Previous page Next page

Menus (contd.)

The D5200's custom settings are split into six alphabetical, color-coded categories, making it easier to remember a specific option and quicker to enter the custom settings menu at the correct position. You can still scroll through all custom settings options as one big menu if you wish. The camera places an asterisk (*) next to any custom setting that has been changed from its default position.

A green superscript one (¹) in the tables below indicates the default setting.

When you hit the first page of the custom function menu, you see an overview of the categories so that you can jump quickly to the correct section (autofocus, metering etc.)

Custom Settings Menu (a: Autofocus)

Option Values / Actions Notes
a1 AF-C priority selection  • Release
 • Focus ¹
Defines if camera must have focus lock before shutter release.
a2 Number of focus points  • 39 ¹
 • 11  
 
a3 Built-in AF-assist illuminator  • On ¹
 • Off
 
 
a3 Rangefinder  • On
 • Off ¹
Activates manual focus assist rangefinder

Custom Settings Menu (b: Metering / exposure)

Option Values / Actions Notes
b1 EV steps for exposure ctl.  • 1/3 step ¹
 • 1/2 step
Set the steps used for selection of ISO sensitivity.

Custom Settings Menu (c: Timers / AE Lock)

Option Values / Actions Notes
c1 Shutter-release butt. AE-L  • On
 • Off ¹
Define lock AE during shutter release half-press.
c2 Auto off timers  • Short
 • Long 
 • Normal ¹
 • Custom
Playback/menus
     8s - 10 min
 • Image review
     4s - 10 min
 • Live view
     3 min - 15 min
 • Playback/menus
     8s - 10 min
 • Auto meter-off
     4s - 30 min
 
c3 Self-timer delay • Self timer delay
2 s
5 s
10 s ¹
20 s
Number of shots
1-9
 
c4 Remote on duration (ML-L3) • 1 min ¹
• 5min
• 10 min
• 15 min
Defines the length of time the camera will wait for a signal from the remote before cancelling remote control mode.

Custom Settings Menu (d: Shooting / display)

Option Values / Actions Notes
d1 Beep  • Off
 • Low ¹
 • High
 
d2 Viewfinder grid display  • On
 • Off ¹
Gridlines display in the viewfinder
d3 ISO display  • On
 • Off ¹
ISO display in the viewfinder
d4 File Number Sequence  • On
 • Off ¹
 • Reset
 
d5 Exposure delay mode  • Off ¹
 • On
Shutter release is delayed 1.0 sec to avoid vibration.
d6 Print date  • Off ¹
 • Date
 • Date and time
 • Date counter
 

Custom Settings Menu (e: Bracketing / flash)

Option Values / Actions Notes
e1 Flash cntrl for built-in flash  • TTL ¹
 • Manual
Full
1/2
1/4
1/8
1/16
1/32
Set the mode for the built-in flash.
e2 Auto bracketing set  • AE bracketing ¹
 • WB bracketing
 • ADL bracketing
 

Custom Settings Menu (f: Controls)

Option Values / Actions Notes
f1 Assign Fn button  • Image quality/size 
 • ISO sensitivity ¹
 • White Balance
 • Active D-Lighting
 • HDR mode
 • +NEF (RAW)
 • Auto Bracketing
 • AF area mode
 • Live view
 • AE/AF lock
 • AE lock only
 • AE lock (hold)
 • AF lock only
 • AF-ON

Define the function of the Fn button (front of the camera below the flash mode button)
f5 Assign AE-L/AF-L button  • AE/AF lock ¹
 • AE lock only
 • AF lock only
 • AE lock (Hold)
 • AF-ON
 
f1 Reverse dial rotation Exposure compensation
off/on

Shutter speed/aperture
off/on
Changes direction of rotation of the control dial
f8 Slot empty release lock  • Release locked ¹
 • Enable release
 
f9 Reverse indicators  • + ---- 0 ---- -
 • - ---- 0 ---- + ¹
 
Previous page Next page
274
I own it
59
I want it
45
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 15
Smartmil8
By Smartmil8 (1 week ago)

This is one of the best cameras in the world!

