Previous page Next page

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Review

July 2014 | By Jeff Keller and Richard Butler
Buy on GearShop$897.99


Preview based on a production FZ1000 running firmware v1.0

At first glance, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 looks a lot like Sony's Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 large sensor, long zoom camera, but there's a precedent within the company's own range. It's been eight years since the FZ50 was introduced, so we can't imagine too many people are still waiting, but in some respects it appears Panasonic has finally created a replacement for that much-missed model. Taken as a whole, the FZ1000 can almost be seen as a synthesis between the two cameras.

Like the RX10, the FZ1000 features a 20MP 1"-type MOS sensor (and the suspicion has to be that it's a Sony chip), but, rather than the Sony's 24-200mm equivalent zoom range, the Panasonic reaches from 25 to 400mm equivalent. To stop the whole thing becoming enormous, the FZ1000's lens is slower than the Sony's: its maximum aperture rapidly drops from F2.8 towards F4.0 as you zoom in, but there are plenty of people who'll accept that decrease in return for the additional range.

In spirit, though, the large sensor, long zoom and articulated screen can't help but recall the FZ50, which offered a similar zoom and aperture range, despite featuring a much smaller 1/1.8"-type sensor. The FZ1000 is a much larger camera but the eight years of technological development that underpin it mean it's able to offer significantly higher resolution in terms of its viewfinder, rear screen, pixel count and video output. Panasonic has recently been pushing the superzoom sector with the likes of its constant F2.8 DMC-FZ200, but the return to a larger sensor format and a relatively bright lens is exciting.

When the RX10 was launched, it stood alone as a costly but hugely flexible camera that seemed equally intended for stills and video shooting: the ultimate travel camera, perhaps. The launch of the FZ1000 brings both cameras into focus, making clear that camera makers believe there is a niche for cameras that do a bit of everything in a single (albeit sizable) package. The big difference between the two cameras, though, is price: the FZ1000's $899.99 / £749.99 launch price is around a third lower than the Sony's was.

Since the FZ1000's launch, Sony US has reduced the list price of the RX10 to $999 and, because it's been on the market for a while, it's available a long way below list price in Europe. This reduces but doesn't abolish the gap in price between the two cameras, and it'll be interesting to see what street price the Panasonic settles to, after a few months.

Its use of a fast readout sensor and the four-core Venus processor means the FZ1000 becomes one of the first sub-$1000 cameras to capture 4K video. Anyone wanting footage they can show immediately will have the choice of shooting 1080p movies at 60, 30 or 24 fps (50, 25 and 24 in PAL countries). The video capability is supported by the inclusion of focus peaking, zebra exposure warnings, center point marker and 'Cinema-like' gamma profiles.

Key Features:

  • 20.1 megapixel 1"-type MOS sensor
  • 25-400mm equiv. F2.8-4 Leica lens
  • 5-axis 'Power OIS' stabilization
  • XGA OLED electronic viewfinder with 2.36M dots
  • 3-inch fully-articulated LCD with 920K dots
  • 4K (3840x2160) video at 30p, 100Mbps MP4
  • 1080p at up to 60p, 28Mbps (MP4 or AVCHD)
  • 120fps quarter-speed 1080p
  • 3.5mm microphone socket
  • Clean HDMI output
  • Zebra pattern and focus peaking
  • Wi-Fi with NFC
  • 360 shots per charge (CIPA standard)

It's not only the Venus processor that the FZ1000 shares with the GH4, it also features many of its customizable control points. These aren't quite so numerous as on its interchangeable lens cousin, due to the lack of touchscreen, but they're still pretty welcome on a 'compact' camera. The FZ1000 also offers the kind of hard-point controls, such as an AF drive mode switch and AEL button, that rarely make an appearance below the enthusiast interchangeable lens camera level.

The FZ1000 also gains the GH4's 'DFD focusing' - a means of determining roughly how far it needs to refocus, based on an understanding of the characteristics of the lens in out-of-focus regions. This aims to play the same basic role of on-sensor phase detection: a way of assessing the distance the camera needs to focus on, so that it can rush the lens to near that point before using contrast-detection to establish perfect focus.

The camera also features an in-camera Raw conversion option, which is a very welcome addition, letting you tweak a range of image parameters after you've taken a shot, applying different noise reduction and Photo Styles or making adjustments to brightness or the highlight and shadow response.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Comparison

The FZ1000's only real competitor is Sony's RX10, which also tries to offer a flexible zoom range plus high quality stills and video in a single package. We're also including the current breadwinner in Panasonic's superzoom lineup, the DMC-FZ200.

 
Panasonic DMC-FZ1000
Sony DSC-RX10
Panasonic DMC-FZ200
Sensor
20.1MP MOS
20.2MP BSI-CMOS
12.1MP MOS
Sensor Size (mm2)
116
116
28
Equivalent zoom range
25-400mm
24-200mm
25-600mm
Aperture range
F2.8-4.0
F2.8
F2.8
Equivalent aperture range
F7.6-10.8
F7.6
F15.5
Video recording formats
AVCHD, MP4
AVCHD, MP4
AVCHD, MP4
Maximum video resolution
3840x2160
1920x1080
1920x1080
Highest bitrate (for 1080p footage)
28Mbps (1080p60)
28Mbps (1080p60)
28Mbps (1080p60)
Battery life (Shots-per-charge, CIPA)
360
420
540
Built-in ND filter?
No
Yes
No
Dimensions (WxHxD)
137 x 99 x 131mm
129 x 89 x 120mm
125 x 87 x 107mm
Weight
831g
813g
588g

The lens

What does this mean in the real world, though? Have a look at the equivalent aperture comparison chart below:

Just like 'equivalent focal length,' equivalent apertures allow you to compare lens behavior side-by-side across cameras with different sensor sizes, by taking sensor size into account. The equivalent aperture figure gives a clear idea of how two lenses compare in terms of depth-of-field. It also gives an idea of low-light performance, since it also describes how much light is available across the sensor's area. However, differences in sensor performance mean this can only be used as a guide, rather than an absolute measure.

