Previous page Next page

Studio scene comparison (JPEG)

This is our standard studio scene comparison shot taken from exactly the same tripod position. Lighting: daylight simulation, >98% CRI. Crops are 100%. Ambient temperature was approximately 22°C (~72°F).

Note: this page features our new interactive studio shot comparison widget. Click here to find out more.

Previous page Next page
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Fujifilm X100S

Comments

Total comments: 470
1234
phakking kant
By phakking kant (2 days ago)

DPREVIEW. Why have you rated the movie mode of x100s so much higher than Sony RX1? This has to be a mistake. As everybody knows, the Fuji cameras have the worst movie mode of all, far far worse than than RX1. This is clear even in the videos you have provided in your reviews, and it is clear from every other review on the internet. The x100s videos look like a rat is running around inside the camera.

1 upvote
Smaffles
By Smaffles (1 month ago)

Could soeone please tell me what filter adapter I can use with my Fuji x100s?

0 upvotes
danredwing
By danredwing (4 weeks ago)

Fuji makes a filter adaptor that fits 49mm threaded filters. You can also buy a really inexpensive knock off that is identical to the Fuji one- They sell them on Amazon for around $14.

0 upvotes
dp62
By dp62 (2 months ago)

One day they may add a (very) small zoom (say 3x) to this, so to get things just a little closer. Same goes voor some other APS-C compact though, like the Coolpix A.

0 upvotes
saradindubose
By saradindubose (3 months ago)

FUJI - I am still in two minds should I buy x100s or interchangeable lens type xe1,xe2 or now the weathersealed xt1 !!. Reviews of x100s is excellent by nearly all. I am from India and my general interest is travel and landscape photography. Will a non weathersealed x100s be difficult to carry around.

0 upvotes
TPatterson
By TPatterson (3 months ago)

Just wanted to post a note for those considering the X100...there has been much discussion about focus speed and minimum focus distance. Just be sure and update the firmware to the very latest version...helps out significantly!

Can honestly say this camera has me in love with shooting again.

Comment edited 23 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
KariIceland
By KariIceland (4 months ago)

Is it possible to have a filter on and it still fitting in the case?

0 upvotes
Joed700
By Joed700 (3 months ago)

Yes, I just bought a leather case, and it fits with the filter plus an adapter...

1 upvote
TPatterson
By TPatterson (3 months ago)

Concur with Joed700...fits in mine as well. May not be quite as snug, but works just fine.

1 upvote
leadsunny
By leadsunny (4 months ago)

I m thinking of buy this cam.just 1 thing I m confused about its low light AF performance.any1 can tell me abt it?thanks in advance :)

0 upvotes
Joed700
By Joed700 (3 months ago)

I've been using the X100s for almost a year now, and I can tell you that the AF system isn't that great outdoors or indoors. It's focus bracket will turn red even in moderate lighting indoors. If you are shooting group pictures, be careful not to place the focus bracket between your subject and the background because it will select the background 90% of the time; I just make sure the focus bracket is totally covered by my subject. If that doesn't bother your, this is an excellent camera because the colors it produces are awesome, even shooting with jpeg. I shoot mostly with the X100s and leave my D800 at home.

0 upvotes
Phoebe Lee
By Phoebe Lee (5 months ago)

Does this camera compatible with a wired remote control. The specification syas yes, however, we don't know the model number of the wired remote control. Who can tell me, many thanks.

0 upvotes
Mike tn
By Mike tn (5 months ago)

Missing the point of this camera. I have this camera already collecting dust, a Nikon D40. Same size, body weight and sensor. So to match the Fuji I could throw the 35mm f1.8 on it, drain the battery at twice the normal rate and pay twice its worth.

0 upvotes
Ophicleide
By Ophicleide (5 months ago)

The Fuji X100s is very disappointing. I bought this camera to shoot like a digital rangefinder camera. The f/stop ring is nice but works in full stop increments only !!! Where have these Fuji guys been for the last 40 years ? The shutter speed dial is perfect, Bulb, T, and 1/4sec through 1/4000th sec. plus A. Then there is that exposure knob to the right of the shutter speed dial that allow 1/3 f/stops from -2 to +2. Perfect for dialing in that exposure that full stop increments wont give you, except is doesn't work in the manual mode. You have to use that rotating thumb wheel that I hate because if you press it just a tad too much you go into different modes.
Fuji had an excellent idea, a digital rangefinder, fixed focal length lens that could have been a perfect digital replacement to a Leica rangefinder of yesteryear - and they screwed it all up. I played with the camera trying to get used to the myriad of options that are all unnecessary. Sent it back.

1 upvote
ChrisQuijote
By ChrisQuijote (5 months ago)

Hi Ophicleide - I realise that it was not the camera for you but wanted to make 1 point for other people reading this.

If you are working in manual and want increments of aperture - the command dial where your thumb is will jump in 1/3 increments on either side of your current exposure to + or - 1 stop. In spite of your inference - it does not take you into different modes when shooting in manual. If you push it in all the way you cam jump between evf and ovf but the exposure mode is unchanged.

I actually find it a very big improvement over adjusting an aperture ring, especially in ovf - which is quite fiddly.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
guamy
By guamy (4 months ago)

That's why he sent it back.

0 upvotes
EvilTed
By EvilTed (4 months ago)

It is not a digital rangefinder.
Only Leica makes those and they handle and perform completely differently.
You have confused yourself expecting it to behave like a Leica.
It is more analogous to the old Contax G2...

Having 3 Leicas and now my 3rd Fuji in the X100s, I think it is a great camera.

