Previous page Next page

Nikon D610 Review

Buy on GearShopFrom $1,896.9514 deals

Just a year after the arrival of Nikon's full-frame D600 in the fall of 2012, its replacement arrived in 2013. The D610 is the exact same as the D600 but with a new shutter mechanism that boosts continuous shooting and adds a 'Quiet Continuous' mode. The only other upgrade is an improved auto white balance system.

The D600 is an excellent DSLR, with top-notch photo quality, a well-built body and impressive movie recording capabilities. Unfortunately for Nikon, the D600 is probably best known for collecting oil on the sensor - an issue for which Nikon only initially issued a service advisory, without admitting the actual cause of the problem. Nikon only directly acknowledged the issue over four months after the launch of the D610, saying: 'Nikon has thoroughly evaluated these reports and has determined that these spots are caused by dust particles which may become visible when the camera is used in certain circumstances'. It's now offering D600 users free inspection, cleaning and replacement of the shutter assembly and related parts even if the warranty has expired.

Internet theorists have suggested the D610 was created to leave the troubles of the D600 behind. And the appearance of a new model so soon after the D600's launch, with almost no changes other than a new shutter mechanism, seems to give that theory some credence. However, given the company's reticence to discuss the problem with the D600, we haven't had absolute confirmation from Nikon that the oil issue has been 'officially' resolved.

With that out of the way, let's take a more in-depth look at the D610, and what's changed. The D610 shoots 6 fps, up from 5.5 fps on the D600. A new Quiet Continuous mode shoots at 3 fps and, as its name implies, makes less noise while doing so. Finally, the auto white balance system has been updated to produce more accurate color in artificial lighting, and more realistic skin tones.

Nikon D610 key features

  • 24.3MP Full-frame CMOS sensor (10.5MP DX-format crop mode)
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to ISO 50-25,600 equivalent)
  • Maximum 6 fps continuous shooting; new quiet continuous mode shoots at 3 fps
  • 39-point AF system with 9 cross-type AF points
  • Refined auto white balance system
  • Wireless flash control
  • 3.2in 921k-dot LCD screen
  • Dual SD memory card slots
  • 1080p30 full HD video
  • Uncompressed video recording via HDMI

As mentioned above, the D610 is literally the D600 with three new features (four if you count the new shutter mechanism). That's actually not a bad thing, as the D600 is a truly excellent full-frame camera, as you can see in our review.

The D600's 24.3MP FX-format CMOS sensor produced excellent JPEG image quality, and performed very well at high sensitivities. Its Raw files had an impressive amount of dynamic range, as well. The D610 performs just as well since the sensor and processor are unchanged from the D600. Some other things we enjoyed about the D600 that carries over to the D610 are its solid, weather-sealed magnesium alloy body, large optical viewfinder, responsive (and customizable) interface and high-end video specs.

There is little to complain about in the D610 since from our experience the reported oil issue seems to be fixed. Otherwise, just like the D600, we found fault with the D610's poor outdoor LCD visibility and some live view quirks (AF speeds and lack of a histogram). The point here is that the D610 offers all that made the D600 excellent, plus a few nice improvements.

Key specs compared

 
Nikon D610
Canon EOS 6D
Nikon D800
 Effective Pixels  • 24.3 MP • 20.2 MP • 36.3 MP
 ISO Range  • 100-6400 standard
 • 50-25600 expanded
• 100-25600 standard
• 50-102800 expanded
 • 100-6400 standard
 • 50-25600 expanded
 No of AF points  • 39 • 11 • 51
 Screen  • 3.2"
 • 921,000 dots
• 3"
• 1,040,000 dots
 • 3.2"
 • 921,000 dots
 Viewfinder • 100% coverage
• 0.7x magnification
• 97% coverage
• 0.71x magnification
 • 100% coverage
 • 0.7x magnification
 Built-in flash   •  Yes  • No  •  Yes
 Continuous drive  • 6 fps • 4.5 fps • 4 fps
 Storage  • SD
 • 2 slots
• SD  • SD and CF
 • 2 slots
 Weight
 (inc batteries)
 • 850g (1.87 lb) • 770g (1.7 lb)  • 1000g (1.98 lb)
 Dimensions • 141 x 113 x 82 mm
   (5.6 x 4.5 x 3.2")
• 145 x 111 x 71 mm
(5.7 x 4.4 x 2.8")

 • 146 x 123 x 82 mm
(5.8 x 4.8 x 3.2")

 Wi-Fi + GPS   •  Optional • Built-in •  Optional

Kit options and pricing

The D610 is available in different kits in different markets. The most widely-available kit includes the 24-85mm F3.5-4.5G ED VR standard zoom, which comes at a recommended price of $2599.95 / £2299.99 / €2499.

The US also sees the camera offered in a variety of kits with other lenses, and it's available body-only both there and in mainland Europe for an RRP of $1999.95 / £1799.99 / €1949.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

We also recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2014 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page

Comments

Total comments: 286
12
Royclaude
By Royclaude (1 day ago)

I own a D-610 for one month, I’m completely satisfied with this FX camera.
My preceding kit was a D-90 with the 18-105 and 70-300, now I have the D-610 with 28-300 and 50mm 1.8, What a difference it made, I was well serve with my past kit but now I can see the step up I made, I can put the image at 100% on my computer and I find it terrific. I have read a lot of complain about this camera, but for me it’s the best gift I made myself for my sixtieth anniversary.

0 upvotes
AUP
By AUP (1 week ago)

Just to share with the community in regards to the 600/610 spot issues. Bought the 610 w/ 28-300mm and after a few hundred pictures taken in the span of two days. I could count at least 15 spots and maybe even more.

Sad to say but it has been RMA'd

0 upvotes
gp2003gt
By gp2003gt (1 week ago)

After more than 3000 pictures, spotless, so far so good, very happy with the increase in dynamic range and high ISO compared to crop DSLR's.

Kind regards
Albert

0 upvotes
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (4 weeks ago)

PLUS: Spotless performance thus far.. CONS: Nikon come clean. VERDICT: Ask China if they are likely to ban it BEFORE you buy one.

0 upvotes
munro harrap
By munro harrap (4 weeks ago)

Well, a deliberately missed opportunity... WHY is there STILL an AA filter? The D7100 at base iso will have greater resolution and acutance than a D610, so this move backwards , this photographically, optically , morally and visually retrograde step makes no sense.

What is needed simply is less. No AA filter. No uncontrollable auto AF, but a return (sighs of relief!) to the D200-D700 rocker switch arrangement of moving groups of AF points to where YOU want them, with Face recognition too-excellent, and can we buy one with a cover for the screen now? No, they have even dropped that on the D7100.

For those who know not, the lack of AA filter makes all the difference-things look like a photograph again. Its why Leitz and Sigma and Hasselblad don't have them, and you can see all the detail that the AA filter filtered out.

