118

Film Fridays: 20 film cameras worth buying right now

The Canon T90 is just one of the 20 film cameras worth buying right now. Check out Analog Gems - part 1 and Analog Gems - part 2 to view them all.
Photo: Dan Bracaglia

Happy Film Friday! In the spirit of celebrating all things analog, we felt today was the perfect time to take another look at our two popular film camera buying guides. These guides are chock full of cameras that are easy to find on the secondhand market in good working order, and many of them were included as staff and reader favorites. So if you're a first-time camera buyer or simply looking to add to your collection, there's probably a camera in there for you.

Analog Gems – part 1: 10 film cameras worth buying

Analog Gems – part 2: 10 more film cameras worth buying

Do note: the price of one or two cameras have jumped a good bit since initial publication (we're looking at you Olympus Stylus Epic). That's not to say we wouldn't still recommend these cameras, just be aware of price inflation!

About Film Fridays: We recently launched an analog forum and in a continuing effort to promote the fun of the medium, we'll be sharing film-related content on Fridays.

View Comments (118)

Comments

All (118)
Most popular (6)
Editors' picks (0)
DPR staff (0)
Oldest first
jackspra
jackspra

Real nice camera.

5 months ago
looker

A great analogy: USA's military officially give up on assault riffles in favor of muzzle-loading single-shot muskets.

5 months ago
absquatulate

That's a rubbish analogy, assault rifles are for killing people not taking photographs as a hobby, the clue is in the word "assault".

5 months ago
looker

Absquatulate, you should look up the meaning of the word "analogy". Furthermore: Look up the word obsolete. The clue is in the word "film".

5 months ago
absquatulate

On the contrary, something that's still being mass produced and bought isn't "obsolete", that's another word you need to be looking up, get back to me with the definition.

5 months ago
looker

Film is burdensome and inferior by every measure and in every consequence. And that's what makes film obsolete. Not sure what you're going on about with "being mass produced".

4 months ago
absquatulate

That's a lovely opinion, unfortunately that's all it is. Film is still used by enthusiasts and professional fine art photographers, wedding photographers and fashion photographers. When something is being manufactured in bulk, in different countries, in factories, it's mass produced. Your grasp of the English language is as poor as your understanding of why film is not obsolete.

4 months ago
looker

Film is now a nostalgic habit, and nothing more. But only barely that, because its use is already exceedingly rare. I've been a full-time pro photographer for 36 years, and I rub elbows with hundreds of other professionals. I haven't actually seen anyone use film professionally (other than digitally scanning & archiving older images) for over 10 years. So it's a bit jarring to witness the defensive attitudes concerning film here on DP Review. Is this website the last bastion of film? In my experience; yes it is - and how ironic is that, considering this site's name?

2 months ago*
steviewa

I remember going in my local camera shop one day through week an getting dragged into their back office, was told not to say anything to anyone an was handed a t90 an asked what i thought an it was a great camera an very lucky to be possibly the first member of public to have my hands on a camera that no one else had, a few weeks later it was announced an a few weeks later got one, was great, multi spot metering etc then changed to minolta 9000 with motordrive and 12x AA battery pack which was a better camera for me due to it's size and weight

6 months ago
Kashim

"20 film cameras worth buying right now"

That's a hilarious headline. I got a few others you could use.

20 rotary phones worth buying right now
20 floppy disks worth buying right now
20 best movies on laser disc
20 best movies worth renting at Blockbuster Video

6 months ago
absquatulate

Yea, brilliant, because once you've owned something for 5 minutes it's automatically obsolete right? It's not like people paint anymore or carve wood is it? oh wait...

5 months ago
Phileas Fogg
Phileas Fogg

My Canon T-90 is still my personal favorite film 35mmSLR. When it came out in 1986-87 I was just wetting my feet into professional photography. I scrounged up the money as quickly as I could and by Spring 87 I went to my favorite local photography store and snapped up a T-90 of my own.

Every part of it blew me away. I had my other Canon bodies at the time a T-70 I bought for what was then my hobby in 1984 and I had a Canon AE-1Program too. But the T-90 and me fell in love.

It became my go to 35mmSLR for any pro work needing such and as a back up to my first medium format camera, a Bronica ETRS, I bought in Summer 87.

Even after all these years and going into digital with numerous Canon DSLR'S and now Olympus for mirrorless, the T-90 is my favorite and most special camera. I have enjoyed all cameras film and digital. That said my Olympus EM-1 is or has become my next favorite camera body after my then old classic Canon T-90.