3 upvotes
tallguy600
By tallguy600 (6 months ago)

I moved from a D600 to the X100s and for me that works. I also have a Sony RX100 when I need more focal range selection.
The X100s viewfinder is great and the 35mm is my favorite focal length.
Excellent image quality and it just feels right.

7 upvotes
Tee1up
By Tee1up (6 months ago)

Tallguy - any thoughts on the new AF and MF changes?
thanks.

0 upvotes
KariIceland
By KariIceland (6 months ago)

Please get someone ELSE, ANYONE ELSE to do this review next time, Whoever did the review photo's knows NOTHING about the Exposure Triangle.

1 upvote
Ophicleide
By Ophicleide (7 months ago)

I am considering the Fuji X100S. I have to rely on professional feedback from unbiased photographers. I used to have a Canon 10D , 20D and 5D as my professional cameras and used a small Powershot S45 as my "point and shoot". I was blown away by the accuracy of the S45 exposure metering system but was always disappointed with the 10D, 20D and 5D. I had to shoot in RAW to get good JPEGS. Highlights were always over-exposed. The point and shoot S45 always gave me good exposures in JPEG's, I never needed to use it in RAW ( it did shoot RAW).
My wedding photographer friend used an Olympus with a sensor that had two types, one for bright light one for normal. Result was no blown out highlights. Ne never used RAW and the JPEGS were always spot on.

My question is: How is the metering system in the X100S and how does the sensor handle contrast ? I don't want to shoot in RAW all the time.

1 upvote
iRadio07
By iRadio07 (6 months ago)

For me the best camera in its catecory, check my blog fot the answer of your question (raw, contrast etc. ) :

http://my-finepix-x100s.blogspot.com

4 upvotes
ofquiet
By ofquiet (7 months ago)

How do you offer a fixed lens $1200 camera WITHOUT image stabilization? Or are you just saving that for the x100s2?

1 upvote
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (7 months ago)

come on ^^ who needs image stabilization?

4 upvotes
joelmusicman
By joelmusicman (6 months ago)

IS is really not needed in this camera. No mirror slap, and leaf shutter means about 2 stops better performance than the 1/focal length would suggest.

2 upvotes
Ian SS
By Ian SS (6 months ago)

This is a 35mm equiv. lens and with a clean sensor, we can do without image stabilization.

3 upvotes
Joed700
By Joed700 (3 months ago)

There are times when I got sharp pictures even at 1/15 of a sec...

0 upvotes
panpen
By panpen (7 months ago)

Honestly, those f2 samples are horrible.

2 upvotes
jkokich
By jkokich (7 months ago)

Just checking some different cameras on this great widget, and saw something strange. On the Bailey's Irish bottle, on the word Irish, some cameras pick up some mottling and some don't. What would cause that? It seems to happen in both RAW and JPEG.

0 upvotes
rsongusa
By rsongusa (7 months ago)

I've now had my X100S for about 2 weeks and have been rotating its use w/ my Panny GX1 and Canon 6D. So, I've been able to do some comps of similar shots. Some thoughts: 1st, I note the painfully slow AF in low light conditions. The GX1's AF does very well in low light; I've owned 2 other m4/3 cameras and they have also had a pretty fast AF.

2) the incredibly noisy images at ISO 3200 and above.

3) the images appear very soft at f2 in low light.

That said, I really enjoy the X100S. I've overcome the slow AF and soft image quality (in part) by switching to manual focus. The manual focus ring is very responsive. I feel like it's just a matter of time/use before I get better at manual focusing.

The ISO problem, however, remains. Is it for daylight/bright interiors only?

The shutter is quiet. The only thing quieter would be an e-shutter or the shutter on the Sony RX1/100. This is the best feature of the camera.

And, it is extremely low profile (fits in my bag easily).

3 upvotes
srados
By srados (7 months ago)

Again another camera that is not CanNik brand and all I can read about, great sensor, color etc but FUNCTIONALITY, the basic mechanic yet again is a failure.How long it would take them (Fuji,Sony,Olyimpus,Panasonic) to come up with product that will not fail within first year? I am not saying that 2 major players did not have horrible cameras on the market but in a much less percentage that all others...I am still waiting for decent compact camera.

2 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (7 months ago)

What are you talking about? What a moronic post.

9 upvotes
jadot
By jadot (7 months ago)

Are you sure you know what you're going on about? It really doesn't look like you do.

5 upvotes
KariIceland
By KariIceland (7 months ago)

Ever heard of the olympus micro four thirds series? and the panasonic micro four thirds as well? oh and the sony rx 100?
Someone is a fanboy.

0 upvotes
KariIceland
By KariIceland (7 months ago)

And srados nobody called you a moron, but you proved that you are one, congratulations.

8 upvotes
Photoman
By Photoman (5 months ago)

@srados Haven't you ever heard never go full retard?! I own this camera and the X100 before and IT is a great camera. Pick it up and take photos. Easy to use, yes a bit soft at f2, but still a great camera. The way you insulted people as you didn't back up your rant with facts, leads me to believe your balls haven't dropped yet. Peace out bro!

2 upvotes
lordsakana
By lordsakana (8 months ago)

I'm considering either the X100s or the X20 for casual portraiture with bokeh. Thoughts?

