Previous page Next page

Menus (cont.)

Brightness / Color Menu

Option Values / Actions Notes
Exposure Comp  • +/- 3 EV in 0.3 EV steps  
ISO  • Auto, 100-25600  
White Balance  • Auto
 • Daylight
 • Shade
 • Cloudy
 • Incandescent
 • Fluorescent - Warm White
 • Fluorescent - Cool White
 • Fluorescent - Day White
 • Fluorescent - Daylight
 • Flash
 • Color Temp/Filter
 • Custom
 • Custom Set
Each WB setting can be individually fine-tuned in +/-7 steps across the Blue-Amber and Green-Magenta axes.
Metering Mode  • Multi
 • Center
 • Spot
 
Flash Comp  •+/- 2 EV in 0.3 EV steps  
DRO/Auto HDR  • Off
 • DRO
Auto
Level 1
Level 2
Level 3
Level 4
Level 5
 • Auto HDR
Auto
1.0 EV
2.0 EV
3.0 EV
4.0 EV
5.0 EV
6.0 EV
 
Picture Effect  • Toy Camera
Normal
Cool
Warm
Green
Magenta
 • Pop Color
 • Posterization
Color
Black & White
 • Retro Photo
 • Soft High-key
 • Partial Color
Yellow
Red
Green
Blue
 • High Contrast Mono
 • Soft Focus
Low
Mid
High
 • HDR Painting
Low
Mid
High
 • Rich Tone Mono
 • Miniature
Auto
Top
Middle (Horizontal)
Bottom
Left
Middle (Vertical)
Right
 • Off
Picture Effects cannot be used when recording RAW files
Creative Style  • Standard
 • Vivid
 • Portrait
 • Landscape
 • Sunset
 • Black & White

Each Creative Style can be individually adjusted:
- Contrast +/- 3
- Saturation +/- 3
- Sharpness +/- 3

Playback Menu

Option Values / Actions Notes
Delete  • Multiple Img.
 • All in Folder
Select images for deletion
Still/Movie Select  • Folder View (Still)
 • Folder View (MP4)
 • AVCHD View
Like its siblings, the NEX-6 cannot display images and movies at the same time in playback mode.
Slide show  • Repeat
On
Off
 • Interval
1 sec
3 sec
5 sec
10 sec
30 sec
 • Image Type
All
Display 3D Only
 
View on Smartphone  • This Image
 • All Images on This Date
 • All Images on The Device
For use with the PlayMemories Mobile app for iOS and Android.
Send to Computer  - Send images Will send all photos and movies to your Mac or PC over a Wi-Fi network.
View on TV  • Playback Selection
All Images in The Device
All in Folder
 • Interval
Short
Long
 • Effects
On
Off

For viewing photos on a DLNA-compatible HDTV. The Effects are only available on Sony's Bravia televisions.

Movies cannot be shown over Wi-Fi.

Specify Printing  • DPOF Setup
Multiple Img
Cancel All
 • Date Imprint
On
Off
 
Image Index  • 6 Images
 • 12 Images
How many photos are shown in thumbnail view.
Rotate  - Select and rotate images
 
Protect  • Multiple Images
 • Cancel All Images
Select images for protection
Enlarge Image  - Enters Magnified view  
Volume Settings  • 0-7  
Display Contents  • Display Info
 • Histogram
 • No Disp Info
 

Application Menu

The Application Menu is where you'll find the NEX-6's downloadable add-ons, which are discussed in detail on the Wi-Fi and Apps pages.

Option Values / Actions Notes
Loaded Apps  - Varies The currently installed Apps will be shown here.
PlayMemories Camera Apps  - Go to App Store  
Introduction  • Service Introduction
 • Service Availability
 
Application Management  • Sort
 • Manage and Remove
 • Display Account Information
 
Previous page Next page
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Sony Alpha NEX-6

Comments

Total comments: 28
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

Maybe an old subject...has anyome fhotshoe adapter to allow 3.5...or 2.5 mic jack other than sonys on
Y external microphone?

0 upvotes
RichMack55
By RichMack55 (1 month ago)

Which camera would compete well with the nex 6..?
Any opinions greatly appreciated.