And then you have a great machine with not much noise. THe noise kills that resolution- the 1600ISO shots here are mushy,not all the fault of the dreaded 24-85G

1 upvote
Duckie
By Duckie (3 weeks ago)

One deliberate strategy of Nikon is to stop the cheap camera from being as good as the top line ones. This has been difficult given the improvement of technology. They used to use less effective AF systems but now that the huge amount of pixel really demands some good AF, they will have to make it annoying instead!

Likewise a D610 entirely without AA would be too close to a D800E (less the seemingly diluted extra pixels of D800E).
If you are into conspiracy theories, this is s big one of self sabotage!

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
PicOne
By PicOne (3 weeks ago)

Which is a bit funny in a way.. All 35mm film cameras, mounted with the same lens, would produce identical results with same exposure settings. Back then, it was about features and build quality, not about differentiated image quality.

0 upvotes
Heinz
By Heinz (3 weeks ago)

Maybe you know not. In a bayer sensor the absence of an AA filter only makes sense if the resolution of the sensor is significantly higher than the resolution of the lens to prevent from moire. With 24MP on FX the pixel pitch is still to low and the camera would suffer from hefty moire. The 7100 has higher pixel pitch due to the smaller sensor. The D800 is borderline so you can have it with and without AA filter. Makes all good sense to me. I don't know Leitz and Haselblad, but the reason that sigma doesn't need an AA filter is due to the all different sensor array.

Comment edited 5 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Mike FL
By Mike FL (4 weeks ago)

Some D610 has the same FATAL FLAW ( dust buildup on the image sensor) as D600 per internet.

1 upvote
stratplaya
By stratplaya (4 weeks ago)

lol. Oh no, the internets wants another round.

2 upvotes
Mike FL
By Mike FL (4 weeks ago)

Other than Dust sensor issue, D610 has more problems than D600, Blurry Viewfinder for example. Per internet/users

We will wait and see D620...

1 upvote
sandy b
By sandy b (4 weeks ago)

Strange, no reports of blurry viewfinder on the forum.

1 upvote
Mike FL
By Mike FL (2 weeks ago)

@sandy b, It does here and outside of DPreview.

Something is wrong with Nikon as a whole.

I'll wait and see how D620 goes.

0 upvotes
SRS_Photography
By SRS_Photography (1 week ago)

Mike, did you adjust the diopter?

1 upvote
tempest69
By tempest69 (5 days ago)

The blurry viewfinder is probably due to those folks not adjusting the viewfinder diopter adjustment. You know people .... thats why Apple always ask you to check if your power socket is connected when you tell them your pc couldn't boot up. Also, we see more 'amateurs' using high end cameras that some pros don't even use. Beats me if they could fully comprehend the functionality of the D610.

0 upvotes
Charlie Jin
By Charlie Jin (1 month ago)

The next generation should have GPS and Wireless WiFi,
which in case I plan to buy. Don't know why Nikon is one-generation (5 years) behind Canon.

1 upvote
sandy b
By sandy b (4 weeks ago)

Except in litle things like IQ, AF etc.

6 upvotes
Mark Ortiz
By Mark Ortiz (4 weeks ago)

you're right

0 upvotes
Vincent He
By Vincent He (3 weeks ago)

GPS and WiFi are not that useful in many cases. My friend has Canon 6D with these features. But she disabled them all by default. GPS drain your battery really quick even when you turn the power off. You have to turn GPS tracking off which does not make too much sense when you need it.

1 upvote
stratplaya
By stratplaya (1 month ago)

I've been shooting DX for years now, but now I think it's time to move up to FX.

0 upvotes
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (1 month ago)

PLUS: Good new camera Nikon CONS: But you've done the dirty on all the D600 users and only legal action is seeing you do anything constructive to help out…..

1 upvote
justmeMN
By justmeMN (1 month ago)

"CHINA - Industrial and commercial authorities have launched a probe into Nikon China after the company was accused by China Central Television of selling defective products.

Many consumers have complained of dust buildup on the image sensor of the Nikon D600 camera, CCTV said on its annual 3/15 Gala news programme on Saturday."

"Many D600 users including Du have asked for a refund or a free upgrade to the newer model D610, but Nikon has refused their demands, even though some D600 owners in the United States have been offered a free upgrade to the D610, according to CCTV."

http://news.asiaone.com/news/science-and-tech/nikon-china-probe-launched-after-cctv-report-defective-products

3 upvotes
sandy b
By sandy b (1 month ago)

This is a D610 review. I can point you to the D600 if you are having trouble finding it.

7 upvotes
justmeMN
By justmeMN (1 month ago)

@sandy b: DPR's article mentions both the D600 and D610. The news item I posted mentions both the D600 and D610. I can point you to a reading comprehension course if you are having trouble finding one. :-)

5 upvotes
MrMojo
By MrMojo (1 month ago)

This seems like an appropriate place for your post as far as I am concerned…

Nikon's handling of the D600 debacle in the U.S. has been terrible. I've been a loyal Nikon customer since 1981 and its recent problems with some of its rather pricey cameras have made me gun-shy about purchasing a new DSLR.

2 upvotes
Northgrove
By Northgrove (1 month ago)

I fail to see how a D610 review comment section is appropriate for some lingering news about the long known dust issues with the D600 (which is already mentioned in this review, FWIW).

Comment edited 15 seconds after posting
1 upvote
MrMojo
By MrMojo (4 weeks ago)

I think that it is appropriate because the D610 is Nikon's rather feeble attempt to address a major problem with the D600. What should have been a major recall of a defective DSLR morphed into the introduction of a new camera model… and there are apparently online reports that the D610 suffers from the same sensor issues that plague the D600.

The Chinese government is getting involved because Nikon simply refuses to do the right thing for its loyal customers. It's amazing that a barely functional government does more to protect its citizen-consumers than the "exceptional" good ol' USA...

1 upvote
Tuanglen
By Tuanglen (4 weeks ago)

Remarkable that you imagine that a government that denies consumers even the right to vote actually cares deeply about consumer protection. CCTV, the official broadcaster of the Party, pumps out a constant stream of stories about the endless indignities suffered by the poor Chinese people at the hands of arrogant, evil foreigners, especially Japanese and Americans, and how the Party is standing up for them. This, "they treat Americans with respect but treat us Chinese like dogs" narrative was being trumpeted by CCTV regarding Apple last year and Google, Microsoft, US and Japanese car companies, etc., before that.

So now CCTV says Japanese Nikon treats Americans with respect but treats Chinese like dogs and you applaud the Chinese government for how much more they care about their non-voting consumers than that "exceptional good ol' USA". Amazing.

Nikon did the wrong thing IMO, but nothing CCTV says sheds any light on it. They're not actually talking about consumers or cameras.

Comment edited 7 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
maljo@inreach.com
By maljo@inreach.com (1 month ago)

The 610 is a good solid camera. We are lucky to have so many good cameras these days.

As for 100% magnification, I always looked at my slides with an 8X loop and I always look at my digital images at 100% to see if they are sharp.

3 upvotes
kecajkerugo
By kecajkerugo (1 month ago)

I think your (some of you) eye is blind by this pixel level evaluation. Nobody from real photographs (except the pixel peep community) look at the pictures at 100% magnification.

