Previous page Next page

Nikon D610 Review

Just a year after the arrival of Nikon's full-frame D600 in the fall of 2012, its replacement arrived in 2013. The D610 is the exact same as the D600 but with a new shutter mechanism that boosts continuous shooting and adds a 'Quiet Continuous' mode. The only other upgrade is an improved auto white balance system.

The D600 is an excellent DSLR, with top-notch photo quality, a well-built body and impressive movie recording capabilities. Unfortunately for Nikon, the D600 is probably best known for collecting oil on the sensor - an issue for which Nikon only initially issued a service advisory, without admitting the actual cause of the problem. Nikon only directly acknowledged the issue over four months after the launch of the D610, saying: 'Nikon has thoroughly evaluated these reports and has determined that these spots are caused by dust particles which may become visible when the camera is used in certain circumstances'. It's now offering D600 users free inspection, cleaning and replacement of the shutter assembly and related parts even if the warranty has expired.

Internet theorists have suggested the D610 was created to leave the troubles of the D600 behind. And the appearance of a new model so soon after the D600's launch, with almost no changes other than a new shutter mechanism, seems to give that theory some credence. However, given the company's reticence to discuss the problem with the D600, we haven't had absolute confirmation from Nikon that the oil issue has been 'officially' resolved.

With that out of the way, let's take a more in-depth look at the D610, and what's changed. The D610 shoots 6 fps, up from 5.5 fps on the D600. A new Quiet Continuous mode shoots at 3 fps and, as its name implies, makes less noise while doing so. Finally, the auto white balance system has been updated to produce more accurate color in artificial lighting, and more realistic skin tones.

Nikon D610 key features

  • 24.3MP Full-frame CMOS sensor (10.5MP DX-format crop mode)
  • ISO 100-6400 (expandable to ISO 50-25,600 equivalent)
  • Maximum 6 fps continuous shooting; new quiet continuous mode shoots at 3 fps
  • 39-point AF system with 9 cross-type AF points
  • Refined auto white balance system
  • Wireless flash control
  • 3.2in 921k-dot LCD screen
  • Dual SD memory card slots
  • 1080p30 full HD video
  • Uncompressed video recording via HDMI

As mentioned above, the D610 is literally the D600 with three new features (four if you count the new shutter mechanism). That's actually not a bad thing, as the D600 is a truly excellent full-frame camera, as you can see in our review.

The D600's 24.3MP FX-format CMOS sensor produced excellent JPEG image quality, and performed very well at high sensitivities. Its Raw files had an impressive amount of dynamic range, as well. The D610 performs just as well since the sensor and processor are unchanged from the D600. Some other things we enjoyed about the D600 that carries over to the D610 are its solid, weather-sealed magnesium alloy body, large optical viewfinder, responsive (and customizable) interface and high-end video specs.

There is little to complain about in the D610 since from our experience the reported oil issue seems to be fixed. Otherwise, just like the D600, we found fault with the D610's poor outdoor LCD visibility and some live view quirks (AF speeds and lack of a histogram). The point here is that the D610 offers all that made the D600 excellent, plus a few nice improvements.

Key specs compared

 
Nikon D610
Canon EOS 6D
Nikon D800
 Effective Pixels  • 24.3 MP • 20.2 MP • 36.3 MP
 ISO Range  • 100-6400 standard
 • 50-25600 expanded
• 100-25600 standard
• 50-102800 expanded
 • 100-6400 standard
 • 50-25600 expanded
 No of AF points  • 39 • 11 • 51
 Screen  • 3.2"
 • 921,000 dots
• 3"
• 1,040,000 dots
 • 3.2"
 • 921,000 dots
 Viewfinder • 100% coverage
• 0.7x magnification
• 97% coverage
• 0.71x magnification
 • 100% coverage
 • 0.7x magnification
 Built-in flash   •  Yes  • No  •  Yes
 Continuous drive  • 6 fps • 4.5 fps • 4 fps
 Storage  • SD
 • 2 slots
• SD  • SD and CF
 • 2 slots
 Weight
 (inc batteries)
 • 850g (1.87 lb) • 770g (1.7 lb)  • 1000g (1.98 lb)
 Dimensions • 141 x 113 x 82 mm
   (5.6 x 4.5 x 3.2")
• 145 x 111 x 71 mm
(5.7 x 4.4 x 2.8")

 • 146 x 123 x 82 mm
(5.8 x 4.8 x 3.2")

 Wi-Fi + GPS   •  Optional • Built-in •  Optional

Kit options and pricing

The D610 is available in different kits in different markets. The most widely-available kit includes the 24-85mm F3.5-4.5G ED VR standard zoom, which comes at a recommended price of $2599.95 / £2299.99 / €2499.

The US also sees the camera offered in a variety of kits with other lenses, and it's available body-only both there and in mainland Europe for an RRP of $1999.95 / £1799.99 / €1949.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

We also recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2014 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
301
I own it
229
I want it
32
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 325
12
vinragz
By vinragz (3 weeks ago)

BEWARE! The dust problem of the D600 is not really fixed. It just takes longer to manifest

So Im on an expedition in the Himalayas with a student group and suddenly start seeing spots on otherwise pristine images. Realize quickly that this is a dust on the sensor. Just 4 months old Camera.

Got back home (Pune) and approach the 'Authorized Nikon Dealer'. His response 'We can't help, you just have to take it to the Authorized service center'. Duh? You pay a premium and buy from retail shops and for what? This is Nikon, friends. The dud could not even recommend a good cleaning kit for this sensor but playing the same broken record 'we can't help you'

Nikon's retail network sucks. Any dud can open a shop these days. And Nikon products have also started to suck big times.

Have been a loyal Nikon guy for over 15 years. I guess it is time to finally think objectively and move on.

I hope Dpreview stays genuine & revises the review based on 100s of users who are seeing the dust issue.

0 upvotes
Hrvoje Crvelin
By Hrvoje Crvelin (1 week ago)

Would you show where those 100s of users are for D610?