The FZ1000's maximum aperture drops off very quickly, as soon as you start to zoom, and by around 150mm equivalent, it's a whole stop slower than the Sony RX10. However, this still leaves it half a stop faster than the likes of the Olympus Stylus 1. On top of this, the FZ1000's lens then continues on to a very impressive 400mm equivalent focal length.

The only other way of achieving this level of reach with an effectively brighter aperture would be an APS-C DSLR with a superzoom like the Sigma 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 DC Macro OS HSM or Tamron 16-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD Macro (most closely represented by the Nikon 18-200mm shown here) - a combination that will be considerably larger, though can be had for similar amounts of money.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2014 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
17
I own it
170
I want it
29
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 390
123
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (47 min ago)

After this camera, I think that no premium compact and no medium/high CSC (at least in the 650$ + range) can come out w/o 4k recording.

Very well done, Panasonic.

1 upvote
herc182
By herc182 (2 hours ago)

What planet are a lot of you on comparing camera combinations with removable lenses to this? People looking to buy this camera want an all in one solution, not faff around changing lenses. Not to mention the MUCH higher cost to cover the same focal lengths!

I have owned three panaosnic cameras. The FZ20 (awful), LX3 (great) and LX7 (excellent). I sold the latter two because I finally realised, with a smartphone I dont use compact cameras enough. Also owned a Nikon D80 which was sold to get a D700.

This one interests me a lot because the photo quality looks great (to me) and I KNOW its a compromise. It will never better my D700, but then I wont have to lug that around with all its lenses for a day out with my family. I can if I want, but I dont have to.
Also, in this day an age of budget airlines, sometimes you cant carry all the stuff you want, especially with a kid, so an all in one works.

I will probably get one of these, but judge it on what it is rather than could be

0 upvotes
dinoSnake
By dinoSnake (9 hours ago)

I just realized that you gave this camera a Gold Award, 82% rating, without even touching on - or testing - the flash system. Flash is a notorious weak spot of compact / superzoom cameras (past owner) and you didn't test the built-in flash performance nor, especially, external flash or even better when used in conjunction with the (quoted) wireless system.

Is it pre-flash TTL? Independent built-in sensor? Power levels or compensation available? How is daylight fill flash performance - is the ratio pleasing or adjustable? Does the wireless system actually WORK (as advertised)??

I believe these are good questions that a potential buyer will hit up against - at the LEAST the daylight fill performance.

0 upvotes
Paul Fussell
By Paul Fussell (15 hours ago)

Does anyone know if there a telephoto conversion lens coming out for the FZ1000? Something similar to the DMW-LT55 1.7x lens for the FZ200?

0 upvotes
danieladougan
By danieladougan (21 hours ago)

I don't mind that the FZ1000 has an f2.8-f4 lens to add to the focal length. I just wish it could stay at f2.8 longer. Bend that curve in the other direction...line for line with the RX10 and then bend upward to f4 during the longer focal lengths. THAT would be killer.

0 upvotes
historianx
By historianx (23 hours ago)

Where's Yabokkie?

2 upvotes
mister_roboto
By mister_roboto (21 hours ago)

I think he went back on his meds.

1 upvote
redlinda
By redlinda (1 day ago)

Regarding ergonomics, I have small hands and would have difficulty holding the FZ1000. I love my new Sony RX10. It fits perfectly in my hand, I can reach all the buttons, and quality is tops.

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
halothane
By halothane (1 day ago)

In the UK, the Sony RX10 is now widely available for £649 ( with £50 cash back on £699) and the Panasonic is £749. ($1100 & $1250 respectively).
At those prices your choice will depend on what compromises you are willing to make - I have always been suspicious of bridge cameras, as they seem to promise much, but don't always deliver.

Alternatives with 1 inch sensors are limited to the Nikon 1, which with the evf kit would be not far off the price of Both these cameras together! So at present is a poor value comparison. For a similar size / weight, and £100 more, a Canon 100D and Tamron 16 - 300 would be a possible alternative; bigger sensor, better range but smaller apertures.

I would be happy to be given either the Sony or the Panasonic; but if I was buying one, I would choose the Sony, as it has a degree of weather sealing. YMMV!

Enjoy you photography!

BW

0 upvotes
Mike FL
By Mike FL (1 day ago)

I like the "weather sealing" as well, and hopefully that DPR will run some testing for the performance of the "weather sealing" .

Also, I world like to see if the RX10 will have WA (and Tele ) conversion lens available soon.

1 upvote
Craig from Nevada
By Craig from Nevada (1 day ago)

+1

0 upvotes
jkoch2
By jkoch2 (1 day ago)

"Weather sealing" means rubbery buttons and flaps. Would a "test" entail exposure to cool mist, sea spray, heavy rain, a sand storm, a very dusty road, pocket lint, or accidental dousing with a liter of spaghetti sauce, salad dressing, or beer?

I suspect there is an Achilles heel that the sealing can't control: the seams of the lens turret, which are always permeable to liquid or dust, and must suck in air (and contaminants) when the lens moves in or out.

0 upvotes
Craig from Nevada
By Craig from Nevada (23 hours ago)

I was thinking a nice road trip--say a hike through the tropics with a 14 year and his friends.

0 upvotes
BillyShooter
By BillyShooter (1 day ago)

"you must use the electronic [suhtter]" needs correcting.
Otherwise this seems a little bit light for a review of a camera that purports to do so much.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
wkay
By wkay (1 day ago)

Why absolutely no mention of white balance range or flash performance, I'm tired of Panny;s that turn everything near an incandescent bright lemon yellow.

1 upvote
ddixon
By ddixon (1 day ago)

I'm getting this as a travel camera, but am most excited about the video. 4K downsized in a 1080 timeline for super detailed resolution - 1080p120fps - 720p 240fps - yep, I'm in.

2 upvotes
chillgreg
By chillgreg (1 day ago)

It doesn't do 240fps - that earlier report has since been corrected.

0 upvotes
ddixon
By ddixon (1 day ago)

Corrected where? I'd like to read that but can't find it.

0 upvotes
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

Heres some Panasonic FZ1000 photos to judge for yourself https://www.flickr.com/search/?q=panasonic%20fz1000

2 upvotes
tampadave
By tampadave (1 day ago)

Nice photos. I did a side by side comparison of photos on flickr of both FZ1000 and RX10. Both just lovely photos.

