Previous page Next page

JPEG Tone Curves / dynamic range

Our Dynamic Range measurement system involves shooting a calibrated Stouffer Step Wedge (13 stops total range) which is backlit using a daylight balanced lamp (98 CRI). A single shot of this produces a gray scale wedge from the camera's clipped white point down to black (example below). Each step of the scale is equivalent to 1/3 EV (a third of a stop), we select one step as 'middle gray' (defined as 50% luminance) and measure outwards to define the dynamic range. Hence there are 'two sides' to our results, the amount of shadow range (below middle gray) and the amount of highlight range (above middle gray).

To most people highlight range is the first thing they think about when talking about dynamic range, that is the amount of highlight detail above middle gray the camera can capture before it clips to white. Shadow range is more complicated; in our test the line on the graph stops as soon as the luminance value drops below our defined 'black point' (about 2% luminance) or the signal-to-noise ratio drops below a predefined value (where shadow detail would be swamped by noise), whichever comes first.

Note: this page features our new interactive dynamic range comparison widget. The wedges below the graph are created by our measurement system from the values read from the step wedge, the red lines indicate approximate shadow and highlight range (the dotted line indicating middle gray).

Cameras Compared

The a7R performs nearly identically its little brother the a7, or the Nikon D800 and Canon EOS 5D Mark III full frame SLRs. With a gentle rolloff to the clipping point, we'd expect the a7 to offer a generally pleasing rendition of highlight detail.

DR Modes

DRO (Dynamic Range Optimization) is an adaptive algorithm that brightens the dark regions of images to give a more balanced result while retaining local contrast. Our test chart doesn't tell the whole story, as in the real world the camera breaks an image down into smaller areas, adjusting the tone curve for each. With that out of the way, you can see above that DRO pulls up the shadows, without sacrificing highlight tone.

DRO Real World Example

Auto Off Lvl 1 Lvl 2 Lvl 3 Lvl 4 Lvl 5

While not the most exciting example, above you can see what each DRO setting does in a high contrast situation. The Auto setting is close to level 2, which is a fairly conservative choice from our experiences.

In our own experiences with the a7R we almost never changed the DRO setting from Auto, as it usually does the job. If you run into a situation with more contrast than DRO allows you to cope with, then consider using the well-designed HDR feature.

ISO Expansion

The a7R allows you to lower the base ISO to 50, for those who want to utilize wider apertures or slower shutters speeds in bright light. As is usually the case, the trade-off for this is an abrupt transition in the highlights to clipped white about a stop sooner than ISO 100.

Previous page Next page
521
I own it
606
I want it
127
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 805
12345
dynaxx
By dynaxx (7 months ago)

Is only bitching allowed in here or may I request that DPR add just the Studio Comparison shots with, say, one or two of the Sony ZA lenses on the A7R using the LA-EA4 adaptor ? It works with both the electronic and screw focus type lenses.

I know from the forums that there are many Minolta/Sony A lens owners intrigued by the possibilities this combo might offer.

To silence the trolls who will say it defeats the point of a small camera body, you are allowed to take the adaptor off when you want to use an E mount lens if size/weight/anonymity is a factor. Thanks

2 upvotes
Everlast66
By Everlast66 (7 months ago)

Of course compactness matters, expecially with one of Leica's brilliant lenses that are manual focus anyway.

4 upvotes
dynaxx
By dynaxx (7 months ago)

of course, @Everlast66, there are many common-or-garden adaptors without auto-focus that are much more petite compared to the LA-EA2/4's for all the Leica mounts and, probably, every other mount because of the Nex range popularity

1 upvote
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (7 months ago)

Yes, I use the the zeiss 35mm for my compact everyday use lens and for the rest of my lenses I'm. Not as concerned about size because they are not on the camera nearly as much. The contax lens collection for it a great compact option as well for a pretty good price.

0 upvotes
bobbarber
By bobbarber (7 months ago)

I have a comment on the "performance" discussion on this thread. I do not own this camera, nor do I own a FF Nikon or Canon. But I do own MILCs and a DSLR.

DSLRs are snappier and more responsive. No question. However, in other ways they are less capable. For example, you get much better information in the viewfinder of a mirrorless camera, and you can do manual focus much better. It is no contest. When you can do a 10x zoom on a subject at a wide aperture, you can nail the focus every time. This is handy for very fast lenses, or macro shooting, etc. If the argument is, "DSLRs can do that too, in live view," well, yes they can, but only slowly. Very slowly. And only on the back screen. So even performance is difficult to define. This camera might perform better for some people, in the kind of shooting that they like to do, than the corresponding DSLR.

9 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

I think mirrorless is the way to go in the long run.

> much better information in the viewfinder of a mirrorless camera, and you can do manual focus much better.

someone may think SLR = peeping into a funny hole but this is definitely not correct. hole-peeping is a small technical issue. it used to be a serious limit but not anymore.

> but only slowly
same for this. SLR can do fast and responsive AF but they don't have to be slow in image sensor AF. they do it half-hearted because that's not their main weapon. it's an issue we observe but not a nature to the system (it maybe nearer to the nature than the information display part).

Comment edited 4 times, last edit 10 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

> it used to be a serious limit but not anymore.

even when a conventional mirror (not translucent) is down working, we can replace the finder screen with an image sensor which relays the image to a large display. there is no such an implementation yet, but by thinking about it we can know the issue doesn't have it's root in the nature of the system.

0 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

@ Yabookie - This is plain wrong. PDAF lenses do not work with CDAF well at all, they are simply not designed for it. This is why LV always sucks so badly on DSLRs and why after 10 years they haven't really improved.

It's also why companies design whole new lenses systems, because that lens system 'prized' by their loyal customers become completely useless on an entirely LV based system.

On sensor PDAF helps though, as it can assist with determining focus so the lenses have to hunt less. This type of system still has its flaws though.

As for offering LV while taking the shot when the mirror is up... Uhm yeah, that's not going to work. There is obviously the possibility to provide a LV feed through an optical viewfinder setup to enable LV through the viewfinder. however this would be rather expensive and until the LV focus of PDAF lenses is sorted it would be a huge waste of time / money to implement. Oh and that system will also have blackout when taking the shot so....

2 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

why CDAF at all?

we don't have to go to the same place Pana holed in.
(but let Pana stay there and perfect it)

Comment edited 6 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
straylightrun
By straylightrun (7 months ago)

Eventually CDAF will be more faster and more accurate than PDAF. EVFs will also outperform OVFs. We're still not quite there yet though.

1 upvote
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

@ Yabookie - Because PDAF either needs a dedicated sensor or on sensor. On sensor just isn't there yet, even with dual pixel AF like the Canon 70D still isn't at dedicated PDAF levels yet. On top of that, well designed CDAF systems (that's sensor, lens design, lens motors, processing) are already eclipsing PDAF in their current markets for AF-C and with PDAF support AF-C is now becoming possible, but still only with CDAF optimised lenses. PDAF has had its place and worked very well, but those lenses just can't be carried into a whole new era of AF systems. New lenses will need to be designed. If a mirrorless camera was so easy and PDAF lenses so simple why do you think that not one lens from PDAF era, by the OEMs nor third parties have been made in mirrorless mounts? I mean it would take nothing at all for someone like Sigma to release their entire catalogue of lenses in E-Mount... except that not one of them will work well (apart from the DNs which ate CDAF lenses).

0 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

actually Pana made a similar mistake as Oly (there is no excuse for Oly but Pana didn't have a good option at the time).

Oly invented a mount for the digital age which is proved to be good for nothing. Pana chose CDAF and they did it great, better than many people expected, that they will have to abandon eventually.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
uhoh07
By uhoh07 (7 months ago)

yup... i thought so.

the quirky one gets the Gold, the killer one gets the silver and plenty of whine :)

3 upvotes
ArcaSwiss
By ArcaSwiss (7 months ago)

This forum is a hoot. I've never seen so much bickering anywhere outside of a courtroom

2 upvotes
Rawmeister
By Rawmeister (7 months ago)

I know- sad ain't it.
A true reflection of the sick society we live in.

0 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

Nah, it's that way with pretty much any gear people are passionate about. Guys really like their toys.

6 upvotes
Richt2000
By Richt2000 (7 months ago)

Brand loyalty / trolling with regard to sociology is like virtual football hoolaganism!

A high proportion of people cannot handle independance nor not worry about how they are seen / perceived. This virtual tribal instinct is usually a sign of insecurity and a lack of confidence in the real world.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
7 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (7 months ago)

Defending one's choices is perfectly acceptable, and expected even. Unfortunately people get labelled "fanboys" by the sorts of people seeking to find as many faults as they can, and never being willing to acknowledge that any set of preferences other than their own is valid, nor is any choice other than the ones they've made acceptable. This is a psychosis, when you think about it.