1 upvote
mumbai architect
By mumbai architect (2 months ago)

Hi I am an architect and need to shoot interiors and buildings. I have been seeing D800E as a choice for the camera on the net. I don't have the budget to buy D800...Will D5200 suffice if I go for additional wide angle.? Please advise.

0 upvotes
Rusdy
By Rusdy (2 months ago)

it will be suffice. just buy a wide-lens and there you go

0 upvotes
Christie123
By Christie123 (2 months ago)

Is this better than D5100? I have D3100 and am planning to upgrade... but I am confused between D5100, D3200 and D5200...

0 upvotes
sophi loren
By sophi loren (7 months ago)

I was confused in between nikon D5200 and Nikon D3200 and at last I go with Nikon D5200 for its ultimate power and obviously the ability of great videoing. DPreview really helps me a lot in this case. Recently I read a review aabout Nikon D5200 best buy and the writer really explain lots of intersting facts about D5200 ad alos offer a great price deal there. I think that will help you guys.

Review Link:

http://www.squidoo.com/nikon-d5200-best-buy-a-personal-review

Enjoy with your Nikon and I really proud for my D5200
Thanks

Comment edited 22 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
sophi loren
By sophi loren (7 months ago)

I hope you will get help from that review :)

Comment edited 36 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Zac boy
By Zac boy (2 months ago)

Sophi loren How are you....?? I wanna ask you something...?

0 upvotes
draleks
By draleks (7 months ago)

I don't get it, what is the actual dynamic range of this camera? Without the ADL it seems to be a pretty mediocre 10EV, with ADL extra high it's 13 EV. Is ADL actually extending the dynamic range of the captured information, or is it just some "clever" post-processing?

1 upvote
Swinterschorr
By Swinterschorr (5 months ago)

I have the same question!

0 upvotes
OceanFroggie
By OceanFroggie (8 months ago)

Was torn between the extra physical controls of the D7100 and the tilting screen of the D5200 along with its lighter more ergonomic feel in hand. Image quality between the two seems similar. I opted for the D5200 and so far happy I went for it rather than the slighlty larger D7100. Thought I'd spend the cost difference in better lens quality. The D7100 screw drive would have focused by old film Nikkor lenses, but I thought it better to move to newer DX lenses with the amazing VR which didn't exist when I used film.

Only grip is I would prefer a second dial, but the tilt screen was worth the compromise. I don't bother using the ridiculously high 24mp image size, instead opting for 'medium' which is about 16mp which is more than enough. A very happy camper so far. After defecting from Nikon film SLRs to Fuji compact bridges a decade ago, now very pleased with the compact feel of the D5200 and the images it produces with ergonomic ease.

0 upvotes
DidYouConsider
By DidYouConsider (8 months ago)

I am trying to decide between the Nikon D5200 and the Canon T5i (700D).
I am *totally* confused by the JPG/Noise/ISO data on this page.

DPReview gives higher ratings to the Nikon, both for image quality and for noise. But, when I see the data above, I see the exact opposite. I must be mis-reading the data. I am only interested in the JPEG data. I don't like to use RAW - just takes up way too much space on my harddisk....

From what I see above, the Canon image seems much crisper - much much less noise. Can someone explain why DPReview gives the nod to the Nikon??

When I downloaded the sample image for both cameras, I also think the Canon seems so much crisper and sharper. Why would someone think the Nikon picture is better? They must be seeing something I am missing.

Any insight would be appreciated....

0 upvotes
Duncan Dimanche
By Duncan Dimanche (8 months ago)

big cloister of dead pixels visible in that last visible video sample…. in the center…argh

0 upvotes
PeterDost
By PeterDost (10 months ago)

"particularly if you're prepared to move beyond either of the kit lenses to higher quality optics"

Which lens would provide better image quality providing a similar range like the 18-105?

Recommendations are welcome.

0 upvotes
AdamLeszko
By AdamLeszko (9 months ago)

considering that You have plenty of pixels to crop from 24M, and pretty average performance of mentioned lenses on long end, I would rather use tamron's or sigma's 17-50s with 2.8 light. Both in proce range of about $300-$400. They will actually allow You to take benefit of such big number of pixels.

cheers

0 upvotes
moeskoetie
By moeskoetie (2 months ago)

why is the D5200 better for sports than the D5300?

0 upvotes
Total comments: 15