Previous page Next page

Performance and Image Quality

Seeing how the X-M1 uses the same X-Trans sensor as the other cameras in the X- series, one would expect few differences in image quality. One area in which the X-M1 may differ from the X-E1 and X-Pro1 is performance, and we'll take a look at that right now.

Overall Performance

While Fujifilm offers two choices for how quickly the camera starts up (found in the Power Management menu), we found no appreciable difference in startup speed. The X-M1 starts up in just under one second. If the camera has gone into power saving mode, you must hold the shutter release down for a second to wake it up, which is too long in our opinion.

Naturally, autofocus speeds will largely depend on your choice of lens. In good lighting, the bundled 16-50mm lens locked focus in 0.3 secs at wide-angle and 0.6 secs at telephoto. When light levels drop, we found that focus times were roughly 0.8 seconds, regardless of focal length. It's not quite as snappy as, say, the Panasonic Lumix GF6, but it's pretty close.

Shot-to-shot speeds hung around the 1.1 second mark, regardless of the image quality setting. The flash recharges quickly, so you'll be able to take another photo in two seconds.

There are a pair of continuous shooting modes on the X-M1, aptly named high and low speed. Fuji advertises burst rate of 5.6 and 3.0 fps, respectively.

 
Low Speed
High Speed
RAW+Fine JPEG 17 shots @ 3.0 fps, then 1.7 fps 12 shots @ 5.9 fps, then 1.6 fps
RAW 24 shots @ 3.1 fps, then 2.0 fps 13 shots @ 6.5 fps, then 2.0 fps
Fine JPEG Unlimited @ 3.1 fps 14 shots @ 6.0 fps, then 2.4 fps
Tested with a SanDisk Extreme Pro UHS-I (95MB/sec) SDHC card

As you can see, the X-M1 is capable of exceeding the advertised burst rates - sometimes by quite a margin. While the camera is writing images to the memory card you can continue to take pictures or enter the menu. There is a delay of a few seconds before you can go into playback mode. In either continuous mode, the camera doesn't show a live view feed but instead replays your just-taken images. This makes subject tracking difficult, but not impossible.

The X-M1 uses the same NP-W126 lithium-ion battery pack as the X-Pro1. This battery holds 8.7Wh of energy, which translate to 350 shots per charge using the CIPA standard. Since that number is derived with Wi-Fi turned off, expect shorter battery life if you use that feature often.

In the real world, the battery seemed to die quicker than one would expect given the CIPA numbers, even with Wi-Fi turned off. It might not be a bad idea to keep a spare battery handy if you buy the X-M1.

Image Quality

As with its more-expensive family members, the photo quality on the Fujifilm X-M1 is exceptional.

While many kit lenses are nothing to write home about, the XC 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 left a positive impression. Its 16mm (24mm equiv.) wide end is a nice change from the usual 18mm (28mm equiv.) found on most APS-C kit lenses. The amount you gain at the wide-angle end of things is much more significant than the slight loss of reach at the telephoto end.

The bundled 16-50mm lens isn't super-sharp (see above-right), but it's fine by kit lens standards.

As you can see on the lower-left, corner blurring is relatively minor.

16-50mm lens, ISO 200, 1/450 sec; f/6.4

The 16-50mm has pretty consistent corner performance, even at its widest apertures. There is quite a bit of chromatic aberration at full wide-angle, though you'll only see it in Raw images, as the camera does a good job of removing it in JPEGs.

Sharpness is also surprisingly good, with similar performance from a wide-open aperture to the point at which diffraction starts kicking in. The lens is slightly sharper at wide-angle than at telephoto, which is to be expected.

At full telephoto, the 16-50 offers good sharpness and no visible vignetting.
16-50mm lens, ISO 200, 1/450 sec, f/8

To see the X-M1 at its best, you'll want to attach one of Fuji's excellent prime lenses, which produce truly impressive sharpness. See for yourself:

When equipped with one of Fuji's better X-mount lenses, such as the XF 35mm F1.4 R, the amount of detail captured by the X-M1 is simply stunning. The kit lens is still very respectable.

35mm F1.4 lens, ISO 200, 1/4000 sec, f/2.8

The camera meters well for the most part, with occasional overexposure. It doesn't hurt to use a higher DR Correction value (200% or 400%) to reduce highlight clipping which can appear at the base 100% setting.

Fujifilm cameras are well-known for having 'punchy' color, and the X-M1 is no exception. If you want colors to 'pop' even more, let us direct you to the Velvia Film Simulation mode that was mentioned earlier in the review. The X-M1 did a fine job with skin tones, though it can be a little over-the-top with greens, as you'll see below, and in our test scene in a few pages.

Since the X-Trans sensor has 'blocks' of four green pixels, areas of fine green detail can get a bit mushy, as you can see above-right.

16-50mm F3.5-5.6 lens, ISO 200, 1/450 sec, f/7.1

There is very little noise on the X-M1, with luminance noise making its first appearance at ISO 3200 in JPEGs. Higher sensitivities are totally usable until you reach ISO 12,800, which is the point at which detail loss becomes really obvious. ISO 25,600 is still usable for small prints and sharing on social networking sites.

Even at ISO 6400 in dim tungsten light, the X-M1 still retains an impressive amount of fine detail.

27mm F2.8 lens, ISO 6400, 1/60 sec, f/2.8

The X-M1 holds its own as light levels drop. Even at ISO 6400, there's enough detail for mid-sized prints, not to mention e-mail or web sharing.

In our review of the Fujifilm X-E1 (one level up from the X-M1), we praised the quality of the camera's JPEG engine. The results are the same on here: the JPEG engine is solid enough that you really only need Raw if you want to change the white balance or fine-tune lens aberrations. The X-M1 has a very capable in-camera Raw converter (shown earlier in the review), so you don't even need to open Photoshop to make adjustments.

Built-in flash

The built-in GN 7 (at ISO 200) is powerful enough to illuminate nearby subjects. It performed well in both low light and strongly backlit scenes. If you've got face detection turned on (and the camera locates the face), the an automatic redeye reduction system will combine a pre-flash and digital removal. We found that this feature was effective in our tests.

Previous page Next page
139
I own it
48
I want it
31
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 217
12
Galbertson
By Galbertson (5 months ago)

If iPad connected to M1 via NFC, will Voice Over in iPad read/speak data/words reflected on camera LCD???

0 upvotes
Yarnim
By Yarnim (5 months ago)

first of all, ipad does not have an NFC.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (5 months ago)

I am confused...thought it didnt matter, that i would only have to physically go into settings and manually connect. Maybe that only for wifi downloading, not NFC??

0 upvotes
apixelpro
By apixelpro (2 months ago)

I think the text has to be, well, "text" for it to be "read", not a photo of text.

0 upvotes
danielkeller
By danielkeller (5 months ago)

Does anyone know if the x-m1 has a time lapse mode or a self shutter that takes multiple images or a series of shots?

0 upvotes
gohunter
By gohunter (4 months ago)

Sorry, the X-M1 doesn't have a time lapse mode.

