Previous page Next page

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Review

November 2013 | By Jeff Keller


Review based on a production Panasonic GX7 with firmware 1.1

Panasonic's Lumix DMC-GX7 is arguably the company's most enthusiast-focused mirrorless camera yet to hit the market. Back in 2011, Panasonic released the DMC-GX1 in a move to appease those who grew more and more disappointed as the promising GF-series got smaller and simpler, with fewer controls as the series progressed. The GX1, however, seemed like an interim move, adding minor enhancements to the original GF1 design and changing the badge, while fans watched as Sony's NEX-7 and the Olympus E-M5 offered more controls and sophisticated features, including built-in EVFs.

While few of the GX7's specifications stand out as innovative (aside, perhaps, from its built-in articulated electronic viewfinder), it's still comfortably the most enthusiast-orientated 'G' model, as well as the first to include in-body stabilization - key to shooting with non-native lenses. And beyond the headline specs it contains plenty of small tweaks and features sure to entice more advanced photographers.

Key specifications

  • 16MP Live MOS sensor
  • In-body image stabilization
  • Flip-up, 1024 x 768 pixel (2.3M dot equivalent) electronic viewfinder
  • 3-inch tilting LCD
  • Front and rear control dials
  • Magnesium-alloy frame
  • Built-in pop-up flash
  • 3-level focus peaking
  • 1/8000 second max shutter speed, 1/320th flash sync speed
  • Highlight and shadow curve adjustments
  • 1080 video at 60p/60i/24p in MP4 or AVCHD format
  • Built-in Wi-Fi with NFC

It's hard to know whether to think of the GX7 as being a post-NEX-7 or a post-E-M5 camera - but to an extent that's the point: unlike the GX1, which appeared to be a rather-too-late, warmed-over GF1, the GX7 is a camera that has learned from the increasingly impressive cameras it will have to compete with.

Despite Panasonic producing an extensive range of image-stabilized lenses, the GX7 incorporates in-body stabilization. This will be a welcome move for anyone hoping to use either Olympus's Micro Four Thirds lenses, or legacy lenses via adapters. Combined the GX7's 'focus peaking' manual focus aid, it promises to make the GX7 one of the more capable options when it comes to shooting with adapted lenses.

The GX7 has a lot to offer keen photographers, including a maximum shutter speed of 1/8000 sec and a flash sync speed of 1/320 sec. The camera is also in unexpectedly exclusive company when it comes to offering a DSLR-like twin-dial control system. There are several mirrorless cameras with two control dials, but remarkably few that make it easy to simply set one to control aperture or shutter speed, and the other to control exposure compensation, which makes the semi-auto aperture and shutter priority modes enjoyable to shoot in.

Additional enthusiast-friendly features include tone curve adjustment, 3-level focus peaking, and a whopping seven customizable buttons. So is the GX7 the mirrorless camera that enthusiasts have been waiting for? Keep reading to find out.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

Images which can be viewed at a larger size have a small magnifying glass icon in the bottom right corner of the image, clicking on the image will display a larger (typically VGA) image in a new window.

To navigate the review simply use the next / previous page buttons, to jump to a particular section either pick the section from the drop down or select it from the navigation bar at the top.

DPReview calibrate their monitors using Color Vision OptiCal at the (fairly well accepted) PC normal gamma 2.2, this means that on our monitors we can make out the difference between all of the (computer generated) grayscale blocks below. We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2013 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
350
I own it
151
I want it
35
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 559
1234
PrintsWeston
By PrintsWeston (2 months ago)

I just compared GX-7 RAW TIFF with JPEG using Silkypix to apply adjustments and I'm very impressed (again!) Although the RAW doesn't really show much difference in definition at 200% (on this cheap monitor) the increase in vibrancy and mid tone detail is very noticeable. The 'film' setting reminds me of 'Velvia.'

In a few weeks I'll be able to compare the kit zoom with a Minolta Prime 50mm. I think this camera warrants a prime - I'm saving for the 20mm unless someone here can recommend a better lens.

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (2 months ago)

The 20mm is excellent. I chose the somewhat larger Leica DG 25mm f/1.4. Its IQ is even 'excellenter' and its focus speed is a clear notch above the 20mm.

If you prefer your prime lens to be a bit wider than standard, the new Leica DG 15mm will also be a top pick.

Each of the Leicas (made by Panasonic BTW) will be a step more expensive than the 20mm.

0 upvotes
PrintsWeston
By PrintsWeston (2 months ago)

After haunting the reviews here and elsewhere I have purchased the GX-7.
The ability to compare camera features here has made my choice much easier.
I wanted a viewfinder and I find the Lumix EVF clear and eminently useable.

I find the need to pull the LCD screen out to access the USB annoying but once I hook it to wi-fi that won't be an issue.

My first test has been comparing RAW with JPEG high and frankly the difference is very small. RAW is only just noticeably cleaner at high enlargement but for me it's not worth the extra time to convert and the extra file size.

LOVE the silent mode. Very impressed with touch screen focus.

The camera seems to underexpose based on the histogram but no doubt that can be adjusted somewhere.

Early days but it's ticking the box as a replacement for my D60 as a travel camera.

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (2 months ago)

I would like to know what you mean by 'underexpose based on the histogram', please. And, which histogram: the live view, or the playback?

0 upvotes
PrintsWeston
By PrintsWeston (1 month ago)

I noticed the histogram was shifted to one side. Somewhat later I've discovered that there was an EV adjustment set, duh, presumably while I've been familiarising with the controls. There's a lot to learn. I'm generally finding it an easy and intuitive camera to use. I love the ability to flip the screen for ground level shots.

0 upvotes
thornhale
By thornhale (4 months ago)

I have over the past few weeks followed this site closely and read many of the reviews for mirrorless cameras which I plan to buy for me and my wife.

I have narrowed the choice down to the Olympus OM-D E-M10 and the Lumix GX7. Both camera's got raving reviews/ratings.

I don't like the price for the GX7 quite as much as that of the E-M10. Also no IS for videos is also not great. On the other hand, my wife really wants to have in-camera panoramic stitching which the E-M10 does not have, and although videos are image-stabilized, the fps is only 30. What is one to do??!

Anyway, I note that many owners of this camera are quite happy with this camera. On the other hand, I notice that on this site at least, Olympus cameras are much more popular (any of the OM-D cameras: http://www.dpreview.com/products/slrs/statistics?utm_campaign=internal-link&utm_source=mainmenu&utm_medium=text&ref=mainmenu). The question that comes to mind is: Why is that?

1 upvote
TN Args
By TN Args (3 months ago)

Think carefully about whether you are going to do videos using lenses with no lens-IS. This basically means prime lenses. And even then it is only an issue if not using a tripod or support. For serious video, always use a support, so you can pan smoothly.

But think: videographers run in masses to Panasonic for their cameras, yet none of them have IBIS for video. Olympus bodies, all with IBIS, are spurned by videographers. What does this tell us about the importance of IBIS for quality video work?

For hand-held video (if you insist on no support), all the Panasonic zoom lenses have IS. There is no problem. And the two f/2.8 'pro' zooms allow sufficient foreground/background separation for good effects.

Panasonic say the high video data rates on their sensors necessitate a fixed sensor. This maybe is why the Olympus bodies are relatively crippled for video. Olympus can't afford a static sensor for video, because they don't have any lenses with IS. Ha!

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (3 months ago)

Why are Olympus cameras more popular than Panasonic, you ask? The answer is no doubt complex, but one simple factor is that Olympus have a long legacy and high quality reputation for still photography cameras. Notice how their digital m43 range is named after their legacy cameras such as PEN and OM. Panasonic only started making cameras in 2001 IIRC. Still photographers do tend to go by name and reputation rather than be objective about products. Hence the ongoing domination by Canon and Nikon.

