Previous page Next page

Wi-Fi connectivity

The Canon EOS 70D becomes the latest of the company's cameras to include Wi-Fi capability. It's still an unusual feature to find built into a DSLR, but one we think will be increasingly widely used. 802.11b/g/n standards and, according to Canon, has a transmission range of up to 30m/98.4 ft. Be aware that movie mode is disabled when Wi-Fi is active and any physical connection to a computer or printer will be broken.

The full list of features offers is as follows:

  • Transfer images between Wi-Fi enabled Canon cameras
  • Connect to smartphone or tablet (via EOS Remote)
  • Remote control from PC (via EOS Utility)
  • Print from Wi-Fi enabled printer
  • Upload to web service (e.g. Canon iMage Gateway)
  • View images on DNLA-enabled devices (e.g. TVs)
With Wi-Fi enabled on the EOS 70D, you can transfer images to a compatible Canon camera, send them to a Wi-Fi enabled printer or media player or upload them to the Canon iMage Gateway web service (free registration required) which provides 10GB of online media storage and sharing options for social media. You can also send 1920 x 1280px images to a smartphone or tablet.

Although we'll mainly concentrate on connecting the EOS 70D to a smart device, it's also possible to use Wi-Fi to connect the camera to a PC and control it using Canon's EOS Utility. This means it's also possible to use a 'tethered' connection to other software that can connect via these means, such as Adobe's Lightroom.

The camera can save up to three presets for the connections you regularly make - with the aim of making re-connection faster.

EOS Remote (Android/iOS)

One of the main uses we find for in-camera Wi-Fi is the ability to get images off the camera, either for showing to other people or sharing on the internet, while away from a computer. Whether it's demonstrating an image to its subject or providing them with a JPEG, or simply documenting a weekend away on a social network, it can be a convenient feature.

The Canon implementation is comprehensive but also overly complicated. For instance, rather than just allowing a smartphone to connect to the camera, it's also possible to connect the 70D to a smartphone by connecting both devices via a common Wi-Fi network (The snappily named 'infrastructure' mode). And it's here that the connection presets both help and hinder - while they make it easier to re-establish connections if you're regularly using multiple connection methods, the need to constantly define a preset every time you make a new connection is slow and frustrating.

You can speed things up a little by adding the Wi-Fi option to the custom 'My Menu' tab, but that's not a huge improvement. Ultimately you can tell a lot about how capable and how complex the EOS 70D's Wi-Fi is by the fact the company produces a 174-page pdf detailing all its features (there's also a 36-page 'Basic Instruction Manual' that explains the key points).

Once connected, the EOS Remote app gives you the choice of either browsing the images on the camera or remotely controlling its shooting.

Remote shooting

The remote shooting section of the app gives a reasonable degree of control over the camera. You can set the camera's focus point and get it to focus. By default the app is set to focus and trigger the shutter at the same time, but there's a menu option to add an AF acquire button to the interface (the smaller circular 'button' in these screen shots).

You're able to control ISO, exposure compensation and whichever primary shooting parameters are available from the exposure mode the camera is set to.

The basic screen shows the focus point and some basic shooting settings. Pressing the 'Info' button at the top of the screen cycles through the levels of shooting details shown.

The smaller of the two circular buttons on the right is optional and performs a focus acquisition.
Pressing the square 'sliders' button on the right of the window brings up icons for the major shooting parameters that can be controlled from the app.
For instance, here we've selected the ISO option, allowing the sensitivity to be controlled (or set to Auto).

Once a value has been selected, you have to press the 'return' arrow on the right, taking you back to the main preview screen. To change another setting, you have to re-press the 'sliders' button.

Once you've shot an image, a thumbnail of it appears in the lower right of the screen. Tapping on this shows a strip of images along the bottom of the screen. From here it's possible to perform a simple review of images, including the ability to zoom-in. There's no way of transfering from this image review mode to the full image review mode covered below.

Tapping on the thumbnail that appears at the bottom right after you shoot an image opens a filmstrip along the bottom of the screen.

Tapping on one of these thumbnails then allows you to review the images you've shot.
It's possible to zoom into these images by the usual two-fingertip pinch and spread touchscreen method.

Image review and transfer

All images and video on the SD card can be reviewed using the EOS Remote app. It supports familiar smartphone gestures such as pinching, swiping and double-tapping to browse through images.

When reviewing images you can display an overlay with filename, capture date and exposure settings. You can also rate images with 1-5 stars (as you can through the camera's menu) that can be read by Canon's Digital Photo Professional software.

From the image review section of the app you can rate images stored on the SD card and email or save 1920 x 1280 S2 JPEG versions to your device's image gallery. These are handy, but not useful for critical image analysis since you can't get an accurate idea of focus accuracy from such small files.