0 upvotes
jfinn1319
By jfinn1319 (7 months ago)

I really like it for portraiture. I find though that, even wide open, f2 isn't going to give you that really shallow bokeh effect. It still looks nice, but if that's your angle, get an XPro1 and the new 23mm f1.4

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (7 months ago)

both are starnge cameras for portrait work

not so the bokeh but the angle^^ a 35 as a portrait lens is very close

edit i know the x20 is a zoom, but i wouldnt even consider that camera for even semipro work

Comment edited 58 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
harold1968
By harold1968 (8 months ago)

nice review.
I have used the X100S and the RX1, both the best 35mm walkabouts at the moment. Both are truely excelelnt and its a matter of personal taste. The main advantage of the RX1 is the sheer cascade of detail. The main advantage of the Fuji is colours and price.
Look and handling is really up to the individual.

Comment edited 33 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
iRadio07
By iRadio07 (8 months ago)

I used my Fuji X100s mostly as a "MONOCHROME" camera,
the X-Trans sensor is excellent for B&W.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
See some exemples : http://my-finepix-x100s.blogspot.com

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 32 seconds after posting
6 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (7 months ago)

i like the pictures, but the 1995 backround image is horrible. made my ipad browser crash 3times

0 upvotes
Linus Andersson
By Linus Andersson (8 months ago)

I received my X100S 4 weeks ago (love the camera) and today I noticed that the viewfinder curtain is stuck. So it is not possible to switch between the Ovf and Evf. It has nothing to do with the macro mode as it is stuck halfway up. Is there anyone that had simular problem?

0 upvotes
gjoh
By gjoh (8 months ago)

Linus,
I had the same problem with my x100 blck lim edit,
seems to be a known problem with some kind of "finger" losing the contact with the curtain.
Send to Fuji and repaired w/o problems.

0 upvotes
Linus Andersson
By Linus Andersson (8 months ago)

I have sent my camera to Fuji for service, good to hear that they manage to solve the problem.

0 upvotes
Bamboojled
By Bamboojled (8 months ago)

LOL,
still no images with the new test chart that compares lens performance.

Barney, I thought you said that there was extensive testing on this camera and the new test chart images would be following closely.

Don't mean to beat a dead horse, but your review and rating is suspect until you compare lens performance against the other competitors, especially since they were compared to each other in their reviews.

What gives???

0 upvotes
exifnotfound
By exifnotfound (8 months ago)

I found the AF on the original X100 to be painfully slow and so never bought one.

I take it things are improved in the AF speed department with this new s model?

Comment edited 39 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (7 months ago)

The latest firmware upgrades have worked wonders on the X100. AF is much improved. I have the X100, love it, and will not be getting the X100s.

0 upvotes
dovla
By dovla (8 months ago)

Is the focus peaking working in the video mode?

0 upvotes
KLN24
By KLN24 (8 months ago)

I haven't upgraded my DSLR in years. I own a Canon 5D (original 5D) and it still works wonderfully. If I upgrade it will only be to a used markII, beacause of my budget. But for around the same price I could get the x100s which I would love to have. Unsure whether to upgrade my DSLR or just buy the x100s. Any advice?

1 upvote
David Hardaway
By David Hardaway (8 months ago)

Coming from Canon 5D, in my opinion based on previously owning an xe1, you would not be happy. Raw file processing is a drag and the image quality, especially in mixed lighting will yield image quality that will disappoint. I have 2 5dmiis for work and wanted the xe1 as my grab and go.... i was disappointed to sah the least. Gram the eos m and the pancake lens and the ef adapter. The images are outstanding and the video is excellent.

3 upvotes
Photoman
By Photoman (8 months ago)

Don't listen to the troll regarding the X100s (He owns a lemon Canon M camera. Maybe he works for Canon?). I use to own the X100 and yes it was buggy, but the X100s is a whole lot better camera. I also use a Nikon D700 & Olympus OM-D, but the the X100s is a such a quiet and fun camera to use.

Comment edited 53 seconds after posting
6 upvotes
Stokkamann
By Stokkamann (8 months ago)

Keep you dslr for occations you need high speed and telephoto and buy the Fuji x100s. You will be happy with it and you will bring it with you all the time and get superb shots. This has been my choice and I am happy with it. You wont miss the size and the weight of you dslr and you will be surprised how this fixed lens camera fits into most situations. The x100s is a wonderful camera (which also means my dslr stays at home except for special occations).

1 upvote
Dougbm_2
By Dougbm_2 (8 months ago)

No Brainer. I have had my 5D mk1 for about 4 years now and 2.5 years ago bought the X100. The 5D does give richer files but the X100 is a little wonder in it's own right. Only real advantage of MkII is more MP but that means bigger files. I say keep the MK 1 (like me) and get the X100s. After a bit of adapting you will be glad you did. Handheld night photography anyone? (but best to have af on af-c). Shoots really good jpgs but I now shoot mainly in Raw ( as with all my cameras).

0 upvotes
Fatal Farter
By Fatal Farter (8 months ago)

Overexposed galore for the gallery!

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 7 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
FR3DRIK
By FR3DRIK (8 months ago)

Just chiming in that in order to get really nice colors in a Lightroom RAW workflow (similar to what you get in Apple's Aperture), you should make your own X100S DNG camera profile.

If you don't have access to a color checker chart you can download my X100S camera profile and see if it makes any difference: http://fredrikaverpil.tumblr.com/post/53053979867

2 upvotes
Kuturgan
By Kuturgan (8 months ago)

Where is NX300 review???

1 upvote
Sdabur
By Sdabur (8 months ago)

Stupids like you are expected to ask stupid question like this..!!! Not your fault buddy..!!

