Previous page Next page

Wi-Fi connectivity

One feature of the Canon EOS 6D that can be easily overlooked on the spec sheet, but pays practical dividends in real-world use is its Wi-Fi capability. The EOS 6D is the first DSLR to provide this connectivity as a built-in feature, without the need for additional external accessories. The camera's internal Wi-Fi transmitter supports 802.11b/g/n standards and, according to Canon, has a transmission range of up to 30m/98.4 ft. Be aware that movie mode is disabled when Wi-Fi is active on the camera.

With Wi-Fi enabled on the EOS 6D, you can transfer images to a compatible Canon camera, send them to a Wi-Fi enabled printer or media player or upload them to the Canon iMage Gateway web service (free registration required) which provides 10GB of online media storage and sharing options for social media. You can also send 1920 x 1280px images to a smartphone or tablet.

EOS Remote (Android/iOS)

The feature of interest to most owners is undoubtedly the ability to connect wirelessly to your smartphone or tablet. The EOS 6D can be configured as either the access point, to which your mobile device connects, or to join an existing wireless network. You can create up to three 'networks' (you can name them whatever you want), allowing you to connect to one device in three different ways (for example directly, and over two different Wi-Fi networks) or connect the 6D directly to three different devices (but only one at a time) or any combination thereof - i.e., two devices and one network, two networks and one device... etc.

If you're just pairing the 6D with one device, by setting up different networks you can switch pretty seamlessly between using the camera-generated network out in the field, to a connection based on the wireless router inside your studio just by selecting a different camera profile when Wi-Fi is enabled. When you do this, your mobile device can make the Wi-Fi connection to the now-known network. And when connected to your mobile device, the Wi-Fi connection is maintained even when the camera goes into energy saver mode.

Canon provides EOS Remote, a free app on both iOS (shown here) and Android platforms that lets you control the camera remotely, view live view previews, review images you've taken and transfer still images from the camera.

Apple iPhone 5 owners should note that the app does not currently support the 16:9 screen ratio. This means that the app does not fill the screen when used with the latest iPhone, leaving top and bottom black borders. We've indicated those borders here in white, for visibility.

Geek factor aside, the great benefit of controlling your camera from your smartphone or tablet is, of course that you don't have to be directly behind the camera to take a picture, allowing you to set up the camera in positions from which it would otherwise be difficult to shoot. This can be invaluable for landscape and nature photographers who can now trigger their camera remotely with the added benefit of a live view preview and exposure control, with no wires or laptop necessary. All at no additional cost.

Live view

You can adjust Av/Tv, ISO and exposure compensation directly from the app. Tapping on the exposure compensation button, for example, brings up a slider that you drag to your desired value.

While in live view mode, Canon's EOS Remote app allows you to adjust three shooting parameters, all by touch. In aperture mode, you can adjust exposure compensation, ISO sensitivity and, of course, aperture. In shutter priority mode the shutter speed replaces aperture as an adjustable setting. And in manual exposure mode, you can adjust aperture, shutter speed and ISO sensitivity. The app's 'shutter button' defaults to the drive mode set on the camera, which means you can remotely trigger the camera in single, continuous (by pressing and holding) and self-timer modes. There's no 'Q' button though so you don't get the full control that would be possible with the camera in your hands.

Unfortunately, the live view image displayed on your mobile device is the same size as the one used on the 6D's rear LCD, so you don't gain an image viewing advantage with your phone or tablet's larger screen area and higher resolution.

One standout feature is tucked away in the app's preferences where you can enable a virtual AF button to acquire focus directly from your mobile device.

Once enabled in preferences, an AF button (highlighted in red) appears along with a focus confirmation rectangle inside the image area. Tap on the screen to position the focus point and then press and hold the AF button to acquire focus.

While you can zoom the live view preview on the camera's LCD to a 10x view, the smartphone app is limited to a 5x magnification, which you enable with a double-tap. Scrolling around the image in magnified view involves noticeable lag time, but helpfully, the focus box always re-orients itself to the center of the magnified view.

Image review and transfer

All images and video on the SD card can be reviewed using the EOS Remote app. It supports familiar smartphone gestures such as pinching, swiping and double-tapping to browse through images.