Transferring full resolution JPEG images to the web is possible, but only from the camera itself. To do that you must first use Canon's EOS Utility software (supplied with the 70D) to configure a compatible web service like Canon's iMage Gateway, Facebook or Twitter with the 70D connected to a computer via USB. Once configured, you can then upload single or multiple images via Wi-Fi at either full size, S2 or S3 resolution settings.

Overall impressions, and battery life

Overall, the 70D's Wi-Fi functionality is certainly comprehensive and, at a time when Nikon is providing Wi-Fi via rather awkward external adapters, could be seen as a selling point. The EOS Remote App is effective and provides a reasonable amount of control over the camera. However, in comparison with Olympus and Fujifilm's setup systems, the comprehensive nature of the Canon approach counts against it - adding complexity and extra steps.

Inevitably though, the 70D's connectivity functionality does have an impact on battery life. When Wi-Fi is turned on (likewise GPS) the 70D's battery will drain noticeably over time. This doesn't only apply when you're actively using the camera - it also has an impact on battery life when the 70D enters sleep mode. If you're in the habit of leaving your DSLR to go into sleep mode rather than turning it off (as many photographers are) and Wi-Fi and GPS are turned off, the 70D's power management is the same as every other EOS DSLR. You can grab your camera days after putting it into sleep mode and your battery level will be effectively unchanged from the last time you used it.

If, however, you let the camera go to sleep with Wi-Fi/GPS enabled, the 70D will drain its battery during sleep, to the extent that if you leave the camera for a couple of days, you may well find the battery significantly drained, if not exhausted.

Previous page Next page

Comments

Total comments: 623
1234
lakel4444
By lakel4444 (1 week ago)

Hello. I'm a teenager looking to upgrade from my samsung nx300. Would the Canon EOS 70d be a good option for a first-dslr? Or should I go with another camera/brand.

Thanks

0 upvotes
ConnieE
By ConnieE (3 weeks ago)

Hello, just my two cents worth. I own a 5dMarkII but wanted a cheaper alternative for distance so I bought the 70d. I was waiting on the 7D replacement but there was a special deal of no tax (plus I had a trade in). Anyway, I bought the 70d.

Pros- I love the touch screen! The number of focus points over my 5DMarkII are wonderful.

Cons- I feel the noise at higher ISO is much more prevalent than in my MarKII.

I wish I had waiting on the 7D replacement. I must say I am a bit disappointed.

Comment edited 38 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Donie
By Donie (1 month ago)

Help...
Is this video telling the truth?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cA6JnzYSDJE

has anyone tried it comparing the center af point OVF vs liveview on a fast lens?

0 upvotes
Cowboy59
By Cowboy59 (3 weeks ago)

Hi Donnie. Yes he is. I ordered a new Canon 70D the first week of May, prior to seeing this video. Once I saw the video I was concerned and decided to run my own test using my 16-35 f2.8 canon lens. I mounted the camera on a tripod and took a picture using the center focus through the viewfinder and 1 using the LCD. The results were noticeably different. In truth my understanding is that in everyday use most folks would never have an issue. I did not want to deal with the issue and decided to spend more money and get a full frame 6D, which has had the price reduced. So I was glad to be notified of the issue. Also, I rarely shoot video so the 6D ultimately was a better choice for me. You can see the difference in the two pictures I took at

https://plus.google.com/112234290451465240825/posts/BScy5CBkUB2

0 upvotes
Liomar Marques Jlio
By Liomar Marques Jlio (4 days ago)

The 6D was better for video??

0 upvotes
Liomar Marques Jlio
By Liomar Marques Jlio (4 days ago)

Well, this yes and no. He complains that microadjustment "should always work". In my experience, it varies a lot with focal distance.
And to focus on a thing on the same plane, well, that was the kind of scene were contrast detection would to better.
And honestly, I could not see a difference in most of the pictures.
but the best way to confirm: try it. As he said, it is not easy to reproduce, so will be hard to confirm, or meet on real life.
It's personal, but I wouldn't defer a purchase based on that video.
And as for most cameras, takin' it in your hands is way better to choose than read all reviews.

