Previous page Next page

Canon EOS 70D Review

October 2013 | By Andy Westlake, Richard Butler


Review based on a production Canon EOS 70D

During the early days of digital SLRs, Canon was pretty much the undisputed leader in CMOS image sensor technology. Almost every new EOS model came with an increase in resolution and high ISO range, and when the EOS 7D appeared in late 2009, the company had progressed from 3MP to 18MP, and ISO 1600 to ISO 12800, in just over nine years. But since then Canon's APS-C cameras have all sported variants on the same basic sensor design, to the extent that you could be forgiven for wondering what on earth their engineers were doing all day. Now we know.

The EOS 70D is a mid-range SLR for enthusiast photographers that from the outside looks like a sensible, indeed desirable upgrade to the EOS 60D. It borrows many of the best bits from Canon's existing SLRs, including the autofocus sensor from the EOS 7D, the fully articulated touchscreen from the EOS 700D (Rebel T5i), and built-in Wi-Fi from the EOS 6D. But on the inside it sports an entirely new sensor that is, potentially, revolutionary. It offers 20.2MP resolution, but uses a 'Dual Pixel CMOS AF' design in which every single pixel is split into two separately-readable photodiodes, facing left and right. This means that in principle they are all capable of phase detection autofocus in live view and movie mode.

On-chip phase detection is nothing new - we first saw it in the Fujifilm F300EXR back in 2010. Since then it's been adopted in one form or another by most manufacturers, with arguably its most successful implementation coming in Nikon's 1 System mirrorless models. But because until now it's used relatively few active pixels scattered sparsely across the sensor, it's had practical limitations, often only covering a restricted area of the frame and struggling once the light drops below outdoor daylight levels. Canon says that its Dual Pixel AF system, in contrast, works across an area 80% of the frame width and height, in light levels as low as 0 EV, and at apertures down to F11. This means it could well be the most capable live view autofocus system we've yet seen on any type of camera.

We'll look at the technology behind the EOS 70D's live view AF in more detail later, but let's not forget that it has to work as a conventional SLR too. To this end it uses the same 19-point AF sensor as the EOS 7D for viewfinder shooting, but with slightly simplified control options in firmware. It can rattle shots off at 7fps for up to 65 frames in JPEG or 16 in Raw, and its standard ISO range covers 100-12800, with ISO 25600 as an expanded option. Image processing is via the DIGIC 5+ processor first seen in the EOS 5D Mark III.

In terms of control layout the EOS 70D is a logical evolution of the EOS 60D, adopting many of Canon's intervening updates and improvements. So it offers a full set of external controls to operate most key functions, and Canon's well-designed Quick Control screen to cover pretty much everything else. It also adopts the superb touchscreen interface that debuted on the EOS 650D (Rebel T4i), which we've found to be more useful than you might at first think. The 70D also regains an array of features that disappeared between the EOS 50D and 60D, such as AF microadjustment.

Canon EOS 70D key features

  • 20.2MP APS-C 'Dual Pixel CMOS AF' sensor
  • DIGIC 5+ image processor
  • ISO 100-12800 standard, 25600 expanded
  • 7fps continuous shooting, burst depth 65 JPEG / 16 Raw
  • 'Silent' shutter mode
  • 1080p30 video recording, stereo sound via external mic
  • 19-point AF system, all points cross-type, sensitive to -0.5 EV
  • 63-zone iFCL metering system
  • 98% viewfinder coverage, 0.95x magnification, switchable gridlines and electronic level display
  • Fully-articulated touchscreen, 1040k dot 3" ClearView II LCD, 3:2 aspect ratio
  • Single SD/SDHC/SDXC card slot
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
  • Single-axis electronic level
  • Built-in flash works as off-camera remote flash controller
  • AF microadjustment (can be set individually for up to 40 lenses, remembered by lens serial number)
  • In-camera High Dynamic Range and Multiple Exposure modes (JPEG-only)
  • 'Creative Filter' image processing styles, previewed in live view

Key specs compared

In the table below we see how some of the EOS 70D's key specs measure up against its more expensive big brother, the EOS 7D, and its main rival, the Nikon D7100. What's interesting here is just how close the 70D is to the 7D in terms of spec - in much the same way as Nikon's D7000 made the D300S look almost redundant, it's quite difficult to see why most Canon users would now choose the top-end APS-C model.

 
Canon EOS 70D
Canon EOS 7D
Nikon D7100
 Effective Pixels  • 20.2 MP  • 18.0 MP  • 24.1 MP
 ISO Range  • 100-12800 standard
 • 25600 expanded
 • 100-6400 standard
 • 12800 expanded
 • 100-6400 standard
 • 50-25600 expanded
 No of AF points  • 19  • 19  • 51
 AF in live view  • Phase detection  • Contrast detection  • Contrast detection
 Screen  • 3.0" 3:2
 • 1,040,000 dots
 • Fully-articulated
 • Touch sensitive
 • 3.0" 4:3
 • 920,000 dots
 • Fixed
 • 3.2" 4:3
 • 1,228,800 dots
 • Fixed
 Viewfinder  • 98% coverage
 • 0.95x magnification
 • 100% coverage
 • 1.0x magnification
 • 100% coverage
 • 0.94x magnification
 Continuous drive  • 7 fps  • 8 fps  • 6 fps
 Storage  • SD/SDHC/SDXC  • Compact flash  • SD/SDHC/SDXC
 • 2 slots
 Weight
 (inc batteries)
 • 755g (1.7 lb)  • 860g (1.9 lb)  • 765g (1.7 lb)
 Dimensions  • 139 x 104 x 79 mm
   (5.5 x 4.1 x 3.1")
 • 148 x 111 x 74 mm
   (5.8 x 4.4 x 2.9")
 • 136 x 107 x 76 mm
   (5.4 x 4.2 x 3.0")
 Wi-Fi  •  Built-in  •  Optional  •  Optional

Size and design compared to the EOS 60D

The EOS 70D directly replaces the EOS 60D in Canon's range, and is very similar in terms of size and design. It's a bit smaller though, and has a sensibly-updated control layout. Here we take a more-detailed look at the two cameras side-by-side.

From the front the EOS 70D looks almost identical to the 60D. But it's slimmed down a bit, being fractionally narrower. Look a little closer and you can also see that the 60D's front-facing mono microphone has gone (replaced by stereo mics on the top plate).
The two cameras are pretty similar from the back too, with the 70D retaining the same basic layout. It gains Canon's improved live view/movie mode controller, and has a physical switch to lock the rear dial against accidental operation rather than a button. Other than that it uses all the same buttons, just not necessarily in the same order.
From the top, again the 70D is very much a sensible evolution. The mode dial is simplified and now rotates continuously rather than having hard end stops, and there's a new AF area expansion button next to the shutter release. But the rest of the controls are all essentially the same.