Until recently, Olympus also had a reputation for their nice colours. They might not have been accurate, but they were widely liked. Panasonic were not so widely loved for their colours. Those days are in the past. The modern Panasonic cameras are top notch for colour production and easily the match of the Olympus cameras. In fact, the current top model Olympus camera uses a Panasonic sensor!

4 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (3 months ago)

Since you are weighing up factors for a purchase, let me weigh in with praise of the GX7's silent mode. I absolutely love it, and so do other buyers. I agree with others who say that, having used it, they don't want to ever have a camera again that does not have it! On the street, in quiet rooms, ceremonial occasions, there are so many situations where it takes all the stress out of photography and makes better photos too. It also completely eliminates the risk of shutter shock. You won't find this feature in any of the Olympus models on offer today.

4 upvotes
danieladougan
By danieladougan (2 months ago)

I. Want. This. Camera.

Here's the biggest reason in my book -- the tilting EVF. Not so much because it tilts (although that's a nice bonus) but because it doesn't add much in the way of bulk to the camera. It's both compact AND full-featured.

There's a saying that "the best camera is the one you have with you," and if you can take a great camera with you more often, then you'll take more and better pictures. The difference between the OM and GX7 body styles might not seem like a big deal, but now with the pancake zoom lens (or, better, the pancake prime lenses), the tilting EVF and a built-in pop-up flash, this could be a truly pocketable camera without any real compromises.

If only someone could make a killer f2.8 telephoto lens that retracts into a pancake, then that would be just about perfect.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Tom Wuergler
By Tom Wuergler (4 months ago)

Having used this great camera for more than four months on an almost daily basis I am still impressed with the many quality features it offers (excellent sensor, a convincing UI using buttons and touch screen, super fast X Sync @ 1 / 320s helps me shooting indoors portraits, tiltable flash, great EVF, in-body stabilization). The last camera which I found equally impressive was the E-510 (in 2005?). It's good to see how Panasonic has progressed its G series in the past few years (I know this is a GX but it reminds me much more of the G6 than of the unimpressive GX1). Combine this beauty with a Pany 20mm and an Oly 45mm and you have one powerful package.

Using prime lenses I almost get too much light under some daylight conditions. For some reason the ISO range only starts at ISO 200 which may mean one has to
a) stop down a bit (e.g. F1.8 -> F2.5) or
b) use the extended ISO range (going down to ISO 125)

All in all this is one neat product.

Comment edited 51 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (4 months ago)

If you go to the menu and use extended ISO's you can pick ISO 125.
Be aware that ISO 125 produces slightly less dynamic range though similar noise levels as ISO 200

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (3 months ago)

BarnET is wrong, the ISO 125 is a true 125. Dynamic range, tonal range and signal-to-noise levels are all better at 125 than 200.

0 upvotes
Rolfens
By Rolfens (2 months ago)

That's what ND filters are for.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (4 months ago)

Interesting question...beings that i have very limited sight and constantly use voiceover on my iPad to read words, might when NFC function connecting GX7 to my iPad, might it read words and data on LCD/EVF on camera??? You would not believe how much more accessable the camera would be to operate.

0 upvotes
jackson423
By jackson423 (4 months ago)

HELP - GX7 makes grinding noise when turned on and then display message to "Please turn camera off and then on again." I do, but same thing happens. Looked at sensor and it flutters but then stops before message is display. have been searching online for hours and can't find any discussion on this. anyone have any ideas?

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (3 months ago)

Phone a service centre.

0 upvotes
microstudio
By microstudio (4 months ago)

Can be GX7, better than canon 70d for video?

Or, can I compare GH4 with d610, in photos?
I would like to buy gh4, but still there are few reviews.
Now i use 70d and d700
www,nunti-de-lux.ro

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (4 months ago)

In terms of quality and framerate options yes the Gx7 beats the 70D. however in audio (Gx7 has no mic port) the 70D wins.

AF is better on the 70D as well.

For video Panasonic makes better camera's like the GH series.
Panasonic might introduce the G7 soon which might have 4K and the Gx7 sensor as well. So if video is priority waiting might be an good idea

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (3 months ago)

What is wrong with the 70D for video, that you want to change cameras?

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (4 months ago)

I had G6 for a week, liked all features of camera except tiny rear , non tactile buttons. Also disapointed it did not have live exposure preview in manual mode. How similar or different is GX7 regarding these two issues?

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (3 months ago)

GX7 buttons are highly tactile, really good. Live exposure preview in manual mode is selectable in the menus.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (2 months ago)

How deep in the menu for live exposure preview? I would prefer using LEP each and every shot, needing to view exact showing before shuttering. Can it be left on, or do i have to go into menu each shot?can a button be assigned?

1 upvote
TN Args
By TN Args (2 months ago)

Turn it on, it stays on.

0 upvotes
Johno23
By Johno23 (4 months ago)

This Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 has pretty good features! It will definately please any buyer out there. However there is a newer model out which has not yet been released and is now available for preorder!
It is definately worth the wait with superb features like 4K video and new auto focus technology.
Check out the review! :) http://1stdigitalcamerasreviews.blogspot.com.au/

1 upvote
kpaddler
By kpaddler (4 months ago)

And how these models are in the same class???

3 upvotes
Ed Gill
By Ed Gill (4 months ago)

GH4 and GX7 are in completely different class and cost category.

1 upvote
Little and Fierce
By Little and Fierce (4 months ago)

Does the LCD screen tilt all the way up (or down) for a self-portrait mode like the GF6?

0 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (4 months ago)

no

0 upvotes
Eric Eisenhandler
By Eric Eisenhandler (4 months ago)

Let's be clear. The rating was 79% and silver, which is quite good. I agree about the items you mention, but you've left out what for the reviewer seemed like the killer point - the rainbow tearing in the viewfinder. BUT he said that if you don't see this then GX7 might be fine for you. Much earlier on this thread it was explained that gold is not based on points - it's subjective, for something that seems special. Reviews are not just about spec sheets - we've all picked up something with great-sounding specs but been disappointed because it wasn't magic for us, or on the other hand loved a gadget even though the specs or reviews were not great. I too thought the GX7 was for me, to replace my GH1, but the review made me think. Then when I tried one in a store (have you?) the "rangefinder" layout wasn't love at first sight (no rainbow effect though). I may still buy one. But the aim of an expert review is to give both evidence and personal opinions - not just help with the marketing.

1 upvote
TN Args
By TN Args (4 months ago)

If the rainbow effect was a 'killer point', nobody would sell a DLP projector, which has the same effect for similar reasons despite a different technology. Yet, guess what: 50% of the world's projectors are DLP type.

There are several reasons why DLP projectors are so popular despite their 'killer point' negative of the rainbow effect. Firstly, only about 5% of people are susceptible. Secondly, it is only a minor distraction at worst, hence many of the 5% still own DLP and don't get upset about it. Thirdly, it is not there 100% of the time, especially for a still camera! Fourthly, many of the 5% stop seeing it after using it for a while.

It is bizarre to mark a camera down for this. Nobody reviewing DLP projectors marks every one of them down for it. The GX7 EVF has better colours and resolution than any competing EVF. It is a worthy EVF, comparable on the top tier of EVFs, with a different technology offering pros and cons. Buyer choice. No reason to deduct points.

6 upvotes
Ikay
By Ikay (4 months ago)

Agreed. I see no rainbow effect in the EVF. It's the best EVF I've ever looked through. Very sharp and great colours.GX7 deserves gold far more than the E-M5 does.

