Previous page Next page

Canon EOS 70D review samples

There are also 61 images in the preview samples gallery. Please do not reproduce any of these images on a website or any newsletter / magazine without prior permission (see our copyright page). We make the originals available for private users to download to their own machines for personal examination or printing (in conjunction with this review), we do so in good faith, please don't abuse it.

Unless otherwise noted images taken with no particular settings at full resolution. Because our review images are now hosted on the 'galleries' section of dpreview.com, you can enjoy all of the new galleries functionality when browsing these samples.

Canon EOS 70D review gallery

34 images • published October 31st 2013 • View album
Sample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photo

There are also 61 images in the preview samples gallery. Please do not reproduce any of these images on a website or any newsletter / magazine without prior permission (see our copyright page). We make the originals available for private users to download to their own machines for personal examination or printing (in conjunction with this review), we do so in good faith, please don't abuse it.

Unless otherwise noted images taken with no particular settings at full resolution. Because our review images are now hosted on the 'galleries' section of dpreview.com, you can enjoy all of the new galleries functionality when browsing these samples.

- - Note that the preview samples are from a 'Beta' Canon EOS 70D. They are close enough to production to publish but may not perfectly represent final image quality. - -

Canon EOS 70D Beta preview samples gallery

49 images • published August 6th 2013 • View album
Sample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photo
Previous page Next page

Comments

Total comments: 637
12345
aipshah
By aipshah (1 week ago)

Can any one help me choosing a better camera between Nikon D7100 and Canon EOS 70D other suggestions are also welcomed in same range.

0 upvotes
dan341
By dan341 (1 week ago)

Well, it's kind of like buying a Toyota Camry or Honda Accord. They're comparable and either will get the job done. Both Nikon and Canon have have their followings. Look for features that you think you'll use: wireless, gps, video autofocus... (because image quality and lens selection are pretty much the same) Right now the most interesting lenses are being made by sigma, and the only camera body that stands out as being different is the sony a7.

1 upvote
sjp711
By sjp711 (4 weeks ago)

What I'm wanting is a nice but non-expensive everyday lens that will allow me to take pictures of my active 1yr old, indoor events, outdoor adventures, candids and family portraits. A second lens to give me that "bokeh" effect that I love shooting and the 3rd lens to have some fun with, like the fisheye effect.

0 upvotes
vlab
By vlab (3 weeks ago)

get 15-85 Canon

0 upvotes
sjp711
By sjp711 (4 weeks ago)

Other than the lens that comes in the kit, what is a good walk-around lens for the 70D? Something I will use during everyday life and during photo shoots? I have a 1yr old daughter who I also love taking candids of. Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!

0 upvotes
vlab
By vlab (3 weeks ago)

Canon 15-85, spend two weeks in Thailand, carried all fancy stuff befind my back, gues what? 100% saved shots - 15-85!

0 upvotes
mquinn64
By mquinn64 (1 week ago)

Hi vlab - the photos you took with your 15-85 lens were they good quality lens quiet and focus quick. I am heading off on a trip to NYC, Washington, LA, Vegas, San Fran and Whistler - do you think I would just use this one. Photos of sights and family

0 upvotes
Iwan33
By Iwan33 (4 days ago)

I use 70d with EF-S 17-55 IS USM, this is a natural match (good size and balance and very good IQ), especially for people photography. You can use the lens also for video since it has IS, although in quite places you can hear the USM a bit.

0 upvotes
davidfmunn
By davidfmunn (4 weeks ago)

Would Canon like to respond to WHY there is no GPS functionality in such a quality mid-range camera? How disappointing to find that they have omitted, what should be a simple inclusion, in this camera. Makes the Map function in Lightroom 5 obsolete!!