For RX10: https://www.flickr.com/search/?q=sony%20rx10

Great site to open two windows to compare different photos from different cameras. Amazing what they can do with a 1" sensor.

1 upvote
oldfogey
By oldfogey (1 day ago)

So DPR - apart from the lens comparison and RAW image dynamic range questions frequently noted below.- How much video 4K or 1080P can the FZ1000 record on a single battery charge? Does the sensor overheat when long video clips are recorded? What are the filesizes/min? And How well does the IS system work?
By the way how can any lens based IS system do "5 axis" - i.e. (especially) correct roll? And what about flash - is the wireless control the same as Olympus's or would one have to invest in a different system?

2 upvotes
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

You sound ridiculous. Buy or rent it for yourself. Dpreview is not a concierge service. Even the top camera reviewers aren't gonna answer all these questions you have without donating $20 or so to their site. Theres no such thing as a free lunch :)

5 upvotes
jaykumarr
By jaykumarr (1 day ago)

princecody,
you are ridiculous. Dpreview (amazon.com) is THE LARGEST seller of cameras in the world.
And oldfogey can ask a question, to those who work for profit, though he reserves no right for an answer.

3 upvotes
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

Zzzzzzzzzzz.......

0 upvotes
Doug Sinnott1941
By Doug Sinnott1941 (1 day ago)

Princecody,
You're so right in your comments about "0ld Fogey"!
Cameras are so stuffed with features these days,any review might miss out some features.
As you say,if he's that concerned about various aspects of the camera,all of which are of little concern to me,he should go to his local camera shop,and try one for himself!

1 upvote
jkoch2
By jkoch2 (23 hours ago)

I don't have an FZ1000. Nor would I trust the earliest buyer reviews, since so many tend to be written within a few hours of purchase. But here's my $0.02 inkling:

Battery life and sensor heat control should be at least as good as the GH4, which has a larger sensor and can shoot 4k video for longer stretches than people might have hoped. 4k file size is large: best get a 128gb super-speed SDXC card, though a class 10 32gb will work. To edit 4k video requires a strong PC or software that employs proxy files.

The 5-axis IS will work in AVCHD mode, but not 4k, which supports only 3-axis. The IS will help, but not perform miracles. Video shot over 200mm equivalent will demand a steady hand and / or physical stabilization of some sort. Stabilization of video is a much tougher proposition than with still photos.

2 upvotes
oldfogey
By oldfogey (15 hours ago)

jkoch2 has the "Right Attitude" while "Prince-cody" is clearly a fanboy. If you have ever been stuck having to change batteries while trying to record a presentation with the camera on a tripod you would know what a serious issue battery life can become. Unfortunately manufacturers don't often provide this sort of information although it can be vital - and the "try it for yourself" approach really would make the effort spent reading reviews pointless. My question about "roll" correction is one that doesn't seem to have come up in discussions of image stabilization - but it is one area in which IBIS systems may have a definite advantage over optical stabilization.

Comment edited 45 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (1 day ago)

Pricey. Largish.

And frankly, I'm still skeptical of the bridge cameras.

Though, sometimes, I want to buy one of the Pana FZ cameras just to experience first-hand what all those Pana users are raving about. After owning the GX7 for 6+ months, I have absolutely no doubt that Pana is capable of producing a camera to rave about.

0 upvotes
Lab D
By Lab D (1 day ago)

forpetessake is once again trying hard.
But most know this camera is going to be extremely popular and offers video straight out the camera that is higher resolution than ALL Sony cameras under $4000. The reality DSLRs with disabled VFs and noisy lenses are not good for video.

1 upvote
jkoch2
By jkoch2 (23 hours ago)

The Sony AX100 shoots 4k video and sells for around $1,900.

Comment edited 9 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Lab D
By Lab D (23 hours ago)

I meant to say Stills camera, but you are right. The AX100 which is not meant for shooting stills, has the same sensor as the FZ1000 and a shorter lens, does sell for $1100 more. Both output 4K.
For almost everyone the FZ1000 is clearly a better option due to so many more features such as DFD focusing, better stills, longer range lens, etc.
If you only want to shoot video and have an extra $1100 you don't need, that large camcorder might be better.

2 upvotes
minzaw
By minzaw (1 day ago)

I would buy it too

0 upvotes
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (1 day ago)

This is a great camera, I use Micro Four Thirds System but I will buy the Lumix FZ-1000 and maybe in the future with the advances of sensors I will use only 1" sensor.

Well done Panasonic.

7 upvotes
yonsarh
By yonsarh (1 day ago)

I have GM1 and now moving onto FZ1000

1 upvote
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

I decided for my *new camera of choice after much trial and error & went with the EM1 & Panasonic Leica 15mm. I will probably buy this because it is revolutionary. Actually I talked to Panasonic US today & they already sold their 1st batch in minutes. This camera is a game changer. Ive seen 4k against the GH4 & the FZ1000 looks better.

0 upvotes
frankje
By frankje (1 day ago)

DPR, I am very sorry that in your last reviews of cameras with a fixed lens (Sony, Panasonic) you don't say anything about their macro capabilities and - quality. People might be interested in this, I think.

0 upvotes
jkoch2
By jkoch2 (23 hours ago)

An Alberta camera retailer has posted a video that addresses the FX1000 macro performance.

0 upvotes
forpetessake
By forpetessake (1 day ago)

If you want a superzoom, just get any lightweight Nikon/Canon DSLR and attach an 18-200 zoom to it and it will be ahead of this Panasonic in every way. Or if you want a mirrorless camera, get a Sony A6000 with 18-200 zoom, or Samsung with 18-200, or Olympus with 14-150.
Only those who are interested in half baked 4k video may find this camera interesting.

1 upvote
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (1 day ago)

Well, I don't agree.