6 months ago
RayVagh

Yes, Canon T90 & F1 are top of the line, I like the design and its feature but I'm only amateur so I only owned AE-1P & EOS A2E in the film era.

5 months ago
VancityS4

I'm with you. Had a T-90 (that got stolen in a home break-in). One of my favourite features was the multi spot metering which was absolutely brilliant in the days when you couldn't see instant results and re-shoot. Pick a highlight, pick a shadow, shift the exposure and, bang, predictable results every time. Taken in the context of the time, it was a brilliant camera.

Long live "The Tank"!!!

5 months ago
Gerard Hoffnung

I also had a T90 stolen in a break-in. Luckily I got mine back when the police caught the culprits. When I developed the film that was in it when it was stolen there were all these nice photos of the dumb jerks that stole it. Passed them on to the police who yukked it up and said "I don't think any of them will be pleading not guilty"
I still have a complete T90 kit but got no interest when I tried to sell it.

5 months ago
Gerard Hoffnung

Forgot to mention that my T90 has a data back which really helped me get better images.

5 months ago
RdCF
RdCF

That's a really random camera selection...

6 months ago
Michael Firstlight

I've owned several of these cameras, but you missed the boat completely. There was nothing built like the Nikon F2 series like the Nikon F2as - this was the pinnacle of the all metal pro 35mm Nikon bodies. After that is was all downhill. The Pentax MX was a good cam - still have mine, but it was a toy by comparison to my Nikon F2as- not even close to being in the same class.

6 months ago
kakajicko

SUPER!!!!!

6 months ago
Brotherbill

If you take a waxed string and tie one end to a film camera and the other end to another film camera and move apart about 30 feet you can talk through them.

6 months ago
lumen64
lumen64

Why in the HECK are we discussing FILM cameras on a site dedicated to DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHY??? The D in DPREVIEW.COM is for DIGITAL!!!

6 months ago
tassienick

Golly, even the caps lock got a work out...

6 months ago
ibanezac

This is just nonsense. Like LP records :(

6 months ago
cdembrey
cdembrey

Huh? I always thought that the *D* stood for dimwit ;-) Life is too short to take any of this stuff seriously—lighten-up.

6 months ago
Michael Firstlight

Guess you missed the new film forum on DPR too LOL.

6 months ago
xoio
xoio

Butthutt much? It's all good... Stop being such a whiner! LOL

6 months ago
Toselli

Please write back this comment when they talk about video (this is not DVReview!), or anything that is not even a review.

6 months ago
(unknown member)

Surely DIGITAL video is the prime interest nowadays. The DPR NAME with its emphasis on still PHOTOGRAPHY is just as much A hangover from the past as much as film CAMERAS are so you are rather behind the times here.

Not really good at which words to shout so probably rather an amateur beginner's effort here.

5 months ago
marc petzold
marc petzold

Not good, because i do think, used prices are rise because of these posts, and people buying it off the markets, but many aren't using this gear. ;)

Stay safe, and good Light.

6 months ago
stevenj2
stevenj2

Almost 2 years ago I purchased a used F100, at B&H. Very nice. Not dirt cheap but it was a high grade. (Today they list a Grade 9 F100 $349.) Some of the bodies in this feature both parts are now available uses, there. More than had been for well over a year. By the way a disposable hand wipe, with damp towel wipe afterwards off took off stickiness. It is like new sort of. But I question what practical usage is for it? That is, for personal use pics are locked up even more than digital (I'm not getting prints). I can go to local pro labs for processing and get high resolution scans to jpg and tiff. But then what? Well, it is a collectible of an SLR I never had back in the day. A very nice body.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

Making high quality prints? Now there’s an idea...

6 months ago
cdembrey
cdembrey

Film has a heel and a toe, whereas digital doesn't. With digital you need to to shop-it-in.

Film has grain, digital has noise. Which do you prefer. If you like grain, with digital you need to shop-it-in.

With film you can make wet-darkroom prints without a computer. If you use large format cameras, you don't even need an enlarger. If you get it right in-camera, 4x5, 5x7, 8x10 contact prints look great!

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

Well. Of course, as you all know, in the film age no one ever managed to produce an adequate print, let alone in 35mm. Ha!

6 months ago
KKJohn
KKJohn

Except perhaps Cibachrome, tho rather expensive

5 months ago
Max Iso
Max Iso

Are there no calendars at DPR's office? April fools isn't till wednesday guys...