It's a sad but observable fact that the most overbearing brand evangelists generally come from the smallest ILC sensor. Small-sensor syndrome seems to me to be exactly the same as small-car syndrome.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Darren Lee
By Darren Lee (7 months ago)

There is a crazy deal on the A7 with Focus Camera right now. You get A7,
24-70mm FE lens, F60M flash,64GB SD card, Photoshop lightroom 5....alll for $1,798...this price reflects a $450 instant rebate and $300 credit when you send in a broken or old camera...you get the credit even before you ship out the old camera. Not sure how legit Focus is though, but that is a crazy deal.

3 upvotes
ianimal
By ianimal (7 months ago)

Engineers makes it possible. Well done.

2 upvotes
PerL
By PerL (7 months ago)

I think it is nice with a very compact FF and the IQ should be impressive. However, I can't see how it gets a higher rating than the Nikon Df, a much more allround capable camera with 10x the lens system. (I would equal the high res of the Sony with the low light performance of the Df)

4 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

DF is just a D600, with a D4 sensor, no movie mode, some tacked-on dials on top and a 1000-dollar tax (on top of the D600 regular price) for it all.

"Dismal Failure" like DRTV puts it.

Comment edited 45 seconds after posting
14 upvotes
McJ
By McJ (7 months ago)

I would say that dslr's and mirrorless cameras are judged very differently on dpr. What if the D800 had the same performance (as in speed) as the A7R? I'm sure the conclusion would have been that the camera was the worst Nikon had ever made.

3 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (7 months ago)

"Dismal Failure"? No. thats your comment.

The Df is a staggeringly good camera. If you think its just a D600 in different clothes you've clearly never held or used it. The dials are fully useable and better than the ones on my Fuji cameras. Never mind, I'm sure there are other things for you to hate...

3 upvotes
WhiteBeard
By WhiteBeard (7 months ago)

As for the speed issue, being partly related to the initialization of the lens-camera relationship (to correct distortion, aberrations, etc.), there are 2 solutions:
1) Shoot without the lens to gain a few 10ths of a second (less expensive too); or -
2) wait for the firmware update that is sure to come along since this is almost certainly fixable and not hardware-related.

0 upvotes
Mike99999
By Mike99999 (7 months ago)

The Df is a skinned D600 with messed up controls.

The A7/R is a revolutionary product.

Apples and oranges.

17 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (7 months ago)

It's the Sony that accepts more lenses than the Nikon and has higher resolution. So innovation aside, the Sony offers more in the body and (arguably) more in the lenses as well. The low light performance of both cameras is fine. But the Sony looks like a box with a handle and it doesn't say Nikon.

3 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

if dpreview had an award for the biggest fail, the DF would get this "black banana award"

4 upvotes
T3
By T3 (7 months ago)

The Df has aggravating controls. If Nikon's intent was to "slow you down" with their controls, they definitely accomplished it. But they took it too far. It's retro done wrong.

2 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

I may think the A7r is underserving of the gold award, but at least it tried something. DPR should still review cameras as they operate and take photos, not reward them for "effort".

The DF is more like "you guys like retro? here's something quickly cobbled together, now pay extra for it you suckers". Its whole reason to exist is hollow and insulting when compared to great Nikon DSLRs. Just get the much cheaper D610 or the D4 if you want real performance and leave the DF to the bargain bins of history.

Comment edited 8 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (7 months ago)

As a owner of both a Df and a sony A7, the Df eats the A7 alive. Ergonomics and AF, something some people criticised the Df for, are light years ahead of the A7 pairing. I like the A7 as a mirrorless camera, but it really isn't playing in the same league.

PS I would have put this more politely, but that's the stark message, and all you guys gave me was very stark...

1 upvote
Rawmeister
By Rawmeister (7 months ago)

Lets see a serious review on the Sony FE 70-200 f4 OS.
It costs 1500 smackers. More than the legendary Canon IS version.

One would suppose it's an even better lens.
Pffftttt.

I'm not holding my breath over this vapourware that should define the usefulness of the system. All the other Zeiss for Sony products have been only so-so. Why should things change now, er I mean in the future?

Comment edited 38 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
Hugo600si
By Hugo600si (7 months ago)

so-so Zeiss lenses for Sony??? have you seen the 55 and 35 reviews? Ah well, enjoy your Sigma camera RM

16 upvotes
ianimal
By ianimal (7 months ago)

Have YOU ever used any of the Sony/Zeiss lenses?

5 upvotes
josseee
By josseee (7 months ago)

really? you probably mean the 2nd best lens ever tested by dxo (the 55) :) (being dangerously close to the 4000$ otus)
I keep being amazed by ignorance and lack of ability to check the facts before stating complete nonsense by some users on these forums...

16 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

quite nice trolling attempt "rawmeister", but the 70-200 unfortunately is no Zeiss lens. It's a Sony G lens. But I guess if it doesn't even have the blue sticker it's total crap in your opinion. Because you know there is still the myth that Sony can't make lenses, and they only offer 3 of them.

3 upvotes
SDF
By SDF (7 months ago)

Well, lets see some serious comments first.

1 upvote
Ryan_Valiente
By Ryan_Valiente (7 months ago)

Was it fun complaining about the things you've never used?

or yet, can't afford.

Comment edited 12 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
EricCul
By EricCul (7 months ago)

Been reading the forum for years. This is the first time I have felt that a camera company has made what I was looking for. A small, compact camera in size, with a large sensor.

I bought an A7r a short while ago and couldn't be happier.

Good review on the pros and cons. I'm enjoying the pros, but don't see much of the cons. Excellent purchase.

Comment edited 48 seconds after posting
18 upvotes
QuarryCat
By QuarryCat (7 months ago)

it is a silly, expensive show cam - not more.
It's simply not good in my hands and the pictures I get are not good enough.
Sony try again, next year.

4 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (7 months ago)

"It's simply not good in my hands" Yeah I can definitely see the problem.

36 upvotes
ARB1
By ARB1 (7 months ago)

quezar, now that was funny, you made my evening LOL....

1 upvote
ARB1
By ARB1 (7 months ago)

sorry for the named typo

0 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

User error if you cannot good pictures with this awesome camera!

0 upvotes
Kendunn
By Kendunn (7 months ago)

Its so funny when something like this comes out to read the haters and the fan boys going at it

4 upvotes
EricCul
By EricCul (7 months ago)

Yes, never understood that. In my day, if you didn't like a camera, you didn't give it any attention. If you did, you told people what you liked about it.

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

When was your day?

This is a multi-brand, camera, review site. We mingle with fellow photographers who have not necessarily made the same gear choices. It's not a ghetto.

When DPR posts a review, it's usually a major event. Those who already own the camera want confirmation they made the right choice, haters will have reasons to talk in any case and those on the fence will read the review and possibly comment on it later.

Unlike the DPR forums, comment sections for articles are unlimited in post numbers and tend to have a lot of different people compared to brand-specific sub-forums.

In fact I find utterly silly that you need a proof of purchase or at least show a positive interest in any product to be allowed to discuss it. You can always choose to ignore opinions you don't agree with or post a rebuttal. If you can't handle varying opinions, this place is not for you. And guess what, life is a lot harsher out there so better get used to it already.

1 upvote
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

Eric is spot on. People come here for information on cameras. Not the misinformation trolls like bluevellet and a few others try to spread.

Why trolls care so much about what camera we buy is beyond me. Could be the spoiler mentality.

3 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

Information? It's a comment section. The info is in the review, articles and in the spec sheets. The rest is just chatter.

2 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

There are some knowledgeable and helpful people who contribute comments. I wouldn't dismiss their contribution as just chatter.

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

And who's stopping them from contributing? No one. Still, they're a tiny minority.

The rest is chatter so the comment still stand.

0 upvotes
EricCul
By EricCul (7 months ago)

I enjoy the added information and insight that sensible people add through their comments to these articles. It's a mild inconvenience to have to scroll past bluevellet and other trolls to find comments from photographers and fans of photography. Still, enjoying the site as always.

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

Cool. Hopefully your fellow fanboys will also grow a thicker skin in the process so they'll either ignore comments they don't like or offer real rebuttals.

0 upvotes
EricCul
By EricCul (7 months ago)

Or you, bluevellet, might join the masses and start discussing the merits of the cameras you like. You'd never know, when you have a positive attitude, people may begin to think your comments have a purpose beyond venting at the world. ;-)

Sure, I am a fanboy. A fanboy of cameras and photography. A fanboy of Sony, Nikon, Canon, Panasonic, Olympus, Pentax, Leica, and many other brands I use or have used.