Comment edited 25 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
karl46
By karl46 (1 month ago)

Upgraded from 350d and probably expecting too much of that ?
Because , after using it for a couple of months, I have more than one problem with this camera:
- some lenses I have give very poor results, the 28-135 f3.5-5.6 IS is the best example, sometimes I have to put the IS OFF to get a decent result
- red eyes all over when using the internal flash
- burst rate slows down after use of the camera for some time, so much that for about 15 seconds, taking another pîcture is impossible, awful when shooting a show
- in auto mode: flash sync jumps to 1/30 most of the time, there really was nothing wrong with the 1/60 on the 350d
- also in auto mode: focusing & metering was better in the 350d, I've started using that camera again for some things

I also found out that:
- the bulk lens 18-55 that came with the 350d performs well and shows the potential of the 70d
- tested the Canon 18-135 bulk lens of a friend, clearly better results than the 28-135 (price is about the same)

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 11 minutes after posting
1 upvote
dan341
By dan341 (1 week ago)

Just wanted to point out a couple things that you might not be considering. #1 your resolution more than doubled so you're going to see the imperfections in your lenses a lot more on the 70D. The 28-135mm is honestly a terrible lens. Pick a focal length that you like and buy a more specialized lens with a larger maximum aperture. For example the canon 50mm 1.8 costs around $100 and will blow your mind with image quality compared that terrible lens. #2 99.9% of the time when you're having write speed issues it's because of your memory cards. Look up the manufacturers max write speed for a card in MB/S. Then check your file sizes x frame rate and you'll have an idea how much data you need to write per second not to fill your buffer.

0 upvotes
lakel4444
By lakel4444 (2 months ago)

Hello. I'm a teenager looking to upgrade from my samsung nx300. Would the Canon EOS 70d be a good option for a first-dslr? Or should I go with another camera/brand.

Thanks

0 upvotes
andrehk
By andrehk (1 month ago)

you can pick sony a6000.. a better camera overall than 70d

0 upvotes
1611KJB
By 1611KJB (1 month ago)

Hello lake4444, I'm not sure why "camera people" talk so much, say so little, fight so much and never answer a question. In any event, the 70D is an excellent mid-level DLSR camera. It is certainly not an entry level model and it certainly is not a professional model, so it sits nicely in the middle of the range. I beginner can take spectacular shots using it, there is a huge amount of learning you can do with this camera and anything less than a career in photography will see you never require another camera - it make take you quite awhile to learn everything it does, and many years beyond that to master the controls, but you can take excellent pictures right out of the box. This is Canon's premiere video DSLR and you won't find better video capabilities anywhere. Don't let all the talk about "models" and waiting for the "next" one throw you off - there is no end to the models. When I first entered into DSLR photography, I went to buy a Rebel Ti, found a 2Ti and 3Ti was out in 1 week

1 upvote
ConnieE
By ConnieE (3 months ago)

Hello, just my two cents worth. I own a 5dMarkII but wanted a cheaper alternative for distance so I bought the 70d. I was waiting on the 7D replacement but there was a special deal of no tax (plus I had a trade in). Anyway, I bought the 70d.

Pros- I love the touch screen! The number of focus points over my 5DMarkII are wonderful.

Cons- I feel the noise at higher ISO is much more prevalent than in my MarKII.

I wish I had waiting on the 7D replacement. I must say I am a bit disappointed.

Comment edited 38 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Sir Canon
By Sir Canon (2 months ago)

cut the 70d some slack, the 5dII is full frame.

0 upvotes
andrehk
By andrehk (1 month ago)

full frame is mile better than dx / cropped sensor camera

0 upvotes
Donie
By Donie (3 months ago)

Help...
Is this video telling the truth?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cA6JnzYSDJE

has anyone tried it comparing the center af point OVF vs liveview on a fast lens?

0 upvotes
Cowboy59
By Cowboy59 (3 months ago)

Hi Donnie. Yes he is. I ordered a new Canon 70D the first week of May, prior to seeing this video. Once I saw the video I was concerned and decided to run my own test using my 16-35 f2.8 canon lens. I mounted the camera on a tripod and took a picture using the center focus through the viewfinder and 1 using the LCD. The results were noticeably different. In truth my understanding is that in everyday use most folks would never have an issue. I did not want to deal with the issue and decided to spend more money and get a full frame 6D, which has had the price reduced. So I was glad to be notified of the issue. Also, I rarely shoot video so the 6D ultimately was a better choice for me. You can see the difference in the two pictures I took at

https://plus.google.com/112234290451465240825/posts/BScy5CBkUB2

1 upvote
Liomar Marques Jlio
By Liomar Marques Jlio (2 months ago)

The 6D was better for video??