Kit options and pricing

The EOS 70D will be sold body-only for £1079 / $1199 / €1099, as a kit with the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM for £1199.99 / $1340 / €1249, or with the EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens for £1399.99 $1549 / €1499. The BG-E14 battery grip will cost £229.99 / $270 / €215.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

Images which can be viewed at a larger size have a small magnifying glass icon in the bottom right corner of the image, clicking on the image will display a larger (typically VGA) image in a new window.

To navigate the review simply use the next / previous page buttons, to jump to a particular section either pick the section from the drop down or select it from the navigation bar at the top.

DPReview calibrate their monitors using Color Vision OptiCal at the (fairly well accepted) PC normal gamma 2.2, this means that on our monitors we can make out the difference between all of the (computer generated) grayscale blocks below. We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2013 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page

Comments

Total comments: 632
2345
Rbrt
By Rbrt (11 months ago)

Why have so few camera makers moved to USB 3.0? There must be either a technical or cost factor. Anybody?

0 upvotes
rrccad
By rrccad (11 months ago)

requires more power, cables are a shorter length, plugs are finicky are my personal gripes on usb 3.0

3 upvotes
Rbrt
By Rbrt (11 months ago)

Thanks! I haven't found the plugs finicky on my computer but wasn't aware of the other limitations.

0 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (11 months ago)

Plus there's the fact that the storage controller would have to be fast enough for USB 3.0 to matter... I imagine a few of them on higher end cameras might be able to provide enough bandwith for USB 2.0 to be a bottleneck, but they're probably few and far between (and more than likely optimized for fast sequential writing over anything else, like random reading).

There's still a lot of cameras that don't write anywhere near fast enough for the fastest 90MB/s+ UHS-I cards to make a difference... That's about the point where USB 2.0 starts to be a big bottleneck (you can get 40MB/s read/write out of USB 2.0). It's pretty trivial to use a USB 3.0 reader for faster offload to a PC anyway, Kingston makes a tiny one with retractable ports for like $12.

Most burst shooting is done to a buffer first then offloaded to SD storage anyway... This is the same reason you don't see USB 3.0 on phones btw, just wouldn't make much of a difference given the speed of flash NAND within those devices... Plus the bigger/bulkier connector might be a bit of a step back, though eventually it'll be preferred for faster charging as batteries (and some phones) get larger.

2 upvotes
Rbrt
By Rbrt (11 months ago)

Good point re the storage controller but if Kingston can do it for $12...

USB 3.0 connector on my computer is same size the USB 2.1 connector on the same machine. They have to be compatible.

0 upvotes
qianp2k
By qianp2k (11 months ago)

buy a USB 3.0 card reader that is pretty cheap.

0 upvotes
Lab D
By Lab D (11 months ago)

I had the pleasure to use one for a week and focusing was very good during videos. The review is very similar to my thoughts, so good job!
The only thing I did not like was having to hold the larger heavy camera away from your body while in video mode or using live view.
I also found the sensor to be good enough for most uses and not an issue.

3 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (11 months ago)

Any way for a VF to be OVF or EVF? Manufacturers never really pursued heads-up display for the OVF. Is Fuji the only one?

0 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (11 months ago)

Great camera, great article.
I had the chance to try it, and yes its lovely.
The focus on video mode is really good.
Not my cup of tea, but a lot of people like to do videos.

2 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (11 months ago)

Why use a film era 85mm portrait lens that seems to be front focusing and a third party EF mount lens at or near their minimum focus distances to test the AF system?

By shooting even a high grade modern EF lens at close focus distances you've already introduced one possible source of focussing error. Adding an older EF lens or a notoriously inaccurate large aperture Sigma zoom into the equation makes the AF accuracy test questionable at best.

3 upvotes
MrTaikitso
By MrTaikitso (11 months ago)

In a first for me, (been on DPreview for years), am going to knock this review: 1) I had been waiting for the 70D to consider against a GX7 or equiv Nikon or Sony APS-C to use for video and prosumer stills photography. 2) Finally got to play with one in a UK store. Although the new auto focus system and the articulating display are effective, I found the build quality to feel rough and plasticy in contrast to other lesser priced cameras (Pentax included), the ergonomics were awful (had to use two hands in a convoluted fashion to make an adjustment to the ISO) and the video does not shoot at 50/60fps - priceless for freeze framing, as I could do on my Sony NEX 5R. Further & most important: 3), other users and blog reviews conclude that the 70D image quality is nothing special.

What bothers me is that this DPreview fails to mention the mediocre IQ and praises the ergonomics. A direct contrast to my own experience and that of others.

Why?

7 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (11 months ago)

Not to me, everything is fine.
On the other hand i tried a nikon d7100 and its a lovely camera but the feel is very different, not deep enough or not ergo to my hands.
Is canon made in japan and nikon made in china?
That would explain a lot of things....

1 upvote
Nerval
By Nerval (11 months ago)

Actually both Canon and Nikon assemble parts of their cameras in China and depending on the model you get a camera whose parts have more or less traveled through Taiwan, Malaysia, China...
If you really put a Canon 1100D or 700D through its pace, well you probably would not be that much impressed by built quality...
And the ergonomics part, well Canon has more or less always stuck to a certain design, you like it or you don't that's subjective. Regarding IQ, that's true, Canon APSC sensors are lagging a tad behind at the moment... Less DR, lower SNR... That does not mean the quality is Mediocre.
Actually past ISO 800 there's only a third of a stop difference with Sony sensors, and at ISO 3200 the performance is almost similar.
I don't believe DPreview is much biased for Canon. The camera gets praised because Canon did a good job investing in their Video-DSLR feature, and yielded a good product.

7 upvotes
rrccad
By rrccad (11 months ago)

if it takes you two hands to change the ISO on the 70D .. then obviously a DSLR isn't for you.

6 upvotes
CFynn
By CFynn (11 months ago)

The Nikon D7100 is made in Thailand

0 upvotes
Toccata47
By Toccata47 (11 months ago)

Never been a fan of m4/3 cameras, but the new olympus seems to be close enough in the studio scene to be indistinguishable for everyday use.

2 upvotes
tabloid
By tabloid (11 months ago)

This Canon dual pixel sensor would be great in my Sony A65.
They were made for each other.

0 upvotes
Jun2
By Jun2 (11 months ago)

why? It's no better than current contrast AF

Comment edited 58 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Erik Magnuson
By Erik Magnuson (11 months ago)

It's better than current contrast AF for lenses not designed for fast CDAF -- hich would include all A-mount lenses like those that fit the OP's A65.