0 upvotes
Lynda Barnes
By Lynda Barnes (3 weeks ago)

Yes it takes 2 x multiple shots. it also has a choice of 3 or 5 shots per second multi-burst

0 upvotes
digimaan1
By digimaan1 (5 months ago)

I have the XA-1 which is the same body as the XM-1, very bendy plastic especially at the bottom of the grip area near the battery door, it can be pushed in very easily.
However whether the body is magnesium alloy or plastic both would self destruct if dropped onto concrete.
I am more than happy with the results I have got from the XA-1 camera even though DPR gave it a very cursory look, comparing the sensor in this to the x trans sensor I can't really see much difference for the extra money.
In some aspects the bayer sensor looked to me to be sharper.
The only gripe I have is the lack of a grip, but you can buy one for it???
Why not make it that shape in the first place?
Never mind, I'm waiting for my free 27mm pancake lens I hope to receive from Fuji,
which effectively makes the camera free.

0 upvotes
lddo133
By lddo133 (7 months ago)

The body of X-M1 looks like made in China-like lower grade plastic body. I done't like this body. It is not rule of buissiness. 750 won or dollar! Oh my God!
Ony one want to picture great camera must buy.
The body of X-M1 is bad, truly bad, very Bad.

0 upvotes
caver3d
By caver3d (7 months ago)

Stop being so dramatic when you haven't even held this camera. I own the X-M1, and the body is just right for the price. Great camera, by the way. The body of the X-M1 is Good, Truly Good, Very Good.

10 upvotes
JohnLL
By JohnLL (8 months ago)

Can anyone confirm (or not) that this camera will also work with the regular FX lenses that have an aperture ring, and if so, is the aperture controlled by the ring or by the camera?

0 upvotes
HarvC
By HarvC (7 months ago)

Yes, you can switch between lens based controls or rear/top panel toggles. I have xf 35 on my x-m1 and use rear/top controls. Lenses have a "A" mode on dial to switch to rear/top controls.

0 upvotes
G1Houston
By G1Houston (7 months ago)

When using a Xf lens, how do you assign one of the dials to control shutter speed? For example, by default, in A mode, one is set to control EC while the other Aperture. How do you over ride this when the aperture control on the lens is set to A? Conversely, what do you do when a Xc lens is used on Xe or X pro? I am surprised that the review did not cover these.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
fluxcapacitor
By fluxcapacitor (8 months ago)

You can get this for £269 with kit lens now after cashback. Bargain?

1 upvote
AndyH86
By AndyH86 (8 months ago)

Where do I get this for £269 ???

0 upvotes
Hugo808
By Hugo808 (8 months ago)

£369 is the cheapest I've seen, and a fantastic bargain at that price.

0 upvotes
fluxcapacitor
By fluxcapacitor (8 months ago)

Amazon give you £100 credit and fuji give you £100 cashback
http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/fujifilm-x-m1-camera-kit-silver-black-469-plus-100-amazon-credit-plus-100-cashback-1769209

0 upvotes
eiffair
By eiffair (9 months ago)

I think there is a mistake in this sentence : "We've been impressed with this 16 megapixel X-Trans APS-C CMOS sensor in our reviews of cameras like the X-E1 and X100S".

If the sensor of the X-M1 is the same as the X-E1, the X100S has a new version of the X-Trans, the X-Trans II. At the moment only the X100S and the new X-E2 have the new X-Trans II.

It is a crucial point, since the different versions of the sensors are what make the differences between Fuji models :
- X-Trans I for X-Pro 1, X-E1 and X-M1
- X-Trans II for X100S and X-E2
- Conventional CMOS sensor for X-A1

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (10 months ago)

Fuji offers some very nice lenses - many brighter than the competition's equivalents.

Pity that they don't offer a bayer pattern model, with a wider dynamic range.

As things stand now, you have to choose either a good lens, or better sensor. You can't have both. not in APS.

1 upvote
Northgrove
By Northgrove (10 months ago)

I've been happy with the DR400 mode even on my X100, which has noisier high ISO performance than this one. The greatest weakness of these modes is the added noise since it's shooting at a higher sensitivity, but really, ISO 800 only has very fine noise on this body so I think the outlook is good for satisfying high DR shooting.

Comment edited 22 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Scott Birch
By Scott Birch (10 months ago)

Why's the dynamic range lower than the other models? Lower than quite a few mirrorless cameras, in fact.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (10 months ago)

indeed it is. you can attribute that to one of two things: either a supplemental condition imposed by a higher proportion of green pixels in the xtrans (over bayer), or simply due to fuji's sensor technology. take your pick... but I doubt Fuji would give us the answer, because they'd have to admit to that first, to answer the question.

0 upvotes
Scott Birch
By Scott Birch (10 months ago)

What I was asking about specifically was the dynamic range of the XM1 compared to the other X-series cameras in the range. I am wondering why there should be a difference with the same sensor.

If you look at the XE1 dynamic range curves, Timmbits, you'll see it fares quite well compared to other cameras.

Comment edited 13 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Red G8R
By Red G8R (11 months ago)

I had a Pany GX1 for travel and was considering the GX7 but I've always admired the Xtrans sensor and this might be the compact system for me.

2 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (11 months ago)

How come this camera got a slightly higher "Performance" rating than E-M5 while it only shoots 6 fps vs 9 (and cannot even run live view at 3 fps), focuses slower, has smaller buffer?

0 upvotes
Realreview
By Realreview (11 months ago)

X Trans cmos 6x6 color array with rgb best positioned is the answer for high quality of pics

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (10 months ago)

very good question.
mind you, there's more to the world than just omdem5...

1 upvote
zodiacfml
By zodiacfml (11 months ago)

1

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Marijus
By Marijus (11 months ago)

Hmm
SONY NEX--6 78% - Silver award.
Fujifilm X-M1 77% - GOLD award.
Can you explain why?
Price is almost the same.
NEX-6 has viewfinde, Fuji - doesn't;

4 upvotes
eivissa1
By eivissa1 (11 months ago)

Better menu, better JPEG's etc.

0 upvotes
Marijus
By Marijus (11 months ago)

Realy?
Menu - subjective...
Better JPEG? the difference is so minimal, that you can see it only in some crops.
How about video quality?

4 upvotes
Felix11
By Felix11 (11 months ago)

I would hope that they are not treating the X-M1 and the Nex-6 in the same class of camera since one has built in EVF.

Sony NEX-6 £600 is excellent value high end device competing with X-E1, E-M5, GX7 etc.

X-M1 £680 is a mid range device competing with NEX-5, E-PL5 etc.

The only justification for the higher price is the faster lenses available for the Fuji. Tough sell!

1 upvote
guyfawkes
By guyfawkes (11 months ago)

Marijus.

Valid point. Inconsistency in marking. In my school days, too long ago now to remember, lol, 78% was better than 77%. Odd then, that the higher percentage is only deserving of a Silver Award.

But when it boils down to it, whatever we may personally feel, these marks are still subjective, that of the reviewer. Others will undoubtedly think differently.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (11 months ago)

DPR have explained many times that the scoring system and the awards are unconnected.

0 upvotes
Realreview
By Realreview (11 months ago)

Once use it and see picture quality of 6x6 color array of xtrans cmos

0 upvotes
dahod
By dahod (11 months ago)

Overall, I like the new tool. Sometimes the jpegs were taking a long time to refresh but I'm guessing that might be because of a lot of users looking at it right now.