0 upvotes
Mond
By Mond (2 days ago)

Any DSLR will accrue dust after time, especially early on in it's life, and will require cleaning. Four months is about average. And anyway, the issue with the 610 was with oil spots during manufacture.

1 upvote
Don Richardson
By Don Richardson (21 hours ago)

I've been using my Canon 7D for two years now and haven't needed to clean the sensor yet. And no, there aren't dust spots in my images.

0 upvotes
David Kinston
By David Kinston (3 weeks ago)

What effect on video does DX mode have?
Same resolution and quality as with FX lenses?

I don't remember seeing this mentioned in any of the reviews of the D610.

0 upvotes
thejohnnerparty
By thejohnnerparty (1 month ago)

Dear Nikon: I am a very big fan of the D600/D610 product. If you are going to be making improvements on this product, please consider the following: aperture adjustment in live view, better preview of exposure compensation before the shot in live view, better frame coverage for the AF points (maybe 51 instead of 39), and better low light AF. .... There may be more, but that's my wish list.
;-)

PS Two more things on the wish list: EXPEED 4 and support for the faster SD cards!

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 10 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
AZBlue
By AZBlue (1 month ago)

SHAME ON DPREVIEW!

Where were you when everyone was posting about D600 spots? Where were you to test the D600 for this problem? DPREVIEW, you have done nothing to help members here figure out this issue. Perhaps you don't wish to rock the boat with Nikon sending you free cameras to test?

You have severely hurt your reputation here, and I very infrequently visit because I do not trust your reviews. A problem that was so widespread and admitted by Nikon to be a defect was never mentioned by you in your review. You are nothing more than a mouthpiece for the manufacturers, regurgitating their press releases. Your tests are a joke because they don't reveal problems that others experience in real world shooting.

What is the point of reviewing products if you aren't at all critical of them?

4 upvotes
vinragz
By vinragz (3 weeks ago)

And the problem exists even with the 'new' D610 !! Mine had it after just 4 months. It still goes on to get GOLD award... really sad.

0 upvotes
sarpino
By sarpino (1 month ago)

Nikon D610 key features,especially "0.5MP DX-format crop mode" are very good .

0 upvotes
RMK photo
By RMK photo (2 months ago)

A previous posting claimed that the D610 will not allow me to use my manual focus Nikkors - something to do with the mirror box.

" i can't use my over the years collected mf lenses, because of the mirrorbox."

Is this totally, or partially true? What is he referring to? I would assume that it would have a "Non-CPU lens data" mode as per my D300. My D300 has allows 6 different lenses to be programed. I would prefer 8 or 10. I can't find any mention of this feature at all in the above test.

Same MF lens questions with the D7100 body?

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
D Gold
By D Gold (1 month ago)

You can use MF lenses and it does have Non-CPU lens data settings in the setup menu.

0 upvotes
Serickmetz
By Serickmetz (1 month ago)

2 edits in under 2 minutes, tssk tssk.

0 upvotes
Meady
By Meady (2 months ago)

I'm trying to decide between the D610 and the Canon 6d as my first full frame camera specifically for low light gig photography. Any recommendations please?

0 upvotes
D Gold
By D Gold (2 months ago)

I'd probably start off with the lens question. Do you have Nikon or Canon lenses already? If not, just pick one, they are both great cameras.

I own a D610, if that means anything, and have a lot of experience with other Nikons SLRs and DSLRs, but before that, I had Canon that I shot for over 20 years. I like them both.

One caveat, the D610 does exhibit moire in video under the right circumstances, but I do little video, so it is a non-issue to me.

0 upvotes
owneiverson
By owneiverson (2 months ago)

similar to D Gold, but a little different, either camera will do what you're looking for but the lenses contribute massively - especially in low light. i got the Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor Lens (for easy searching) and it shoots quickly in near darkness and the images look like they were shot in a sunny room (with auto ISO capped at 6400).

that said, i'd go for whichever one you have lenses for and if you have no lenses, go with the best deal you can find and put the money towards a good lens.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Harleymhs69
By Harleymhs69 (1 month ago)

Just picked up the D610 got the 24-85 and 70-300 Loving it! Looked at the Canon 6d but liked the Nikon lens better! No Regrets! Loving the 610 and FULL FRAME! JMO

EDIT

0 upvotes
vinragz
By vinragz (3 weeks ago)

Not sure if you made the decision already. Please beware of the 610. It still has the dust issue that the D600 had. depends on your luck I guess....

0 upvotes
David Kinston
By David Kinston (2 months ago)

If I use DX lenses in FF mode on the D610, will cropping the photo give the same result as letting the camera shoot at 10MP down from 24MP?

Or does the camera do something else in addition to cropping?

0 upvotes
Abhinesh
By Abhinesh (2 months ago)

DX will result in cropping of pix. Effective pixel count will also reduce from 24MP.

0 upvotes
D Gold
By D Gold (1 month ago)

One caveat - the out of the box mode is DX with a DX lens attached, but you can override that in the menu and have the camera remain in FX mode. You will see vignetting in the picture with a lot of DX lenses, but you can crop down if you want in post.

0 upvotes
Torresigner
By Torresigner (2 months ago)

I bought the D610, after several years using the D90... happy years even with a DX format camera.
In just two months with the D610, I had many troubles, several fights with Nikon, two returns, and ONE switch to Canon.
Nikon is history for me. Now I'm happy again.

4 upvotes
Jim Cook
By Jim Cook (2 months ago)

I know a guy that had a bad 610 right out of the box. Sent it back and the next one sent had the same problem. Neither would auto focus.

0 upvotes
vinragz
By vinragz (3 weeks ago)

Looks like only DPREVIEW gets the good pieces. :-)

Mine also turned out to be a lemon and it is just so hard to get a resolution from Nikon these days. I still have to make a few rounds to their 'Authorized service centres'. I guess I am rightfully getting punished for being a blind, loyal Nikon user so far.

