Previous page Next page

Sony Alpha 7R Review

February 2014 | By DPReview Staff, Jeff Keller


Review based on a production Sony a7R running firmware v1.0

If you're looking for our review of the Sony A7, please click here.

If there's one thing you can say about Sony's digital camera business, it's that they've experimented with many different concepts. From SLRs with dual autofocus systems and Translucent Mirror Technology to its NEX mirrorless line-up, Sony has gone down virtually every avenue in digital imaging. Its latest products - the Alpha 7 and Alpha 7R - may be the most exciting products to come out of the Sony labs in some time. The company has managed to create full-frame cameras which are about the same size as the Olympus OM-D E-M1. In other words, the Alpha 7s are much smaller than their full-frame interchangeable lens peers (such as Nikon's D610 and the Canon EOS 6D), an achievement made possible primarily because they're not SLRs.

In addition, Sony is also unifying the Alpha and NEX brands, so all future interchangeable lens cameras will now fall under the Alpha umbrella. Being mirrorless, the a7 would have otherwise likely been prefixed with the letters NEX.

The a7 and a7R are identical in terms of physical design, with the main differences being the sensor and autofocus system. The a7 features a full-frame 24 megapixel CMOS, while the a7R has a 36 megapixel CMOS sensor with no optical low-pass filter. The a7 uses a Hybrid AF system (with on-chip phase detection) similar to the one found on the NEX-6, while the a7R has traditional contrast detection. The a7 is also capable of electronic first curtain mode, which allows for a quieter shutter, and reduces the potential for 'shutter shock' vibration; this is absent from the a7R. Both cameras use Sony's latest Bionz X processor and also have XGA electronic viewfinders, tilting LCDs, Wi-Fi, and weatherproof bodies that resemble that of the Olympus E-M1.

Here's a quick summary of the differences between the a7 and a7R:

  a7 a7R
MSRP (body only) $1699 $2299
Sensor 24.3 megapixel 36.3 megapixel
Optical low-pass filter Yes No
AF system Hybrid AF Contrast detect
Front panel construction Composite Magnesium alloy
Electronic first curtain Yes No
Continuous shooting 5 fps 4 fps
Flash x-sync 1/250 sec 1/160 sec
Weight (loaded) 474 g 465 g

As you'd expect, Sony had to come up with new lenses to take advantage of the full-frame sensors, and they'll be known as 'FE-series'. Five lenses were announced to start with (listed below), with ten more promised by 2015. Existing E-mount lenses will work, though the image will (necessarily) be cropped. If you have A-mount lenses laying around, those too will work, as long as you pick up either of Sony's full-frame-ready adapters (the LA-EA3 or LA-EA4).

Sony a7R key features

  • 36.3 megapixel full-frame CMOS sensor with no OLPF
  • E-mount with support for FE, E, and A-mount lenses (with adapter)
  • Bionz X image processor
  • Weather-proof alloy and composite body
  • Built-in Multi-Interface hot shoe
  • 3-inch tilting LCD with 1.23 million dots (640x480, RGBW)
  • XGA (1024x768) electronic viewfinder
  • Diffraction correction technology
  • Continuous shooting up to 4 fps
  • Full HD video recording at 1080/60p and 24p; uncompressed HDMI output
  • Wi-Fi with NFC capability and downloadable apps

While the a7R is really focused on still image quality - due to its high resolution sensor without an AA filter - it's also quite adept at video recording. It records at 1080/60p and 24p, with manual exposure control, headphone and mic ports, an audio meter, zebra pattern, XLR support (via adapter), and live, uncompressed HDMI output.

Bionz X Processor

The company's latest processor, dubbed Bionz X for reasons that presumably made sense to someone, is considerably more powerful than the previous generation, allowing what the company says is more sophisticated processing.

Sony is being a little vague on specifics but is touting the new processor as offering 'Detail Reproduction Technology' which appears to be a more subtle and sophisticated sharpening system. The company promises less apparent emphasis on edges, giving a more convincing representation of fine detail'.

Another function promised by the Bionz X processor is 'Diffraction Reduction', in which the camera's processing attempts to correct for the softness caused by diffraction as you stop a lens' aperture down. This processing is presumably aperture-dependent and sounds similar to an element of Fujifilm's Lens Modulation Optimization system (introduced on the X100S), suggesting it's something we should expect to see become more common across brands in the coming months.

Finally, Sony says the Bionz X chip offers a more advanced version of its context-sensitive, 'area-specific noise reduction', which attempts to identify whether each area of an image represents smooth tone, textured detail or subject edges and apply different amounts of noise reduction accordingly. Later in the review, we'll show you just how well this system works, and also the problems it can create.

Lenses

While the a7R has an E-mount, you'll need to use Sony's new FE-series lenses to take advantage of its full-frame sensor. Existing E-mount lenses will still physically fit, but as they're only designed for use with APS-C sensors, their image circles won't cover the entire frame properly (just like using Sony's DT lenses on full-frame Alpha mount cameras). While five FE lenses were announced at launch, the 70-200mm F4 lens wasn't available to test alongside the camera. The 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS will only be sold as a kit lens for the a7. All of the lenses are weather-sealed, but while the zooms include optical stabilization, the primes do not.

Here are the five FE lenses that have been officially announced:

Model MSRP Availability
24-70mm F4 Carl Zeiss OSS $1199/£1049 Now
28-70mm F3.5-5.6 Sony OSS Kit only Now
70-200mm F4 Sony G OSS $1499 Mid-April
35mm F2.8 Carl Zeiss $799/£699 Now
55mm F1.8 Carl Zeiss $999/£849 Now

Sony plans to have a total of fifteen FE lenses by 2015, including macro and ultra-wide models.

