Previous page Next page

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Review

Buy on GearShop$1,299.9924 deals


Based on a production Olympus OM-D E-M1 with Firmware 1.0

The E-M1 is the second model in Olympus's OM-D series and extends the range further into semi-pro/enthusiast territory. There are two main distinctions that set the E-M1 apart from its little brother (the E-M5) - a more sophisticated autofocus system and a 'buttons for everything' design approach. As such the two models will coexist, with the E-M1 sitting at the very top of Olympus's lineup.

The biggest technological step forward on the E-M1 is the addition of on-sensor phase detection elements, giving the camera two distinct focus modes. The phase-detection system is used when lenses from the original Four Thirds system, which were designed for use that way, are attached. With native, Micro Four Thirds lenses, the camera will mainly stick with the contrast detection system that has proved so fast and accurate on the E-M5. Only if you use tracking AF will the camera utilize phase-detection information with a Micro Four Thirds lens.

The E-M1 also gains the excellent 2.3M-dot electronic viewfinder panel we first saw as the VF-4 accessory for the PEN E-P5. Not only is the resolution very impressive, but the viewfinder optics give a viewfinder with magnification of up to 1.48x (depending on display mode), which puts it only a fraction behind the 0.76x viewfinder in Canon's 1D X and ahead of Nikon's pro-grade D4 DSLRs.

There's also a more advanced 'TruePic VII' processor in the E-M1 that conducts a variety of lens corrections, when creating JPEGs, leading the company to proclaim the best image quality offered by one of its cameras. Not only can the E-M1 remove the colour fringing caused by lateral chromatic aberration, Olympus says that it also tunes its sharpening to take into account the lens's sharpness, and to combat any softening due to diffraction (particularly at very small apertures).

The biggest difference between the E-M1 and the E-M5, though, is the degree of direct control on offer. We really liked the E-M5's twin-dial control system, but the E-M1 goes beyond that by providing button-and-dial combinations for quickly changing almost every imaginable setting on the camera. It's the kind of approach you don't usually get until the very top of manufacturers' lineups - it means you have to get used to where every function is, but can shoot fluidly once you have.

The E-M1 inherits the '2x2' dial approach Olympus previously used on the E-P5 - flicking a switch on the camera changes the dials from controlling shutter speed, aperture or exposure compensation to changing ISO and white balance. However, all this direct control doesn't come at the expense of the potentially slower but easier to find touch-screen interface - the E-M1 has this too. Overall the camera can be operated pretty much however you fancy.

Olympus OM-D E-M1 specification highlights:

  • 16MP MOS Four Thirds format sensor with no low-pass filter
  • On-sensor phase detection elements
  • Twin control dials (front and rear) with '2x2' dual-mode option
  • '5-axis' image stabilization with automatic panning detection ('S-IS Auto')
  • ISO 'LOW' (100 equiv) - ISO 25,600
  • Up to 10fps continuous shooting (6.5 fps shooting with continuous AF)
  • 1.04M-dot 3" LCD touchscreen display - tilts 80° upwards and 50° downwards
  • Electronic viewfinder: 2.36M-dot LCD, 0.74x magnification (equiv.), eye sensor
  • Built-in Wi-Fi for remote shooting and image transfer to smartphone or tablet
  • Dust, splash and freeze-proof (to -10 °C)

Gained over the E-M5

  • True Pic VII processor, with lens corrections
  • 1/8000 sec top shutter speed, 1/320 sec flash sync
  • Built-in microphone socket (rather than optional accessory adapter)
  • Flash X-sync socket
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
  • Focus 'peaking' display
  • In-camera HDR blending (two modes), previewed in viewfinder

Four Thirds is dead. Long live Four Thirds.

As well as representing the highest-end Micro Four Thirds camera yet, the E-M1's role is also about offering continued support for users of the original Four Thirds SLR system. Olympus created some very nice Four Thirds lenses, but the company struggled to make enough impact in the SLR market to justify the cost of continuing development for both systems in parallel.

The company claims to have studied what the E-M1 and a hypothetical 'E-7' SLR could offer, and concluded that, while image quality, durability and speed would have been the same, the OM-D design allowed both a substantial size advantage and a much greater viewfinder magnification than would be possible with an optical finder. As such the E-M1 should be considered the successor to the E-5.

We'll look at the performance of the camera with Four Thirds lenses in a little more depth later in this article. But in principle, the on-sensor phase detection autofocus system should be much more effective than contrast detection when it comes to controlling Four Thirds lenses, all of which were primarily designed to be driven by phase detection-based systems.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

Images which can be viewed at a larger size have a small magnifying glass icon in the bottom right corner of the image, clicking on the image will display a larger (typically VGA) image in a new window.

To navigate the review simply use the next / previous page buttons, to jump to a particular section either pick the section from the drop down or select it from the navigation bar at the top.

DPReview calibrate their monitors using Color Vision OptiCal at the (fairly well accepted) PC normal gamma 2.2, this means that on our monitors we can make out the difference between all of the (computer generated) grayscale blocks below. We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2013 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Olympus OM-D E-M1

Comments

Total comments: 2127
12345
giulianaN
By giulianaN (5 months ago)

I have just started shooting with my M-1. Of course the first thing I had to do was a studio shot ;-0, it was a product shot and it was spot on. Wine bottles and such and it did a great job and I didn't even shoot in RAW(need to figure out how to process this on my new software). The directions are a bit lousy, but worth figuring out. The Mysets really are helpful. And if I may add, I'm a retired prof, so I don't shoot daily these days but this camera is a joy to carry around, I'm 5'3" and with small hands so I can say the grip is no prob, and actually welcomed. Agreed, it's not "cute" or retro-looking, but it's easy to shoot with and cart about. I have gone with only primes so I do a lot of switching but I can bring everything with me and it's still lighter than my old Nikon and two lenses!

1 upvote
Fotohein
By Fotohein (5 months ago)

Im am mainly shooting portraits in Studio and I am using an Oly E-3 DLRS. I am considering moving up to a full frame DLRS to improve image quality. What I would like to see is a comparison of quality between E3 and E M-1 to be able to make the decision of going for the E M-1, which would allow me to retain my 4/3 lenses and save a lot of money or go full frame DLRS.

1 upvote
Photomonkey
By Photomonkey (5 months ago)

Portraits are not very challenging in terms of resolution. I started with a Canon 10D at 6MP and never had an issue with resolution even up to 40x60 inch prints.

I still display 30x40 inch prints in my studio made with an 8MP 1DmkII even though I now use the 5DmkIII.
You have all the resolution you need with EM-1 and have a ton of great lenses to boot.
I am actually getting a m43 kit for weddings and events where discretion and low weight are important. My Daughter's Oly EP-L2 convinced me that the quality was there.

Comment edited 36 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (5 months ago)

You don't really need a comparison. EM1 has 60% more resolution, has much more dynamic range (more like current APS-C sensors, at least 2/3 stop better in lighlights) and has about 3 stops advantage in high ISO's. 6 years is a long time in sensor tech. You're way overdue for an upgrade!

What should concern yourself more is if the E-M1 works best with your lenses. E-M1 has PDAF but not all 43 lenses work as well with it. You can check in the Olympus SLR forum (and not the m43 forum) where there's plenty of user experience topics with specific lenses. For example, the 12-60. 50mm f2 and the 150mm f2 seem to work well with it. The 300mm f2.8, not so much.

1 upvote
photohounds
By photohounds (2 months ago)

I had E3, nice cam, but I sold it - EM-5 leaves it in the dust - except for ZD lens focus speed.

I bought an EM-1 as well, that focusses the ZD lenses well.
IQ hoses the E3 and E5 - you won't regret the upgrade. Need a MMF adapter for the ZD lenses.
Get the grip too, so your ZDs balance better. :)

OMD's leave my Mamiya RB-67 shots in the Dust for IQ - my miles.
In dim light the EVFs (esp. the EM-1 leave ALL glass VFs at the door.)

See here:
http://photohounds.smugmug.com/Performing-arts/Eurobeat-by-Supa/

Feel free to browse the other galleries too.
Most shots taken with OMDs, full exif data available on most images.

0 upvotes
Valentinian
By Valentinian (5 months ago)

is E M1 AF faster than E M-5 AF with micro 4/3 lenses mounted on both cameras? how faster?

in other words: did Olympus improve the contrast AF ? or did contrast detection AF already reach its limit?

0 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (5 months ago)

I have both cameras. The EM1 AF with Oly glass is instant. Just lift, press the shutter all the way down, it will focus and fire at the same time. Make sure you set it so it doesn't release unless it's in focus.

It's a fraction faster than the EM5 but the biggest difference is in accuracy. The EM1 is signifigantly more accurate than the EM5. With the EM5 if you press to shoot; sometimes you end up with an unfocussed shot when the camera thought it was in focus when actually it wasn't. The EM1 is iin focus all the time. I've shot over 2000 frames and only had maybe 2 out of focus shots.

Also of importance is that the EM1 focusses MUCH better in low light even without the AF lamp assist on. It's faster and more accurate in low light.

It's fast enough that I don't even use the burst shot/tracking. I just press the shutter as fast as I need. More accurate too.