1 upvote
Kendunn
By Kendunn (7 months ago)

Ghetto? Major event? Man someone is taking themselves way too serious. Its a new camera, its not going to change the world. We should be happy with improvements in cameras, it ups the ante for the other manufacturers. I just bought a D600 before these came out. Made me wonder if I had made the right choice. After the dust settled and I had time to think I believe I did. That doesn't mean there isn't things I would like to have from the Sony, just things I like better about the Nikon. To be honest I don't know what else I would like to see in a camera, ,minor quibbles notwithstanding

0 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

I stay on topic and discuss camera gear.That's all that matters.

You may want to lead the parade and only think happy thoughts, but I still want to talk about everything, and not just skim over the bad parts. No one is taking out from your parade.

Now practice what you preach and scroll past all the talk that is not rose-tinted enough for you. Thank you.

0 upvotes
Dan Ortego
By Dan Ortego (7 months ago)

Heck, I'm still dumping accessory money into my A900 and doing just fine. However, if I was to buy something small it would definitely be the new Fuji X-T1 and not a Sony!

Up until recently I was referring to Sony's technology as flavor of the year, but now it's fast becoming flavor of the month, so no thanks.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
Just another Canon shooter
By Just another Canon shooter (7 months ago)

Typical Sony. A half-baked high-tech product, an alpha version at best. I have owned too many Sony products like this, the most recent one was a $3K+ Vaio.

3 upvotes
pew pew
By pew pew (7 months ago)

your nickname says it all, let me see t31 = t4i = t51 oh right excellent innovation right there.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
26 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

pew, be nice now. SO funny....his nickname, what a fanboy!

2 upvotes
Cheng Bao
By Cheng Bao (7 months ago)

I'd say 2014 t5 have fully baked hi-tech sensor and processor from 2009 7d, which must be better than half-baked A7r

0 upvotes
WhiteBeard
By WhiteBeard (7 months ago)

I would find this comment a little more interesting if your gear wasn't a cell phone... I do agree, however, that Sony has more work to do with this product but I still think it is on a very good path.

Oh, and this Sony is WAY better than a Samsung cell phone, which ever way you cut it...

0 upvotes
Just another Canon shooter
By Just another Canon shooter (7 months ago)

Funny how my nickname or my signature mean more than what I said. We have a potentially game changer which takes blurry images around 1/80 and has serious light leak problems? The shutter shake burs the image even on a tripod?

WhiteBeard, any one of my lenses costs more than all of your gear combined.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

You read too much about potential problems in forums and don't take enough pictures. Now go out with your smartphone and take pictures!

2 upvotes
Just another Canon shooter
By Just another Canon shooter (7 months ago)

How do you know how many pictures I take, and with what?

0 upvotes
Jaythomasni
By Jaythomasni (7 months ago)

There is truth in this often overlooked by people write in forums. Most of Sony's products are high tech but loosing in that special appeal people get attracted emotionally.
No one attaches attributes of color, detail, contrast or look and feel to a Sony that is often heard about Canon, Nikon, Fuji.. Oh that Canon color etc.
even the old Minolta , which is Sony now, had identity in Lens attributes and camera bodies. Sony is trying too many combinations an iterations without real identity.

Sony is going out of PC business. Though Vaio is a good product. Its loosing appeal. Most of Sony products slowly looses that emotional attachment once
Sony name was synonym with tv,camcorder etc. now its Canon, Panasonic, Samsung for TV etc.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

@Just Another Canon shooter

Easier to dismiss someone because of his username than to rebut what he said. If not the username, then the gear list or your recent posting history. Any excuse to invalidate a dissenting opinion.

Always shoot the messenger

0 upvotes
Ben O Connor
By Ben O Connor (7 months ago)

Believe it or not, My E-PM1 has better built quality !!! (Compare yourself and fascinate :D )

1 upvote
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

of course, for youself.

1 upvote
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

And it's pink! That alone really says "build quality"
fascinating!

2 upvotes
ARB1
By ARB1 (7 months ago)

Does anyone see this line of cameras, and especially its predecessors, as a potential game changer?

I have an OMD and D800 and always wanted something with the D800 IQ in a smaller package. Now I understand this line still has some growing pains to undergo but do you see this as the future of photography and do you see folks like Canon and Nikon rethinking their approach for the future?

2 upvotes
Deutsch
By Deutsch (7 months ago)

I agree. I now think Nikon and/or Canon will come out with a replica A7R version. Nikon uses a lot of Sony sensors, so wouldn't be surprised by such a release in the future.

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

Removing the mirror box was the easy part (and was done before Sony)

You need some kind of revolution with optics or some alternative technology to truly make a difference. Otherwise your size advantage disappears above 100mm.

Like with cropped-sensored mirrorless, there's not much pressure on Canikon to do anything. FF mirrorless is worse because only one player is involved and its price bracket does not really make it mass market anyway.

0 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (7 months ago)

Yeah removing the mirrorbox was so easy, that's why we have no shortage of mirrorless FF cameras from Canon, Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Panasonic, Pentax, and... oh wait

6 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

Technically, it was easy and it had already been done. And it was done in steps for Sony as well (FF DSLR, FF STL, RX1 and A7).

Now releasing a camera system and commit to future development, not every company wants to take that risk, especially with FF since the market is so small. Other manufacturers also had their own established system to protect.

But like with NEX, Sony was willing to neglect/sacrifice the Alpha DSLR range, just like it is willing to neglect/risk/sacrifice its own NEX/APS-C in favor of FF mirrorless development.

1 upvote
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

Full frane used to be a huge market in the filme era. Only since the switch to digital big sensors became much more expensive than big film and cameras got huuuuuuge. That's why it became a niche.

Now Sony manages to makes the camera as small as 30 years ago and puts a an excellent FF sensor inside. People can even use their old lenses. See why it's a game changer?

No, I think Canikon users won't can't admit it until Canon and Nikon goes the same way, in some years...

2 upvotes
McJ
By McJ (7 months ago)

If this was a dslr, it would have been panned as the worst performing camera of the last 10 years. But since it's mirrorless, it magically gets "gold".

I will probably buy this camera myself as a slow digital back for my 30+ year old primes, but I feel sorry for those that buy this as a general purpose camera because it got "gold" in this test.

12 upvotes
manis404
By manis404 (7 months ago)

The world's most expensive lenses are not autofocus. I guess you think they exhibit bad performance too?

13 upvotes
pew pew
By pew pew (7 months ago)

you sound like a fanboy, trying to diss a good camera so you can feel better about your own equipment.

14 upvotes
McJ
By McJ (7 months ago)

As I wrote above, I will buy a A7R. And use it as a pure landscape camera on a tripod. I have 4 different cameras on 3 systems, I'm no brand fanatic.

You have to wonder though if a dslr had a starup time, shutter lag time and blackout time measured in seconds (as with the A7R) and not milliseconds. What would be the verdict? Gold?

7 upvotes
Osvaldo Cristo
By Osvaldo Cristo (7 months ago)

/If this was a dslr, it would have been panned as the worst performing camera of the last 10 years. But since it's mirrorless, it magically gets "gold"./

I had exactly the same impression. It is the price paid to sell advertisements for mirrorless.

5 upvotes
SDF
By SDF (7 months ago)

@McJ, Do you even read the review? or you just skim straight to the award logo?

7 upvotes
McJ
By McJ (7 months ago)

Yeah, I have. I have read a lot about this camera since it was released which is why also I have decided to buy it. It fits me personally very well.

My problem is with the review itself which reveals pretty major drawbacks with the camera, but the end score doesn't reflect that. This isn't a problem for me, but it is a problem for those that doesn't read the review closely and buy the camera thinking it is as good in daily operation as a dslr.

0 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

"This isn't a problem for me, but it is a problem for those that doesn't read the review closely and buy the camera thinking it is as good in daily operation as a dslr."

Well then that's simply the punishment for those people for not being able to read text. You want to blame dpreview for it?

1 upvote
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

So you are going to spend money on it despite its drawbacks? Did you ever stop to consider that others might do that too and that like you, those people who buy it, or those people who review it, think that the Pros outweigh the Cons?

A review like this is meant to establish the Pros and Cons so that people considering buying this camera can make an informed decision about whether it suits their needs or not. Those who it doesn't will come in here and insult it and not buy it and those who it does will praise it and buy it.

The award it is given is not a metric, or a score it is based purely on what some people think and what it does for the market as a whole. Anyone who buys it based purely on this award deserves to be disappointed because they didn't weigh up for themselves.

0 upvotes
McJ
By McJ (7 months ago)

This review is not honest to the more casual camera consumers. Those who look at the gold award on amazon and maybe skims the conclusion. There is no way a m43 or dslr would have gotten gold with the kind of performance this camera has.

It is more of a political statement, along the lines of "We love the idea of full frame mirrorless", here, have a gold award.

3 upvotes
Noham
By Noham (7 months ago)

Anyone got a good review on the F4 24 -70 - only one i saw was mixed bags... before moving at a7 /a7r or om1 - getting the lense right is crucial (or can wait for nikon and canon to launch their own full frame mirroless.