0 upvotes
Dimitris Servis
By Dimitris Servis (2 months ago)

Why is "dynamic range" so narrow? I understand that your metrics have actually little to do with the sensor but rather how the camera processes jpegs, but I wonder if it makes sense to give a camera an 87%, said camera being rated near the top for dynamic range elsewhere (http://www.dxomark.com/Cameras/Ratings/Landscape) and still demonstrate such a poor performance. Either your metrics are only relevant for jpegs or you're trying to say something... If the former, most raw shooters get undeserved and at any rate, you shoot jpegs with all the possible tweaks to get the best out of the camera I guess.

0 upvotes
F119
By F119 (2 months ago)

I would say that what DxO did is quiet different from what DPR did here. At DxO they kind of don't really care about what a photo going to look like in extreme DR -- they often just push a sensor to its limit and give a theoretical rating defined by S/N Ratio.

0 upvotes
Dimitris Servis
By Dimitris Servis (2 months ago)

@which is what dr is all about, right? I mean, the DR here is only relevant for no-touch jpeg. It is not relevant for raw or manipulated jpeg...

0 upvotes
alphaumi
By alphaumi (2 months ago)

I have a question concerning the dynamic range. I added d7100 to the chart and d7100 has more than a full stop advantage over d610 in shadows and 2/3 advantage in highlights. Is this what the graph shows or i can't read it right. I thought that a full frame camera will have better dynamic range than APS-C.

3 upvotes
comsicherb70
By comsicherb70 (2 months ago)

http://snapsort.com/compare/Nikon-D610-vs-Nikon-D7100
According to this, the DR is better on the 610.

1 upvote
D Gold
By D Gold (2 months ago)

Shot RAW, the D610 has way more DR than shown in the tests here. It's Sony sensor exceeds film DR.

I used to shoot a lot of HDR only for the dynamic range, but since getting this camera, that workflow has been abandoned as as a waste of time.

D7100 is great, but at ISO 100, only other FF cameras challenge the D610 for DR.

2 upvotes
alphaumi
By alphaumi (2 months ago)

Thanks, that's what i thought too. :)

0 upvotes
kai liu
By kai liu (3 months ago)

Clearly high ISO above 3200 is worse than canon 6d.

0 upvotes
coltcoan
By coltcoan (2 months ago)

That's a bit of a stretch...

With good glass in front of this camera, I've shot at 12800 with my images fully usable.

2 upvotes
D Gold
By D Gold (1 month ago)

If you go to Imaging Resource, load their RAW images of the identical scene into either LR or PS CC, you will see that noise is virtually the same for these two cameras. That said, I tend to not shoot my D610 beyond 6400 unless I have to, but it's nice to be able to when needed.

0 upvotes
E7C055AF30D84A058C3EEEBF819F1B5B

Hello guys, my name is Zaheer and I want a good dslr which has a good and sharp image quality, so I decided for a d7100, but stil confused between d7100 and d610 so plz help me, which Camera should I buy, for a good still and great photos???

0 upvotes
Royclaude
By Royclaude (3 months ago)

I own a D-610 for one month, I’m completely satisfied with this FX camera.
My preceding kit was a D-90 with the 18-105 and 70-300, now I have the D-610 with 28-300 and 50mm 1.8, What a difference it made, I was well serve with my past kit but now I can see the step up I made, I can put the image at 100% on my computer and I find it terrific. I have read a lot of complain about this camera, but for me it’s the best gift I made myself for my sixtieth anniversary.

2 upvotes
AUP
By AUP (3 months ago)

Just to share with the community in regards to the 600/610 spot issues. Bought the 610 w/ 28-300mm and after a few hundred pictures taken in the span of two days. I could count at least 15 spots and maybe even more.

Sad to say but it has been RMA'd

2 upvotes
gp2003gt
By gp2003gt (3 months ago)

After more than 3000 pictures, spotless, so far so good, very happy with the increase in dynamic range and high ISO compared to crop DSLR's.

Kind regards
Albert

1 upvote
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (4 months ago)

PLUS: Spotless performance thus far.. CONS: Nikon come clean. VERDICT: Ask China if they are likely to ban it BEFORE you buy one.

1 upvote
munro harrap
By munro harrap (4 months ago)

Well, a deliberately missed opportunity... WHY is there STILL an AA filter? The D7100 at base iso will have greater resolution and acutance than a D610, so this move backwards , this photographically, optically , morally and visually retrograde step makes no sense.

What is needed simply is less. No AA filter. No uncontrollable auto AF, but a return (sighs of relief!) to the D200-D700 rocker switch arrangement of moving groups of AF points to where YOU want them, with Face recognition too-excellent, and can we buy one with a cover for the screen now? No, they have even dropped that on the D7100.

For those who know not, the lack of AA filter makes all the difference-things look like a photograph again. Its why Leitz and Sigma and Hasselblad don't have them, and you can see all the detail that the AA filter filtered out.

And then you have a great machine with not much noise. THe noise kills that resolution- the 1600ISO shots here are mushy,not all the fault of the dreaded 24-85G

1 upvote
Duckie
By Duckie (4 months ago)

One deliberate strategy of Nikon is to stop the cheap camera from being as good as the top line ones. This has been difficult given the improvement of technology. They used to use less effective AF systems but now that the huge amount of pixel really demands some good AF, they will have to make it annoying instead!

Likewise a D610 entirely without AA would be too close to a D800E (less the seemingly diluted extra pixels of D800E).
If you are into conspiracy theories, this is s big one of self sabotage!

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
PicOne
By PicOne (4 months ago)

Which is a bit funny in a way.. All 35mm film cameras, mounted with the same lens, would produce identical results with same exposure settings. Back then, it was about features and build quality, not about differentiated image quality.

1 upvote
Heinz
By Heinz (4 months ago)

Maybe you know not. In a bayer sensor the absence of an AA filter only makes sense if the resolution of the sensor is significantly higher than the resolution of the lens to prevent from moire. With 24MP on FX the pixel pitch is still to low and the camera would suffer from hefty moire. The 7100 has higher pixel pitch due to the smaller sensor. The D800 is borderline so you can have it with and without AA filter. Makes all good sense to me. I don't know Leitz and Haselblad, but the reason that sigma doesn't need an AA filter is due to the all different sensor array.