6 months ago
Cerridwen
Cerridwen

Some good suggestions here, but the list could be so much longer...F100, Leica CL, Maxxum (Dynax) 7 or 9...C330...et al

6 months ago
cdembrey
cdembrey

Why are there no new film cameras recommended? They still make them you know.
There are several people who want new Xpans, but parts and service isn't available. For the price of a dubious used Xpan you can buy a NEW Fotoman 6x17 120 film camera on ebay http://www.fotoman.cc/UploadFile/20121101//20121101160323_3354.jpg

If you insist on a 35mm panorama camera Lomo still sells Horizon 35mm https://vimeo.com/77788996 and 35mm Sprocket Rocket https://vimeo.com/77801426

6 months ago
apestorm

To be fair you still need to buy a used lens to use with a fotoman. Plenty of different new bodies out there, but no new copal shutters.

6 months ago
FujifilmXT3

There were over a hundred comments where did they go?

6 months ago
DarnGoodPhotos

Check the film canister.

6 months ago
TXforester

Unless I missed it (one XA comment), where is the Olympus love? OM1, 2, 3 and 4 models (with variations among each).

I still have two OM1n cameras and an OM2n and OM2s.

And how about those compact rangefinders (other than the above XA)? The 35RD (have one) and 35RC.

The half frame fixed lenses like the Pen EE series and D series etc. Or the SLR Pen F series.

6 months ago
Tim McClanahan
Tim McClanahan

An Olympus OM4Ti would be sweet. And a Nikon FM3a.

6 months ago
briantrying

Standard terminal Olympus blind spot!
Brian

6 months ago
davesurrey

An Olympus 35SP would be even better. A superb camera in its day

6 months ago
TXforester

Jump to conclusions much, briantrying? I'd guess you do.

For what it is worth, I own several brands in film and digital, but don't let that stop you from being rude.

6 months ago
briantrying

I think you mis-understood, I was agreeing with you! If you want me to be rude I will be. 🤣
Brian

6 months ago
TXforester

Guess I did. I thought you were saying I had a blind spot. You meant others have blind spot and ignore Olympus.

Sorry. Have a nice day.

6 months ago
esmoxd
esmoxd

My favorite film camera (you may guess) is the Minolta XD7 (aka XD and XD11). It was the last of the metal bodied Minolta's, not very heavy with less reliance on electronics and poly-carbonate on cameras that came after it. It was the first camera to offer both aperture priority and shutter priority auto exposure modes in the one body, with simple controls including exposure compensation, it also had an add on 2 frames per second motor winder, it has proved to be a reliable camera over the years, I'm still using mine.

6 months ago
xeppelin

i had 2 minolta XD7 back in the 1970s. sold them for nothing plus my MD lenses when Minolta launched autofocus lineup. spent a lot of money again and bought an 8000i plus a set of AF lenses. Sold all of it for nothing around 2005. spent miney again to buy a Canon EOS 350D along with EF-S lenses, followed by EOS 450D, 40D, 7D. Sold all of it for nothing. Spent money on Canon EOS 5D3 plus EF glass, mostly L. spent a little money and bought EOS M plus a few EF-M lenses.

Not sure whether i will sell again for nothing this time and spend significant money on Canon R and goodawfully expensive RF lenses.

For the time being will just continue with what i got.

Will definitely never again go back to film or manual focus gear. yikes.

6 months ago
TonyC5D
TonyC5D

Oh, and Canon EF, Minolta SRT 101, Leica 3 etc etc.

6 months ago*
flockmock

Yashica is missing..

6 months ago
TXforester

Including the various Electro rangefinders and several of their TLRs.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

I had a TL Electro for many years, before I splurged out on my FM2n thirty years ago. The Nikon is obviously better in every conceivable way, but what a good reliable camera that Yashica was!

6 months ago
backayonder

I sold all my Canon A1 gear and lenses back in the 1980's and purchased a Pentax SFX1 which I still have...gathering dust. It had a built in flash, Auto rewind and auto focus lens

6 months ago
Kevin Barrett
Kevin Barrett

Had a Canon T90, never should've sold it.

6 months ago
PDL

How about the Fujica ST-801?
EBC lenses.
LED's instead of needle meter.

6 months ago
Dante1
Dante1

My first SLR back in 1975. Ubiquitous M42 lens mount.

