Previous page Next page

Displays

The D7100 features a 3.2-inch RGBW rear LCD, offering lower power consumption as well as the option of increased brightness compared to RGB panels.

At 3.2 inches, the rear LCD of the D7100 is slightly larger than the 3-inch screen on the D7000 and is the first display on a Nikon DSLR to employ an RGBW pixel array, presumably the 'WhiteMagic' panel that Sony developed in 2011. The additional white dots allow the screen to either be run at lower power or noticeably brighter than the RGB panels found on previous Nikons. This results in markedly better visibility when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight, making menu adjustments and composing via live view in these conditions a trouble-free experience on the D7100.

Information display

Press the info button while in shooting mode (except in live view) to show a full screen 'information display'. Introduced by Nikon as far back as the D40, having a single screen with comprehensive shooting information logically arranged can be very useful. By default, the information screen automatically switches between the two contrast modes shown below, based on ambient light levels; though you can manually configure it to use one or the other. The monitor will turn off with a half-press of the shutter button or after a user-specified period of inactivity (the default is 10 seconds).

'Dark on light' setting (bright ambient light) 'Light on dark' setting (low ambient light)

Changing settings

One complaint we had of previous Nikon DSLRs like the D600 was the somewhat convoluted method required to change settings via the rear screen. The D7100 introduces an 'i' button that functions like other manufacturers' 'quick menu' controls for easy access to one of 10 camera settings. Press the 'i' button and the traditional information screen is displayed but now the two rows of settings icons along the bottom can be navigated and adjusted via the multi selector and - if configured - the main command dial.

After pressing the 'i' button you can navigate the two rows of icons using the multi selector. Pressing the OK button... ...takes you to a menu screen where you can adjust the chosen parameter either with the multi selector or the rear camera dial if it's been so configured in the custom menu.

Among the options you can change from the information display are the image area crop, high ISO and long exposure noise reduction and Active D-Lighting setting. You can also define the behavior of the Preview and Fn buttons.

Virtual horizon

The D7100 features a 'Virtual horizon' with distinct iterations in the viewfinder and rear LCD. An aircraft-cockpit type virtual horizon on the rear LCD (shown below) updates in real time indicating the current orientation of the camera. Unlike the implementation on the D600 and D800, this is a single axis level, which only indicates roll, not pitch. A horizontally level camera position results in green - versus yellow - reference lines. By default, the Virtual horizon is displayed with a press of the Info button while in live view. It can also be shown on the rear LCD via an option in the Setup menu.

When activated via the Setup menu, a single axis Virtual horizon appears onscreen over a black background. When the camera is perfectly level along an axis, the reference line turns green. The Virtual horizon disappears with a half-press of the shutter button.

A much simplified level gauge can also be displayed inside the viewfinder if it is assigned to the Fn button. This provides a single axis tilt indicator for both portrait and landscape orientation overlaid atop the image area where, unfortunately it can be difficult to distinguish against a dark subject.

In live view, a Virtual horizon viewing mode can be accessed by pressing the info button in either still image or movie record mode. The Virtual horizon is superimposed over the image area, as shown below.

The live view Virtual horizon offers the same single axis icon as seen in non-live view mode. This view is also available with the camera set to movie record mode.

Image review

Press the playback button to review images stored on the SD card(s). You can cycle through several different photo information screens (shown below) by pressing the up or down arrows on the multi selector or via the front control dial if you configure it for this use in the custom menu f5. In the playback menu you can enable/disable several bits of photo information, pruning the number of information screens down to the single default info view if you wish. By default, you browse images using the multi selector's left/right arrows. The rear command dial can also be configured to perform this function as well.

The default screen in image playback is a 'file information' view which displays frame number, folder name, filename, date & time, image quality and size. Optionally, you can also choose to display the AF frame and selected focus point (shown above) as well. A 'highlights' view overlays blinkies where data is clipped. You can cycle between a composite RGB or single channel clipping views.
The 'RGB histogram' view provides highlight blinkies for composite and single channel histogram data. You can cycle through each channel in turn. There are a minimum of three 'shooting data' screens in which you can review exposure settings and image adjustments.
An 'overview' screen provides a comprehensive amount of image and shooting information along with a small image thumbnail. An image-only view omits all shooting data.

In addition to the examples shown above, additional screens are available if you add copyright data or shoot with an optional GPS device attached to the camera.