Comment edited 5 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
Mike FL
By Mike FL (4 months ago)

Some D610 has the same FATAL FLAW ( dust buildup on the image sensor) as D600 per internet.

2 upvotes
stratplaya
By stratplaya (4 months ago)

lol. Oh no, the internets wants another round.

3 upvotes
Mike FL
By Mike FL (4 months ago)

Other than Dust sensor issue, D610 has more problems than D600, Blurry Viewfinder for example. Per internet/users

We will wait and see D620...

1 upvote
sandy b
By sandy b (4 months ago)

Strange, no reports of blurry viewfinder on the forum.

1 upvote
Mike FL
By Mike FL (3 months ago)

@sandy b, It does here and outside of DPreview.

Something is wrong with Nikon as a whole.

I'll wait and see how D620 goes.

0 upvotes
SRS_Photography
By SRS_Photography (3 months ago)

Mike, did you adjust the diopter?

3 upvotes
tempest69
By tempest69 (3 months ago)

The blurry viewfinder is probably due to those folks not adjusting the viewfinder diopter adjustment. You know people .... thats why Apple always ask you to check if your power socket is connected when you tell them your pc couldn't boot up. Also, we see more 'amateurs' using high end cameras that some pros don't even use. Beats me if they could fully comprehend the functionality of the D610.

0 upvotes
coltcoan
By coltcoan (2 months ago)

Not a thing wrong with the 610's viewfinder.

0 upvotes
Charlie Jin
By Charlie Jin (4 months ago)

The next generation should have GPS and Wireless WiFi,
which in case I plan to buy. Don't know why Nikon is one-generation (5 years) behind Canon.

3 upvotes
sandy b
By sandy b (4 months ago)

Except in litle things like IQ, AF etc.

11 upvotes
Mark Ortiz
By Mark Ortiz (4 months ago)

you're right

0 upvotes
Vincent He
By Vincent He (4 months ago)

GPS and WiFi are not that useful in many cases. My friend has Canon 6D with these features. But she disabled them all by default. GPS drain your battery really quick even when you turn the power off. You have to turn GPS tracking off which does not make too much sense when you need it.

2 upvotes
stratplaya
By stratplaya (4 months ago)

I've been shooting DX for years now, but now I think it's time to move up to FX.

0 upvotes
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (4 months ago)

PLUS: Good new camera Nikon CONS: But you've done the dirty on all the D600 users and only legal action is seeing you do anything constructive to help out…..

1 upvote
justmeMN
By justmeMN (4 months ago)

"CHINA - Industrial and commercial authorities have launched a probe into Nikon China after the company was accused by China Central Television of selling defective products.

Many consumers have complained of dust buildup on the image sensor of the Nikon D600 camera, CCTV said on its annual 3/15 Gala news programme on Saturday."

"Many D600 users including Du have asked for a refund or a free upgrade to the newer model D610, but Nikon has refused their demands, even though some D600 owners in the United States have been offered a free upgrade to the D610, according to CCTV."

http://news.asiaone.com/news/science-and-tech/nikon-china-probe-launched-after-cctv-report-defective-products

4 upvotes
sandy b
By sandy b (4 months ago)

This is a D610 review. I can point you to the D600 if you are having trouble finding it.

9 upvotes
justmeMN
By justmeMN (4 months ago)

@sandy b: DPR's article mentions both the D600 and D610. The news item I posted mentions both the D600 and D610. I can point you to a reading comprehension course if you are having trouble finding one. :-)

5 upvotes
MrMojo
By MrMojo (4 months ago)

This seems like an appropriate place for your post as far as I am concerned…

Nikon's handling of the D600 debacle in the U.S. has been terrible. I've been a loyal Nikon customer since 1981 and its recent problems with some of its rather pricey cameras have made me gun-shy about purchasing a new DSLR.

3 upvotes
Northgrove
By Northgrove (4 months ago)

I fail to see how a D610 review comment section is appropriate for some lingering news about the long known dust issues with the D600 (which is already mentioned in this review, FWIW).

Comment edited 15 seconds after posting
1 upvote
MrMojo
By MrMojo (4 months ago)

I think that it is appropriate because the D610 is Nikon's rather feeble attempt to address a major problem with the D600. What should have been a major recall of a defective DSLR morphed into the introduction of a new camera model… and there are apparently online reports that the D610 suffers from the same sensor issues that plague the D600.

The Chinese government is getting involved because Nikon simply refuses to do the right thing for its loyal customers. It's amazing that a barely functional government does more to protect its citizen-consumers than the "exceptional" good ol' USA...

1 upvote
Tuanglen
By Tuanglen (4 months ago)

Remarkable that you imagine that a government that denies consumers even the right to vote actually cares deeply about consumer protection. CCTV, the official broadcaster of the Party, pumps out a constant stream of stories about the endless indignities suffered by the poor Chinese people at the hands of arrogant, evil foreigners, especially Japanese and Americans, and how the Party is standing up for them. This, "they treat Americans with respect but treat us Chinese like dogs" narrative was being trumpeted by CCTV regarding Apple last year and Google, Microsoft, US and Japanese car companies, etc., before that.

So now CCTV says Japanese Nikon treats Americans with respect but treats Chinese like dogs and you applaud the Chinese government for how much more they care about their non-voting consumers than that "exceptional good ol' USA". Amazing.

Nikon did the wrong thing IMO, but nothing CCTV says sheds any light on it. They're not actually talking about consumers or cameras.

Comment edited 7 minutes after posting
1 upvote
maljo@inreach.com
By maljo@inreach.com (4 months ago)

The 610 is a good solid camera. We are lucky to have so many good cameras these days.

As for 100% magnification, I always looked at my slides with an 8X loop and I always look at my digital images at 100% to see if they are sharp.

