Previous page Next page

Camera Menus

The menu system of the Canon EOS Rebel SL1 is pretty similar to other recent EOS DSLRs, and uses Canon's familiar layout whereby camera settings are separated across a series of sensibly ordered, color-coded tabs. The range of options is pretty extensive, offering a decent level of customizability for an entry-level DSLR.

This is the full, 11-tab menu as seen in P, Av, Tv, or M modes. Most of the other settings on the mode dial present a simplified sub-set of these tabs with fewer options available. When you change the power switch to Video mode, two video menu tabs replace the Live View tab, as shown below.

Shooting section (red)

The shooting menus provide access to image quality settings and adjustments. They are also context-sensitive, with different options provided depending on which shooting mode you're in. In the novice-oriented Auto and scene-based exposure modes you get a simplified sub-set of menus compared to P, Av, Tv and M modes. Switch to movie mode and two new tabs appear in the red shooting menu section. Attach an external flash and you gain an additional set of submenu options to control its output.

Option
Values / Actions
Notes
Shooting tab 1
Quality  • JPEG Large Fine
 • JPEG Large Normal
 • JPEG Medium Fine
 • JPEG Medium Normal
 • JPEG Small 1 Fine
 • JPEG Small 1 Normal
 • JPEG Small 2
 • JPEG Small 3
 • Raw+JPEG Large Fine
 • Raw
- JPEG Large = 5184 x 3456

- JPEG Medium = 3456 x 2304

- JPEG Small 1 = 2592 x 1728

- JPEG Small 2 = 1920 x 1280
- JPEG Small 3 = 720 x 480
- RAW = 5184 x 3456
Beep  • Enable
 • Touchscreen mute
 • Disable
Enables beep for AF confirmation and self timer. You can enable/disable beep for touchscreen operation only.

Drive/Self-timer mode

 

 • Single shooting
 • Continuous shooting
 • Silent single shooting
 • Silent continuous shooting
 • Self-timer: 10 sec/remote
 • Self-timer: 2 sec
 • Self-timer: continuous (2-10 sec)

 
Release shutter without card  • Enable
 • Disable
Allow shot to be taken without memory card inserted.
Image review  • Off
 • 2 sec
 • 4 sec
 • 8 sec
 • Hold
 

Lens aberration correction

 

 • Peripheral illum.
Enable
Disable
 • Chromatic aberration
Enable
Disable
Corrects vignetting and chromatic aberration depending on the attached lens.

Red-eye reduction

 • Enable
 • Disable
 
Shooting tab 2
Expo. comp./AEB  • +/–5 EV in 1/3 or 1/2 EV steps (C.Fn I-1)
 • Bracketing - 3 frames in up to 2EV steps.
Configures auto exposure compensation and bracketing.
Flash control  • Flash firing
Enable
Disable
 • E-TTL II meter
Evaluative
Average
 • Flash sync speed in Av mode
Auto
1/200-1/60 sec auto
1/200 sec (fixed)
• Built-in flash function setting
Flash mode
E-TTL II
Manual flash
Shutter sync
1st curtain
2nd curtain
Flash exposure compensation
+/– 2.0 EV
 • External flash function setting
Only with flash connected
 • External flash C.Fn setting
Only with flash connected
 • Clear flash settings
Clear built-in flash setting
Clear external flash setting
Only with compatible flash
Clear ext. flash C.Fn setting

Only with compatible flash
 
ISO Auto  • Max.: 400
 • Max.: 800
 • Max.: 1600
 • Max.: 3200
 • Max.: 6400
 
Auto Lighting Optimizer  • Off
 • Low
 • Standard
 • High
Press Info button to disable during manual exposure
White balance

 • AWB
 • Daylight
 • Shade
 • Cloudy
 • Tungsten
 • White fluorescent light
 • Flash
 • Custom