0 upvotes
bidgee
By bidgee (1 month ago)

Hi I am upgrading from a Canon EOS 550D and I was using a EYE-FI card with this camera, will the 16 Eye fi card work with EOS 70D

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

@sevoman
So far, the xxD line has consistently shown these advantages over the Rebel range (also known as the xxxD range):
- bigger build with better handling and weather sealing
- aluminium chassis, combined with plastic (a benefit often ignored because it's wrongly considered inferior to magnesium allow)
- expanded AF zones with more points being cross type
- faster burst rates for continuous shooting (70D = 7fps)
- top LCD control panel combined with greater number of external controls and switches
- and will usually sport features which the xxD range inherit from the xD range, in the case of the 70D it is built in WiFi as featured in the 6D.
In the case of the 70D, it offers all of the above vs the 700D and sports a new higher resolution sensor with improved AF performance in Live View and in Video.
You can also add in-camera aberration correction for 40 Canon lenses at a time (using EOS Utility) where the camera will correct for vignetting and colour fringing

Comment edited 29 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
sevoman
By sevoman (2 months ago)

Thanks! Since the eventual t6i would be coming out after the current 70D, would the t6i have less AF points or possibly not have the dual pixel tech? I am assuming since it's coming out after the 70d they woiuld include the some of these essential features.

0 upvotes
tinpanalley
By tinpanalley (2 months ago)

Essentially, imagewise in video, the 70D and 7D have the same sensor and image quality, right? So you don't gain anything other than a negligible amount of megapixels in photos?

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

How do you figure that the sensors on the 7D (18MP) and 70D (20MP) are the same for video? Especially since the 70D uses dual pixel technology, which is an inherent feature of the actual sensor?
That is why the 70D is so much better at AF in Live View and Video. As such, the image quality, if considered across the duration of a video clip, is better for the 70D because more of it is in focus...
The 7D would only be better all-round if it came down to handling, AF zones and ruggedness.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
sevoman
By sevoman (2 months ago)

Quick question regarding the 70D. I want to purchase this but I am wondering what the eventual T6i would offer over and above the 70D. I am not sure how the "Ti" line and the xxD lines compare and if the xxD models are always better than the Ti lines? I checked the 60D vs T5i and the 60D seemed to be better. Can anyone explain these different classes of Canon cameras? Thanks in advance!

0 upvotes
Banhmi
By Banhmi (1 month ago)

most critical issue will be whether the new t6i/750d will get the 70D's autofocus system.

1 upvote
Jostian
By Jostian (2 months ago)

for video 70D definitely, I recently got the 7D (I dont do video at all) and preferred the pro grade build and additional AF options.

0 upvotes
MAUROSHINE
By MAUROSHINE (2 months ago)

Hey guys!, any advise? I'm more video fanatic than photography. Which one will be better for video, the 7D or the 70D?
I really appreciate your comments!!

Thanks!!!

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

70D, no doubt about that....

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

Also, unless you are already invested in Canon lenses, for video you should look at mirrorless options, especially the Olympus and Panasonic options.

0 upvotes
cshafiey
By cshafiey (2 months ago)

I have a Canon 40D, with sensor issues, which will cost around $250 to fix. I would also like to play around with video, even though stills are my bread and butter. Would you suggest upgrading to a 70D or what should I do?

I am a student (not in photography), so its a big decision in terms of the money.

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

If you're already invested in Canon lenses, the 70D would be the logical choice from a 40D.
You should also look at the 700D, which is not as fast as the 70D on AF in live view or video, and which is more compact, but which delivers great stills and has it's own relatively good hybrid AF system for video. It also boasts articulated LCD with touchscreen.
If you dont have any Canon lenses other than the kit lens you got with your 40D, you could afford to look really wide and could even consider the Nikon D5300...
Happy snapping!

0 upvotes
Vmo9
By Vmo9 (2 months ago)

I owned this camera for a few months, then sold it. I was hoping for a higher burst rate, better time to write, and faster auto focus. Perhaps looking for the updated Canon 7D, which I now patiently wait for.

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

Faster than 7.5 fps in jpg...?
Only option is the 7D at 8 fps or you'll have to skip to 1Dx...
Similarly, this is as deep as it gets on burst shots in this category.
Unless you're referring to RAW, and even then you're out of options.
It may be that your AF experience is as a result of the glass you paired with the camera because the AF can not get any faster on my camera even if I wanted when I use any of my EF(L) lenses or even the kit lens (18-135 STM).
And that goes for the optical viewfinder as well as live view.
But, you have to trust your system and if it did not work for you, it's better to do what you did and change.
Happy snapping!

0 upvotes
JMKPHOTOGRAPHY
By JMKPHOTOGRAPHY (3 weeks ago)

What were your settings...what mode were you shooting in and what card do you own???