3 upvotes
kecajkerugo
By kecajkerugo (4 months ago)

I think your (some of you) eye is blind by this pixel level evaluation. Nobody from real photographs (except the pixel peep community) look at the pictures at 100% magnification.

A great summary of the current state in the business is summarized by one of the real experts at the www.luminous-landscape.com/essays/what_matters.shtml (helpfully Steve agreed to put this link here)

All these cameras can provide just excellent picture quality of real pictures (not their 100% zoomed representation.....) and there are some areas one is better than the other. Best regards.

0 upvotes
Wanganuilad
By Wanganuilad (4 months ago)

Haveing got that out of the way...
perhaps we will see a review of the best APS-C camera ?
It's only been out 7 months

1 upvote
naththo
By naththo (4 months ago)

As in Pentax K3 you mean?

3 upvotes
Macintosh Sauce
By Macintosh Sauce (4 months ago)

Word! :)

1 upvote
dudifan
By dudifan (4 months ago)

D800 modern furniture

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
marc petzold
By marc petzold (4 months ago)

for sure a very good DSLR, and the D600 back in 2012 was my FF DSLR dream, 'til i've read about the dust & oil spots issue, and further, that the AF module is only 39 Point AF, and not the 51 AF Point System from the other well known Nikons since the D300....also only the rough center area is covered, that kept me away from the Nikon Fullframe bandwaggon....and of course, i can't use my over the years collected mf lenses, because of the mirrorbox...another thing is that good FX lenses are way expensive, so for many ppl would see the D610 be their DSLR of their (affordable) dreams, but for myself i'd go with the A7, because it's lighter, smaller, almost the same performance, and i can use all my legacy lenses.

personally, i'd say silver award - *if* nikon would have build into the 51 AF points module, and let's say 7 to 8fps, larger buffer too.. that would be a gold award in my eyes, no offence. of course, the sensor performance is outstanding in this class, well done - nikon.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
microstudio
By microstudio (4 months ago)

opinion. For video, which is more perfect.70d canon, panasonic gh4 or AC90? We can can compare Gh4 with d610, to take pictures.
www.nunti-de-lux.ro . Now I have panasonic ac130 and canon 70d
Thanks

0 upvotes
Lucas_
By Lucas_ (4 months ago)

You should also check the Sony RX10 ( regardless it has a 1" sensor only..! )

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
EnglishPhotographer
By EnglishPhotographer (4 months ago)

I've tested the Nikon D600 against the Pentax K3. The Pentax is a better thought out camera. It's not deliberately crippled like the Nikon is. It feels tougher and is far more customisable. But the full frame Sony sensor in the D600/D610 is so good that it still makes it the better camera overall.

2 upvotes
clauderobidoux
By clauderobidoux (4 months ago)

Just got some pictures ready for a stock agency this morning. Took me about an hour just to clean dust spots... really annoying! Please Nikon if there's one technology you should focus on is getting rid of this problem, or at least find a way to improve it significantly.

0 upvotes
zevobh
By zevobh (4 months ago)

send it in, they will replace it for free.

1 upvote
aramgrg
By aramgrg (4 months ago)

Gold? Come on guys, nothing is changed within a year and so, but your ranking still is gold!
For instance, the same kind of changes has been made from T2i to T3I (even more substantial), but the first received gold, the second one silver, which is logical.
Would you give a gold star another t2i announced this year, say t5? I don't think so(even considering price category change).
So it will be logical to change either d610 to silver, or give no award, saying D610 is a continuation of D600 with fixed bags.
Secondly, your comparing tool at the conclusions page is totally irrelevant. Comparing D600 vs D610 nothing changes substantially, besides the value row. How will you explain me the fact that D610 received gold award, nothing has changed upon D600 to the worse, but it is half the value(even the announced price,maybe by 100$, but they have been fairly similarly priced when announced)?

Comment edited 12 minutes after posting
7 upvotes
InTheMist
By InTheMist (4 months ago)

The D600 also got gold, if I remember correctly.

1 upvote
Noogy
By Noogy (4 months ago)

Oh yes, ironically, a camera with a defective design was awarded GOLD. I think DPR has been ***** something/someone since they moved to Seattle/Amazon.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
8 upvotes
dudifan
By dudifan (4 months ago)

that right

0 upvotes
zevobh
By zevobh (4 months ago)

not everyone had the problem. they do their review based of their unit, not on angry bloggers.

7 upvotes
kecajkerugo
By kecajkerugo (4 months ago)

GOLD, SILVER=> because all the recent cameras are just great tols to take pictures!
The differences are minor in practice-who cares whther a camera holds AF 52 sensors, 36 or 48? This is meaningless!
Who careas if camear focuses in 0.08 sec or .006 sec?
Who careas abot 100% pixel peep magniffication differences in picrure quality?

0 upvotes
StevenE
By StevenE (4 months ago)

This is the third highest score ever given by DPR. The two higher scores were given to the Canon 1D mk IV and the Nikon D3S.

The D610 score beats Nikon's D800 and D800E, and the Canon 5DIII.

Really?

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 46 seconds after posting
6 upvotes
SiliconVoid
By SiliconVoid (4 months ago)

While everyone may not agree with DPR's categorization of different bodies - the D600, D610, Df, 6D, and A7 are not in the same category as the D800/e, 5DmkIII, nor 1DmkIV, D3s, etc and the scoring is 'within its category'.
So it does not score an 87 against the 82 of the D800, it scores an 87 against the 80, 81, 83, and 87 of the five cameras in its category...
Consider each category having its own 1-100 grading scale, and not related to other categories.

10 upvotes
Timbukto
By Timbukto (4 months ago)

I only care about price group according to street price and size/weight. Unfortunately the D610 being a bit heavier and larger than the DF or 6D makes it a bit close to the D800 which due to older age is not in a completely different price bracket than a brand new D610. So overall the D800 *would* compete with the D610 to the enthusiast buyer. You have 6FPS vs 4FPS, but the thought that the D610 dropped frames in daylight on the outer edge on a f4 lens may be a consideration in the D800's favor as well. Thus the only thing left would be shutter obtrusiveness. Overall the D800 in my eye, especially used or pre-owned, would be in heavy consideration over a D610 at this point particularly because the D610 is substantially heavier than the DF/6D to be closer to the D800 anyways.