The first five Sony FE lenses include two standard zooms, two primes, and a tele zoom

We're slightly surprised by Sony's strategy here: it seems a bit odd to be making two different standard zooms to start with, rather than adding a wide-angle zoom. And while it's great to see a couple of primes, both look somewhat slow given their prices. The 55mm F1.8 is a bit long for a 'normal' lens too. We'd have loved to see a fast 'portrait' lens in the 85-135mm range early on, but hopefully Sony will offer one soon.

The two cameras are perfectly capable of using existing E-mount and A-mount lenses, and you have the choice as to whether the image is cropped. If you choose to crop, the resolution will drop to 10 megapixels on the a7, and the equivalent focal length will increase by 1.5X. Sony also gives you the option to not crop and use the entire sensor, though this is likely to lead to strong vignetting.

Image 1
24mm full-frame lens - APS-C Crop Off
Image 2
24mm APS-C lens - APS-C Crop Off
Image 3
24mm APS-C lens - APS-C Crop On

The camera offers three options for its APS-C crop mode - Off, Auto and On. With it switched Off, you'll see Image 1 with a full-frame lens and Image 2 if you're using an APS-C lens. With it switched to Auto mode, you'll get Image 1 or Image 3, depending on whether you're using a full-frame or an APS-C lens. And finally, with it On, you'll see Image 3, regardless of which lens type you put on the camera.

The a7R with LA-E4 A-mount adapter and 50mm F1.4 Zeiss lens

Sony's A-Mount lenses will require the use of an A- to E-mount adapter. Somewhat confusingly Sony now offers no fewer than four such adapters, which differ in their autofocus capabilities and format coverage. The LA-E1 and LA-EA3 offer contrast detect autofocus for lenses that have built-in focus motors (i.e. SAM and SSD), but only manual focus with other lenses, while the LA-EA2 and the new LA-EA4 use Sony's Translucent Mirror Technology to offer autofocus with all lenses. The LA-EA1 and LA-EA2, however, were designed for APS-C NEX cameras and will vignette strongly when used on the a7(R); the LA-EA3 and LA-EA4 are needed to give complete sensor coverage with full-frame lenses.

Adapter Full autofocus? Full-frame ready?
LA-EA1
No
No
LA-EA2
Yes
No
LA-EA3
No
Yes
LA-EA4
Yes
Yes

It's well worth noting that the a7 and a7R are able to accept a huge range of other lenses via readily-available third-party adapters, including old manual focus lenses from long-dead systems such as Minolta MD, Olympus OM, and Canon FD, as well as those from current systems such as Nikon F, Pentax K and Leica M. What's more, in principle these lenses should offer the angle of view they were originally designed to give - so a 24mm will be a true wide-angle again, for example. So if you have a cherished collection of old manual focus primes sitting a closet, the a7/a7R may be just the camera to bring them back to life. More on that later in the review.

Kit options and pricing

The a7R is sold in a body only configuration, for a price of $2299/£1699/€2099.

The most notable accessory for both cameras is an optional battery grip (VG-C1EM) - a first for an E-mount camera. This grip adds controls for vertical shooting and holds an additional battery, and will set you back around $300/£259.

The a7R does NOT come with an external battery charger, instead relying on internal charging over USB. USB charging is quite slow (and it makes having a spare button on hand more difficult), so picking up the BC-VW1 or BC-TRW external chargers is probably a smart move.

Other accessories include camera cases, an off-shoe flash adapter, wireless remote, and screen protector. One accessory that's surprisingly absent is a wired remote shutter cable (though the camera can be controlled via infrared remote or Wi-Fi).



If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

Images which can be viewed at a larger size have a small magnifying glass icon in the bottom right corner of the image, clicking on the image will display a larger (typically VGA) image in a new window.

To navigate the review simply use the next / previous page buttons, to jump to a particular section either pick the section from the drop down or select it from the navigation bar at the top.

DPReview calibrate their monitors using Color Vision OptiCal at the (fairly well accepted) PC normal gamma 2.2, this means that on our monitors we can make out the difference between all of the (computer generated) grayscale blocks below. We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2014 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page

Comments

Total comments: 764
1234
Galbertson
By Galbertson (20 hours ago)

Some serious blogs regarding shutter shake on A7R. My intent is to find light system, certainly not dependent upon sandbags and added weight to pack. I will be on strong tripod, shooting mostly in multiple to 1/15th second, rarely hand held. I could solve shake issue with A7, but need better IQ of A7R.

Have any of you face this issue, and what was your results?

To add, will be shooting mostly manual lenses 24-150mm. I believe this shake is diminished with this range of lenses, but the word diminish scares me. What can i expect? Would certainly not want to buy entire system only to realize images not ideal for sensor and needing to return...if i am permited.

Comment edited 14 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
brownie314
By brownie314 (2 days ago)

No FF cam is going to "shake up the market" until you can buy body and lens as a kit for less than $1000. I know this is possible, it just isn't being done yet.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (2 days ago)

Does A7R have mirror lock up?

0 upvotes
bawbaw
By bawbaw (3 weeks ago)

Great camera, but I wish Sony would hold off releasing bodies without comprehensive lenses that perform. The 50mm is good (although any manufacturer who cannot make a good fast 50 should make lenses full stop!) The zoom is OK ish... The Zeiss 35 is a good lens, but is not as good as the rx1 in comparison? How same lens same sensors etc...