6 months ago*
peterpainter

Obviously wrong;( None of mine are in the list......

6 months ago
sneakyracer

Canon was really well ahead of its time with the EOS system

6 months ago
FrancoD

The T90 had the FD mount, not an EOS system camera. But yes when the EOS 650 was launched it was faster than the rest.

6 months ago
moimoi
moimoi

Is that me or they are plenty of film camera non essentials on that list.

The Minolta X700 should be replaced by the Minolta XD cameras (XD5 or XD11) that are way better overall with much better shutter mechanism. Built quality is also 👌

6 months ago
iliks

Not my experience. Two of my xd11 bodies have focusing problems (you see one thing in focus and film has it in another place), both couldn’t be fixed by two different masters.
Two x700s were ok.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

So where’s my FM3a...? 🤔😄

6 months ago
apestorm

The price of them today is going up and up so i think plenty people have seen what a good camera it is

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

I probably should be glad I got my 2004 sample some eight years ago then...

6 months ago
apestorm

For sure. This is going to be the hot model once everyones luxury compacts break, people eventually get frustrated by janky film autofocus, and 2nd hand Leicas end up even more stupidly expensive than they already are.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

My thirty year old FM2n (which I like even more) unfortunately developed a (viewfinder?) light leak that repairers just can’t solve. The FM3a (only fifteen years old) is sort of filling in now, roll of Tri-X loaded. Aperture priority/exposure compensation/60-40 exposure metering is actually clumsier than fully manual with the FM2n.

6 months ago
apestorm

For sure fm2n or fm2n/t is the proper model to go for but at the minute i think many people still feel they need safety net of aperture priority of the fm3a when going back to film or trying it for first time. Eventually those people will move to the fm2n though when they get more confident and personally i think it will be those people that will help keep nikons slr mount alive.

I bought a fm2n/t last year and it certainly wasnt cheap so i think more and more people are jumping on to nikons and realising there is more to camera heritage than just leica and more to quality japanese engineering than luxury compacts and the exotic machines like xpans.

Im usually wrong tho!

6 months ago
Suave

@m953 A viewfinder light leak could be caused by the deterioration of the light seal between the body and the eyepiece. It takes some disassembly to get there.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

Thanks Suave. My repairer thought so too, and replaced it, but that didn’t solve the problem. A crescent shaped light haze mid bottom if tbe inage.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

of the image.

6 months ago
AbrasiveReducer

Here's an idea. How about an all-mechanical camera or at most, with a basic lightmeter. Even if the light meter fails, everything else will work and all you have to worry about is foam seals. Nothing with electromagnetic shutters or motorized film advance. As little plastic as possible. An Olympus XA is fun but pretty fragile.

Another nice thing about metal cameras is that you can tell if they've been dropped.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

FM2n? There are so many models that fit your description.

6 months ago
TXforester

Several existed in different forms (SLR, TLR rangefinder, scale focus etc.) And I have an XA and XA2

6 months ago*
cdembrey
cdembrey

Non Photomic Nikon F. All mechanical, all metal including a titanium shutter No meter, flash sync at 1/60 with electronic flash.

If you want to get back to the pure essence of photography, The an LTM Leica or a Nikon F (not F2 or later) are the only practical choices.

PDF manual for Nikon F http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardwares/manuals/nikonf/nikonfmanual.pdf

6 months ago
JackM
JackM

Pentax MX or K1000

6 months ago
PTMcH
PTMcH

Leica and Nikon F is NOT the only practical choices. Pentax Spotmatic will get you there equally well and will only cost you pocket changes.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

PTMcH: There are a few reasons that might not be the most sensible choice. There's the possible shortage of M42 lenses (not sure about that), and then there's the battery question. Also, cameras that old, there mght be a question about their exposure meter still functioning.

6 months ago
PTMcH
PTMcH

Yes. Spotmatic has the infamous battery/light meter issue. My Pentax light meter has not worked since mid 1970s. As a new photographer, this forced you to learn and develop the eyes to judge the light, bracket exposure, keep journal…all good skill/habit to have as a photographer. This is speaking from personal experience as I learned photography with this hand-me-downer Pentax. It’s bit painful initially but the abilities one developed last a life time. As for M42, there are still plenty of Takuma out there not to mention Fuji, Mamiya, Yashica (Sigma and Vivita are bit trashy back in those days); do need to watch out for fugus. Benefit of it is they are CHEAP! Yes, Leica and Nikon F are very nice classic but they are just not what you get to get into film photography. On the other hand, if someone want to make an augment for K1000, OM-1, or AE-1, being better entry point for film, I would totally agree.