1 upvote
Alejandro del Pielago
By Alejandro del Pielago (5 months ago)

Hi, wansai: thank you to share your experiences.

I am considering get the EM 1. Although I would like to use that amazing 24-80mm F/ 2.8, I also think, at the same time, about the humble 24-100mm F/3.5-6.3. It`s well known that this lens is good but has limitations, for example the AC. Nevertheless, do you notice some improvements in its performance with the EM-1???

0 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (5 months ago)

sorry late reply. i only work the camera between 12-45mm and carry the primes at those focal lengths. the only zoom i use on it is the 12-40 pro. mainly shoot indoor events so zoom longer focal lengths hasnt been necessary for me. sorry cant answer that for you.

0 upvotes
Team Thor Expeditions
By Team Thor Expeditions (4 months ago)

Alejandro: I have both an E-M1 and E-M5 with the 12-50 and 12-40mm lenses. The new lens, the 12-40 is clearly better from a spec standpoint, but the kit lens holds its own by my tests. Plus it has a macro mode. That said, it sits on my shelf because the 12-40 has a larger (constant) aperture and the images are flatter focus across the whole field. Both are good lenses, but the 40 is a great lens.

0 upvotes
Beelen
By Beelen (5 months ago)

That should read Adobe Raw.

0 upvotes
Beelen
By Beelen (5 months ago)

Just got my OMD E1 and love it. can anyone tell me what Adoby Raw Update i need for CS 5?

0 upvotes
Boris F
By Boris F (5 months ago)

Nice camera, top IQ, cheers Oly!
Personally, as OMD EM-5 owner, I'll wait for OMD EM-7 with a next generation sensor, HDR, focus peaking and WIFI.
For now, I like my E-M5.

2 upvotes
Alejandro del Pielago
By Alejandro del Pielago (5 months ago)

Hi, Boris F., I am considering an EM 1 or an EM 5. I think like you that maybe the next EM would be great (20MP for example could be more useful with a better ISO 6400). But I have a question, please: although the AF of the EM-5 is very fast, is it true that sometimes -just sometimes- does not get an accurate focus even with good light? Thank you.

0 upvotes
gotak
By gotak (5 months ago)

Sometimes not getting focus even DSLR does that. So yes it happens but it's the nature of the beast.

Personally, very tempted to get the e-m1 but knowing oly there will be an e-m5 replacement that improves on it rather soon. So... as there isn't anything I regularly do that needs the e-m1 features I am waiting and seeing if there would be a price drop.

0 upvotes
Boris F
By Boris F (5 months ago)

Hi Alejandro,
E-M5 has no phase detection AF. It is use a contrast detection auto focusing. So focus on flat colored object can be unsuccessful.
I thought before, that phase detection + contrast focusing is an advantage (EM-1 use both). But, look on recently released Sony A7 and A7r. Most advanced camera from these two is with contrast detection AF only.
Sometimes contrast detection AF can be an advantage, for example on fast moving object with automatic AF area selection (birds for example).
Hope it is help. In any case both cameras are pretty cool. Let’s say, EM-1 is more advanced from two. But I already have E-M5 :)
Best

1 upvote
Alejandro del Pielago
By Alejandro del Pielago (5 months ago)

Thank you so much, Boris; the technical reflection is very useful.
Best regards

0 upvotes
alec lewis
By alec lewis (5 months ago)

what a seriously ugly camera...

why do camera companies put giant grips on these mirrorless cameras? it makes it so big and clunky, defeating the purpose of the camera being mirrorless in the first place...

do they seriously not think there is a market for a pocket(ish) sized mirrorless high quality/full frame interchangeable lens camera that looks good and comes in different colours?

someone save me

4 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (5 months ago)

Because if they don't put grips, you're stuck with primes and slow kit zooms on the smaller bodies. You can try to put a 12-40 f2.8 lens on a Panasonic GM1 but it will be pretty unbalanced.

All things considered, the E-M1 is smaller than pretty much all DSLRs. Very much smaller than pro DSLR's. The difference is more striking when a lens is attached.

The thing that escapes you is that many people have two separate kinds of cameras: the big DSLR with lenses and a smaller option (which is sometimes mirrorless, other times just compacts). The E-M1 and the "pro" lenses are an attempt to lure those with (semi-)pro DSLR's to buy into mirrorless, not just as a second system, but as only one system (ditch their DSLR's).

Another thing is that the lower-end segment of the mirrorless market is not so profitable, but there's an opportunity to "cash in" for manufacturers with the higher end market. It's largely untapped.

But nothing stops you from buying a smaller body.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
alec lewis
By alec lewis (5 months ago)

ok, here's my deal:

all i want is an attractive nex/pen/gf1/xa-1 sized camera, has an interchangeable lens and a full frame sensor. make the EVF adaptable, because i dont want it. give me a built in flash and i'll be so happy i wet myself. if it sucks the life out of batteries dont worry i'll buy some spares, just dont make it so big i dont want to take it outside with me on every occasion.

we live in the future so this camera should exist. id pay through the nose for a camera like this, and so would plenty of people.

rumored full frame x200 from fuji in 2014 = fixed lens = FML

2 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (5 months ago)

You're going to get your wish by 2014 if rumors are to be believed. Sony will be first with a stripped-down version of the A7 without the grip and EVF hump. Essentially a NEX5 but with a full frame sensor.

However, reality will set in when you try to attach lenses to it. Only the 35mm F2.8 will look ok with it, the rest will look even more ridiculous than current NEX (APS-C) and bulky zooms.

1 upvote
McFern
By McFern (5 months ago)

Why do they put grips on mirrorless cameras? It's simple. Every time a company builds a digital camera without one, folks in forums like this start complaining that it doesn't have a grip so they can't use their Magilla Zoom comfortably. This happened when Oly made the E-620 with it's diminutive grip and the same happened with the E-M5 even though there was an excellent 2 piece grip set that solvled all problems. In the film days, grips were expected to be an accessory purchase. In the beginning of digital,the built in grip was where the large battery was placed. Now, it is expected that it will be built in and will be complained about incessently if not there.

1 upvote
Fotogeneticist
By Fotogeneticist (5 months ago)

McFern, you couldn't have said it better. I agree with Alec that I'm waiting for a small camera with an optional grip, but whenever someone makes what I want, like my trusty Nikon V1, the camera gets bashed by those who don't understand the benefits that could be had with a mirrorless camera. And then you get Frankencameras like the Nikon V2 with grip, or this latest Oly EM-1. Seriously, Olympus almost had me with the EM-5 and I am a 16 year Nikon shooter with tons invested in Nikon gear.

1 upvote
McFern
By McFern (5 months ago)

We are our own worst enemy when it comes to camera design. In the film days, a 35mm camera had to have one side to put the film cartridge, one side for the take up spool, and a large housing for the large slr viewfinder housing. Today, a digital camera need not look that way but then nothing new or different sells. In 1980, every motorcycle magazine described every Japanese motorcycle as a UJM (universal Japanese motorcycle) because they were so much alike. Today we have the 'Universal Japanese Digital Camera'. Canikon set the tone and all other have followed. Oly tried to be different at first (E-300 comes to mind) but it hurt sales and folks complained so now they look alike too. And before someone freaks, I know there are some cameras that look decidedly different, but the main stream all look alike. Make the lines straighter, make them rounder, but without the company name in 4 inch letters on the strap, you cant tell one from the other. So this camera is no uglier other UJDCs.

0 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (5 months ago)

actually if you use the EM1, you'll know why the grip was necessary. Once you put on a full metal zoom lense like the Zuiko 12-40 f2.8 on, the grip is an absolute necessity.

I tried the Zuiko 12-40 on the EM5 without a grip and you can barely hold the camera up without death gripping it.

It was designed to be a professional camera and to take the 4/3 glass; meaning it needs to be able to handle heavier lenses. The EM5 wasn't designed to be a pro grade camera. It's meant to take only small primes so the grip isn't entirely necessary.

The integrated grip also allowed them to better layout the controls. If you use the EM5 controls, which, imo, are excellent, then you use the EM1, you'll immediately see and feel the difference.

Yes, I think the grip is ugly but it looks great once you put on the vert battery grip; which I have on all the time.

0 upvotes
McFern
By McFern (5 months ago)

A grip may be a nice feature or not, depending on your preferences, but is never 'absolutly necessary'. In the '80s, I carried around a Pentax MX and used a Pentax A70~210 f4 zoom often. That camera measured 135x82x49 mm and weighed 495g and the lens 72x149 mm and weighed 680g. In comparison, the E-M1 is 130x93x63 mm @ 497g and the 12~40 is 69x84 @ 382g. I never bought the winder grip for the MX because I did not need it and I would not 'need' a grip on the E-M1 either. Shooting a camera is like firing a handgun; the trigger hand points the camera and operates the trigger, the support hand supports the weight and operates the zoom or focus. The E-M5 2 piece grip has it right, use it if you want it, leave it off if you dont. A grip does not make a camera a 'professional camera'. There is no such thing as a 'professional camera'. Professional is a word tacked onto a high end camera that denotes that it is special for the purchaser, kinda like 'new and improved' on a detergent box.

