Previous page Next page

Studio scene comparison (Raw)

This is our standard studio scene comparison shot taken from exactly the same tripod position. Lighting: daylight simulation, >98% CRI. Crops are 100%. Ambient temperature was approximately 22°C (~72°F).

For a (more) level playing field for comparison we also shot our studio scene in Raw mode with each camera and converted it using Adobe Camera Raw. Because Adobe Camera Raw applies different levels of sharpening to different cameras (this confirmed) we use the following workflow for these conversions:

  • Load Raw file into Adobe Camera Raw (Auto mode disabled)
  • Set Sharpness to 0 (all other settings default)
  • Open file to Photoshop
  • Apply an Unsharp mask: 100%, Radius 0.6, Threshold 0
  • Save as a JPEG quality 11 for display and download.

Note: this page features our new interactive studio shot comparison widget. Click here to find out more.

Previous page Next page
193
I own it
38
I want it
17
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 13
RyanBoston
By RyanBoston (2 months ago)

How is it that the 550D scores higher than this camera? Even in the compare to score section, raw scores higher on the 550D. I find it weird that a camera 3 generations newer scores worst.

My girlfriend sold her 550D and wants a new touchscreen Canon, but it feels like the quality has not moved ahead in years.

0 upvotes
Nien
By Nien (3 weeks ago)

The score, as you can see by the review, takes into account not just the performance of the gear itself but also it's performance when compared to the others in the same range, below and above.

So, when 550D was launched for example, its features were, overall, considered better than average in a way that it scored a gold award of 77%.

This model however, has shown many good features too but a few (irrelevant for me) not so good features when compared to average.

Yet, 77% to a 76% in my opinion, in this case, is a absolutely irrelevant difference.

Its a good camera.

0 upvotes
Kishore Pratap Sanghvi
By Kishore Pratap Sanghvi (5 months ago)

I am graduating from a bridge camera to a DSLR. Have been a hobby photographer for many years primarily doing landscape photography but I do it only when on a vacation that would be twice a year. I was a little confused whether to buy a Canon 700D or a Nikon D5300. I have always used Canon cameras before and after going thru many reviews comparing the two cameras I am not wiser. I also understand that once one buys a DSLR one continues to buy cameras of that family so that it can save money on lenses. Assuming that the quality of photos is not much different in the two cameras is the touch screen in 700D so useful that I should buy a Canon or the WIFI-GPS so important in the Nikon. As there anything else that help me decide between the two. Your advice would be most helpful.Tx. You can reply directly on my mail - drkpsanghvi@gmail.com

0 upvotes
ravi pratap
By ravi pratap (5 months ago)

since u have been using canon , it is better to go for 700d as u r familiar with canon system and picture style and may have canon lenses with you. i find canon 700d is nice cam with cleaner sharper image with better color than nikon.

0 upvotes
zdenek nostalgig
By zdenek nostalgig (5 months ago)

Nikon always have bean a crap for landscapes...I mean in case we talking about cheaper model DSLRs. Nikons green color is absolute joke and ISO stuck ....stay with canon...Nikon is great for moving objects r portraits...but as a landscape photographer I will never ever go for Nikon unless I can buy D4.

0 upvotes
ravi pratap
By ravi pratap (6 months ago)

canon 600d or 700d ?
i have been carefully seeing 1000s of photos taken by 600d and 700d on flickr and other review sites including this top cam site, in review images 600d looks better on most parameters notably sharpness and color but on flickr photos 600d pix looks a bit less sharp to 700d pix which is more evident on night landscapes shots.
Especially a few shots on 700d plus canon 18-135 of hongkong night landscape is very sharp with great color...which none of nikon, sony or pantex match...i m in dilemma , can the 600d with 18-135 canon match 700d?
experts are requested to clear the doubt, thanks!

0 upvotes
tophy42
By tophy42 (6 months ago)

its very great camera and the new design is beautiful
my bro buy one yesterday and till this moment never stopped shooting

Really great product

0 upvotes
Neo111
By Neo111 (10 months ago)

An outstanding review as usual. I just wish camera makers would let cameras be cameras and camcorders be camcorders. All I want is a camera. Take away the video mode gubbins and we would see a big drop in price. I can buy a pocket camcorder if I need urgent video. Why stick it in a camera at all? Better buffers could be included and also better features by knocking out the video stuff. Well, that's what I think anyway.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
rinkos
By rinkos (10 months ago)

blah blah blah ..cannon stays cannon ..all the new shiny freaks will rush on buying a camera that is basically the same as the one they had 3 years ago .
no true innovation from cannon for a long while now .

just for once i wish they would atleast try to innovate something new

2 upvotes
Dave Smith Trelawnyd
By Dave Smith Trelawnyd (10 months ago)

A nice camera that replaced my 600D after it ingested yellow steam on a volcano!
The camera does everything I ask of it including astro photography, and the touch screen is used far more than I thought it would be, all in all an excellent camera.

0 upvotes
Pepe Le Pew
By Pepe Le Pew (Sep 27, 2013)

The Rebel series are getting worse and worse every year

3 upvotes
PDBreach
By PDBreach (10 months ago)

How so? This is an upgrade..

0 upvotes
cor ela d obe x6Ps6
By cor ela d obe x6Ps6 (9 months ago)

@pepe... then, what is the best DSLR?

1 upvote
Total comments: 13