Playback magnification and thumbnails

In playback mode you can repeatedly press the 'zoom in' button to move step-wise through the D7100's magnification levels and then use the arrows on the multi selector to move around the magnified image. There are 11 zoom levels. As we've now seen on Nikon's latest generation DSLRs, the highest two levels are 2:1 and 4:1 magnifications, respectively, exhibiting pixelization that makes them of no practical use in evaluating focus.

The good news though is that, like on the D800, you can configure the OK button to jump immediately to a specific magnification level, a feature Nikon regrettably omitted on the D600. Rather unintuitively, since the maximum magnification view displays sampling artifacts, you'll want to set the OK button to the medium, not high magnification option for the most effective view when confirming focus.

One very helpful and time-saving feature is that when pressing the OK button, the magnified view centers on the area where the AF point acquired focus if the image was captured in viewfinder shooting mode. This allows you to quickly check focus between exposures without disrupting the flow of a portrait shooting session, for instance. When shooting in manual focus or in live view, pressing the OK button jumps to the center of the image.

You can configure the OK button to jump immediately to one of three magnification levels: low, medium or high. Here you see the fit to screen view followed by the medium magnification zoom.

The D7100 has three levels of thumbnail views plus a calendar view. Press the thumbnail button to switch to the initial 2x2 (4 image) view, press again for the 3x3 (9 image) view, and once more for a 9x8 (72 image) view. A fourth press takes you to a calendar view. Use the multi selector to move around the index. Note that if you have the 'Rotate Tall' option enabled, images taken in the portrait orientation are displayed vertically.

The thumbnail views are sticky, meaning that even after powering off the camera, pressing the playback button will return to the last selected thumbnail grid. With two SD cards inserted, you can choose which card to playback images from by holding the BKT button while pressing the up arrow on the multi-controller.

Pressing the thumbnail button lets you cycle through three different thumbnail views and a calendar view.
Previous page Next page

Comments

Total comments: 32
Glen from Bedford
By Glen from Bedford (1 week ago)

I know this review has been out there for some time now but I don't see any evidence of "banding" in the samples provided above when increasing the exposure or increasing the brightness in LR. That really puzzles me, because I can create the "banding" issue in almost every one of my D7100 images when increasing the exposure or increasing the brightness. Don't get me wrong, it's not my attention to find fault w/the D7100 but I have a lot of good pics where the "banding" is evident w/out pushing the exposure. And like others, it's now really bugging me to the point where I feel the D7100 is a faulty piece of equipment... much like the D600 was. My D7000 produces no such issues when the exposure or brightness is increased. I read where the sample images of the D7100 at The Imaging Resource do not display banding either. So here's the question... did DPReview and the The Imaging Resource get D7100s w/an improved sensor over production models or are many D7100 faulty and need service.

3 upvotes
sadatoni
By sadatoni (1 week ago)

I'm confused. In this review, the 100% coverage viewfinder is mentioned as a prod, but in the K-3 review it is not mentioned. In this review, "6 fps burst rate (7 fps in 1.3x crop mode) is mentioned as a pro". The K-3 review says "Good buffer depth and continuous shooting rate" for a pro. It's over 8 fps. There are other disparities of this type as well.

4 upvotes
svesi
By svesi (1 week ago)

Scoring is relative only to the other cameras in the same category:

K-3 = Semi-professional Interchangeable Lens Camera / DSLR
D300s = Semi-professional Interchangeable Lens Camera / DSLR
EOS 7D = Semi-professional Interchangeable Lens Camera / DSLR

D7100 = Mid Range Interchangeable Lens Camera / DSLR
EOS 70D = Mid Range Interchangeable Lens Camera / DSLR
K-50 = Mid Range Interchangeable Lens Camera / DSLR

0 upvotes
jll59
By jll59 (2 days ago)

The Pentax K-3 as Semi- Pro? Hum....

0 upvotes
Awes Khan
By Awes Khan (3 weeks ago)

i am using nikon d7100 with 18-105 lens
and it is having noise problem in low light
when lights are low for the camera and we use to increase ISO it gives noise problem and grains is shown on the picture
can this problem be solved by settings
because i feel this is a focus problem or may be lens problem

0 upvotes
bull detector
By bull detector (3 weeks ago)

With Canon not admitting that the 70d has Auto focus problems I started to look at the D7100 and found that after a while it gets oil and spots problems on the sensor? Apparently when I starts it keeps on coming back? I really just want a good and reliable camera

0 upvotes
TimAZ
By TimAZ (3 weeks ago)

To be perfect for class the D7100 needs three things:
* Tiltable touch screen (ala D5300, EOS 70D, EM1, XT1, et al)
* Onboard WiFi
* Onboard GPS
Will we see D7200 at Photokina 2014? Got fingers crossed...