1 upvote
AngelicBeaver
By AngelicBeaver (5 months ago)

My opinion is that the grip should be the same size as the smallest lens for the camera. If the 14mm f2.5 pancake can slip into something, a grip that sticks out the same distance will not affect my being able to slip the camera into said thing, but will give me the ability to hold the camera. I don't quite understand the lack of grips on these cameras. I like having the buttons that come on a larger grip. I didn't even consider the EM5 because it looked like it sacrificed too much in terms of ergonomics for the sake of a retro design that appeals to an older generation. To me, the EM1 is about as good looking as it gets, and I'm thrilled with the grip. I don't like the hump, but if I get a fantastic viewfinder out of it, I won't complain too much.
I am going to purchase an EM1/12-40 bundle as soon as it is offered.

0 upvotes
photohounds
By photohounds (2 months ago)

Ah the old full MARKETING frame (FMF) ruse ... fine for you to WANT it, of course, but not necessary for quality work.

Saves us all from the marketing departments and the perceptions they can imprint in the impressionable mind.

Like the DOF ruse. Easy to get well-blurred backgrounds with fase Zuikos. The degree is irrelevant.

Ever SOLD a portrait where the ears have disappeared? As a tool EM-5, EM-1 work very well.

You can carry twice as much gear to the site without Arnold being your bricks and bazookas caddy.
If you want a toy to play with, then by all means. shoot at f 0.95 on FMF all day and generate 99% blur with sharp lenses. Lomography is better suited to that style of thing.

I couldn't even SEE the camera operator in this series. NO OVF would have given me that shot, but the EM5 nailed it in a microsecond.

http://photohounds.smugmug.com/Performing-arts/Music/

Backgrounds are pleasantly blurred. My mate's new Canon got less DOF, and less perfect focus.

0 upvotes
Andy Spawn
By Andy Spawn (5 months ago)

The square hood with 12mm lens makes EM1 more retro but it is still ugly. A DSLR body with hump and square hood. It's like a young lady with white hair and wearing her grandma's jacket.

Why doesn't Olympus simply build a M4/3 camera looks like E5?

0 upvotes
photohounds
By photohounds (2 months ago)

The hump puts the viewfinder in a more usable location than a cigarette packet "styled" camera.

Remember the e-300? Some makers learn.

Oh yeah, tiny cams with few buttons HELP you to miss that shot.

0 upvotes
Camediadude
By Camediadude (5 months ago)

This is up there on my list of dream bodies and systems (yes, I have bled OLY blue for decades since growing up with mum's old half-frame PEN EE series). But if I have to nitpick (and we always have to nitpick here, that's a given!),

then it is the lack of infrared remote capability. Great that it has WIFI, which many will prefer for its wealth of possibilities. But give me the simplicity of a standard little remote any day. And, while I commend DPREVIEW for a speedy full review here, I have to say:

Are those DUST MOTES on the top plate of the camera on page 3 of the review? And a crooked flash shoe cover at that? I sure hope not, and that it is just my tired eyes and monitor at this hour, but if it is ...

then C'mon now DPREVIEW, don't start slacking now on the pristine camera body shots that you have always excelled at. It is a signature of this site, so keep up those high standards we have come to expect, we sorely need such a constant in these tumultuous times!

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 10 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
slippedcurve623
By slippedcurve623 (5 months ago)

Oops I spoke to fast I did a bit more research and this camera has 10 fps and phase detect AF nice! :-)

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (5 months ago)

10 fps is with AF locked and IS off. But 6.5 fps with AF.

It's the best in the mirrorless world.

2 upvotes
slippedcurve623
By slippedcurve623 (5 months ago)

Cool I wonder how does it compares to the 1dx or at least an 5d iii, 7d for professional sports/birds in flight? I know the dslrs has an faster burst rate but I was wondering if this m43 camera is as capable in the AF department? (Sry I DNT know much about current m43 tech)

0 upvotes
photo perzon
By photo perzon (5 months ago)

That large and no flash, no LCD screen that does selfies. I'd rather a PL5 with VF4.

0 upvotes
safeashouses
By safeashouses (5 months ago)

I'm sure there are cheaper ways to satisfy your selfie needs. PL5 with a VF4? Go for it!

0 upvotes
gunzzel
By gunzzel (4 months ago)

Selfies? Really? Use your iPhone.

0 upvotes
Jon J. Both (Edgeman)
By Jon J. Both (Edgeman) (5 months ago)

Does anybody know if this new E-M1 can be tethered via a USB cable to show LiveView shooting to a Laptop would then be great for Commercial Product Table Top, just a question, I am using Canon 6D for that now.

0 upvotes
Brian Wadie
By Brian Wadie (5 months ago)

at the moment that is not possible but as you say, it would be great. even better if the tether could be made via Lightroom :)

0 upvotes
Docmartin
By Docmartin (5 months ago)

Sad to see a 3:2 screen on a 4:3 camera. This doesn´t make sense to me. Definitely a minus for this one.

0 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (5 months ago)

The problem is that a 4:3 screen is taller. A few years ago, they could still afford to make 4:3 screens on the cameras, but as the market demanded bigger screen and smaller cameras, something had to give.

You can set the camera to shoot in the 3:2 format though the RAW files will still be 4:3

1 upvote
Andy Spawn
By Andy Spawn (5 months ago)

According to 43rumors. Olympus is going to launch a new M4/3 camera. I think it may be a OMD E-M6. E-M5 announced almost 2 years ago. It’s time to announce a new successor.

E-M1 is practical but it’s not as beautiful as E-M5. Most of enthusiasts want to hang a beautiful camera on their neck. On the other hand, when E-M1 is mounted with some sliver prime lenses say 12mm F2.0, 45mm F1.8, and 75mm F1.8. It looks weird. E-M1 is perfect for pro-photographer but not suitable for enthusiasts who want beautiful outlook and portability.

Fuji, Nikon are going to launch FF retro mirrorless cameras. Olympus must launch a new retro OMD to secure the market share.

3 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (5 months ago)

As long as it's not a complete eyesore, I prefer a camera that feels goods in my hands. Quirky ergonomics and sticky small buttons are a turn-off on the E-M5 IMHO but maybe they will fix that on the "E-M6", just like they fixed it on the E-M1.

4 upvotes
StevenMajor
By StevenMajor (6 months ago)

Why the square lens hood (on the camera on the DPR opening page)?

0 upvotes
Gregm61
By Gregm61 (6 months ago)

That not the E-M1. Look again.

0 upvotes
scottenyc
By scottenyc (5 months ago)

If we are talking about the top right corner of each page it sure looks like the EM1... If not what is it? I love the square hood. Anyone know where I can get them for each of my OLY primes?

0 upvotes
Docmartin
By Docmartin (6 months ago)

@Nerval: I do realize that one can obtain "good" IQ. However, I see little Point in using a 2000.- plus € lens like the 2.0 14-35 when one cannot obtain OPTIMUM IQ.

@Martin.au: why would Roger Cicalas findings not apply to FT lenses? For sure they follow the same physical laws as all other lenses.

I would not be that much concerned if the MMF3 Adapter was decently constructed in full metal. Just look at the old EX-25 Extension tube for example and compare its excellent quality to the cheapy, plasticy MMF3! I hope Olympus will provide a better quality Adapter that matches the quality of the camera Body and the old FT lenses.

0 upvotes
Alexander Vienna
By Alexander Vienna (6 months ago)

thats funny…. EM5 looks better for me…..

Comment edited 12 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
Docmartin
By Docmartin (6 months ago)

No doubt, the EM-1 is a great camera! However, for those (like me) who want to continue working with the gorgeous FT Pro lenses, the EM-1 will still no replacement for the outdated E-5. I truly believe that FT lenses cannot be used on ANY MFT body without serious IQ loss until a better adapter than the current MMF2/3 is available. The material/build-quality of the MMF3 will for sure cause misalignment, flex and movement. Just have a look at Roger Cicala's findings and their discussion here: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3553373

1 upvote
Martin.au
By Martin.au (6 months ago)

Or you could look at the results of people doing just that.
4/3s lenses are telecentric. There's little reason to assume that Cicala's findings apply to that adaptor and lenses.

0 upvotes
Nerval
By Nerval (6 months ago)

You do realize that Roger Cicala is the geekiest pixel peeper of us all, which is alright (I mean his blog is fantastic, and the content is of great quality), but you did notice that he is expressing concern regarding lens testing measurements which might not be accurate given the variations on the mount. Nowhere does he say that you cannot obtain good IQ, just that it probably cannot deliver optimum IQ.

In Roger Cicala's words:

"What Does It Mean in the Real World?

Like a lot of laboratory testing, probably not a lot. Adapters couldn’t all stink or people wouldn’t use them. Like a lot of tests, you can detect a very real difference in the lab that doesn’t make much difference at all in the real world."

0 upvotes
Joe
By Joe (6 months ago)

Caution, real world experience here: My most used E-M1 lens is the 12-60 Oly on the MMF3 adapter. It has been excellent for me. On the E-M5, it rattled around a lot and not infrequently, missed focus entirely. Not on the E-M1.
I just completed a 7-day assignment including a 5-day whitewater float on a 1-man raft; the E-M1 and 12-60 performed spectacularly. The D600 stayed safe in a waterproof case, the D800e stayed at home.
I'm convinced that was the right choice.