It would be nice to see the Olympus E-5 represented. There's the new E-M1 and other micro 4/3 but no 4/3 system. I know Olympus has said that micro 4/3 is their future but it would be a shame to not include the E-5 and it's 4/3 lenses for comparison.

0 upvotes
dahod
By dahod (11 months ago)

Sorry - this was meant for the new test scene article - my bad

Thanks
Dave

0 upvotes
Ross Murphy
By Ross Murphy (11 months ago)

looks like a great little camera and some people just need to get over the OVF and xtrans sensor thing, I love my 5D3 and my x100s and want Canon to produce this with a 16mp CMOS sensor and fast AF.

0 upvotes
Kendunn
By Kendunn (11 months ago)

There is just no getting around that an OVF is a wonderful thing and the lack of one can certainly be a deal breaker for many people

2 upvotes
SeeRoy
By SeeRoy (11 months ago)

Fuji are trying to run through the entire alphabet quicker than any other manufacturer, it seems. Thankfully I narrowly escaped buying an X "Pro"1 when it was released and have had no difficulty avoiding the plethora of subsequent "X's". Thank Dog for M4/3.
Anyway Krockwell says that the "colour's no good for landscape" - so there! Imagine what he'd have to say if he ever got to handle one.
Oops. Krockwell was reviewing/imagining the X-A1 which has a Bayer sensor. maybe this one's sensor's more vegetable-oriented.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
telefunk
By telefunk (11 months ago)

Picture DSCF6996 of the sample gallery really makes me scared. Look at the bleached colour of the foilage in the background. And the way the artwork in the pond is overexposed and glowing.

2 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

I just noticed there is an error in the Pros and Cons:
the DR should be in the Cons, not pros, as it is rather poor performing compared to just about anything you care to put into the menu there - add in the Sony NEX7 just to see how good things could get.
However, the Noise performance should be in the Pros... (once again, add in the Sony NEX7, but this time to see how bad things could get).
I know the NEX7 isn't it's competition - but even the others outperform it's rather narrow DR quite easily.
What's more, the image they provide to try the 3 DR modes has a turquoise (teal) sky! (what planet would that be on? definitely not Earth)

2 upvotes
utomo99
By utomo99 (11 months ago)

Fuji Must create Sony RX 100 anda Canon S 120 competitor.
A compact camera with BIG sensor, which work Good on low light.
There is good market in this area.
Good luck

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
torske
By torske (11 months ago)

Todays blind test for the pixel peepers.
Can anyone tell which camera is which.
Can you get the order right.
Cameras compared:
Fujifilm X-M1
Olympus Pen E-PL5
Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Sony aplha NEX-6

http://masters.galleries.dpreview.com.s3.amazonaws.com/2696596.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=14Y3MT0G2J4Y72K3ZXR2&Expires=1379487830&Signature=uy4g0673EgEFUMsmH2lCEtM%2beSE%3d

0 upvotes
torske
By torske (11 months ago)

Sorry - image link has expired.
Try this one:
http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/568795266/photos/2696596/compare

0 upvotes
Zinda
By Zinda (10 months ago)

Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Fujifilm X-M1
Sony alpha NEX-6
Olympus Pen E-PL5
How am I doing?

0 upvotes
GabrielZ
By GabrielZ (11 months ago)

They keep on mentioning the excellent image quality, but that smudging when there's high frequency green detail in the shot seems to be a major flaw, especially when taking landscape photography.

6 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (11 months ago)

Not an issue now for months and months.... Just use a decent RAW converter like Irident or Aperture. The results are now considerably sharper than most other APS-C cameras.

10 upvotes
Beat Traveller
By Beat Traveller (11 months ago)

It's only a flaw if you plan on making large prints. Doesn't really show up otherwise.

0 upvotes
autoy
By autoy (11 months ago)

I can confirm this is not an issue in Aperture for months now.

2 upvotes
Asylum Photo
By Asylum Photo (11 months ago)

It is an issue in Lightroom/ACR.

OOC JPEGs with NR set low, don't have the issue too much.

Iridient, Aperture and Capture One all produce *excellent* details.

It really depends on the demosaicing used.

1 upvote
retro76
By retro76 (11 months ago)

Something I can't quite understand is dpreview's remarks regarding the JPEG engine - the colors look odd to me, kinda artificial with a slight color cast - detail looks ok, but I see artifacts / smearing - not clean like other SLRs. I dunno I haven't used a Fuji, but I have a tough time understanding the appeal to the images. Maybe I am missing something ? I see quite a few other comments where people also are disappointed in the samples.

Comment edited 13 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (11 months ago)

and plenty where people love them too. Fuji's colours can be a little slide film like, you either love that or hate it (I love it). Having said that it's as easy to manipulate colour in post as the next camera and the render of skin is just staggeringly good.

5 upvotes
AustinB
By AustinB (11 months ago)

Fuji definitely has a color cast, a bit to the blue side. I love it in some images and dislike it in others. But it is there, no doubt.

0 upvotes
thx1138
By thx1138 (11 months ago)

Hadn't realised the M1 had no EVF or option. I had just assumed that was the A1. Oh well another coulda shoulda woulda camera.

Not really sure what Fuji's thinking is here. One the one hand they think you are sophisticated enough to understands the benefits of a big sensor, and IL, and DoF and manual control, but think you are still so amateurish as to hold a camera at arms length to frame a scene, in bright sunlight where the VF can hardly be seen and the camera is far less stable and more prone to shake.

So is it still a P&S or a serious camera?

7 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (11 months ago)

+++

0 upvotes
T3
By T3 (11 months ago)

Maybe you ought to learn how to use these cameras, LOL. There is an entire generation of photographers that is doing perfectly fine taking pictures with a large LCD screen as their viewfinder. I think you're just a little out of touch with what people are perfectly capable of doing these days with non-VF cameras. People are also taking great pictures with their smart phones these days too. Is it really so difficult to frame a shot with a large LCD? No, it's not. Millions of people are doing it every day. Just go to Flickr and look up NEX 5N or EOS M or any other non-VF camera, and you'll see that a lot of very nice photography is being doing with such cameras. Heck, just look up iPhoneography, too.

I think it's a generational thing. The younger generation is a lot more used to looking at an LCD, framing the shot with it, and shooting. No big deal. To the older generation, it seems like an impossibility! LOL. Guess they can't do that while holding their cane. :0

23 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

it is obviously designed for people who can't read or check facts before posting... as they already offer other models with said viewfinder for smarter and more evolved people who can read and check facts before posting.

23 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (11 months ago)

I don't experience any problem shooting photos without a OVF. If I want to use an Optical View Finder I would just use my Canon 5D Mk2.

If you are a versatile photographer, you must learn how to compose with any type of finder. Try focusing with the film Hasselblad medium format camera.

Sometimes, I would actually prefer to compose and focus using the LCD screen. It is much easier for street photography. Don't you think it is good to have more choices in the digital world?

3 upvotes
javidog
By javidog (11 months ago)

I did not know that holding a camera at arms length to frame a scene was amateurish. Thanks for the heads up-- now I have to start sending some money back and reduce my rates.

7 upvotes
Tee1up
By Tee1up (11 months ago)

I was hoping to reply to T3's comment. I find your comment amazingly condescending. The generation you refer to may not mind trying to frame a picture, outdoors in bright light with a clumsy if not large LCD screen. Many of us though value precision, battery life and a OVF for it's simplicity.