3 upvotes
Adrian Harris
By Adrian Harris (3 months ago)

"The GX7 EVF has better colours and resolution than any competing EVF. It is a worthy EVF, comparable on the top tier of EVFs, ..."

I do disagree here. Owning both the GX7 and a Sony A77 I can assure you that although the GX7 EVF is fine, the A77 one is simply outstanding.

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (1 month ago)

@Adrian Harris, that's fine IYHO, but the GX7 *will* have better resolution (count the dots, 2764,000 vs. 2359,000) and better colour (nearly 100 percent Adobe RGB colour space, not possible with the A77's LCD technology). Which is all I ever said. Some others are bigger and/or brighter, that is a tradeoff, and buyers can choose whichever aspects are most important to them -- but harsh to say it is not even worthy.

0 upvotes
rhlpetrus
By rhlpetrus (4 months ago)

I find the cons justifying not giving it a golden award ludicrous. Who uses P mode? Or actually do RAW conversions in-camera? IBIS seems pretty good as well, maybe not at the OM1-5 level, but does any body at thsi price level carry a better one?
This looks like a brilliant camera.

4 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (4 months ago)

Absolutely right. A ludicrous set of cons. And hundreds of posted comments have agreed with you, right from the first comment.

I have read many, many DPR reviews and rarely (actually, never) taken such strong exception to the negatives as this one.

Look at these 'negatives' according to dpreview:

*Too* customizable. (even though the defaults are 'just right')

No in-camera RAW. (guys, that is not a serious feature. Refer Canon's 'print' button)

Don't know why EVF tilts. (outdoors tripod below eye level? or left eyed? gee)

EVF not bright outdoors. (didn't learn how to adjust brightness?? didn't try optional eyecup??)

No video IS on sensor. (fair cop, but no mention of the many Panasonic OIS lenses for this job)

Electronic shutter mode criticized for rolling effect. (It's intrinsic! gee wiz)

EVF motion rainbow effect strongly criticised. (with lesser praise for having better colours and resolution than any competing EVF)

Comment edited 8 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
New B Shooter
By New B Shooter (5 months ago)

I was looking to upgrade from a GF1 14-45 lens kit bundle to the GX7.

Does anyone know if the older 14-45mm lens kit with IS will work on the GX7 and will the lens based IS work on the GX7?.

Thanks in advance for any advice!.

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (5 months ago)

All Panasonic OIS lenses will work on the GX7.

The OIS on the lens will take priority over the GX7 body IS.

It is a GREAT camera, not a good one, and you will be very glad you bought it. Ignore DPR review, it is their worst effort ever. You can't trust these guys any more.

9 upvotes
New B Shooter
By New B Shooter (5 months ago)

Thanks TN Args.

I ordered the GX7 with the newer lens kit so both cameras will have a lens.

I felt looking at the specs, the camera should've ranked higher.

3 upvotes
rguil15
By rguil15 (5 months ago)

I love this camera so far. It does everything I want, everything I need, and I don't find any of the cons to actually be cons for me. The EVF has not been a problem for me, especially because mine came with the little rubber extender cup. It's fantastic.

2 upvotes
neil holmes
By neil holmes (5 months ago)

Minor errors with video specs
has 25p in avchd (and 30P ntsc???)

has 1280x720 avchd 50p (pal)

has mp4 1920x1080 50p (pal)
That is on movie page.
On main specs page 25P is missing (maybe others too)

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Cristian Mihai
By Cristian Mihai (6 months ago)

BE AWARE PEOPLE OF LUMIX GX7
This camera has the mini HDMI port locked! You cannot use the HDMI port for LIVE work. Only playback mode ! Their website says mini HDMI output but it hides the fact it's locked! FALSE ADVERTISING

1 upvote
evadim
By evadim (6 months ago)

IIRC, HDMI work in same way for every panasonic m43 camera, isn't it? HDMI only for PLAY, and analog output works for LIVE and PLAY. Just checked with my old GF2.

0 upvotes
mrc4nl
By mrc4nl (5 months ago)

@evadim
no the GH3 has live hdmi output (clean, no interface)

1 upvote
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (6 months ago)

It's only real disadvantage is that "Fuji X-Trans sensor is damn good at higher ISO".
I think DpReview should put this in the Cons section. Though, I know its not Pany's fault if Fuji knows how to really make sensors ;)

After sitting two months tossing between this one and Fuji XE-2, I just ordered Pany GX7! Whatever the small cons are, this camera is a level above the rest, as an overall package!

At one hand no camera is perfect; on the other you can't go wrong with any camera these days (Except Canon APSCs) ;)

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
5 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (6 months ago)

Indeed you will not be disspointed.
I am loving mine. I just hate i can't push myself to the ridiculously priced 42.5mm

0 upvotes
SDPharm
By SDPharm (6 months ago)

The solution is not to take pictures under crappy light. :)

0 upvotes
laughingor
By laughingor (6 months ago)

well. I'm also the one tossing between XE-2 and GX7. By thinking of overall package/function, i think GX7 will be better choice. but my heart still toward XE-2 due to the IQ...i like the color from Fuji much more than other such as Pany and Oly EM-1. (by review samples)

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (6 months ago)

Laughingor,

your well informed take your pick both are pretty much excellent in what they do. The GX7 is a more complete package. But the XE-2 has that amazing X-trans rendering.

It's like choosing between an 2 hot supermodels.
You will always wonder what the other would be like

5 upvotes
rguil15
By rguil15 (5 months ago)

I don't understand the appeal of the X-trans sensor. Aren't the greens in grass and whatnot still mushy? Is there still no simple efficient way to render the raw files?

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (5 months ago)

Plenty of efficient ways unfortunately none withe light room.
Just use photo ninja or aperture if you have a mac

0 upvotes
LaFonte
By LaFonte (7 months ago)

Pretty much nod to fuji xe1 in styling, but definitely a modern camera. And I guess the focus speed would smoke the fuji for breakfast.. The m43 format is doing well.

5 upvotes
videofame
By videofame (7 months ago)

Is the M.Zuiko ED 12-40mm f2.8 PRO fully compatible with Lumix DMC-GM1? Woops wrong place to post sorry.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (6 months ago)

it is! however it would benefit more from in-body image stabilisation of oly bodies or GX7

Comment edited 14 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (7 months ago)

I'm puzzled as to why there is marked difference in sharpness and contrast between the Oly omdem5 and the Pan gx7 test images.
They do test with the same lens, right? Why would the Oly be sharper then?
I'm not sure I get it - same sensor size, same bayer pattern, both have olpf... I see nothing to explain the softness of the gx7 other than bad focus?

ps: Merry Christmas everyone!

2 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (7 months ago)

I don't think everyone sees this "marked" difference. But, if you are in the market, why don't you go to a store and try both cameras for yourself, see what your experience is. These reviews here are no longer reliable or objective.

1 upvote
Ikay
By Ikay (7 months ago)

Hi there Timmbits, I have both cameras and use both Oly and Panny prime lenses. I also use Oly-lens on Panny cam and vice versa. I get exactly the same PERFECT image quality from both cams with whatever lens I attach. So I think you can relax. The question seems to be rather academic.
I do notice, however, that the GX7 review seems rather biased against panny. Wonder why ?

7 upvotes
quitomarez
By quitomarez (7 months ago)

I am almost sure that the OMD review was the last done with the Zuiko 50 mm macro while both GX7 and EM1 were done with the Panleica 45 mm instead. At base iso, EM1 and GX7 seem to me almost identical in the dprewievs test.

In my own tests between Epl5 and GX7, using the Panasonic 20mm I find better corner resolution with the Pana. I was rather surprised witth this finding as I didn't expect it.