 
Custom WB • Set custom WB Select image for custom WB.
WB Shift / BKT  • Shift: B9–A9, M9–G9
 • Bracket: BA+/–3, MG+/–3
Configures WB shift and WB bracketing.
Shooting tab 3
Color space  • sRGB
 • Adobe RGB
 
Picture Style  • Picture Style
Auto
Standard
Portrait
Landscape
Neutral
Faithful
Monochrome
User Def. 1
User Def. 2
User Def. 3
 • Detail set
Sharpness (0-7)
Contrast (-4-+4)
Saturation (-4-+4)
Color tone (-4-+4)
Press Info button to access Detail Set mode
AF operation  • One shot
 • AI focus
 • AI servo
 
Metering mode  • Evaluative metering
 • Partial metering
 • Spot metering
 • Center-weighted average
 
Dust Delete Data  • Cancel
 • OK
 
Long exposure noise reduction  • Off
 • Auto
 • On
When enabled, NR is applied to exposures of 1 sec. or longer
High ISO speed NR  • Off
 • Low
 • Standard
 • High
 • Multi shot NR
In Multi shot mode, 4 successive images are captured and merged to average out noise. The camera must be set to a JPEG only mode.
Live view tab
Live View shoot.  • Enable
 • Disable
 
AF method  • + Tracking (face detect)
 • FlexiZone - Multi
 • FlexiZone - Single
 • Quick mode
Multi AF mode uses a 31 point AF area. Quick mode employs phase detect AF with live view disabled during focus acquisition
Continuous AF  • Enable
 • Disable
 
Touch Shutter  • Enable
 • Disable
Enable to release shutter by pressing the screen.
Grid display  • Off
 • Grid 1
 • Grid 2
 
 - Rule of Thirds Grid
 - 6x4 grid
Aspect ratio  • 3:2
 • 4:3
 • 16:9
 • 1:1
 
Metering timer  • 4 sec
 • 16 sec
 • 30 sec
 • 1 min
 • 10 min
 • 30 min
 

In movie mode, the live view tab is replaced by two movie-related tabs.

Option
Values / Actions
Notes
Movie tab 1
AF method  • + Tracking (face detect)
 • FlexiZone - Multi
 • FlexiZone - Single
Multi AF mode uses a 31 point AF area.
Movie Servo AF  • Enable
 • Disable
With movie servo enabled, lens operation may be audible
AF w/shutter button during movie rec.  • One shot
 • Disable
 
Grid display  • Off
 • Grid 1
 • Grid 2
 
 - Rule of Thirds Grid
 - 6x4 grid
Metering timer  • 4 sec
 • 16 sec
 • 30 sec
 • 1 min
 • 10 min
 • 30 min
 
Movie tab 2
Movie rec. size  • 1920 x 1080 (30/25fps)
 • 1920 x 1080 (24fps)
 • 1280 x 720 (60/50fps)
 • 640 x 480 (30/25fps)
Selects movie recording size and frame rate. Frame rates of 30/60fps are recorded in NTSC mode, 25/50fps in PAL.
Sound recording  • Sound recording
Auto
Manual
Disable
 • Rec. level (1-5)  
 • Wind filter
Disable
Enable
 • Attenuator
Disable
Enable

Sound recording levels are displayed underneath the settings.

Attenuator can be enabled to reduce distortion in very loud environments.

Video snapshot  • Enable
 • Disable
 • Snapshot length
2 sec. movie
4 sec. movie
8 sec. movie
 • Album settings
Create a new album
Cancel
OK
Add to existing album
Make selection
Short videos of pre-determined length can be saved and grouped into albums.

Picture Style

The Picture Styles are a range of pre-programmed image parameter sets intended to deliver the best results in different situations. Each Picture Style has its own preset mapping for tone and color response as well as providing the ability to tune sharpness, contrast, saturation and color tone for each. For instance the default sharpening for the Standard Picture Style is level 3, if you prefer a more subtle effect you can just adjust it downwards. Sharpness has 8 levels, contrast, saturation and color tone all have have 9 levels.