And IMO the A7 would be in an entirely different class due to size/weight as well. I would not classify them according to purely sensor size or MPs...

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Timbukto
By Timbukto (4 months ago)

In addition this is the first review I've seen that makes explicit mention of what looks to be ownership bias -

"So in recent months, the D610 has been my tool of choice to capture those images."

To me where as other camera's seemed to be, 'hey you have a new camera to try, go review it', this review is more like...hey you already own and picked this camera for your day to day use, go review it....

2 upvotes
SiliconVoid
By SiliconVoid (4 months ago)

Size and weight have little to no factor in the categorization of the cameras, and while the $1000 between the D610 and D800 may be no issue for you, that is a top end lens purchase and a considerable difference for the other 98%. I am happy you enjoy your D600/610, or have chosen that over the D800, however there is little comparison/similarity between the D610 and D800 other than they are both made Nikon.

As for the categories; I am not defending DPR's quantification by any means.. I do not think the front plate on something like the A7 and A7R warrants those falling in different categories when all else is essentially identical... Or when a brand providing 1/10th the high-end lenses gets its new body categorized with other high-end bodies. However build quality and materials, as they would factor in serviceability of more intensive use, are a valid measurement aspect of one camera against another. Especially when functionality accompanies the higher build quality and materials.

1 upvote
Timbukto
By Timbukto (4 months ago)

1000 dollars is about the worst case difference in price. The difference if you entertain purchase of low shutter count refurb or pre-owned is more like $300-400 dollars. There is also brand new imports but I don't know if Nikon is more of a stickler about that to absolutely deny any service, etc (if it were Canon I may not get warranty, but they will not deny service). There are not a lot of refurb or pre-owned options for the D610. Likewise even if I compare a street price 6D to lowest street price 5DMKIII the difference is still about 1k. The moment the D610 is about 1 year old, and perhaps its street price is lower, then yes I would agree it would be a affordable option. As it is, in my mind its about a $300 differential as refurb is an absolutely viable option.

0 upvotes
SiliconVoid
By SiliconVoid (4 months ago)

That is all great and well.. however this is not a review site for refurb equipment.. It is new equipment, and as those products hit the street (...sometimes..P).

Your point is certainly a valid consideration for like-minded buyers, however it is completely irrelevant to the review and the category based scoring - which was the op inquiry, and my response/clarification.

Now time to put a finger to a shutter instead of a keyboard.. =)

0 upvotes
PSImage
By PSImage (4 months ago)

We are still stuck on this? Sent my D600 in for shutter replacement surgery and it came back working just fine. Don't understand why everyone is so worked up over this. Isn't this why photographers have had backup bodies all of these years? I didn't get rid of my D700 when I bought my D600. I kept it in case something went wrong. I will note that this is the first time in 25 years of shooting Nikon that I have ever had an issue. 3rd best sensor ever tested only behind the D800 and D800E. http://www.dxomark.com/Cameras/Nikon/D600

1 upvote
Northgrove
By Northgrove (4 months ago)

"The D610 score beats Nikon's D800 and D800E, and the Canon 5DIII."

The scores aren't meant to be compared to each other like that, so this camera isn't beating those at all.

The D800 score is in comparison to other professional full-frame cameras, not in comparison to the "introduction full-frame" D610.

For an introductory full-frame camera, they think this one is a really good one that that. I mean, the sensor is basically pro quality, and it's a frickin step in model.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Noogy
By Noogy (4 months ago)

DPR please make up your mind. You gave the same gold rating to the D610's defective, flawed predecessor - the D600 and vigorously defended such rating even when I commented that I personally already knew at that point that a new camera to replace the D600's flawed design was in fact already in the works. Months later Nikon finally indirectly admitted that it was a flawed a camera that needed to be replaced asap in perhaps what can be described as the shortest replacement cycle in the DSLR world. Please restore a bit of credibility by withdrawing your D600 rating and giving it to the truly deserving D610. Imagine the irony when in the future, one of the worst DSLR bodies in history due flawed design, was at one point rated GOLD by your prestigious website!

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
King Penguin
By King Penguin (4 months ago)

Wow, lucky you're not in charge of anything important.

I'd hardy say the D600 is a terrible camera........as a user I find it great, even of the dust/oil issue annoys me......it's still a brilliant piece of kit.

3 upvotes
Vafaculo Constosito Di Merdia

even a ferari with defective steering would at some point become annoying and would loose its prestige.

6 upvotes
Noogy
By Noogy (4 months ago)

King Penguin, I don't care what your impression is of D600. It nonetheless remains a flawed design - otherwise why would Nikon be in such a hurry to release the D610? Semicon manufacturing is a cruel science. This is wanton commercialism on the part of Nikon because if Nikon halted the intro of D600 despite their knowledge of manufacturability and quality issues of the D600, they would not have had a decent competitor to the Canon 6D. How long did it take them to correct the flawed design of the D600, which means how long did it take them to come up with the D610? So yes go ahead be happy with your D600. The fact remains its manufacturer decided to replace it ASAP. Be happy it sharpens your photography AND sensor cleaning skills. So yes be glad I am not in charge of something important. The fact remains you have in your hand a camera with a defective design, and thank God it's your money, not mine.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
medicus
By medicus (4 months ago)

On that time DPR has awarded the D600, the dust issue wasn't known. I am not a big fan of Nikon anymore, due to some cumbersome and ugly service issues. But the IQ of the D600/610 is top notch.
I only was wondering about taking the old 20mm lens. My one produced unsharp edges which had rather wide reach to the centre.
For family photography, I used it as well, but a high level compact like the Sony RX100 M2 is the better choice, because later is really not in the way.

2 upvotes
Northgrove
By Northgrove (4 months ago)

Yes, the dust issue hardly showed up during DPR's review period, and they can impossibly take others opinions and problems into account when setting a score. Reviews are subjective, not summaries of the "general blogosphere opinion".