If they had held fire for 6 months and had a wide to tell set of Zeiss nex lenses this would have been a major contender to people who need system cameras, not sensor platforms.

I know you can adapt lenses.. But full AF matched glass designed with the correct sensor requirements are what is needed here.

As Fuji proved with the xpro. Waiting and having a full system from the start has cemented success. Sony have done this over and over again now. Yes we can get the Minolta/Sony AF adapter, but it's a bodge.

Camera makers take note... There is a large population of users who would and will switch systems if you make systems.

0 upvotes
Jonath
By Jonath (3 weeks ago)

While theoretically a great idea, I'd guess Sony's decision has more to do with commercial reality than anything else. Fuji is a case in point, despite its success the last time its imaging division reported it was loss making, we'll have to wait till mid 2014 to see if this is still true..

As for Sony, their strategy isn't perfect, but given this reality it is kind of understandable. 35 and 50 are two very popular focal lengths, for tele, there are already several high quality e-mount lenses available and with the crop-ability of the A7R's 36Mp, I'd argue that you really don't need FF glass (and it's bulk) for tele shooting.

For ultra-wide situations then MF is also OK. I own the Samyang 14mm for example, never once have I thought it could do with AF.

For me the best thing about the A7R is that it can be small if you want it to be (think Zeiss 35 or e-mount) and if you want class leading FF quality then it can also do that with aplomb, albeit with the inevitable size pay off.

0 upvotes
Camley
By Camley (1 week ago)

I don't have a problem with Sony's approach. Instead of waiting for months, I had the camera in December with an excellent 35 f/2.8 lens.
I bought a Metabones Smart Adapter so I could use my Canon lenses as well. So immediately I had the Zeiss 35, a 100 f/2.8 macro, a 70-200 f/4 zoom, a 400 f/5.6 and several more lenses.
I bought the superb Zeiss 55 f/1.8 when it was released.
Now I will take my time selecting additional native lenses.

0 upvotes
KAllen
By KAllen (3 weeks ago)

GPS or lack of is stopping me on this. I've done the software add data thing in post and it's hit and miss for what I do.
Having gps position and height is a good plus for me and much better when added at the taking stage.
Still a possibility for my Canon L lenses when pixel count matters.

0 upvotes
hippo84
By hippo84 (1 month ago)

Dear Dpreview. You used CZ85/1.4 for picture quality comparison. What adapter did You use, with SLT or without it?

0 upvotes
Diobono
By Diobono (1 month ago)

Any thoughts about connecting the A7r with the new series of Sigma lenses?

0 upvotes
Jonath
By Jonath (3 weeks ago)

I've already done this and have the Sigma 35 f/1.4 DG art with the LA-EA4 adapter. OK its not as petite as the Zeiss, but the picture quality is truly outstanding and AF is snappy. Will find it difficult not to buy the 50mm when its available.

0 upvotes
Average User
By Average User (1 month ago)

I have been right on the edge of purchasing this camera, but after reading this review in detail, maybe not. I went back to the review of the Nex 7 which was nearly 3 years ago and the reason I purchased that camera. I also purchased good E-mount glass for it, and I have not been disappointed.
But this review is not like that. That review was full of enthusiasm for the Nex 7, even concluding: "in terms of out-and-out image quality it's probably the best APS-C camera yet, regardless of size." A far cry from this review, full of cautions and quibbles.
The only reason to purchase ff instead of APS-c is better low light performance. But with high quality much less expensive fast glass, and a number of problems in jpegs etc., it seems like the reviewers are telling me the real life results with my old Nex 7 is going to equal or beat the performance of this camera.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

With Metabones for nikon f mount to e mount, i had read in blogs, there is no apeture control. I an only assume this incorrect, my older nikkor manual lenses certainly have apeture dial/apeture control. Anything i am not understanding? This would be on a7r.

0 upvotes
AnDon
By AnDon (1 month ago)

I think it means "adapter ring itself does not have aparture control ring "
Some adapter rings has control ring for Nikon "G" lenses which have no aperture ring.

0 upvotes
olddog99
By olddog99 (3 days ago)

If you are dealing with older lenses,you should be fine just setting the aperture that way -- assuming you don't plan to open wide then stop down, I.e. It's manual.

Newer lenses usually are missing both f stop on lens setting as well as DOF marks,. I use Leica lenses, vintage and modern lenses, on my NEX-7, because it's relatively easy.

It was a factor in my buying the 7R - not yet here. It might be more difficult if you use the Metabones Speed Increase. I haven't tried it yet.

Comment edited 42 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Wang Man
By Wang Man (1 month ago)

Holy mackerel, my Leica APO-Macro-Elmarit-R 1:2.8 / 100mm has risen from the grave. I use the Novoflex NEX/LER adapter to attach this big bad lens to my A7r, and by golly the pictures are GORGEOUS.

One thing though, the A7r with this heavy lens is a bit unwieldy, a tripod is a good idea.

I intent to resurrect all my old Leicaflex R lens (28mm, 50mm, 135mm) with this A7r. Thank you Sony, the Leica M240 half baked "R solution" is no where close to the pleasure of using all my old Leica R glass with the A7r.

0 upvotes
Mike FL
By Mike FL (1 month ago)

Sony 7 is NO longer a "Weather sealed camera" due to LIGHT LEAK issue.

Too bad.