Playback Section (blue)

The playback menus is where you'll find controls for post-capture editing, image rating, slideshow operation and image navigation options.

Option
Values / Actions
Notes
Playback tab 1
Protect images
 • Select images
 • All images in folder
Select folder
 • Unprotect all images in folder
 • All images on card
Ok
Cancel
 • Unprotect all images on card
Protect mode, allows you to browse images either in a single image or thumbnail view and mark each image as protected (or un-protect). This simply sets the read-only flag on the SD card file system.
Rotate
(Left/Right to select image, SET to rotate) This option allows you to rotate an image on-screen by 90 or 270 degrees. It doesn't actually rotate the JPEG file, but marks its orientation.
Erase images
 • Select and erase images
 • All images in folder
Select folder
 • All images on card
OK
Cancel
 
Print order  • Select images
 • By folder
Mark all in folder
Clear all in folder
 • All images
 • Set up
Print type
Standard
Index
Both
Date
On
Off
File no.
On
Off
Allows you to create a DPOF print order file, for use with compatible printers or photo finishers.

Photobook Set-up  • Select images
 • All images in folder
Select folder
 • Clear all in folder
Select folder
 • All images on card
OK
Cancel
 • Clear all on card
OK
Cancel
Allows you to create an EOS Utility-compatible photobook.
Creative filters  • Grainy B/W
 • Soft focus
 • Fish-eye effect
 • Art Bold effect
 • Water Painting effect
 • Toy camera
 • Miniature
Press Set to access filter choices and then a second time to adjust individual filter settings
Resize  • M (8MP)
 • S1 (4.5MP)
 • S2 (2.5MP)
 • S3 (.03MP)


Playback tab 2
Cropping  • Select image, press 'set' to crop, adjust crop using onscreen controls.

Histogram disp  • Brightness
 • RGB
 
Image jump w/ main dial  • 1 image
 • 10 images
 • 100 images
 • Date
 • Folder
 • Movies
 • Stills
 • By Image Rating (1 star to 5 star)
 
Slide show  • Select files
All images
Date
Folder
Movies
Stills
Rating
 • Set up
Display time
1 sec
2 sec
3 sec
5 sec
10 sec
20 sec
Repeat
Enable
Disable
Transition Effect
Off
Slide in 1
Slide in 2
Fade 1
Fade 2
Fade 3
 • Background music
Only if music files are avail.
 • Start
 
Rating  • 0 - 5 stars  
Ctrl over HDMI  • Disable
 • Enable
Allows control of camera over HDMI using compatible remotes
Previous page Next page

Comments

Total comments: 43
fuxicek
By fuxicek (1 month ago)

Canon was able to make to body smaller but the lens is actually bigger, on the other side probably the greatest competitor Nikon D3300 is slightly bigger but still slightly smaller than Canon 700D and the new Nikon kit lens is collapsible, Nikon claims, the new D3300 is 30% smaller and 25% lighter body and lens combination compared with the D3200, so I assume the kit lens combo is smaller than Canon 100D....

side by side:

http://www.smashingcamera.com/2014/01/nikon-d3300-vs-canon-eos-rebel-sl1100d/

http://www.smashingcamera.com/2014/02/nikon-d3300-vs-canon-rebel-t5i/

0 upvotes
MikeFairbanks
By MikeFairbanks (3 months ago)

It's annoying how cameras and cars are often lacking a price tag ("too low to display"). Yes, I realize the manufacturer is causing this. So annoying. Some sites have you sign in and put it in your cart before knowing the price. This is a ridiculous practice that needs to end yesterday.

3 upvotes
neurotic1too
By neurotic1too (3 months ago)

Hi,
I hope you can assist, as I am having difficulty finding this information elsewhere. I am looking at purchasing a non-canon flash for my rebel sl1/100D, as the canon flashes are rather pricey for my budget. I see that you state the internal flash does not accommodate a wireless flash, yet canon makes one for this camera. I am looking at a Yongnuo YN-560 III Wireless Flash Speedlite on Ebay.