A great summary of the current state in the business is summarized by one of the real experts at the www.luminous-landscape.com/essays/what_matters.shtml (helpfully Steve agreed to put this link here)

All these cameras can provide just excellent picture quality of real pictures (not their 100% zoomed representation.....) and there are some areas one is better than the other. Best regards.

0 upvotes
Wanganuilad
By Wanganuilad (1 month ago)

Haveing got that out of the way...
perhaps we will see a review of the best APS-C camera ?
It's only been out 7 months

1 upvote
naththo
By naththo (1 month ago)

As in Pentax K3 you mean?

1 upvote
Macintosh Sauce
By Macintosh Sauce (4 weeks ago)

Word! :)

0 upvotes
dudifan
By dudifan (1 month ago)

D800 modern furniture

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
marc petzold
By marc petzold (1 month ago)

for sure a very good DSLR, and the D600 back in 2012 was my FF DSLR dream, 'til i've read about the dust & oil spots issue, and further, that the AF module is only 39 Point AF, and not the 51 AF Point System from the other well known Nikons since the D300....also only the rough center area is covered, that kept me away from the Nikon Fullframe bandwaggon....and of course, i can't use my over the years collected mf lenses, because of the mirrorbox...another thing is that good FX lenses are way expensive, so for many ppl would see the D610 be their DSLR of their (affordable) dreams, but for myself i'd go with the A7, because it's lighter, smaller, almost the same performance, and i can use all my legacy lenses.

personally, i'd say silver award - *if* nikon would have build into the 51 AF points module, and let's say 7 to 8fps, larger buffer too.. that would be a gold award in my eyes, no offence. of course, the sensor performance is outstanding in this class, well done - nikon.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
microstudio
By microstudio (1 month ago)

opinion. For video, which is more perfect.70d canon, panasonic gh4 or AC90? We can can compare Gh4 with d610, to take pictures.
www.nunti-de-lux.ro . Now I have panasonic ac130 and canon 70d
Thanks

0 upvotes
Lucas_
By Lucas_ (1 month ago)

You should also check the Sony RX10 ( regardless it has a 1" sensor only..! )

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
EnglishPhotographer
By EnglishPhotographer (1 month ago)

I've tested the Nikon D600 against the Pentax K3. The Pentax is a better thought out camera. It's not deliberately crippled like the Nikon is. It feels tougher and is far more customisable. But the full frame Sony sensor in the D600/D610 is so good that it still makes it the better camera overall.

2 upvotes
clauderobidoux
By clauderobidoux (1 month ago)

Just got some pictures ready for a stock agency this morning. Took me about an hour just to clean dust spots... really annoying! Please Nikon if there's one technology you should focus on is getting rid of this problem, or at least find a way to improve it significantly.

0 upvotes
zevobh
By zevobh (1 month ago)

send it in, they will replace it for free.

0 upvotes
aramgrg
By aramgrg (1 month ago)

Gold? Come on guys, nothing is changed within a year and so, but your ranking still is gold!
For instance, the same kind of changes has been made from T2i to T3I (even more substantial), but the first received gold, the second one silver, which is logical.
Would you give a gold star another t2i announced this year, say t5? I don't think so(even considering price category change).
So it will be logical to change either d610 to silver, or give no award, saying D610 is a continuation of D600 with fixed bags.
Secondly, your comparing tool at the conclusions page is totally irrelevant. Comparing D600 vs D610 nothing changes substantially, besides the value row. How will you explain me the fact that D610 received gold award, nothing has changed upon D600 to the worse, but it is half the value(even the announced price,maybe by 100$, but they have been fairly similarly priced when announced)?

Comment edited 12 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
InTheMist
By InTheMist (1 month ago)

The D600 also got gold, if I remember correctly.

0 upvotes
Noogy
By Noogy (1 month ago)

Oh yes, ironically, a camera with a defective design was awarded GOLD. I think DPR has been ***** something/someone since they moved to Seattle/Amazon.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
dudifan
By dudifan (1 month ago)

that right

0 upvotes
zevobh
By zevobh (1 month ago)

not everyone had the problem. they do their review based of their unit, not on angry bloggers.

4 upvotes
kecajkerugo
By kecajkerugo (1 month ago)

GOLD, SILVER=> because all the recent cameras are just great tols to take pictures!
The differences are minor in practice-who cares whther a camera holds AF 52 sensors, 36 or 48? This is meaningless!
Who careas if camear focuses in 0.08 sec or .006 sec?
Who careas abot 100% pixel peep magniffication differences in picrure quality?

0 upvotes
StevenE
By StevenE (1 month ago)

This is the third highest score ever given by DPR. The two higher scores were given to the Canon 1D mk IV and the Nikon D3S.

The D610 score beats Nikon's D800 and D800E, and the Canon 5DIII.

Really?

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 46 seconds after posting
5 upvotes
SiliconVoid
By SiliconVoid (1 month ago)

While everyone may not agree with DPR's categorization of different bodies - the D600, D610, Df, 6D, and A7 are not in the same category as the D800/e, 5DmkIII, nor 1DmkIV, D3s, etc and the scoring is 'within its category'.
So it does not score an 87 against the 82 of the D800, it scores an 87 against the 80, 81, 83, and 87 of the five cameras in its category...
Consider each category having its own 1-100 grading scale, and not related to other categories.

9 upvotes
Timbukto
By Timbukto (1 month ago)

I only care about price group according to street price and size/weight. Unfortunately the D610 being a bit heavier and larger than the DF or 6D makes it a bit close to the D800 which due to older age is not in a completely different price bracket than a brand new D610. So overall the D800 *would* compete with the D610 to the enthusiast buyer. You have 6FPS vs 4FPS, but the thought that the D610 dropped frames in daylight on the outer edge on a f4 lens may be a consideration in the D800's favor as well. Thus the only thing left would be shutter obtrusiveness. Overall the D800 in my eye, especially used or pre-owned, would be in heavy consideration over a D610 at this point particularly because the D610 is substantially heavier than the DF/6D to be closer to the D800 anyways.

And IMO the A7 would be in an entirely different class due to size/weight as well. I would not classify them according to purely sensor size or MPs...

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Timbukto
By Timbukto (1 month ago)

In addition this is the first review I've seen that makes explicit mention of what looks to be ownership bias -

"So in recent months, the D610 has been my tool of choice to capture those images."

To me where as other camera's seemed to be, 'hey you have a new camera to try, go review it', this review is more like...hey you already own and picked this camera for your day to day use, go review it....

2 upvotes
SiliconVoid
By SiliconVoid (1 month ago)

Size and weight have little to no factor in the categorization of the cameras, and while the $1000 between the D610 and D800 may be no issue for you, that is a top end lens purchase and a considerable difference for the other 98%. I am happy you enjoy your D600/610, or have chosen that over the D800, however there is little comparison/similarity between the D610 and D800 other than they are both made Nikon.