1 upvote
xeriwthe
By xeriwthe (8 months ago)

if there's one thing i wish fujifilm would tweak for the x100s it would be to extend the shadow dynamic range. i always feel there is a fight to prevent clipping blacks, tweaking in post to raise shadows and lower contrast, and somewhat distorting the natural feel of the image

the dynamic range of the original x100 is incredible, the shadow dynamic range is almost 3 stops extended over the x100s, in the s-s mode. now i know why x100 images can look so soft and natural

in the end i'll probably have to just work with a more limited dynamic range, or shoot RAW since RAW images tend to look a lot less clipped in the blacks, but it would be nice if fujifilm could extend shadow DR to levels similar to XE-1

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
fredbnk
By fredbnk (8 months ago)

Why don't you just reduce the shadow tones in camera? I shoot with both shadow and high tones set to -1 to give a flatter image and then adjust them in post with a little extra contrast to my taste rather than the camera's.

1 upvote
xeriwthe
By xeriwthe (8 months ago)

i do shoot with shadow tones set to -1 or -2, and i still feel the camera clips blacks more than my x10, which has a sensor 1/6 as large. it's clear from the DR test in the x100s review that there is 2 stops less DR in the blacks, compared to the x-e1, x100, x10, etc. in the example images, I can see much more detail on the spools of thread in the shadows, on images from the x-e1

i guess this could be a side effect of phase detect pixels, but x100s images processed from RAW look about the same as the x-e1 (just a slight bit less shadow DR)

it is a little weird that blacks are trimmed so much. i've felt this for a while now, but didn't think i'd eventually learn shadow dynamic range is quite a bit less

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
1 upvote
FlickTek
By FlickTek (8 months ago)

It's funny how the same people who hated X100 all of a sudden thinks X100 was so amazing! The truth is many don't even own either.

1 upvote
xeriwthe
By xeriwthe (8 months ago)

ok, sure. i don't know what that has to do with the change in shadow dynamic range but whatever. i've always thought x100 jpgs were pretty amazing

0 upvotes
PenGun
By PenGun (8 months ago)

I pull lots out of the dark end of my Fuji X-E1 Perhaps you are not getting enough exposure, it's the only reason I can think that you might find the Fuji black end clipped, whatever that means.

0 upvotes
lazy lightning
By lazy lightning (9 months ago)

Hey where did my post go? I replied to a poster who had questioned the testing method of the X100S in relation to the Nikon A and Ricoh GR and thus the scoring between cameras reviewed.

My reply was something along the lines of; I noticed in the review that dpreview called the Nikon A and Ricoh GR "pretenders" and wondered if dpreview worked a sweet resellers deal with Fuji in order to sell the X100S in the dpreview GearShop.

I must have struck a nerve and considering the very real trust issues dpreview is having with members concerning the GearShop and it's relation to honest reviews going forward I shouldn't be surprised they chose to axe my post.

Hard to be objective, honest and transparent when chasing the almighty dollar.

5 upvotes
attomole
By attomole (8 months ago)

I believe the use of the term pretender is not meant to be perjorative here. More in the understanding of laying claim to be King. "Pretender to the Crown"

0 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (8 months ago)

Exactly. And since the X100S is on backorder (and has been for ages) your comment about a 'sweet resellers deal' is somewhat off the mark.

Comment edited 43 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
ScottD1964
By ScottD1964 (8 months ago)

I don't see how the new Gear Shop has anything to do with anything. You say that DPR can't be "honest and transparent chasing the almighty dollar" because of the Gear Shop? Funny thing is, DPR has been owned by Amazon since 2007. Guess they've just been fudging reviews to push sales there all along but no one ever noticed.

1 upvote
MI6G
By MI6G (9 months ago)

Don´t worry Barnaby . Yes it took time but We like the review ! :D

3 upvotes
MrMojo
By MrMojo (9 months ago)

"Jpeg rules. RAW is for posers."

Johnsonj's post is meaningless. It only illustrates his ignorance about the advantages of shooting RAW vs. JPEG.

A knowledgeable photographer will be aware of the advantages/disadvantages of both RAW and JPEG and will select the image file format based on the situation and his/her particular requirements.

Good easily-understandable explanations of the advantages of RAW vs. JPEG can be found at http://luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/understanding-series/u-raw-files.shtml and http://bythom.com/qadraw.htm.

4 upvotes
JackM
By JackM (9 months ago)

I own the X100S and a Canon 5D3. The X100S has all but replaced my 5D3 for family outings and candids. It's a wonderful camera with wonderful IQ. If you understand the need for an aperture ring and a shutter speed dial, and being your own judge of exposure, you understand this camera. If you don't, you don't. The only other manufacturer who understands this market segment is Leica. The Gold Award is well deserved.

5 upvotes
IchiroCameraGuy
By IchiroCameraGuy (9 months ago)

Any $100-200 compact point & shoot with manual mode can adjust aperture and shutter speed quick enough. Rotate dial, hit one button, rotate dial again. Aperture ring is a bonus sure enough but romance how important it is - not realistic.

4 upvotes
Felts
By Felts (9 months ago)

Depending on the type of photography you partake in, it can be a real advantage to be able to alter aperture and shutter speed v rapidly. Then there is the joy of using something that is ergonomically 'right'. Finally the IQ produced by your $100-200 compact soon makes sure that the romance with the X100 is back on again!

1 upvote
IchiroCameraGuy
By IchiroCameraGuy (9 months ago)

Felts what about any of the other large sensor compacts/mirrorless like EOS M I mention many times below. Very few times would all aperture and shutter speed and ISO sensitivity need to be changed rapidly. Never in something like pro-level sports from personal experience.

When I worked on the Sony team for the NEX development it was intentional to have the first models with less dials and buttons.