0 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (6 months ago)

Hi Timmbits, the focus seems to be alright as it is almost as sharp on few other areas on the scene!

Otherwise I also notice the lower sharpness. Probably a fault in lens sample?!

0 upvotes
SDPharm
By SDPharm (6 months ago)

> I'm puzzled as to why there is marked difference in sharpness and contrast between the Oly omdem5 and the Pan gx7 test images….<

JPEG: different companies have different JPEG engines. If one puts higher priority in noise reduction, that may reduce sharpness and contrast.

RAW: the results vary depends on the RAW processor being used. I use Apple Aperture (mostly) and it destroyed the sharpness of GX7 RAW images. Same images processed through Lightroom resulted in MUCH greater details in higher ISO (>800) images or in shadow areas. This has been documented by others as well.

0 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (7 months ago)

Capture One just released V7.1.6 with gx7 support

2 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (7 months ago)

Few missing PROS:

+ Excellent/ comprehensive Remote control over Wifi .. simple wifi is not enough, as many cams and actually all the cams with e-fi cards supports wifi ops.

+ very fast shutter speed at 1/8000

+ magnessium alloy body!!

+ best in class video at 1080/60p and 24p

+ Welcome additions of focus peaking, HDR and panorama modes!!

11 upvotes
kentwosheds
By kentwosheds (7 months ago)

When the reviewer states he would rather use the rear screen than the viewfinder, he doesn't take into account wearers of reading glasses.
To use the screen would mean having to wear glasses, whereas the viewfinder means no specs required.

1 upvote
kpaddler
By kpaddler (7 months ago)

The reviewer of this camera used review refrigerators at his previous job. It takes a while for a newibie to understand photography....

5 upvotes
LaFonte
By LaFonte (7 months ago)

Nah, it is the same...

1 upvote
dpainter
By dpainter (6 months ago)

Reviewer also did not understand why you would have the tilting finder when you have the tilting screen.

One big reason is when there is glare off the screen. That alone is justification to tilt the finder too.

1 upvote
BarnET
By BarnET (7 months ago)

the cons............
1.In-body stabilization not available for image composition.
That's only an issue on long focal lengths. Most of these lenses have in lens stabilisation that DOES work for image composition
2.Camera tends to use small apertures
Then use aperture priority mode.
3.no sensor is in movie mode
Well got to give you that one that is kinda annoying since fast primes that look great in movie are mostly unstabilized(20mm f1.7, 45mm F1.8 and so on)
4.Strong 'rainbow' tearing effect in EVF
Tried it in the store, and it's not that bad.
5.EVF is hard to see outdoors, adds bulk to camera
hard to see outdoors?! if your not wearing glasses this is just plain nitpicking.
adds bulk?! it's the smallest solution with an EVF this is a pro on this camera.
6.No in-camera Raw conversion
Raw is meant to be processed on PC anyway.
7.Lacks headphone and external mic ports for video shooters
This is not a video tool. And the on board mics are good.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MdQ3hVb9qug

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
17 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (7 months ago)

Exactly my sentiments .. none of the cons they mentioned .. seems real to me !!

and very well said!!!
cheers!

4 upvotes
plevyadophy
By plevyadophy (7 months ago)

In the Western industrialised nations the populations are quite old (longer life expectancy, people not having many children or leaving till late in life or not having any at all).

That means for many camera manufacturers, a considerable percentage, and in some cases, the majority of their customers are old i.e. over 45 years old.

At that age, age related deterioration of eye sight, a condition known as presbyopia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Presbyopia), begins to take hold and a sufferer is required to wear glasses.

So your flippant dismisal of the issue of not being able to see the EVF outdoors (your point number 5) is plain silly given that for a great many people how a camera functions when wearing glasses is VERY important (and I actually regard it as absurd that camera companies design cameras, even expensive cameras, with viewfinders that cater for young folk with good vision when in fact the likelihood is that the people who have the money to buy are older)

4 upvotes
Ikay
By Ikay (7 months ago)

No IBIS in movie mode ?
I just took some video footage using the Leica Summilux 25mm f1.4 non-stabilized lens. Tried to make my hands shake, panned horizontally and vertically etc. The resulting movie came out looking pretty good. So I wonder if this "Con" is really true ?
Does anyone have more detailed knowledge ?

0 upvotes
LaFonte
By LaFonte (7 months ago)

Sadly plevyadophy is correct. I know too well.

0 upvotes
Michael D Sullivan
By Michael D Sullivan (7 months ago)

Those of us who are older, with presbyopia, cannot focus on close images without reading glasses. This is the biggest problem with using an external display, because it requires you to focus on a close image. When using the EVF, you are focusing on an image at infinity, so no reading glasses are needed. Yes, if you need distance correction, you will need glasses, but if you don't need distance correction (I've had cataract surgery and an implant), this camera's EVF is great.

2 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (6 months ago)

I totally support your sentiments BarnET. In fact I posted a very similar comment on Nov 18 -- which I have copied below since dpreview comments are un-linkable.

The comments about age-related eyesight are completely wrong: read Mr Sullivan's post for the right info.

If you do need eyeglasses for distant viewing, like I do, the GX7 EVF actually offers a better experience than the E-M1 or VF-4, because I can still see the whole image in the GX7 with my eyeglasses on, whereas with the other EVFs the image is so large that one cannot see it all while wearing eyeglasses.

Secondly, although it is true that the GX7 view finder shows too many reflections while wearing eyeglasses and viewing directly into sunlight, Panasonic has provided fully sufficient solutions to this. There is an eye-cup available that I use and it works really well. Or you can tilt the eyepiece upwards and therefore look downwards into the view finder and not directly into the sun. Solved.

Here is my Nov 18 post:

2 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (6 months ago)

I support the 'mean spirited review' comments. How on earth does this camera get the same score as an Olympus camera that inexplicably causes unexpected BLURRINESS IN STILL IMAGES!??! And that has NO EVF AT ALL!??! And POOR VIDEO??!!!
Think about it.

Look at these 'negatives' according to dpreview:

*Too* customizable. (even though the defaults are 'just right')

No in-camera RAW. (guys, that is not a serious feature. Refer Canon's 'print' button)

Don't know why EVF tilts. (outdoors tripod below eye level? or left eyed? gee)

EVF not bright outdoors. (didn't learn how to adjust brightness?? didn't try optional eyecup??)

No video IS on sensor. (fair cop, but no mention of the many Panasonic OIS lenses for this job)

Electronic shutter mode criticized for rolling effect. (It's intrinsic! gee wiz)

EVF motion rainbow effect strongly criticised. (with lesser praise for having better colours and resolution than any competing EVF)

Read my top section again. YOU MUST BE JOKING!!!

2 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (6 months ago)

At one hand no camera is perfect; on the other you can't go wrong with any camera these days (Except Canon APSCs) ;)

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (6 months ago)

Naveed except Canon APSCs besides the 70D
And then only if your interested in video.

0 upvotes
atalaya
By atalaya (7 months ago)

I have a question about the EVF:

The specs say that it has 1.39 (.70X APS-C equivalent) magnification — and this is the number you use in your graphic that compares the relative sizes of viewfinders. However, unlike the cameras you are comparing it to, the GX7 viewfinder has a 16:9 aspect ratio. 3:2 and 4:3 are crops from this.

The rectangle in your graphic looks to be close to 4:3 in aspect ratio. I am confused. Is the GX7 really .70X when displaying a 4:3 image?

It seemed smaller than that when I tried it.

I really like the form factor and handling of this camera. The M1 is bigger and quite a bit more expensive.