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (2 months ago)

Coudy. So why are you so concerned about wifi on you DSLR. If you want to send them to someone just take the pics with your phone. The picture quality will be about the same because the are compressed to be sent from you phone. Buying a camera with this option is a waste of money and the wifi rarely works well. Anytime you send something through wifi you lose data and therefore quality. Canon and nikon use the wifi thing as a sales gimic because they no longer build good cameras. Most amateurs don't understand this. Kind of like the megapixel thing. The human eye cannot tell the difference between 10 mp and 20 mp. Its a sales ploy. I use an older Nikon D90 ar 10 mp that will out perform any of the new cameras. Of course you need a good lense. Not one of the cheapies that come in a kit.

1 upvote
garryjames
By garryjames (2 months ago)

Dear RickC452: I find WiFi very useful for nature photography. I set up my Canon 6D camera on a tripod near a bird's nest. Retreat to a blind, watch the camera image on my iPad and activate the shuttle when the scene is right. I've got a few prizes for images taken in this way. As for the number of pixels, more pixels allows you to crop down while maintaining image quality. Also more pixels allows for larger prints. I find I can print larger sizes and get "image snap" that i couldn't get with my older 8 and 10 meg sensors. One wants to print images at 200 dpi if possible to maintain snap while viewing prints within a 3' to 5' range. a 20 megapixel sensor will allow prints up to 18" x 27" under these criteria.

2 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

Your opinion on this is factually incorrect.
The picture taken by the DSLR will have benefitted from zoom, image stabilisation, enhanced jpg processing, improved low light performance - things a cell phone camera cant do. And the picture is not as badly compressed as you make out when sent to a smartphone.
I think you are really missing the point.
Apparently you have a Pentax and a Nikon D90 which you consider adequate if not superior, really no need for you to troll the 70D page only to bash it.
The wifi option also gives you full remote control over the 70D so as to remotely adjust and actuate it - that's hardly a gimmick...

2 upvotes
PazinBoise
By PazinBoise (2 months ago)

While Wi-Fi is not a necessity for everyone you act as if it is completely pointless. More and more pros (and amateurs too) are using the wi-fi features that cameras offer for quick uploads and remote shooting. Again it is not a feature everyone will need or use, but it is helpful. Just like having more megapixels. In most cases 10mp is adequate as but with 20mp (assuming the sensor is the same size) you have the ability to resolve more detail and crop photos a lot more while maintaining higher levels of detail. Again for most practical shooting this isn't really needed but for some shooters the extra MPs are worth it. Judging from your comments you don't seem to be one who embraces new technologies too often.

1 upvote
Coudy
By Coudy (1 month ago)

Just realized that EOS app transfer photos to smartphone stripping any EXIF information from the photo. Wanted to sync GPS with my camera's time (for GEOSetter) and I had to take the SD card out in to the computer to read exif date digitized instead of just check time difference using smartphone and EOS app. dont understand why would wifi transfer remove all EXIF information from a photo!!

0 upvotes
Coudy
By Coudy (2 months ago)

Sharing photos using smartphone and EOS remote app issues.
Can anyone help me find the solution for this? Here is the deal.
I am out in the woods with only mobile network available for internet access.
I am connected to my smartphone using wifi with my Canon 70D.
Now everything works as long as I don't try to send the image directly or indirectly using apps like whatsapp, skype, email right away.

Android phones have priority for wifi over mobile networks, while in most cases that is desirable, it is not in the case of sharing photos while wifi is on but isn't connected to internet AND mobile data connection is.
So you are stuck with downloading your photos to your smartphone, disconnecting from the camera and sending using mobile data connection once wifi isnt connected. Why the heck is there the option for sharing in EOS remote app? For other scenarios??

Did I miss some option how to have canon 70D wifi connected and still be on the internet using mobile data (SIM card)??

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

In essence, yes - you would have to download to your phone and then share.
The limitation of not being able to simultaneously run data on wifi and 3G/LTE (GSM), is a phone problem.
The Samsung S5 and Note3 can do so but not all Android devices can - a general rule of thumb is that phones with the ability to tether data from a GSM signal to a WiFi signal ('hotspot') should be able to run data side by side on GSM and WiFi.
I have no problem using my Note3 to share pictures directly from the EOS App on an internet based platform while being connected to the camera on WiFi.
PS, some Android devices will disconnect Mobile Data when you activate WiFi and you have to then manually switch Mobile Data back on while on WiFi - make sure your device is not doing this, especially if you are using certain Sony or LG devices.

Comment edited 9 minutes after posting
1 upvote
white shadow
By white shadow (2 months ago)

RickC452 is right. Unless you are a photojournalist one seldom send photos taken by a DSLR so much in a hurry. Just use a smartphone for casual shots. I almost never send any DSLR quality photos by wifi. Photos taken by a DSLR should be treated more seriously. They may need more post-processing and later down sizing before they qualify to be sent out by wifi or shared by other means.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
drigomf
By drigomf (2 months ago)

The characteristic of having more megapixels is more an advantage for those who need this resource. You should take into account the destination of the material beyond the digital medium. If a photographer clicks a scene destined to fill the space of the side of a building with an ad, it definitely has to be taken into account when shooting with more megapixels. Basic thing.