0 upvotes
Boky
By Boky (11 months ago)

Photos at all ISO settings, raw or jpeg, look worse than Nikon D7100. And with regard to Canon AF servo when taking standard photos, I KNOW canon can still NOT provide consistent and accurate focus with anything but a single lens paired with body.

This camera to get DPreview praises is borderline criminal.

Nick

6 upvotes
Gabebalazs
By Gabebalazs (10 months ago)

70D jpeg actually looks better, not just to me but anyone I talked to. In RAW the 7100 is better by a bit.
As for the AI Servo shots... with all due respect, where the heck did you get your info??? Check out Michael the Mentor's video on Youtube performing thorough AI Servo tests (shooting over 1500 images), where the 70D clearly beats the D7100 in tracking moving subjects. The keeper rate is not even close. And let's not even mention the difference in buffer capacity.
Here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOM4r1gxsbs

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 7 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Sdaniella
By Sdaniella (11 months ago)

u have touch to focus videos mislabeled:
top one is noisy, yet mislabelled STM lens
bottom on is quiet, yet mislabeled USM lens

0 upvotes
meland
By meland (11 months ago)

Pardon?

0 upvotes
rhlpetrus
By rhlpetrus (11 months ago)

The IQ, even in RAW, is not that good, regarding detail. Since DR has not improved on Canon sensors in the last 5-6 years, I can't see other than already Canon users interested, if stills is the main thing. THis camera seems a good option for those interested in video but then some ML options area actually better.

One thing though: I find the difference in AF between OVF and LV too much in the samples. I have tested my D7000 (which is really slow in LV) and there's a little differnece, but not that much, once you calibrate your lenses. One neeeds to take a series of shots, since even in LV there are variations in AF accuracy, as Cicala has observed in his tests of Canons and Nikons.

DSLRs will need to go hybrid with better off-sensor AF, and my guess is that will happen with Nikon and their Nikon 1 PDAF system.

5 upvotes
NetMage
By NetMage (11 months ago)

Canon made a huge leap in sensor noise from the 50D era to the 60D era and that made for an effective DR increase.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
onlooker
By onlooker (11 months ago)

> The IQ, even in RAW, is not that good, regarding detail

Wait, it is practically indistinguishable from the D7100 in the comparison tool. Are you saying D7100's detail sucks?

3 upvotes
Vegasus
By Vegasus (11 months ago)

Dear Dpreview, When you say, complicated wifi setup, is that the same with dos 6D?

0 upvotes
Sordid
By Sordid (11 months ago)

So... It indeed IS complicated for you, Henry?

0 upvotes
Zoom71
By Zoom71 (11 months ago)

Softness everywhere... Typical Canon agressive noise reduction even at base ISO.

1 upvote
photofan1986
By photofan1986 (11 months ago)

At least we don't have oil everywhere :D

3 upvotes
Andrew53
By Andrew53 (11 months ago)

D600:

I AM BROKEN

1 upvote
sandy b
By sandy b (11 months ago)

AND I AM STILL BETTER

0 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (10 months ago)

It's called RAW, look in to it.

0 upvotes
Lawrencew
By Lawrencew (11 months ago)

I still can't believe that wifi can't be used in movie mode.
Such a straightforward thing (you would have thought) is putting me off buying this otherwise great camera.
I just want to be able to remotely trigger and monitor videos.
Dumb, dumb, dumb...

1 upvote
IchiroCameraGuy
By IchiroCameraGuy (11 months ago)

What cameras let you do this over Wi-Fi?

0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (11 months ago)

I doubt wifi module on any camera got enough bandwidth to stream 1080p. Not to mention that it's unreliable even with high end PC equipment.

0 upvotes
Anfy
By Anfy (11 months ago)

I know it has been asked before, but could you (DPReview) make four cameras - and not just two - to appear on the (new) Studio Comparison page?
It is a bit annoying to read the differences between the 70D and the D7100, then the E-M1 (so we have to manually switch to that camera), then again the D7100 (another switch) and so on, why are them all not displayed at the same time like in the old tool?

Ciao!

Comment edited 14 seconds after posting
7 upvotes
Andy Crowe
By Andy Crowe (11 months ago)

If you go to the studio comparison's standalone page (reviews > new studio scene) you get four so it definitely supports it, DPR must be cutting it down to 2 to save space on the page maybe?

DPR how about an expand button on the bottom of the 2 panel widget to add another 2 cameras to it?

2 upvotes
meland
By meland (11 months ago)

I stumbled onto this page. Can't remember quite how but I have to say I'm amazed. Amazed that so many have the time to be so angry about a thing that's just a tool for taking pictures. Well I thought that's what it was anyway but some might think otherwise on reading this stuff.
Q: Is this more important than corrupt politicians salting away cash in offshore bank accounts? A: No
Q: Is this more important than the ice caps melting and polar bears getting too hot? A: No.
Q: Is this more important than One Direction's favourite breakfast cereal? A: No.
Some of you really, really need to get out more. If you don't like it, just don't buy it.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
20 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (11 months ago)

The camera is great for the price, i guess some are frustrated cause their brand are not outselling Canon.
Some people gee.....
Love all brands, i would love to own at least 5 different cameras for different purposes

2 upvotes
Elaka Farmor
By Elaka Farmor (11 months ago)

I can give youy a hint why people are upset. For example, compare the 70D against E-PL5 in RAW iso 3200. Do you see any obvious visible difference? Canon is newer, more expensive, bigger sensor. I should be a clear difference in IQ, but it´s not. Why?

10 upvotes
crisotunity
By crisotunity (11 months ago)

There should be no major visible difference at ISO3200 between any modern camera, with a half-decent lens. There has been steady progress on sensors' performance, but no no earth-shaking developments over the last few years.
This is why mature markets and savvy consumers (eg Japan; young people in the West) are buying mirrorless, camera phones and Instax minis by their millions: they understand that -unless you plaster your entire wall with a photo- you will not be able to tell what's coming out of which camera. So they make purchasing decisions on size, ease of use, price, fun factor, etc.
Meanwhile, middle-aged techno-freaks are arguing over DXO marks and whether a D5200 out-resolves a 70D: a whole bunch of baldies fighting over combs.

6 upvotes
harold1968
By harold1968 (11 months ago)

I believe everyone, including politicians, should be able to put money in offshore accounts.
Polar bears are increasing in population (the greens don't tell you this) and will need to be culled.

Otherwise I agree with you, especially about one direction.

GAS and photography are different things.
I suffer from both to be honest :)

0 upvotes
senn_b
By senn_b (11 months ago)

Admittedly the conclusions of this test, as for the IQ, rise more questions than they offer reliable answers; .. can anyone say me in what respect the IQ of this stuff is any better than (let's say) 40D's one ? Where is the IQ improvement ? Did Cannon have improved the IQ any significantly since 40D in this line up of cam ?