When reviewing images you can display an overlay with filename, capture date and exposure settings. You can also rate images with 1-5 stars (as you can through the camera's menu) that can be read by Canon's Digital Photo Professional software.

From the image review section of the app you can rate images stored on the SD card and email or save 1920 x 1280 S2 JPEG versions to your device's image gallery. These are handy, but not useful for critical image analysis since you can't get an accurate idea of focus accuracy from such small files.

Transferring full resolution JPEG images to the web is possible, but only from the camera itself. To do that you must first use Canon's EOS Utility software (supplied with the 6D) to configure a compatible web service like Canon's iMage Gateway, Facebook or Twitter with the 6D connected to a computer via USB. Once configured, you can then upload single or multiple images via Wi-Fi at either full size, S2 or S3 resolution settings.

Overall impressions, and battery life

Overall, the 6D's Wi-Fi functionality is excellent, and a genuine selling-point when it comes to differentiating this camera from Nikon's growing range of Wi-Fi compatible DSLRs which all require an external adapter. The EOS Remote App is effective (the connectivity is sensibly-implemented and reliable), but the interface and feature set seem a bit 'rough and ready' and we hope (expect) that it will be improved over time, via updates.

Inevitably though, the 6D's connectivity functionality does have an impact on battery life. When Wi-Fi is turned on (likewise GPS) the 6D's battery will drain noticeably over time. This doesn't only apply when you're actively using the camera - it also has an impact on battery life when the 6D enters sleep mode. If you're in the habit of leaving your DSLR to go into sleep mode rather than turning it off (as many photographers are) and Wi-Fi and GPS are turned off, the 6D's power management is the same as every other EOS DSLR. You can grab your camera days after putting it into sleep mode and your battery level will be effectively unchanged from the last time you used it.

If, however, you let the camera go to sleep with Wi-Fi/GPS enabled, the 6D will drain its battery during sleep, to the extent that if you leave the camera for a couple of days, you may well find the battery significantly drained, if not exhausted.

Previous page Next page
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Canon EOS 6D

Comments

Total comments: 31
futuretro
By futuretro (2 weeks ago)

The BIGGEST WORST thing Canon did with the 6D,
is the omission of a headphone jack.

It's just UNFORGIVABLE.

Anyone who is interested in the 6D,
will end up getting a 6D,
simply because they can't afford (or justify the price of) a 5D3.

So why would you give them a handicapped tool?!

0 upvotes
Ben in Black
By Ben in Black (1 week ago)

Call me old-fashioned, but I use an SLR to take photographs. The ability to shoot the odd video is merely a useful extra. I can understand the advantage of a headphone socket but it is hardly a deal-breaker for a still photographer.

0 upvotes
Zolton
By Zolton (1 week ago)

I use my 6D primarily for video, but I record proper sound with an external recorder and only use the camera recorded sound as back up or for synching.

If that is the worst thing you don't like about the camera - you must really like what it was designed for ;)

1 upvote
Zolton
By Zolton (1 week ago)

Additionally, the 6D uses exactly the same digi video processor as 5D3... so no I considered the 5D3 but couldn't justify the addition $k for no functional value given how I planned to use it.

0 upvotes
PRohmer
By PRohmer (3 weeks ago)

This rating of the 6D is weird to say the least. Almost every reviewer out there rated video capabilities of 6D as definitely better then Nikon d610. How on earth here it gets much lower video rating then d610?? Yet focusing is rated relatively high? What's going on? What am I missing?

Thank you.

0 upvotes
hdr
By hdr (3 weeks ago)

Does anyone know if the wi-fi on the 6D supports the Pictbridge printing interface? I'd love to get the camera if it does.
Thanks much.

0 upvotes
Ahgre
By Ahgre (1 month ago)

Only 22 comments on this popular review???

0 upvotes
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (1 month ago)

PLUS: Solid likeable camera with decent performance. CONS: That you know its the least they could get away with for the maximum money (roll on the MK2).

0 upvotes
Oceans Media
By Oceans Media (1 month ago)

I bought this camera 7 months ago and I absolutely love it for what I use it for. I live to shoot Lightning, astrophotography, long exposure etc. and the 6D shines beautifully due to its amazing low noise sensor up to ISO6400. The standard kit lens 24mm-105mm f4 L series is amazing. So sharp and accurate.