Personally I like to keep my index finger always on the shutter release ready at all times so I have my thumb doing all the settings and off-hand holding the camera. It is not necessarily ideal to be moving your thumb all over the place. It does depend on the photography.

2 upvotes
dengx
By dengx (9 months ago)

For you it's not important to have an aperture ring, for many it is.
Many people have chosen the Fujifilm systems just because there are physical dials and buttons they can use as opposed to some competition.

These are different products for different people.

World is a wonderful thing with its diversity :)

2 upvotes
xeriwthe
By xeriwthe (9 months ago)

it's interesting how such a simple thing as a design oriented towards immediate manual control and operation can sell a few hundred thousand $1200 fixed lens cameras.

i cannot logically justify the price, i'm just a wannabe i know, but using it just makes me feel good!

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (9 months ago)

You definitely won't ever need to use RAW with this camera. The RAW mode is already cooked just as much as the jpg mode. I don't see that as a plus though.

When I don't intend to edit the image at all I use jpg. When I want to edit the image I want all of the data to be there and that is not possible in RAW mode with this camera.

How in the world could you describe this as a serious professional camera. It basically doesn't have RAW? If Nikon or Canon did this everyone would be complaining majorly.

5 upvotes
chaking
By chaking (9 months ago)

I shoot in Raw + Jpg constantly. Typically shoot b&w jpg or velvia and can easily just use the jpg ooc. However, sometimes I blow the highlights or do some other silly things and having the RAW allows me to recover it wonderfully. Not using raw seems odd to me - it's the best way for me to ensure I don't screw up a shot I really don't want to screw up.

I mean just look at the file sizes - one obviously has a lot more in it than the other...

1 upvote
mosc
By mosc (9 months ago)

You know how many pros shoot JPG these days in in FF DLSRs? RAW editing takes too much time for people with deadlines. Wedding photographers and hobbyists are probably the biggest RAW users. Just don't tell me RAW=PRO and JPG=amateur. JPG is ideal for people who need to spend more time with a camera in their face than a mouse in their hand.

3 upvotes
Guy Swarbrick
By Guy Swarbrick (8 months ago)

I'm a pro sport photographer and depressingly, its true. Many pros only shoot JPG.

I shoot RAW+JPG on the D4, putting RAW on the XQD card and JPG on the CF. If I desperately need an image immediately for web use, I use the JPG. For print I always use the RAW file. Works like a charm. And I have a contract to supply a sport's hall of fame gallery because nobody else has high enough quality files - so long may people's laziness/stupidity continue.

0 upvotes
Five Piece
By Five Piece (8 months ago)

Thank you Mr. Swarbrick for your useful comments as a working pro. That is exactly how I use the two cards in my 5dm3, with the SD card set to medium jpeg, mainly just as backup to the RAW file, which really must be processed to get the most out of the photo. 14 bits vs. 8, just so much more leeway for adjustment.

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (9 months ago)

Isn't In Camera RAW Noise Reduction a beautiful thing? Oh wait, you can't get that data back if you want it? Ok, never mind.

7 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (9 months ago)

I don't understand this - if I process from RAW the level of detail is astounding.

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (9 months ago)

@sgoldswo

This camera applies noise reduction directly to the RAW image before it saves it. That means RAW is not truly RAW for this camera, EVER.

3 upvotes
Kali108
By Kali108 (9 months ago)

mpgxsvcd...you're making a mountain out of an anthill. You read somewhere that a tiny bit of noise reduction is present in the "raw" file and *you* conclude it's no longer a true raw file. Utter non-sense. All the more so, since you probably don't own a X Trans cam.

Reading posts like this, is quickly reminding me why I stopped coming to dpreview. Just too much BS to sift through to find even common sense discussions.

4 upvotes
mosc
By mosc (9 months ago)

I think it would be a challenge to find an undoctored RAW camera in this day and age. They all like to hide some flaws.

1 upvote
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (9 months ago)

@mpgxsvcd actually that's incorrect. No noise reduction is applied to RAW. If you process in camera or through ACR/LR you'll see what looks like loss of detail due to noise reduction. That doesn't happen if you use other RAW converters. See some links to images I processed through aperture below...

3 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (9 months ago)

At base ISO I really couldn't see how this camera had any better image quality than the Olympus OMD. If you stick the excellent Panasonic 20mm F1.7 lens on the Olympus or the upcoming Panasonic GX7 you would have the same image quality(or Better) for about the same price.

The biggest difference is that you could also then have an interchangeable lens camera. I don't think that the X100S is a bad camera. I just think that the fixed lens compact category offers no benefit over an interchangeable lens compact camera.

Comment edited 28 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
dengx
By dengx (9 months ago)

Does the EM-5 or GX7 sync the flash up to 1/2000s?

5 upvotes
InTheMist
By InTheMist (9 months ago)

Does the EM-5 or GX7 have an APS-C sensor and optical viewfinder?

6 upvotes
WT21
By WT21 (9 months ago)

Inthemist, you need to define why that aps-c sensor is a benefit. Listing a tech spec doesnt automagically make it better.

2 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (9 months ago)

Fair enough, but as a user of both I would say the image quality is better overall with the X100S. The point where the E-M5 might win is at F2 because the X100S is soft at that aperture.

As others have pointed out, the high speed flash sync is incredibly useful. Combine that with output from the X-trans APS-C sensor that not only exceeds the Sony 16mp M43s sensor but most other APS-C sensors, faster AF (than an E-M5 with the Panny 20mm mounted) an OVF and some incredibly intuitive controls and the shooting experience plus image quality makes for an incredibly satisfying camera.