2 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

Joe, you floated for 5 days on whitewater?

0 upvotes
Docmartin
By Docmartin (6 months ago)

@Nerval: I do realize that one can obtain "good" IQ. However, I see little Point in using a 2000.- plus € lens like the 2.0 14-35 when one cannot obtain OPTIMUM IQ.

@Martin.au: why would Roger Cicalas findings not apply to FT lenses? For sure they follow the same physical laws as all other lenses.

I would not be that much concerned if the MMF3 Adapter was decently constructed in full metal. Just look at the old EX-25 Extension tube for example and compare its excellent quality to the cheapy, plasticy MMF3! I hope Olympus will provide a better quality Adapter that matches the quality of the camera Body and the old FT lenses.

0 upvotes
Gregm61
By Gregm61 (6 months ago)

Enjoy your E-5....forever, literally. You might want to buy 2-3 more.

1 upvote
Martin.au
By Martin.au (5 months ago)

Tele centric lenses, as I mentioned. And, of course, the thousands of user reports and examples.

0 upvotes
Docmartin
By Docmartin (5 months ago)

So far I have not seen any user report/example that compares IQ of FT Top-Pro lenses on FT/MFT + Adapter bodies.

And again, what has this to do with telecentric lenses?

0 upvotes
bcalkins
By bcalkins (5 months ago)

I don't know - I'd put the 50mm macro on the MMF-3 ahead of any mFT lens I own for IQ. It is hardly just 'good'.

Then again, you should be able to adjust to your heart's content with the ability to set front/rear adjustments on every one of the PDAF sensors, per lens, if you have issues with the adapter... I'd be surprised if the adapter variation is any worse than PDAF variation on a dSLR.

0 upvotes
Tord S Eriksson
By Tord S Eriksson (6 months ago)

Sounds like a camera to love, in most circumstances, except in low light situations!

I have a D600, and a V1, while my wife has a E-M5, this E-M1 sounds like a perfect complement!

0 upvotes
rocklobster
By rocklobster (5 months ago)

Sadly the low light performance is only perceived because of the smaller sensor. The sensor is only about 33% smaller in area than an APS-C sensor. Just look at those ISO 6400 images and tell me that I am wrong.

Cheers

0 upvotes
AlexRuiz
By AlexRuiz (5 months ago)

A better way to say it would be....APSC sensors are roughly 50% larger than M4/3 sensors. Having a 50% margin usually does make a difference, for the better.

0 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (5 months ago)

@Alex

Sometimes it makes a difference; the OMD have proven to handle high ISO very well, going toe to toe with all but the very best cameras and FF.

Whatever difference there is in APSC vs m/43 sensor, it only really equates to about 1/3 stop difference; neglible in real world shooting. I shoot events without flash with the EM5 and EM1. Works very well.

I moved from APSC down to the EM5 and to be honest; there's no real world difference except in DOF differences. FF vs m4/3? yeah likely a full stop difference, maybe slightly more.

0 upvotes
probert500
By probert500 (5 months ago)

60% more area in aps - I don't know why people bother with m4/3. Because it's almost as good?

0 upvotes
historianx
By historianx (6 months ago)

memo to those who think they know, but don't, and still post nonsense:

Micro (m) = Lens Mount
4/3 = Sensor

There is no such thing as a m4/3rd's "sensor." All 4/3rd's sensor cams are 4/3rds cams--it's that the micros have a smaller lens mount to accommodate the mirrorless/EVF design, while 4/3rds cameras have a larger lens mount to accommodate pentaprism/mirror OVF designs.

It's amazing, the levels of ignorance here.

5 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

Historianx, the (micro) four thirds naming is so ridiculous, confusing and even meaningless that m43 is more practical to use. Your distinction is correct but not relevant.

The small sensor size of these micro lens mount cameras produces pictures that for some are just "good enough".

0 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

the original Oly SLR 4/3" mount was rubbish.

0 upvotes
historianx
By historianx (5 months ago)

^^^ crawl back under your rock. Your opinion is irrelevant.

1 upvote
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

a shame not only on Oly but the camera history that better had never existed. then no confusion whatever. the SLR 4/3" was too stupid for anyone to repeat the failure so no one needs to learn.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Oly72
By Oly72 (5 months ago)

Agreed on every level.

0 upvotes
kingal
By kingal (6 months ago)

Many thanks... one last question.
Any advice as to Panasonic GH3 or Olimpus EM1 for shooting portraits? I would use the Olimpus 75mm 1,8.
Thanks in advance for any advice

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

The 75mm is considered by many as the best m43 lens you could ever get.

The 45mm f1.8 is much cheaper and smaller, but has less impressive results.

There's always the older Four Thirds 50mm F2 macro.

Another Four Thirds lens is the 150mm F2. Pricey, but the IQ is sublime.

Or the Sigma 150 F2.8 macro for Four Thirds (the same that is available for APS-C). Cheaper alternative, if you can find it.

But keep in mind those old Four Thirds lenses do not perform as well in AF as the m43 native lenses.

Comment edited 44 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Brian Wadie
By Brian Wadie (6 months ago)

I would imagine either of them will be more than competent for portraiture, whether studio based or not. I'm using my EM-5 for this (with either my 35-100 f2.8 or the kit 12-50, my copy of which produces lovely studio portraits)

Haven't had a chance to use the EM-1 but can't wait to try out the ISO100 option :)

In the studio the 75 f1.8 will be a bit long, even for head and shoulder shots but for open air work it will be superb, based on what I have seen in the way of results on the web

1 upvote
John D Walker
By John D Walker (6 months ago)

Hi. I was able to try out an Em-1 in a studio .with both the 45 1.8 and 75mm 1.8. I did not find the 75mm f1.8 too long at all and it takes fantastic pictures. It really is a superb lens. I really preferred it to the 45mm f1.8.

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
pdelux
By pdelux (6 months ago)

Depends how big your studio is I guess...

1 upvote
fibonacci1618
By fibonacci1618 (6 months ago)

I would say that yes, it depends on how big your studio is, but in fact, really it's more a question of how far back you want the backdrop to be in case you do not want light spill from the strobes. If your subject has to be 2-3m (or 10-12ft) forward from the backdrop, then yes, it can be tight to frame the 75mm prime in a small-ish studio, for a half-length portrait.

The 45mm is really a stellar performer, you can't go wrong with it for all the right reasons, and the next step up I probably prefer from a FL point of view, is the 60mm Oly macro lens if you ever need to consider it. This is a brilliantly sharp and color/distortion free lens. A perfect 120mm equivalent FL lens for studio portraiture.

1 upvote
kingal
By kingal (6 months ago)

Can someone tell me which version of Adobe Camera raw (if any) is able to recognise and process the RAW files from the Olympus OMD EM1? I have ACR version 7 and it does not recognise them.
Many thanks!

0 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (6 months ago)

ACR 8.2 will process the E-M1's files. One workaround may be to download the latest version of Adobe's DNG Converter and convert the ORFs to DNG, which previous versions of ACR will then recognise and convert.

1 upvote
PhotoKhan
By PhotoKhan (6 months ago)

ISO noise performance is far from impressive, right from direct observation.

I don't think I've seen such a poor ISO 200 performance from a $1250+ camera in a long time.

Also, why are so many photos in the samples gallery significantly underexposed?

5 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

the base ISO on m4/3" cameras are good enough for me and I'm talking about the old ones not the E-M5 or GH3.

even ISO400 is not so bad, quite usable just as ISO1600 on 35mm full-frame cameras (if no dramatic post work needed).

0 upvotes
PhotoKhan
By PhotoKhan (6 months ago)

I was referring to THIS camera (...and, additionally, to the output DPR has submitted to us, which may be far from the model's actual performance due to a variety of reasons).

It is curious that you felt a need to "defend" an whole format, based on the observations I made on the 2 perceived limitations in the review output.

...but, tell you what, try to compensate the second of the observations I made (the underexposure) and see how well it goes for you regarding the first one (noise at 200 ISO).

0 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

there is no format that I have to defend, though smaller sensors have problems at base ISOs and lenses should be held accountable for high ISOs.

I don't really judge on ISO settings for it's not something that can be carried across cameras or formats. that I really mean exposures. optimum ISO settings should be used for technical reasons specific to each camera and that's all (and there are ISO-less sensors).

0 upvotes
jkrumm
By jkrumm (6 months ago)

Actually, after a couple weeks of shooting one, I don't think I've used such a good base iso performer before. Very flexible raws, good color control, little to no shadow noise (at iso 100 I can't see any) and great detail.

1 upvote
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

It's interesting that you have to lower the dynamic range and set ISO to 100 to get images without noise. Do you have noise-free original OOC samples with shadows?

The EM1 manual states on page 57:
"The setting recommended in most situations is [AUTO], which starts at ISO 200 — a value that balances noise and dynamic range"
http://www.olympusamerica.com/files/oima_cckb/E-M1_MANUAL_EN.pdf

2 upvotes
rocklobster
By rocklobster (6 months ago)

Curiously, low light image P9161521 at ISO1600 is surprisingly noisy, albeit quite detailed, whereas other shots at ISO6400 are surprisingly clean and well processed. Perhaps this is the "fault" of the NR processor rather than the sensor. Overall I am very impressed by the image quality however.