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (2 months ago)

One more thing. The pentax has in camera stableization not in the lens like canon and Nikon. That's what makes it work so well with older lenses. Canon and Nikon don't want you using older lenses. They want you money.

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (2 months ago)

non stabilized lenses can work nicely on Canon. A lens without IS is not useless. A non IS lens does not become invalid when a new IS lens in same range shows up.
In some applications IS actually have no use.

1 upvote
RickC452
By RickC452 (2 months ago)

The only thing the Pentax doesn't have is an external mic port. But no body in their right mind does pro video work with a DSLR anyway. And you can get it a wild assortment of colors. Check it out, use one and you will also dump canon and Nikon like I did.

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (2 months ago)

many pros are actually making film with dslr.

1 upvote
Mohsensh
By Mohsensh (2 months ago)

I'm a director and I have taken such great video shots with 5DII and 7D. Many pro people use this cameras for filming

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (2 months ago)

Your all missing out on the best camera out there in their in the mid price range. The Pentax K 50. Better than both the canon and the Nikon and cheaper. I switched because both canons and nikons are getting cheap in their builds. And the pentax can use any pentax lense ever made. I'm using a 135 mm f2.0 from the 80s with awsome results.

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (2 months ago)

nice for you. But this is a Canon camera review. Both Nikon and Canon have larger range of cameras and going more to the high end than pentax does with their K-mount.

1 upvote
bull detector
By bull detector (2 months ago)

So the 70d is out for 10mnths and i would like to know have the auto focus problems been sorted out or are we still have serious problems!!!!!? well just asking!

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (2 months ago)

What problem are you referring to?

0 upvotes
Donie
By Donie (1 month ago)

he's referring to the AF problem when using the center AF point on the ovf?
See this video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cA6JnzYSDJE

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (3 months ago)

Awesome camera - the best mid sized DSLR available today and sorry, but better than the Nikon D7100.
They both take great pictures but the Canon is in another league when it comes to handling - the touchscreen, the wifi option using the EOS App on a smartphone... great!
The wifi was super simple to setup - the app allows remote trigger, exposure setting, ISO/aperture setting and focus area setting and screen mirroring (with camera in live view ). The creative options are endless!
I've shot about 500 pictures with a Sigma 50-150mm, f/2.8 EX APO DC HSM lens and the AF is pin sharp in stills whether you use the opt viewfinder, or live view or video. You can of course fine tune AF on the 70D if necessary but I didn't need to.
I love this camera, the balance between size, handling, features, performance and price point is great. Get it!

1 upvote
marc petzold
By marc petzold (3 months ago)

better than D7100? what are you smoking? plastique build, instead of a mag-alloy case like the D7100, one SD Card Slot, instead of 2 on the D7100. AA Filter - the D7100 doesn't have it, and last but least: check out DxOMark, the D70 is just another iteration with the same in terms of IQ...now with phase detection, but apart this, always the same IQ since virtually the EOS 550D.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (3 months ago)

LoL - I suppose we can go round and round - 70D has articulated LCD with touch screen (including touch directed focus point), 7 fps with greater buffer and the video functionality is overall of much greater performance.
Not true that 70D is plastic - it's aluminium chasis with dust and moisture seals.
I agree that dual card slots would have been nice but it's just that - nice. It's greatest use is perhaps dedicating the one to video and the other to stills, or RAW and JPEG - but that's not a big deal.
The Nikon has a slight edge in terms of stills and dynamic range, the Canon has the edge in terms of video and handling (did I mention the creative options provided by wifi such as remote trigger??)
Another thing that I dont like with the D7100 is the vertical battery grip - 1 battery goes in the camera and the other in the grip magazine which means you have to remove the grip to charge the battery in the camera. The Canon takes both in the magazine (which was also true for the Nikon D90, but for some reason they changed it). I suppose you could consider a 3rd party grip...
Horses for courses I guess!

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (3 months ago)

Another great site for reviews had this to say on the 70D vs D7100:
http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_EOS_70D/verdict.shtml

One can't go wrong either way and it boils down to the lenses you've invested in. Happy snapping!