The thing that is giving me pause is the GX7 viewfinder. I have to try really hard to see even a hint of tearing, so this does not bother me. I presume that the $15 eyecup will cure the ambient light problem. But, indoors in the camera store, the GX7 viewfinder image seemed to be smaller and appreciably less "natural" than the M1 viewfinder image.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
nikonian86
By nikonian86 (7 months ago)

I have the GX7 and I am wearing glasses.

I have been using it for a while and yes you cannot use the whole view finder. I even chose the version where the shooting info is around the image not on it so the image is cropped even further so I can see it all. That being said I do not care. The resolution of the LVF is high enough that even using the cropped version does still look pretty good. I have no problems with the LVF.

The eye censor is a little bad though. it would have been much better if they put the sensor on the other side. Accidental triggering would be lot less.

I also like the form factor, the price and the looks of the GX7 to M1 and I am pretty happy with my choice.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
5 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (7 months ago)

If I select 16:9 the margins are visible but just. If I put on 4:3 I can see everything. I wear glasses.

One question I have for people who have problem with ambient light and margins views, is how far off do you look through the eyepiece? I ask this because I don't have the problems you have any more than I have with any other camera. Ok, nikon F3HP was awesome but that was exception.

It sounds to me if people are treating the LVF as if it were waist level finder.

Comment edited 45 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (6 months ago)

I am like kpaddler: I wear eyeglasses and can see the whole 'photo' image at 4:3. With the E-M1 and VF-4 I cannot see the whole image with eyeglasses on, as the image is too large in relation to the angle I can see.

0 upvotes
gskolenda
By gskolenda (7 months ago)

I really think dpreview needs to update the video specs on all your reviewed cameras. I'm sure many viewers would like to see, more details like, What is the signal out, Progressive, Interlaced, is it 4.2.0, or 4.2.2, 8bit, 10bit, Compressed, Uncompressed, dirty video, or clean (No On screen Info).

What is the Mbps for each recording format? What is the audio recording format?
Is the sensor info read by line scans or the whole sensor. CMon Man!

You need to get up to speed, there's a need for sure.

3 upvotes
FrankGr
By FrankGr (7 months ago)

Has anyone made excellent quality, sharp, very large prints - up to 20x30 inches with the GX7 files? Is it possible with a small sensor ?

And does it have eyepiece diopter adjustment ?

0 upvotes
fenceSitter
By fenceSitter (7 months ago)

High quality prints, I believe, are made at 300 dpi (dots per inch). This is why Nikon states that the maximum print size for their resolution flagship D800 is 24.5 x 16.4 inches, quite a bit smaller than what you request, and this is a camera with twice the resolution of what the GX7 delivers.

The GX7 is good for high quality prints up to 11.5x15.3 inches.

Comment edited 18 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
BolleDuc
By BolleDuc (7 months ago)

Not yet but I've got some nice 36" x 24" on my wall from a previous gen 12MP sensor so I won't worry about it. And yes, has a diopter slider adjuster on the underside of the EVF.

0 upvotes
Munene
By Munene (7 months ago)

Let's start by acknowledging that "very sharp prints" is a very subjective category. For years I was a custom printer at several labs. I enlarged a few 35mm negs to nearly 6' X 4'. They were good exposures and held up very well. A few years ago, before 4/3, I was in China with a Canon Powershot S70 1/1.7 sensor (I recall) 7MP. I exhibited a dozen prints enlarged to 16X20. Most of my friends assumed they were taken with my Leica M6 (this was the first time I shot in digital, 2005). Now, I could tell the difference, but the point is, they were very crisp and sharp. Since 2009 I have been shooting with the GF1, I printed a section of a file up to what would be about 20X30 and it was beautiful, yes, sharper than the 16X20s. It was a "meaty" negative, shot on a sunny day. This obviously helps. Here are the China shots on my website, not sure if it will help you in all of this. http://visualquotations.com/China/china.html
Bottom line, like BolleDuc says, I wouldn't worry about it.

Comment edited 48 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (7 months ago)

I have printed few so for at 24x3* and they look great.

also, 300dpi is hazardous to your eye sight. Your eyes can stay crossed when you stare at something too closely for too long.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
SDPharm
By SDPharm (7 months ago)

> 300dpi is hazardous to your eye sight. Your eyes can stay crossed when you stare at something too closely for too long.

Haha. True enough.

1 upvote
nikonian86
By nikonian86 (7 months ago)

First of all the sensor on GX7 is just a little smaller than AP-C. so it actually is pretty big enough.

Also 16MP is large enough even for much larger prints. I have printed a 150cm x 100cm (59in x 39in) with a 12mp d300 and even though you do not get 300dpi the print was really good.

You do not look at a print that size with a magnifying glass. Also when you print that size the lens becomes much more important. I have also printed a 150cm x 100cm with a D800 even though the print is better with 3 times the pixels the lens was not as sharp.

The GX7 does have a eyepiece diopter adjustment.

So to summerise you can have large prints with GX7 but you also need a good lens with it

0 upvotes
Ed Gill
By Ed Gill (7 months ago)

The need for 300 DPI to get good prints is misleading if not a myth. 300 DPI may be the theoretical limit on certain print types but I have found 180 to 200 DPI to be a better gauge to determine "practical" largest print without extensive processing. That said, the 16 MP 4/3 sensor should handle 16x20 print size easily with good exposure and good glass.

0 upvotes
Karroly
By Karroly (6 months ago)

Given the average resolution of the human's eye that is roughly 1 minute of arc, 300dpi is good to look at a picture that is about ... 25 centimeters away ! The purpose of 30x20 inches enlargements is not to be seen that close... So if you look at a picture on a wall that is 1 meter away, print resolution can be 4 times lower, that is to say 75 dpi... Then the resolution of the image can be as low as 30x75 by 20x75 pixels, that is to say 3.375 megapixels...

0 upvotes
Ikay
By Ikay (7 months ago)

I have a REAL problem.
I kept getting real bad pictures in low light from my GX7.
Found the simple cause after long research: When holding the cam normally, my middle finger blocks the AF-assist lamp !!
But I can't find a place to put the finger without almost breaking it or dropping the cam.
Does anyone else have this problem or maybe some workaround tips ?
Much appreciated.

0 upvotes
Francis Sawyer
By Francis Sawyer (7 months ago)

Does Panasonic really prevent third-party batteries from working with their cameras? If so, no one should vote for this rip-off with their money.

Send a strong message that this anti-customer offense will not stand.

2 upvotes
pandrcam
By pandrcam (7 months ago)

My Panasonic works fine with the third party batteries I have. Not all third party batteries are created equal, just like any other product (branded or not) you may actually need to do some proper research.

4 upvotes
Ikay
By Ikay (7 months ago)

Same here, all four of my Panasonic cameras work fine with 3rd party batteries. (LX3,LX5,LX7,GX7)

1 upvote
Demon Cleaner
By Demon Cleaner (7 months ago)

I'm using cheap ebay knock-offs with both the GH3 and GX7. They work just fine.

0 upvotes
BolleDuc
By BolleDuc (7 months ago)

Mine work fine too, how'd you get so unlucky!

0 upvotes
steve_hoge
By steve_hoge (7 months ago)

The two "Halcyon" branded batteries I got on Amazon for less than 20 bucks (including charger) work fine - but I haven't noticed that their extended storage (1400mAh vs 1025 stock) make much difference - the GX7 still seems to eat batteries.

1 upvote
Lukino
By Lukino (7 months ago)

Clear retouch works by swiping a finger OVER the things you want to remove, not AROUND THEM! Ok, I know it's not a very important feature and results will probably be shitty as well, like in any software that uses a similar approach (like Aperture) but come on, read the manual before dissimissing a feature as "not working".