:)

8 upvotes
Geekapoo
By Geekapoo (1 day ago)

Yea, I pretty strongly disagree as well. YOU go ahead and buy one of those cameras in any particular configuration you want for the zoom...the FZ1000 and RX10 are game changers for bridge zooms, same way as the RX100 and soon to be released LX8 are game changers for the P+S pocket camera crowd

1 upvote
Dan Tong
By Dan Tong (1 day ago)

First of all the video may not be as good with the DSLR's

and

Second a really good 18-200 will be very expensive and certainly slower and probably of lower quality.

However, for still pictures I would have to agree with you, the APS-C stills will be much better quality and low light sensitivity will be incomparably better.

3 upvotes
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (1 day ago)

Yeah Yeah.

The good is that there are brands and cameras for every taste and needs.

2 upvotes
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

All the professional's Ive talked to have sold their bulky Canon & Nikon cameras & went with Micro Four Thirds or Fuji. Canon & Nikon haven't innovated in the last 10 years just tweaked old tech & marketed well.

Comment edited 9 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
Valiant Thor
By Valiant Thor (1 day ago)

And those that are completely baked will continue to live in their Nikon/Canon DSLR Matrix.

0 upvotes
technic
By technic (22 hours ago)

even the still image quality of the DSLR won't be better by definition. For the same reach you need a lens like the Tamron 16-300 which is a very compromised optic, more so than the FZ1000 lens. The DSLR may win easily on noise performance in low light conditions (I couldn't care less about that ...), and in DR (but only for Nikon, not much advantage for Canon DSLRs), but probably not for sharpness across the frame and across the zoom range.
AF of the FZ1000 will probably be faster and more accurate than most 'lightweight' Canikon DSLRs with cheap consumer zooms, and the framerate will be much higher. Sometimes getting the shot is far more important than having the 'best image quality' while the subject has disappeared from the frame. Add to that the 4K video and many other features that don't even exist on DSLRs and it is clear how biased this 'DSLR is ahead in every way' claim is.

0 upvotes
A Girard
By A Girard (14 hours ago)

"Ahead in every way eh?
Well it would be ahead in how much you'd pay for your combo as you will be paying more for it so I'll give you that (and probably even true for used gear).
But the combo you suggest, is it
Ahead in focus performance? no
Ahead in focus performance while using the LCD? definitely not
Ahead in video quality and usability? Uhmm no
Zoom range? Non non non
Ahead in Frames per second shooting? nope
I could go on, but I'm lazy.
Point isn't to say one camera is better than the other, just that your statement of your suggested combo being "better in every way" is factually wrong.

1 upvote
John Miles
By John Miles (1 day ago)

I repost to the top just so it is clear that the FZ1000 is not "much bigger" than the FZ50 as stated:

FZ1000 136.8 x 98.5 x 130.7 mm (1.76L box volume)
FZ50 141 x 86 x 142 mm (1.72L box Volume)

The FZ1000 is half an inch higher than the FZ50 to get the lens diameter in but is otherwise smaller than the FZ50.

2 upvotes
geek101
By geek101 (1 day ago)

One thing to remember is that the FZ50 is not a Pinoccio camera: the zoom is internal.

1 upvote
RFC1925
By RFC1925 (1 day ago)

Let's all just start reposting our posts to the top.

2 upvotes
grasscatcher
By grasscatcher (1 day ago)

I don't mind the relative aperture size. Given the zoom range, I like the "f/8 and be there". :)

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

I would never use F8 on a camera like this.

2 upvotes
minzaw
By minzaw (1 day ago)

Never say never

0 upvotes
grasscatcher
By grasscatcher (1 day ago)

@BarnET, I was referring to f/8 RELATIVE aperture size (the FZ1000 starts at 7.6, so it's almost there already).

0 upvotes
grasscatcher
By grasscatcher (1 day ago)

"It's been eight years since the FZ50 was introduced, so we can't imagine too many people are still waiting,..."

Actually, my wife and I are still using the FZ20. Yes, we have a few newer P&S cameras. However, the FZ20 is still our go-to camera because we like the zoom and images are not bad. Yes, it has a tiny 1/2.55 sensor, but has the constant aperture f/2.8, a lot of glass for that sensor. The FZ1000 is the camera we've been waiting for...just hope price goes down a bit over the next six months...

1 upvote
marc petzold
By marc petzold (1 day ago)

*If* Panasonic would have designed maybe a 24-300mm/F2.8 aperture lens, and not for 850 EUR, but instead 600 EUR then (all is plastic apart from the lens barrel of the FZ1000 Body) it'll sell like hotcakes!

Anyway, nothing bad meant - but i can't imagine while DPR, which is usually testing much higher quality DSLR/DSLM Bodies and lenses, are raving so much about the FZ1000. It may have a good IQ, but DR is limited, and the sensor quality is in no ways equal to good APS-C DSLRs, it's just a 1 inch Sensor, but still a very good one - the best from Sony out yet.

just my 2 cents

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
FuhTeng
By FuhTeng (1 day ago)

I'd love to have the chance to compare this and the RX10 together. They both seems like terrific cameras.

1 upvote
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

From the samples I've seen online Panasonic FZ1000 has finer details while the RX10 has less detail & alot of moire.

0 upvotes
Yannis1976
By Yannis1976 (1 day ago)

Would be interesting to compare with similarly priced m4/3 zoom kits e.g. G6+14-140mm or Oly+14-150mm. Also there is no mention I think about macro performance.

4 upvotes
jaykumarr
By jaykumarr (1 day ago)

Absolutely... This camera should have been tested against a 18-250 lens & APS-C SLR.

0 upvotes
dannyboyc4
By dannyboyc4 (1 day ago)

Does anybody know what the flash sync speed is on the FZ1000?Also how does the flash exposure look vs the RX10,RX100 iii?Thanks

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

http://robknightphotography.com/lumix-fz1000-test/
it seems too sync with flash at all shutterspeeds.

How it works in the real-world is still an mystery but it looks very promissing.

Looks like an leafshutter mechanism considering the fastest speed is only available at F2.8.