0 upvotes
Liomar Marques Jlio
By Liomar Marques Jlio (2 months ago)

Well, this yes and no. He complains that microadjustment "should always work". In my experience, it varies a lot with focal distance.
And to focus on a thing on the same plane, well, that was the kind of scene were contrast detection would to better.
And honestly, I could not see a difference in most of the pictures.
but the best way to confirm: try it. As he said, it is not easy to reproduce, so will be hard to confirm, or meet on real life.
It's personal, but I wouldn't defer a purchase based on that video.
And as for most cameras, takin' it in your hands is way better to choose than read all reviews.

1 upvote
bidgee
By bidgee (3 months ago)

Hi I am upgrading from a Canon EOS 550D and I was using a EYE-FI card with this camera, will the 16 Eye fi card work with EOS 70D

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

@sevoman
So far, the xxD line has consistently shown these advantages over the Rebel range (also known as the xxxD range):
- bigger build with better handling and weather sealing
- aluminium chassis, combined with plastic (a benefit often ignored because it's wrongly considered inferior to magnesium allow)
- expanded AF zones with more points being cross type
- faster burst rates for continuous shooting (70D = 7fps)
- top LCD control panel combined with greater number of external controls and switches
- and will usually sport features which the xxD range inherit from the xD range, in the case of the 70D it is built in WiFi as featured in the 6D.
In the case of the 70D, it offers all of the above vs the 700D and sports a new higher resolution sensor with improved AF performance in Live View and in Video.
You can also add in-camera aberration correction for 40 Canon lenses at a time (using EOS Utility) where the camera will correct for vignetting and colour fringing

Comment edited 29 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
sevoman
By sevoman (4 months ago)

Thanks! Since the eventual t6i would be coming out after the current 70D, would the t6i have less AF points or possibly not have the dual pixel tech? I am assuming since it's coming out after the 70d they woiuld include the some of these essential features.

0 upvotes
tinpanalley
By tinpanalley (4 months ago)

Essentially, imagewise in video, the 70D and 7D have the same sensor and image quality, right? So you don't gain anything other than a negligible amount of megapixels in photos?

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

How do you figure that the sensors on the 7D (18MP) and 70D (20MP) are the same for video? Especially since the 70D uses dual pixel technology, which is an inherent feature of the actual sensor?
That is why the 70D is so much better at AF in Live View and Video. As such, the image quality, if considered across the duration of a video clip, is better for the 70D because more of it is in focus...
The 7D would only be better all-round if it came down to handling, AF zones and ruggedness.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
sevoman
By sevoman (4 months ago)

Quick question regarding the 70D. I want to purchase this but I am wondering what the eventual T6i would offer over and above the 70D. I am not sure how the "Ti" line and the xxD lines compare and if the xxD models are always better than the Ti lines? I checked the 60D vs T5i and the 60D seemed to be better. Can anyone explain these different classes of Canon cameras? Thanks in advance!

0 upvotes
Banhmi
By Banhmi (3 months ago)

most critical issue will be whether the new t6i/750d will get the 70D's autofocus system.

1 upvote
Jostian
By Jostian (4 months ago)

for video 70D definitely, I recently got the 7D (I dont do video at all) and preferred the pro grade build and additional AF options.

0 upvotes
MAUROSHINE
By MAUROSHINE (4 months ago)

Hey guys!, any advise? I'm more video fanatic than photography. Which one will be better for video, the 7D or the 70D?
I really appreciate your comments!!

Thanks!!!

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

70D, no doubt about that....

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

Also, unless you are already invested in Canon lenses, for video you should look at mirrorless options, especially the Olympus and Panasonic options.

0 upvotes
cshafiey
By cshafiey (4 months ago)

I have a Canon 40D, with sensor issues, which will cost around $250 to fix. I would also like to play around with video, even though stills are my bread and butter. Would you suggest upgrading to a 70D or what should I do?

I am a student (not in photography), so its a big decision in terms of the money.