6 months ago
Michiel953
Michiel953

PTMhC: My point was, íf you're using a battery, it might prove difficult to find one that is still allowed these days. Mercury and all that?

On a then meterless camera one could still use a) sunny 16 b) and much better one of the free and pretty good exposure meter downloads for your smartphone.

Hey presto!

6 months ago
Clyde Thomas

Minolta Maxxum 9000... The ONLY 35mm auto focus SLR with a manual wind lever fim advance. The FIRST Professional 35mm auto focus system camera. The Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Grandfather of the Sony a9II.

Edit: Canon didn't answer with an autofocus system camera for a couple of years after. And then they did it better than Minolta. We're seeing the same thing happen again with Sony beating Canon to the mirrorless game. Canon soon to make a huge challenge to Sony FF mirrorless throne.

6 months ago*
Ziginox

Even the 7000 is a great camera. The first camera with autofocus properly integrated into the entire system! Kinda chunky and not very ergonomic, but still very usable and fun.

6 months ago*
Clyde Thomas

Yeah it's hard to accept neither of those revolutionary Minolta cams were on the list, especially considering how functional they are to the topic of the article. Both can be purchased for ultra cheap.

6 months ago
Suave

Plagued by LCD leaks, deteriorated exterior, and, in the case of 9000, electronics failure.

6 months ago
David Mantripp

The T90 was/is a fantastic camera. Bit heavy though...

6 months ago
Yuktuk

Heavy?!!! I moved from motor driven A-1s and New F1s... They were overwhelmingly heavier. Even the power winder driven (2 fps) AE-1 was heavier than the T-90. I remember clearly that the T-90 was a light weight breath of fresh air. Even compared to my modern digital cameras it was light weight revolution.

I guess we all remember the past a little differently.

6 months ago*
hfolkertsma

My EOS 1V begs to differ ;-)

6 months ago
mandophoto

Film SLR cameras with built in motor drives tend to make quite a bit of noise. If stealth or at least be not loud is a goal, a manual film wind camera is a better choice.

6 months ago
lotsofsilver

The one thing that bugs me about these lists is that it ends up as kind of clearinghouse of cameras that you remember. Nothing is said about their lack of robustness or propensity to stop working when rather new, not to mention having sit in a basement or on a shelf for a long number of years. I will call out specific cameras, but a lot of these were not unlike owning a german auto. Faulty electronics, degrading rubber seals, broken knobs etc. The best choice for an aged film camera is a fully manual one, one that works without a battery. Second, almost all will have the degraded(ing) foam seals around the back and to cushion the shutter. Choose wisely. Watch out for fungus, and expect it not to last long and or work as it was designed.
I was just looking over my Hassey and it's foam is much like I described.

6 months ago
anwiko

In my camera store they told me that they see differences in how long the electronic components work without problems now. And they have quite a lot of old film cameras.

6 months ago
Joe Hanson

I owned the Minolta Talker, a 35mm P&S that gave verbal queues such as "Too dark, use flash". It was my take everywhere camera.

6 months ago
Jim Hully

No Contax models? No Xpan? No Pentax Spotmatics?

6 months ago
Tim McClanahan
Tim McClanahan

The Contax 167MT was lovely.

6 months ago
PTMcH
PTMcH

I still have my Pentax Spotmatic; a hand-me-downer from my dad when he got his AE-1 Program.

6 months ago
Restio

Nikon FE, was my favourite, started my photographic journey with Yashica TL Electro, completely bullet proof.

6 months ago
Thomas Caudle
Thomas Caudle

And still no Pentax Spotmatic?

6 months ago
entoman
entoman

Spotmatic definitely should have been in the top 20.

A true classic.

6 months ago
Old Cameras

Spotmatic used the PX625 mercury battery, 1.3V, and anyway required stop down metering. The meter wouldn’t be working anyway at this point. I have one, I’ve never bothered to put a battery in it and just shoot it manually. I carry a hand held incident meter. Even light meter apps on your phone work surprisingly well. As a manual camera it’s fine.

6 months ago
entoman
entoman

OLd Cameras - I always enjoyed using cameras that employed stop-down metering, because they literally force you to observe the depth of field before taking the image.