I suppose I must defer to professionals, all of whom have a reason for avoiding your preferred smelly baby at arms length shot preparation.

Did you really, LOL twice while you wrote that comment or was that simply two more clumsy arrows that went astray?

2 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (11 months ago)

@T3

"There is an entire generation of photographers that is doing perfectly fine taking pictures with a large LCD screen as their viewfinder."

A generation that never goes outdoors in bright sunshine.

2 upvotes
photobeans
By photobeans (11 months ago)

There is no "coulda shoulda woulda". THere are TWO.. I repeat TWO higher priced models with viewfinders built in. AND they are not even expensive.

3 upvotes
thx1138
By thx1138 (11 months ago)

Missing my point I see. Why do we need two models without an EVF. In fact why even release an M1, it's hardly different to the A1 other than sensor CFA and missing wireless flash. One of these two cameras is totally pointless, just choose which one.

0 upvotes
fakuryu
By fakuryu (11 months ago)

@thx1138

Why do we need a cheap Canon SL1? Why do we need a Pentax K500? Why do we need a Sony A3000? Why do manufacturers need an entry level camera? Why?

2 upvotes
new boyz
By new boyz (11 months ago)

Fuji offers model with EVF, even with OVF.

0 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (11 months ago)

@ fakuryu

You are absolutely right.

Why should the user bother whether a manufacturer introduce less or more models. Isn't it good to have more choices?

Just buy the camera that suit you best.

3 upvotes
Kumara
By Kumara (11 months ago)

Evf sucks big time, and so is the lcd. The marketing fuss collides with the phylosophy the world is what you perceive through your senses (the mind included) and not what is passing on a tv screen.When I use a PHOTOcamera, I'd like it as it should be, and not a phone or a videocamera..

0 upvotes
thx1138
By thx1138 (11 months ago)

Yeah well why introduce another 10 entry level models? Why would you release two cameras so close in spec it's ridiculous yet charge an offensive $200 more for one.

At least with other manufacturers there is a clear delineation between models. There is no need for both A1 and M1 and frankly based on pricing you'd have to be crazy to buy the M1.

0 upvotes
T3
By T3 (11 months ago)

@ thx1138 - "There is no need for both A1 and M1 and frankly based on pricing you'd have to be crazy to buy the M1."

How about just offering the various models, and letting the consumer decide? Why is that so "offensive"? What you fail to see is that it's far more valuable to offer these various models, at various prices, because it increases the chances that a consumer will choose one of these models, and thus get them into the Fuji system. In essence, they are offering another point of entry into the system. You may not think $200 is a big deal, but when it comes to the finicky consumer, $200 could make the difference between the consumer choosing Fuji, or choosing another brand (like Sony NEX). If $200 can tip a consumer towards choosing Fuji, that's a big win.

As for your inane suggestion of introducing "another 10 entry level models," there's such a thing as having too many models. Duh! You have to strike a balance between too many and too few. A1 and M1 is just right.

1 upvote
calking
By calking (11 months ago)

Thx --- your post makes two factual errors -- the first being that there is no difference between the two models. Besides sensor there are options available in the m1 that don't exist in the a1.

The second thing is this so-called $200 price difference between the m and a models. Know how I know you're just repeating the rhetoric that's already out there? It's this, because if you actually compare actual, real world prices from real worlds retailers you'll see that the actual price difference is about $135.

Do your homework before you post.

0 upvotes
MLGochnauer
By MLGochnauer (8 months ago)

I have the X-Pro1 and X-M1. I found that the X-M1 works extremely well in "twin-lens-Rolleiflex" mode: pulled down tight on the neck strap with arms braced against the body (with viewfinder at 90 degrees), braced or sitting on the arms of chairs, window sills, tree branches, etc. I agree that holding a camera out in front of you is an invitation to blur. So I use the X-Pro1 like a Leica M and the X-M1 like a Rollei TLR, two of my favourite film cameras.

0 upvotes
rxbot
By rxbot (11 months ago)

It would be great if someone put the 18mm on the X-M1 and X-A1 and compared to Ricoh GR,NikonA and 28 equivalent on E-M1 . That will pit APS-C against m43s and Xtrans versus Bayer.

4 upvotes
photo perzon
By photo perzon (11 months ago)

Xtrans vs Bayer? X-M1 vs X-A1. X-A1 will be a huge success, at the bottom for price, at the top for X100 purists that can't deal with x-trans missbehaviors. The X-M1 is twice the weight of the Ricoh GR and the Nikon A, might as well use that for lens changes, nice bounce flash built in, IS, a mini EVF, etc.

0 upvotes
Luego
By Luego (11 months ago)

X-M1 and X-A1 will fail to inspire the consumer just like Canon's EOS M. Canon had to drop pricing by over 60% to spark consumers' interest. When Fuji introduced the X-F1 to provide a more compact version of the X10, consumers avoided it like a plague and its price dropped 50% within six month.
Fuji will be better off to offer high quality products made in Japan than cheap quality "high priced" cams that nobody wants.

0 upvotes
calking
By calking (11 months ago)

Thanks. I'm sure fuji corp will take your opinion under advisement.

1 upvote
tipple
By tipple (11 months ago)

A cameras worth is not totally defined whether or not it does or does not have a viewfinder. It's what the photographer does with the camera that counts. Beauty is or is not in the eyes of the beholder. We all benefit from competition.

11 upvotes
DanK7
By DanK7 (11 months ago)

I would have thought that "no eye level viewfinder" would have been listed in the "cons." This must be an oversight on the part of the reviewer, since "no electronic level" is listed.

3 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (11 months ago)

That would be like reviewing a compact camera and saying 'no interchangeable lenses.'

Electronic level is a minor feature they could have included at little if any cost. An eye-level viewfinder is a fundamental hardware feature that distinguishes this model from the one above and would utterly change what this product is and where it sits in the market.

22 upvotes
Mirrorless Crusader
By Mirrorless Crusader (11 months ago)

Richard your point is taken, however in the past I believe you have listed certain cost-saving features as cons, so it is kind of a slippery slope. I believe in this case it is fair to exclude it though as it is plainly obvious to anyone examining the product.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

I agree with Richard's position... too many people stomping into the room yelling no VF therefore it can't be a camera. through their complaining they are either saying that this model should not exist or it may only be a duplicate of the already existing xe1 or xpro1 (which makes no more sense than they are making). not glorifying with an answer those who complain the model down isn't like the model above it is the way to go in this case.

4 upvotes
Gerardjan
By Gerardjan (11 months ago)

And I wonder, all these people with their: NO VF and " no this and no that (usually small things) a deal breaker for me", I wonder, do these people actually own ANY camera and most importantly DO they TAKE pictures?

0 upvotes
Graham Hill
By Graham Hill (11 months ago)

No electronic level? Are you kidding Fujifilm?