Cheers

1 upvote
steven_k
By steven_k (5 months ago)

Again looking at the DPR comparison look at the Color Checker chart the blue square at ISO 200 RAW there should be no noise but there is. Sure if you shoot JPEG, Oly takes care of it or if you shoot RAW you can turn on NR but at base ISO one should be able to shoot RAW and process without NR and get clean results. I just don't see it.

Comment edited 51 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
probert500
By probert500 (5 months ago)

Any nex will get good results at 3200 -and 6400 depending on the mode. This is a flawed and miserable format.

0 upvotes
NickNock
By NickNock (6 months ago)

EM5 with the handgrip is nearly the same size as EM1.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Andy Spawn
By Andy Spawn (6 months ago)

According to the noise comparison sample by dpreview. E-M1 high ISO noise performance is poorer than E-M5 and GX7. Why doesn't dpreview point it out in the article?

EM-1 has better ergonomics, better control, and better continuous AF. However, it looks like an entry level D-SLR camera, very ugly, and its noise level is higher than other competitors. Why do I pay more for a camera with more ugly appearance and poorer noise level?

3 upvotes
maxola67
By maxola67 (6 months ago)

Many people think like that.
Why, indeed?
Just to gain in two/three hundreds grams of a camera weight relative to DSLRs?

0 upvotes
Andy Spawn
By Andy Spawn (6 months ago)

It's not just the matter of weight. E-M5 is handsome and retro but E-M1 is ugly.

3 upvotes
GaryJP
By GaryJP (6 months ago)

Are you 12?

7 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

does anyone know the pattern of masked PDAF pixels ?

0 upvotes
Stu 5
By Stu 5 (6 months ago)

So why do the high iso E-M1 Raw files when compared to the E-M5 and GX7 have less blue noise in the tungsten lit tests?

Also go into a shop and pickup the camera. You will then understand what makes it so good. Much better made and far better ergonomics than any entry level camera. In fact build quality wise it compares to the D4 and top end Canon.

1 upvote
Andy Spawn
By Andy Spawn (6 months ago)

I tried this before in an Olympus event. The ergonomics is excellent. The body built is excellent. However it's meaningless to put a small sensor in such a big body. The kit F2.8 lens is huge, too. I love the original OM1 design. This one is not my cup of tea.

0 upvotes
Stu 5
By Stu 5 (6 months ago)

Andy Spawn you cannot have decent build quality without an increase in size. If you love the OM1 why not the E-M1? I have put my OM-3 with small hand grip next to the E-M1 and there is hardly any difference in size. The 12-40 f2.8 is not huge when you consider the build quality and performance plus the fact it is sealed.

If you built a Sony A7 to the same standard as the E-M1 is would be larger. As it is the build is still down from a E-M5 and the E-M5 is smaller.

1 upvote
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

the build of Oly cameras are no good. their Pens and OMs were quite low quality.

but E-M1 may be the first m4/3" Oly good enough for use.

0 upvotes
Thorgrem
By Thorgrem (6 months ago)

Yabokkie, don't talk absolutly rubbish. Just because you don't like Olympus camera's is no justification to lie about it.

2 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

Yabokkie probably means what he says. He just mistakenly assumes his opinion is shared by everyone else.

5 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

at least I've seen no OM-1 that lasted long, which was the very reason that made it popular ... low cost. there was a sizeable market for the repairing of OMs and some small Japanese shops provided better service than Oly at much cheaper prices (a well backstreet-refurbished OM-1 used to be sold as low as 100 dollars with 50mm prime).

2 upvotes
Jude McDowell
By Jude McDowell (5 months ago)

My OM-2n (new in 1982) and OM4ti are both still going strong despite being carried in bike panniers, handlebar bags and rucksacks on cycling and walking holidays. Don't get so much use now; but in my experience the build quality is fantastic.

2 upvotes
Alejandro del Pielago
By Alejandro del Pielago (6 months ago)

I like it so much, but $ 2500 is a lot for me (EM 1 body + 12-40mm f/2.8).

Because the idea of kick the heavy 5D M. III is not so obvious... I would like to keep the Canon at least some time and only if the Oly conquers my heart and my printer, well "hasta la vista, Canon". But, right now, the Oly cracks my wallet and my heart.

0 upvotes
pdelux
By pdelux (6 months ago)

There have been many before you in the same situation.

If you are already looking for a smaller system, your Canon has no chance in this fight. It will be collecting dust.

3 upvotes
pixelpushing
By pixelpushing (6 months ago)

I agree, it seems like the median price for SLR and mirrorless cameras has been skyrocketing this past year. Most all of the interesting models are well over $1000 with all the 'hot' new items $2000+.

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

Alejandro, just don't buy it with the 12-40 lens.

No scratch that, skip the EM1 if size matters to you, go for the Panasonic GM1 or the Olympus EPM2 with a couple of good m43 primes. Twice as small as the EM1 at a fraction of the price of the full EM1 kit.

0 upvotes
GaryJP
By GaryJP (6 months ago)

Personally, at least if I were already in m43 I would buy the lens before I bought the body. It is a terrific lens, and for me the big limitation of the system until this point has been the lack of a good wide zoom lens.

1 upvote
white shadow
By white shadow (6 months ago)

One of the main attraction of the EM1 is the new 12-40 f/2.8 kit lens. It is probably the best standard zoom lens for Micro 4/3. Optically, it is superb and the built quality is the best so far. I would definitely buy this lens if I do not have a standard zoom for micro 4/3.

Get a cheaper Micro 4/3 body to start it off. Currently, there are a few to choose from. The GF5 is about $300, the GX1 is about $400 and so are the older Olys. One can also consider the EM5 body. Use it as a travel camera.

I would keep the 5DMk3 for the more critical shots when top image quality is expected.

0 upvotes
Alejandro del Pielago
By Alejandro del Pielago (5 months ago)

Yeah, a combo could be the EM-5 + the 12-40 f/2.8. I could save $400.

And although almost all my gear is Canon and I like sooo much my 5D m. III, I don´t think Canon is going to offer me a 5D m. IV with just 500g... that my weak back would love.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Alejandro del Pielago
By Alejandro del Pielago (6 months ago)

Videos about Af are extremely useful !!!! So all the explanations get a solid proof. Well done DP !!!

0 upvotes
mitch72
By mitch72 (6 months ago)

nice features, way to expensive for a small sensor, retro design? looks like a mini dslr , or like a small jar .

1 upvote
Oly72
By Oly72 (6 months ago)

A. it's a stunning, purposeful looking camera.
B. it does not have a 'small sensor'
C. go and play with your Canikon.

1 upvote
rocklobster
By rocklobster (6 months ago)

FACT - m4/3 sensor is approx 33% smaller in area than an APS-C sensor or just slightly more than 1/2 a stop. Not significant really when you consider that there are other factors that contribute to noise on the final image. Small price to pay for much smaller kit. EM-5 looks to be brilliant value now but EM-1 price will come down.

Cheers

0 upvotes
Jon Ragnarsson
By Jon Ragnarsson (6 months ago)

Now, please bring us 200mm f4 weather sealed telephoto to match this, and we have a pretty good system...

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

300mm F2.8 too fast, and too heavy, and too long?

Kind of expensive though. But weather sealed.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?atclk=Fixed+Focal+Lengths_300mm&ci=274&N=4288584247+4291306223+4261208104

Should be able to get the adapter as a freebe.

Or here's a 150mm F2.0, bit less expensive:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?atclk=Fixed+Focal+Lengths_150mm&ci=274&N=4288584247+4291306223+4261208107

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 7 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
mcvh
By mcvh (6 months ago)

Just get the ZD 50-200mm. Very good lens and even faster at 3,5 at the long end. Weathersealed and a zoom on top :-)

3 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

mcvh:

Some avoid zooms.

1 upvote
GaryJP
By GaryJP (6 months ago)

I really sometimes don't know whether it is more amusing or depressing to see the bile some people on DP Review expend on cameras they, personally, do not want.

9 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

there are people talking about drone fired missles.

1 upvote
GaryJP
By GaryJP (6 months ago)

Canon or Nikon?

0 upvotes
Paul JM
By Paul JM (6 months ago)

It reinforces how badly these forums and comments sections are deteriorating. I am not sure why anyone bothers to comment on cameras that they dont own, or use, or have any experience with. Frankly, who would be interested in their opinion ? I have largely given up asking questions on DPR, as more often than not the responses are subjective opinion from god knows who ? The needs of everyone here are vastly different. If punter A feels that the combination of a small camera and lens, with fast autofocus, useless tracking and a small sensor is not for them, but they have never actually used the system, then who is interested in their view ??

7 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (6 months ago)

Paul dont forget that reviews at DP is a place that people have in high regards, and i guess even if they are not concerned about the camera they might get in discussion, just to prove a point, and of course some are way off, but sometimes some are right, lets take it as what is really is, just opinions, and move on, just like in our life, looks like a perfect camera does,nt exist, its a good thing or else all the other cie would go out of business.