0 upvotes
photofan1986
By photofan1986 (11 months ago)

"Score" "Dxo"' blah blah...I really wonder how many of you really compared the actual IQ instead of just relying on Dxo figures. I also wonder how we managed to go out and shoot before Dxo!

13 upvotes
lensberg
By lensberg (11 months ago)

I seriously wonder whether the "engineers" at DXO could ever design, develop & implement a sensor... considering the fact that they act like the final authority on sensor evaluation...

Never trust DXO...

4 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (11 months ago)

I seriously wonder whether the "movie critics" could ever direct, or produce a movie... considering the fact that they act like the final authority on movie evaluation...

Never trust critics...

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 30 seconds after posting
7 upvotes
photofan1986
By photofan1986 (11 months ago)

Right, I don't care about what critics say.No need to tell me what I have to think, I do it by myself.

3 upvotes
lensberg
By lensberg (11 months ago)

Indeed... sensors and moves are the same thing... I totally get your point...

Watching movies costs peanuts... so every Tom, Dick & Harry are free to formulate their own opinions...

Camera's require some level of investment... Unfortunately DXO behaves likes its the be all and end all authority on sensors... almost subconsciously coercing people to believe one brand is superior than the other based upon their scores...

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
Sordid
By Sordid (11 months ago)

Dxo is simply benchmarking and measuring equipment.
They don't need to be able to produce a good sensor, it's not their business.
And yes, Dxo IS the authority in terms of benchmarking sensors and lenses.

Do I make purchasing decision based solely on their results?
Of course not. Ergonomics are important to me. General image quality is, which includes a lot more than just the measurable resolution. But then again, I wouldn't buy a camera that scores a whole lot worse than its competitors either.

6 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (11 months ago)

I dont trust dxo, never did, never will, i trust my eyes

3 upvotes
sandy b
By sandy b (11 months ago)

I don't trust DXO says every one whose sensors suck.

4 upvotes
lensberg
By lensberg (11 months ago)

The ones whose sensors sucks are still outselling the ones with the "class leading" sensors...

The irony of the whole thing...

0 upvotes
molnarcs
By molnarcs (11 months ago)

Sensors yes, because it's very very specific what actually they measure. But lenses? I couldn't care less about what DXO says about lenses. Well, their sharpness test might hold some value, but nothing else is taken into account - micro contrast, colour rendition, bokeh, flare resistance, etc.

1 upvote
David Elliott Lewis
By David Elliott Lewis (11 months ago)

I have been using the 70d for over a month now and really like it. It's low light performance is excellent. I have never before been able to get usable photos when shooting at ISO 6400 before this camera. I highly recommend it.

David Elliott Lewis
San Francisco.

3 upvotes
Abu Mahendra
By Abu Mahendra (11 months ago)

I get usable photos on my 650D pretty frequently.

0 upvotes
Alec_c
By Alec_c (11 months ago)

Gentlemen reviewers, can you please let us know which one of you was the (obviously poet, rather not sober reviewer) that wrote "Shooting with the Canon EOS 70D, I felt right at home. I've owned a 20D, and even so many models removed, the 70D still seems familiar. It works the way I like to..." ? I think that your 20D is turning in it's grave.
Shawn, you trickster ... that's you, isn't it?
So, if we take your review as honest, although rather worse, it is still better ... yous should be a politician!
Thanks to God ... or chance ... or local management there are so few of your reviews since 2007.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 8 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Jack Hogan
By Jack Hogan (11 months ago)

"In terms of image quality the 70D is essentially on a par with its rivals"

Who's your daddy, DPReview? Informed photographers know that the IQ of the 70D is uncompetitive today and lags a couple of generations behind that of its rivals, whether that be DR, color sensitivity or spatial resolution. Its strengths lie elsewhere.

Your readers want objective information in order to make an informed decision when buying a camera of a certain class and budget.

Q: Is this the better camera for Landscapes? A: No
Q: Is this the better camera for Portraits? A: No
Q: Is this the better camera for Wildlife/BIF? A: No
Q: Is this the better camera for Video? A: Maybe
Q: if I go for a smaller/lighter system will I lose IQ? A: It depends on the kind of shooting you do

The fact is, once you start comparing it objectively to its brothers from another mother the 70D's IQ comes out looking pretty short. Sugar coat it, but this is what your readers expect from you.

Jack

56 upvotes
BeaniePic
By BeaniePic (11 months ago)

Sounds like you've owned and used an EOS 70D for a while, I'm an early adopter of this model myself have already sold many images from it and disagree with every word you've typed. This camera out preforms older models as well as many other models on the market. Take it from someone who does this for a job, full time...

6 upvotes
Eleson
By Eleson (11 months ago)

The easily spotted giveaway is the "essentially on par" where it is left behind and totally other descriptive wording where it is ahead.

2 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (11 months ago)

@jack
The only fact is, even if you bla bla bout the weakness "in your mind" of Canon 70D, i,ve seen a lot of Nikon user saying it was one hell of a camera for the price.
And go out and shoot and will notice that in the end, you,ll see no differences on your laptop screen.

4 upvotes
Zerixos
By Zerixos (11 months ago)

Dear Segaman,

I can't agree with jack, because the D70 will be a hell of a lot easier to use during video than any other camera, and for wildlife it still will be suitable due the high frame rate. But saying it is no differences on the screen, Well, A Nikon D7100 image looks a bit sharper, even on a "laptop screen", put it on a calibrated IPS screen and the blacks and the better noice preformens pop out even more on the D7100, So the different in image quality become even more noticeable. And in the end, a lot of photographers still print there images, and you'll spot the differences even better.

0 upvotes
rhlpetrus
By rhlpetrus (11 months ago)

+1

0 upvotes
photofan1986
By photofan1986 (11 months ago)

@rhlpetrus
You know there's a "like" button, right? :D

1 upvote
MarshallG
By MarshallG (11 months ago)

DPReview has more than justified their right to an opinion. They are the gold standard in digital camera reviews, without a doubt. As to your accusation of bias, I believe you'll find that they typically give Nikons higher scores than Canons.

What's most important is that they publish a thorough review that lets you decide for yourself if a camera is right for you. Without a doubt, no camera is perfect nor is one camera best for everyone.

2 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (10 months ago)

Does the word filter here block the word "retard"?

0 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (3 months ago)

Coming from a Nikon shooter, i am not surprise, jack........