6 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (11 months ago)

I don't know how we have managed to get by

7 upvotes
T3
By T3 (11 months ago)

I remember when in-camera electronic levels were introduced. I thought it was a great and valuable feature, and something I would use all the time. But to tell you the truth, I have hardly ever used it. I just don't see much point when I can always fine-tune the leveling/straightening in post-process, since all my images go through post-processing anyways. My guess is that most people don't use that feature much, either. These days, I think the inclusion of Wifi is a lot more useful and valuable. I'd much rather have that than an electronic level. Wifi connectivity opens up a lot of great possibilities.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

I have it in my NX20, and hardly ever use it... in fact, I don't think I use it... it's more of a distraction when on screen than it is of use to me. so I don't think it's a big deal. of course, I think their other models have it if it's really needed (plus you get other goodies too for the price difference).

1 upvote
NZ Scott
By NZ Scott (11 months ago)

I have an electronic level in my E-P3 and use it constantly.

1 upvote
calking
By calking (11 months ago)

I use it all the time on my xe1

1 upvote
DenWil
By DenWil (11 months ago)

In an America of clinical obesity the cameras get smaller and smaller. I have medium to smaller hands and I can't pick up one of these without wondering where my fingers go. What does a fat man or a man with large hands do? At 180#, 2 or 3 lbs of camera is just not a problem. I feel bad for all the sickly folks who depend on these soap bar sized bodies for a chance at photography. Particularly ironic direction for camera makers since the phones get bigger and bigger.

1 upvote
Mattoid
By Mattoid (11 months ago)

I would prefer this camera to be smaller still. Make it as small as possible. If you want big get the X pro 1, that is ginormous.

3 upvotes
pdelux
By pdelux (11 months ago)

DenWil: there's plenty of "big cameras" for you.... not everyone is "fat: or overweight... humans come in many sizes..

4 upvotes
Jerry Ci
By Jerry Ci (11 months ago)

DenWil -- The purpose of downsizing a camera is not to make it more or less hand-holdable. The purpose is to make it easier to carry with accessories in a pocket, purse, or small bag. Your critique totally misses the point.

Comment edited 21 seconds after posting
7 upvotes
Woodlink
By Woodlink (11 months ago)

Just go Medium Format.

There, I fixed it.

4 upvotes
T3
By T3 (11 months ago)

"I feel bad for all the sickly folks who depend on these soap bar sized bodies for a chance at photography."

Sickly? Or just healthy and fit?

If your hands are too fat to hold such a camera, I think you have bigger problems to be worried about, hehe.

The reality is that not all of us measure our masculinity by the size of our camera. I use heavy FF DSLR gear for work, and have logged countless hours lugging around such gear. But it doesn't mean I want to do so in my off time. My attitude these days is that I only carry around my big gear when I'm *paid* to. Otherwise, for personal, casual shooting, I use compact, smaller, lighter mirrorless gear. And my fingers know exactly where to go. We're not oafish mountain apes, for crying out loud. (At least some of us aren't. LOL)

3 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

well said T3! +++
I can't believe that people are knocking this for size when they have the oversized-for-mirrorless xe1 and xpro1 to choose from!
I'm 6ft2 and 195# and not fat at all, don't have girly hands and don't feel less of a man just because I LOVE mirrorless cameras, especially the more reasonably sized ones like this one.

1 upvote
white shadow
By white shadow (11 months ago)

Denwil is just pulling a fast one. He uses a Pentax 67 for his photography.

If he is that fat, he wouldn't be able to work as a scout.

0 upvotes
Asylum Photo
By Asylum Photo (11 months ago)

DSLR, Medium Format, Large Format. You have plenty of options.

0 upvotes
Mirrorless Crusader
By Mirrorless Crusader (11 months ago)

DPR why are you giving almost every half-decent camera a gold star now? Literally a large a majority of $600+ cameras now are getting gold stars, it completely dilutes the rating system and makes it look like you are just using it as a marketing ploy to sell cameras at Gear Shop. Can't you come up with a system where only a few cameras at most each year get the top award? Then we would actually know which you really think are best, because right now it looks like you're just trying to satisfy everybody and as a result satisfying nobody.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
8 upvotes
mapgraphs
By mapgraphs (11 months ago)

All that glitters...

Then there's the Previews that never seem to make it to completion...

3 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (11 months ago)

Think of it as a frequent flyer program. When you're in an airport and they call the diamond, platinum, gold, silver and bronze members. Each of these people thinks they are special but there's no one left in the boarding area.

3 upvotes
Shurato
By Shurato (11 months ago)

Just my 2c, but I think these days every half-decent camera just _are_ technical masterpieces, and thus it may be hard not to give a gold award. Well I'm just expressing this from my modest photography-gadgetry needs ;-) Anyhow, yet I see the point where gold awards tend to be given away easily and looses its exclusivity. Having said that, maybe the introduction of some "Platinum Award" might be an idea which would strictly be reserved to anything which would be "outstanding"?

4 upvotes
Mirrorless Crusader
By Mirrorless Crusader (11 months ago)

Shurato, your point is well taken, but I think that the improved quality of cameras is and should be reflected in their percentage scores. The award system should serve to distinguish the top few cameras of the year, and the standards by which they are judged should increase as the competition improves. Right now the award system tells us nothing because so many cameras are gold. They should either give out fewer golds or add in a new level like platinum or diamond.

1 upvote
mikiev
By mikiev (11 months ago)

The problem with reserving Gold rating for only a few cameras is: The great cameras are not all released at the same time.

What happens when they hold-off giving out one of the few remaining Gold ratings, just in case they need one later in the year - when some great camera MAY be released?

Or, do they just give them out as the cameras arrive on the market, and "too bad" to the great cameras which debut after all the year's allotment of Gold ratings have already been handed-out?

Comment edited 19 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Mirrorless Crusader
By Mirrorless Crusader (11 months ago)

I'm not advocating for a quota, just a higher standard of what should be gold. It could be that five or six cameras in a year deserve a gold award, but it also could be that none deserve one. There have been three cameras announced this year that have received gold awards and I don't think any of them deserved it.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Jerry Ci
By Jerry Ci (11 months ago)

An additional perspective is that, perhaps, there is truly no single camera that is better for everyone. Perhaps many of the cameras are equally good, but have different strengths and different weaknesses. What is "gold" for one user might not be "gold" for another.

1 upvote
Gesture
By Gesture (11 months ago)

They also hit the GearShop before they hit the street and we get some accumulated user experience. Remember, orbs.

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

I think it really depends on the camera's label.
If it says "Samsung" it gets criticized... if it's among the ones they prefer (the ones they have lying around in the office - see size comparison photos above) then it'll get a favourable review.

1 upvote
King Penguin
By King Penguin (11 months ago)

What about a nice price of mahogany as an award, after all they're using it on handgrips of luxury cameras - mahogany the new platinum! :)

0 upvotes
Gerardjan
By Gerardjan (11 months ago)

@mapgraphs: just my thoughts, I will try again, DPR,where's the eos m review? Please, any kind of answer! Thank you.

0 upvotes
tinternaut
By tinternaut (11 months ago)

"Areas of fine green detail can be 'mushy'"

Have our intrepid reviewers yet determined if this is an issue with the X-Trans design, or if it is merely software?

0 upvotes
AlpCns2
By AlpCns2 (11 months ago)

Most likely software. I've seen stunning landscape work from X-trans, but the right raw software conversion seems to be important. I hear Iridient (or something to that effect) is a good choice. Somebody also mentioned that new newest versions of Silkypix that comes with the camera does the job very well too. The sensor itself is excellent.