Comment edited 59 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (6 months ago)

@ Paul JM

I wouldn't ask anybody for their opinion when I want to buy a certain camera. It is unlikely I would get a suitable or correct answer. One just need to know what you want and go for it. Lenses may be slightly easier. Always go for professional grade lenses and don't complain about the prices. Good things are never cheap.

Everybody have different needs, budget constraints, level of competancy and degree of seriousness in pursuing photography. A camera so loved by one maybe totally unsuitable for another. For example, if I would like to shoot MotoGP I would need a Pro camera like the Canon 1DX and the 500mm f/4.0 L IS and a monopod. For me, it is a "must have" combo eventhough it may be expensive. For the newbie, it is definitely too expensive. He might not even know how to use it. For a casual consumer trying to learn photography, all he need is an entry level DSLR. The housewife going on holiday may just want a simple P&S. Anything else will be too complicated.

1 upvote
Camediadude
By Camediadude (6 months ago)

This camera was rumored for years, and I admit that I did not think that Olympus would ever actually get around to making it. I sort of gave up and thought the worst, I confess.

But they made it, and it looks like a seriously capable instrument. Controls, indeed. I have always had a preference for EVF's. I wonder if I would feel overwhelmed by it all, the learning curve ...

If I had the moolah to get into any system right now, without a doubt, it would be this one. So, from this here longtime fan: Well done, Olympus! I hope you succeed and keep this system alive and strong. I will get one someday.

11 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

Great comment, Camediadude :-)

Actually I think there is nothing easier than a large and bright high quality EVF, and likely this camera gives great results in fully automatic point and shoot mode, where most people create their best pictures :-)

3 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

the f-number myth
why should anyone care E-M5 while can have Stylus 1?
m4/3" f/2.8 zooms are so expensive.

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

Not everyone wants to deal with fixed lens camera, a fairly big one no less, when they already have an interchangeable lens camera. I know I wouldn't.

If you think the native F2.8 zooms are too pricey/big on m43, you can always fall back on the kit zooms or on primes. If none of this is satisfactory then maybe you're better off with a fixed lens camera after all though maybe not those like the Stylus 1.

1 upvote
Abaregi
By Abaregi (6 months ago)

Semms to be a great camera for the sensor size.
The pricing is a bit steep though, just a bit more and you get FF.

6 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (6 months ago)

Oh, here we go again with the FF nonsense. Go ahead and compare the Sony A7 against the feature-rich E-M1. And, yes, the E-M1 can even take great landscape shots. The world does not begin and end with FF.

13 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

Abaregi:

Not to pile, on but full framed cameras often, not always, have a problematic relationship with lenses mostly designed for film 35mm SLRs. Olympus (and the Leica S system) completely redid the lenses so the light falling on the sensor is perpendicular to the sensor plane across the entire sensor.

I imagine the new lenses for the Sony A7 work out most of the vignetting problems too.

Now: The Sony A7 is a plenty interesting system. But the shutter is incredibly loud for a mirrorless system, it is not built to withstand weather the way this Olympus is. And right now there are more lenses for the Olympus system–more than a few of the Olympus lenses begin to rival Leica and Zeiss optically.

With firmware, Sony may be able to quiet the A7 system at lower shutter speeds, and of course the Sony does good video. But these two A7s are first tries by Sony.

6 upvotes
Stu 5
By Stu 5 (6 months ago)

You are comparing the wrong camera. A7 needs to be compared with the E-M5 as that offers a similar build quality although the E-M5 still has the edge there.

0 upvotes
deep7
By deep7 (6 months ago)

"FF" - so called "full frame" is so arbitrary! It's a size that worked as a good compromise for lots of users in film days. If you took all the arguments that said a 35mm sensor was better than a 4/3 sensor, logic dictates an even bigger sensor would be even better, yet that section of the market is tiny.

Wake up, skeptics. 4/3 is a very, very good compromise between size and quality. In fact, it is barely a compromise at all, being good enough for nearly every use!

That's why the OMD series is so good.

9 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

Most like light and small.

But as long as it is noisy at base ISO, many will be looking for better options.

2 upvotes
Jon Ragnarsson
By Jon Ragnarsson (6 months ago)

The difference between the 'quarter-sized' m43 sensor and 'full-frame' sensor is less than people think. Same goes for camera size. (Human hand actually dictates the lower limit). I would love a Sony A7R with some sharp lenses, but then I remember, I don't print much landscape wallpapers...

0 upvotes
austin design
By austin design (6 months ago)

Stu 5, the EM5 has the edge how?

Also, grips go a long way in determining camera application (e.g., hiking around and/or using large lenses imparts a need for a substantial grip). In this sense, the A7 is, in fact, properly compared to the EM1, not the EM5 -- unless you're imaging the latter's accessory grip, which then changes both weight and cost comparisons.

1 upvote
white shadow
By white shadow (6 months ago)

Micro 4/3 is popular because it provide acceptable quality in a smaller size camera especially when most people would not print bigger than A3. The cost of buying the camera is also cheaper.

However, it remain a camera for hobbyist / enthusiast but not real professional photographers. Have anyone see many professional photographers like journalist and commercial photographers using Micro 4/3?

Micro 4/3 is a convenient size for most people but for critical photography, I would use a larger format, 35mm full frame or medium format.

0 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (5 months ago)

@white shadow

"for critical photography"

What you mean to say is, in specific applications and use cases you'd use a medium format or full frame. Because I honestly don't know any photogs lugging around a medium format to shoot events/weddings; which are the realm of FF, APSC and more recently, more photogs opting to use the OMD's for weddings.

The term "critical photography" is a loaded term and can't mean the same thing for other types of photographers. Different tools for different uses. ALL camera equipment is a limited tool best used in certain situations and not others.

The only thing that determines critical photography is the type of photography and the use case. It's a great thing we have a range of tools to choose from; the smallest to the biggest.

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (6 months ago)

"Comparing the E-M1 to the APS-C Canon EOS 70D in low light, you'll notice that the Canon DSLR handles the warm tungsten lighting a bit better than the E-M1, which has given the whole scene an amber tint."

Hint - if you don't like it to show what it actually gets (i.e. very warm light), turn Keep Warm Color off.

Tungsten bulbs... I guess they are still used - probably by the same people who still use DSLRs. I personally started switching from halogen and fluorescent to LED bulbs where appropriate (directional lights). Unfortunately, fluorescent lights don't burn out as often as tungsten, so the switch goes slow...

0 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (6 months ago)

Yep, you can shut off the warm color. I did that on my E-M5, and it looks great.

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (6 months ago)

"We didn't see a drastic drop in image quality in low light as compared to APS-C DSLR"

I didn't see any drop in image quality when compared to the Canon 70D. In fact I think the E-M1 is light years better than the Canon 70D in low light image quality.

8 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

only our eyes are more sensitive when the image quality goes done, and noise reduction software may get lost.

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (6 months ago)

Yeah, at ISO 3200 the text in JPEG from Olympus is MUCH more readable.

0 upvotes
kecajkerugo
By kecajkerugo (6 months ago)

I see that this m43 sensor has less noise than the nikon d7100, just per the measurments chart by DP. Thera are several places on the net you can find tons of pictures which are comparable quality as the best DSLR can produce. It is not at the level of Fuji system (regarding noise only) but surely better than many of consumer DSLR. And the system as the whole is small.
If somebody needs large FF DSLR with some gain of quality that is fine but compactness of the system will be in a different ligue!
For those who think FF is large sensor system let me remoinf you that this was called small format in the old days and still there are mid and large format cameras these days. Why do not you take these tools for consideration? Can you accept the FF small sensor? Why? BECAUSE OF PORTABILITY! Same logic would apply for the Oly.

1 upvote
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

Please have a look at the seagull picture taken with the D7100 by amadou-diallo here, do you see any noise? If dpReview rates the noise level of the EM1 lower this raises questions about the reliability of their measurements. See the earlier comment by the seasoned pro Reilly Diefenbach.
http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/reviewsamples/photos/2483894/17dsc_0328?inalbum=nikon-d7100-preview-samples

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

kecaj:

And I've tried both, including the Nikon D7100 with a Zeiss lens (50mm 1.4), the Nikon is better at high ISOs than this Olympus. Not a huge amount, but some.

I've also mounted the same Zeiss lens on a Fuji XE1 and that's better than the Olympus at high ISOs, again close but the Fuji wins.

As a rule go by raws, not charts or scores. Remember at high ISOs the lens quality is really important and Olympus' good lenses beat Nikon for optical quality. And skip jpegs.

Comment edited 9 minutes after posting
1 upvote
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

Contrary to the m43 EM1, the APSC 70D has practically no noise at base ISO:
http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/reviewsamples/photos/2649992/img_8423?inalbum=canon-eos-70d-beta-preview-samples-gallery

0 upvotes
hockey_magnet
By hockey_magnet (6 months ago)

Not being that technical, I was trying to compare this camera to the Fuji xPro 1 in the image comparisons page . At lower ISO's the Olympus seems to have better resolution. My question is: xPro 1 has APS-C sensor, Olympus is Four Thirds. Both have the same MP count (16 MP) yet the Olympus files are nearly twice as big as far as MB size is concerned. Can Someone explain this?