0 upvotes
samir sinha
By samir sinha (4 months ago)

If the D610 would have all the features that is listed in "Conclusion - Cons", as missing, DP review would still find something else to rile on.

0 upvotes
Ron A 19
By Ron A 19 (4 months ago)

"no histogram in live view" :p

1 upvote
bluevellet
By bluevellet (4 months ago)

I love the irony that the A7 review was full of people complaining the Sony camera should not have been compared to the likes of the D610 (comparison didn't favor Sony much) and now people complain here the D610 scores much better than the Sony camera.

I guess the cameras are comparable after all!

5 upvotes
NJohnston
By NJohnston (4 months ago)

Eh, barely. If you're comparing purely with tech specs then sure. I've used the D600, A7 and 5DMkIII side-by-side, and believe me, the Sony is no contender.

3 upvotes
Overmars
By Overmars (4 months ago)

Hmmm... but you did say:
"In my my opinion, the real test is really with the operator and not the camera."

0 upvotes
naththo
By naththo (4 months ago)

Sony A7 miss out gold (I disagreed with A7R having Gold, it should've been silver) why because of raw lossy compression, lack of native FE lens, sometimes sluggish AF, aggressive sharpening/noise reduction. Thats probably true to that. Oh another con would be sensor is exposed when changing lens would introduce dust. I think thats a fair call that A7/A7R should go for silver. It would be nice if shutter close before you change lens and some improvement in AF and they need to hurry up make more native FE lens asap.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
ckeek
By ckeek (4 months ago)

This camera got lots of one star rating but was scored 87. Which rating is more reliable?

2 upvotes
InTheMist
By InTheMist (4 months ago)

Where did you see one star reviews? A quick view on Amazon shows that the only one-star reviews are about handling the D600 debacle, which was admittedly catastrophic.

0 upvotes
PAArchitect
By PAArchitect (4 months ago)

Here is my problem with all this. If I want better or higer resolution photos I must purchase a whole new camera. This gets expensive every year. With film I could obtain wonderful results with highest quality lenses on like an FTb (Canon). As films improved my FTb got better, what a concept. Now I have to buy a new camera if I wish to get better resolution etc.
Perhaps sensor up-grades for a nominal fee?

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Suntan
By Suntan (4 months ago)

Welcome to 1999?

Seriously, where have you been?

-Suntan

1 upvote
Vafaculo Constosito Di Merdia

you need the supporting electrincs as well! and since the lay-out/energy reqs are changing due to the microchips' new versions, then the camera would have to be more modular. there are modular cams in the range of 20k but, for this d600 category its just not feasible.

0 upvotes
Palex
By Palex (2 months ago)

Try Photoshop CS

0 upvotes
MRM4350
By MRM4350 (4 months ago)

I fail to see the issue of the ISO button location, and it's use with the camera to your eye compared to other locations on other cameras. I would prefer it on the bottom button on the left side of the LCD so my left thumb could locate it somewhat easier.

3 upvotes
SiliconVoid
By SiliconVoid (4 months ago)

I would prefer it on the top, right side, where all the other settings and dials are...
Its placement on most of Nikon's bodies would suggest Nikon does not feel it is necessary to change ISO as frequently as other settings, to which I agree for the most part - especially given the customization one has for auto-iso, but other brands (Canon) seem able to place it in the location of the 'other' shooting parameters.

Comment edited 40 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
Palex
By Palex (2 months ago)

I rave trough the iso when shutterspeed is not good during light differences in buildings.

0 upvotes
t.c. marino
By t.c. marino (4 months ago)

did not take long for the 6d defenders to chime in.this site has reviewed both cameras in depth and rated d600/610 higher mainly because it is a higher specification camera with equal iq.6d has built in wifi/gps..optional on 610,6d has better live view and video implementation and excellent center af point.610 shoots faster,more af crosspoints,built in flash(very usefull for firing(wirelessly)nikon speedlights,dual card slots(very usefull) af assist light,CLASS leading sensor and the ability to link its spot meter to any af points..something that no canon camera can do except for the $5k-6K 1d series

4 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (4 months ago)

One important point raised was that the D610 has all the focus points crammed into the middle of the screen. Numbers don't mean much if the focus points are so close together....at least that was my experience with the D600.

4 upvotes
Rich1939
By Rich1939 (4 months ago)

Just Ed, not to single you out, just taking the opportunity.
How did we ever manage to focus properly back when we used a single split prism focus point? When a miss with film was relatively much more expensive.

0 upvotes
Josh152
By Josh152 (4 months ago)

Not much more so than the other FX DSLRs. . Basically imagine there are focus points on the line that surrounds the focus points in the D610 and that is the coverage the D800/D4 would have so it isn't as bad as it looks.

The pic comparing them in DPR's review is misleading because on the 51 point system the lines that bracket the focus points are further from the outer points than the line that brackets the focus points on the 39 point system is so it looks like a bigger difference than it actually is.

2 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (4 months ago)

I suppose it might be a dealbreaker for some, but I haven't found it to be a problem at all. In some ways I like not having the AF points plastered all over the viewfinder, but either way its easy enough to adapt to.

The "odd" matrix metering (extra-heavy weighting to the selected AF point) trips me up far more often.

0 upvotes
waxwaine
By waxwaine (4 months ago)

With all Light Leaks affairs undercover recently, I presume DPR tested D610 on this issue

3 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (4 months ago)

I thought that was the a7, does the D610 need duct tape around the lens mount also?

0 upvotes
waxwaine
By waxwaine (4 months ago)

I don´t know, but from this moment should be not a minimal aspect to test.

0 upvotes
nzmacro
By nzmacro (4 months ago)

Yes, apparently some Canon and Nikon's are the same

http://www.imaging-resource.com/news/2014/03/07/do-concerns-about-sony-a7-light-leaks-hold-water

Interesting results !!