Where it lets me down is in the studio. In the field I manual focus everything, in the studio however I prefer to use autofocus at times. The autofocus on this camera sucks. Yes it can focus on the light of a full moon, but for everyday use it’s about 3 years behind the market. My guess is that the 6D came out after the 5dIII and Canon had to make sure that people still bought the 5dIII even though the 6D sensor is better in low light hands down. The 5DIII focus system is great!

With regards to the multiple exposure and HDR modes. Both are features that I think all serious SLR cameras should have moving forward. They are fantastic!

0 upvotes
l_d_allan
By l_d_allan (3 months ago)

> And as is Canon's wont, they have opted for the allure of familiarity and consistency

Am I living on a different planet? I have a 5d2, T3i/600d, and now a 6d. With just the 5d2, I got familiar enough with the user interface to work in the dark.

But the three cameras turn on/off differently. The LiveView works differently. The Mode PASM works different. Many controls are relocated. Magnify is different. Re-assign buttons is different, etc. etc. etc.

I get it that the UI has to change with fewer thumb wheels on the 600d, and missing the joy-stick on the 6d However, the on/off changes, Mode, etc. seem like poor choices.

I really didn't expect to have a re-learning curve from the 5d2 to the 6d. If I forget a head-lamp, it really slows me down at night.

Seems more like "change for the sake of change" rather than compelling improvement. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"

Am I the only whiner that feels this way?

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
siggo
By siggo (3 months ago)

Does the 6D lack an anti-aliassing filter?

0 upvotes
l_d_allan
By l_d_allan (3 months ago)

It has an anti-aliasing filter. AFAIK, I'm not aware of any Canon camera that doesn't have the AAF (aka OLPF?)

BTW: the reviews I read on the Nikon cameras is that lack of the AAF is over-rated. The 800e implementation seems like a joke ... pay more to have them put a compensating "something" over the existing AAF.

Seems kind of like a lens having a UV filter built-in, then paying to have an anti-UV filter on top of that ?

0 upvotes
Machinemad
By Machinemad (18 hours ago)

hahahaha! well said! @l_d_allan.

0 upvotes
tallguy600
By tallguy600 (3 months ago)

Used to own a D600, sold it, prefer the 6D by a margin and love the Wi-Fi implementation.
No clue about that DP review of the D600, I find it misleading as the D600 was clearly a camera released too hasty without proper quality control.
Using Lightroom 5, does everything I need, never touched the Canon software CD.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (3 months ago)

I have a very similar experience. Love my 6D and the Canon L lenses. Really enjoy how the Canon cameras capture the colors of nature. I was always fiddling with the greens on my Nikon images from both the D600 and D90 it replaced.

0 upvotes
westerner
By westerner (3 weeks ago)

You can fix the green tint with one click in the white balance menu...set one click towards magenta, and the green goes away. Forever. That's ridiculous to switch brands for that. Better yet, shoot RAW, and who cares what the white balance looks like? Fix it in post.

0 upvotes
cadby
By cadby (4 months ago)

Finally ready to make the jump to full frame after 8 years with Olympus DSLR's. After considerable research and gnashing of teeth I pulled the trigger on the 6D. I really wanted to go with the Nikon D 600 based on DP Review and various other reviews, based on features, output quality and MP, but the ongoing concerns over the sensor dust and oil spots and Nikons recalcitrant PR approach to these issues pushed me to the 6D. I just could not imagine investing $3k in full kit only to experience ongoing sensor issues. I am excited to experience the full frame format and take my amatuer photography to the next level.
How is Canon's photo management & editing software? Should I look into purchasing another package, and what does the forum recommend?

2 upvotes
Sten298
By Sten298 (3 months ago)

Fully agree with your comments! I was about to go to Nikon D600 but was so much disappointed with their no-customer (snob) oriented approach that eventually decided for the 6D. I couldn't be more satisfied for such a decision. I liked Nikon so much in the past (before digital era) they made so beautiful film cameras, but this is the past...the present looks different.
As for the software: I always shoot RAW and develop with Capture One and that's excellent for other cameras, particularly for Fuji X raw files, but for 6D RAW files I found out that Canon software (Digital Photo Professional) gives better results. The only drawback of DPP is that it is very slow.