As for the categories; I am not defending DPR's quantification by any means.. I do not think the front plate on something like the A7 and A7R warrants those falling in different categories when all else is essentially identical... Or when a brand providing 1/10th the high-end lenses gets its new body categorized with other high-end bodies. However build quality and materials, as they would factor in serviceability of more intensive use, are a valid measurement aspect of one camera against another. Especially when functionality accompanies the higher build quality and materials.

1 upvote
Timbukto
By Timbukto (1 month ago)

1000 dollars is about the worst case difference in price. The difference if you entertain purchase of low shutter count refurb or pre-owned is more like $300-400 dollars. There is also brand new imports but I don't know if Nikon is more of a stickler about that to absolutely deny any service, etc (if it were Canon I may not get warranty, but they will not deny service). There are not a lot of refurb or pre-owned options for the D610. Likewise even if I compare a street price 6D to lowest street price 5DMKIII the difference is still about 1k. The moment the D610 is about 1 year old, and perhaps its street price is lower, then yes I would agree it would be a affordable option. As it is, in my mind its about a $300 differential as refurb is an absolutely viable option.

0 upvotes
SiliconVoid
By SiliconVoid (1 month ago)

That is all great and well.. however this is not a review site for refurb equipment.. It is new equipment, and as those products hit the street (...sometimes..P).

Your point is certainly a valid consideration for like-minded buyers, however it is completely irrelevant to the review and the category based scoring - which was the op inquiry, and my response/clarification.

Now time to put a finger to a shutter instead of a keyboard.. =)

0 upvotes
PSImage
By PSImage (1 month ago)

We are still stuck on this? Sent my D600 in for shutter replacement surgery and it came back working just fine. Don't understand why everyone is so worked up over this. Isn't this why photographers have had backup bodies all of these years? I didn't get rid of my D700 when I bought my D600. I kept it in case something went wrong. I will note that this is the first time in 25 years of shooting Nikon that I have ever had an issue. 3rd best sensor ever tested only behind the D800 and D800E. http://www.dxomark.com/Cameras/Nikon/D600

1 upvote
Northgrove
By Northgrove (1 month ago)

"The D610 score beats Nikon's D800 and D800E, and the Canon 5DIII."

The scores aren't meant to be compared to each other like that, so this camera isn't beating those at all.

The D800 score is in comparison to other professional full-frame cameras, not in comparison to the "introduction full-frame" D610.

For an introductory full-frame camera, they think this one is a really good one that that. I mean, the sensor is basically pro quality, and it's a frickin step in model.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Noogy
By Noogy (1 month ago)

DPR please make up your mind. You gave the same gold rating to the D610's defective, flawed predecessor - the D600 and vigorously defended such rating even when I commented that I personally already knew at that point that a new camera to replace the D600's flawed design was in fact already in the works. Months later Nikon finally indirectly admitted that it was a flawed a camera that needed to be replaced asap in perhaps what can be described as the shortest replacement cycle in the DSLR world. Please restore a bit of credibility by withdrawing your D600 rating and giving it to the truly deserving D610. Imagine the irony when in the future, one of the worst DSLR bodies in history due flawed design, was at one point rated GOLD by your prestigious website!

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
King Penguin
By King Penguin (1 month ago)

Wow, lucky you're not in charge of anything important.

I'd hardy say the D600 is a terrible camera........as a user I find it great, even of the dust/oil issue annoys me......it's still a brilliant piece of kit.

1 upvote
Vafaculo Constosito Di Merdia

even a ferari with defective steering would at some point become annoying and would loose its prestige.

5 upvotes
Noogy
By Noogy (1 month ago)

King Penguin, I don't care what your impression is of D600. It nonetheless remains a flawed design - otherwise why would Nikon be in such a hurry to release the D610? Semicon manufacturing is a cruel science. This is wanton commercialism on the part of Nikon because if Nikon halted the intro of D600 despite their knowledge of manufacturability and quality issues of the D600, they would not have had a decent competitor to the Canon 6D. How long did it take them to correct the flawed design of the D600, which means how long did it take them to come up with the D610? So yes go ahead be happy with your D600. The fact remains its manufacturer decided to replace it ASAP. Be happy it sharpens your photography AND sensor cleaning skills. So yes be glad I am not in charge of something important. The fact remains you have in your hand a camera with a defective design, and thank God it's your money, not mine.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
medicus
By medicus (1 month ago)

On that time DPR has awarded the D600, the dust issue wasn't known. I am not a big fan of Nikon anymore, due to some cumbersome and ugly service issues. But the IQ of the D600/610 is top notch.
I only was wondering about taking the old 20mm lens. My one produced unsharp edges which had rather wide reach to the centre.
For family photography, I used it as well, but a high level compact like the Sony RX100 M2 is the better choice, because later is really not in the way.

2 upvotes
Northgrove
By Northgrove (1 month ago)

Yes, the dust issue hardly showed up during DPR's review period, and they can impossibly take others opinions and problems into account when setting a score. Reviews are subjective, not summaries of the "general blogosphere opinion".

0 upvotes
samir sinha
By samir sinha (1 month ago)

If the D610 would have all the features that is listed in "Conclusion - Cons", as missing, DP review would still find something else to rile on.

0 upvotes
Ron A 19
By Ron A 19 (1 month ago)

"no histogram in live view" :p

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (1 month ago)

I love the irony that the A7 review was full of people complaining the Sony camera should not have been compared to the likes of the D610 (comparison didn't favor Sony much) and now people complain here the D610 scores much better than the Sony camera.

I guess the cameras are comparable after all!

5 upvotes
NJohnston
By NJohnston (1 month ago)

Eh, barely. If you're comparing purely with tech specs then sure. I've used the D600, A7 and 5DMkIII side-by-side, and believe me, the Sony is no contender.

3 upvotes
Overmars
By Overmars (1 month ago)

Hmmm... but you did say:
"In my my opinion, the real test is really with the operator and not the camera."

0 upvotes
naththo
By naththo (1 month ago)

Sony A7 miss out gold (I disagreed with A7R having Gold, it should've been silver) why because of raw lossy compression, lack of native FE lens, sometimes sluggish AF, aggressive sharpening/noise reduction. Thats probably true to that. Oh another con would be sensor is exposed when changing lens would introduce dust. I think thats a fair call that A7/A7R should go for silver. It would be nice if shutter close before you change lens and some improvement in AF and they need to hurry up make more native FE lens asap.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
ckeek
By ckeek (1 month ago)

This camera got lots of one star rating but was scored 87. Which rating is more reliable?

2 upvotes
InTheMist
By InTheMist (1 month ago)

Where did you see one star reviews? A quick view on Amazon shows that the only one-star reviews are about handling the D600 debacle, which was admittedly catastrophic.

0 upvotes
PAArchitect
By PAArchitect (1 month ago)

Here is my problem with all this. If I want better or higer resolution photos I must purchase a whole new camera. This gets expensive every year. With film I could obtain wonderful results with highest quality lenses on like an FTb (Canon). As films improved my FTb got better, what a concept. Now I have to buy a new camera if I wish to get better resolution etc.
Perhaps sensor up-grades for a nominal fee?