8 upvotes
hellocrowley
By hellocrowley (11 months ago)

Nope. It's the sensor. Even JPEGs have mushy greenery.

0 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (11 months ago)

Software - conversions with Irident and Aperture are sharper than results for any other APS-C camera. LR no longer has "mush" either in most circumstances, but is a bit soft for my my preferences (but many use it successfully with NIK tools etc).

3 upvotes
Asylum Photo
By Asylum Photo (11 months ago)

It's the software. Adobe makes mush out of foliage.

Iridient and Aperture pull all sorts of detail out.

Even the OOC Jpegs can be decent if you turn NR to -2, and Sharpening to +2.

1 upvote
white shadow
By white shadow (11 months ago)

I am looking for an excellent APS-C size mirrorless camera which can out perform a micro 4/3 camera in overall usage. The numerous succession of NEX has not been successful due to its poor lens collection and its "unfriendly" photographer user interface / Menu system. The Fuji X series could offer some hopes. However, it too falls short of expectation in many areas, many of which were pointed out in the reviews.

I like the size of the X-M1 but the slow AF speed and many other compromises cause me to hesitate buying this camera despite it getting a gold award.

Some has attributed the other problems to the X-trans sensor which I wouldn't disagree.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 12 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

The aF speed of the xm1 is not by any means slow. Just not the fastest. The xm1 is reasonably zippy.

5 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (11 months ago)

Samsung NX.

2 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (11 months ago)

@ Raist3d

I like the male portrait you have taken on June 6 and the first night shot you have taken on August 7 in your blog.

What camera and lens did you use for the night shot?

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

lens tests show that the sony lenses aren't THAT bad - but the Fuji lenses before these two new ones are very above average.
I think this camera may do better in performance tests with the faster LM lenses that Fuji makes - let's compare apples with apples here - if the 2 new cheap lenses slow it down, they'll slow down it's big brothers as well.
I'd be curious to see how much of this is due to the lens - with smaller apertures and slower motors.

0 upvotes
photobeans
By photobeans (11 months ago)

I think you are being too anal retentive here. Just buy one and enjoy using it.

1 upvote
NZ Scott
By NZ Scott (11 months ago)

I agree with photobeans.

You're not going to get an noticeable increase in image quality by moving from a Micro Four Thirds to an APS-C sensor. You really need to go to full frame for that.

If you're not willing to go full-frame then just buy a Micro Four Thirds or NEX camera and be done with it.

If you have specific lens requirements then you're probably better off with Micro Four Thirds. Otherwise, NEX is also very good.

S

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

@NZ Scott - While i agree with "buy one and enjoy" I don't agree with Scott that the jump in image quality is so trivial as to "you must go to FF to notice a difference." Sorry, but there's a noticeable difference depending on what kind of work you are doing between a Fuji Xtrans and m43/rds. But I totally agree with you that at this point, all these cameras are fantastic and pick the one that satisfies your needs and wants.

0 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

@White Shadow - the camera for those two shots is the same- the Fuji X-E1. For the portrait of the man, it was the Fuji XF35 F1.4 prime, and for the man at night it was the new Fuji XF27 F2.8 pancake lens.

0 upvotes
Noeltayyy
By Noeltayyy (7 months ago)

The Af is not slow you just need to know how to use it. i own a xm1 and i took some time to learn but after a while it is a breeze. only under low light it gets difficult.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

Pity they don't have a small compact pancake that can go head to head with the 30mm f2 on Samsung's NX300... I guess their primary concern was for the xm1's 27mm f2.8 to not cannibalize sales of their x100s model.

4 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (11 months ago)

Actually the 27mm is excellent for what it was designed for, shooting street.

3 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

Actually no. I find the XF27mm F2.8 fantastic, and it's not the "XM's 27" but a lens for the entire line up. It's XF class so it's well built, high quality.

1 upvote
ecm
By ecm (11 months ago)

Hm. I looked through the samples and thought, "The Fujifilm is getting it's butt handed to it by the likes of the Olympus E-M1 and Canon 100D" - and then I read the article's conclusion.... there's a disconnect between what I see in the comparometer and what their conclusions are.

I suppose it could be the lens - I've been fooled before by a fantastic lens on a so-so camera here at DPR - but it looks more like over-agressive noise reduction to me. The green feathers are a blur at any ISO.....

I also recognize that ultimate sharpness and detail is not everything; it's something that I crave, but others might prefer the warm almost "creamy" smoothness of the Fuji's output - with the right subject and at the right enlargement it would be quite nice.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 10 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
JConrad
By JConrad (11 months ago)

A lot of it is that X-Trans requires different sharpening algorithms. The detail is there, but at default sharpening, appears soft. Adjusting up reveals tremendous amounts of detail, easily as good and in many cases a little better than my E-M5. DPR however, normalizes sharpening for all cameras. While good in theory, when comparing a Bayer sensor vs an X-Trans, it doesn't work well.

9 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (11 months ago)

pssst... the Oly EM1 is almost 2.5x as expensive without a lens.

0 upvotes
bluevellet
By bluevellet (11 months ago)

E-M1 is a different class of camera and priced accordingly.

The Fuji X-M1 is more akin to the E-PL5 from Olympus.

5 upvotes
Tilted Plane
By Tilted Plane (11 months ago)

I agree with ecm, and don't see the answer as reasonable. Yes, in some perfect universe, playing even keeps things even. But the eyes show this isn't happening. The Fuji images are simply soft. If some "adjustment" is being made between these results and the final glowing gold medal praises at the end, then those need to be visible here somehow--perhaps with some more optimally corrected (sharpened) examples side by side? As is it chips away at the overall credibility of the testing, which is part of dpreview's foundation.

5 upvotes
M Jesper
By M Jesper (11 months ago)

You guys gotta take a step back, scrape your nose of the monitor and look at the actual images. These are some of the most pleasantly rendered images i have seen straight out of camera from any ILC or SLR.

And forget about that damned studio comparison tool.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
9 upvotes
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (11 months ago)

If they used Aperture for this comparison the results would simply be different http://sgoldswoblog.com/2013/04/21/x-trans-raw-conversion-comparisons/

0 upvotes
Asylum Photo
By Asylum Photo (11 months ago)

The X-Trans sensor doesn't respond well to the general sharpening settings of their tests. It has a different CFA layout, and thus requires slightly different demosaicing and sharpening. So, unfortunately for Fuji, it doesn't do well in standardized tests that have been put together for Bayer sensors.

0 upvotes
forpetessake
By forpetessake (11 months ago)

Definite improvement in color saturation and contrast compared to X-E1/Pro1, but still this camera exhibits the same trans-problems: colors are off (red is bloody, green is poisonous, blue is cyan), rendering is plastic, the artifacts and smearing. I think Fuji will soon drop trans sensors, they are behind every Bayer sensor in that price range.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
AlpCns2
By AlpCns2 (11 months ago)

Given the fact that many renowned professionals came to the opposite conclusion, and DPR awarding the IQ and features with the highest award, I'd say this is merely your opinion and not a fact.

26 upvotes
retro76
By retro76 (11 months ago)

Yes I agree I can't understand what the dpreview staff is smoking, the output is absolutely horrible.

1 upvote
sgoldswo
By sgoldswo (11 months ago)

Ludicrous comment - if Fuji dropped x-trans now I would sell my cameras tomorrow. The output is outstanding to my eyes. Perhaps you are in the minority here?