I originally wanted to invest in a canon 700 d ( just missed out on a greal deal on the 600d ) but the fact tthat the viewfinder is optical swayed me.

Is there an all round dslr for amatuers coming from a bridge version with the following...
EVF.
Decent lens ( perhaps a Compact system type ) mid range 18-55mm or a little more
High ISO
Lighweight
Flip screen, preferably one which can actually swivel round to take portraits...
Touch screen is NOT necessary
And of course a decent battery which the camera makes tend to overlook...
I feel Canon have lost sight where Nikon is concerned whereas Sony and Lumix seem to have come a long way and are doing what Olympus did in the 70s and the 80s...
Again, any thoughts on the above..?

0 upvotes
RichMack55
By RichMack55 (1 month ago)

I am just about to purchase this camera on the basis that I can return it within 15 days if unhappy...
I thought I had done my homework when decidng on the nex 6 but I am unable to find out if it is possible to override the function of having the screen on.
It seems that the EVF switches on automatically when you place your eye close up to the corner of the camera ( thrus the screen goes off...) and the screen does the same when you move away from the EVF.

To my surprise there is quite a 'waste' of battery time...
Living in a sunny country means the use of an EVF is much more practical.

Can anyone give any tips on how to make the battery last longer.
Ideally, taking three on trips is practical. An external charger is wise too.
And the pc method when on the go is practical as well. Nevertheless, total control over the screeen makes sense nowadays.
I share your point too photosym. That does not make sense as a selling / marketing point. Is this the case with most sony cameras??

0 upvotes
photosym
By photosym (2 months ago)

I don't know who designed this camera, but it certainly wasn't an active photographer. It would be a superb machine, but there's a massive design flaw. You can't use the self timer or an electronic shutter release when in HDR or Auto bracketing modes. Absolutely crazy!!! I've been in touch with Sony and they don't have any plans for a firmware update. I'm not sure if this applies to other Nex or Sony models, but be aware. This is the last Sony camera I will buy, I'll stick to Canon or Fuji in the future.

1 upvote
GirusVirus
By GirusVirus (2 months ago)

I agree with you photosym. This would be a great camera, but it is really useless in the respect of remote control bracketed photography. The remote control is useless when you can't have timers, and other manual settings. It is a shame.

0 upvotes
zblues
By zblues (2 months ago)

Appears from the manual no input jack for an external mic attached to the shoe for this camera. Will use the new mic on the Nikon 5100.

0 upvotes
zblues
By zblues (2 months ago)

I ordered the new SHURE VP83F LensHopper Camera-Mounted Condenser Microphone with Integrated Flash Recording for this camera and it's std size shoe mount to record and video shoot indoor stage Band performances.

Anybody else tried an external mic mounted to this camera.

0 upvotes
rodoki
By rodoki (4 months ago)

I just unboxed my Sony alpha Nex6 a few minutes ago.
I have several Panasonic Lumix's and a Canon Rebel.
The Sony, however, is the first camera I've encountered whereby I cannot simply recharge the battery in a compact charger!
Instead I have to connect a wire from the camera into the charger and thence into a wall socket meaning I cannot have second backup battery.
If I'm on vacation I can't simply leave a battery charging at a hotel room and go out and use my camera with a second battery.
I have to leave the WHOLE camera behind to charge!
Am I missing something here? It seems VERY odd.

0 upvotes
ManInTheStars
By ManInTheStars (4 months ago)

you can buy original sony charger, I have it but i leave hotel with both batteries charged anyway :) in-camera charging is also great, do your all previous cameras have such feature?

1 upvote
jeremyclarke
By jeremyclarke (3 months ago)

+1, I wish Canon and others would add this feature. While external chargers are vital for certain uses (long trips with brief access to power for example) internal chargers are WAY more convenient. Just bring a USB cord and your iPhone's USB->power adapter and you can plug in your camera to suck some juice whenever you have the chance.

I certainly don't hear people complaining about how the batteries in their phones work these days, we just need to get used to the same thing with cameras (especially the "grab some juice while you can" part, don't wait for it to empty out!)