Thank you,
Diane

0 upvotes
Bill Bentley
By Bill Bentley (3 months ago)

Hi Diane. The reviewer was referring to the ability to trigger "off camera" speedlights using the built-in flash (wireless) not that wireless flash units themselves wouldn't work with the camera. The Yongnuo flash you are looking at will work with this camera. I would encourage you to investigate working with the flash OFF the camera as much as possible though. I have the Yongnuo RF-603 C1 2.4GHz Wireless Flash Trigger/Wireless Shutter Release Transceiver Kit for Canon Rebel for this purpose. You can get it for about $30 on Amazon or eBay. It has worked great for me so far (1 year).

0 upvotes
IHarel
By IHarel (4 months ago)

Hi,
My Q is simple: Doe's the SL1 is compatible with the Canon EF 28-135mmf/3.5-5.6 IS USM lense ? Most times I need a swift focus, less on the video's. Wonder if it would be comfortable to handle with this lense?
Thanks in advance.
I

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Just Ed
By Just Ed (4 months ago)

I picked one up for general carry around use. Some of my photography is done outdoors in areas of Sacramento where carrying my three thousand dollar ff makes me nervous.

The SL1 looks less intimidating to people on the street and hopefully is less attractive to would be thugs.

Haven't had it long, but no major disappointments yet.

0 upvotes
jcburke
By jcburke (4 months ago)

Does the SL1 use the non-STM line of Canon APS-C lenses? I shoot with a 7D and have several very expensive Canon "L" USM lenses, and I'm not going to buy a Canon camera that requires I buy another set of glass.

0 upvotes
gatorowl
By gatorowl (4 months ago)

The SL1 is compatible with an EF (which includes "L" lenses) and EF-S lenses.

Thus, unless you have some very old lenses (30+ years or more), the SL1 can use it.

1 upvote
Phoebe Lee
By Phoebe Lee (4 months ago)

I think this camera is compatiblw with Canon RS-60E3 remote switch, but not so sure.

0 upvotes
Phoebe Lee
By Phoebe Lee (4 months ago)

Does this camera compatiblw with a wired remote switch´╝č

0 upvotes
SunshineSWE
By SunshineSWE (4 months ago)

Yes, it's RS-60E3 compatible

1 upvote
Shelle belle
By Shelle belle (5 months ago)

Hi, I just borrowed mt friends' sl1, but I can't open the raw files in my version of dpp, which came with my old 1000d. It also won't open in photoshop. So annoying. She said it didn't come with any editing software. Is that right? Which version of dpp do I need?
Thanks!

0 upvotes
Rob Bernhard
By Rob Bernhard (4 months ago)

Just get the latest version from Canon's website and install. You'll have no problem with any previous RAW files.

0 upvotes
Vfdtyler
By Vfdtyler (5 months ago)

Solid review. Should I go for this over the T3i? I've been seriously considering that camera based off some things I read on http://canonrebelt3ibundle.com/
Which camera is better?

0 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

I own a T3i, and I like the SL1/100D a little better, primarily for the Hybrid AF II, the quieter shutter sound, and the extreme portability, especially with the 40mm STM lens. You'll probably be happy with either, though.

0 upvotes
Muzzammil13
By Muzzammil13 (5 months ago)

should i care whether its a Rebel sl1 or a 100D? i mean in terms of what is written in front of the camera? or i just skip the fact and get a rebel sl1?

0 upvotes
PDBreach
By PDBreach (5 months ago)

Yes. If you live in the UK and purchase a "Rebel SL1" (the American version) then you won't be entitled to cash back. I think it also has implications on the warranty/repairs. If you live in the UK then buying the UK version (100D) is your best bet.