2 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (9 months ago)

Can the Fuji use an F1.4 lens instead of an F2.0 lens?

3 upvotes
dengx
By dengx (9 months ago)

Of course not but your final point was that the fixed lens camera offers no benefit over an ilc which is simply not true for some cases.

1 upvote
FlickTek
By FlickTek (8 months ago)

Sure, they could use F1.4 but the price would be doubled. I own both x100s and OMD. While I love them both, I can strongly vouch for the image quality of the X100s to be better than OMD with any lens. OMD images are slightly clearer but where it looses is the Color matrix and the dynamic range. X100s has that silky smooth pleasing look that is just absent from OMD.

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (7 months ago)

@mpgxsvcd : are you sure you got the concept of a fixed lens camera, or should this be somehow sarcastic ? ^^

also i think you didnt get the concept of the x100 at all

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (9 months ago)

It looks like a good camera in a niche market. If you are shopping for a camera in this market I am sure you would give this camera a nice long look.

That is pretty much the definition of the Gold award. I camera that excels in its particular category. If they only gave the gold awards to the absolute best performing cameras then the only cameras that would get the gold awards would be ones that most of us couldn't afford.

I would never buy this camera because I need a lot more flexibility than it can offer. However, I definitely would recommend that other people who need this particular type of camera look at it.

1 upvote
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (7 months ago)

why do you explane it over and over again ? you wont buy it .. end of story ^^

0 upvotes
Paul Guba
By Paul Guba (9 months ago)

Seems to be a lot of conversation about the "Gold Award" status. Through the reviews here you can learn a great deal about various cameras. My personal belief is the various ratings are meaningless. This site has one underlying principal and that is commerce. Without it the site would not be supporting itself. Read the conclusion again if you think otherwise.

Seems like a nice camera, I won't be buying it I have five cameras already.

0 upvotes
aris14
By aris14 (9 months ago)

Ι find it extremely difficult to see the use of these cams anyway...
All these about street photography which needs some peculiar cams is IMO rather a philology.
Street photography as a term/art does not need a certain cam with certain abilities or whatsoever, just something handy and reliable, top IQ is not its main quest.
The only positive thing in these cams is that they explore miniaturization.

1 upvote
Tech Whiz
By Tech Whiz (9 months ago)

Ya... completely agree with you.. I find the mobile camera best for capturing street (if considering the size) but if things like AF speed, image quality and controls come - the mobile cannot do well and heres where this kinda device is more handy than a Bulky gadget which makes your subject more aware and you have to carry weight all the time. taking out and making a DSLR ready also takes time and grabs others attention, so for that this kind of device or even a mobile is better for capturing street and candid

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Dotes
By Dotes (9 months ago)

Cameras actually DO need certain features for optimal street. Prefocus abilities, auto low limits for shutter speeds, bigger than the frame viewfinders, etc. Many street photographers find one or more of these mandatory for their process. You will be surprised how many otherwise excellent and ergonomic cameras can't be prefocused which makes them useless for hip or waist level shooting.

1 upvote
IchiroCameraGuy
By IchiroCameraGuy (9 months ago)

Dotes, which one don't have have manual shooting mode or manual focus out of the ones with a good sensor size and image quality? That is the ability to set low limits of shutter and pre-focus. How would you need it as a unique and highlighted function separate from these common modes?

1 upvote
Dotes
By Dotes (9 months ago)

Take the Sony NEX series as an example. There are NO distance scales on the E-mount lenses, not even on the Zeiss e-mount lenses. And there is NO electronic distance scale in software (Fuji's do have one). This means you can't set focus to a predetermined distance, a feature which is needed for shooting without looking at the screen or through the viewfinder, i. e. for waist or hip shooting. Manual focus is not the same as distance pre-focus. Manual focus can't help you if you are not looking thorugh the viewfinder/screen.

The only way to use a NEX camera as a zone focus camera is to use adapted lenses with distance scales on them.

2 upvotes
IchiroCameraGuy
By IchiroCameraGuy (8 months ago)

How is manually setting focus for a distance not the same as pre-focusing for a certain distance? Does not make sense. No matter what terms you use - set the camera for a distance using auto focus or manual focus, keep on manual focus, shoot when subject is that distance. You don't need distance scale on camera or the lens to do it.

It takes a lot more accuracy to do it with sports back in the days of no AF using telephoto lenses and large aperture than it does street shooting from the hip - nobody would use a distance scale for this but manually focus it first. Scales are never perfectly accurate and there were no laser range finders.

Sum it up - any camera with manual focus can be pre-focused or zone focused within 5 seconds time.

1 upvote
Tech Whiz
By Tech Whiz (8 months ago)

And in the X100s Zone in focus is visible in the Scale on the LCD, it keeps on changing according to the DOF- it actually shows the area in DOF.. which is a great feature to help Zone focusing

0 upvotes
Dotes
By Dotes (8 months ago)

@IchiroCameraGuy:

I don't think you truly understand the problem. You don't have 5 seconds to pre-focus when out on the streets. Distance calibation should be possible to accomplish in a moment, whenever I want, preferably without the need to raise the camera to my face.

Besides, there is not always an object available around you at the required distance so that you use it to AF/manual prefocus. So, on top of raising the camera to eye level, you need to move around to get something in this distance. No, thanks. I'll just stick to manual focus lenses with scales.