3 upvotes
robogobo
By robogobo (4 months ago)

After a long deliberation, I decided to upgrade from my 5Dii to the 6D. Some may call it a sidegrade or even a downgrade, but for me, image quality is everything, and the ablity to focus and shoot in low light is paramount. I'm very happy with my decision, and so far I don't miss any of the 5D line features. I'm getting shots I wouldn't have gotten with the 5Dii (maybe not even with the mark iii), and most importantly I can afford to upgrade every one or two years with the current price point of the 6D rather than three or four with the 5D. I'd rather have more frequent updates of sensor technology instead of being left with a better built, feature packed but obsolete camera for the same money.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
LongerVogue
By LongerVogue (4 months ago)

Anyone tried eos 6d with 12mm lens. How is it?

0 upvotes
l_d_allan
By l_d_allan (3 months ago)

Well, it is ultra wide. What info are you looking for?

Sharpness? Vignetting? Which 12mm lens? Electrical connectivity? Focus speed?

0 upvotes
Ruud Wilschut
By Ruud Wilschut (4 months ago)

@ Alwynj:
The difference is more obvious when you look at the brown fibers right on top of the color chart with the lady's face. Also the black and white squares in the corners are a lot sharper with the Canon, but perhaps the used Canon lens performs better resolving detail in the corners than the Nikkor used with the D600 what might explain the difference in detail.

1 upvote
Alwynj
By Alwynj (4 months ago)

I don't understand DP Review. Compare the Canon 6d and Nikon D600 and they'll have you believe that the D600 edges ahead in the high ISO dept, but to my eyes the 6d wins when I use the comparative tool. Images appear slightly cleaner and sharper (in RAW). Move the box to the face of the lady and see for yourself

5 upvotes
l_d_allan
By l_d_allan (3 months ago)

Some of that may be because the comparison may be on a pixel vs pixel basis. A single Canon pixel may have lower noise than a single Nikon pixel, but there are many more Nikon pixels.

And I tend to get fuzzy when comparing crop cameras to full-frames. It can be "apples and oranges".

0 upvotes
Buck_Lovell
By Buck_Lovell (4 months ago)

Please quaitfy the autofouce performance in video mode....fast, medium, slow? Continuous autofocus is what I need....fats continuous....

0 upvotes
l_d_allan
By l_d_allan (3 months ago)

I am mostly ignorant about video and the 70d, so "consider the source". My impression is that the Canon 70d is the only Canon camera with decent auto-focus.

0 upvotes
MABurney
By MABurney (5 months ago)

"The EOS 6D is Canon's attempt to entice DSLR owners who are looking for the benefits of full frame shooting - including shallower depth of field and wider-angle lens coverage, but can't afford the EOS 5D Mark III."

". . . Canon's compromises have turned what could have a been a truly great camera into merely a very good one. "

This is interesting. Do we want 6D to be like the 5D Mark III? Then why not buy the $3,500.00 camera.

1 upvote
l_d_allan
By l_d_allan (3 months ago)

> then why not buy the $3,500.00 camera

Seems like you've answered your own question ... the 5d3 is a Lot More Expensive, especially if your photography equipment isn't a write-off.

0 upvotes
WillieG
By WillieG (1 month ago)

The 6D would never be considered a great camera compared to the 5DMk3. More than likely the compromises that make the 6D "merely a very good one" are those with respect to the D600.

1 upvote
Thomas Karlmann
By Thomas Karlmann (7 months ago)

DPR: Can you please insert a photo in ALL your reviews showing the AF sensor array? Thank you.

0 upvotes
Maddrew
By Maddrew (4 months ago)

Assuming we are looking into the camera's OVF horizontally, the vertical coverage of the 6D's sensor array is about 1/3 the height of the OVF, spreading from the centre AF point. The diamond shaped array is slightly wider, almost covering 2/3 the width of the EVF, but just almost. Shooting vertical portraits with extreme DOFs (like using the 50mm F1.2 L wide open) can be tricky, because the furthest points of the diamond AF array misses the subject's eyes (under normal compositions) a little too much. But to be fair, the 5D Mark III's high density AF array is not that much spread out either, especially when compared to Canon's APS-C EOS bodies.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Total comments: 31