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

If you're already invested in Canon lenses, the 70D would be the logical choice from a 40D.
You should also look at the 700D, which is not as fast as the 70D on AF in live view or video, and which is more compact, but which delivers great stills and has it's own relatively good hybrid AF system for video. It also boasts articulated LCD with touchscreen.
If you dont have any Canon lenses other than the kit lens you got with your 40D, you could afford to look really wide and could even consider the Nikon D5300...
Happy snapping!

0 upvotes
Vmo9
By Vmo9 (4 months ago)

I owned this camera for a few months, then sold it. I was hoping for a higher burst rate, better time to write, and faster auto focus. Perhaps looking for the updated Canon 7D, which I now patiently wait for.

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

Faster than 7.5 fps in jpg...?
Only option is the 7D at 8 fps or you'll have to skip to 1Dx...
Similarly, this is as deep as it gets on burst shots in this category.
Unless you're referring to RAW, and even then you're out of options.
It may be that your AF experience is as a result of the glass you paired with the camera because the AF can not get any faster on my camera even if I wanted when I use any of my EF(L) lenses or even the kit lens (18-135 STM).
And that goes for the optical viewfinder as well as live view.
But, you have to trust your system and if it did not work for you, it's better to do what you did and change.
Happy snapping!

0 upvotes
JMKPHOTOGRAPHY
By JMKPHOTOGRAPHY (3 months ago)

What were your settings...what mode were you shooting in and what card do you own???

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (4 months ago)

Coudy. So why are you so concerned about wifi on you DSLR. If you want to send them to someone just take the pics with your phone. The picture quality will be about the same because the are compressed to be sent from you phone. Buying a camera with this option is a waste of money and the wifi rarely works well. Anytime you send something through wifi you lose data and therefore quality. Canon and nikon use the wifi thing as a sales gimic because they no longer build good cameras. Most amateurs don't understand this. Kind of like the megapixel thing. The human eye cannot tell the difference between 10 mp and 20 mp. Its a sales ploy. I use an older Nikon D90 ar 10 mp that will out perform any of the new cameras. Of course you need a good lense. Not one of the cheapies that come in a kit.

1 upvote
garryjames
By garryjames (4 months ago)

Dear RickC452: I find WiFi very useful for nature photography. I set up my Canon 6D camera on a tripod near a bird's nest. Retreat to a blind, watch the camera image on my iPad and activate the shuttle when the scene is right. I've got a few prizes for images taken in this way. As for the number of pixels, more pixels allows you to crop down while maintaining image quality. Also more pixels allows for larger prints. I find I can print larger sizes and get "image snap" that i couldn't get with my older 8 and 10 meg sensors. One wants to print images at 200 dpi if possible to maintain snap while viewing prints within a 3' to 5' range. a 20 megapixel sensor will allow prints up to 18" x 27" under these criteria.

3 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

Your opinion on this is factually incorrect.
The picture taken by the DSLR will have benefitted from zoom, image stabilisation, enhanced jpg processing, improved low light performance - things a cell phone camera cant do. And the picture is not as badly compressed as you make out when sent to a smartphone.
I think you are really missing the point.
Apparently you have a Pentax and a Nikon D90 which you consider adequate if not superior, really no need for you to troll the 70D page only to bash it.
The wifi option also gives you full remote control over the 70D so as to remotely adjust and actuate it - that's hardly a gimmick...

3 upvotes
PazinBoise
By PazinBoise (4 months ago)

While Wi-Fi is not a necessity for everyone you act as if it is completely pointless. More and more pros (and amateurs too) are using the wi-fi features that cameras offer for quick uploads and remote shooting. Again it is not a feature everyone will need or use, but it is helpful. Just like having more megapixels. In most cases 10mp is adequate as but with 20mp (assuming the sensor is the same size) you have the ability to resolve more detail and crop photos a lot more while maintaining higher levels of detail. Again for most practical shooting this isn't really needed but for some shooters the extra MPs are worth it. Judging from your comments you don't seem to be one who embraces new technologies too often.

1 upvote
Coudy
By Coudy (3 months ago)

Just realized that EOS app transfer photos to smartphone stripping any EXIF information from the photo. Wanted to sync GPS with my camera's time (for GEOSetter) and I had to take the SD card out in to the computer to read exif date digitized instead of just check time difference using smartphone and EOS app. dont understand why would wifi transfer remove all EXIF information from a photo!!