0 upvotes
Overmars
By Overmars (1 month ago)

Hmmm... if anyone wants to get rid of their A7r because of this issue. Please, think of me. I don't know what I'll do with it (can it still take pictures? No matter). Rest assured, it will be in a caring, loving home. :)

2 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

Will LCD at horizontal hold up hoodman hood 3x loupe? Just called camera shop, they said LCD mechanism weak, lightweight, not strong enough to hold loupe. Can it be tightened, or will it only get weaker and weaker with continual use?

0 upvotes
Maaku
By Maaku (1 month ago)

$2300 and no charger?

0 upvotes
Overmars
By Overmars (1 month ago)

On Amazon you can get a charger and two batteries for $27.

1 upvote
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (1 month ago)

I felt felt you Dame way but find I like being able able plus it into any USB charger everywhere I go. I even charge it in my car. I bought a charger and extra battery on ebay for $19.00 so I found it to be a good set up.

0 upvotes
olddog99
By olddog99 (3 days ago)

I already have the charger, actually 2, but it's the same damned battery as the NEX-7 which is otherwise a great camera. People bitch about the Canon 5D2 and 3. They're good for roughly twice th frames. But most cameras or lenses have some shortcoming of little consequence. One thing that mattered to me was size and weight. The NEX-7 served well as a travel sub for the 5D3 and the 7R should make a good sub and more.

0 upvotes
eastwestphoto
By eastwestphoto (1 month ago)

Here is a trade secret; On the NEW Sony A7r 36Meg full frame DSLM, this teleconverter Panasonic Lumix DMV-LT52 1.4x can be mounted to the Kit lens 28~70 FE series SEL2870 and now at 1.4x its 28~100mm. OSS still works, Fine focus at 7x works, the image quality is excellent. Mounting is via step up ring 52>55mm, weight increases too 24ozs for the lens package and the lens is 80mm wide. Thats a big hunk of beautiful glass, does the F:stop increase? Hum, piece of cake! Don@eastwestphoto

1 upvote
yuri sieradzki
By yuri sieradzki (1 month ago)

Is there a pssibility to connect sony7r on hotshoe a GPS to locate the place tahat it was taken/

1 upvote
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

Are all Voightlander lenses adaptable to sony a7/a7r? I read somewhere some are sharp, some are not. Hoping to be in 35-65mm range.

0 upvotes
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (1 month ago)

Yes they are adaptable. The range yiu are considering would been good. If you go too wide then you start running into issues.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

In comparison to 1970's nikkor glass, which might be sharper, obviously both requiring adapter?

0 upvotes
eastwestphoto
By eastwestphoto (1 month ago)

Zeiss voigtlander m42 thread ULTRON 50mm F:1.8 is a amazing lens on the A7r. manual focus 7x set for 5 sec. duration, par excellence. Don@eastwestphoto

0 upvotes
Nijuc
By Nijuc (1 month ago)

I m using フォクトレンダー(Voigtländer ) 20mm 1.4F and 40mm 3.5f . mage my hand shake, it comes out OK

0 upvotes
Dr Panos G Adamopoulos
By Dr Panos G Adamopoulos (1 month ago)

I am not a Pro, but I have been taking p'graphs passionately for more than 30 years and my collection of cameras & lenses is quite extensive; predominantly Canon, Nikon & Leica, in a chronological order.
I found the marriage of Alpha 7R & 24-70mm f/4 w/h Leica Lenses an Unbeatable combination with Unlimited possibilities, at a very reasonable price; assuming one has the M Lenses.....!!!!
Imagine Alpha 7R Full Frame 37MP Focusing through a Noctilux 50mm f/0.95..... BeautiFul.....!!!

1 upvote
twfsir
By twfsir (1 month ago)

One point everyone seems to miss, is that Sony was smart enough to have Zeiss make the lenses for the camera. Next to Leica, Zeiss makes the best glass in my opinion. I agree the sony name in cameras is not near as great as many others, but I do think they did build a unique camera with the Zeisss lens.

2 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (1 month ago)

Sony Zeiss lenses are not made by Zeiss, but by Sony, just as the Panasonic Leica lenses are made by Panasonic, not by Leica. I suppose that Zeiss has approved the designs and/or manufacturing methods, but they aren't involved in the makiing of the lenses.

1 upvote
twfsir
By twfsir (1 month ago)

The Sony a7R has some nice features for my purposes. I was looking for a lighter small camera than my Leica, but I wanted to be able to take decent photographs. I feel the Sony has that ability except sony needs to develope more lenses in the near future. The three lenses they currenty have are not fast enough, and I would like to see some wider angle lenses. I have used some of my Leica lenses on the Sony, and they do work well, but it sort of defeats the purpose, because it adds weight and size, and you can no longer use the auto focusing.

The reason I am writing is that I hope I can get someother owners to put pressure on Sony to develope those lenses.

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Overmars
By Overmars (1 month ago)

"The three lenses they currenty have are not fast enough, "

The Sony FE 55mm F1.8 ZA is fast.

2 upvotes
Gymstar
By Gymstar (1 month ago)

I really tried to buy one. Both the Sony Store at Dubai Mall and the airport tried to sell me a body. However, neither had ANY lenses in stock to fit the body. This for me gave off warning signals. Not a single lens that fit! Shame, but I'll stick to Canon for now at least.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

Are there any reasonably priced, smallish, above average resolution medium zooms for a7? My primes will be old nikkor. And it would be fortunate if zoom had image stablization, no need on primes.

I am solely landscape shooter, 95% on tripod, desiring gallery quality 16x20 and 20x24 prints, mostly b&w...should i get the a7r instead?