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

There are several user reviews in the NEX forum.

It is a so-so lens. Disappoints at the wide and long end. It is much better in the middle (28-60). If you're ok with that then jump in.

2 upvotes
SDF
By SDF (7 months ago)

http://phillipreeve.net/blog/rolling-review-carl-zeiss-vario-tessar-t-fe-424-70-za/

4 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

Not as many lenses as a D800?... that's cool, it's 'crap' lens selection has already produced the highest ranked AF lens and guess what? it ain't available for the D800. All the 'better' AF on the D800 doesn't mean much when the lens you have to compete with the Zeiss 55mm f1.8 is a $4000 MF lens.... Also Zeiss. Plus that lens also happens to work on the Sony, with better MF aids than a D800 could hope to have...

7 upvotes
Spectro
By Spectro (7 months ago)

I have the a7 and I do think the lens selection is crap. I want a better lens then my kit and something in nikon prime price range. I am starting to get sick and tired of manually focusing. Even focusing peak, I dont always get wow shots as with the af of the d600. Otis is stupid expensive hardy anybody woyld buy that. It is just for a few people to brag. Like bragging about a lamnorgini, out of price, out of mind.

4 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

@Spectro , What's a "lamnorgini"?

7 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

You know what he meant, why the constant, diversion games, davee1? If you dfisagree, just say it and hopefully explain why.

8 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

hi bluevellet. I have no idea what he meant. It is not a product I am familiar with.

But perhaps you can take time out from trolling on Sony articles to explain?

6 upvotes
Gediminas 8
By Gediminas 8 (7 months ago)

Apparently when people have nothing of substance to contribute they focus on spelling. Shame you can't block/hide irrelevant post and posters.

I find these Sonys interesting, but would not buy them now that the lens selection is such a mix of average and elitist products.

2 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

Lamborghini.

Come on, dude, you would not play those games with someone in love with Sony.

2 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

@Gediminas 8 : As it happens, randomly spelling a product name does confuse.

As you had nothing of substance to contribute, I agree with your suggestion of blocking irrelevant posts. I'd have never seen yours ;-)

Thanks bluevellet. He was referring to a car in his camera/lens rant, that's good to know.

Now, back to your endless trolling. There are new Sony products on the way, I hear. lol

3 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

After been called out, pretend you didn't know and then deflect blame/attention onto others. Still nothing to contribute in the end.

2 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

@bluevellet. A camera this good deserves a better class of troll. :-)

Find a camera you like and take some photos. Might help
remedy your obsession with pooping after all comments from buyers of brands you don't like.

3 upvotes
dead eyes open
By dead eyes open (7 months ago)

Gediminas 8, You mean in plain English, you just can't afford to...

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

I'm actually defending an A7r buyer here, at least to encourage you to address his points instead of dancing around the issue. You have no excuses now, you know what he meant. Dare to offer substance.

Maybe I can finally go out when you do that. I do need a carton of milk for tomorrow morning.

0 upvotes
Gediminas 8
By Gediminas 8 (7 months ago)

dead eyes open,

You can say that perhaps. Although it's because I don't make money from my photos so it is not really a question of affordability: I simply have no justification for such an outlay. At this stage of the system's development.

1 upvote
Spectro
By Spectro (7 months ago)

Thanks for the spelling correction. I do like my a7, I carry it with me all the time. I have it with me even at lunch right now. Gave it a 4 of 5 stars review on amazon. But Sony nex lens selection has been unimpressive. Had the nex 3 also. I have my nikkor 50mm 1.4 on this a7. Just slower then dslr in most performance factor.

1 upvote
EricCul
By EricCul (7 months ago)

Bluevellet, you can shoot me too. I thought by the look of the word it might be Italian, but guessed a designer item or other.

1 upvote
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

Yes, Eric. But bluevellet is one of the resident trolls on the Sony articles. Just whines at everyone who likes cameras or photography, but doesn't agree with him/her/it.

3 upvotes
EricCul
By EricCul (7 months ago)

DaveE1, I had noticed that too. There are a few of them that hang around all day commenting on the same camera or brand, without any indication they have actually used the products.

Thanks for the heads up though. I'm picky about who I get my advice from. You addressed the points here nicely as far as I am concerned. ;)

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

Fanboy whines about trolls.

Mistakes non-Sony worship as an attack on all cameras.

1 upvote
EricCul
By EricCul (7 months ago)

You can pile me in too with fanboys if you like, bluevellet. I like this camera. I also like what Sony are doing lately. Perhaps you might find meaning in life and leave the rest of us to our little pleasures of taking pictures with cameras we like.

3 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (7 months ago)

Then go ahead, take pictures, no one is stopping you.

Then we can just meet here from time to time and argue over camera gear.

0 upvotes
Kendunn
By Kendunn (7 months ago)

It certainly is a great era in digital photography with cameras like this and the Fuji and Oly. The only thing I see is the cost of lenses are crushing. Not saying that the best Canon and Nikons are cheap, but they seem to always have a cost effective alternative either new or used to their best that still offers really good performance. I mean if you had to start over with a Sony system you could easily drop a ton of money on the body, couple of lenses, and a flash.
I am not sure if I would like the EVF, but everyone says its great, so maybe if there isn't any lag. As far as size I am sure its great for travel, but I have found smaller cameras are hard for me to use as they feel pretty cramped. I think a DSLR is just right. Maybe if they could get voice commands that actually worked it would be much better to have a small camera. It would be nice to be able to whisper to the camera to switch ISO or focus mode, etc

0 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

No need, the Sony has an extra 2 dials over any DSLR (except Df, but those are redundant extra dials), that means you have direct access to ISO... No more push this and turn that to change a setting.

If you are worried about size, can always add the grip, it still remains slender and light.

3 upvotes
Tonio Loewald
By Tonio Loewald (7 months ago)

Didn't a bunch of reviewers find the A7's rear dial a pain in the ass and disable it? (It was "pocket dialing" random ISOs). Having to push a button and turn a dial to change ISO is a feature as far as I'm concerned. I love how you dismiss the Nikon Df as having "redundant" extra dials (not that I like the Nikon Df). Your reasoning is irreproachable: the A7r has the best AF lens (i.e. not the best lens) and the most dials (except for a camera with more dials). You should mention it has the fastest startup time (except for cameras which start up too fast) and best AF (except for cameras that focus too fast). Maybe it also has the best in-camera RAW-processing except for cameras that actually have in-camera RAW-processing and the best external battery charger, except for cameras that actually have one of those too.

Sacrcasm aside, the rear dial does give you the ability to quickly review images (a la Canon high-end DSLRs) which is a good thing.

Comment edited 6 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (7 months ago)

Yes on my a7 I set it up so I have to press a button before I change my iso with the rear dial. Otherwise the thing changed on me quite often. Fortunately you can set it all up the way it works best for you. I would prefer a dedicated iso dial on the left shoulder of the camera.

0 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

Sony, Fuji, Oly, people who are overly interested in these products are pre-entry level photographers.

0 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

@ Tonio - So reviewers say the don't like the dial and therefore it doesn't count (according to you) but I say the dials on the Df are redundant (also according to you) and my comments are 'beyond reproach'? Yeah that makes sense.

The dial on my A7 has never been bumped accidentally once, nor have I gotten a single shot that wasn't what I wanted as far as ISO is concerned. I have not had one shot that was out of focus either for that matter, where it wasn't the person using the cameras fault. Reviewers are welcome to say and do what they like, I thought the whole point of comments on reviews was to add a different angle... if we are all to take reviews as 'fact' then why have comments at all? Is it solely to pat the reviewer on the back?

As for the Df - Yes the dials are redundant. You can have 50 dials on a camera and if they all do exactly the same thing then that is nothing more than redundancy, they add no additional function. If you need two dials to work together to perform the function of one dial, than that is purely bad design. The Nikon has a mix of those two, but collectively between its dials (which there are more of physically) they perform no additional direct function than found on the A7.

The rest of your comment is just pure troll nonsense.

1 upvote
Kendunn
By Kendunn (7 months ago)

adding a grip doesn't spread the buttons out to make them easier and larger.

0 upvotes
Ranford Stealth
By Ranford Stealth (7 months ago)

The yabbie (small crustacean found in Australia) will apparently be purchasing a Sony/Fuji/Oly in 5-10 years according to reports found in "Trolling For Fun & Profit". And there was much rejoicing. Or not.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
NCB
By NCB (7 months ago)

Sony deserves credit for producing an innovative camera which is capable, under the right circumstances, of producing excellent pics, and all in a light and compact body, for a full frame camera. BUT GOLD? Seems to me DPR has shrunk the market this camera is supposedly aimed at to the point it can consider that award. Fact is, it has quite a lot of minuses, ones which rivals from Canon and Nikon don't possess. It should be judged against the market those cameras are aimed it. It's a good first attempt from Sony, but GOLD implies that it's outstanding in its market, which, unless you shrink the market as I indicated, it patently isn't.