0 upvotes
Alec_c
By Alec_c (11 months ago)

IQ ... Tried it in some less than optimal light conditions ... Images are all but sharp, even perfectly in focus, with the new Sigma 18-35, which is sharp in itself, and this in more than one shot. The sensor technology of Canon, coupled with whatever AA screens they use kills all the fine details. Why then so many Mpix? (I know why! To allow downsizing of picture to get a sharp 10MPix!).
Not that would be able to judge with the all smudged up new set-up of test scene of DP, that is so great to confuse anything but the phone camera users.
Direction Canon has taken with this xxD line, since 50D, and lack of listening to (at least some of) its' consumers is going to support it's constant slide.
OK. Now I have it out of my system :-) Let us see if the great minds of Canon can produce a decent 7D mkII or if I really need to either stay satisfied with my old 40D or move to a different system.

0 upvotes
Alec_c
By Alec_c (11 months ago)

Fanboys gathered to bring flowers to the new Canon muse ... Laughable.
How many of the these ... actually touched, held and shot this camera? I did so.
Dpreview rated ergonomics as excellent. I beg to differ big time: tiny buttons and especially wheels, unusable 4-way selector, cramped body and ultra-cramped hand hold ("sir, you should buy a grip"). The mobile screen is the only good thing to say about the ergonomics. Fit anything but a small and cheap lens and it will fall on it's nose.
One question though, all these people asking for smaller cameras are just pygmies with recently acquired internet connections or terminally weak exemplars of our species? Since when a few ounces of body should sacrifice even a basic thing as holding properly a camera. Unless you buy to keep it on a shelf and show to friends. To a similar comment, a gentleman (of debatable wit) suggested to hold it with the tips of the fingers.

3 upvotes
BeaniePic
By BeaniePic (11 months ago)

I've owned for a month and am in total love with with. There you go... Sold many images from it as well. It's a complete dream of a camera...

2 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (11 months ago)

If the Canon 70D body is too small for most hands, then how would you consider those much smaller Micro 4/3 bodies like Lumix G6, GF5 or the even tiny GM1? The ever so popular Oly OMD EM5 is also much smaller.

What do you consider is the optimum size? Perhaps, the Canon 1DX.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 15 minutes after posting
1 upvote
neo_nights
By neo_nights (11 months ago)

While I LOVE DPReview's reviews and do not share the same amount of complaint many people here do, I still fail to understand the Dynamic Range test.

According to your tests, this 70D has more DR than Pentax K5, which, by DxO's ratings, is measured to have 14.1 EV, while the 70D has only 11.6 EV!
Well, if we see more recent reviews here, even m4/3s cameras get higher DR...
(which would be highly unlikely due sensor size difference)

How?

13 upvotes
Jack Hogan
By Jack Hogan (11 months ago)

It's a well known pet peeve that DPReview does not measure the DR of the sensor/camera but that of the 8-bit jpeg file as processed in-camera - which is pretty well arbitrarily controlled by the contrast/brightness curves applied during processing. Unrepresentative you say? N/C.

15 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (11 months ago)

> does not measure the DR of the sensor/camera but that of the 8-bit jpeg file

One great reason to skip the Dynamic Range section of these reviews.

8 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (11 months ago)

Or anything that "scores" image quality on dPreview.

8 upvotes
Jorginho
By Jorginho (11 months ago)

@ neo..."Well, if we see more recent reviews here, even m4/3s cameras get higher DR...
(which would be highly unlikely due sensor size difference)"".

Right. And you use DxO. DxO.....70D with the larger sensor scores 11,6 eV and E-M1 (smaller sensor) scores 12,7 eV....So there you go...sensor difference size only mean somuch when the difference is not big enough to always make a difference.

1 upvote
neo_nights
By neo_nights (11 months ago)

@Jorginho - You're not wrong in your statement, but then we are comparing a more recent, state-of-art, m4/3 sensor against a 1000 years old APS-C sensor.
Even the 1" RX100 sensor is better than the old APS-C sensor from the Sony A700, for example.

So I should've more specific: given that the sensors are at same age and use (more or less) the same technollogy, the bigger sensor will always have more DR (and less noise).

In this case, it's only natural that the sensors from K5, K5-II/IIs, Nikon D7100 and so, have more DR than the recent Oly cameras.

1 upvote
SylvainBdg
By SylvainBdg (11 months ago)

The canon line up is so boring...I am wondering how can it score so high in IQ...(as far as I know the 70d iq is far behind Nikon D5200, Sony A57 or Pentax K5, Fuji xm1)
Most brands are much more innovative than Canon...

16 upvotes
photofan1986
By photofan1986 (11 months ago)

(nt)

Comment edited 21 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
scrup
By scrup (11 months ago)

All eyes on this camera since nothing else for Amazon to sell over Christmas.

3 upvotes
Eleson
By Eleson (11 months ago)

Thanks for the technology explained page!
Maybe we can we more of that in reviews, there is so much new stuff out there. Though on sensor PDAF is a bit of old news, and Canon certainly not being the first having it, it surprises me it gets this attention now.
( there was non in the first Nikon 1 as far as I could see)
But besides from that, thanks!

0 upvotes
Timbukto
By Timbukto (11 months ago)

I prefer the size to the 7D and like the articulating screen, and according to IR, the shutter lag including AF is nearly 2x faster than the 7D (i.e. it achieves 1D league shutter lag). Big deal is made about liveview AF which will make for great ad hoc follow focus amateur video, but I think the 7.5 fps RAW + improved AF/shutter lag is a big deal too. Finally I have no doubt that even though it may not score much better on DxOMark, its practical shadow lifting capability is much improved due to lack of 7D's obvious vertical banding.

0 upvotes
Calistoga_Guy
By Calistoga_Guy (11 months ago)

Forget all the features, did Canon improve the image quality/image sensor? Nope. It's a good camera to skip based on that alone, same for the Pentax K3.

The Sony A77 is one I passed on and being a Sony shooter, it was a huge let down. I guess it can be forgiven because the A77 has so much tech packed into it. And while I passed on the high ISO issue alone, it does have that amazing dynamic range.

Another flop, like the Nikon D7100 or D5300, lots of extra pixels nobody was asking for trying to catch up to Sony, and did nothing to improve Canon's current APS-C situation, which shows them scoring dead last for image sensor performance. A two year old Sony NEX would crush it.

When do people start skipping all these high pixel count sensors already? A used FF Nikon D700 is looking really good right now, or a Sony A7. too many writers gushing over things, and glossing over the fact that image quality is going backwards for all brands or at best standing still.

9 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (11 months ago)

Sony A580 from 2010 still beats crap out of 70D in every single category of image quality - including low-light performance.