1 upvote
jeremyclarke
By jeremyclarke (3 months ago)

Just to update this, I didn't realize that you can't use the camera at all while it's charging (mentioned in an Amazon review). That's a very tedious element of this equation if it's true. I can imagine a LOT of situations where I'd want to review photos, make picks or just mess around with the camera while charging it.

It should "work like your phone" like I said in the comment above, if you can't use it while it's charging that's not like a phone. Of course, it IS like every camera previously if you only own one battery ;)

Comment edited 44 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
MotoP
By MotoP (2 months ago)

Any number of aftermarket and also (expensive but sure) Sony's spare battery and chargers will add external charging and spare batteries. Safe reliable aftermarket ones are not that expensive and will provide a much more convenient way to refresh the power than with having only one battery. I usually have up to 3-4 batteries always on hand for any primary cameras, two of which are always on the charger during vacations.

I guess in this market for consumer price wars, Sony can't include expensive batteries in the original bundles, at cut-rate prices, nor confuse the ever impatient general consumer who just wants things simple?

0 upvotes
photosym
By photosym (2 months ago)

You're correct, it's very odd and another fudge by Sony.

0 upvotes
Kurnia Lim
By Kurnia Lim (2 months ago)

LOL I love charging direct to camera, and yes we need to buy extra external charger, but you can just buy cheap chinese charger for around 10-15 USD, with that I can charge 2 battery at the same times, and also I can charge with powerbank when it need.

0 upvotes
coolboy
By coolboy (5 months ago)

Hi!
Can anyone please explain me if I can add an PANASONIC 20mm f1.7 II pancake to this camera? Is it fully compatible?

Thanks

0 upvotes
john Clinch
By john Clinch (5 months ago)

No that lens is microfour thirds only. This only takes NEX lenses. That is Sony E-mount

0 upvotes
MotoP
By MotoP (2 months ago)

Direct mounting is only with SONY E-Mount Lenses, however you have the option to add a LA-EA2 or LA-EA4 adapter to use any Sony A-mount lenses with full Auto Focus features intact. This is also true for all AF Minolta Lenses that use the A-mount as well.

Also, with aftermarket mounting adapter solutions, almost any SLR lenses can be used with MANUAL focus. Canon lenses can operate with some adapters with limited AF functions as well.

Comment edited 52 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
kastaldi
By kastaldi (6 months ago)

I bought the RX100 and now I miss the viewfinder of my old P60. A movable screen would also be useful. What a pity...

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
esad
By esad (6 months ago)

@dpreview.com: As you know, the performance of a camera depends very much on the quality of the lens. What lens did you use to test the NEX-6, please? I couldn´t find any hints in the article.

2 upvotes
LJS
By LJS (7 months ago)

I personally do not agree about adding a touchscreen to the NEX line of cameras. I simply don't like touchscreen and I know a lot of people that feel the same way.

2 upvotes
kreislauf
By kreislauf (6 months ago)

sure your do. sure you do.
but fact is, navigating is easier with a touchscreen.

4 upvotes
jeremyclarke
By jeremyclarke (3 months ago)

Seriously what an odd thing to be worried about. As long as you can disable it why deny it to those who would find it helpful?

0 upvotes
MotoP
By MotoP (2 months ago)

Providing a touchscreen, with the ability to enable/disable will meet 100% of user preferences no? ;) Instead of battling opinions on if it should be there or not? I think that's what the review implies...

0 upvotes
Gabriel Yeo
By Gabriel Yeo (7 months ago)

Sony continues without fail, to make ugly-looking cameras.

2 upvotes
FRANCISCO ARAGAO
By FRANCISCO ARAGAO (7 months ago)

You are joking, right?

13 upvotes
Henderson May
By Henderson May (5 months ago)

this is subjective

2 upvotes
nanajan
By nanajan (8 months ago)

Just want to know if Sony Nex-6 had a time and date feature. I have looked through all the materials and have not seen it.

0 upvotes
A V Cole
By A V Cole (8 months ago)

As it takes RAW files all of these details will be on the file along with shutter speed, aperture used etc.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 28