0 upvotes
Muzzammil13
By Muzzammil13 (5 months ago)

Check out ebay deals, you get one with a lens too :)

0 upvotes
X Faktor Photo
By X Faktor Photo (5 months ago)

get a body for <$500 on eBay nowadays.

0 upvotes
VizuaLegend
By VizuaLegend (5 months ago)

Im Looking Between The SL1 &The T3i When It Comes To Movie Making ... The T3i Seems To Lag A Bit When Panning And The SL1 Creates A Littlebit Of Moire...

0 upvotes
destritt
By destritt (7 months ago)

This looks like a great camera but I have Canon EOS Rebel T31 and absolutely love it. Alright, call me old fashion or old school but all those attachments associated with digital cameras scare me to death so a neighbor recommended the Canon EOS Rebel T3i as a good choice for a beginner photographer like me. There are so many brands and types of digital cameras in the market today that it is stressful for me to even think about buying one.
I did buy the Canon EOS Rebel T3i http://www.squidoo.com/canon-eos-canon-eos-rebel-t3i-camera-review-best-price but not without a lot of stress.

0 upvotes
VizuaLegend
By VizuaLegend (5 months ago)

Soo Tell Me W/ The T3i., Did You Experience Alot Of The Lagging IN The Video Recording As Stated In The Review!? How Is Video Recording Overall W/ Your T3i... Im Trying To Compare The SL1 W/ Your T3i Before Purchase...

0 upvotes
dweberphotography
By dweberphotography (7 months ago)

This camera really is tiny. Compared to Sony's a230, which was the smallest of its time, it is about the same size, but he SL1 can shoot 4fps compared to 2.5, and has a much bigger buffer, and has 18mp instead of 10.2, and has a touhscreen, etc.

I think this is a great camera for the size and pice.

0 upvotes
Dr Aref
By Dr Aref (7 months ago)

40mm 2.8 STM is a full frame lens and it become 64mm equivalent if we use it with EOS 100D. So you really cant use for street photography. It is really perplexing to me why Canon is not making any pancake lens for EFS, like M22mm F2 (equvalent to 35mm full frame) they made for EOS M. They can easily modify that lens to be used with 100D. The combined small form factor with any 24, 28 or 35mm equivalen pancake lens EFS will be a big selling boost for 100D and other Canon APC SLRs.

I think Canon should rethink in their lens line up strategy.

2 upvotes
LA1951
By LA1951 (4 months ago)

I strongly agree. I hold off buying SL1 because the 40mm pancake lens is just not very useful. I'd use SL1 with my wideroom lens but would like to take advantage of the small body with a small but good quality lens. A 24mm pancake would be ideal.

Hope other lens manufacturers take note of this as well.

0 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (4 months ago)

I think you answered you own question. The 40mm was designed as a compact lens alternative for full frame photographers.

0 upvotes
C M Greene
By C M Greene (8 months ago)

Despite what the review says the 40mm 2.8 STM (pancake) lens is an EF lens, not an EF-S lens. (at least when I last looked at mine)

Now as a result of Canon just announcing the 55-250 IS STM lens, Canon will have three EF-S STM lenses. But it did not when this review was written.

0 upvotes
CameraLabTester
By CameraLabTester (8 months ago)

The Multi Shot Noise Reduction is a real killer of a feature.

4 super fast frames merged into one image for a clean (noiseless) low light photo.

This feature is on the Fuji X series (the X10 has it) and now here on the 100D.

.

1 upvote
stews
By stews (6 months ago)

Multi Shot Noise Reduction sounds great, but even after setting the Quality to Large JPEG, that option is still greyed out. How the heck can you use it? Not that I usually shoot JPEG, but I'd be willing to try it out.