As for A77 - it's one of the best cameras in terms of image quality I ever used. It's dynamic range is on pair with Canon Full Frame cameras (!!!) beating crap out of everything they ever offered in APS-C market. Only drawback it got is low-light shooting, but as over 90% of my shots are made below ISO 400 anyway - I don't care.

5 upvotes
InTheMist
By InTheMist (11 months ago)

Congratulations Canon guys! Looks like a solid piece of kit.

5 upvotes
harold1968
By harold1968 (11 months ago)

I think Canon should have thought about giving the capability to use these extra pixels in the picture. Extra AF speed in live view is nice but with the legacy mirror box it's not a camera I would use for live view work.

1 upvote
giampierocialini
By giampierocialini (11 months ago)

Thank you . Great review as usual

0 upvotes
domina
By domina (11 months ago)

wish I could set the minimum shutter speed higher than the 1/250 this camera allows... why can't I set it at 1/500 or 1/1000?

0 upvotes
Hugo808
By Hugo808 (11 months ago)

Not much of a minimum is it?

Try the TV mode....

0 upvotes
domina
By domina (11 months ago)

Yeap I do use the Tv and M modes as well (both with auto-iso and manual-iso), but there many times I'd prefer the Av mode with a minimum 1/500 or 1/1000 shutter speed, but the camera's menu only allows up to a 1/250 minimum. Most of the time when I photograph both I and my photo's subject are moving fast. I see no reason why Canon should limit the minimum shutter speed in the menus, it's just software. An option for 1/500 and 1/1000 minimum shutter speed in the Av mode would make 70D much more useful for me.

1 upvote
mantra
By mantra (11 months ago)

hi
thanks a lot for the review
about this camera i miss the c1 c2 :(

0 upvotes
domina
By domina (11 months ago)

me too... why can't we have C1 and C2? It's just an extra position on the dial button. Canon should try to provide more utility to photographers and fix the various small details that make the camera too simple for advanced photogs... like the single C setting. We need at least two!

0 upvotes
rickyred
By rickyred (11 months ago)

Get a 7D

0 upvotes
Frank_NZ
By Frank_NZ (11 months ago)

Excellent review guys. Thank you. As for the little survey done on the predicted outcome. The average came out at 84% so a pretty close finish.

1 upvote
steelhead3
By steelhead3 (11 months ago)

catches up to the silver sony 77 and gets a gold award?

26 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (11 months ago)

Plays catch-up for live view AF.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Eleson
By Eleson (11 months ago)

@steelhead. I tried to find any reference to Sony on both the Movie AF and autofocus pages, but found none. That surprised me.
Is there other places where it would be more appropriate?

1 upvote
123Mike
By 123Mike (11 months ago)

It's always obvious that almost every reviewer that reviews many brands, are also Canon and or Nikon biased. Look at Fro for instance. This excuse for never even testing a Sony is that "Sony won't send me any demo equipment to test". I think Fro is worried that he would upset Canon and Nikon because he is getting goodies from them.
It might be the same deal with DPR.
Yes, Canon is catching up, but it's getting more praise than the A77 did. Good think many people aren't falling for it.
70D is a nice effort but it's got one major thing lacking: next generation IQ. It isn't there.

3 upvotes
Mirrorless Crusader
By Mirrorless Crusader (11 months ago)

DPR there is a flaw in your scoring system in that you don't seem to account for size, weight, or portability at all. For example, this camera and the E-M1 are listed in the same category (mid-range ILC/DSLR), but looking at the individual categories, you haven't factored in anywhere how much smaller, lighter, and more travel friendly the E-M5 and its corresponding lens options are compared to the 70D. This is a huge thing for many people to consider when choosing a camera, and again, you put these two in the same category, so it is totally unfair not to factor this into your score, especially the value score. You say the E-M1 is equal to or better than the 70D at everything except video, but that it is a far worse value. The fact is that a lot of the E-M1's value comes from its portability compared to a DSLR and I think you are failing to consider that in your scores.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
14 upvotes
Tord S Eriksson
By Tord S Eriksson (11 months ago)

The Sony A7/A7r weighs around a pound, and so does the OM-D E-M1, while the 70D weighs about as much as my D600 (even closer in weight is the Pentax K-3!).

If I ever buy another DSLR/MILC it will have to be light, but the sad thing about the new players from Olympus and Sony is that part of the weight-saving is done by using very small batteries, thus these two marvels can only take about a third as many shots per charge as the D600, or the 70D!

That's really a pity, and one of them doesn't even come with a charger!

0 upvotes
TorsteinH
By TorsteinH (11 months ago)

You have obviously not used the new mrrorless cameras. If you had done so you would have known that the camera body is less than half the equation. The camera needs a object called lens....

1 upvote
Plastek
By Plastek (11 months ago)

"DPR there is a flaw in your scoring system in that you don't seem to account for size, weight, or portability at all." - It's not a flaw, it's a feature.

I know that some people on dPreview imagine that low weight and small size are the most important features of a camera, but in fact: They're not. There's very, very few types of photography where low weight can be of ANY benefit at all (notably: travel photography. Perhaps also street to a limited degree).

What you ask for is kinda like asking them to add scoring for available color version - sure, that can be important for some people, and some types of photography (teenager parties) - but in large scope of things it's a marginal factor.

If anything - considering that pros often shoot with cameras like D1 or 1D or 5D+Grip - low weight and size can be considered a disadvantage (less stable grip, worse balance with larger lenses, more twiddly to operate, etc.). So... I guess it evens out? +1 for low weight -1 for low weight = 0.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
Stu 5
By Stu 5 (11 months ago)

Tord you might have missed this on the review of the 70D;

Disappointing battery life in live view mode.

Also a couple of ext a batteries is still going to be a lot less weight than a much larger camera and lens range.

0 upvotes
Olymore
By Olymore (11 months ago)

Size and weight are very subjective as a quick browse of these forums will show you.
Small and light is good for me but I don't think DPR should condemn or praise a camera of this type for that.
After all you may be a wildlife shooter using long lenses or a street photographer using small primes.

1 upvote
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (11 months ago)

@ MirrorlessCrusader - as the replies above have pointed out - size and weight aren't paramount to everybody. Pro DSLRs, for instance, tend to be big, lumpy beasts, but are unsurpassed at what they do, so it wouldn't make sense to mark them down for not being small.

Equally, the original Pentax Q was small compared to its mirrorless peers, but not compared with the Nikon P310 which had the same sensor (and brighter lens than the Q kit zoom), so does that mean compacts should be weighted as better than mirrorless cameras, despite the IQ deficit?

My point is: people can see when a camera is smaller and they can decide for themselves whether that's important for them. We may factor it in to the award at the end of the review, if we found it convenient, but it doesn't make sense to include it in the scoring.

