don't and put priorities on stills.

May 23, 2015*
AlexRuiz

For some applications, M43 is more than sufficient...street photography for example. For other applications where having a lot of dimension and DOF, M43 just does not cut it...even APSC barely cuts it.

And I am with some of the posters above, I don't do video and don't care for it. I much prefer having an aperture ring and ISO dial than gimmicks like GPS, wifi, and other junk.

May 23, 2015
villagranvicent
villagranvicent

Pros or semi-pros shooting 4K use VIDEO cameras... not photo cameras with cripple 4k capabilities

May 23, 2015
HighLowISO

Well anyone familair with Fuji is not going to be expecting great 4K since their current video barely rates above useless. It might happen one day, but there was no reason to expect it on this camera at this time.

I don't know what the big deal is, if one wants good 4k video there are cameras out there for that.

May 23, 2015*
Sean65

"Myself, I'm almost at the point where absence of a dedicated aperture ring is a deal breaker."

Almost? Tell us when you finally get there.

May 23, 2015
Beat Traveller

Different strokes for different folks is all I'm saying.

Is it really worth everyone freaking out because this camera doesn't have 4k and DPR chose to devote any amount of time to it?

May 24, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

Considering that the title of this article is "VIDEO OVERVIEW", I think it's plenty relevant.

May 24, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

"Pros or semi-pros shooting 4K use VIDEO cameras... not photo cameras with cripple 4k capabilities"

Even if you don't want to consider the bulk of indie filmmaking as made of "professionals" (and you'd be wrong, of course), lots of wedding videographers use DSLR's. I believe they do make a living from shooting video...

May 24, 2015
Beat Traveller

Did you actually watch the video or just read the title? It's an overview of the camera, presented by video. It's not an overview of the X-T10's video.

May 24, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

No, I didn't, my assumption was evidently wrong. Still, if a camera has video capabilities, I don't think discussing that aspect is off-topic.

May 24, 2015
villagranvicent
villagranvicent

A deal breaker for me would be if the camera is made in China...

May 24, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

Yeah, I forgot, you're a proud racist.

May 24, 2015
wy2lam

Papi61...as much as I agree with what you say about video...made in China would be a deal breaker, and I'm an ethnic Chinese. A lot of things made in that country...simply explode.

May 25, 2015
Seattle Myck

"Considering that the title of this article is "VIDEO OVERVIEW", I think it's plenty relevant."

Papi, you DO realize, don't you, that this video was an overview of the camera as a whole and not specifically the video component of it? Did you even watch it?

May 25, 2015
Seattle Myck

Oooops. Sorry Papi. My comment was redundant to someone's else's regarding the title "Overview". I should have read all responses before posting. Can't figure yet if and how to delete mine.

May 25, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

"A lot of things made in that country...simply explode."

You mean like Apple batteries? ;)

http://www.zdnet.com/article/apple-macbook-battery-exploded/

That has nothing to do with China and everything with scummy American corporations trying to cut costs. Particularly Apple, the most evil of all. You know that an Apple Watch only costs Apple $80 to make, don't you? Would you be surprised if it broke down after six months? And whose fault would that be, China?

May 25, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

BTW, we all know that Americans are sadly some of the most gullible people in the world. Our media sold us the story of the "evil Chinese" who put lead in our kids' toys. And the mostly-racist and xenophobic white American public bought it hook, line and sinker. Of course people who actually use critical thinking are fully aware that Chinese contractors only use what their American clients tell them to use... So, if there was lead in Chinese toys, it was once again because scummy American corporations were trying to cut costs. And we all know how they bribe the government agencies that are supposed to protect us from corporate malfeasance, like FDA, FTC, FCC etc. All in the pockets of big business.

May 25, 2015
villagranvicent
villagranvicent

Are you talking about the REAL Apple watch, or the knock-offs China is already selling? Those I guess cost $1.00 to make...

http://www.dailytech.com/Flood+of+Apple+Watch+Knockoffs+Hitting+the+Black+Market+in+China/article37244.htm

May 25, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

I think there's virtually no difference between the two. The Apple Watch is so cheap to make, someone can use the very same components, sell it for $100 and make a profit. You're so racist and xenophobic, you just can't admit that the people who are actually screwing you are your own ilk. The Chinese only do whatever scummy American corporations pay them to do.

May 25, 2015
villagranvicent
villagranvicent

Again with the xenophobic aggression...

May 26, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

Again with your continuous anti-Chinese crap. Yeah, we get it, you hate them. But you don't mind that they make your iPhone...

May 26, 2015
villagranvicent
villagranvicent

I don´t hate China.. I hate knock-offs industries who make millions stealing R&D from others. Unfortunately that country is the world leader of stealing intellectual property but you don´t care.

May 26, 2015
villagranvicent
villagranvicent

No wonder why my iPhone crashes all the time...

May 26, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

"Unfortunately that country is the world leader of stealing intellectual property"

LOL, says who? Another racist like you? Intellectual property theft in the US happens every second. But you don't care, because most of the crooks are white Americans just like you.

May 26, 2015
Paul Verhoeven

http://www.ncpc.org/topics/intellectual-property-theft/trends-globalization-and-digitalization-usher-in-a-new-era-of-intellectual-property-theft

"Unfortunately, much of the world’s problem with intellectual property theft can be traced to one country: China. Eighty-five percent of the counterfeit goods seized in the European Union in 2010 were were believed to come from China. In the United States, the 14,841 seizures of counterfeit goods and unlicensed knockoffs had a domestic value of more than $260 million and accounted for 76 percent of all counterfeit goods. "

May 26, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

LOL, that's such BS. Virtually every product is made in China nowadays, authentic or counterfeit. The fact that counterfeits are made in China does not prove in any way that most counterfeiters are Chinese. But then again, when you're a racist you quickly jump to silly "post hoc ergo propter hoc" conclusions about the people you hate...