0 upvotes
yoyokal
By yoyokal (1 month ago)

I think the kill of fullframe ILC still the lens. When the big lens, say 70-300mm, attached to this camera, the benefit of mirrorless already gone. I hope in the future they make a jump to create small lenses like used on automatic focus glasses using liquid (http://www.superfocus.com/) electronically.

1 upvote
Camley
By Camley (1 month ago)

Yoyokal, the major advantage of a full frame mirrorless camera is amazing image quality in a small package, that is well suited to the wide angle to short telephoto range. This covers nearly all my photographic needs.
My Canon telephotos (up to 800mm) don't get a lot of use. I have a Metabones Adapter so I can fit these lenses on my a7, but I prefer my 7D DSLR for its better handling, tracking etc..
Certainly I wouldn't travel with any serious telephoto lenses unless I go on safari!
The Zeiss 35 f/2.8 and 55 f/1.8 make a good pair of travel lenses or you could just take a 24-70 f/4 zoom.
I think that mirrorless cameras in general (not just full frame) are not well suited to the use of medium to long telephoto lenses. You can pick up a relatively cheap DSLR to handle these lenses so much better. If you are a serious bird or aircraft photographer, you would naturally chose a DSLR. You could do it using a mirrorless camera but why would you?

3 upvotes
Bhima78
By Bhima78 (1 month ago)

I think Yoyokal already showed that the advantage of such a great compact body with excellent image quality (such as this Sony) is made moot by the fact that the good lenses are big and heavy, making the camera less like a small mirrorless and more like a DSLR in size and weight.

1 upvote
tlacerda
By tlacerda (1 month ago)

I find that my A7's shutter release button is quite "mushy". There is no clear stop point for locking focus, and it never seems to click. Can someone who owns the camera chime in here? Is this defective or do u also get this?

Thanks!

0 upvotes
barry reid
By barry reid (1 month ago)

Shutter button feel is pretty good IMHO, while there's no step where the focus locks there is a good level of resistance and reasonable length of travel. I find it quite easy to work with, to focus without actually tripping the shutter, certainly no worse than my 5DII or the 1Dx i used to have.

0 upvotes
siggo
By siggo (1 month ago)

Can someone please point me to some full resolution raw shots using the 55mm and 35mm lens and software to try converting them?

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

Is anyone so fortunate to have purchased and objectively used both a7 or a7r and fuji x-t1. I love fuji glass and their film on my toyo 4c5. Have only owned sony TVs and recorders, not their cameras. I have had both in my hands. The fuji rear button stupidly small, but maybe could acclimate. The sony buttons nicly tactile.i am mostly blind and i must overly research. Some camera functions can be total roadblocks to advancing. A honest comparison would greatly be appreciated.
Thanks,

1 upvote
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

Curious why "reply" button not on all statements

1 upvote
Tom in VB
By Tom in VB (1 month ago)

As a working pro with over 40 years shooting for the worlds major mags I am beset with the following regarding the new Sony A7r

How any major camera company that is so innovative could have possibly
produced such a fine camera with a DEPLORABLY LOUD SHUTTER NOISE. This knocks it out of the potential catagory for me after I had waited so long for :
1- full frame.
2-nice glass
3- small and light cuz I'm old and weak:>

My thoughts are simple: why so close but so far?
We put 12 people on the moon and brought them all back = tech is in place.
My Leica M3 (circa 1960's) had the most beautiful soft shutter "tish" sound in the world .... it was mirrorless ... the Sony is mirrorless!?!?!

Maybe Sony should adapt the Leica shutter:> How about a Leica cloth shutter sound in the apps tabs :>:>

BTW: I'm a shooter not a gear head so I like solid basics not bells and ....

1 upvote
Glina
By Glina (1 month ago)

Leica M3 had a 1/1000 shutter. Sony has 1/8000.
Even though the A7 is loud-ish, I love that sound. Still considerably smoother and quieter than on a Sony A850.
For stealth use RX1 is still the king, but it uses a leaf shutter.

0 upvotes
Camley
By Camley (1 month ago)

Tom what digital camera(s) do you use?

When I evaluate a camera, I look at a list of features and don't get so bent out of shape over one minor issue. I certainly would not mention landing men on the moon!!

What is the top speed of a Leica cloth shutter? I believe that lens caps make almost no sound but they only have a few seconds maximum shutter speed.

1 upvote
jagatai
By jagatai (1 month ago)

Remember that what this camera is doing is a bit more like what a Hasselblad does when you fire the shutter. It first has to close the shutter to prepare to take the image. It then opens and closes the shutter to take the exposure and then reopens the shutter to go back to live view mode.

I suspect the shutter could be made quieter, but there may be trade offs in terms of price or maximum speed.

0 upvotes
barry reid
By barry reid (1 month ago)

I like the shutter sound. Businesslike and not a million miles from that of the Canon 5D

0 upvotes
TomUW
By TomUW (4 weeks ago)

I find the Canon 5D on the loud side, and the A7R on the extremely loud side, plus it produces 2 loud sounds for every shot.
I was shooting a model with it and then pulled out my Canon 6D on quiet shutter mode, she couldn't tell when I was taking the image with the 6D, and the Sony reps around me were really surprised at the difference in sound levels. Cuts the A7R out of several applications for me, like anywhere someone else is recording sound.

0 upvotes
probert500
By probert500 (3 weeks ago)

If they're recording sound get a blimp.
Either get less jumpy models or use deaf ones. How many fashion shots were done with a hasselblad - now there's some mirror slap.