1 upvote
phazelag
By phazelag (11 months ago)

The lack of focus in continuous burst is a deal breaker, and they give it lower scores on image quality and still give it a gold award. Canon and nikon are selling to the old guard. Sony, Panasonic, and Olympus can move to the top if they educate the consumers better.

13 upvotes
Tord S Eriksson
By Tord S Eriksson (11 months ago)

Sony and Olympus just have too small batteries for my liking, but I do like low weight cameras!

0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (11 months ago)

Tord S Eriksson - I think he was referring to A-mount, which is using as big batteries as 70D ;) (though still less "juice" due to EVF eating bettery)

0 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (11 months ago)

Sony, Panasonic, Olympus don't have the complete System like Nikon and Canon have. You have to give the consumer a pretty big reason to stray away from that.

2 upvotes
123Mike
By 123Mike (11 months ago)

I'm amazed how long a battery on my A57 lasts. It's like all day long on one single battery, and I don't even turn it off.
Plus I bought a backup battery for $10 delivered to the door. Works about 75% as good. Batteries are a non issue. Change battery, big deal.

Comment edited 45 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Eleson
By Eleson (10 months ago)

@tkbslc
So in your mind, that's why it should get a gold award?

1 upvote
jkokich
By jkokich (11 months ago)

Plays catch up to Sony... That says it all.

Comment edited 16 seconds after posting
14 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (11 months ago)

Those negatives urge caution. PLEASE 2 card slots on so expensive a camera.

5 upvotes
makofoto
By makofoto (11 months ago)

Test video clip with the 18/135 STM lens on the 70D ... see how it holds focus as I zoom in at the end:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfbxMfSQk14

1 upvote
Bjorn_L
By Bjorn_L (11 months ago)

I appreciate you posting your video but it does not really demonstrate anything superlative about the camera. The camera work and shooting in to the light resulted in a video which taken on its own was not very good.
A for effort though.

0 upvotes
domina
By domina (11 months ago)

looks good thanks for posting!

0 upvotes
DenisBBergeron
By DenisBBergeron (11 months ago)

Studio Comparison
WHy comparing sharpness and colors from two DSLR cameras without the same lens and without even telling which lens are used on the two camera.

Are we comparing a camera with a Noname 8-600mm f3.5-6.7 @f3.5 and the other with Super Zeiss Tacomar 85mm f1.0 @f5 ?

0 upvotes
bcalkins
By bcalkins (11 months ago)

There is an 'I' in the lower right you can hover over and find out which lens is used: both shot at f/5.6 on the 50mm f/1.4 lenses...

10 upvotes
photosen
By photosen (11 months ago)

I've seldom agreed so much with DPreview... "The cutting-edge stalwart" just about sums it up... "a sensible, indeed desirable upgrade to the EOS 60D".

I was expecting a really boring 70D and was happily surprised; when I have the money it's going very difficult to say no to it, even though I follow what other brands are doing, and in spite of the full frame siren calls... it just does everything I need it to do, and opens a couple of interesting avenues with wifi and that new autofocus...

2 upvotes
raincoat
By raincoat (11 months ago)

Honestly, given how terrible 60D was, good to see a good 70D.

1 upvote
tkbslc
By tkbslc (11 months ago)

60D was terrible?

3 upvotes
photo nuts
By photo nuts (11 months ago)

The 60D was one of my all time favorite cameras.

3 upvotes
domina
By domina (11 months ago)

lots of things I like in 60D were removed in 70D... such as the ability to change focusing screens, or to use contrast-detection autofocus in liveview (now you *have* to use the dual-pixel AF which isn't as accurate as the contrast-detection AF). The inability of 70D to change focusing screens is what keeps me at 60D.

0 upvotes
rickyred
By rickyred (11 months ago)

Canon also took away the wonderful AF of the 60D and gave us the horrible AF of the 7D. I hope they kept those wonderful mushy buttons too.

0 upvotes
justmeMN
By justmeMN (11 months ago)

I'm outraged! How DARE DPR say anything nice about a Canon camera! :-)

10 upvotes
ProfHankD
By ProfHankD (11 months ago)

There is plenty nice to say about the 70D, but it doesn't really earn the scoring DPReview gave it. For example, according to DPReview, this beats the Sony NEX-7 83:81 primarily due to higher scores on "value" and "ergonomics" -- despite the fact that the 2-years-older NEX-7 is cheaper and still matches or outperforms it on just about every directly measurable property.

DPReview has a well-established history of giving Canon a few extra points just for being Canon... but many people give extra points to the sales leader in any market just for being the market leader. I pay more attention to the actual data/measurements DPReview & DxOMark give rather than the glowing prose and highly subjective final scoring summary....

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
11 upvotes
domina
By domina (11 months ago)

I never read what score reviewers give, I always only read the actual tests and measurements.

1 upvote
tkbslc
By tkbslc (11 months ago)

No way any NEX beats a Canon DSLR on ergonomics and usability, sorry.

2 upvotes
RStyga
By RStyga (11 months ago)

I can't see how this sensor is competitive in the APS-C arena today, especially at high-ISO. K-500 provides significantly better high-ISO IQ. 70D's 'new' sensor is as disappointing as 50D's was, when released, back then. The Gold Award is an overall assessment of how much DPR 'likes' this camera... I think I don't 'like' it as much...

29 upvotes
photo nuts
By photo nuts (11 months ago)

K-500 with its in-built non-removable high ISO NR for RAW files? No thanks.

6 upvotes
RStyga
By RStyga (11 months ago)

That was an example... you take a pick.

0 upvotes
photo nuts
By photo nuts (11 months ago)

I picked Sony Nex-6 and Nikon D7100. All look comparable to me at ISO 6400 RAW. Only the K-500 has strikingly low noise, at the expense of image details.

3 upvotes
Gordon L
By Gordon L (11 months ago)

have a peek at the IQ at high ISO compared to the Fuji XM1, the Fuji blows it out of the water.

0 upvotes
proxy
By proxy (11 months ago)

granted XM1 is cleaner... but also with a bit less detail

0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (11 months ago)

Fuji got different ISOs than Nikon, Canon or Sony. You should check exposure time - usually Fuji got much longer exposures for same ISO/f-stop combination.
So you can't really compare ISO 6400 on Canon to ISO 6400 on Fuji - in a field you would use much lower ISO on Canon.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
rickyred
By rickyred (11 months ago)

If High iso and DR is high on your list, just get a full frame. I think when Canon revels the 7D 2 it will leave every crop sensor behind. Has any one here used a 7D with a 70-200 F4 l? or any prime L lens?

0 upvotes
Zigadiboom
By Zigadiboom (11 months ago)

This is no doubt a solid camera. To put it into perspective it costs less than the Sony RX10 which is something I consider seriously overpriced despite being a good concept. Yet it is Canon and Nikon that are seemingly getting criticised left right and centre for everything they do.