0 upvotes
Coudy
By Coudy (4 months ago)

Sharing photos using smartphone and EOS remote app issues.
Can anyone help me find the solution for this? Here is the deal.
I am out in the woods with only mobile network available for internet access.
I am connected to my smartphone using wifi with my Canon 70D.
Now everything works as long as I don't try to send the image directly or indirectly using apps like whatsapp, skype, email right away.

Android phones have priority for wifi over mobile networks, while in most cases that is desirable, it is not in the case of sharing photos while wifi is on but isn't connected to internet AND mobile data connection is.
So you are stuck with downloading your photos to your smartphone, disconnecting from the camera and sending using mobile data connection once wifi isnt connected. Why the heck is there the option for sharing in EOS remote app? For other scenarios??

Did I miss some option how to have canon 70D wifi connected and still be on the internet using mobile data (SIM card)??

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

In essence, yes - you would have to download to your phone and then share.
The limitation of not being able to simultaneously run data on wifi and 3G/LTE (GSM), is a phone problem.
The Samsung S5 and Note3 can do so but not all Android devices can - a general rule of thumb is that phones with the ability to tether data from a GSM signal to a WiFi signal ('hotspot') should be able to run data side by side on GSM and WiFi.
I have no problem using my Note3 to share pictures directly from the EOS App on an internet based platform while being connected to the camera on WiFi.
PS, some Android devices will disconnect Mobile Data when you activate WiFi and you have to then manually switch Mobile Data back on while on WiFi - make sure your device is not doing this, especially if you are using certain Sony or LG devices.

Comment edited 9 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (4 months ago)

RickC452 is right. Unless you are a photojournalist one seldom send photos taken by a DSLR so much in a hurry. Just use a smartphone for casual shots. I almost never send any DSLR quality photos by wifi. Photos taken by a DSLR should be treated more seriously. They may need more post-processing and later down sizing before they qualify to be sent out by wifi or shared by other means.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
drigomf
By drigomf (4 months ago)

The characteristic of having more megapixels is more an advantage for those who need this resource. You should take into account the destination of the material beyond the digital medium. If a photographer clicks a scene destined to fill the space of the side of a building with an ad, it definitely has to be taken into account when shooting with more megapixels. Basic thing.

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (4 months ago)

One more thing. The pentax has in camera stableization not in the lens like canon and Nikon. That's what makes it work so well with older lenses. Canon and Nikon don't want you using older lenses. They want you money.

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (4 months ago)

non stabilized lenses can work nicely on Canon. A lens without IS is not useless. A non IS lens does not become invalid when a new IS lens in same range shows up.
In some applications IS actually have no use.

2 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (4 months ago)

The only thing the Pentax doesn't have is an external mic port. But no body in their right mind does pro video work with a DSLR anyway. And you can get it a wild assortment of colors. Check it out, use one and you will also dump canon and Nikon like I did.

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (4 months ago)

many pros are actually making film with dslr.

2 upvotes
Mohsensh
By Mohsensh (4 months ago)

I'm a director and I have taken such great video shots with 5DII and 7D. Many pro people use this cameras for filming

1 upvote
RickC452
By RickC452 (4 months ago)

Your all missing out on the best camera out there in their in the mid price range. The Pentax K 50. Better than both the canon and the Nikon and cheaper. I switched because both canons and nikons are getting cheap in their builds. And the pentax can use any pentax lense ever made. I'm using a 135 mm f2.0 from the 80s with awsome results.

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (4 months ago)

nice for you. But this is a Canon camera review. Both Nikon and Canon have larger range of cameras and going more to the high end than pentax does with their K-mount.

1 upvote
bull detector
By bull detector (4 months ago)

So the 70d is out for 10mnths and i would like to know have the auto focus problems been sorted out or are we still have serious problems!!!!!? well just asking!

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (4 months ago)

What problem are you referring to?