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Suntan
By Suntan (1 month ago)

Welcome to 1999?

Seriously, where have you been?

-Suntan

1 upvote
Vafaculo Constosito Di Merdia

you need the supporting electrincs as well! and since the lay-out/energy reqs are changing due to the microchips' new versions, then the camera would have to be more modular. there are modular cams in the range of 20k but, for this d600 category its just not feasible.

0 upvotes
MRM4350
By MRM4350 (1 month ago)

I fail to see the issue of the ISO button location, and it's use with the camera to your eye compared to other locations on other cameras. I would prefer it on the bottom button on the left side of the LCD so my left thumb could locate it somewhat easier.

3 upvotes
SiliconVoid
By SiliconVoid (1 month ago)

I would prefer it on the top, right side, where all the other settings and dials are...
Its placement on most of Nikon's bodies would suggest Nikon does not feel it is necessary to change ISO as frequently as other settings, to which I agree for the most part - especially given the customization one has for auto-iso, but other brands (Canon) seem able to place it in the location of the 'other' shooting parameters.

Comment edited 40 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
t.c. marino
By t.c. marino (1 month ago)

did not take long for the 6d defenders to chime in.this site has reviewed both cameras in depth and rated d600/610 higher mainly because it is a higher specification camera with equal iq.6d has built in wifi/gps..optional on 610,6d has better live view and video implementation and excellent center af point.610 shoots faster,more af crosspoints,built in flash(very usefull for firing(wirelessly)nikon speedlights,dual card slots(very usefull) af assist light,CLASS leading sensor and the ability to link its spot meter to any af points..something that no canon camera can do except for the $5k-6K 1d series

4 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (1 month ago)

One important point raised was that the D610 has all the focus points crammed into the middle of the screen. Numbers don't mean much if the focus points are so close together....at least that was my experience with the D600.

3 upvotes
3BBDAE1DB63C49898C8EC0891D4C1E4F

Just Ed, not to single you out, just taking the opportunity.
How did we ever manage to focus properly back when we used a single split prism focus point? When a miss with film was relatively much more expensive.

0 upvotes
Josh152
By Josh152 (1 month ago)

Not much more so than the other FX DSLRs. . Basically imagine there are focus points on the line that surrounds the focus points in the D610 and that is the coverage the D800/D4 would have so it isn't as bad as it looks.

The pic comparing them in DPR's review is misleading because on the 51 point system the lines that bracket the focus points are further from the outer points than the line that brackets the focus points on the 39 point system is so it looks like a bigger difference than it actually is.

2 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (1 month ago)

I suppose it might be a dealbreaker for some, but I haven't found it to be a problem at all. In some ways I like not having the AF points plastered all over the viewfinder, but either way its easy enough to adapt to.

The "odd" matrix metering (extra-heavy weighting to the selected AF point) trips me up far more often.

0 upvotes
waxwaine
By waxwaine (1 month ago)

With all Light Leaks affairs undercover recently, I presume DPR tested D610 on this issue

3 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (1 month ago)

I thought that was the a7, does the D610 need duct tape around the lens mount also?

0 upvotes
waxwaine
By waxwaine (1 month ago)

I don´t know, but from this moment should be not a minimal aspect to test.

0 upvotes
nzmacro
By nzmacro (1 month ago)

Yes, apparently some Canon and Nikon's are the same

http://www.imaging-resource.com/news/2014/03/07/do-concerns-about-sony-a7-light-leaks-hold-water

Interesting results !!

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
longtomx
By longtomx (1 month ago)

Having into account that D600 and D610 share the same sensor, why the D600 has one stop more of dynamic range in ADLoff ( shadow side of range ) comparing your own tests of both cameras ?? Is it a mistake? Which one is your true measurement ? Thanks.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Shield3
By Shield3 (1 month ago)

If you compare this to the 82% rated 5d Mark III, you'll see (according to DPR) that this Nikon D610 "beats" the 5d3 in video mode, yet one cannot even adjust the aperture in live view on the 610.
This 610 beats it in performance, even though the 5d3 has a 61 pt AF system and I can get 30 shot raw burst @ 6FPS with a 1000x CF card. No CF slot on the 610.

2 upvotes
armandino
By armandino (1 month ago)

magic lantern boosts 5DMKIII DR up to 15 stops when shooting raw video. If you are very concern of high output video quality.

0 upvotes
ScottRH
By ScottRH (1 month ago)

Still waiting for the D700 replacement. The 610, D800, are not it. I shoot weddings. And don't want XQD on D4s.

Comment edited 44 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
Vafaculo Constosito Di Merdia

d4s is not for weddings, unless the wedding contains olympic sports and extreme fast action games in the schedule

3 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (1 month ago)

The D700 replacement is the Df. Or the 5DmkIII.

1 upvote
Timbukto
By Timbukto (1 month ago)

Good review but a few nitpicks. The review comments on moire and patterning are a bit absurd. In one section the reviewer comments about how the D610 handles moire better in jpeg and they link a certain section of patterning. Then they claim it handles moire better in RAW and *move* the section to a portion where the D610 happens to handle moire better in RAW (where as if it remained where it did in the jpeg section it'd look *worse* in RAW). Depending on the lens and pattern its completely anecdotal. If anything its the 6D that was the most moire free in the etching. The resolution charts will moire depending on different frequencies of detail not to mention there will be big differences in horizontal vs vertical detail.

AF test sections are again always appreciated but again so severely anecdotal. To me I saw clear misses in plain daylight, but not enough rigor in these AF tests to determine a thing. If I remember correctly even a NEX-6 seemed to nail their 'AF' test...

0 upvotes
Timbukto
By Timbukto (1 month ago)

Also comments about a FF DSLR *nailing* focus of a kid mid-stride when the DOF is so thick the woman in front is also clearly in DOF and elements far in the back are *almost* in DOF...its just plain silly. I've nailed focus on a 6D with an 85mm 1.8 wide open in extremely dark conditions of a spinning swinging chair on Halloween night, so I just find it silly to even mention thick DOF shots of a kid mid-stride. If the camera ever *failed* in plain daylight with such thick DOF, you should send it in for repair. 27mm f5.6 and the AF works in daylight...hooray I guess?

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
D 503
By D 503 (1 month ago)

Under specified and overpriced. The 7100 is better value.

7 upvotes
armandino
By armandino (1 month ago)

full frame affordable? They are different cameras, sorry. I personally would not compromise for a crop.

1 upvote
ChapelThrill23
By ChapelThrill23 (1 month ago)

You do realize that full frame and APS-C cameras are very different animals, right? The D610 is one of the cheapest FF cameras ever brought to market and offers better image quality than any APS-C camera ever made and image quality that could not be matched at any price just a few years ago. It isn't cheap in absolute terms but it is as good a value as you can find anywhere in FF cameras.