Thanks

Chris

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (6 months ago)

Olympus cameras offer a 'SuperFine' compression setting (buried in the menus) - it's very low compression, so gives enormous files.

5 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (6 months ago)

and nobody should use JPEG when image quality is the priority. also the resolution of all X-Trans sensors are brought down by cost saving (no LPF).

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
hockey_magnet
By hockey_magnet (6 months ago)

Thanks for not answering my question... If I need/want to shoot jpegs ,then it's an issue. Your "cost saving" comment makes no sense to me. They did not leave the filter out to "save money"

2 upvotes
Shamael
By Shamael (6 months ago)

To see how much information is in the picture itself, and how much is in the exif information file, shoot the same shot with different cameras, and then you open simply the jpeg files in windows Paint, save them and close. You can also do this with a raw reworked shot and that you saved in jpeg. Paint removes the exif file, and a 24 mpix picture at full size shrinks to 4.5 to 7 mb. Now, by the file size that remains, you can see how much information is really in the shot. The exif files take often between 12 and 18 mb of space. By removing this exif file, you will be able to send a full sized 24 mpix picture by e-mail as well.

Comment edited 15 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
bobdant
By bobdant (6 months ago)

I have it and love it, the 12-60 is fast as lighting and 50-200 SWD not far behind and the m75-300 is fast as lighting too. Amazing to see some of these remarks from a perspective of never even using one. This is a great camera, with great IQ and controls.

Great and honest review.

Looking forward to the M300mm F4 that is coming out in 2014.

3 upvotes
ThorstenMUC
By ThorstenMUC (6 months ago)

Using the compare-tool on the last page I don't understand, why Nikon D7100 has a relevant higher rating for Viewfinder/Screen.

Arguable E-M1 "only" has an EVF... which is not as snappy as a real VF - but also has some benefits. So imho not much points to gain here, since the new EVF has almost no lag and a really high resolution.

Moreover E-M1 EVF is larger, than the D7100 VF, Screen is articulated whilst fixed on the Nikon... where does the higher score come from?

5 upvotes
photosen
By photosen (6 months ago)

Good, thorough review. I'd love to see how usable it is with longer 4/3 telephotos and specific lenses like the Panasonic/Leica 25mm 1.4. I liked the idea behind the EM5 but found it way too small for my hands, this would feel better. Part of the problem for Oly is that new consumers will look up the experience of previous owners and ask themselves: If I buy your new lenses will you abandon them like you did with 4/3? The brand's silence will be a negative point.

1 upvote
pdelux
By pdelux (6 months ago)

they didnt abandon them.. this camera is made for 4/3 owners.

3 upvotes
achiinto
By achiinto (6 months ago)

Totally agree with pdelux. I have been waiting for this camera for a long time being from the 43-era. Good to see how they have made such effort to release a camera for the 43-users.

1 upvote
Silverback46
By Silverback46 (6 months ago)

Looks like a nice camera. The space needle shot is an art filter shot for those not familiar with Olympus art filters.

1 upvote
harold1968
By harold1968 (6 months ago)

Inexplicable scoring.
Dpreview's own partner DXOmARK has Nex 7 (just about to be replaced) significantly better then EM5 on every score.
Sure the Olympus sensor (now they are using sony) is better then previous versions, but the quality of picture is still far behind APS-c. I know, after editing both, the Nex pictures take far more battering in pp.
It is simply misleading to say otherwise

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
miketala
By miketala (6 months ago)

1) sensors are actually pretty close.

http://www.dxomark.com/Cameras/Compare-Camera-Sensors/Compare-cameras-side-by-side/%28appareil1%29/909|0/%28brand%29/Olympus/%28appareil2%29/736|0/%28brand2%29/Sony#tabs-2

2) Surely there is more to a camera than just a sensor? Ergonomics, viewfinder, weatherproofing (and level of weatherproofing), focus speed, continuous shot speed, native lenses, stabilization, etc.
Sony does some neat stuff, and in some ways their cameras push boundaries, but in other ways they're playing catch-up.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
10 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

I do like the implications of what harold is saying. So DPReview are misleading the public... but why? Bribes are involved? The owner is an Oly fanboy? A great internet-wide anti-Sony conspiracy of some sort?

4 upvotes
olypan
By olypan (6 months ago)

Absolute rubbish. You have to "batter" your files to get a decent image do you? Nice.

3 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (6 months ago)

Harold - you don't know what you are talking about. I have both the E-M5 and the Fuji X-E1 (and X100 too), both great cameras with excellent image quality. The Fuji may get the edge, but that is it. There is NO significant difference between the two in "real life" shooting. A photographer can be happy with either one.

2 upvotes
pdelux
By pdelux (6 months ago)

DPR reviews Cameras, not Sensors, you know the thing with the lens, buttons and dials, you press the buttons and it takes a photo..

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
DaveE1
By DaveE1 (6 months ago)

@pdelux: Some people would consider the sensor to be quite an important part of a digital camera.

1 upvote
sarit
By sarit (6 months ago)

Wow, m4/3 format sensor, 500gm weight and a $1400 body only price ! Now wonder they are going bankrupt. I agree this is a great camera for what it is and especially weather-sealed, but this is not competitive in the market for that price range. Even more so as Sony A7 is weather sealed and comes at just $300 more with a FF sensor.

10 upvotes
Winston Loo
By Winston Loo (6 months ago)

A7 is NOT weather sealed

7 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

sarit:

You may want to check Sony's unsteady finances, and the A7 sure is more audible than this Olympus.

3 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

A7 is weather sealed, but the level of sealing is open to debate at this point. No videos of people hosing it (yet).

But the mistake many superficial users make around these parts is judge a camera entirely on the sensor, as if a car could be judged entirely on many cylinders the engine has.

The A7 is a barebone, entry-level, FF camera while the EM1 is a top-of-the-line semi-pro camera.

6 upvotes
kadardr
By kadardr (6 months ago)

DXO Sensor comparison Overall ................ High ISO

OM D M1 ....................73......................757
D610 .........................94.....................2925

I do not think that D610 user experience is too bad. Size and weight? That may modify the picture.

Comment edited 7 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

Oil splatters competing against shuttershock ;-)

0 upvotes
sarit
By sarit (6 months ago)

bluevellet wrote : "The A7 is a barebone, entry-level, FF camera while the EM1 is a top-of-the-line semi-pro camera."

Really, I'm not sure which "semi-pro" feature the EM1 has that the A7 doesn't have ? Even the EVF is much better in A7.

2 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

You're really not sure?

EVF have same resolution, but the EM1 has greater magnification
Touch screen
Better build
Better weather sealing
IBIS
Faster AF
Faster flash synch
Faster continuous shooting with bigger buffer
More controls, more customization
Quieter shutter

6 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

kadardr:

Thing is unless you use Zeiss lenses on that Nikon the sensor of the Nikon isn't really going to beat that in the Olympus. Because the best Olympus lenses easily beat the best Nikon lenses for optical quality.

Yet again: DXO sensor scoring is next to useless because it doesn't account for the lens used and the incamera processing.

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

FreedomLover:

The Nikon 610 likely fixed the oil problem--time will tell.

0 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

HowaboutRaw, the official sample image for the Nikon D610 is full of oil spots again:
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d610/sample.htm

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (6 months ago)

"Now wonder they are going bankrupt."

They are not:
"Olympus' operating profit increased 70% to some JPY 30 billion (USD 306 million), topping forecasts by JPY 3 billion (USD 31 million). "
This is the result for April-September 2013.

2 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (6 months ago)

The A7 is a completely different beast as are FF from this EM1.

The A7 will release with literally, barebones glass. You have to adapt everything. The EM1 is a faster camera all around. It's also signifigantly more quiet; and having owned and used Nex's and spent a great deal of money on them; not a single one, new or old, can compete with the OMD for sheer camera performance.

What you get with the Sony's will be absolute IQ over absolute performance wheras the OMD is absolute performance (relative to the Sony) over absolute IQ.

Also, you're looking at much bigger/heavier glass overall. Also, weather sealing, as far as I know, do not come with the lower FF cameras. You have to pay for it.

I own an EM1 with the 12-40 f2.8. The overall performance of the camera alone makes the asking price a bargain.

Do an analysis of what you get with the EM1 in that price bracket; I doubt you'll find anything comparable and even if you do, it's going to lose out to the EM1 in some fashion.

2 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (6 months ago)

Not competitive in the marketplace? You have no clue whatsoever. What a joke.

And, it is NOT a m43 sensor as that does not exist. It is a 43 sensor.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

FreedomL:

Thanks for the link, slow connection so I'll have to look later, but why would Nikon post a flawed image?

Also as a rule this kind of thing is going to have to show up more than a few times for confirmation that the problem is still there, and this body hasn't been out long enough.

Comment edited 11 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

HowaboutR, it looks like they absolutely don't care.

Of course there will always be plenty of people like you saying it's just a bad sample. They have been saying that for over a year now, why not say it for a few more years.

They never admitted having a problem, and there are enough reports from burned customers that they never fixed it.

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

FreedomLover:

I downloaded that linked jpeg of the lake; there are no oil spots on it.