I will agree however that it would have been nice if the 70D being an APSC had noticeably better image quality and high ISO performance than the best of what the M43s have to offer. But the gap has narrowed considerably making this camera still a good choice but a less decisive purchase than what it could have been.

2 upvotes
harold1968
By harold1968 (11 months ago)

That's more to do with the quality of its sensor vs the latest sony ones then the quality of M43s.
A last generation APS-C sensor will only be marginally better then a current generation M43s sensor, just as in the APS-c vs ff equation, but a latest generation APS-c sensor will be substantially better.
M43s doesn't really stand up to Fuji-x or even the Nex-7 in terms of dynamic range or low light sensitivity

1 upvote
Plastek
By Plastek (11 months ago)

"marginally better" ? o_O right..... keep on saying that to yourself. I seen shots from EM1 (m43 in a price of barely-used Full frame) and you start seeing loss of details from ISO200. Something unimaginable on an APS-C sensor.

Comment edited 59 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Olymore
By Olymore (11 months ago)

Well considering it uses a Sony sensor it should be about 2/3rds of a stop difference between the similar Sony sensors in many cameras in raw. And as the improvements in the latest Sony sensors have been marginal I suggest your 'loss of detail at ISO 200' is more in your fevered imagination than based on reality. Unless you were looking at default JPEGs of course.
You don't shoot default setting JPEGs do you ?

0 upvotes
nstam
By nstam (11 months ago)

on page 13, on the first graphic do you mean the 70D? currently written is the 6D... but i fail to reckon why 6D would be mentioned there.

1 upvote
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (11 months ago)

The menus are the same, so that shot was carried-over. I've corrected the caption.

0 upvotes
Abu Mahendra
By Abu Mahendra (11 months ago)

Good thing you managed to rush this review before the 80D is released. Next time take your sweet time. No rush...

6 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (11 months ago)

Something you fail to appreciate is that we don't get cameras to review as soon as they're announced. There was a considerable gap between product announcement and availability of 'shipping' products, (which we actually filled with a ton of content).

34 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (11 months ago)

How long does it take to do a full review?
Normally....

0 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (11 months ago)

Gosh DPR, how dare you provide free expert and thorough reviews for people at any other time than the day of the camera shipping! The nerve! I'm entitled to free information of the highest caliber and your opinion as respected and experienced gear reviewers/photographers on day one, dbags! The internet is there for me and your schedule, budget constraints, and being at the mercy of each camera manufacturer for a camera to review is unacceptable! NOWNOWNOWNOWNOWMEMEMEMEMEMEFREEFREEFREEMEMEMEMEMEMEMEMEMEM! ME!

12 upvotes
Simon Joinson
By Simon Joinson (11 months ago)

@segaman: uninterrupted it takes about 4 weeks

10 upvotes
Segaman
By Segaman (11 months ago)

Thanks

1 upvote
rfsIII
By rfsIII (11 months ago)

Heavens! But that just shows why DPReviews are so good, you people really put the work in. Keep at it.

0 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (11 months ago)

It's just another incremental upgrade in a line of cameras stretching back 12 years or so. It should be the 10Dsssss

0 upvotes
WhiteHotPhotos
By WhiteHotPhotos (11 months ago)

4 weeks for a full review!?!? Accck!! How many weeks are left then until the full review is done on the Nikon D610? Since it came out 2 weeks ago are you 2 weeks into it yet??? I am dying to see more test results on that shutter....

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (11 months ago)

4 weeks uninterrrupted. Take a look at our news feed for the past month and you'll see plenty of interruptions ;)

1 upvote
ageha
By ageha (11 months ago)

I hope you're not wasting your time with a D610 review.

0 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (11 months ago)

Give DPR a break.

Its better they take a longer time than just write a superficial review. There are other reviews elsewhere.

2 upvotes
Dougbm_2
By Dougbm_2 (11 months ago)

I wish they would consistently place the ISO button at the far right (as it was on the 50D) or even somewhat separated as per the 700D. The raised pimple on the button is not enough to find and adjust this major exposure adjustment quickly. As for the back scroll pad …ugh - (reasons I switched my 60D that I had for 18 months to a 5OD).

1 upvote
Bill Bentley
By Bill Bentley (11 months ago)

Totally agree on the control pad and dial. It was the reason I passed on the 60D and went with the 600D, and it's the reason I'm passing on this model too. Just too cheap feeling.

0 upvotes
CameraLabTester
By CameraLabTester (11 months ago)

When there is nothing more to improve... Canon lab rats play around with the buttons, the innovative manufacturing way of twiddling their paws...

.

2 upvotes
domina
By domina (11 months ago)

Yeap, really they totally failed the 60D/70D with this ISO button placement. It must be somewhere separate or even have its own dial.

0 upvotes
makofoto
By makofoto (11 months ago)

The DualPixel Phase detection AF works great for my sports photography ... here with a 300 mm at 5.6 ... holds focus until car leaves frame: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4p9xPejzow

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
Demon Cleaner
By Demon Cleaner (11 months ago)

I find it rather incongruous that a system of cameras with a much smaller sensor (m43) all but matches the 70D for image quality, yet DPR still gives IQ an extraordinarily high rating. Go figure.

29 upvotes
ET2
By ET2 (11 months ago)

"much smaller sensor (m43)"

m43 is smaller but it's not "much" smaller. It's only 1.4 times smaller than Canon APSC.

0 upvotes
NevilN
By NevilN (11 months ago)

Quotes from the conclusion:
"The EOS 70D may be the best SLR for live view autofocus, but when compared to Sony's SLTs and many mirrorless offerings, such as the Olympus OM-D E-M1, it rather plays catch-up."
"In terms of image quality the 70D is essentially on a par with its rivals. The Nikon D7100 captures a fraction more resolution but the 70D comes closer to offering comparable low-light performance. This isn't enough to stop the Olympus OM-D E-M1 closing much of the gap on the Canon, despite its smaller sensor - leaving anyone without an existing investment in lenses with a tough decision to make."
m43 does has something really good to offer.

6 upvotes
raincoat
By raincoat (11 months ago)

" It's only 1.4 times smaller than Canon APSC."

That's almost a stop right there.

8 upvotes
D1N0
By D1N0 (11 months ago)

oly are prbbly still cheating on their iso value.

2 upvotes
Eleson
By Eleson (10 months ago)

Thanks NevilN!
I didn't see that text, but separating out DSLR's from other ILC offers surely makes a lot here much more understandeable.

But it sure is a strange limitation...

0 upvotes
Total comments: 632
2345