2 upvotes
Josh152
By Josh152 (1 month ago)

At base ISO the D7100 and D610 will have pretty much the same IQ. The two main difference between FF D610 sensor and crop D7100 sensor are that the D610 will have around 1 stop less noise for the same exposure and can achieve shallower DOF for the same focal length and aperture. The D610 will also have slightly better dynamic range and color depth too but not by enough to worry about most of the time.

When considering all the features of both cameras including the sensors I agree that the D7100 it the best bang for the buck and would say it is even the best bang for buck int he entire Nikon lineup and maybe even in the entire DSLR market.

0 upvotes
PerL
By PerL (1 month ago)

@Josh
Every lens will perform better on the D610 than on the 1.5 crop of the D7100.

0 upvotes
cm71td
By cm71td (1 month ago)

Forum Poster: "I'm outraged. You didn't review my favorite camera yet. How can you not review it first when it's clearly the best!"

Reviewer: "Uh... if you're already convinced that it's the best, why are you waiting for a review from us? Are you hoping that we will talk you out of buying it?" ;)

11 upvotes
AlexRuiz
By AlexRuiz (1 month ago)

This is awesome. Probably applies to 50% of the discussions around here.

2 upvotes
tallguy600
By tallguy600 (1 month ago)

Built quality better than Canon 6D? I don't think so.
Example: My D600 fell down from low height, plastic front shell supporting the metal lens mount broke while the 6D comes with a magnesium alloy body shell in front...
To me having owned both D600 and now the 6D there is no question that the 6D is much better put together and every button feels more substantial.
D600/D610:
http://www.digitalreviewcanada.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/Nikon-D600-vs-D800-SLR-camera-Mg-body-construction.jpg

6D:
http://cpn.canon-europe.com/files/education/technical/inside_the_canon_eos_6d/caption_007_new.jpg

5 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (1 month ago)

I have the same impression having owned a D600 and now a 6D (much better overall).

1 upvote
The Photo Ninja
By The Photo Ninja (1 month ago)

Nikon lost me with the awful green screen and poor autofocus of the D800. I've switch to Canon and the 5D Mark III is a joy to use. I'd like a better sensor, but my images are in focus and the LCD is beautiful. Video on the 5D Mark III also is better than on Nikon.

8 upvotes
NJohnston
By NJohnston (1 month ago)

I own a D800 but am required to shoot with 5DmkIII all the time and, while I don't think "awful" really describes the screen or the AF, I don't disagree agree with you. After owning my D800 for almost two years, I've tweaked the settings, my production and my post production enough to get awesome results. The Canon is awesome out of the box.

1 upvote
brycesteiner
By brycesteiner (1 month ago)

The image quality does not have the detail of the new and much smaller Olympus or the Fuji cameras even up to high ISO's (to me 2000 is high ISO).

I'm trying to figure out why it got such a high score for fixing a severe problem that should not have been there to begin with.

After switching to mirrorless, I wouldn't go back. I was told I can't shoot fast action - bologna! The current generation, at least with Olympus, the screen is perfectly quick and the human eye is probably the slowest part of the chain. Guess what? Not dirt on the sensor either!

The megapixel race is moot now. Noise is too. They're all very good. Why not focus the other way and lets see real improvement in low ISO? How about mirrorless Nikon, Canon?

Sony is way ahead. That is where the high scores should be going to.

The big players are seriously lacking innovation over the last three years. Otherwise, there is no reason to buy new cameras, unless you need a new shutter without dust, dirt and oil.

4 upvotes
kadardr
By kadardr (1 month ago)

In which regard is Sony ahead of competition? In which regard m43 is having better IQ than any FF?

8 upvotes
Henderson May
By Henderson May (1 month ago)

even m43 use a mechanical shutter, no dirt on sensor if you stick with your kit lens

3 upvotes
HFLM
By HFLM (1 month ago)

Did you set JPG detail to fine? Did you shoot raw and compare? I have EM5, EM1 and D610 and although I love my Olympus its image quality is certainly not better than D610 (especially if you don't zoom to 100% as both cameras have different resolutions blowing up the picture differently).

1 upvote
AlexRuiz
By AlexRuiz (1 month ago)

Same as HFLM. I had an EM5 and have a D600. The IQ is much better in the D600. And above ISO 800 not even close.

0 upvotes
cm71td
By cm71td (1 month ago)

Definition of "4/3's Truther": Someone who claims that there is a complicated conspiracy to hide the fact that "There is no difference in image quality between FF and Micro 4/3's".

2 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (1 month ago)

If you keep up with the articles here you would know that both Nikon and Canon execs stated that mirrorless does not seem to be as popular as expected with buyers in the U.S.

With that said, its good that companies like Fuji and Oly offer alternatives.

0 upvotes
NJohnston
By NJohnston (1 month ago)

In my my opinion, the real test is really with the operator and not the camera. I use Nikons. It's what I learned on and what I'm comfortable with. If I'm getting bad photos, it's probably not my camera.

Pictures not sharp enough? - it's probably my technique

AF can't track a top fuel dragster at warp speed? - my expectations may be unrealistic

WB not pleasing? - I shouldn't be shooting portraits next to a big window on a cloudy day with mixed florescent/tungsten lights and a speed light in the room.

Moire a problem? - If you can honestly answer "yes" to that question, go back to film and stay out of digital.

Dirt and oil on your sensor? - Get over it. Learn to clean your sensor.

My point - if you miss the moment, it doesn't matter how good your camera is, there'll be no picture. If you capture a memorable moment, it doesn't matter if you used your iPhone. So the best camera to have is definitely NOT the best camera, but rather a camera that you have on you and know how to use.

0 upvotes
CameraLabTester
By CameraLabTester (1 month ago)

The Nikon D600 and the D610 are both very good cameras.

But there will always be that speck of dust in one's mind...

.

11 upvotes
WillieG
By WillieG (1 month ago)

And that's exactly where it was for most of the people complaining about dust: in their minds.

2 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (1 month ago)

The article seems bent on convincing people that the body on that thing is "tough" and capable instead of cramped and cost-cut relative to older DX top bodies.

2 upvotes
Jake64
By Jake64 (1 month ago)

If the D610 got the 51 point AF system; no one would buy the D800. FACT

6 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (1 month ago)

The D610 is a point update to the ill-fated D600 so I suppose all dpreview had to do was polish up the D600 review a little, but it was still a really good review that nails just about everything you need to know about these cameras:

- Incoming from a D700, you'll face some pain points.
- Live view recording still feels like a beta feature.
- Wifi and GPS are "plug in" extras when in 2014 they should be built in.
- The viewfinder rocks.

Overall if you aren't pro but want a really good dSLR, the D6x0 is a great choice, both in performance per dollar and performance per gram.

1 upvote
steelhead3
By steelhead3 (1 month ago)

The view finder is very sub par compared the the competition.

1 upvote
kadardr
By kadardr (1 month ago)

Which competition?

4 upvotes
JF69
By JF69 (1 month ago)

Actually the VF is great, I can finally nail focus my Noct at ƒ1.2 (tiny DOF & field curvature makes t more difficult than other lenses) even in dim light……amazing!