0 upvotes
jjlad
By jjlad (3 weeks ago)

I had focus problems on my D7000 for 2 years. Sometimes perfect, often not, The auto focus fine tune adjustments would disappear whenever the camera shut down. It was finally replaced a month ago under warranty with a D7100. What a difference. The sharpness is already well covered here so I'll comment on dynamic range. I shot an event recently and didn't compensate for back-light on some quick shots of the participants. Those color photos looked like silhouettes ...black on white. When I processed them in LR5 though, they actually turned out fine. Even though shot at ISO800 the images had enough range and contained enough data to generate good skin tone and eyes and even fine peach fuzz on arms and cheeks turned out. I could not have saved those from the D7000 even in RAW, because it clipped too hard at both ends ...highlights and shadows. It would also have 'hunted' focus in that situation. So to me the D7100 is excellent and shows what 2 years of technological improvements can do.

0 upvotes
Wannabballers
By Wannabballers (1 month ago)

I owned a D7000 and 2 shutter blades broke off while i was shooting my 6 year olds basketball game. So it's time for a new camera.

Will a D7100 be a significant upgrade? I was thinking about getting a D7100 or a used Nikon D3 for speed. I primarly shoot indoor basketball but now my 4 year old daughter is starting soccer so i'll be shooting some out door sports as well. Can anyone help with suggestions?

0 upvotes
Timothy G
By Timothy G (1 month ago)

I have owned a D7100 for about a year now and recently I have noticed that the lens does not seem to move after it has lock in place on the mount. Ever after I hear the lens locking by the sound of the 'click' there is still some 'play'.

Has anyone noticed this happen? Is this okay or should I have my camera checked at a service center?

0 upvotes
LiranC
By LiranC (1 month ago)

HI Timothy

I just bought D7100 and I Need to ask you about shooting with ISO 1600 and higher.
The pictures are very grainy images, especially the grey and the black areas.
Is it normal? I sent it to the LAB and they told me that is nothing wrong and this is the quality of pictures with this ISO even when using noise reduction normal or high

0 upvotes
NoahRR
By NoahRR (1 month ago)

Yes, at that high of an iso there will be a lot of visible noise, always try to use the lowest iso you can.

1 upvote
Awes Khan
By Awes Khan (3 weeks ago)

i m also suffering from same problem
it is an expensive camera should not give this kind of problem
its a major drawback of this model

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Blhtang
By Blhtang (2 months ago)

I am ready to buy Nikon d7100. Just one question, I have old D200 and sets of lenses. Are those lenses compatible with D7100?

1 upvote
Rouzbeh
By Rouzbeh (1 month ago)

completely compatible...no problem

1 upvote
Westmill
By Westmill (3 months ago)

Actions speak louder than words..... Just ordered a second body :)
Sigma 18-35 F1.8 on one body and the Sigma 50-150 F2.8 on the other !
Also ordered the 18-140 as a walkabout for when I am not in the mood for carrying a lot of weight :)
Still waiting for the D400 though... grrrrrr Please wake up NIKON !!!!!!!

1 upvote
Guidenet
By Guidenet (1 month ago)

I just don't see any reason for a D400. If you want and need pro-level features, you don't need to be spinning your wheels on APS-C. Nikon isn't really doing much in the way of DX glass anyway.

Why no go ahead and move up to FX and invest in FX glass? I would imagine that as a percentage people wanting more than entry level, those satisfied with the D7100 make up the most. Those of us Who want or need that next step above the D7100 have long since migrated to FX.

0 upvotes
StillLearning
By StillLearning (1 month ago)

Birders and Macro photographers are probably at least 2 groups that would like a pro dx. Speed , deep buffer and a rugged body for the elements. To get equivalent FOV glass you need to be wealthy or take out a 2nd mortgage to afford them. I have dx and fx and they each have their purpose.

0 upvotes
Guidenet
By Guidenet (1 month ago)

Birders and macro shooters should understand that a smaller sensor just makes a smaller crop of a larger image, whatever that image is. No enlargement occurs. The bird is the same size on a crop sensor as on FX. There's just less space around him. The crop sensor just could maybe help you put more pixels on the target. I'd rather have all the advantages of FX, then crop after the fact, if I need to do so.