0 upvotes
Donie
By Donie (3 months ago)

he's referring to the AF problem when using the center AF point on the ovf?
See this video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cA6JnzYSDJE

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (5 months ago)

Awesome camera - the best mid sized DSLR available today and sorry, but better than the Nikon D7100.
They both take great pictures but the Canon is in another league when it comes to handling - the touchscreen, the wifi option using the EOS App on a smartphone... great!
The wifi was super simple to setup - the app allows remote trigger, exposure setting, ISO/aperture setting and focus area setting and screen mirroring (with camera in live view ). The creative options are endless!
I've shot about 500 pictures with a Sigma 50-150mm, f/2.8 EX APO DC HSM lens and the AF is pin sharp in stills whether you use the opt viewfinder, or live view or video. You can of course fine tune AF on the 70D if necessary but I didn't need to.
I love this camera, the balance between size, handling, features, performance and price point is great. Get it!

1 upvote
marc petzold
By marc petzold (5 months ago)

better than D7100? what are you smoking? plastique build, instead of a mag-alloy case like the D7100, one SD Card Slot, instead of 2 on the D7100. AA Filter - the D7100 doesn't have it, and last but least: check out DxOMark, the D70 is just another iteration with the same in terms of IQ...now with phase detection, but apart this, always the same IQ since virtually the EOS 550D.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (5 months ago)

LoL - I suppose we can go round and round - 70D has articulated LCD with touch screen (including touch directed focus point), 7 fps with greater buffer and the video functionality is overall of much greater performance.
Not true that 70D is plastic - it's aluminium chasis with dust and moisture seals.
I agree that dual card slots would have been nice but it's just that - nice. It's greatest use is perhaps dedicating the one to video and the other to stills, or RAW and JPEG - but that's not a big deal.
The Nikon has a slight edge in terms of stills and dynamic range, the Canon has the edge in terms of video and handling (did I mention the creative options provided by wifi such as remote trigger??)
Another thing that I dont like with the D7100 is the vertical battery grip - 1 battery goes in the camera and the other in the grip magazine which means you have to remove the grip to charge the battery in the camera. The Canon takes both in the magazine (which was also true for the Nikon D90, but for some reason they changed it). I suppose you could consider a 3rd party grip...
Horses for courses I guess!

1 upvote
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (5 months ago)

Another great site for reviews had this to say on the 70D vs D7100:
http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_EOS_70D/verdict.shtml

One can't go wrong either way and it boils down to the lenses you've invested in. Happy snapping!

1 upvote
bull detector
By bull detector (4 months ago)

Every where on line the 70d have serious auto focus problems!!! After 10 months canon should have sort it out

2 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (4 months ago)

But not better than the Pentax K50

0 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (4 months ago)

DSLRs are system cameras. The "best" camera is from the system you are most familiar with and has invested the most lenses. Most professional sports or event photographers would swear by the Canon 1DX but if a newbie get his hand on one he would most likely be baffled. His first reaction would be why it is so heavy and "complicated".

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
1 upvote
bertwert
By bertwert (5 months ago)

I wish I had this camera...
I guess I will settle with the SL1 when I buy it.
:-(

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (4 months ago)

But the Pentax K50 instead. You won't be sorry

0 upvotes
focuscz
By focuscz (5 months ago)

What basic problem with noise at EOS 70D is, that high ISOs changed white ballance strongly and every picture differently... http://www.canonklub.cz/clanky/canon-eos-70d-kompletni-test-sumu-180-fotografii?page=0,1

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (5 months ago)

What WB mode did you use?

0 upvotes
manas0210
By manas0210 (5 months ago)

live view shooting is more accurate than the optics.

0 upvotes
Mazyar camera
By Mazyar camera (5 months ago)

Hey guys is this device have a autofocus problem?

0 upvotes
Centauro1974
By Centauro1974 (5 months ago)

Have you guys with the 70D are having focus issues through the viewfinder, specially when using wide apertures from f1.2 - 2.8.
I been getting a lot of soft pictures, but I thought it was me. Now a few days ago I watch this video and now I'm not so sure.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cA6JnzYSDJE

0 upvotes
jddphotographydsm
By jddphotographydsm (5 months ago)

So far, so good! been shooting sporting events, weddings, and seniors with my 70D, 15-50 2.8, 50 1.8, and 70-200 2.8. Beautiful work, and I love the touch screen & wifi built in. Full manual control via smartphone is brilliant!

