Previous page Next page

Body Elements

The D5200 is based around a 24 MP DX format CMOS sensor, which Nikon says is new. It has a 1.5x 'crop factor', which means that an 18mm lens offers a similar angle of view to a 27mm lens on the 35mm 'full frame' format.

The camera uses the Nikon F mount, but you'll need to buy Nikon's AF-S lenses to get autofocus, or third-party options with built-in focus motors.
The main control difference compared to the D5100 is the addition of a dedicated drive mode button on the top plate.
There's a bright LED autofocus illuminator, that the camera will automatically activate when the light is too low to focus. It can be disabled in the menus, if you prefer.

Switching the camera to its 'Quiet' shutter mode will also temporarily disable the AF illuminator, along with the focus confirmation beep.
The D5200 sports front- and rear- infrared receivers for the ML-L3 wireless remote control, on the handgrip and left shoulder respectively. This means it's just as easy to trigger the shutter when shooting from in front of, or behind the camera.
The pop-up flash is the same as on previous cameras in the range. With a guide number of 12m at ISO 100 it's got a reasonable amount of power for social shooting or a bit of fill-flash. The housing lifts high above the mount to minimize shadowing with larger lenses.

Unfortunately the built-in flash doesn't offer wireless control of external flash units as it does on higher-end Nikons.
As usual there's a hotshoe on top of the pentamirror that's compatible with Nikon's external Speedlight units.
The memory card slot is on the grip side of the camera, and takes SD, SDHC and SDXC cards. The D5200 supports high-speed UHS-I cards.
The D5200's connectors are behind a rubber flap on the left of the camera. The stereo mic jack is top left, above the multi-connector port that accepts the WU-1a Wi-Fi and GP-1 GPS units, or MC-DC2 cable release. The latter can be set to initiate either stills or video capture.

To the right are USB/AV out ports and an HDMI socket (CEC compatible).
Two small grills in front of the hot shoe conceal the stereo microphones, appearing for the first time on a Nikon SLR.
The D5200 uses the same EN-EL14 battery as the D5100. It's a 7.4V, 1030mAH, 7.7Wh unit that's also used in the D3200. According to Nikon it provides a CIPA rating of 500 shots.

This represents a 25% drop in the number of shots you can expect to get from each charge, compared to the D5100.
The tripod socket is positioned in-line with the lens axis, with a decent area surrounding it for a quick release plate to grip. It's also well-separated from the base compartment door, meaning that you can change batteries with the camera mounted on a tripod.
Previous page Next page
289
I own it
59
I want it
50
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 16
Michael 59
By Michael 59 (1 month ago)

I recently upgraded from a D5100 to the D5200. Even though I've only taken snapshots here and there, I think the cameras image quality is great. I also have a D3200 which I bought for the higher MP. The 3200 takes beautiful pictures in my opinion, but lacks the bells & whistles I've got used to with the 5100. Even though the image quality in the 5100 was great, I liked the higher MP's, better auto-focus system, faster processor, and misc. other tweaks in the 5200. I still have the 3200 as a backup. The way I see it, The D5200 is like having all the great features "plus some others" of the 3200 and 5100 rolled into one camera. If you can afford the D5200, I recommend you purchase one. Something worth checking into is refurbs. Nikon as well as others sell those at a nice discount and they are inspected and practically like a new one. That how I got the one I have.

0 upvotes
Smartmil8
By Smartmil8 (2 months ago)

This is one of the best cameras in the world!

1 upvote
mumbai architect
By mumbai architect (4 months ago)

Hi I am an architect and need to shoot interiors and buildings. I have been seeing D800E as a choice for the camera on the net. I don't have the budget to buy D800...Will D5200 suffice if I go for additional wide angle.? Please advise.

0 upvotes
Rusdy
By Rusdy (4 months ago)

it will be suffice. just buy a wide-lens and there you go

0 upvotes
Christie123
By Christie123 (4 months ago)

Is this better than D5100? I have D3100 and am planning to upgrade... but I am confused between D5100, D3200 and D5200...