3 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

I guess you haven't seen the number of professional Canon and Nikon photographers who switched or added A7/r to their collection..

9 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

And what IS it's market? Please define that for us...

1 upvote
FellaOP
By FellaOP (7 months ago)

Non PRO shooters to semi pro shooters... IE shooters that don't need extensive peripherals like lighting equipment and such....

2 upvotes
NCB
By NCB (7 months ago)

Err... how many Canon and Nikon pro users have switched then?

I can see quite a few committed FF users, pro or otherwise, adding this to their kit as it gives something different, weight and size in particular, and the very limited range of (extremely good) lenses may not matter too much if you're thinking of particular uses. Pro users ditching their whole main Nikon or Canon gear in favour of this is another matter entirely, and I just don't see it happening.

3 upvotes
Rawmeister
By Rawmeister (7 months ago)

They deserve credit do they?
For what? Trying to enrich themselves through business ventures? I'll give them credit - how about all the cash they want at 10% a year? If they default it jumps to 20% per month.

0 upvotes
Richt2000
By Richt2000 (7 months ago)

Already have NBC,
1Dsiii ad 5D2 sold....
Canon cannot compete in DR and IQ.
Nikon cannot compete in weight.

Makes all the difference when you're lugging equipment up a mountain...

0 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

@NCB, it is happening. Pros buying this camera and using their massive lens collection (any brand) oh you did not know this camera can use any lens in the market?

0 upvotes
alzurzin
By alzurzin (7 months ago)

@ Heaven,,, AMEN. The fact ANY lens can be used on the A7 is a huge plus for me. Sure, the camera is not perfect, but the Zeiss lenses and the Sony sensor are nearly perfect. Real Pro's can work around camera limitations - other people complain and nitpick. The A7 has so many advantages and qualities, it is THE camera I have waited for over 20 years! Goodbye Leica, with its retarded retro everything, and with an IQ that is 2nd to the A7R. This A7 will redefine digital photography. The days for DSLR are very numbered now.

0 upvotes
RidgeRunner22
By RidgeRunner22 (7 months ago)

The Ricoh Gr(Gold award) I purchased is in so many ways inferior to the RX100(silver), painfuly slow AF in anything but very good light,very limited focal length range, about half the frames per second etc.. but in real world everyday use, it is far more enjoyable than the rx100. I Think in the case of the A7R yes there are some very real cons, but the fact is it is well made and the IQ per size
simply cant be touched(save maybe with one of the sigmas, but that is a whole different set of cons).

Comment edited 59 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

Excellent review...time to switch..

7 upvotes
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (7 months ago)

Nobody HAS to switch. This can make a good secondary camera when you want IQ without any weight. This with the 35mm f2.8 can make an excellent walk around package when traveling or just walking around town.

4 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

the great thing provided by Sony FE cameras is acturally "the capability not to switch". anyone can just get an interchangeable body and it's done.

many Canon shooters got D800 and 14-24/2.8G. it's no-brainer for no Canon product can provide similar performance but then people get 24-70/2.8G, then 70-200/2.8GVR2 for D800 along with their Canon versions. this is no good but now things are different.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 8 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
powerbook duo
By powerbook duo (7 months ago)

"One accessory that's surprisingly absent is a wired remote shutter cable"

I thought the Sony's RM-VPR1 that connects to the usb/multi terminal port is compatible?

3 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (7 months ago)

and why the remote control over wifi is not good for you?

1 upvote
Richt2000
By Richt2000 (7 months ago)

Yea I have that wired remote it works.
I also have a £3.49 IR remote which works.
Then there is wifi remote from a smart phone...

I like the IR remote the best for general tripod work, and the wired remote for bulb long exposures

0 upvotes
Just a Photographer
By Just a Photographer (7 months ago)

GOLD!
Are you serious????

- Autofocus can be slow in low light
- Its autofocus system nails focus MOST of the time...
- Long viewfinder blackout time
- Longer-than-average startup times
- Short battery life
- Camera 'locks up' while buffer is clearing after continuous shooting
- Menu arrangement poor
- Limited selection of FE lenses

These are really BIG issues not something to be overlooked by serious photographers. Still giving this camera a 'gold' status seems to me like Sony paid DPreview to give it this status.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 12 minutes after posting
12 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

It certainly deserved a Gold award, by any reasonable standards.

Of course, if you don't want to recognize the importance of innovation, you can always make counter arguments against any new camera.

You could give a camera Bronze instead of Gold because the larger resolution means larger file sizes. Or perhaps the compact size means it doesn't balance with large telephoto lenses. Or any one of many counter arguments you could chose as your BIG issues.

In the end, if you don't want the camera, don't buy it.

20 upvotes
Just a Photographer
By Just a Photographer (7 months ago)

I don't get it why Sony lovers always defend their brand...
This camera has some serious flaws in performance and speed and can only be used properly in manual AF mode for a short period of time before the battery runs out.

Innovation where?
This camera uses a 2 year old sensor borrowed from the D800E.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

It deserves more than a gold...PLATINUM...you don't know what you are talking about...you are just upset that DF did not get even an award.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
13 upvotes
jeanberque
By jeanberque (7 months ago)

also no built-in flash :D

7 upvotes
Just a Photographer
By Just a Photographer (7 months ago)

For all those S'only lovers it does, for serious photographers nickel would do ;)

As for the Df it doesn't even deserve anything - the Fujifilm XT-1 is the Df done properly.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
5 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

You should go to Sony forums more to read many of the VERY VERY SATISFIED Canon and Nikon photographers who switched or added A7/r

11 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (7 months ago)

Whatever it deserves, I think we can all sit back and enjoy JaP's meltdown :)

9 upvotes
pew pew
By pew pew (7 months ago)

suprise suprise in the a6000 preview you wrote that you didn´t liked sony, but you keep posting in sony products, how ironic,
typical fanboy trying to put down other cameras, and glorify his.

6 upvotes
rabbitzilla
By rabbitzilla (7 months ago)

I agree with you indeed.

In the world of innovation, yes it's gold.
In the world of professional applications, no it's not.

BTW, I have been using A7 for 2 weeks, satisfied with image quality,

dissatisfied with handling and everything you listed.

2 upvotes
qianp2k
By qianp2k (7 months ago)

It's not a generic-purpose camera as my 5DIII but a top choice in specific areas - landscape, street, studio and traveling. That's why I just bought one week's ago. So far I love it. With Metabornes EF-E III adapter arrived today, I will test it with my EF lenses in this long weekend.

4 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

@Just a Photographer : You certainly don't speak like a photographer.

You may wish to find a camera that you like and take a positive view on it. As it is, it looks like your own negative attitude is dragging you down.

I'm not a Sony lover anyway. I love innovation, wherever it comes from.

Sony's approach just happens to be the opposite to your surly, grunting negativity, so that probably doesn't sit well with you.

5 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

@ Just a Photographer: "A 2 year old sensor borrowed from the D800E"... Erm, I think it is Nikon whom 'borrowed' it, it is a Sony sensor after all. you wouldn't be shouting about how great Nikon are without Sony.

5 upvotes
manis404
By manis404 (7 months ago)

Serious photographers use $5000 MF lenses, so AF speed in irrelevant in that category. You want a high speed AF? Just buy a freaking 7D. Also, good luck with nailing focus on it with a 50/0.95.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Just another Canon shooter
By Just another Canon shooter (7 months ago)

I am not sure why people pay so much attention to the Gold or whatever rating. I noticed only in the comments section.

And yes, Sony, and others do pay this site with advertising, and Amazon does not want to alienate potential buyers. Business as usual.

1 upvote
Bryan Costin
By Bryan Costin (7 months ago)

Apparently Sony has hypnotized all these Serious Photographers into buying their inferior camera. We're all so lucky you noticed, or they'd have gotten away with it!

Or- shockingly - perhaps not all serious photographers operate solely as mobile platforms for autofocus spray-and-pray cameras. Maybe a camera with amazing image quality, compact size, flexibility, lens variety, and excellent interface work well for them.

2 upvotes
Just a Photographer
By Just a Photographer (7 months ago)

@Abortabort

Sony might produce this sensor for Nikon, that does not mean they have invented it for them

- Seriously IF you can make such incredibly good sensor why ban yourself as a manufacturer and let Nikon use it for two years before introducing a camera that contains the exact same sensor that has been used in the D800/D800E for two years already?

You probably never thought of it that Nikon does have a department that can invent sensors, which doesn't mean they have to produce it on their own? NO - you haven't....