0 upvotes
FlickTek
By FlickTek (8 months ago)

It's a great camera for the street but don't undermine it's ability for anything else that you might like to do. It has a stellar image quality and amazing color matrix only Fuji knows how to produce. Anything you picture with this just looks stunning if you know what you are doing. NEX series doesn't even come close to the quality. I have owned NEX and it pretty much sucked. This is the 1st time the image quality of an APS-C sensor looked better than Full-Frame. I rest my case.

0 upvotes
jkokich
By jkokich (7 months ago)

I just set a good depth of field so I don't have to worry; I know my subject will be in focus. I figured that out when I was a high school yearbook photog and needed candid student shots.

0 upvotes
ogl
By ogl (9 months ago)

the advertising is the engine of sales. DPREVIEW helps to their owners to sale cameras. no any problem, just business.

0 upvotes
lmtfa
By lmtfa (9 months ago)

Their are more "CONS" listed here than their are in Pelican Bay Prison. And it still gets an 81% + Gold Award. So it has been decided by those in charge, make a "Retro" looking camera and name it Fujifilm and bingo it's a world class winner. I wish I had my Brownie that I got from Kellogg's Corn Flakes box tops. It surely would garner a 83% and don't call me Shirley:-))

6 upvotes
armanius
By armanius (9 months ago)

Is that how ratings and awards are calculated or dished outt? Add the pros and cons? Or subtract the cons from the pros? I missed that memo.

Comment edited 28 seconds after posting
11 upvotes
kcccc
By kcccc (9 months ago)

It is not a simple number counting game. Yes it got quite a number of "cons", but I looked at the pros, and it was those that really matters (image IQ, responsiveness, AF accuracy...)

1 upvote
chaking
By chaking (9 months ago)

I've had a sony nex, nikon d600 and a canon 60d and I use this camera 5x more than I have any others. To me it's a Gold no doubt. I think there might be a lot of things people think can be better, but the good far outweighs them.

0 upvotes
lmtfa
By lmtfa (8 months ago)

@chaking. To each his own. I have my arsenal and I'm fond of my Nex 6. Maybe its a bias against Sony, who knows. To me at least I enjoy the noise free stunning photos I get. The AF is accurate and fast. Yes Sony really needs to put more lenses out. I learned the camera with the kit lens (16-50) and now Im using the 35 Prime and the 10-18 much better than the 24 Zeiss. Last if it goes on sale I may go long with the 55-200. Thats it.

0 upvotes
FlickTek
By FlickTek (8 months ago)

Sorry, that's not how it works. It's very easy to be neat-picky and list things you wish were there or different but what's important is how bad is it. Are the cons earth shattering in the grand scheme of things or they are just good to haves. If it's the latter then the came by virtue of all it's amazing pros deserves to be Gold Awarded.

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (7 months ago)

i hope this was a sarcastic statement and you all fell for it hehe

otherwise i must be daydreamin ^^

facedetection ???? seriously ?

0 upvotes
armanius
By armanius (9 months ago)

So glad a major reviewer finally discussed the lack of face detection in Fuji's "advanced" cameras. I hope Fuji will implement face detection via firmware upgrade in its "advanced" cameras, and/or in its upcoming cameras.

4 upvotes
samhain
By samhain (9 months ago)

It's not really an 'idiot mode' kind of camera. Face detect is fine on my iPhone camera, I don't want/need it on my 'real' camera.

5 upvotes
Oleg Vinokurov
By Oleg Vinokurov (9 months ago)

What's wrong with having it? Can be quite useful, even some pros like it on olympus e-m5. And how you can even link face detection and 'idiot mode'. Or are you still using only manual focus and consider everyone who is using AF 'noobs'?

3 upvotes
JackM
By JackM (9 months ago)

Or you could learn how to focus.

0 upvotes
Felts
By Felts (9 months ago)

As a user of the X100 and XP1 I would love face detect. I went to a music festival recently and every pic of me is OOF because I handed the cam to a non-photographer. Face detect would have negated this issue.

1 upvote
armanius
By armanius (9 months ago)

I'm always amused at haters that resort to insults and put downs. If someone doesn't like to use face detection, keep the feature turned "off." It's hilarious to see some feel threatened by face detection. I suppose if future Fuji cameras add face detection, people like "samhain" will automatically consider to those cameras as not "real" cameras.

2 upvotes
tinpusher
By tinpusher (9 months ago)

I always thought that the X100 and the X100S have a built-in face detection routine used (at least) for red eye removal..possibly more!
Manual page 79 ( 75 for the X100)

0 upvotes
nrcole
By nrcole (8 months ago)

Face detect would make a lot of sense given that these on-sensor focus systems have a tendency to back focus from time to time.

0 upvotes
FlickTek
By FlickTek (8 months ago)

Another good to have feature but not really important. The target market for X100S according to Fujifilm are advanced users and professional photographers. Anybody uses it will just have to know how to shoot right.

0 upvotes
joelmusicman
By joelmusicman (6 months ago)

I've noticed that using face detection mode on my EM5 (even with the eye feature on) that the camera viewfinder draws a green box around the face and focuses in the middle. Of course, smack dab in the middle of most faces is a nose sticking out, which is what the camera focuses on. When shooting wide open, the nose is in focus and the eyes are not.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Jack Simpson
By Jack Simpson (9 months ago)

With all the negative points in the conclusion, I find difficult to believe that X100s scored higher than Ricoh GR :o Although, I will admit that the X100s looks prettier in the classic rangefinder appearance :)

0 upvotes
Heinz Lepahe
By Heinz Lepahe (9 months ago)

Great review. I have been looking at this for a while, and will be ordering it. A great alternative to the bulk of my Nikon DSLRs for travel, street photography etc

2 upvotes
jxp
By jxp (9 months ago)

I have just bought one, I love it. My DSLR will be on ebay some time soon.