0 upvotes
siggo
By siggo (1 month ago)

Apologies if I missed it, but you mentioned the diffraction reduction feature, but I can't find any evaluation if it. Assume it would be evident in, say, f16 or higher when comparing jpeg to raw?

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

One other question...i have great nikkor glass gor 70's. Can they adapt to a7r? Is old manual lenses be good glass on digital ff camera. Do only late lenses specific to digital bodies be best for image quality.?

0 upvotes
nzmacro
By nzmacro (1 month ago)

Yes you can very easily with an adaptor. A major plus with most mirrorless cameras. MF of course and no stabilisation. I only use Canon FD lenses on E mount, so Nikon is also very easy to adapt to E mount. The oldest I use is a 1969 Canon FL-F 500 F5.6 fluorite. Works well on NEX and will do on the A7r as well.

Danny.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
PLAMBERT
By PLAMBERT (1 month ago)

I use 1970s and 1980s Leica film camera lenses on my digital M9 and no problems arise. I also use slr lenses on adapters to fit the M9, Nikon 20mm AF and Olympus-mount Tokina 17mm manual. These work well stopped down a little to maximise definition. I sometimes use a 12mm Voigtlander f5.6 on the full-frame M9. The results are amazing but I need to use Cornerfix to deal with cyan-tinted vignetted edges to the image (or crop a little). I don't think I have any digital-age lenses to use on the M9. At Leica prices I can't imagine buying one.
Philip

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

Has anyone tested results in detailed mannrr the results from old manual lenses on mirrorless cameras. ..as in comparing 35mm zeiss(or other quality late model prime) compared to , lestsay, mid70s nikkor 35mm manual lenses? Of course, i could just try it myself. Just can't afford to experiment right now.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (1 month ago)

Though mostly blind, still figure visual tools to keep me selling works in my art gallery. Seeking small aps-c or fFF camera to pack for macro, night, and 60 hd video. Need art. Lcs. Down to canon 70d, fuji x-t1(oh how i like fuji glass), and the sweet sony a7/a7r. Fujis rear buttons suck. Canon musht buttons and only 30 p @ hd. But a7 buttons wonderfully tactile.

Now does anyone menu would be roadblock? I had heard that difficult errors pop up. I use hood an viewer constantly, cannot read words, but recognise their shape.

Almost forgot, my main camera is toyo 4x5 field camera.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
janiblue
By janiblue (1 month ago)

I have always been waiting for a full frame mirrorless .For weight and carrying convenience -BUT WHY they do not make a FULLY articulated LCD for perfecting convenience for user ?
If I was given this option I would most probably switch to Sony .

1 upvote
photohounds
By photohounds (1 month ago)

Nice, but the lenses are BAZOOKAS ..

0 upvotes
Overmars
By Overmars (1 month ago)

Yes. When I saw the FE 35mm F2.8 I cried "By Odin's beard! That's BIG!!".
It was a shock.

5 upvotes
Camley
By Camley (1 month ago)

Spoken like a m4/3 fan! The lenses aren't bazookas but the sensor is.

4 upvotes
Old Baldy
By Old Baldy (1 month ago)

Really? Are there any smaller AF (and even OSS option) full frame lenses that are significantly smaller, from anyone else?

0 upvotes
alexela
By alexela (2 months ago)

Hey all. Question, is there adapter for A7R to nikon that allow to use AF?
Trying the web search, but found only canon and minolta version with AF.
Please help. Got New sony and old nikon 50 lens, love it and want to use it meanwhile.

Thanks in advance! )
Alexei

0 upvotes
bajanexile
By bajanexile (2 months ago)

Anyone that is truly interested in what the new Sony Alpha 7R has to offer the genuine Photographer might want to look at the first in a series of Test Shots using the inexpensive FotoDiox Canon FD to Sony NEX Adapter and a Canon FD 70-210mm f/4 Zoom from the 1980's. This is just such a versatile high quality photographic tool:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/bajanexile/12811334873/in/photostream/lightbox/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/bajanexile/12798399743/in/photostream/lightbox/

The lens is excellent on the Sony Alpha 7R Camera Body.

Steve

0 upvotes
Average User
By Average User (2 months ago)

I would like to hear from a few who have migrated from the Sony Nex 7 to the new 7r. I have the Nex 7 and also D3200 and D600 Nikons, all 24 mp cameras.
Among these I would always use the Nex 7 in good outdoor light because it always nails the focus. By way of example, at the zoo, I can always photo animals and get clear images with clear hair and skin textures, whereas the Nikons are more hit and miss.
I am wondering especially if the focus on the new cameras is as good as it is on the Nex 7 and also how you would compare the low light performance and especially the low light focus of the 7r?
Also, I have some really excellent lenses for my D600, so I am also wondering what adapter to use for my nikon lenses and whether the adapter results in full functionality, or there are elements of the focus or other functions that are lost or have to be done manually?

0 upvotes
F8minnow
By F8minnow (2 months ago)

Why do reviews of the A7/A7r fail to mention the lack of a correctly working reflective light meter in the viewfinder?

Thanks

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3626724

0 upvotes
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (2 months ago)

Because it is silly issue that doesn't effect the usage of the camera one iota.

5 upvotes
123Mike
By 123Mike (2 months ago)

Too expensive. Going for A6000 instead.

0 upvotes
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (2 months ago)

That's a good choice too. I would like both! :-)

1 upvote
Just Ed
By Just Ed (2 months ago)

It seems the best thing the a7 and a7r have going for them is the sensor. The rest of the package from Sony seems quite lacking in terms of implementation.