0 upvotes
bull detector
By bull detector (2 months ago)

Every where on line the 70d have serious auto focus problems!!! After 10 months canon should have sort it out

1 upvote
RickC452
By RickC452 (2 months ago)

But not better than the Pentax K50

0 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (2 months ago)

DSLRs are system cameras. The "best" camera is from the system you are most familiar with and has invested the most lenses. Most professional sports or event photographers would swear by the Canon 1DX but if a newbie get his hand on one he would most likely be baffled. His first reaction would be why it is so heavy and "complicated".

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
1 upvote
bertwert
By bertwert (3 months ago)

I wish I had this camera...
I guess I will settle with the SL1 when I buy it.
:-(

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (2 months ago)

But the Pentax K50 instead. You won't be sorry

0 upvotes
focuscz
By focuscz (3 months ago)

What basic problem with noise at EOS 70D is, that high ISOs changed white ballance strongly and every picture differently... http://www.canonklub.cz/clanky/canon-eos-70d-kompletni-test-sumu-180-fotografii?page=0,1

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (3 months ago)

What WB mode did you use?

0 upvotes
manas0210
By manas0210 (3 months ago)

live view shooting is more accurate than the optics.

0 upvotes
Mazyar camera
By Mazyar camera (3 months ago)

Hey guys is this device have a autofocus problem?

0 upvotes
Centauro1974
By Centauro1974 (3 months ago)

Have you guys with the 70D are having focus issues through the viewfinder, specially when using wide apertures from f1.2 - 2.8.
I been getting a lot of soft pictures, but I thought it was me. Now a few days ago I watch this video and now I'm not so sure.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cA6JnzYSDJE

0 upvotes
jddphotographydsm
By jddphotographydsm (3 months ago)

So far, so good! been shooting sporting events, weddings, and seniors with my 70D, 15-50 2.8, 50 1.8, and 70-200 2.8. Beautiful work, and I love the touch screen & wifi built in. Full manual control via smartphone is brilliant!

3 upvotes
Amin M
By Amin M (3 months ago)

nice

0 upvotes
DYoda
By DYoda (3 months ago)

After reading the optic review, I fear I made a huge mistake buying this camera. I hope to be proven wrong.

0 upvotes
manas0210
By manas0210 (3 months ago)

optic do sucks.. you just have to work around it.

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (3 months ago)

It is HIGHLY unlikely that you would in fact have a problem with AF using the opt viewfinder with large aperature lenses - I used my camera along with 4 other 70D users on a Namibia/Botswana safari past the Caprivi and the results were great from all users - pin sharp results.
The review that you are referring to is questionable and Canon was unable to reproduce that single known example as stated by the reviewer. The camera is great and it is clear why it has canabalised 7D sales...

0 upvotes
bofa
By bofa (4 months ago)

by me it's great cam.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (4 months ago)

I am very sight limited and constantly use Voice Over on iPad to read words...if using NFC on 70D, connected to iPad, will Voice Over read data from what is shown on LCD.???

0 upvotes
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (4 months ago)

PLUS - VIDEO AF that works on a proper DSLR camera. CONS: A lack of commitment from Canon to produce a decent range of PRIME STM lenses to match.

0 upvotes
odyseus
By odyseus (4 months ago)

So can anyone tell me if the 70d is that much better in low light or at night than the 60d. Thanks.

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (2 months ago)

The camera has nothing to do with low light capability. Its all in the lense.

0 upvotes
microstudio
By microstudio (4 months ago)

I have 70d but the stm lens 18-135 is not very sharp , but the image quality is the same like ac130 pana

0 upvotes
touche56
By touche56 (5 months ago)

How is having the ability to take a still frame at the same video resolution during recording any different from just ripping the still frame of choice using a software program on my computer ?

0 upvotes
bionicsluggz
By bionicsluggz (5 months ago)

will CANON provide a camera to compare or beat the NIKON D800?

0 upvotes
Oceans Media
By Oceans Media (5 months ago)

You may want to put the Canon 6D in the comparison table and compare it to the Nikon D800. The results don't lie, the 6D beats the D800 from ISO 400 onwards.

4 upvotes
dannybgoode
By dannybgoode (3 months ago)

Its called the 5D Mk III

0 upvotes
ams qtr
By ams qtr (5 months ago)

the specs on this amazing camera is amazing but I'm very happy with my 7d because of the rugged build on the 7D

1 upvote
km25
By km25 (5 months ago)

Just an other thought. This camera should have option like the D800, no AA.

0 upvotes
AJorger
By AJorger (5 months ago)

One says that this camera is not good, who does not have the 70D.