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
longtomx
By longtomx (4 months ago)

Having into account that D600 and D610 share the same sensor, why the D600 has one stop more of dynamic range in ADLoff ( shadow side of range ) comparing your own tests of both cameras ?? Is it a mistake? Which one is your true measurement ? Thanks.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Shield3
By Shield3 (4 months ago)

If you compare this to the 82% rated 5d Mark III, you'll see (according to DPR) that this Nikon D610 "beats" the 5d3 in video mode, yet one cannot even adjust the aperture in live view on the 610.
This 610 beats it in performance, even though the 5d3 has a 61 pt AF system and I can get 30 shot raw burst @ 6FPS with a 1000x CF card. No CF slot on the 610.

3 upvotes
armandino
By armandino (4 months ago)

magic lantern boosts 5DMKIII DR up to 15 stops when shooting raw video. If you are very concern of high output video quality.

0 upvotes
ScottRH
By ScottRH (4 months ago)

Still waiting for the D700 replacement. The 610, D800, are not it. I shoot weddings. And don't want XQD on D4s.

Comment edited 44 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
Vafaculo Constosito Di Merdia

d4s is not for weddings, unless the wedding contains olympic sports and extreme fast action games in the schedule

3 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (4 months ago)

The D700 replacement is the Df. Or the 5DmkIII.

0 upvotes
Timbukto
By Timbukto (4 months ago)

Good review but a few nitpicks. The review comments on moire and patterning are a bit absurd. In one section the reviewer comments about how the D610 handles moire better in jpeg and they link a certain section of patterning. Then they claim it handles moire better in RAW and *move* the section to a portion where the D610 happens to handle moire better in RAW (where as if it remained where it did in the jpeg section it'd look *worse* in RAW). Depending on the lens and pattern its completely anecdotal. If anything its the 6D that was the most moire free in the etching. The resolution charts will moire depending on different frequencies of detail not to mention there will be big differences in horizontal vs vertical detail.

AF test sections are again always appreciated but again so severely anecdotal. To me I saw clear misses in plain daylight, but not enough rigor in these AF tests to determine a thing. If I remember correctly even a NEX-6 seemed to nail their 'AF' test...

0 upvotes
Timbukto
By Timbukto (4 months ago)

Also comments about a FF DSLR *nailing* focus of a kid mid-stride when the DOF is so thick the woman in front is also clearly in DOF and elements far in the back are *almost* in DOF...its just plain silly. I've nailed focus on a 6D with an 85mm 1.8 wide open in extremely dark conditions of a spinning swinging chair on Halloween night, so I just find it silly to even mention thick DOF shots of a kid mid-stride. If the camera ever *failed* in plain daylight with such thick DOF, you should send it in for repair. 27mm f5.6 and the AF works in daylight...hooray I guess?

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
D 503
By D 503 (4 months ago)

Under specified and overpriced. The 7100 is better value.

8 upvotes
armandino
By armandino (4 months ago)

full frame affordable? They are different cameras, sorry. I personally would not compromise for a crop.

1 upvote
ChapelThrill23
By ChapelThrill23 (4 months ago)

You do realize that full frame and APS-C cameras are very different animals, right? The D610 is one of the cheapest FF cameras ever brought to market and offers better image quality than any APS-C camera ever made and image quality that could not be matched at any price just a few years ago. It isn't cheap in absolute terms but it is as good a value as you can find anywhere in FF cameras.

2 upvotes
Josh152
By Josh152 (4 months ago)

At base ISO the D7100 and D610 will have pretty much the same IQ. The two main difference between FF D610 sensor and crop D7100 sensor are that the D610 will have around 1 stop less noise for the same exposure and can achieve shallower DOF for the same focal length and aperture. The D610 will also have slightly better dynamic range and color depth too but not by enough to worry about most of the time.

When considering all the features of both cameras including the sensors I agree that the D7100 it the best bang for the buck and would say it is even the best bang for buck int he entire Nikon lineup and maybe even in the entire DSLR market.

1 upvote
PerL
By PerL (4 months ago)

@Josh
Every lens will perform better on the D610 than on the 1.5 crop of the D7100.

0 upvotes
cm71td
By cm71td (4 months ago)

Forum Poster: "I'm outraged. You didn't review my favorite camera yet. How can you not review it first when it's clearly the best!"

Reviewer: "Uh... if you're already convinced that it's the best, why are you waiting for a review from us? Are you hoping that we will talk you out of buying it?" ;)

11 upvotes
AlexRuiz
By AlexRuiz (4 months ago)

This is awesome. Probably applies to 50% of the discussions around here.

2 upvotes
tallguy600
By tallguy600 (4 months ago)

Built quality better than Canon 6D? I don't think so.
Example: My D600 fell down from low height, plastic front shell supporting the metal lens mount broke while the 6D comes with a magnesium alloy body shell in front...
To me having owned both D600 and now the 6D there is no question that the 6D is much better put together and every button feels more substantial.
D600/D610:
http://www.digitalreviewcanada.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/Nikon-D600-vs-D800-SLR-camera-Mg-body-construction.jpg

6D:
http://cpn.canon-europe.com/files/education/technical/inside_the_canon_eos_6d/caption_007_new.jpg

6 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (4 months ago)

I have the same impression having owned a D600 and now a 6D (much better overall).

2 upvotes
Palex
By Palex (2 months ago)

Still plastic top cap on the 6D because of the GPS and Wifi...

0 upvotes
The Photo Ninja
By The Photo Ninja (4 months ago)

Nikon lost me with the awful green screen and poor autofocus of the D800. I've switch to Canon and the 5D Mark III is a joy to use. I'd like a better sensor, but my images are in focus and the LCD is beautiful. Video on the 5D Mark III also is better than on Nikon.

9 upvotes
NJohnston
By NJohnston (4 months ago)

I own a D800 but am required to shoot with 5DmkIII all the time and, while I don't think "awful" really describes the screen or the AF, I don't disagree agree with you. After owning my D800 for almost two years, I've tweaked the settings, my production and my post production enough to get awesome results. The Canon is awesome out of the box.

2 upvotes
Total comments: 325
12