The aSony isn't going to make me change from Nikon or Canon.

0 upvotes
probert500
By probert500 (2 months ago)

Not sure what you mean. It's a nice body to hold. It;s controls are fully customizable and function in a satisfyingly solid manner. If you have concerns about the rear dial moving you can lock it.

It's a superb camera - a real beauty.

3 upvotes
Max Savin
By Max Savin (2 months ago)

For pre G lensed any simple adapter will do. For G lenses the metabones Nikon-g adapter is needed. There is no auto focus for either. For Canon lenses there is the metabons canon type three adapter which gives you full auto focus and IS functions. Better ISO performance and getting rid of the terrible menu of the nx7 plus the full frame sensor are the big improvements. The focus seems to be right on. I sold my nx7 after getting an a7 and have also aquired an a7r. Haven't used my Canon or Nikon bodies since getting the Sonys and my Leica M8 is now a paper weight.

1 upvote
refillable
By refillable (2 months ago)

Great Job Sony On the Image Quality! But It seems that the compact body adds extra issues that are rarely seen on bigger DSLRs such as slow booting and small buffer size. I believe it's because of the smaller processor that are inside this cramped body camera. I can't wait for next gen Sony Bigger body SLTs! Alpha 77 has done well for 2 years, we are looking for a successor!

1 upvote
RStyga
By RStyga (2 months ago)

So, is there a straight response to the question: how does A7/A7R perform in the frame periphery with WA Voigtlander M39/M lenses?

0 upvotes
dead eyes open
By dead eyes open (2 months ago)

I have the 75 f2.5 and the 35 1.7, they are perfect on the A7r.
I also had the 21mm f4 and the 25mm f4.5 and they were not great performers, vignetting was not to bad, but the colour fringing was terrible!
Worked well in B&W though…
I've since sold those two and replaced them with the 21mm f1.8 asph, brilliant!

0 upvotes
jonak2
By jonak2 (2 months ago)

Is there an app for time lapse photography that would work with this camera?

0 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (2 months ago)

https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com/portal/usbdetail.php?eid=IS9104-NPIA09014_00-000003

0 upvotes
jonak2
By jonak2 (1 month ago)

Thanks !!

0 upvotes
Rawmeister
By Rawmeister (2 months ago)

The 70-200 FE.
First Sony said available in Feb.
Now its Mid April.
Might even actually see one in the stores by fall.

What a cheapo way to introduce a new sytem.
Hold back the 70-200. Just brilliant. Sheesh.

Ya - I know - the adapter for the existing 70-200 models.
Well if i wanted to pay a bundle more AND have my body to look like it belonged in a Flintstones movie, I'd buy it. So, no.

1 upvote
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (2 months ago)

Mid April? are you on Planet Mars?

4 upvotes
Kendunn
By Kendunn (2 months ago)

Does it come with a Memory Stick or is that sold separately?

0 upvotes
sunilkumar
By sunilkumar (2 months ago)

would anyone want this camera with wood finish may be named as Hasselblad. who cares .. hasselblad will create one...

1 upvote
papa natas
By papa natas (2 months ago)

Hey, why accept the wood finish version when we can go for the alligator skin with golden engraved initials? Owner's retina ID, multiple languages spoken greetings,...any other menu ideas?

1 upvote
HFLM
By HFLM (2 months ago)

Some analysis of the raw compression:
http://diglloyd.com/blog/2014/20140214_1-SonyA7-artifacts-star-trails.html
http://diglloyd.com/blog/2014/20140212_2-SonyA7-RawDigger-posterization.html
http://blog.kasson.com/?p=4847
Together with the shutter shock issue another (small) problem. However, I wouldn't see that as a big problem since for pictures of stars at night I would go for the Canon 6d. Nevertheless good to know. Doesn't change the fact that the camera performs well in many other situations.

1 upvote
munro harrap
By munro harrap (2 months ago)

I was put off Olympus and Fuji's little machines for the same reason as the NEX sony equivalent s- the lenses. If you bother to look at downloadable samples you can see why everyone is trading theirs in. (Look at the LCE and Park cameras sites) These zoom lenses need enormous correction at wide-angle. This correction destroys the border resolution, and my concern for full-frame mirrorless is that the same will apply for wide-angle lenses. AS there is no mirror these lenses are cheaper and easier to design and make (yes Leitz!), but as mentioned here, they are being underdesigned to maximise profits and photographers suffer as a result. You are not paying less, for the new Sony A7 lenses you are overpayingl. On paper the tests pass muster, just (see Photozone.de or the Optix Pro site), but notably the squished mashed appearance of the photographs themselves (the only thing that counts) escapes tests, but not our eyes.Or can I not see for the tears?

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
photog4u
By photog4u (2 months ago)

BALDERDASH! I don’t who you are and I have no knowledge of your work but here are two very well respected and published professional photographers whose work and ART produced with the a7R has not been, in the least bit, affected by your ridiculous assertions.
Trey Radcliff: http://www.stuckincustoms.com/
Brian Smith: http://briansmith.com/blog/
I suggest you spend less time pouring over downloaded internet samples and pick up an a7R and shoot with it. If you have even the slightest bit of talent, you will be extremely pleased with your results.

Comment edited 45 seconds after posting
21 upvotes
Heaven is for real
By Heaven is for real (2 months ago)

Another clueless Sony basher...well, you don't know what you are missing...