0 upvotes
nikonian86
By nikonian86 (7 months ago)

I have 2 criticisms about this review.

1. it is shorter than any other in-dept review I read on this site. it is one of the major upgrades from Panasonic and it gets 14 pages while Olympus Pen E-P5 is a practically a yearly upgrade and gets 19 pages. I am used to getting more comparisons in this site.

2. The camera is being downgraded for bad in-body stabilization while none other Panasonic had in-body image stabilization before. I prefer in lens stabilization myself and I also like having some stabilization for my Oly 9-18 as well.

8 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (7 months ago)

with you mate, specially on point 2. imo this cam deserves a gold award, as none of the cons are any major issue, mostly nit-picking or few small wishes .. on the other hand .. the camera excels in so many ways .. also it's IBIS is not bad, maybe not as effective as OMDs. But even Oly's IBIS in Pen's are worse, no matter how many axis, they have reported issues between shutter speeds 1/100 and 1/200. Pany has no such problems.

0 upvotes
Ikay
By Ikay (7 months ago)

With you too. Been using the GX7 since November and it's great.
The cons in the review are no cons at all.
The only con I see is that the AF assist lamp is on the right hand side and you inadvertently block it with your fingers.
The E-M5 gets the 'Gold Award', what for? I have it and IMHO the GX7 deserves it far more !
This review does not seem to be very objective.

3 upvotes
Munene
By Munene (7 months ago)

I need some straight advice, please: GX7 or XE2?

Background: I used to shoot with my Leica M6. I do mostly street photography. I love my GF1, but am ready to upgrade. Two issues: I do not like the way the light meter reads in GF1 (or I use it wrong), why not a match like the old days (needle, diodes)? I don't know if the exposure is correct until I press the shutter? Again, this could be me. The XE2 has a shutter dial on the camera, but how does this affect reading the light meter inside the viewfinder? THIS IS A BIG ISSUE.

So, GX7 or XE2? I am not too concerned with video or wifi or whatever, just good images. Does the fuji sensor trump the 4/3, end conversation? I sometimes enlarge to 20X24. My old Leica (and Canon FTb), I have prints 4' X 6'! Both are awesome (not really planning more, I used to print at a lab).

Unfortunately I cannot find a store that carries both for me to look at (or even one of them, where I live).

Here is what I shoot: www.visualquotations.com

Thank you.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (7 months ago)

The difference in sensor output is so tiny as to be no reason at all to choose one over the other.

The technicalities of metering displays I do not know, but do be prepared and willing to learn new shooting technique.

The GX7 will *probably* outshoot the XE2 in terms of focusing and firing etc, which may be something you will gain from.

1 upvote
kpaddler
By kpaddler (7 months ago)

If you put the camera on M mode you get the needle match effect.....M6 is permanently fixed to M mode anyway :-)

Also, nothing will match the simplicity of M6 under $3-4k. Then, there is M8/9. I own M9 and love it but I'm more than happey with GX7. I use all my L lenses and panny 12-35mm. It is camera heaven...after some adjustment.

1 upvote
Fazal Majid
By Fazal Majid (7 months ago)

Go for the X-E2 or wait for the X-Pro2. Better sensor, better lenses, and with the adapter you have a 1.5x vs. a 2x multiplier for your Leica lenses' focal length.

0 upvotes
Munene
By Munene (7 months ago)

Thanks. I guess it does come down to the sensor (and to some extent the lenses, but I have no real issues with the Lumix lenses). Anyone else care to weigh in? Also, the metering display...

Cheers

1 upvote
SDPharm
By SDPharm (7 months ago)

> I guess it does come down to the sensor...

IMHO, for what you shoot (street photography), it does not come down to the sensor at all. As someone here already said, differences in sensor are very small, relative to other factors. I would consider the following (not in particular order):

1) how fast is the camera, as in, can I change settings, compose and shoot quickly,
2) can you easily customize the camera to your shooting style
3) focusing speed
4) ergonomics (GX7's tilt-able finder and screen win big time here)
5) weight, size,
6) lens selection

I don't have experience with the X-E2, but do own the GX7. My guess is that GX7 will serve you very well.

2 upvotes
zkz5
By zkz5 (7 months ago)

"I do not like the way the light meter reads in GF1 (or I use it wrong), why not a match like the old days (needle, diodes)? I don't know if the exposure is correct until I press the shutter? Again, this could be me."

What do you mean? I have a GF1. The light meter display is at the bottom of the screen near the center. If it is in the middle (as opposed to bars on either the right or the left side) then the exposure is right. There's also an optional on-screen histogram you can activate that shows you if the exposure is correct before you shoot.

1 upvote
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (7 months ago)

both are excellent cams mate .. you can't go wrong with any!

just listen to your heart ..

GX7 is more featured pack, better to hold (with that nice grip) and responsive; the compromise is higher ISO noise at 6400 (though I even like it, and photos even that high at ISO, still got plenty of details)!!

0 upvotes
ArnfinnP
By ArnfinnP (8 months ago)

I've had my GX7 for a week tomorrow, and have stumbled on a rather interesting problem. In semi dark conditions I sometime get a strong stripy pattern in my pictures, especially when shot with a high ISO. An example is here: www.flickr.com/photos/arnfinnp/11131880726/in/pool-228956.... It was shot with an ISO 800 and f2 at 1/200.

These stipes where not there, though there were patterns of light and dark than might have been accentuated. I had the same problem yesterday, when taking pictures indoors during a lecture: Strong stripes that clearly was not there from the beginning. It looks like a moiré problem to me, probably due to the lack of a anti aliasing filter.

0 upvotes
Cal22
By Cal22 (7 months ago)

Look for 'Silent Mode' in the chapter 'Features' and what the electronic shutter may do in artificial light!

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (7 months ago)

Yes, that is not moiré, it is the electronic shutter in a flickering (fluorescent) light source.

If you wish to use electronic shutter in fluoro lighting, try setting shutter speed to the same as the mains electricity frequency of the country you are in, e.g. 1/50 sec for 50 Hz.

Also note that for video, if your camera's sensor is not correct for the video system in your country, e.g. a NTSC Area sensor outputting 60 Hz in a country with 50 Hz mains electricity, then your video projects shot in fluorescent lighting will flicker terribly.

2 upvotes
nikonian86
By nikonian86 (7 months ago)

Also GX7 Does have an anti aliasing filter.

0 upvotes
syakirzainol
By syakirzainol (8 months ago)

Hi,

Please advise if this model support wireless flash.

Thank you.

0 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (8 months ago)

Yes. Page 224 of the user manual. You can download it.

0 upvotes
SDPharm
By SDPharm (7 months ago)

Yep. Works with Panasonic DMW-FL360L real well. You can control the level of flash exposure from your camera menu.

0 upvotes
Gekopaca
By Gekopaca (8 months ago)

It seems I'm alone, but I think Panasonic made a big design mistake with the GX7. I recently put my hands on it in a shop (I'm waiting for a Leica-type silent M43 since years!) and was really disapointed where they put the release button - not a classic slightly cambered one in the corner, but a flat profile AFTER the speed dial !!!!
Result : impossible to shoot precisely, and, most of all, impossible to shoot with the second phalanx of the finger which is - all leicaists will confirm that - the best "oneself image stabilization" invented in the history of photography.
Japanese ingineers aren't human or what?!?! What's sure, that they aren't photographers… Too bad! IMHO without this default - unacceptable for my use - the GX7 should be the best camera of the year.

0 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (8 months ago)

It was awkward during the first shooting session - but already on the second one I have used to it and forgotten about it. Really not a big deal.

Also, do not forget that there is a dial around the release button. To be useful, it had to be at the tip of the finger.