Comment edited 50 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Frank_BR
By Frank_BR (7 months ago)

I have the impression that there are much more Sony A7s working behind legacy lenses than behind an expensive Sony / Zeiss FE lens. Certainly there is a great opportunity for Sigma, Tamron and Samyang flooding the market with compatible FE lenses.

5 upvotes
John C Tharp
By John C Tharp (7 months ago)

Samyang, in particular, has a lot to gain. They've shown that they can make sharp glass- as they improve their coatings and handling of aberrations, they definitely have the opportunity to move a lot of product in the new FE mount. Zeiss should be concerned!

0 upvotes
deluk
By deluk (7 months ago)

Firstly I've no interest in this camera, way out of my league, but clicked through to the Conclusion as you do. Read the "Cons" and then scrolled down the Award given. GOLD! I then went back and read the Cons again. For me a pretty big miss match. Haven't seen Bronze on anything for a while but thought it might just scrape a qualified Silver.

9 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

Those of us who have an interest in this camera would tend to agree with the Gold award.

The review is pretty balanced in that it points out the pros and cons, but recognizes the place that this camera sits in current technology lines.

It's a Gold by any reasonable standard. That doesn't mean it couldn't or won't be improved with future releases.

12 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (7 months ago)

Gold award for an interchangeable lens camera that offers next to no lenses? Well done.

7 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

Plenty of lenses available. More than you will ever need ;-)

You just need a keyboard and internet connection.

13 upvotes
pew pew
By pew pew (7 months ago)

dont be silly, the gold award was for the camera that brought something new into the market and did it well, not for the lens selection.

12 upvotes
shadowhumper
By shadowhumper (7 months ago)

hey everyone, look a troll trying to be funny :D

you want a hug friend? it gets lonely in that basement right?

11 upvotes
Ryan_Valiente
By Ryan_Valiente (7 months ago)

common sense.

I've found none.

0 upvotes
km25
By km25 (7 months ago)

Now if only the A7R had the A7 focusing and it's sutter. The camera is too small vs lens. It is the same sensor as the D800E. If you are backpacking or need a small camera, ok. But why not just get the D800E. It does not work with any of the RF lens wider then 35mm. The advantage of owning the A7R vs D800E is what? A few hundred dollars and size. Handling vs MP. The 82 and gold is just for 36MP, not a great camera, a good sensor.

8 upvotes
ZhanMInG12
By ZhanMInG12 (7 months ago)

It works fine with a number of wide RF lenses. The Leica WATE works fine, so does the 21 and 24mm Summilux and M-hexanon 28mm. If you're into exotic lenses, there is the Konica 21-35mm f3.4-4.

If you are into adapting M lenses, just get the A7 and 90% of the problems will disappear. The A7r is meant for those who want both absolute image quality and access to all kinds of lenses. Using the 24mm TS-E on an A7 is a much better experience compared to using a tilt-shift on any DSLR, and Sony has some very unique options in a-mount, such as the 135mm STF and 600mm f4

7 upvotes
Everlast66
By Everlast66 (7 months ago)

Due to being the FF camera with shortest registration distance you can adopt 99% of existing lenses on the market to work on this thing and use them with arguably the best sensor out there.
RF lenses below 35mm do work with it although ones designed for film may cause colour sifting in the corners but if you want to use such lenses on a modern body this is your best bet!

11 upvotes
Max Savin
By Max Savin (7 months ago)

I am using Leica 21, 24 and 28 mm elmars on my A7 without any problems. color shift cleans up nicely with photoshop.

2 upvotes
elgol20
By elgol20 (7 months ago)

I am very pleased with the A7r, owning a D800e. It´s not either or for me, they complete each other pretty much. especially deaccelerated shooting manually with the superb EVF is of great joy. the combination A7r with the FE55 is unbeaten. for sports and stress I take die Nikon

12 upvotes
Kid Plutonium
By Kid Plutonium (7 months ago)

One small niggle: could you DPR guys please stop saying: "...processor, dubbed Bionz X for reasons that presumably made sense to someone..." every time you mention the Bionz X processor? I've read this exact same phrase three or four times since the Alpha 7/7r was announced.

21 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

It appears on every review of a Sony camera with any iteration of Bionz processor ever. It was probably funny, once. Now it is just rather tired.

9 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (7 months ago)

Lazy journalists are lazy

9 upvotes
Rawmeister
By Rawmeister (7 months ago)

It's a cut n paste world out there.
Read between the lines to get the real message, if there even is one.

0 upvotes
arhmatic
By arhmatic (7 months ago)

Dpreview should ditch the score and awarding system on these reviews.

Just too many comments are about a camera getting/not getting that score/award and why/why not.

1 upvote
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

but dpreview earns money with people making comments ;)

6 upvotes
Cheng Bao
By Cheng Bao (7 months ago)

I've seen manufactures brag dpreview awards at their marketing pages, I assume they would pay dpreview to use that award badge. That's one of the major reasons that dpreview will keep giving out awarding.

2 upvotes
Just another Canon shooter
By Just another Canon shooter (7 months ago)

They give scores and awards?

0 upvotes
Lofote
By Lofote (7 months ago)

Actually it has FIVE dials, you forgot the mode dial.
Plus there is a cable remote trigger available - the RM-VPR1, which uses the "MULTI" port that is also Micro USB.

3 upvotes
rrr_hhh
By rrr_hhh (7 months ago)

Can you compare the final scores with other cameras ? On my iPad this usual feature of the DPreview widget is not present !

Comment edited 37 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Heliconius
By Heliconius (7 months ago)

A moment of silence for SLR...

12 upvotes
Stealthy Ninja
By Stealthy Ninja (7 months ago)

Long live the DSLR.

12 upvotes
Andy Crowe
By Andy Crowe (7 months ago)

DSLR: Reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated

6 upvotes
Just a Photographer
By Just a Photographer (7 months ago)

I'dd rather would call a moment of silence for Sony by overlooking this huge problem on their A7 system....

This problem can not be ignored:
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3613281

5 upvotes
Jonath
By Jonath (7 months ago)

cannot be ignored? I am... although if you're a night time spotlight photographer, you have a point...

0 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

No reflections, orbs or leaks on my mine.

7 upvotes
Jonath
By Jonath (7 months ago)

Me either...

2 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

@Just a Photographer : If you don't want a Sony camera, don't buy a Sony camera. Everyone wins.

4 upvotes
Max Savin
By Max Savin (7 months ago)

I have not seen it either.

1 upvote
Everlast66
By Everlast66 (7 months ago)

Not this generation of A7/r but probably the next 1 or 2 will likely outperform FF DSLRs in most areas.
However, if the AF of the A6000 is as fast as Sony claims it might be RIP crop sensor DSLRs!
Crop sensors have always been about compact cameras, introducing people to photography and low price for BOTH cameras and lenses. A6000 beats them in all of these.

1 upvote
Miwok
By Miwok (7 months ago)

..

Comment edited 12 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
mvmv
By mvmv (7 months ago)

Reviewer forgot importance of AF. A7r has the worst AF in FF world (- RX1). In conclusion it should had been pointed that camera is not for sport, action or low light.

8 upvotes
hip2
By hip2 (7 months ago)

you forget that there are FF cameras with no AF at all. :)

14 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

quote of the conclusion:

"Its autofocus system nails focus most of the time and is fast enough for all but action photography."

and first point on cons list:

"- Autofocus can be slow in low light"

As an 3 months A7r owner I find this to be a very fair review (compared to the A7 review). I don't think it's missing anything.

21 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (7 months ago)

What 36mp camera is?

0 upvotes
pew pew
By pew pew (7 months ago)

dude did you even read the article, your just take assumptions from your hm. Reviewer clearly talked about it and said it was on par with other cameras.

5 upvotes
John De Bord Photography
By John De Bord Photography (7 months ago)

I hate to tell ya but it most certainly is for low light, so much so that many shooters who specialize in dark night sky photography have switched to the A7r

3 upvotes
Just a Photographer
By Just a Photographer (7 months ago)

No its not John de Bord - Sony has NO fast lenses available for this system f4 is the fastest aperture speed you'll get for now. Next to only a very small number of lenses that is available for it.

For evening and night photography you want something that is faster instead of cranking up your ISO and destroying your photos by importing noise with it.

And then when you have some streetlights into your lenses you'll get this problem for free with your new Sony A7r....

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3613281

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
1 upvote
silver knight
By silver knight (7 months ago)

@just - um you forget that in night sky photography or even landscape you dont need AF at all - so basically any lens in the world is your oyster.

2 upvotes
TrojMacReady
By TrojMacReady (7 months ago)

"Sony has NO fast lenses available for this system f4 is the fastest aperture speed you'll get for now. "

Someone is on a mission to spread misinformation and failing miserably.