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
10 upvotes
Camley
By Camley (2 months ago)

Thanks for sharing your concerns Mr. Harrap!! You do know that the new Sony-Zeiss 35 and 55 mm lenses are rated as excellent, so you get what you pay for. The comment for the 55 mm is "truly superb test results..........it comes very close indeed to the astounding (but $4000) Zeiss Otus 55 F1.4"
Why do you say that the zoom lenses need enormous correction at wide angles? I can use any Canon, Nikon etc. zoom, so do these lenses need enormous correction at wide angles? If they don't, why should future Sony/Zeiss lenses need such "enormous" correction. It's just a size selection choice by Sony.
I haven't seen any sign of the squished mashed appearance on my shots (either in Photoshop or Lightroom) so I assume you are just trying to stir people up.
Buy an a7/r and go and use it.

4 upvotes
Rawmeister
By Rawmeister (2 months ago)

I agree with your astute assertions.
Understanding the business is key to understanding the camera.
This is where so many pundits fail in their analysis of a system.

1 upvote
Max Savin
By Max Savin (2 months ago)

Munro please don't buy one, I would have to sell mine if you did.

1 upvote
Fri13
By Fri13 (2 months ago)

I really wanted to have A7R (or A7) but I couldn't buy it for its flaws. I ended up to more expensive Olympus E-M1 kit and spend even more to get more lenses. I would have got cheaper with either A7 cameras but when can't have same level native lenses and same level usability, I don't want to miss shots because gear is just on my way or limiting me.

Nice to see that it has worth for someone.

2 upvotes
CartersImages
By CartersImages (2 months ago)

Yeah, only because everything I have is Sony, so if Sony come out with something better for less than $1500 there's no big deal. I upgraded from Minolta to Sony A100 then A700 Then A77 and haven't yet spent over $1500 for a camera.

0 upvotes
tanmancs
By tanmancs (2 months ago)

Does your E-M1 has a shuttle shock problem? Mine does. I wonder if the A7/R has this problem too.

0 upvotes
Fri13
By Fri13 (2 months ago)

No, not any kind. Before I paid my camera, I made good tests in store as I am allowed to do.

And A7/A7R can have the shutter shcok problem as well, if you believe some peoples claims (I don't). But there are so much ***** what you can even cut with knife, what makes it so difficult to actually find out truth unless you really know what you are searching and you are allowed to do good tests (Like I was in store own studio with tripod etc) before paying for camera.

All what I did was find out what situations were the problems reported, make notes and designed the test setup. And this because I knew people who didn't have the shutter shock problem so that it isn't design flaw in E-M1 but just bad unit so I can find out the one what doesn't have. And the ordered unit was such (non-faulty) so...

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Camley
By Camley (2 months ago)

That's a bad mistake Fri13. The a7r has much better image quality than the E-M1

3 upvotes
probert500
By probert500 (2 months ago)

I'm always curious about this lens thing. Wouldn't you miss shots by continually changing lenses? I feel that someone who knows what they're doing uses 1 or 2 lenses and may have a couple more for fringe possibilities.

I guess I wonder about the need for lots of lenses and why you would settle for a sensor 1/4 the size to attain more of them?

1 upvote
CartersImages
By CartersImages (2 months ago)

I am impressed with Sony's new a7R Full-Frame, and I have been using Sony cameras since Minolta, Currently using the A77. I've noticed the ISO struggles still exist and the Auto Focus problems has improved since the Sony A100, I just need Wifi and better lens options. Pairing my A77 with a Carl Zeiss 28mm f1.4 has paid for itself 100 times over. The a7 is not scratched off of my shopping list though. I cant make money if I keep spending money.

0 upvotes
startowa13
By startowa13 (2 months ago)

Wait there is Carl Zeiss 28mm f1.4 A-mount-able? Is it m42?

0 upvotes
Simon Young
By Simon Young (2 months ago)

I am a Canon 1DX user. But I really like the small form factor of A7(R). I struggled for a long time before I got the A7R with both the FE 55mm as well as the FE 24-70 F4 lens last week. It takes me a week to re-learn the habit how to shoot with the A7R. Once I used to it, I really like this camera as expected, but there's several 'but'

Quality:
Superb resolution & sharp in static shot and raw image, color is good and AWB usually correct. But miss every dynamic moment...

Auto-focus:
Under bright outdoor environment, these lens is in perfect auto-focus condition. Unfortunately, indoor with moderate light doesn't work well. The only way I can focus accurately is to set the focus point to center with S/M focus area... don't know whether it's due to slow lens motor or poor contrast detection algorithm. But when my daughter is running around at A7R simply miss every precious moment.

Comment edited 27 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
Simon Young
By Simon Young (2 months ago)

Shutter:
Many friends complain about the shutter shaking and noise problem. But I don't use a tripod and really like how it shakes and sounds. Well, I prefer an EFC if Sony can implement it in firmware with existing sensor. Auto ISO is weired too...

EVF:
Slaggy in low light condition... stuck for 1s per focus... The demo unit in Sony Store doesn't behave like this (1/3s is acceptable) even in low light condition. Poor eyecap too... too hard... and cannot find a hollow rubber replacement, very uncomfortable using with eye-glasses

Simon

Comment edited 48 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
probert500
By probert500 (2 months ago)

Just did some copy work on a tripod and copy stand and saw no signs of shutter shake - sharp as a razor.

Comment edited 14 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
WKoplitz
By WKoplitz (2 months ago)

So why didn't they leave the low pass filter off the a7?

0 upvotes
Total comments: 764
1234