Going by this one example the problem is solved. Of course that's the wrong approach.

0 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

HowaboutRaw, "Of course that's the wrong approach." Of course. As an example look at the dark round spot on X:760-800 Y:172-212. Enhance contrast to 90% to make it easier to see in the cloudy sky's top left corner.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (6 months ago)

FreedomLover:

I think I see what you mean, but not clear it's an oil spot.

0 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

I know, it could also be UFOs hidden in the clouds and on the faces of your subjects. Regardless, there are many, they are hard to remove, and multiply.

0 upvotes
sarit
By sarit (6 months ago)

@bluevellet

The A7 has LED viewfinder with slightly more resolution with slightly less magnification. Weather-sealing and AF performance is something that I can't comment as A7 is not available for public yet.

Faster flash sync and IBIS are advantages for Em1. I don't think Sony released the buffer size specs of the A7 although given its much higher resolution, it probably will store less number of images. On the other hand, the much bigger sensor size, lower noise at higher ISO, Dynamic range, more control over DOF are in the favor of A7. A7 does have a lot of customizable buttons and options. So still I can't see how Em1 is pro and A7 is barebones. The advantages of Em-1 are really not that much.

2 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

Resolution of the EVF is the same: 2.36 million pixels, only make and magnification differ.

Weather sealing is open to debate (though watch the camera store review for clues), but AF isn't. A7r is even slower because of the lack of PDAF.

But the buffer and continuous shooting are things that make A7(r) "barebone" because pro-level FF cameras don't skip on that detail. And you pay for that luxury.

Yes, A7 has buttons and customization, like many other cameras, but EM1 just has loads of it.

DOF control is a double-edged sword. Having more control is an advantage, but in RL situations, you will often find yourself stopping down because your FF lens has better IQ that way and/or it's easier to nail the focus (not every1 wants to have one eye in focus and everything else out of focus). The lenses often excell wide open already and DOF is not as shallow so shooting wide open also allows you to shoot at faster shutter speeds/lower ISOs. IBIS helps here too.

Almost over limit. Must stop

1 upvote
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

With Samsung, Sony and Toshiba selling 4K TVs for under 4000 dollars already, the image quality offered by these small sensor cameras is visibly lacking. And dpReview's denial of the obvious double edges produced by shuttershock shown in their own samples is not going to help.

4 upvotes
mister_roboto
By mister_roboto (6 months ago)

What are you babbling about? 4K resolution is only 8.3 MP.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 16 seconds after posting
8 upvotes
olypan
By olypan (6 months ago)

What "small sensor cameras" are you talking about. This is a discussion of the E-M1

7 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

Mister Roboto, "keep on trollin", "waxing poetic grouchiness", babbling in a good mood today :-)

Ultra HD displays of 3840x2160 show almost the full width of 4608x3456 pixel images. Noise and shutter shock displayed in the EM1 images even at base ISO become immediately evident.

Olypan, I like your dedication to Olympus. They have wonderful colours, a full frame camera from them would be great, global shutter, z-axis sensor focusing and light. Sony is planning it for 2015, Olympus could be first. It will be a hit and leading the way.

0 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (6 months ago)

The E-M1 is NOT a small sensor camera.

3 upvotes
pdelux
By pdelux (6 months ago)

"Ultra HD displays of 3840x2160 show almost the full width of 4608x3456 pixel images."

FreedomLover Ultra HD is still onlly 8MP which is half the resolution of the E-M1.

You will be viewing images at 50%, and even less if you want to fit the entire image...

Who in their right mind wants to only see half of an image... just because it fills the width of the screen

0 upvotes
FreedomLover
By FreedomLover (6 months ago)

When it shrinks the image to 84% of its width so it fits the full screen, only the top and bottom 12% do not show. You should try it, it's great if you have high quality pictures.

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (6 months ago)

Incredible that you already reviewed this camera which has just come to the market, while you never tested the samsung nx300, which has been out for more than 6 months now.

At least, take some nx300 samples with the studio scene, to show that its iq is outstanding.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
ThorstenMUC
By ThorstenMUC (6 months ago)

Just a typical citation, why I like my Olympus cameras (ok - I'm a geek):

"This being Olympus, you can decide..."

(not the Canon way: Yes - this is a reasonable feature, which we could easily implement... if you want it buy the bigger model)

Though the new Pentax K-3 and Nikons 7100 are interesting competitors currently my decision goes to move to mFT with an E-M1 body.

If it just would have the illuminated buttons as my old E-620 ;-)

2 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (6 months ago)

E-620 was not sealed. I guess the seals are made from black rubber, hard to illuminate through those. But probably possible if they try hard enough. ;)

0 upvotes
reefdreams
By reefdreams (6 months ago)

Seems like a very nice camera, I think if it would be APS-C instead of m4/3 with the same selection of lenses it would be even more successfull.

It is true though that with Sony pushing the full-frame pricing very low it might hurt the sales of a 4/3 sensor camera regardless of how good it is!

3 upvotes
MichaelKJ
By MichaelKJ (6 months ago)

If it were APS-C or FF, the lenses would be larger and heavier. Beginning with the E-M5, many of us have decided that m4/3 provides the optimal combination of IQ and size. I don't feel the need to go on threads about APS-C or FF cameras and criticize them for having larger and heavier lenses, and fail to understand why some people feel the need to criticize m4/3.

12 upvotes
Oly72
By Oly72 (6 months ago)

I could not have said it better myself Michael... Spot on.

0 upvotes
digitalanalog
By digitalanalog (6 months ago)

There's no ideal or flawless camera out there.

But this one probably comes as close as it gets.

5 upvotes
Photomonkey
By Photomonkey (6 months ago)

1788 comments in 24 hours! Must be a record.

2 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

No, the comments for the reviews were added to the comments of the "first impressions review" from last month.

6 upvotes
Photomonkey
By Photomonkey (6 months ago)

ahh

0 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (6 months ago)

The original first impression review got around 1450 comments during its run. Not bad at all. In recent memory, the only thing that comes close is the first impression review of the A7/A7r.

2 upvotes
Macx
By Macx (6 months ago)

Some people can't fathom that something that doesn't have a mirror and is smaller than 135 format has an appeal to other people. Their minds are blown, yet they are compelled to comment.

2 upvotes
faberryman
By faberryman (5 months ago)

Back in the day, I had an extensive OM-1 system with multiple bodies and a full suite of lenses, all of which I sold some time ago. Since then, I have had several digital cameras. Currently, I am shooting with a Canon G1X, which is really the first digital camera I have been satisfied with due to its large sensor. However, I am thinking about moving to a more versatile DSLR, either jumping up sensor size-wise to a full frame Nikon, or down sensor size-wise to a OM-D M1.

The main issue for me is lens availability and selection, about which I am confused. Can someone explain to me which Olympus and Panasonic lenses I can use without the MMF-3 adapter, and which lenses require the adapter. Thanks.

0 upvotes
faberryman
By faberryman (5 months ago)

I'll probably go FF. The FF sensor is 9x the size of the m43. It's the equivalent of shooting 110 vs. 35mm. $2500 for an OM-1D M1 and 12-40mmm f.2.8 lens to shoot 110?

0 upvotes
faberryman
By faberryman (5 months ago)

Here is a 110 SLR with interchangeable lenses from the 1970s. What is old is new again.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentax_Auto_110

0 upvotes
Carl
By Carl (6 months ago)

I have a question to the reviewers:

One of the main drawbacks of the E-M5 is image playback, because the playback button is very difficult to press, and once you pressed it the image only appeares in the LCD, but never in the viewfinder.

Is the E-M1 capable of displaying the image review in the viewfinder when you press the image playback button?

And is it possible to customze any other button besides the playback button for image review?

0 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (6 months ago)

The E-M1 can playback images in the viewfinder.

As you can see from the descriptions of button customisation in our Controls page, you can't assign any other button for playback. But the E-M1's play button is much less inconveniently placed than the E-M5's.

2 upvotes
Carl
By Carl (6 months ago)

Thanks, very nice enhancement having playback on the EVF.

The new playback button in fact seems easier to press (than on the E-M5) but at the same time more difficult to reach without a little hand acrobatics (just an assumption from what I see), specially when one is looking through the viewfinder.

One of the two new customizable buttons in the front of the camera would have been nicer for (optional) image playback, as it was implemented on the Nikon D800.

0 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (6 months ago)

Now that is really nitpicking. I can take ANY other camera and criticize the placement of buttons. Yes, ANY other camera. Silly.

Comment edited 19 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
Carl
By Carl (6 months ago)

From my perspective it's not silly. I have intensively used the E-M5 for over a year now, and having shot ten thousands of images with it I can tell the image review button and behaviour were actually very awkward in real use, it's a thing that can slow down your shooting.

Having invested some money on glas for this system I have a real interest in a new body with enhancements where the E-M5 was lacking. The image review is one of the aspects where a mirrorless system is (or should be) in natural advantage over a DSLR - but only if the workflow is seamless. The placement of the review button is critical here.

I also own a Nikon system, and although you have to switch your eye from the EVF to the LCD to review an image, the process of image review takes me less time with the D800 than with the E-M5 - just because of the button placement.

1 upvote
Total comments: 2127
12345