0 upvotes
dobbre
By dobbre (1 day ago)

I haven't read through all comments so maybe somebody adressed this already but when I opened review yesterday at the top of the page right bellow photo of fz1000 there was sentence that preview is base on production fz1000 running firmware v0.3. Today there is written the same but firmware is v1.0.
There is huge difference in that and in our way of looking at this review as a relevant decision factor. Maybe Jeff Keller could confirm does all of the facts stated in this review reflects v1.0 model performance or part of the review is based on v0.3 model?
Thank you!
Regards, Ilija

0 upvotes
Jeff Keller
By Jeff Keller (1 day ago)

0.3 was considered "production" by Panasonic. We updated to 1.0 because of burst mode issues, which were resolved by the new version of the F/W.

1 upvote
marc petzold
By marc petzold (1 day ago)

That's way interesting Jeff, i can't remember any Firm into the business which would consider a 0.3 Firmware "production" - for myself, the number just means "beta" into it's way early stage - far from being considered as final. A 1.0 number is usually always the firmware starting version.

0 upvotes
dobbre
By dobbre (1 day ago)

Jeff thank you for quick response. I'm just not sure from your answer was the whole review done with v1.0 model or not, and if not which parts of review were performed with v0.3 model?

0 upvotes
Sirandar
By Sirandar (1 day ago)

I am fairly impressed with this camera, and if I hadn't bought an EM5 I would probably get one.

The dynamic range and low light performance isn't nearly as good and the FZ1000 seems pretty noisy above 800

BUT

To never have to change a lens actually outweighs both these cons for everyday practical use.

From my experience with the Pana FZ30, I found that the lack of dynamic range and telephoto end that was too slow to be useful are the only reason I am stilll not using it, megapixels be damned.

The dynamic range on the FZ1000 isn't bad .... may not be a limitation.

I have a suspicion that the telephoto end of the FZ1000 and may be still to slow to capture great pics in anything but the brightest light. That and the noise at high ISO, may limit this camera at the long end.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Sirandar
By Sirandar (1 day ago)

The 5 axis stabilization on the EM5 has trouble getting truly sharp images at the long end of my 40-150 Oly lens and looking at the magnified live view in manual focus shows why .... there is a terrible amount of shake at 150.

I would also guess that stabilization will also struggle on the long end of the FZ1000, perhaps even in good light. The image won't be terrible, but looking at 1:1 you will see ghosting that makes the overall image fuzzy.

I wish Pana made this camera with a shorter zoom but a wider aperture. I have a feeling that the zoom range in anything other than bright light would be better if cropping is considered. Maybe not.

I wonder why Pana didn't make this camera more weatherproof as there is less to seal. It would make an awesome bush camera.

0 upvotes
tt321
By tt321 (1 day ago)

A lot of the feature crippling has to do with the GH4, unfortunately. They have to not get one of their cheaper cameras to step on the toes of their most expensive unit.

For really long tele work under non-ideal lighting, maybe the forthcoming Olympus 300/4 coupled with the best M43 sensor at the time when the lens becomes available will be the best choice, if one does not want to work with an SLR.

0 upvotes
jkoch2
By jkoch2 (1 day ago)

'..camera with a shorter zoom but a wider aperture..."

The LX8, perhaps? To be seen.

0 upvotes
Lucas_
By Lucas_ (1 day ago)

Sony RX10

0 upvotes
technic
By technic (22 hours ago)

"I have a suspicion that the telephoto end of the FZ1000 and may be still to slow to capture great pics in anything but the brightest light. "

Why do you think that? Seems a ridiculous statement to me. f/4 for a 400mm lens (for this sensor size or bigger sensors) is plenty bright for most subjects, unless you want to work in near darkness which is not the typical conditions for a 400mm lens. There are f/2.8 400mm lenses but those are big and VERY heavy...

0 upvotes
harry
By harry (1 day ago)

Now that Panasonic had FZ200 (1/2.3" sensor) and FZ1000 (1" sensor), would it make sense for Panasonic to make something like a FZ500 (1/1.7" sensor) that captures most of FZ1000's features but with a smaller body/lens? With a 1/1.7" limited to 10 MP for all practical purposes, it would likely produce similar ISO performance to a 20 MP 1" sensor.

Personally, I found the 4K video intriguing. After the World Cup that just finished, I have been seriously considering a 4K HDTV for home, replacing my "ancient" 50" plasma HDTV with only 720p resolution.

1 upvote
technic
By technic (1 day ago)

"With a 1/1.7" limited to 10 MP for all practical purposes, it would likely produce similar ISO performance to a 20 MP 1" sensor."

No it would NOT, not even by a long shot. Maybe it would be close on a per pixel basis but that is irrelevant. You could downsize the 20 MP 1 inch sensor image to 10 MP and improve 'noise performance' further.

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

it's 46mm2(1/1.7 inch) vs 116mm2(1 inch)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sensor_size

It would be very close on pixel level since both have acces to similar BSI technology too.

That said Technic is right. You look at a 20mp file more zoomed out. So you will not see the noise as obvious on your screen nor in print.

Downsizing doesn't improve noise performance unless you look at pixel level. Which is hardly relevant anyway.

That said i think an FZ250 with an 1/1,7 inch with 10mp (upgraded BSI lx7 sensor?) would be an great product. With the same 4K ability. Since 4k uses an 8mp crop anyway.

It could make the camera lighter or the lens faster. While still keeping the price low. The only thing you will lose is resolution and detail in stills. and total image noise

Comment edited 22 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
harry
By harry (23 hours ago)

Thanks, BarnET. That is what I was referring to in my post. A smaller sensor definitely has compromises, but as long as I got 4K, excellent AF performace on par with FZ1000, and a smaller body, I am game.

0 upvotes
CallMeAlan
By CallMeAlan (1 day ago)

And still, with only about a week before release, no sign of it on Amazon UK, not even for 'email me when available'. To them, it doesn't exist.

0 upvotes
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

Panasonic US had a batch in stock but sold out within minutes the supply & demand is so high.

0 upvotes
kff
By kff (1 day ago)

a cheap APS-C camera with a compact lens like Pentax DA 50/1.8 + 35/2.4 would give a better picture quality and with cropping to 1" too :)

But why not Panasonic or Sony :)

0 upvotes
technic
By technic (1 day ago)

how would that work for focal lengths like 25, 100, 200, 400 mm equiv.??

5 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

Bunch of old K-mount lenses would work.
I still have an 135mm F2.5 takumar lying arround that is tack sharp at f4.