1 upvote
Bud Robertson
By Bud Robertson (4 months ago)

Just upgraded to the D7100 from the D7000. I'm finding it a very capable camera, so far. Could someone tell me if there is somewhere to increase the sharpness in camera? I was sure the D7000 had that option somewhere.

1 upvote
Entropius
By Entropius (3 months ago)

There is; it's in the Picture Controls settings.

0 upvotes
sophi loren
By sophi loren (4 months ago)

i am too much pleased and happy with my nikon D7100. For me the upgradation of D7000 to D7100 worth my bucks.
My bro wrote also a great review about nikon D7100 here is the review

http://www.squidoo.com/nikon-d7100-price-is-the-d7100-worth-the-bucks

thanks everyone :)

1 upvote
RMLurie
By RMLurie (4 months ago)

My D7100, bought last May, is fantastic. Together with the 16-85, it is incredible. The dynamic range compared with my D300 is a major upgrade. Photos of a play with spotlights and much dark areas, were wonderful in edited RAW. Used exposure with center weighted aimed at bright area. Unedited, the dark was very dark, but in PS the shadows opened up perfectly. This increased dynamic range is clearly a remarkable advance. This is also shown on page 14 of the review. The 16-85 lens is extremely sharp. In case you didn't get it, I'm very happy with this setup.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
4 upvotes
SHanty
By SHanty (4 months ago)

I do not look at the 7100 as this reviewer does, be it a large upgrade. I would not have kept this camera in the 7000s series, certainly not 7100. Many similarities but the changes there are, are so significant, I personally would not have a 7000 and then say I upgraded to the 7100 because they made the 7100 better. Not talking about on the high end or low end of Camera's it is not an upgrade, it is a new way the line is going and I would have labeled it D8000 if you know what I mean, to show the serious differences.

IMO but what do I know. I bought my First Digital Camera when Kodak came out with the DC40, Owned DC50, by then some point and shoots, owned 20 of those, at least. I understand, You can tell me I am off base, I will take it in fun

1 upvote
maurizio220
By maurizio220 (5 months ago)

Nice camera but 5xxxx series costs less and produces nice files too. One terrible discover after I got d7100... continuos shooting in raw mode stops after only 5/6 shots... this is terrible. it is a very great handicap! you can't do raw smaller files too...

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
Salkareem
By Salkareem (5 months ago)

It had been a very long decision between Nikon D7100 and D610; I finally bought D7100 for most of my photography work. Using Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC the D7100 provides mind blowing IQ. However, as I often do large size gallery prints I therefore shoot mostly in RAW and post process my image in DXO Optics Pro 9 which provides me the best result for my prints. Consequently, I sold my D800 as I am very pleased with D7100 and the results I get after post processing in DXO Optics Pro 9.

2 upvotes
Tal Shachar
By Tal Shachar (8 months ago)

very nice video explanation, but you should put some indoor videos in the video sample movies. Outdoor videos I can see that they are very good quality, but for wedding photographers we want to see whats the video quality in low light conditions.

beside that for Nikon, I think it's really silly to make Interlaced video recording option because it's low quality. Interlaced compared to Progressive is like Optical zoom compared to digital zoom.

1 upvote
jacyeoh
By jacyeoh (6 months ago)

Very nice review you got there...

0 upvotes
Cankon
By Cankon (8 months ago)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37345874@N04/9575723740/

Very happy with my D7100, Look at the detail in the focus zone and that's without a tripod.

0 upvotes
dennishancock
By dennishancock (8 months ago)

I've had my D7100 for four months now and I'm liking more the more I use it. Really impressive image quality particularly compared to the D90.

0 upvotes
helltormentor
By helltormentor (8 months ago)

Can you please tell me why the image is that soft? it is soft to the degree of being considered out of focus. Just look at the Queen and compare its level of sharpness and detail to that from E-M5. I am not just talking about out of camera JPEGs. This deficiency applies to raw files as well.
I know that E-M5 is an excellent camera but, theoretically, D7100 must totally beat E-M5 taking larger sensor, higher resolution and removal of AA filter into account.

1 upvote
vittorionava
By vittorionava (7 months ago)

I had the same impression looking at the watch...

1 upvote
Total comments: 32