May 26, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

When lead was found in toys coming from China, the racist US white media blamed China, and people like you bought it hook, line and sinkers. Because anything bad they say about the Chinese (or foreigners in general), immediately resonates with you: "the evil Chinese are trying to poison our kids!"

Of course slightly smarter people immediately realized that anything Chinese factories do reflects what their American clients demand. And scummy American corporations thought they could save money with lead-based paint, because they were bribing the government agencies that are supposed to protect us from such corporate malfeasance. Thanks heavens we have Canada, where government agencies are a little more serious and THEY found the lead in those toys. Or else our kids would still be playing with toys made with lead-based paints and our scummy corporations would still be laughing all the way to the bank.

May 26, 2015*
Paul Verhoeven

“Goods and services from China accounted for only 2.7% of U.S. personal consumption expenditures in 2010, of which less than half reflected the actual costs of Chinese imports. The rest went to U.S. businesses and workers transporting, selling, and marketing goods carrying the “Made in China” label. Although the fraction is higher when the imported content of goods made in the United States is considered, Chinese imports still make up only a small share of total U.S. consumer spending.”

http://www.frbsf.org/publications/economics/letter/2011/el2011-25.html

May 26, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

"Goods and services from China accounted for only 2.7% of U.S. personal consumption expenditures in 2010"

LOL, did you expect food to be made in China, Jethro? Or rent to be paid to Chinese landlords? I believe that's by far the vast majority of US "personal expenditure"...

You're not very smart. But thanks for the chuckle.

"The rest went to U.S. businesses and workers transporting, selling, and marketing goods carrying the “Made in China” label."

Geez, you don't even understand what you quote. It means that most of the people who profit from the work of Chinese factories (good or bad) are American. Which also means the biggest share of the counterfeit business goes to Americans. But you still blame the Chinese.

You actually proved my point. Priceless.

May 26, 2015*
villagranvicent
villagranvicent

papi61 I wonder in your very short existence in this forum how many insults have you said to me and other fellow members... This is not a political forum. Yes, we all know many cameras -among other things- are poorly made in China, (life is not perfect) but please let´s get back to the original topic.

May 26, 2015*
Papi61
Papi61

Thank you for admitting you lost the argument and actually proved my point.

This is not a political forum, right, so stop making irrelevant and off-topic racist remarks about a nation you deeply hate.

May 26, 2015
villagranvicent
villagranvicent

I love italian leather, swiss watches, german cameras and mexican tequila... are those racist remarks?

May 26, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

Hmm, so does every other racist. Again, what are you trying to prove? You blame China when your own link proves that most of the people who profit from counterfeiting in the US are actually American. Now THAT is racism.

May 26, 2015
villagranvicent
May 28, 2015
Papi61
Papi61

Again, you're so incredibly stupid and racist that you don't understand that anything Chinese factories make is what scummy American corporations contract them for. So, if they use sub-par components, it's because white aholes like you requested Chinese factories to use.

Apple batteries explode all the time. If you're not a racist, you blame Apple. You, of course, blame the Chinese workers...

May 28, 2015
Sean65

Interesting. This camera was announced at the same time as the Lumix G7 whose video feature may have been of more interest than the T10's.

May 22, 2015
Dan Bracaglia
Dan Bracaglia

we'll be having more content on the G7 very soon!

May 22, 2015
Sean65

Cool. Look forward to it.

May 22, 2015
Beat Traveller

"May have been" is the key word.

May 23, 2015
Sean65

Is it?

May 23, 2015
Beat Traveller

Yeah. Unless you can present me with a thousand people who all want to know more about video than stills on a camera, I'm going to struggle to believe there's evidence anyone cares more about the G7 than the XT10.

May 23, 2015
Sean65

Any particular reason why you speak like some spoilt brat pubescent teenage girl?

May 23, 2015
Beat Traveller

Any particular reason why you resort to sexist insults when confronted with the suggestion that you're just making stuff up to support your argument?

May 23, 2015*
Sean65

What argument are you talking about? I haven't presented any argument or made anything up or tried to justify anything. Clearly you're a deluded and extremely simple.

May 23, 2015
Beat Traveller

No, I just get tired of coming on this site and seeing people whinge about why DPR has done a review/preview/video about camera A instead of camera B. It's incredibly petty.

May 24, 2015
win39

Sorry, can't hear it the volume is so low. Don't you check these things?

May 22, 2015
Dan Bracaglia
Dan Bracaglia

Hmm, seems to be playing back at an ok volume to me. Have you tried increasing the volume in the Youtube window, in addition to the volume on your computer?

May 22, 2015
BRPWS

You are right. I have every sound level maxed out and can barely understand the speaker.

May 22, 2015
Dan Bracaglia
Dan Bracaglia

We're gonna get a louder version up asap, sorry for the confusion.

May 22, 2015
win39

Thanks. Can hear it now. Nice little video.

May 25, 2015
Battersea

Looks like a cool camera.

May 22, 2015
Karroly

All the pics in the gallery look underexposed...

May 22, 2015
mosc

ETTR ;)

May 23, 2015
Karroly

So what ? Does it mean this camera blows highlight without exposure tweak ? With my camera, I am not obliged to ETTR each pic !

May 23, 2015
turvyT

No, not all of them. About a 20%. Leica mm gives burnt highlights in around 90%. Maybe that's better for you.

May 23, 2015
Matthew Miller
Matthew Miller

I think it's mostly intentional, as part of the intended "film look". If you don't like that, expose differently.

May 23, 2015