But that means a whole bag of primes and an K50ish. constantly changing the lens you will need.

And then Pentax has no video. Well it does but let's just pretend it ain't there.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Geekapoo
By Geekapoo (1 day ago)

Such a bizzare statement kff. When I use a zoom lens, the ability to view at 200mm, 300mm, 400mm etc. help me define the shot, it being interesting and how to best compose (framing, f-stop, shutter speed). Ys, I will crop some of my pics after the fact to place focus on parts of the image...but that is not what telephoto photography is all about...at least to me. The folks who would use a 50mm lens and crop or talk about using the RX10 to 200 and crop...I just don't get it (more your coment vs. the use of the RX10 zoom. Maybe a cheap APS-C will give a better image overall in some circumstances...but you are not going to get the type of pictures with a 50mm that you will get at 300mm or 400mm from a creativity standpoint IMHO.

0 upvotes
Dimit
By Dimit (1 day ago)

If at 400mm the 5 axis stab.(?) works fine then I'd consider 82 ranking as fair.
But...DPR had nothing to say about,although it should be the MAIN chapter in the review!
Meanwhile my idea is that RX10 is a more quality product overall.

5 upvotes
PeterNMIF
By PeterNMIF (1 day ago)

Where in the zoom range does the aperture drop from F2.8 to F4?

0 upvotes
Nat Whilk
By Nat Whilk (1 day ago)

See the chart in the section on The Lens on Page 1 of the review.

1 upvote
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

pretty much as soon as you touch the zoom ring.
25-135mm equiv.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
sghound
By sghound (1 day ago)

thx to Jeff and Richard for another great review.

4 upvotes
kpaddler
By kpaddler (1 day ago)

"Easy to accidentally rotate focus/zoom ring"

Yes. Of course! There should be a locking mechanism that doesn't allow focusing or zooming without you having left index finger in your left ear, and your right big toe in your left pants pocket in order to use the function.

0 upvotes
joyclick
By joyclick (1 day ago)

I wll wait for the FZ7000

0 upvotes
JEROME NOLAS
By JEROME NOLAS (1 day ago)

I will freeze myself and set up the machine to wake me up in the year 3000...I think there will be no Panasonic...

Comment edited 29 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
utomo99
By utomo99 (1 day ago)

Panasonic please prepare new version:
1. Look at the cons list
2. use New sensor which work better on low light.
3. Body redesign so it is better

0 upvotes
pacnwhobbyist
By pacnwhobbyist (1 day ago)

Seriously?

5 upvotes
technic
By technic (1 day ago)

'use new sensor which work better on low light'

I'm curious, what sensor should they use with better low light performance, or are you going to design it for them?

3 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

I am with Technic.

What is available that is better.
A larger sensor would make this lens impossible.
The rumoured organic sensor maybe but that's still some years away from mass production.

0 upvotes
Beckler8
By Beckler8 (1 day ago)

One important video advantage of this type of camera, which you lose with SLR and ILC options, is power zoom. Makers of those cameras continue to (effectively) ignore this feature, for no good reason.

0 upvotes
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (1 day ago)

While you are mostly correct, Sony does have an excellent 18-105mm f4 OSS power zoom lens for their ILC cameras. They are now launching a 28-135mm f4 power zoom for the full frame models.

1 upvote
BaldCol
By BaldCol (1 day ago)

As someone who has no interest at all in video I hope manufacturers continue to 'ignore' this feature. Manual zooming is faster and easier.

6 upvotes
Beckler8
By Beckler8 (1 day ago)

Except they're already catering, massively, to video users. So power zoom is then needed - just as it exists in every single video camera ever made.

As for the sony lenses, nice options - just very few, and I don't think it's variable speed.

0 upvotes
Lab D
By Lab D (1 day ago)

Add a zoom lever to a DSLR lens and often you get better control than a power zoom. For example, many complain that the RX10 power zoom is painfully slow.

1 upvote
Giklab
By Giklab (1 day ago)

Pentax still support their PowerZoom lenses ;)
Sadly, the best features are not available anymore :(

Comment edited 22 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

Powerzoom is handy for video not stills.
And let's be honest. Pentax and video?!
that won't mix.

0 upvotes
gmke
By gmke (1 day ago)

Ouch. I had higher hopes for the ISO range, that the noise reduction fall-off would be gentle out to 1200 ISO, but no. It appears you get one stop only over 1:1.6 and two stops less than top of the line 4/3 or APS-C sensors. Loss of detail at 1600 ISO is pretty ugly. Of course the relatively fast f2.8-4.0 aperture over such a wide zoom range backs you away from the need to go there very often. How different would things be if, instead of 20MP, a 12MP 1-incher had been available? The average fabrication error compared to perfect pixels would be much smaller, translating to an ISO range that would be a bit deeper and a bit more serious compared to DSLR sensors.

2 upvotes
technic
By technic (1 day ago)

"How different would things be if, instead of 20MP, a 12MP 1-incher had been available?"

Very little, probably so small that the average user would not see it in practice. This issue of 'too small pixels' hardly applies anymore for current sensors. If you definitely want less noise, you can always downsize the 20 MP image to 12 MP, at the cost of lower resolution ;-)

1 upvote
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

Curious how 17 people own this camera already when it hasn't shipped yet?

2 upvotes
technic
By technic (1 day ago)

even more curious: how is it possible that 29 already returned the camera? I smell some anxious RX10 owners ;-(

2 upvotes
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

There is only a number of people (reviewers) in the world that have been able to use it so the 29 people who said they've had it is total BS!

0 upvotes
princecody
By princecody (1 day ago)

Paul stop being in denial. It's obvious you don't like change-especially revolutionary change to the camera landscape. The days of lugging around 50 pounds of equipment is over. In addition if you didn't care about this *new camera why even comment & rant about it?

1 upvote
Paul Kersey Photography
By Paul Kersey Photography (2 days ago)

This camera, with a 28mm 2.8(or faster) fixed lens would be fine for me, even if priced as high as $599

1 upvote
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (1 day ago)

Honestly for such a requirement just get a Nikon J1 (they sell for $399 maybe and get a 10mm f2.8 lens (28mm equivalent).