0 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (9 months ago)

From now on, when people comment, they should say that they own the particular camera or its predecessor so we can then guess whether an opinion response is tainted or not. :)

10 upvotes
VictorTrasvina
By VictorTrasvina (9 months ago)

By the way thanks Barney ! Great review ! Very detailed and informative !

Comment edited 18 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Esoz
By Esoz (9 months ago)

Guess what,I bought the X100S right after I read the review XD

3 upvotes
David Hardaway
By David Hardaway (9 months ago)

I just reviewed the sample images that Barney took with the original x100. Night and day difference. The x100 images are very good and with good color and detail. X100s is clearly not an award winning camera so why is the dpreview gold being awarded to a jpg snapshot camera that is grossly overpriced?

5 upvotes
Kevin Patrick
By Kevin Patrick (9 months ago)

They should change the website name to DHReview. LOL.

3 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (9 months ago)

David, you've made that point several times in the comments already, and you've also sent me three personal emails about the same matter. I respect your opinion, but at this point you're just trolling, whether you realise it or not.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
32 upvotes
ScottD1964
By ScottD1964 (9 months ago)

All this negativity coming from someone who's back up camera is an EOS-M. The camera that's one of the biggest dogs of an ILC to come down the pike in years? The camera that Canon lowered the price to $299.00 with a lens? The camera that they're giving you the body for free when you buy the lens just to get it out of their inventory because it's so bad? That's what you use as your basis to slam the images and quality of the X100S? Really?

20 upvotes
Tee1up
By Tee1up (9 months ago)

Ease off the throttle Davey-boy. Take a card to your favorite camera shop, shoot a bit at the counter and then take it home and play with the images. I was not optimistic either until i did this.

The camera is really beautiful, the AF changes fixed all the things I hated about the X100 and it take a great photo. Saving up for one as I write this.

3 upvotes
zodiacfml
By zodiacfml (9 months ago)

I agree with David which I believe has something to do with the blown out highlights or default exposure of the S.
I believe the x100s has to be underexposed or used with the DR expansion to maintain those highlights. It's as though Fujifilm moved the DR of this camera to the shadow regions.

1 upvote
sarkozy
By sarkozy (9 months ago)

I'm of the opinion that the image quality of the X100 is still the no. 1. Nevertheless, the X100s earns the gold medal.

1 upvote
DDWD10
By DDWD10 (9 months ago)

@ zodiacfml

I realize that the default tone curve is a bit different on my X-Pro1, but I only seem to encounter "bad" blown highlights shooting at the expanded ISO 100. This is effectively "DR50" as it loses a stop of highlight detail vs the native base ISO of 200.

That said, I have no problem shooting at DR200 or DR400 since there really isn't any shadow noise to speak of at ISO 800, as the review mentions.

0 upvotes
JackM
By JackM (9 months ago)

Douche.

0 upvotes
EduardoJB
By EduardoJB (9 months ago)

I owned the X100, gave it to my daughter when I received the X100S. My main rant with the X100 is that it was slow to focus. I also have an Olympus OM-D and a 5D3. The slowest is the X100S, HOWEVER, the image quality is so good, even at high ISOs (I can use it at night, outdoors, with light from poles, stores and such), that it keeps amazing me. And, I own a Retina Mac, so I can see the quality. The Olympus is also incredible for its size, but is different and hard to describe. It's quite sharp, but the Fuji has a strange combination of sharpness and "creaminess". Now I don't go out with just one camera: it's either the Olympus or the Canon AND always the Fuji. BTW, the ND filter in itself is the great bonus. I live in the Caribbean, without that filter, things would have been different.

1 upvote
xeriwthe
By xeriwthe (9 months ago)

yes, it seems most people don't appreciate the subtlety of the quality of rendering from x-trans cameras. dpreview test images from other cameras may show more 'detail' than the x-100s but there is more to an image than seeing details in sharp relief.

with that said, it seems most people on flickr shoot the x100s jpgs with default NR and shadow settings and as a result there are a lot of kind of the water color smeared detail images that x-trans is apt to produce

0 upvotes
FlickTek
By FlickTek (8 months ago)

Sample shots on dpreview are always run of the mill. I would never go by those. It is an amazing camera with the best color and dynamic range period.

0 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (9 months ago)

It's comic the number of people on here who haven't used the camera who are slating it. But then this is the internet... A well deserved result for a great camera with amazing image quality.

6 upvotes
David Hardaway
By David Hardaway (9 months ago)

I have owned and used xtrans. Xtrans is horrible.

3 upvotes
dengx
By dengx (9 months ago)

And that's exactly why people use it with great results.
Seriously.

Comment edited 29 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (9 months ago)

Only if you don't know how to process it. Are you seriously suggesting there is anything wrong with these?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sgoldswo/9296275448/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sgoldswo/9196635382/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sgoldswo/9339130632/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sgoldswo/8666783660/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sgoldswo/8664446522/

0 upvotes
dengx
By dengx (9 months ago)

You absolutely need to post it a few more times and send Barney a few more emails. People immediately will stop using Fujifilm cameras or start producing crappy images with them.

Comment edited 17 seconds after posting
6 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (9 months ago)

Does not compute, does not compute... Fatal error.

Sorry David, you sounded a bit like a computer there for a second...

3 upvotes
DDWD10
By DDWD10 (9 months ago)

From David's own listing selling his X-E1:

"...takes fantastic images and video."

Hmm...

4 upvotes
Total comments: 470
1234