3 upvotes
Amin M
By Amin M (5 months ago)

nice

0 upvotes
DYoda
By DYoda (5 months ago)

After reading the optic review, I fear I made a huge mistake buying this camera. I hope to be proven wrong.

0 upvotes
manas0210
By manas0210 (5 months ago)

optic do sucks.. you just have to work around it.

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (5 months ago)

It is HIGHLY unlikely that you would in fact have a problem with AF using the opt viewfinder with large aperature lenses - I used my camera along with 4 other 70D users on a Namibia/Botswana safari past the Caprivi and the results were great from all users - pin sharp results.
The review that you are referring to is questionable and Canon was unable to reproduce that single known example as stated by the reviewer. The camera is great and it is clear why it has canabalised 7D sales...

0 upvotes
bofa
By bofa (6 months ago)

by me it's great cam.

0 upvotes
Galbertson
By Galbertson (6 months ago)

I am very sight limited and constantly use Voice Over on iPad to read words...if using NFC on 70D, connected to iPad, will Voice Over read data from what is shown on LCD.???

0 upvotes
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (6 months ago)

PLUS - VIDEO AF that works on a proper DSLR camera. CONS: A lack of commitment from Canon to produce a decent range of PRIME STM lenses to match.

0 upvotes
odyseus
By odyseus (6 months ago)

So can anyone tell me if the 70d is that much better in low light or at night than the 60d. Thanks.

0 upvotes
RickC452
By RickC452 (4 months ago)

The camera has nothing to do with low light capability. Its all in the lense.

0 upvotes
microstudio
By microstudio (6 months ago)

I have 70d but the stm lens 18-135 is not very sharp , but the image quality is the same like ac130 pana

0 upvotes
touche56
By touche56 (7 months ago)

How is having the ability to take a still frame at the same video resolution during recording any different from just ripping the still frame of choice using a software program on my computer ?

0 upvotes
bionicsluggz
By bionicsluggz (7 months ago)

will CANON provide a camera to compare or beat the NIKON D800?

0 upvotes
Oceans Media
By Oceans Media (7 months ago)

You may want to put the Canon 6D in the comparison table and compare it to the Nikon D800. The results don't lie, the 6D beats the D800 from ISO 400 onwards.

4 upvotes
dannybgoode
By dannybgoode (5 months ago)

Its called the 5D Mk III

0 upvotes
ams qtr
By ams qtr (7 months ago)

the specs on this amazing camera is amazing but I'm very happy with my 7d because of the rugged build on the 7D

1 upvote
km25
By km25 (7 months ago)

Just an other thought. This camera should have option like the D800, no AA.

0 upvotes
AJorger
By AJorger (7 months ago)

One says that this camera is not good, who does not have the 70D.

Good AF
Good image quality
Good movable LCD
Good in low light iso
Fast enough
Good video autofocus
Good reading light
Small and ergonomic
What wanting more of a photographic camera? She does not shoot alone :-(
The rest has to be the photographer to do.
It's a great camera in all respects. Just missing making coffee :-)
I prefer this to my 5D MarkII

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
4 upvotes
bull detector
By bull detector (6 months ago)

I nearly got Canon 70d but there auto focus problem change my mind! Going for the nikon D7100 selling all my canon stuff.

1 upvote
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (5 months ago)

That would have been a mistake... the 70D is better and whatever you heard or might have experienced in terms of soft AF through the viewfinder, is user error, settings error or lens error....

0 upvotes
sambam007
By sambam007 (7 months ago)

Im pretty sure your camera's drive mode is in AI SERVO. change it to single shot

0 upvotes
Freddell
By Freddell (8 months ago)

Bought a 70D after many rave reviews like this one and for wanting a faster auto focus than my Fuji X100.

With the 18-135 Kit lens indoor shooting without flash is very difficult.
70D very bad high ISO capability compared to X100.

Bought a Sigma 18-35 1.8 to cure the low light performance and discovered to my absolute dismay now that the view finder auto focus is not capturing the right object, thus rendering the 18-35 1.8 useless indoors with its short focal length.

I would have trashed the 70D for a Nikon immediately if not for the touch screen. I feel that is immoral that no you tube review of 70d or Sigma 18-35 mentions that the auto focus of the 70d is useless rendering the lens meaningless.