Will easily satisfy your requirement.

However there is zero option out there for a fairly large sensor super zoom camera other than the Sony RX10 and this Panasonic FZ1000.

3 upvotes
Babka08
By Babka08 (1 day ago)

It's called an RX100. F/1.8 in fact. And it's less than $599.

2 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

brendon1000 Nikon J1 are you even remotely serious.

a bunch of better options from best to good
Ricoh GR
http://www.amazon.com/Ricoh-GR-Digital-3-0-Inch-Backlit/dp/B00CGY4N7Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1406065939&sr=8-1&keywords=ricoh+GR

Samsung NX mini + 9mm
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-20-5MP-Compact-Interchangeable-Digital/dp/B00IVEHT4C/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1406066040&sr=8-3&keywords=nx+mini

panasonic GM-1 with 14mm

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

another great option and very cheap too
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-NEX-F3-Compact-System-Camera/dp/B00AYGLO4G/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1406066333&sr=8-3&keywords=nex+3

with this lens
http://www.amazon.com/Sigma-19mm-f2-8-Lens-Sony/dp/B00BPZD0M4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1406066368&sr=8-1&keywords=sigma+19mm+f2.8

2 upvotes
Nat Whilk
By Nat Whilk (2 days ago)

In the cycling picture the depth of field is so large that nearly the entire scene is in focus. How does that demonstrate the capabilities of the camera's AF system?

1 upvote
brownie314
By brownie314 (2 days ago)

1" is getting very interesting. Now where is my RX1 equivalent with a 1" sensor that I can put on my keychain? Sony - get to work on that and send me the prototype for testing.

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (2 days ago)

Could everyone stop calling these cameras “Point and Shoot” cameras. This camera is capable of being used as a point and shoot but it is not limited to only that functionality like the category name suggests. Even professional cameras have a full auto mode like this camera does.

This is a Compact Mirrorless Fixed Lens Super Zoom camera. Nothing more. Nothing Less.

6 upvotes
Sonyshine
By Sonyshine (1 day ago)

..it ain't compact..... ;))

5 upvotes
Ymanoel EOO
By Ymanoel EOO (1 day ago)

Planning on getting one of these in January on my trip to the US. But I have a problem: I just gave up on using my Nikon D7000: I guess we are not all going to be artistic photographers who can learn to use manual settings very well, and I really got tired, so I have put my D7000 out on sale. [Went back to my old, simple Olympus SP 800UZ point and shoot for now.]

But since I can afford it, I want to get something that is bigger and better [BUT still can be used as a basic Point and Shoot, more or less.]. The FZ1000 seems to fit!

I take family pictures and pictures on the range, with some close-ups of projects I'm working on. Yes, I print a few, but most go online.

Now, my question is - can I use the FZ1000 as a "higher-level" point-and-shoot type camera? Can I just put this in "Auto" setting and use this for reasonably good holiday snaps, family stuff, zoomed pics etc? Without seeming like a twerp? [Apologies to all twerps out there!]

0 upvotes
forpetessake
By forpetessake (1 day ago)

Probably people call it P&S because the image quality, and slow lens are typical for P&S. In many respects it reminds the film era P&S superzooms.

Comment edited 55 seconds after posting
1 upvote
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

for gods sake man let's compare a typical P&S lens with this
canon elph 340 hs 5.64 crop
4.5mm-54mm f3.6-f7 = 25-300mm f20-40

panasonic FZ1000 2.7 crop
9.1-146mm f2.8-4= 25-400mm f7.56-11

I am sorry but i don't know how many times more light F11 gathers in comparison to F40.

0 upvotes
Paul Kersey Photography
By Paul Kersey Photography (2 days ago)

This camera makes m43 pricing look like a bargain.

4 upvotes
mosc
By mosc (2 days ago)

There aren't many 4/3rds lenses that cover 25-400. Olympus has a 18-180 10x zoom, but in 4/3rds terms this lens is 12.5 to 200, 16x. The wide ends of these are completely different. I'm not one to be satisfied with 36mm at the wide end. So then you're already out $500 and you need ANOTHER lens that covers something wider... and you can't find one for $400. And we still haven't actually found a body yet. No, this is very competitive with 4/3rds pricing. 4/3rds glass is not cheap.

And what's the cheapest current model 4/3rds body that has a viewfinder anyway? The $700 om10? This is a $900 body with a lens 4/3rds can't match in a single package that has a viewfinder.

And all that's pretending like 4K video isn't a selling point on this camera. If it is, there is no equivalently priced competition, not even close.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
13 upvotes
Paul Kersey Photography
By Paul Kersey Photography (2 days ago)

I guess if you have certain needs.

1 upvote
mosc
By mosc (2 days ago)

I did find this:
http://www.amazon.com/OM-D-E-M10-Double-Zoom-DZKIT-SLV/dp/B00I2KPLZY/

Which has a viewfinder and covers 28mm - 300mm. Not exactly 25-400 but close. It's also more expensive and the FZ1000 will surely drop in price before it goes off the market while I can't imagine that combo getting much cheaper in the next year. Is there a real optical advantage to that package over this 1" superzoom? Well, the 1" is a stop faster which really helps make up for the crop difference. 4/3rds sensors aren't huge themselves. I'd say it's pretty comparable.

0 upvotes
ultimitsu
By ultimitsu (2 days ago)

how much do you pay for a m43 camera with a 12.5-200/3.8-5.4 lens?

2 upvotes
Paul Kersey Photography
By Paul Kersey Photography (2 days ago)

Your acceptance of mediocre image quality is a given when buying a lens approaching such an epic range.

1 upvote
ultimitsu
By ultimitsu (2 days ago)

what are you on about? you asserted there exists m43 camera with similar spec but at lower cost, you have been asked to identify such an m43 camera, please do not detract from the issue.

1 upvote
fuego6
By fuego6 (2 days ago)

^^ Paul - keep denying and lugging your lens collection around with your on family vacations to capture your "perfect" f2.8 photos.. I'll happily carry my "all-in-one" and snap away some very very nice memories (your so called mediocre images) - oh.. and then throw it in my backpack and enjoy myself.