0 upvotes
sophi loren
By sophi loren (9 months ago)

I was confused in between nikon D5200 and Nikon D3200 and at last I go with Nikon D5200 for its ultimate power and obviously the ability of great videoing. DPreview really helps me a lot in this case. Recently I read a review aabout Nikon D5200 best buy and the writer really explain lots of intersting facts about D5200 ad alos offer a great price deal there. I think that will help you guys.

Review Link:

http://www.squidoo.com/nikon-d5200-best-buy-a-personal-review

Enjoy with your Nikon and I really proud for my D5200
Thanks

Comment edited 22 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
sophi loren
By sophi loren (9 months ago)

I hope you will get help from that review :)

Comment edited 36 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Zac boy
By Zac boy (4 months ago)

Sophi loren How are you....?? I wanna ask you something...?

0 upvotes
draleks
By draleks (9 months ago)

I don't get it, what is the actual dynamic range of this camera? Without the ADL it seems to be a pretty mediocre 10EV, with ADL extra high it's 13 EV. Is ADL actually extending the dynamic range of the captured information, or is it just some "clever" post-processing?

1 upvote
Swinterschorr
By Swinterschorr (7 months ago)

I have the same question!

0 upvotes
OceanFroggie
By OceanFroggie (10 months ago)

Was torn between the extra physical controls of the D7100 and the tilting screen of the D5200 along with its lighter more ergonomic feel in hand. Image quality between the two seems similar. I opted for the D5200 and so far happy I went for it rather than the slighlty larger D7100. Thought I'd spend the cost difference in better lens quality. The D7100 screw drive would have focused by old film Nikkor lenses, but I thought it better to move to newer DX lenses with the amazing VR which didn't exist when I used film.

Only grip is I would prefer a second dial, but the tilt screen was worth the compromise. I don't bother using the ridiculously high 24mp image size, instead opting for 'medium' which is about 16mp which is more than enough. A very happy camper so far. After defecting from Nikon film SLRs to Fuji compact bridges a decade ago, now very pleased with the compact feel of the D5200 and the images it produces with ergonomic ease.

0 upvotes
DidYouConsider
By DidYouConsider (10 months ago)

I am trying to decide between the Nikon D5200 and the Canon T5i (700D).
I am *totally* confused by the JPG/Noise/ISO data on this page.

DPReview gives higher ratings to the Nikon, both for image quality and for noise. But, when I see the data above, I see the exact opposite. I must be mis-reading the data. I am only interested in the JPEG data. I don't like to use RAW - just takes up way too much space on my harddisk....

From what I see above, the Canon image seems much crisper - much much less noise. Can someone explain why DPReview gives the nod to the Nikon??

When I downloaded the sample image for both cameras, I also think the Canon seems so much crisper and sharper. Why would someone think the Nikon picture is better? They must be seeing something I am missing.

Any insight would be appreciated....

0 upvotes
Duncan Dimanche
By Duncan Dimanche (10 months ago)

big cloister of dead pixels visible in that last visible video sample…. in the center…argh

0 upvotes
PeterDost
By PeterDost (Sep 24, 2013)

"particularly if you're prepared to move beyond either of the kit lenses to higher quality optics"

Which lens would provide better image quality providing a similar range like the 18-105?

Recommendations are welcome.

0 upvotes
AdamLeszko
By AdamLeszko (11 months ago)

considering that You have plenty of pixels to crop from 24M, and pretty average performance of mentioned lenses on long end, I would rather use tamron's or sigma's 17-50s with 2.8 light. Both in proce range of about $300-$400. They will actually allow You to take benefit of such big number of pixels.

cheers

0 upvotes
moeskoetie
By moeskoetie (4 months ago)

why is the D5200 better for sports than the D5300?

0 upvotes
Total comments: 16