Good AF
Good image quality
Good movable LCD
Good in low light iso
Fast enough
Good video autofocus
Good reading light
Small and ergonomic
What wanting more of a photographic camera? She does not shoot alone :-(
The rest has to be the photographer to do.
It's a great camera in all respects. Just missing making coffee :-)
I prefer this to my 5D MarkII

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
4 upvotes
bull detector
By bull detector (4 months ago)

I nearly got Canon 70d but there auto focus problem change my mind! Going for the nikon D7100 selling all my canon stuff.

1 upvote
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (3 months ago)

That would have been a mistake... the 70D is better and whatever you heard or might have experienced in terms of soft AF through the viewfinder, is user error, settings error or lens error....

0 upvotes
sambam007
By sambam007 (5 months ago)

Im pretty sure your camera's drive mode is in AI SERVO. change it to single shot

0 upvotes
Freddell
By Freddell (6 months ago)

Bought a 70D after many rave reviews like this one and for wanting a faster auto focus than my Fuji X100.

With the 18-135 Kit lens indoor shooting without flash is very difficult.
70D very bad high ISO capability compared to X100.

Bought a Sigma 18-35 1.8 to cure the low light performance and discovered to my absolute dismay now that the view finder auto focus is not capturing the right object, thus rendering the 18-35 1.8 useless indoors with its short focal length.

I would have trashed the 70D for a Nikon immediately if not for the touch screen. I feel that is immoral that no you tube review of 70d or Sigma 18-35 mentions that the auto focus of the 70d is useless rendering the lens meaningless.

4 upvotes
loph
By loph (6 months ago)

You are right.
It even fails to focus with the canon own lenses( 1.8 and 1.4 primes)
So basically this camera is mainly functional with the 18-135mm lens.
If you want to use a prime, then good luck.

1 upvote
AJorger
By AJorger (5 months ago)

This is not true. Almost all of these images were recorded between f1.6 and f1.8

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52865733

4 upvotes
Lawrencew
By Lawrencew (5 months ago)

Can you not use AF micro adjustment to fix the Sigma issue?

2 upvotes
ebbo
By ebbo (5 months ago)

Re focus issues - The way I choose my first DSLR some years ago was to try all the cameras I was interested in, all together, in the same shop. The only camera that hit focus instantly, every time, was the Canon 350D. I've still got that camera.

0 upvotes
srados
By srados (5 months ago)

I do not know what is the problem.If you are doing sports photography or shooting turtles walking.I always set high ISO and bang bang bang, things are in focus.It is all about settings...

2 upvotes
naththo
By naththo (4 months ago)

Either human error, or just a troll bash against 70D, or faulty camera. Take your pick, if you pick 2nd, then sucks in your just jealous about Canon 70D.

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (3 months ago)

The problem you are describing could be as a result of so many variable settings, it is highly unlikely that the camera itself is the cause - you should fix the focal point on the camera and then shoot to confirm that the lens delivers sharp pictures on this camera, which it will. You also have to consider the light meteting / evaluation setting - shooting indoors in low light with contrasting backdrops will almost definitely draw the AF to the background if you're shooting in evaluative metering as opposed to partial metering. Bottom line - I've not observed what you're describing even when I try to replicatd that problem...

0 upvotes
km25
By km25 (6 months ago)

This looks like a nice camera. Comparing this to a Nikon 7100, that 24MP is too high in MP, that 20MP gives a better balance in a APS-C sensor in noise to MP. The images look better at ISO 800 and above in 70D. That is over all.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Bill T.
By Bill T. (6 months ago)

I was handed a 70D to shoot videos at an art reception. The autofocus is nothing short of amazing! Almost no hunting at all, it hit the mark every time, and when somebody walked into the scene at a closer distance the focus pull was decisive and smooth. It's at least as good as most professional camcorders, especially in the way it arbitrates where to put the focus. And the video noise around iso 1600 is very unobstrusive.

This is the go-to DSLR for party videos. I'm not going to give up my D800, but I may pick up a 70D for people & events videos.

2 upvotes
jaydubbs15
By jaydubbs15 (6 months ago)

Does water and dust resistant mean that it can be used reliably in the rain like the Olympus OMD EM1?

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (3 months ago)

No.

0 upvotes
Dave Packer
By Dave Packer (6 months ago)

I'm so excited about this camera from Canon. Autofocus in video mode to allow fusion of shooting stills and video,is the way forward.

0 upvotes
CC48
By CC48 (6 months ago)

DPReview states in the SPECS that there is NO Image Stabilization. Is that correct? In other publications, there are references that there IS Image Stabilization.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (6 months ago)

Canon does not build the IS into the bodies, it is in some of their lenses including this kit's lens.

Comment edited 44 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
davidg2020
By davidg2020 (6 months ago)

I think you're being quite charitable when you talk about the DOF preview button (i.e. you're not huge fans). I have a 6D which has the same position and it is woeful ergonomics. it's not "too bad" in the landscape orientation but disastrous in the portrait orientation.
Canon... don't ever do this again!