3 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

I think DPR should have included some actual coverage of the LA-EA4 Alpha adapter. Adaption of lenses in covered more properly in other reviews by DPR and despite the SLT adapters being available for a couple of years are seem mostly to have been ignored.

This adapter isn't 'just' for adapting lens mounts, it actually adds significant functionality to the whole camera, by adding a second AF system (with motor drive supporting the mount fully going back 30 years), it actually converts this mirrorless camera into a fully fledged DSLR (DSLT). That is not only quite an achievement, it means that cameras like the A7 and A7R become convertibles - One camera to cover many use cases. No longer having to choose between buying a mirrorless or a DSLR.

Is it perfect? Is there confusion about what it is for? This is why some in depth coverage by DPR on what it IS for as well as how well / badly it works is more important than the assumption 'it's just another clunky adapter'.

9 upvotes
straylightrun
By straylightrun (7 months ago)

The LA-EA4 is just as LA-EA2 with the tube bigger for FF. It uses the old outdated Sony a55 PDAF system that was designed for crop sensors (focus points are bunched up in the middle and are confined to the APS-C field). Getting entry level dslr focusing functionality on an enthusiast FF camera with a rehashed adapter doesn't deserve coverage IMO.

2 upvotes
fz750
By fz750 (7 months ago)

I don't agree. I agree it's a very useful looking accessoory and looks worthy of an additional review, but unless it comes in the box I don't think it should be part of the camera review itself.

2 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

@ straylightrun - Is this based on actual use or what the internet tells you? Not saying you are 'wrong' and not saying that it is amazing, I am saying it should have been covered. It has flaws, for sure, but this is functionality that NO other system offers. In my experience while as you say the focus points are more designed for crop sensors, it works no differently or worse than say the 6D.

4 upvotes
Vignes
By Vignes (7 months ago)

Have you used a 6d? No doubt there is only 11 af points but they're spread out well. The af acquisition is pretty good especially in low light. Don't underestimate the importance of low light shots.

0 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

@ Vignes - I have, I own both. Yes the AF points are better spread on the 6D. On the 6D, despite the spread, in lots of situations only the centre point is much good... Just like the LA-EA4, so no real advantage there.

This can be fine anyway, sometimes. Obviously neither of these are 'top end' PDAF systems, but they are still very competent nonetheless and it adds a pretty big extra dimension to the camera.

2 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

@ FZ750 - The E-M1 doesn't come with adapter in the box, nor the Nikon with the FT1 etc, they still got covered. It is a key function of the camera. In fact DPR did cover 'third party lenses' as a separate article and again... nothing in there either.

Point is, it should be more than a footnote that says:

'Boy isn't it big, we stuck with small'
and

'Boy isn't it confusing there are so many models'

1 upvote
Rawmeister
By Rawmeister (7 months ago)

The adapter, as all adapters, just adds another layer of manufacturing tolerance variability to the mix. Don't we already have enough of that stuff in our rigs already?
Simple is better for a reason.

0 upvotes
dynaxx
By dynaxx (7 months ago)

I think @abortabort makes a good point ; as the LA-EA4 is optional it would make sense for DPR to have an addendum to their standard review.

I know from the forums that many photographers with investment in Minolta/Sony A mount lenses are keen to now how they would work on the A7/A7R. If an addendum review is not possible, could we request that DPR just do the Studio Comparison shots with, say, one of the Sony ZA lenses ?

Secondly, removing the adaptor and using a smaller E mount lens for situations where portability/anonymity matters is perfectly permissible although many contributors forget this. For tripod/studio/macro work the size of the adaptor/lens combo is not an issue.

0 upvotes
armandino
By armandino (7 months ago)

the big attraction to me for a wonderful FF mirrorless is the true advantage over an SLR: the minimum distance from the optics to the sensor. When am I going to see superwide angles that truly take advantage of this?

2 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

There is an Ultra Wide Angle due around the first half of this year according to the road map, along with a fast prime (speculated to be an 85mm).

3 upvotes
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (7 months ago)

I would love to get an fe 85mm.

1 upvote
Just a Photographer
By Just a Photographer (7 months ago)

What's a fast prime with Sony f4?

2 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (7 months ago)

armandino - it's as much of an advantage as a disadvantage. Short flange distance forces compromises in design which end up with various weird artefacts unseen on DSLR lenses, like rainbow-circles discolouration (eg. on FE 35mm lens), huge issues with distortion, various problems with edge sharpness (and a fact that resolution on the edges depends on a color of light you test against), etc.

3 upvotes
TrojMacReady
By TrojMacReady (7 months ago)

Nonsense. Short flange distance does not force anything. It gives more freedom of choice for lens designs. Design lenses with the same distance between sensor and rear elements (relative to a larger flange distance system) and you have none of the above issues. Nothing forced thers, just a choice of compromises.

2 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

@Plastek, there is no point in copying and pasting stuff you picked up on the web, unless you understand what people are talking about.

Make some effort in your anti-Sony trolling at least.

2 upvotes
Rawmeister
By Rawmeister (7 months ago)

When micro lens layers on sensors add a grand to the price of a camera. Non retro focus lenses are great, but not on digital sensors. I'm talking image quality here. Of course if you want to have fancy dancy video focusing features on your still camera well then image quality can take a hike. Manufacturers hope most consumers wont think this far. And their hopes are not in vain. LMAO.
Oh and manufacturers maximize their profit margins making non retrofocus designs. The new non retrofocus designs should be cheaper and better, but they are not. It's a major shafting.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
John A Clark
By John A Clark (7 months ago)

The lack of OSS on the two lenses is an issue for me as I'd like to use them for video. IBIS would have been the best solution, like Olympus, as my Leica lenses would be brilliant!

0 upvotes
armandino
By armandino (7 months ago)

Plastek, your argument is valid, however there must be some degree of freedom as TrojMacReady (ouch, got to watch this guy as I use a mac...) pointed out. Pushing the limit will give problems, but you got to be able to pull off smaller and faster wide angles...

0 upvotes
UnitedNations
By UnitedNations (7 months ago)

Such a sad news for JPEG shooters. The overall score is only '1' point better than the X100S which got 81% Gold Award.

Wonderful Raw performance in a small body...but the pathetic JPEG performance is very disappointing.

...And the Score of only 82% while being three times more expensive than the X100S is just not acceptable.

3 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

Pathetic is to pixel peep on jpegs and to compare the only FF mirrorless on the market with an APS-C fixed lens camera.

14 upvotes
skookum8
By skookum8 (7 months ago)

And the X100S being 2X more expensive than the Ricoh GR, which also won the Gold Award, makes the X100S slightly less of a ripoff than the A7r. Gee, why shouldn't we all just look for the most inexpensive Gold Award camera?

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
HFLM
By HFLM (7 months ago)

A7 is not the only and first FF on the market. What about Leica and the fixed-lens Sonys?

1 upvote
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

The Leica doesn't have AF and you can't can you attach the range of lenses you can on the A7. The RX1 is fixed lens as we all know.
Apples vs oranges again.

4 upvotes
HFLM
By HFLM (7 months ago)

True, doesn't change the fact that it is not the only mirror less FF on the market. If we start to be that picky on the DPR review, we should be more specific in our statements, too.

Comment edited 16 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (7 months ago)

I really see no point in people buying this camera only to shoot JPEG. JPEG shooters should be happy with a OMD E10 or NEX6.

This camera makes most sense for people who need maximum detail and you will get that only with RAW.

0 upvotes
John A Clark
By John A Clark (7 months ago)

X100S would probably be better for JPEG shooters, or an RX100, or anything. Given the way it works with Lightroom, I've given up with JPEG anyway, so see it as irrelevant

0 upvotes
shutterbobby
By shutterbobby (7 months ago)

As a compact landscape camera it may be the one to have,just worried about shutter shock & not being able to use 1/60 -1/125 sec or so for handheld shots? or is it not so bad?

0 upvotes
Richt2000
By Richt2000 (7 months ago)

You wont see any shuttershock hand held.
You may see shuttershock with telephoto lenses when the lens is attached to a flimsy tripod (like any camera would).

Saying that, I use a canon 70-300L with metabones adapter (attahing the adapter to the tripod) and have not seen any SS.

Totally blown out of proportion...

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
AngularJS
By AngularJS (7 months ago)

It was my initial concern too, but after having the camera for about 3 weeks and shooting it handheld often at 1/60s (the 55mm lens attached) can tell for sure - I don't see any shutter vibration (i.e. vertical motion blur) at 100% zoom. So just ignore this nonsense. You can get a blurry image sometimes if you don't hold the camera steady at 1/60s (no IS in the camera nor the 55mm lens).

1 upvote
Benarm
By Benarm (7 months ago)

Gold for Sony? Pigs fly!

7 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

gold for ground pork at landing

1 upvote
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

A57, A65, NEX-7, RX1, A55, A99... Are you still sulking about the RX100 not getting gold?