0 upvotes
AlexRuiz
By AlexRuiz (1 month ago)

steelhead3, the VF is very good, particularly when compared against EVF's, which are still inferior.

0 upvotes
steven_k
By steven_k (1 month ago)

I wonder why the Sony A7 does not have as good high ISO performance as compared to the D600/610 ???

1 upvote
ageha
By ageha (1 month ago)

Why should it? It's a Sony.

4 upvotes
naththo
By naththo (1 month ago)

Sony sensor have more sensitivity to low light than any other brand so the noise will be higher in high iso unfortunately. If you want lower noise in high iso you need sensor like Canon 5D MKIII or these current line up of Toshiba sensor. Also once again it got to do with their brand of image processing chipset engine inside on how it process JPEG and RAW file.

0 upvotes
neil holmes
By neil holmes (1 month ago)

To me, looking at the Queens head the Sony A7 has much more detail than the others at higher isos. A bit more noise yes, but more detail. The A7 is a good camera in low light and high isos. All the FF cameras in the comparison are.

0 upvotes
IndianCanuck
By IndianCanuck (1 month ago)

The review mentions kit lens as 25-85, should it not be corrected to 24-85? Plain ignorance or typo??? ;)

0 upvotes
Jeff Keller
By Jeff Keller (1 month ago)

Where did you see this typo exactly?

0 upvotes
Simon Joinson
By Simon Joinson (1 month ago)

which do you think?

4 upvotes
Lucas_
By Lucas_ (1 month ago)

IMHO it's outrageous to give a Gold Award and an 87% note to this camera and Silver with 80% to the fantastically innovative Sony A7 ( not to mention the A7R, which is clearly at another level and got Gold / 82%! ). It's about time DPR realizes that their reviews "conclusions" have actually become a joke! I can appreciate the level of camera features/controls details and specs they cover ( which IMO is the good value of the review ), but I've learned to just don't care at all about their final conclusions ( sometimes hilarious ) and rating!

18 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (1 month ago)

The D610 ready to take pictures while the A7 is still dozing after being turned on. It won't go blind if lighting gets less than ideal. It won't give up if subjects start moving around. It has a superior JPEG engine and it doesn't compress RAWs.

The D610 just works.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
28 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (1 month ago)

What's so innovative about the A7/R? They're mirrorless FF cameras, with no new technologies that we haven't seen in other cameras.
Anyway, innovation in itself is not cause for a great review. A camera should be assessed based on usability, performance, build quality, value etc. A camera with no innovations could still be a great photographic tool, and therefore deserve a high review score, while an innovative camera could be a flawed photographic tool, and therefore deserve a lower score.
I'm not saying that the A7 has any major flaws, just that the fact that it's innovative (if that's the case) have nothing to do with whether it's a good camera or not.

10 upvotes
Summi Luchs
By Summi Luchs (1 month ago)

The A7/A7r are fantastically innovative but not necessarily better than DSLRs. These cameras have a size and weight advantage and a theoretical advantage for WA lens designs (but no real WA lenses (<=28mm) exist for these cameras). OTOH a DSLR is much more capable to capture the "decisive moment". The lags to the electronic displays and limited frame rates in mirrorless systems justify better overall ratings for DSLRs. So I can't say tat there is anything wrong with DPreview's ratings.

4 upvotes
Lucas_
By Lucas_ (1 month ago)

I take it that all of you have already spent some time with the A7, right? If not, I'd advise you to do that and while you're at it, also try a 7R! Don't just rely on reviews and "nay sayers"..! As for lenses, that's a non-issue, you can also use most lenses you like from Nikon, Canon, Pentax, Leica, Contax, Voigtlander, etc, even Minolta and Sony...!

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
5 upvotes
PerL
By PerL (1 month ago)

@Lucas
But most people wants AF-capable lenses. And if you look at MF lenses, there are millions of superb Nikkor AI/AIS lenses that works without the hassle of adapters on a D610 (and all other high end Nikon DSLRs).

7 upvotes
Fogsville
By Fogsville (1 month ago)

As the man says: LENSES.

3 upvotes
taktak91
By taktak91 (1 month ago)

@Lucas_
It shows you love your A7. That's fine; you should stand behind the cameras you purchased. But it doesn't mean everyone else have to equally love and rate the camera you love.

2 upvotes
DaddyG
By DaddyG (1 month ago)

Surprising that a camera that is based on a 2012 model is such highly rated. I thought ratings were relative to today's (2014) technology?
I'll be interested to see what the EOS 1200D gets, which is essentially a rebadged EOS 550D.

2 upvotes
Treeshade
By Treeshade (1 month ago)

Those who have already spent some time with the A7(R)... have really spent some time on... focusing. I know many people could take time for their shots, could manual focus, could process RAW, but for many people A7(R) failed to meet their minimum requirement. (no mater how light-weighted or high IQ)

4 upvotes
ChapelThrill23
By ChapelThrill23 (1 month ago)

I'd imagine that you are basing your opinions on extensive use of both cameras and not spec sheets.

0 upvotes
vagtanklan
By vagtanklan (1 month ago)

I have the D610 now, and had the A7 before it.

I found the ergonomics flawed on the A7, and that it was almost impossible to use the rear rotary dial with gloves.

Great IQ, flawed ergonomics = deserved 80%

0 upvotes
FrankS009
By FrankS009 (1 month ago)

Speaking of late reviews, what about the Panasonic G6? It was introduced a year ago, and has not had a full review yet. Perhaps DPR is waiting for its replacement.

The G6 weights half of the D610, has an articulated screen, and its lenses are half the size and weight too. There is a purpose for every camera, but the difference between full frame and micro-4/3rds IQ is getting small enough that for practical purposes most people don't need to spend the extra money or lug the extra weight. The revolution has truly taken place.

F.

7 upvotes
jcr4486
By jcr4486 (1 month ago)

I was exactly thinking on the same !
Where is the G6 review ? I really miss that one.

5 upvotes
bobbarber
By bobbarber (1 month ago)

I own a G6. It's a great camera. It probably gives up a little to the OM-D models for stills, but it does great video. No enthusiasts got enthused about the G6, though... At least it feels that way. I agree wholeheartedly with your sentiment that something like the G6 is all that most people need. I don't see how camera manufacture in general could go away from cameras like the G6, and towards cameras like the D610. It's only a matter of time. With cameras like the GH4 being introduced now, the DSLRs are treading water. DSLRs are great machines, and their run isn't over yet, but their momentum has definitely been slowed.

2 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 month ago)

M43 image quality is close to apsc. The g6 is a bad example though. It uses the outdated gh2 sensor with it's standout feature disabled.

0 upvotes
Summi Luchs
By Summi Luchs (1 month ago)

No, there is a big difference between FF and m4/3. I have used (and still use) m4/3 and Nikon FF Cameras for years (currently a Pana GX7 and a D600). I agree that both systems can deliver very good image quality and for many subjects technical details do not play a big role (at that level of IQ). But those pictures, where image quality has a substantial part in the "WOW" factor were taken by the FF cameras. This is not due to a single parameter like high ISO noise or shallow DOF. Good lenses can easier show their qualities in bigger formats, a fact known since decades.