0 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (8 months ago)

The location of the shutter is exactly were it should be, it is 1.5 knockels from the side of the camera. The way your finger naturally bends. It is exactly the same distance as leica M*-M9/M, Nikon F*-3, all Fs, pre F4, canons pre EOS, Pentaxs, etc. Should I go on?

3 upvotes
T3
By T3 (8 months ago)

You made the very common mistake of making a handling assessment based on very short experience, while comparing it to your own pre-conceived notions and biases. The result was inevitable: you were dissatisfied.

I've used so many different cameras over my life time, it's ridiculous. And every single one seems a bit awkward at first, especially when you approach it with a pre-conceived notion, or are comparing it with something you are more familiar with. Big mistake! Long story short, I got used to every camera I used, and ended up enjoying each one of them!

As for what "all leicaists will confirm", that's a bunch of baloney. Leica rangefinders are very non-ergonomic (their design basically pre-dates the science of ergonomics, which is why Leicas have practically no ergonomic body design considerations), and yet "leicaists" will yap endlessly about how wonderfully ergonomic those cameras are. LOL.

Get over your pre-conceived biases. That's the only problem here. Not the camera.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
12 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (8 months ago)

I have used leica Ms all my life along with other cameras and never felt the need to define myself as "leicaist". So, no, a "thinking" brain is not fixed on any one design, leica or otherwise.

And, yes, Leica RULES, even if only in my head:-)

3 upvotes
concert photographer
By concert photographer (8 months ago)

Why is it not possible to use most Olympus lenses on Panasonic cameras? (and vice-versa). I thought they did work together since 7 years to achieve this goal?
I shot some pictures with the 9-18mm on the GX7: horrible! It simply doesn't WORK. Strange that nobody ever tried to do that before! before replying, please TRY yourself.
One issue will be soon the non waterproof tilted viewfinder: five minutes of rain on it in its upwards position and the whole camera is ruined.
Marc

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (8 months ago)

I am using 9-18mm on even GH1 for many years ..
check http://www.flickr.com/photos/hakeem-na/sets/72157628658823079/
or better www.lightnodes.com

0 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (8 months ago)

it isn't weatherproof!

1 upvote
kpaddler
By kpaddler (8 months ago)

I tilt the the LVF 90 degree, and lay on my back to avoid water getting in. Works perfectly...

3 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (8 months ago)

Baseless nonsense claims mate. Go away.

0 upvotes
T3
By T3 (8 months ago)

Not too smart, are you? Apparently, you don't understand the meaning of "non waterproof"!!! LOL. That's like complaining that you ruined your non waterproof watch because you wore it while swimming in your pool or taking a shower!!! Duh! It wasn't waterproof, fool!

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (8 months ago)

@naveed: he is talking about the gx7, not about your gh1.

@kpaddler: rotfl! :D

0 upvotes
nikonian86
By nikonian86 (7 months ago)

I have been using the oly 9-18mm on GX7 and it is my favorite lens. you might have a bad copy.

0 upvotes
steve_hoge
By steve_hoge (7 months ago)

Love the results from the Oly 9-18 on my GX7. The only thing that bugs me is the persistent "nag screen" to extend the lens.

0 upvotes
Ikay
By Ikay (7 months ago)

I disagree. I use the Oly 45mm f1.8 on my E-M5 AND my GX7 and get equally great results from both.

0 upvotes
davids8560
By davids8560 (8 months ago)

I would like to see more weatherproofed MILC's. I mean, "high quality, take everywhere cameras" they say - that is, unless it's cold or it's rainy!

I'm pretty sure only Olympus has weatherproofed MILC's, but I think none of the lenses are. Correct me if I'm wrong!

Isn't environmental sealing a fairly easy feature to add to a camera? All those little rugged compact cameras on the market right now might be tough, but every last one of them lacks the photographic power of a camera like this or, say, the tiny, new GM1.

I think environmental sealing would appeal to a lot of people. A tough little camera that's a real photographic tool, not a point-and-shoot.

Comment edited 12 times, last edit 15 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Mario G
By Mario G (8 months ago)

I totally agree that I would like to see more weatherproofing.

Olympus has weatherproofed also a few lenses (like the kit 12-50mm) - otherwise that's quite pointless to have only the camera as weatherproof - but still, the vast majority of lenses aren't so. Also Panasonic came up recently with waterproofing the GH3 and the 12-35 / 35-100mm F2.8 lenses.

However this is still just the one or two top-end cameras/lenses of each manufacturer that are waterproof, it should really be anything from midrange upwards, maybe just leaving out the cheapest cameras and kit lenses.

2 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (8 months ago)

Wrong. Panasonic do it. You have your choices.

I think people are completely unrealistic in how they think a camera smothered in buttons and dials, with pop up flashes and tilting viewfinders, and lenses that telescope to zoom or focus, is supposed to be pretty well fully sealed.

Also unrealistic in how they think a decent well built camera will spit sparks and die at the slightest hint of exposure to a shower or a few minutes of rain. It's amazing how over cautious so many are.

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (8 months ago)

bah!
I have a bag from a loaf of bread, in which I have an opening for the lens at the front. works fine on my nx20! lol ;-p

4 upvotes
Henderson May
By Henderson May (8 months ago)

looks good but generally I think mirrorless cameras lack the ability to do high speed sync with a small flash... seems to me that only Canon is catering this.. (270Ex II)

to me high speed sync in a small package is one of the critical factors for fill flash when travelling...

0 upvotes
TN Args
By TN Args (8 months ago)

I have never felt the need. What is the 'critical' application?

2 upvotes
pinholecamera
By pinholecamera (8 months ago)

Does anyone know definitively if there is a way to record only AUDIO with the mic? My current Cannon has this great feature and I hate to lose it. Thanks!

2 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (8 months ago)

I haven't come across this feature and I don't see it in the user manual. Are you using it for annotation?

1 upvote
pinholecamera
By pinholecamera (8 months ago)

No annotation, often I just want to get sound clips from my environment. This leaves me with two options. 1. Take a video and strip off the audio or 2. Carry around an audio recording device.

This camera seems to have pretty much everything else, too bad it is missing this feature.

1 upvote
Andy Crowe
By Andy Crowe (8 months ago)

@pinholecamera while it would be nice to have, TBH you'll probably get better quality audio from a cheap audio recorder than from any stills camera's built in mic.

1 upvote
TN Args
By TN Args (8 months ago)

Use your phone.

P.S. I am not aware of any EOS or G series Canon having mic-only recording. What model do you have?

2 upvotes
DoubleSwitch
By DoubleSwitch (8 months ago)

just keep the lens cap on and start recording. Voilà - audio only movie.

4 upvotes
pinholecamera
By pinholecamera (8 months ago)

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canons2is/

Cannon S2 IS is my current camera, besides my cell phone. Surprisingly, it actually takes great stereo recordings. It has been hard to find a replacement after all these years given its portability, manual controls and advanced features, EVF, rotating LCD, and close macro focusing (object can touch the lens).

True, I do sometimes use my cell phone for audio recording as well, but my app only uses one MIC so it creates mono, not stereo, recordings.

It is looking like I may have to go with an external audio recorder...bummer.

0 upvotes
pinholecamera
By pinholecamera (8 months ago)

Looking at the specs again, that little camera (S2 IS) even has image stabilization in movie mode. As an engineer, I suppose I don't understand the marketing decisions for feature inclusion/exclusion in new cameras.

0 upvotes
Andy Crowe
By Andy Crowe (8 months ago)

@pinholecamera funnily enough I still use my S3 IS' case to carry my GX1 :)

As for image stabilization there are many stabilised lenses available for M4/3 that will stabilise movies on the GX7, it's only non-stabilised lenses that use the IBIS.