1 upvote
Paul Kersey Photography
By Paul Kersey Photography (2 days ago)

Not similar specs, better. Even mating a legacy lens on an older generation m43 is a better option. Fact.

1 upvote
Paul Kersey Photography
By Paul Kersey Photography (2 days ago)

Real men don't use backpacks or fanny packs. Incidentally, following the logic offered by fuego6 one should carry around a scratch pad and draw a facsimile of what they are seeing.

1 upvote
mosc
By mosc (1 day ago)

Oh, got it. Straight up trolling. Sorry, I thought for a second you actually wanted to make a point rather than laugh at people who do.

4 upvotes
Yannis1976
By Yannis1976 (1 day ago)

The G6+14-140mm is about the same price with FZ1000. I cant say whether it is better or not since I have been using it only for the last 3 months though

0 upvotes
Astropin
By Astropin (1 day ago)

Sure...but that is still a compromise (280mm vs 400mm equivalent).

0 upvotes
Yannis1976
By Yannis1976 (1 day ago)

sure it is, but with higher quality of the G6 sensor you are supposed to crop more and may reach that 400mm. I am still debating which of the 2 is better...

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 day ago)

The G6 sensor is no better then the BSI sony one.
It's an oldy that goes back to 2010

It has less dynamic range and colour depth as the sony 1 inch BSI.
The slightly better noise performance means nothing since the FZ1000 has a faster lens.

Would you mount that same lens on a GH3/4,gx7 or any after em-5 olympus. It would be difficult.

1 upvote
spitfire31
By spitfire31 (2 days ago)

I have searched through the whole article for "viewfinder" and found words to the effect that it's high resolution, has a good refresh rate and is "gorgeous".

But what about viewfinder LAG?

It's not the same as refresh rate. Low (imperceptible) viewfinder image lag is critical for capturing fleeting expressions and quick-moving wildlife, for example.

0 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (2 days ago)

Sounds like you need an SLR.

3 upvotes
spitfire31
By spitfire31 (2 days ago)

I've got an SLR. I was asking about the FZ-1000.

2 upvotes
MikeF4Black
By MikeF4Black (2 days ago)

"Imperceptible". So it doesn't matter.

4 upvotes
Geekapoo
By Geekapoo (2 days ago)

When looking for a 24/7 carry camera, I initially tried the Canon S100, which I sold to purchase an Olympus XZ-1. Neither camera gave me the type of performance I wanted. Was only when I purchased a Sony RX100 that I felt I was were I wanted to be re image quality...a compromise versus my APC and m43 cameras but much better than the standard P+S. Would have purchased a Sony RX10, but felt I had most of the range covered with my Olympus OMD EM5 with the f2.8 12-40 (Oly) and 35-100 (Panny) and going to 200mm was not where I wanted to be.

I see the FZ1000 as transformative, in the same way the RX100 (and the RX10)...but at a focal range up to 400mm and more with lower MP images/cropping. Much better than the $$$ and weight (the latter being more of a critical issue to me) to do something similar with a m43, APC or FF. I'll stongly assume be happy overall, given my experiences to date with cameras (unless Panny pulls a Fuji-like x10 disaster by capturing blobs LOL).

2 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (2 days ago)

The thing is that not many people need 400mm in a carry everywhere camera. Wide to short tele is far more important, esp. for random people and pet shots. The superzooms have usually been vacation or soccer mom cameras.

1 upvote
mosc
By mosc (2 days ago)

RX10 is so much brigther at 200mm than the FZ1000 that you are not doing it justice without also factoring in that the RX10 can crop more and get away with it. Equivalent aperture tells us that's about a tossup all way to 300mm. Really the FZ1000's tele advantage is strictly 300-400mm and for that it's slower from basically 28mm to 200mm. If you use a lot of variable focal lenghs other than 25mm and 400mm, you are better off with the RX10's lens. To me, the FZ1000 has more bells and whistles than the RX10 but as far as which lens is better, it's the RX10.

I'd still buy the FZ1000 over the RX10. It's cheaper and does 4K video. RX10 is pretty hard to argue with at $999 though.

2 upvotes
brownie314
By brownie314 (2 days ago)

Jogger - I agree. Supertele is sort of a specialty. Wide to short tele is much more important for what most people do most of the time. Would love to have seen something like 20 - 100 equivalent f/2.8.

0 upvotes
jkoch2
By jkoch2 (2 days ago)

400mm equivalent is for the birds, beasts, and belles one can photograph only from afar. Alas, there is no 5-axis stabilization in 4k video, so best to brace somehow.

1 upvote
Geekapoo
By Geekapoo (1 day ago)

Sorry, but having used the Sony HX200V since it came out, for me, the ability to go to 400mm and then crop some if needed is HUGE.

..especially if I don't need to switch lenses to do so.

Having bought lenses that cost $1k or more (the Olympus 12-40 and the Panasonic 35-100 as examples), a camera that goes to 400mm without a lens change coupled to a 1" sensor is a mighty fine camera IMHO. The proof will be how frequently I go to use it vs. my other cameras

Me = preorder for the FZ1000

Looking forward to owning it and adding it to my photo taking options. Panasonic can make a pretty good camera (loved my ZS3, GF1 and G3).

2 upvotes
Jon Ragnarsson
By Jon Ragnarsson (2 days ago)

This is the kind of camera people should buy instead of Rebels with a kit lens (which then never leaves the camera for the rest of its lifetime)

19 upvotes
jonkimball
By jonkimball (1 day ago)

Yet Canon will sell 10x as many rebel kits as this camera. These camera's confuse people. It's twice as expensive as the "real" camera - the DSLR like the wedding guy uses. So they opt for the $600 DSLR kit instead of the $1200 boutique one!

0 upvotes
Demon Cleaner
By Demon Cleaner (2 days ago)

"The RX10 doesn't shoot 4K, but it does have full sensor readout, which means that no lines are skipped."

DPR you're aware that the FZ1000 also does a full-sensor readout for 1080p? Because the above wording in the comparison makes it sound as though this is a unique feature of the Sony that the Panasonic lacks.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Total comments: 390
123