4 upvotes
loph
By loph (8 months ago)

You are right.
It even fails to focus with the canon own lenses( 1.8 and 1.4 primes)
So basically this camera is mainly functional with the 18-135mm lens.
If you want to use a prime, then good luck.

1 upvote
AJorger
By AJorger (7 months ago)

This is not true. Almost all of these images were recorded between f1.6 and f1.8

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52865733

4 upvotes
Lawrencew
By Lawrencew (7 months ago)

Can you not use AF micro adjustment to fix the Sigma issue?

2 upvotes
ebbo
By ebbo (7 months ago)

Re focus issues - The way I choose my first DSLR some years ago was to try all the cameras I was interested in, all together, in the same shop. The only camera that hit focus instantly, every time, was the Canon 350D. I've still got that camera.

0 upvotes
srados
By srados (7 months ago)

I do not know what is the problem.If you are doing sports photography or shooting turtles walking.I always set high ISO and bang bang bang, things are in focus.It is all about settings...

2 upvotes
naththo
By naththo (6 months ago)

Either human error, or just a troll bash against 70D, or faulty camera. Take your pick, if you pick 2nd, then sucks in your just jealous about Canon 70D.

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (5 months ago)

The problem you are describing could be as a result of so many variable settings, it is highly unlikely that the camera itself is the cause - you should fix the focal point on the camera and then shoot to confirm that the lens delivers sharp pictures on this camera, which it will. You also have to consider the light meteting / evaluation setting - shooting indoors in low light with contrasting backdrops will almost definitely draw the AF to the background if you're shooting in evaluative metering as opposed to partial metering. Bottom line - I've not observed what you're describing even when I try to replicatd that problem...

0 upvotes
km25
By km25 (8 months ago)

This looks like a nice camera. Comparing this to a Nikon 7100, that 24MP is too high in MP, that 20MP gives a better balance in a APS-C sensor in noise to MP. The images look better at ISO 800 and above in 70D. That is over all.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Bill T.
By Bill T. (8 months ago)

I was handed a 70D to shoot videos at an art reception. The autofocus is nothing short of amazing! Almost no hunting at all, it hit the mark every time, and when somebody walked into the scene at a closer distance the focus pull was decisive and smooth. It's at least as good as most professional camcorders, especially in the way it arbitrates where to put the focus. And the video noise around iso 1600 is very unobstrusive.

This is the go-to DSLR for party videos. I'm not going to give up my D800, but I may pick up a 70D for people & events videos.

2 upvotes
jaydubbs15
By jaydubbs15 (8 months ago)

Does water and dust resistant mean that it can be used reliably in the rain like the Olympus OMD EM1?

0 upvotes
HG South Africa
By HG South Africa (5 months ago)

No.

0 upvotes
Dave Packer
By Dave Packer (8 months ago)

I'm so excited about this camera from Canon. Autofocus in video mode to allow fusion of shooting stills and video,is the way forward.

0 upvotes
CC48
By CC48 (8 months ago)

DPReview states in the SPECS that there is NO Image Stabilization. Is that correct? In other publications, there are references that there IS Image Stabilization.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (8 months ago)

Canon does not build the IS into the bodies, it is in some of their lenses including this kit's lens.

Comment edited 44 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
davidg2020
By davidg2020 (8 months ago)

I think you're being quite charitable when you talk about the DOF preview button (i.e. you're not huge fans). I have a 6D which has the same position and it is woeful ergonomics. it's not "too bad" in the landscape orientation but disastrous in the portrait orientation.
Canon... don't ever do this again!

0 upvotes
purest
By purest (8 months ago)

I just go a 6D also, and was quite confused with this button. At first I couldn't find it! Then once I did I couldn't work out what hand position would make it possible to press.
Having said this - its not a button that I need much.

0 upvotes
Roadrunnerdeluxe
By Roadrunnerdeluxe (8 months ago)

Judging by the low DxO Mark sensor score of 68, and the "pro" list above, I have to assume this camera rides to a gold award as gadget stuffed wifi box, not so much as a camera?

7 upvotes
DYoda
By DYoda (5 months ago)

I hope there's more to it than that.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 637
12345