Previous page Next page

Studio scene comparison (Raw)

This is our standard studio scene comparison shot taken from exactly the same tripod position. Lighting: daylight simulation, >98% CRI. Crops are 100%. Ambient temperature was approximately 22°C (~72°F).

For a (more) level playing field for comparison we also shot our studio scene in Raw mode with each camera and converted it using Adobe Camera Raw. Because Adobe Camera Raw applies different levels of sharpening to different cameras (this confirmed) we use the following workflow for these conversions:

  • Load Raw file into Adobe Camera Raw (Auto mode disabled)
  • Set Sharpness to 0 (all other settings default)
  • Open file to Photoshop
  • Apply a Unsharp mask: 100%, Radius 0.6, Threshold 0
  • Save as a JPEG quality 11 for display and download.

Note: this page features our new interactive studio shot comparison widget. Click here to find out more.

Previous page Next page
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Canon PowerShot G1 X

Comments

Total comments: 9
rugosa
By rugosa (2 months ago)

I bought a G1X 2 weeks ago from a person that bought it for his wife for Christmas. She found it too much camera for her needs and so I bought it with about 10 shots total for $400. I usually shoot with a Nikon D300 and the Nikon higher priced lenses. For underwater and a light carry around I had a G10 for 5 years. After 2 weeks of shooting I must say that I'm amazed by the IQ of the photos this camera puts out. Low light shots up to ISO 1600 are allot better than my D300. It's not a perfect camera but then non of them are. Ordered a Canon 500D close up lens for it after seeing how well that worked on Marco Nero's photos with the G1X on www.pbase.com . This camera also shoots some very good underwater photos from examples I have seen on the internet so I picked up Canon's case on sale for my trips south. All told I think that although this camera is not for everyone most owners give it at least an 8/10. www.witnesstobeauty.com has another good review, great landscape photos

Comment edited 51 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Gunzorro
By Gunzorro (2 months ago)

I've been wanting this camera since it was announced. I'm primarily a DSLR shooter, and FF at that. I also have owned a G6 and currently G10 and S110. So, I'm pretty familiar with where this camera fits in and what a step it is for Canon to take.
I just bought a used version at a very nice price so will be trying it out in the near future.
I would have rated the camera a little higher, based on my past experience with Canon and reports I've read from reviews and owners. Particularly, Optics and Performance would have got a couple ticks up in my estimation. I think a 79 or 80 would have been appropriate -- being practically in a category of its own: attached zoom, large sensor, compact camera.
It won't be a camera for everyone, true. But if you want better IQ than P&S and use it as a second camera to your DSLR for quick grab shots and take-anywhere convenience, you should be well served! :)

0 upvotes
jan snks
By jan snks (5 months ago)

Image quality G1X, dpreview reports "excellent image quality across the ISO range without nasty surprises".
I would like to refer to the www.imaging-resourcing.com review of this camera. They reported a nasty Light Leakage phenomenon at higher ISO settings and short shutter times. This defect seems to be confirmed by Canon.
Would anybody comment on this ?

0 upvotes
millhoud
By millhoud (6 months ago)

I've noticed that the g1x took this studio shot at f7.1 , while other "enthusiast" compacts (g15 or p7700...) at f4.5. Could somebody explain me why's that? It would be nice to know the shutter speed too. Thanks

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (6 months ago)

It's to offer enough depth-of-field (it's a 3D target).

This has a sensor much bigger than the others, so needs to be stopped-down further in order to provide enough depth-of-field.

0 upvotes
millhoud
By millhoud (6 months ago)

Please sorry my ignorance, but to achieve this it has to use a slower shutter speed too or, thanks to the higher light-catching capabilities of the bigger sensor the g1x uses comparable shutter speeds as, say, the g15 or p7700 , with a smaller aperture?

0 upvotes
lem12
By lem12 (7 months ago)

If Canon increases DR able to at least match T2i and updates its Panorama mode (similar to the Sony's would be great), this would be true compact I'm looking for. I'll buy it no doubts!

0 upvotes
Wildbegonia
By Wildbegonia (7 months ago)

Almost but not there yet.

3 upvotes
Ponderer
By Ponderer (8 months ago)

G1x Cannons almost camera
Almost an APS-C sensor, Almost a good EVF, Almost enough lens magnification, Almost small enough. A good first try for a company that just started designing cameras.

9 upvotes
Total comments: 9