0 upvotes
purest
By purest (6 months ago)

I just go a 6D also, and was quite confused with this button. At first I couldn't find it! Then once I did I couldn't work out what hand position would make it possible to press.
Having said this - its not a button that I need much.

0 upvotes
Roadrunnerdeluxe
By Roadrunnerdeluxe (6 months ago)

Judging by the low DxO Mark sensor score of 68, and the "pro" list above, I have to assume this camera rides to a gold award as gadget stuffed wifi box, not so much as a camera?

7 upvotes
DYoda
By DYoda (3 months ago)

I hope there's more to it than that.

0 upvotes
Dougbm_2
By Dougbm_2 (7 months ago)

DP review mentions the 360º rotation of the mode dial but don't say if the lock is as per the 60d. ie if it HAS to be unlocked or if it can be set to lock or not - ie do we have a choice?
Also the rear multi-controller - is it better or worse than the 60D (which was not very good).
One of the main turnoffs of the 60D was the loud and cheap shutter sound. It is probably the same mechanism as the 50D but I think the light plastic body made it sound worse.
I actually reverted to the 50D as I preferred the handling.
This 70D looks to have better shadow noise and hi ISO, better af and better movie af but will it still have the traits of the 60D that I didn't like eg unpleasant shutter sound and clumsy rear multi-controller and awkward Mode dial.
Also I see it has the ISO button in the middle (as per 60D) not the end where it is easy to find (as per 50D).

1 upvote
red queen
By red queen (7 months ago)

i got my self on of these not long ago. looks like fun a great addition to my analogue cameras,its been working like a charm and in comparison with the nikon 5200 and 5300 i kinda like this one..

but ive been wondering how to setup my web service on my camera it keeps telling me it is not available in my country is their a way to change that setting

0 upvotes
Richt2000
By Richt2000 (7 months ago)

Looks like Canon finally have progressed technology futher than just tweaking AF and raising mp and noise handling.

Interesting that you can select AF point and fire the shutter using the screen in live view mode. Much like mirrorless cameras have been doing for a few years now.

As an ex-wedding photographer, changing the AF point with the joystick whilst looking through the optical viewfinder was pretty quick and something I got used to. However shooting by 'touching people's eyes' on a touch screen is sooo much quicker.

I would guess that DSLRs will either go all EVF or dual Optical/EVF in the next few years. As the evf resolution improves, and jello effect illiminated, there is little advantage of the optical viewfinder.

Bring back canon's eye tracking af point selection 21st centuary I say!

1 upvote
Gesture
By Gesture (7 months ago)

What a better value/approach if one is buying an older model: Say, get the 50D or a more recent but not latest in the Rebel Series, say T4i. Thanks.

0 upvotes
JadedGamer
By JadedGamer (7 months ago)

Depends: The 50D has no articulated screen, wi-fi or video and has a far older processing engine. But it is decent enough (I kept mine around after getting the 5D mk III so that I had a crop sensor body for the occasions when that is advantageous).

0 upvotes
Picturenaut
By Picturenaut (6 months ago)

The 50D is technically quite outdated, its not only the lack of video but noise performance isn't top of the notch. That said, the 50D is a tough, reliable workhorse in a rugged body that still can produce very nice images. Sold mine to friends, and they are very happy with it.

Btw magic lantern offers a video hack for the 50D. The only drawback is that you need an external audio recorder...

Comment edited 54 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Bowest
By Bowest (6 months ago)

T4i apparently has some issues which is why they quickly dropped it and came out with the T5.. Don't know what the issues were but bad enough to drop it pretty fast.

0 upvotes
SaulMDetofsky
By SaulMDetofsky (7 months ago)

It's not the camera, it's the person behind the camera.

5 upvotes
iBrick
By iBrick (7 months ago)

I know, right? I have a pinhole camera I made myself that can put this to shame.

6 upvotes
purest
By purest (6 months ago)

I don't even need a camera.
I create amazing pictures with pure skill alone.

-no one can see the pictures, but just knowing that they are the best is enough for me.

5 upvotes
RobertSigmund
By RobertSigmund (5 months ago)

A real gienius needs no camera, and Eddy Merckx would have won the TdF even on a Swiss Army Bicyde!

0 upvotes
Isoruku
By Isoruku (5 months ago)

So Saul, I assume you will never read DP Review again, is that right?

0 upvotes
DYoda
By DYoda (3 months ago)

And the film Saul!
Where the hell do you put the film in this thing!

0 upvotes
Total comments: 623
1234