2 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

It's kinda hard not to jus laugh at this point at such ignorant comments. Here's a colorful high-DR snap:

http://raist3d.typepad.com/files/tuneup.jpg

0 upvotes
UnitedNations
By UnitedNations (11 months ago)

So the OOC JPEG of the X-M1 is very similar to X-E1 level but still slightly less, ... & the RAW of the X-M1 is clearly not up to X-E1 level.
In other words slightly better than X100s in OOC JPEG & Raw, but not yet up to X-E1's overall image quality level, although very close... I wonder how much improvement in image quality the X-E2 & X-Pro2 will come with in the near future to differentiate from the more mass market X-M1...??

Despite X-M1's competitive image quality, I am not sure how this will ever be a serious camera without a viewfinder?

Comment edited 4 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

could you please direct me to where you see that the IQ is different - where you see identical test shots for the XM1 vs XE1? as far as I know, they had a different test scene when they evaluated the xe1.

6 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

The iq is virtually identical. I am not sure where you are getting its different

As for "serious camera" that's all relative. Get the xe1 then

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
M Jesper
By M Jesper (11 months ago)

Actually it does have a new processor, and the jpg processing changed (a little) along with it. The 'intelligence' of the camera also improved and indeed the word is that it handles the real world very well. People really gotta get a break from test scenes.

0 upvotes
alatchin
By alatchin (11 months ago)

The IQ of this Camera is nice, but I dont see the revolutionary element here. Even at ISO 3200 it certainly looks cleaner than the EPL5, but also has a feeling of lacking detail... We can always use NR and lose detail, but if the RAWs from this camera already have the NR look then any of the competitors can simply apply it. However if you want to leave the sense of detail in a higher ISO show one can always apply selective NR, but the Fuji it always has that look.... Well that is how I feel about the output.

0 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

That's because they keep using adobe raw converters which are know to currently not give you the max potential resolution I xtrans. Check capture one 7 or iridient. Actually even the latest update to fujis silky pix works better

7 upvotes
alatchin
By alatchin (11 months ago)

Maybe, maybe not. If the IQ is so severely impacted by ACR, why dont they use the appropriate software and show the potential of the product :)

Having said that, splitting staws really.

0 upvotes
jyhfeei
By jyhfeei (11 months ago)

DPR uses the default Adobe RAW settings to compare "apples to apples" for the RAW files. Unfortunately, this only works for cameras with the same color filter array. Due to the different CFA and the soft default settings Adobe uses for the X-trans, this comparison is not "apples to apples". DPR should correct to soft Adobe default sharpening for the X-trans such that the files can be more readily compared.

3 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

@alatchin- no, there is no maybe maybe not here. This has been more than researched by now. The evidence is out there if you go ahead and look a it. Better yet- do it for yourself. Download some raws and convert the files yourself. Capture one has a 60 day trial. Iridient has an eternal trial (watermarks). You can download Fuji's raw converter for free.

By all means do not believe me but walk with your experience or remain ignorant- your choice :-)

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Asylum Photo
By Asylum Photo (11 months ago)

Replies are correct. Adobe is a bit weak with X-Trans files. Great for street shooting (low noise, good edge detail for high contrast scenes), but no good for landscapes or anything with high amounts of small details.

Iridient, Aperture, Capture One, etc all do a better job of detail extraction.

DPR won't use specific RAW converters for tests, because that'd ruin the standardization process that works so well for 99% of cameras out there.

It would be nice, however, if in their image quality section they made note of Adobe's weaknesses and provided a quick comparison of details between Adobe and another high quality processor.

1 upvote
h2k
By h2k (11 months ago)

If i see it right, it does not have a touchscreen monitor? I think you should mention that in the text right next to the monitor image.

A touchscreen monitor is such an advantage for shooting, reviewing and changing settings that i don't want to miss it anymore.

2 upvotes
GXRuser
By GXRuser (11 months ago)

Missing EVF is an issue. Same for the XA-1.

Comment edited 39 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
AndreaV
By AndreaV (11 months ago)

For me too, and also an OVF... that's why I've an x-pro1!

5 upvotes
Arn
By Arn (11 months ago)

+1. The missing EVF is a bummer.

0 upvotes
M Jesper
By M Jesper (11 months ago)

Seriously ... People would complaint about a tricycle missing its fourth wheel.

When did the X-E1 become invisible ?

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 11 minutes after posting
28 upvotes
day2012
By day2012 (11 months ago)

If only there was some way to get an X-trans sensor with an EVF. Fuji should really address that gap in the market. In fact they might benefit from trying to invent some sort of hybrid OVF/EVF. I wonder if there could be a market for such a thing? It might even be worth them considering introducing such a thing for both fixed and changeable lens cameras. If I were them I might be tempted to go for something like a 35mm equivalent for the fixed lens version. What do other people think?

28 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

@day2012: hahahahaha
thank you for sharing - it is much needed for some folks on this site ;-)

Comment edited 20 seconds after posting
7 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (11 months ago)

We need a compact APS-C roundup. Fuji X series, Leica X series, EOS-M, Sigma DPM series, Ricoh GR, Coolpix A.

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

good idea - add the other two, to the one they already did of x100s - ricoh gr - nikon a

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (11 months ago)

The problem is that those don't work as a side-by-side:

Someone who likes the 35mm equivalent view offered by the Leica and Fujifilm are unlikely to consider a 28mm equiv. camera to be a sensible alternative (even if you us the Ricoh's 35mm equiv crop mode).

So you end up with an X100S vs Leica X2 comparison and a Ricoh vs Nikon vs Sigma piece, which we tried to do, only to find the Sigma wasn't particularly comparable.

2 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

Richard, why dpreview staff felt the sigma dp1m was not particularly comparable being the same focal length? (I the ones you mentioned to compare with). Honest question.

0 upvotes
Asylum Photo
By Asylum Photo (11 months ago)

@Raist3d

I suspect because the sensor still limits photographers to static well lit scenes. It's a rather niche product. It does landscapes *incredibly well*, but it doesn't hold up past ISO 400, to standard bayer sensors.

I really want to get a Sigma DPM camera at some point specifically for landscapes, but with the understanding that's all I'd be using it for.

0 upvotes
Trollshavethebestcandy
By Trollshavethebestcandy (11 months ago)

Add on OVF and combo with pancake and fish eye this could be pretty sweet.

3 upvotes
D1N0
By D1N0 (11 months ago)

you mean you want a x-pro1

8 upvotes
Trollshavethebestcandy
By Trollshavethebestcandy (11 months ago)

I like the one handed operation functionality and the ability to keep things small ish. Removable OVF with the pancake can keep things small and not attract too much attention for street photography that is my fave. I am in love with the X100s but like a smaller and less "Look at me" camera.

1 upvote
Boris F
By Boris F (11 months ago)

Nice camera, but... Olympus PEN camera on comparison looks better, and it is much quicker too. Plus much more lenses, definitely it is better choice, at least for my opinion.

0 upvotes
King Penguin
By King Penguin (11 months ago)

Yea, but a tiny sensor....

9 upvotes
Absolutic
By Absolutic (11 months ago)

that is why it is good to have both. Olympus m43 for serious shooting, and Fuji for those times when you can just take your time....