0 upvotes
Rmano
By Rmano (8 months ago)

The size is quite similar to my sony alpha 55. I was quite deceived when they decided to grow up the 57 and further models. Really don't know why. It's a great positive point in my opinion for this camera...
http://camerasize.com/compare/#448,238

Comment edited 34 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
MnTony
By MnTony (8 months ago)

I rented one of these in May to take on a short vacation rather than drag my much heavier camera along. I debated renting one of the mirrorless models, but this had just been announced and seemed like an interesting choice. I used it almost entirely with the 40mm pancake lens. It was terrific. Barely noticed it hanging around my neck. I owned an original Digital Rebel way back when - this kit is noticeably smaller and lighter. The touch screen really helps when you're used to a camera with lots of dedicated buttons.

There's more on my blog about it with a few shots. This was from the point of view of a photographer who shoots Manual or Av, so there's nothing about the picture modes. It's here: http://www.addrummimages.com/2013/05/19/new-orleans-and-the-canon-sl1/

For geeky info about size and weight, I did a follow-up post here: http://www.addrummimages.com/2013/05/25/canon-sl1-followup/

FWIW...
Tony

0 upvotes
Wimlex
By Wimlex (8 months ago)

Hi Yonsarh, I've been thinking the same! Back to film....But I don't think this will happen. The camera companies have spent so much in digital photgraphy. Even the "super-cameras" like Hasselblad did it. Although you still can buy Hasselblad cameras which use film....So, I don't know. I alwys loved to work in the dark room, developing my own films and print the pics myself. My tool; a Hasselblad EL/M, build in 1973, with a 100 mm Zeiss-lens. Big fun!!!!! We'll wait and see.. :-)

0 upvotes
yonsarh
By yonsarh (8 months ago)

No, in the future, the sensor price will so cheap that it will cost less than a dollar and camera image sensor will be used on everywhere. So we could expect end of digital photography and people will eventuallly come back to film again.

1 upvote
Pyrros
By Pyrros (9 months ago)

I wonder how it is that the Canon EOS Rebel SL1 has a DPreview Gold Award (an overall score of 78%), whereas the more sophisticated 60D has only managed a Silver Award in your Review (with an overall score of 79%)??!!

2 upvotes
Zmkis
By Zmkis (9 months ago)

If you haven't noticed 100D is entry level while 60D is mid level. DPreview warns that different categories scores are not directly comperable.

3 upvotes
Bill3R
By Bill3R (9 months ago)

I have noticed this too with other cameras and it doesn't make sense to me. Why don't you standardize your rating system.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
ArturoGars
By ArturoGars (8 months ago)

What is the meaning of the percentile and gold award anyway? I am trying to find the legend on the percentile and award but the explanations is nowhere.

Comment edited 47 seconds after posting
1 upvote
GeminiH
By GeminiH (9 months ago)

Its funny how this is considered a radical, minaturised design, yet its the same size as the 450D/500D was 4-5 years ago. The internal functions, pentaprism, sensor size have been similar all along.

The biggest change has been the flip screen. Who uses that regularly?

4 upvotes
Nichlas H
By Nichlas H (7 months ago)

I just upgraded from an EOS 400D to the 100D. The 100D *is* definitely a smaller camera.

Comment edited 15 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Keos
By Keos (4 months ago)

I agree with Nichlass is about of difference of about one and third grams.

But I didn't get it about focusing on low light. It seems problematic that it focus when flashing. Don't you think so ?

1 upvote
GeminiH
By GeminiH (9 months ago)

I'm trawling through to find out what AF points this has, apart from the hybrid sensor...

Any takers?

0 upvotes
bandkj7
By bandkj7 (8 months ago)

Same as Rebel T5i, T4i, T3i - 9-points.
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras/eos_rebel_sl1_18_55mm_is_stm_kit#Specifications

0 upvotes
Eurodynamica
By Eurodynamica (9 months ago)

>>>>>>Autofocusing with a USM or other lens in either mode is still difficult, however, and fraught with cumbersome seeking during video and long autofocus lag for stills <<<< Does that mean a Sigma 18-->200 zoom, for example??

0 upvotes
Total comments: 43