3 upvotes
bobbarber
By bobbarber (1 month ago)

@Summi Luchs

I don't think that anybody would quibble over there being a difference between m43 and FF IQ. But if you say it's a "big" difference, then people start to argue.

What does a "big" difference mean? To some people, there's a "big" difference between eating at McDonalds or Wendy's.

I think you might be in trouble if you tried to test of this "big" difference between m43 and FF. If you hung identically composed pictures and prints from both formats on a wall, and asked a hundred strangers to comment, I'm betting that most wouldn't see much of a difference at all, and of those who did see a difference, almost nobody would characterize it as "big". Maybe I'm wrong, but that's how I see it.

Cheers.

Comment edited 53 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (1 month ago)

For those wanting a G6 review, go to cameralabs.com. It was out sometime ago and its not too bad. Covers most of the areas you may want to know.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
ChapelThrill23
By ChapelThrill23 (1 month ago)

"There is a purpose for every camera, but the difference between full frame and micro-4/3rds IQ is getting small enough that for practical purposes most people don't need to spend the extra money or lug the extra weight. The revolution has truly taken place."

That is true for some uses but do not doubt just how useful the thinner depth of field can be for a lot of photographers. And do not underestimate the major advantages that you'll see at high isos in a good FF camera.

0 upvotes
vagtanklan
By vagtanklan (1 month ago)

I got me a D3200 in addition to the D610 ... a much better option than buying into a new system.

0 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (1 month ago)

But the body is still second-rate.

5 upvotes
Summi Luchs
By Summi Luchs (1 month ago)

Don't forget that it is much cheaper than first rate bodies. Look at the price of Nikon D3/D4 or Canon 1D series cameras and try to adjust what to expect for much less money.

5 upvotes
DezM
By DezM (1 month ago)

Nice review. Works for me. I'm getting very good IQ with the D610. See shots #1 thru #27: http://www.dezsantana.com/night

6 upvotes
deepaksh
By deepaksh (1 month ago)

Outstanding pictures DezM. You quietly yet again proven the point that the camera is but a tool.

2 upvotes
Nukunukoo
By Nukunukoo (1 month ago)

While not a Pentax user, I do agree how DPR is bordering to WTF as to why they take to spend (and waste) a lot of time on Canikon even on extremely insignificant model upgrades and ignores celebrated cameras like Pentax K3 whose combination of features are quite unique and leading in its class.

Shame really, DPR, was there a change in management as to why many feedbacks from your user base seem to be falling on deaf ears?

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
31 upvotes
amoebaman
By amoebaman (1 month ago)

My feelings exactly.

They missed the k-3 review for the holiday season, even yhough it tore up the user polls

Wtf

16 upvotes
justmeMN
By justmeMN (1 month ago)

What's "extremely insignificant" is Pentax's market share. :-) Why should DPR concentrate their limited review resources on brands that don't sell?

9 upvotes
AlexRuiz
By AlexRuiz (1 month ago)

The 5 Pentax users should get together and do their own review.

I for one only care about products that are widely available in the market place. Last year I was vacationing in Mexico and decided to buy an extra battery for my D600. Walked into an electronics store in Guadalajara Mexico, and YES they had them. Had I been a Pentax shooter, I would have been SOL. Just saying.

5 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (1 month ago)

Should be reviewing cameras likely to be of interest, but also ones that advance the state of photography.

Comment edited 15 seconds after posting
8 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (1 month ago)

I'm not going to look up which was announced first, but reviewing the D610 is a much simpler task since the D600 review was already in the can. They pushed it out first, but I am quite confident a K-3 review is in the pipeline.

0 upvotes
Frank C.
By Frank C. (1 month ago)

Pentax is a marginal player and will be treated as such. Things will change once it makes it to one of the top 3 positions, if ever

1 upvote
Smitty1
By Smitty1 (1 month ago)

It is a catch 22 as how does Pentax gain marketshare if they only receive minimal exposure in the media?

If the K-3 would have simply had a 'Canon' or 'Nikon' logo on the front, it would have received much fanfare on this site.

5 upvotes
Nukunukoo
By Nukunukoo (1 month ago)

This IS a Camera Review regardless of what kind of camera is out there. This should not have been a market share contest. Besides, the last poll DID show how popular that Pentax is. Thinking that popularity is insignificant against "market share" as a criteria when writing reviews would not only look stupid, it would look incompetent.

Comment edited 39 seconds after posting
7 upvotes
Heie2
By Heie2 (1 month ago)

>Had I been a Pentax shooter, I would have been SOL.

Many Pentax DSLR's are AA-battery compatible. Just sayin' ;)

@Nukunukoo - agree with everything you've said in this comment thread.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (1 month ago)

Ideally, every camera should be reviewed, no matter what brand. However, given the limited manpower, and the fact that DPR spends many weeks using a camera before writing their very exhaustive reviews, they have to prioritize. Because many more people shoot with Canon or Nikon DSLRs than any other brand, then there are likely many more people who are interested in reading reviews of those brands. Unfortunately, there's no way of prioritizing in a way that's fair to all brands, other than flipping coins.

It's just not true, that DPR is ignoring the K-3, though, since they have repeatedly said that they are working on the review.

0 upvotes
Nukunukoo
By Nukunukoo (1 month ago)

@revenant... As opposed to writing a multi-page full review of the D610 that came out just recently? Prioritize? What exactly is the real significant difference between the D610/D600 beyond the bug fix? Try checking FStoppers and the other camera review sites that are now gaining traction over DPR and tell me if they are doing preferencial articles...

Sorry to say this but your rational for DPR's action is sounding more like an excuse than anything else.

5 upvotes
JustDavid
By JustDavid (1 month ago)

some of the laughably ignorant comments here are not worth a reply...
Imagine that Apple had to go through the same DPR prioritization years ago when Nokia ruled the world. iPhones etc would be dying breed...

1 upvote
AlexRuiz
By AlexRuiz (1 month ago)

JustDavid, the impact Apple had on the telecom industry was huge. It revolutionized the industry and built a infrastructure around it. While I am sure the K3 is a good camera, it is simply not a comparison you can make.

0 upvotes
dpmaxwell
By dpmaxwell (1 month ago)

Based on the several comments here, there appears to be a HUGE business opportunity for someone to start a website reviewing Pentax cameras.

12 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (1 month ago)

You do realize that website exists already, right?

www._____forums.com

Take the pentax forum at dpreview and multiply the earnestness of the user base by one hundred and you'll have some idea what level of zealotry to expect there.

I'm half-kidding, it's actually a pretty good site. The lens user review database is particularly useful. You just have to go in accepting that its its a fan site.

0 upvotes
Eric Calabros
By Eric Calabros (1 month ago)

thats actually how internet hype works: few speak for many, and make the wave keep resonating

0 upvotes
Total comments: 286
12