2 upvotes
Absolutic
By Absolutic (11 months ago)

Thank u dpreview for acknowledging the mushy green issue. I think xtrans is best for portraits and especially portraits in low light. If u shoot landscapes with lots of greenery in mid and background, get xa1 instead

2 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

The "mushy green issue" is a non issue with the proper raw concerter. In fact, due to extra green photo sensors the fuji will give you even more color detail with greenery.

10 upvotes
Asylum Photo
By Asylum Photo (11 months ago)

It'd be nice if DPReview dropped their test scene and a landscape or two through Iridient, to show how much detail is possible with the sensor when using the right processor.

1 upvote
Stollen1234
By Stollen1234 (11 months ago)

just curious why are fuji cameras look so similar to Leica?

0 upvotes
Frank_BR
By Frank_BR (11 months ago)

The Japanese copied so much the Leica in the '50s that henceforth all camera designers in Japan have been born with a gene stamped "Leica" in their DNA chains.

2 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (11 months ago)

Because when you put things where they belong you end up with something that looks like a 35mm rangefinder camera.

5 upvotes
forpetessake
By forpetessake (11 months ago)

Fuji always tries something weird to get noticed among the completion but it never works.

1 upvote
Tom_A
By Tom_A (11 months ago)

It is a traditional lay-out for people who like traditional controls.
And if you take away the pentaprism because not needed, what you are left is a rangefinderish shape.

2 upvotes
TorsteinH
By TorsteinH (11 months ago)

Gold award for a camera with slow focus that takes close to 1 sec to focus and then a seond delay until next shoot. But maybee I'm missing something...?

14 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (11 months ago)

you missed the part of "big photo quality in a small package"

23 upvotes
AmateurSnaps
By AmateurSnaps (11 months ago)

Which can't focus very quickly, especially in low light.

I always find a cameras ability to focus quickly high on my list of 'wants' (my pets and nieces and nephews don't do 'still')

If its not than, yes, this looks like a great little camera.

Keep them coming :)

1 upvote
Dames01
By Dames01 (11 months ago)

Don´t know where you get your numbers from. The review says "In good lighting, the bundled 16-50mm lens locked focus in 0.3 secs at wide-angle and 0.6 secs at telephoto."

7 upvotes
Jeff Keller
By Jeff Keller (11 months ago)

Definitely did not find focus times to be anywhere near as bad as you describe.

19 upvotes
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (11 months ago)

Guys I am extremely sure AmatuerSnaps has done extensive testing with this camera before making his comments.

9 upvotes
cocopro
By cocopro (11 months ago)

Ever heard of manual focus lens? If you don't think before you shot, I guess AF speed is very important. Don't forget to troll Leica BTW.

1 upvote
M Jesper
By M Jesper (11 months ago)

hehe, brendon is making a joke.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

If any focus speed difference, how much of that is due to the new "slower" lenses available with this, compared to the other models that had brighter lenses when tested? Might it do as well as the others if it were tested with the same lenses? There is a difference in the motors (LM versus the ones that come with this), and they're not as bright either.

1 upvote
javaone360
By javaone360 (11 months ago)

The X-M1 has the fastest AF in interchangable lens X series today.

0 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (11 months ago)

The focus speed of the xm1 is not slow. Just not the fastest.

2 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (11 months ago)

I know that this camera applies noise reduction to RAW files. Normally I would say that this is a bad thing. However, after looking at the samples I have to say that it looks like the noise reduction is as good as any external program would do.

I can’t find a fault at all with the image quality from this camera. The photos look fantastic. If it had the lens lineup and video features that m4/3s has then I would definitely consider purchasing one.

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (11 months ago)

it's not the quantity of lenses, but the quality... and there are all the other Fuji lenses you can use with this... and with the exception of these two new lenses, all the others are brighter on average than the other brands' offerings at similar price points.

3 upvotes
Asylum Photo
By Asylum Photo (11 months ago)

Just a small correction.... the camera doesn't apply noise reduction to raw files, but the raw processor might. Adobe's demosaicing process seems to cut down on luminance noise. But if you process in something else, like Iridient or Raw Photo Processor, the noise is a bit higher. Though, on the other hand, you end up with significantly more detail.

1 upvote
ovatab
By ovatab (11 months ago)

@ Jeff Keller
where is the Chinatown gate picture?

1 upvote
Jeff Keller
By Jeff Keller (11 months ago)

I'd love to have the SF and Stanford photos in the gallery but it's too long a drive from Seattle!

3 upvotes
photo perzon
By photo perzon (11 months ago)

I paired the X-M1 to my iPhone and it worked great. What is special about the X-M1 is that at a party, it is the same size as an Olympus E-PM2 or PL5. (With the 27mm pancake or the 18mm.)

That is new. The X-E1 or X100S are larger to show.

Also with a pancake one can use a small OVF. Clever.

Also the flash is tiltable to bounce to the ceiling. Very nice effect.

1 upvote
Karroly
By Karroly (11 months ago)

And when NOT at a party, is it still the same size ?

11 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (11 months ago)

Also this seems like a much shorter review than usual, I didn't see much about menus etc so wanted to know if any of the buttons on the rear can be configured?

2 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (11 months ago)

Actually, is part of this review missing? It keeps referring to 'we'll cover this later' then never does, such as when talking about the fn button. For example what does the AF button do? Does it AF? Does it allow setting AF point or does it change AF mode? What does the macro button do? Can it be reconfigured? How is auto-ISO set up in this camera and what parameters can be configured? Can you switch the control dials around so that the the top dial is aperture and the rear shutter?

Sorry but the review just seems to skip over a lot of the 'controls' of thus camera and focuses a lot of the time saying how IQ is identical to other X cams, which is fair enough as it probably is.

1 upvote
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (11 months ago)

The AF button selects the AF point - it doesn't initiate AF. The macro button allows close focusing (which speeds up AF in normal shooting). Auto ISO allows setting of maximum ISO and minimum shutter speed, but the latter only across the same limited range as the X100/X100S. The dials can't be reconfigured - the only customisable control on the X-M1 is the Fn button.

1 upvote
abortabort
By abortabort (11 months ago)

Thanks Andy, I appreciate you taking the time to clarify :) Though I can't help but feel this should (or would normally) be part of a DPR review. So I was wondering, is this a new review format for you guys?

0 upvotes
Jeff Keller
By Jeff Keller (11 months ago)

Yes, the review is shorter, mainly because we're trying to crank these out faster.

7 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (11 months ago)

Hi Jeff, thanks for the response! Will happily take more plentiful reviews for a small-ish loss in extreme detail.

0 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (11 months ago)

Page 1 says "Built-in Wi-Fi with remote camera control and image transfer to mobile device or PC" but then later says remote control is not possible.

0 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (11 months ago)

Thanks for pointing that out, the line in the introduction was wrong. Remote camera control is not available.

0 upvotes
zakaria
By zakaria (11 months ago)

thanks for the very quick review and for this effort . Hope to see something similar to the Pentax k50

0 upvotes
SRT3lkt
By SRT3lkt (11 months ago)

K50 is water resistant though

0 upvotes
zakaria
By zakaria (11 months ago)

sorry I meant a quick review for pentax

0 upvotes
Total comments: 217
12