I'd guess that very few people bother to use the depth-of-field preview on modern cameras, and often get a rude surprise when they find the resulting photo has too much, or insufficient d.o.f.

6 months ago
PTMcH
PTMcH

I got my Pentax Spotmatic from my dad when he got his AE-1 Program. Dad has been using it with broken light meter for years before hand it to me. I still thinkg it's the best way to learn to judge light, understand sunny 16 rule, practicing bracketing, keeping notes, (all good habit/skill a photograher needs) with Pentax Spotmatic without light meter.

6 months ago
absquatulate

Two excellent cameras you can pick up for not a lot of money are the Minolta 800Si and the Canon EOS 50E (Elan). Both are feature packed whilst being easy to use, and both auto-focus as well.

6 months ago
JackM
JackM

Glad to see the Pentax MX here. Yeah the K1000 is more famous and nostalgic because it was more affordable so more people had them, but the MX is the nicer camera. It's considerably smaller and sleeker, it's got a bigger viewfinder, a self timer, DOF preview, and aperture and shutter speed visible in the viewfinder. Like the K1000 it is still all business, no frills.

Kind of surprised not to see the Ricoh GR here.

6 months ago*
James Stirling
James Stirling

My one and only Canon SLR , apart from its impressive feature set its Colani design was way ahead of the loop at the time . I may just look around for a decent used one, I know that they suffered from lcd issues as they aged . Great camera well ahead of the curve

6 months ago
barry reid

The LCD on the T90 is one of the better ones - I’ve had 3-4 in recent years and they’ve all been fine in that respect. The big issue is stuck shutters - due to a magnetic problem of some sort. I try get both of mine out and fire the shutter least once a month.

6 months ago
James Stirling
James Stirling

Barry I got rid of mine years back and haven't kept up with the used market . I think I am getting my wires crossed with a Minolta camera that came out at around the same time.

6 months ago*
phouphou

some years ago i took the time to scan my parents/families diafilms and i was intrigued by the aesthetic look of my childhood photographs. 35mm film of SLRs was mostly unfamiliar to me, having grown up with bad DSC jps.
So i picked up the Canon T70 my parents still had from the 80s/90s and it still worked flawlessly, but i wasn't too happy with how much effort shooting film was in the end...
So i started adapting the old glass to mirrorless cameras.
It really was a huge turning point for me especially when i got myself the first FF-mirrorless. Over the past years i have aquired quite a collection of excellent old lenses that have really wow'ed me.

6 months ago*
Hugo808
Hugo808

I didn't read the article but I remember the T90 coming out, we were all stunned by the look and impressed by the spec, even if multi-spot metering was a waste of time and effort.

But the one reason I'd recommend it for used purchase is that it runs on 4xAA batteries, making it much more versatile than any of the camera's I have now!

6 months ago
Andrew Elliott

Finally something we can all agree on... The T90, the best looking camera ever!

6 months ago
Jim Hully

Not me. Best looking camera is the Contax G2

6 months ago
barry reid

But Contax Gs are a wee bit of a pain to use. Almost worth it for the fabulous glass though! (I do have both systems).

6 months ago
Old Cameras

Great camera and ground breaking design but notoriously unreliable for age related reasons, unfortunately. I’m not sure anyone can repair them anymore.

6 months ago
TonyC5D
TonyC5D

Sorry but a re-run of 2017 article, and if I go into it I get all the old comments as well!

6 months ago
JackM
JackM

Because new film cameras have come out since then?

6 months ago
TonyC5D
TonyC5D

@JackM. Nope, stopped awhile ago. And apparently all the suggestions made in 2017 were ignored as well.

6 months ago
Boissez

No love for the Hassy Xpan or the Fuji GX617 seems like a bit of an oversight - those camera truly offered, and still do offer, something special with their extra wide image ratios.

6 months ago
kobakokh

I wanted X-Pan and he cost about 1500 USD... oooh

6 months ago
Foskito
Foskito

The problem with the XPan and which I completely understand why it is not consider “worth buying” is because there are no more spare parts in case it need repairs, and the 2 or 3 for sale have asking prices above 2500 USD. It is just TOO risky.

6 months ago
kobakokh

In China are many Fujifilm TX-1, its a original X-pan, made by Fujifilm (in fact there is no Hasselblad, its a Fujifilm TX-1), but with 45mm lens it cost about 3500-4000 USD. Nikon D4s in mint conditoion cost 1800 USD, D850 cost about 2000 USD.

6 months ago