8 upvotes
blink667
By blink667 (7 months ago)

"Would you like a camera that goes out to shoot for you so you don't have to get up from the couch, or goes to the studio or events, then post-processes the RAWs sends them to the client and transfers the payment to your bank account?"

You're overreacting but funny nonetheless.

0 upvotes
Mark Banas
By Mark Banas (7 months ago)

Well, I'm surprised that the 1/160 flash sync speed isn't a "Con" compared to the A7's 1/250 (w/ E shutter), or compared to Nikon or Canon FF systems. Sure, use it on a tripod to avoid shutter shake at that low speed, but what about strobist lighting?

Hmmm... maybe the 1/180 sync speed on Pentax DSLRs is no longer a "Con."

16 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

maybe different field of view or magnification. you could decide a typical setting, 85mm at 0.04x for example. also it'll be little problem if it's pure strobe.

Sony is good at electronics but not mechanical or optical.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 14 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
fakuryu
By fakuryu (7 months ago)

^ in English please!

4 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

> Sony is good at electronics but not mechanical or optical.

sorry I take back this. they should have a global shutter so electronics not good enough ... good at nothing.

3 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (7 months ago)

yabokkie at it's best!
You forgot to mention that Sony is only good in Walkman and Playstation. You really got lazy in trolling the last days..

17 upvotes
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (7 months ago)

Nothing worse than a lazy troll. In the good old days trolls would work hard at what they do.

7 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (7 months ago)

Come on now, any honest troll would be disheartened and demotivated in the face of a DPR gold award. It's just not got the same trolling potential as silver!

6 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

"yabokkie the troll" seems a bit upset and demoralized.

Probably tired trolling all new Sony technology articles. It's difficult for these trolls to keep up with Sony innovation.

5 upvotes
John A Clark
By John A Clark (7 months ago)

The difference between 1/160 and 1/250 is relatively immaterial IMHO, and is unlikely to make a difference.

What matters is the lack of decent flashes (the F60 overheats badly, but at least seems to be in sell-out mode), the lack of third party gear (all focussed on Canon and Nikon), and above all the lack of HSS on any of the gear.

0 upvotes
cheetah43
By cheetah43 (7 months ago)

Is it acceptable to tolerate a noisy and shaky shutter in this day and age? What happened to the shutter technology of 50-60 years ago?

6 upvotes
pew pew
By pew pew (7 months ago)

its called physics less mass more inertia

1 upvote
guytano
By guytano (7 months ago)

I don't think that means what you think it means...

By pew pew (18 min ago)
"its called physics less mass more inertia"

4 upvotes
Max Savin
By Max Savin (7 months ago)

my A7 and A7r are quieter than my 1DSmk3 and D800

4 upvotes
armandino
By armandino (7 months ago)

is it quieter than the 5DMKIII in silent mode?

0 upvotes
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (7 months ago)

It's a ff... They have larger shutters that make more noise. Comes with the territory. My a7 is slightly noisier than other cameras I have owned.

2 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (7 months ago)

It is more to do with a lack on dampening due to the very small body, compared to much larger DSLRs the shutter is 'probably' no louder on its own, but doesn't have the dampening. It like if you drive a luxury car, the engine isn't really quieter, just more dampening to the occupants and people outside the car.

No idea on the 'slowness' of the shutter though.

4 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (7 months ago)

Max Savin - no, it's not.

abortabort - yep, you're right. Small body == compromise. That's one of a prices you pay for it.

Comment edited 45 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Apewithacamera
By Apewithacamera (7 months ago)

OT
From a distance this camera looks like a Canon F1 from the 1980s.

1 upvote
fengchun
By fengchun (7 months ago)

"The camera has a total of 25 focus points to work with, and from our experiences, its focusing performance is on-par with DSLRs in good light, and a bit slower than the best mirrorless models."

Here i believe the "on-par" is with DSLRs' Live view auto-focus performance?

3 upvotes
ZhanMInG12
By ZhanMInG12 (7 months ago)

No. All FF DSLRs have live-view focus that is far, far slower than the A7r. The A7r is slightly slower than the 5d mk3 in normal phase mode, though.

2 upvotes
kimchiflower
By kimchiflower (7 months ago)

No, because the best mirrorless are faster than DSLRs. The A7R is a bit slower than these

3 upvotes
fengchun
By fengchun (7 months ago)

ah? really. which mirrorless focus faster than DSLRs? I would really like to try it.

Thanks!

4 upvotes
steelhead3
By steelhead3 (7 months ago)

The Sony a 99 (as well as 77) shoot just as fast in live view as any other

4 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (7 months ago)

kimchiflower - mirrorless propaganda at it's best.

3 upvotes
foxgrover1
By foxgrover1 (7 months ago)

Hi Fengshun!

If you truly are looking to buy a mirrorless cameras with faster focus than DSLRs, based on what I have read you may want to consider the Olympus OM-D E-M1 (a 4/3's camera) or the just announced Sony A6000, which spots an aps-c sensor that Sony claims to have the world's fastest autofocus. The Olympus has been around for several months and has many good reviews. The Sony will be released in April and so no formal reviews are available, although several hands-on reviews seem to be quite positive.

Comment edited 50 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
RStyga
By RStyga (7 months ago)

I'm not sure what DPR is reporting but based on -at least- the test scene, the moire A7 and especially A7R produce is very much present and catastrophic. The RAW images are so ruined by moire that you must be either blind or biased to ignore it.

Comment edited 23 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
ZhanMInG12
By ZhanMInG12 (7 months ago)

A7 user with two bodies. Shoot in studio with Insanely sharp lenses (Leica 35mm Summilux ASPH) stopped down to f5.6. Never seen any moire.

I did see plenty of moire with the same lens on the M type 240.

5 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

240's resolution is lower at 24MPix isn't it?

1 upvote
ebrandon
By ebrandon (7 months ago)

Total nonsense. Have shot thousands of pictures with my A7R and only rarely seen moire.

I see it commonly with some of my other non-AA camera like the Ricoh GR, but for whatever reason not with the A7R.

3 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

there are noise (high frequency folded down) and harm (loss of real resolution, including those caused by software contermeasure to moire, just like noise reduction) for color images even one doesn't see moire.

though doesn't see may mean little problem.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Just another Canon shooter
By Just another Canon shooter (7 months ago)

"Have shot thousands of pictures with my A7R and only rarely seen moire."

You see a lot of aliasing which you take for detail. But if that makes you happy, that is OK.

1 upvote
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (7 months ago)

Pixel peepers will never really be happy unless they have a large format camera. :P

1 upvote
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

@brendon1000 : pixel peepers don't like large format cameras either. Too many pixels to individually scrutinize.

1 upvote
socode
By socode (7 months ago)

@JaCS
Yes. False detail from irregular film grain didn't bother me either.

0 upvotes
t.c. marino
By t.c. marino (7 months ago)

congrats to sony on the A7r,top notch image quality,impressive lenses to match the stellar iq...and thank you to dp review for pointing out that this camera is best suited for the serious raw shooters.well done sony.

8 upvotes
cliffordfeller
By cliffordfeller (7 months ago)

There are light leaks between the red ring and the flange of my A7R and in many other examples as demonstrated online by others.. Sony is aware of the problem but has not provided a solution to date. There are multiple threads on DP Review and the Sony A7R forum. Do not buy this camera till the problem is resolved !!! Otherwise very pleased with the unit. Let Sony hear from you and get this great camera properly sorted.

6 upvotes
pew pew
By pew pew (7 months ago)

I´m sorry but I frequent that forum, and I don't see posts about that in recent activity, maybe you got a bad unit.

2 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (7 months ago)

Tested and found no problem with mine...

2 upvotes
cliffordfeller
By cliffordfeller (7 months ago)

http://community.sony.com/t5/Alpha-NEX-Cameras/A7-A7R-Light-leaks/td-p/254835

2 upvotes
cliffordfeller
By cliffordfeller (7 months ago)

http://community.sony.com/t5/Alpha-NEX-Cameras/A7-A7R-Light-leaks/td-p/254835

2 upvotes
cliffordfeller
By cliffordfeller (7 months ago)

https://www.facebook.com/groups/SonyAlphaTalk/permalink/198045687052549/

1 upvote
Docmartin
By Docmartin (7 months ago)

One more problem! This time it appears to be a Hardware problem. Sony should recall all A7 / A7Rs and start all over again ....

0 upvotes
Reilly Diefenbach
By Reilly Diefenbach (7 months ago)

Outstanding picture quality, what 36MP is all about.

9 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (7 months ago)

and column parallel readout

0 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (7 months ago)

@Reilly Diefenbach : It's outstanding alright. It has the forum trolls in a fit, it's that good. lol

(probably the same person with multiple accounts anyway)

1 upvote
Total comments: 805
12345