I suspect the reason for not using IBIS during movie shooting is probably technical, such as the continuous usage causing it to overheat etc.

1 upvote
amig00
By amig00 (8 months ago)

What do you think? Its a good price? Or maybe i can find something better in this price ? If yes please recommend something! THX !

Comment edited 50 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (8 months ago)

The E-M5.

If you do not need tiltable EVF or e-shutter, then get the Oly E-M5.

I got myself the GX7 because I wanted to try a Panny camera. But E-M5 is cheaper now and is a mighty good deal.

0 upvotes
babalu
By babalu (8 months ago)

GX7 getting 2nd place in number of clicks, 1.1 % above E-M1 , seen on Sunday November 7th .

2 upvotes
perrycas
By perrycas (8 months ago)

I have had two mirror less cameras. The G3 and the xpro1. Wish someone would design a sliding panel to 'shield' all the buttons on the LH side. This one, like the G3 i had has too many opportunities to bump things. Xpro is similar. I built a thumbs rest the covered the buttons from accidentals and still allowed access. It works, but is a stop gap.

0 upvotes
babalu
By babalu (8 months ago)

To all fans and foes of the GX7 (including DPR staffers), take a look at this thread in the forums, it brings out some very nice features this camera offers,
most of which were regrettably never mentioned in the review :
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52505038

8 upvotes
igorek7
By igorek7 (8 months ago)

Wonderful camera but deceiving opinionated review.
I would suggest to read/view other reviews, such as:
http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/panasonic-gx7/panasonic-gx7A.HTM
http://www.ephotozine.com/article/panasonic-lumix-dmc-gx7-expert-review-22581
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/panasonic_gx7_review.shtml
http://www.pocket-lint.com/review/122758-panasonic-lumix-gx7-review
and many others http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3576244/52524444

Comment edited 14 minutes after posting
11 upvotes
Lensahand
By Lensahand (8 months ago)

This camera is very tempting, especially with it's silent mode compared to my GF-1 which makes such a loud noise that it's very offputting.

What's more offputting, though, is the depreciation on these m4/3 bodies. My GF-1 cost about £600 three years ago and now goes for £80, which in itself represents a bargain but for an early adopter that's dreadful.

Would I notice a huge leap in image quality from a first generation m4/3 to the latest models? Silence aside, that's the other thing that would make me consider this. Given how quickly these cameras fall in value, perhaps I need to stop myself and do the intelligent thing by waiting a year or so!

1 upvote
kpaddler
By kpaddler (8 months ago)

"Would I notice a huge leap in image quality from a first generation m4/3 to the latest models?"

That can be a tough thing to measure. If you are taking pictures on sunny days only, the difference is not as big between old and new. But if you take a lot of low-available light then there is significant improvements.

Of course, the camera has features that work very well. The LVF is well executed. The manual focusing is a head and neck above any other system, etc.

2 upvotes
WhiteBeard
By WhiteBeard (7 months ago)

In view of the infamous "rainbow effect" so decried in this review, I have had a G3 for 2½ years (same type of sequential EVF but lower res) and never had a complaint about "rainbow effect". The only way I could ever see it is by panning rapidly but even then, not an issue. This reviewer seems to be overly sensitive to it but should have taken this into consideration. I'd welcome comments about this so-called issue from long term users of the GX7 !

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (7 months ago)

i use the G3 for 1,5 year now. And while the rainbow effect is no issue for me the lower real world refresh rate is. sometimes completely losing whatever i was tracking.

I do not have that issue with optical viewfinder like the 1 in my K30. Evf's are getting better every year and i don't have experience with this particular model. But it's something te be aware off.

0 upvotes
Powerout
By Powerout (8 months ago)

to adrianf2

It's easy.
If camera is a full-frame or at least an APC sensor sized, it's the right camera defacto and has rights to be reviewed.
Nobody wants to open their minds and eyes to see the tendencies in the modern photography.
Pity.

2 upvotes
adrianf2
By adrianf2 (8 months ago)

What a mean spirited review, or at least the conclusions. I couldn't care less about the score or the gold stars, but in comparison with other reviews of cameras in the same class, the negatives are nit-picking at best, and the positives downplayed.

Of course those who run this site have to maintain the line that there is nothing wrong with this review, but I think any reasonably objective reader could pick the holes that others have mentioned a mile away.

Similar thing happened to the GH3, and the G5 wasn't even reviewed, but I guess readers can come to their own conclusions as to why this is happening.

I'm not a fan of conspiracy theories myself, but it's very difficult to explain.

22 upvotes
mrdancer
By mrdancer (8 months ago)

One of my first "enthusiast" cameras was a Panasonic FZ20 (superzoom bridge). Using the GX7 comes very naturally to me, as it is set up very similar to the FZ20, especially with regards to wheels, buttons, even the battery and SD card slots. Obviously, the GX7 is much more capable. I am still being surprised that, while taking shots with the 25/1.4 prime in low-light, the flash is usually not needed, even when flash is set to auto.

The fact that DPR rated this camera at 79% speaks volumes about how far cameras have come. Yes, a decade-old FF DSLR can probably take a better photo, but the convenience, speed and other features packed into these modern m43 cameras make them fantastic alternatives.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Aucupium
By Aucupium (8 months ago)

The tilting EVF seemed such a benefit (I fondly remember my old one from a Minolta Dynax) - so a shame to see it is such a weak feature. Being someone who likes an EVF, as I dont like to use glasses and so don't use the LCD for taking photos which M4/3 EVF actually works properly?

0 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (8 months ago)

And why is exactly a "such as weak feature??

LVF works perfectly with or without glasses. My friend with oly with dm5 is dumb founded how well it works with legacy lenses too.

0 upvotes
babalu
By babalu (8 months ago)

If you use glasses (or even if you don't), it's always nice to use an eyecup to keep stray light away . I remember the big pro dslr's like NikonF4 had it by default. Otherwise, this tilt EVF works perfectly well, and the vast majority of users never had any issue with it.
It's second only to the EVF of the E-M1 -and that one isn't tiltable.

2 upvotes
Jorginho
By Jorginho (8 months ago)

Yes....and it could have solved their problem. Incoming sunlight? How about looking downward??
Another thing: I lookedit up. The eyecup costs you an earthshattering 14.95 dollar. Would have been nice they mentioned it, as it is really peanuts when you spend 1000 dollars on a cam...

0 upvotes
magneto shot
By magneto shot (8 months ago)

panasonic, or (X) manufacturer.

Lets just release a really retro camera with 2 simple mode :

A)
1. auto (and just set to auto scene dont even ask)
or
2. full physical solid dials for : shutter, iso and Aperture.

B)
Instead of SD cards. Provide a side hollow compartment (where films are usually stored) and allow plugin of USB thumb/pen drive.

C)
2 connectors :-
1 ) connect to android
2) connect to iphone

Forget the filters. forget the wifi. Forget whatever that is not needed.

Then just stop producing cameras for 2 years.

1 upvote
N13L5
By N13L5 (8 months ago)

don't presume everybody only hooks up their camera to their phones, just because you do.

I *never* do that... But I do use wifi to connect to my laptop though, to have a big display of what I'm shooting, and to move pictures without having to plug around with the SD card.

1 upvote
stevens37y
By stevens37y (8 months ago)

>> Instead of SD cards...
nerd idea

0 upvotes
blade100
By blade100 (2 months ago)

I'm going to buy or GX7 (price $ 1000) or E-M1 (price about $ 1,300). What would you counsel me?

0 upvotes
Total comments: 559
1234