Previous page Next page

Sony SLT-A37 specifications

Price
MSRPBody + 18-55mm lens: $599.99/ €599/£530
Body type
Body typeCompact SLR
Sensor
Max resolution4912 x 3264
Other resolutions4912 x 2760, 3568 x 2368, 3568 x 2000, 2448 x 1624, 2448 x 1376
Image ratio w:h3:2, 16:9
Effective pixels16 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors17 megapixels
Sensor sizeAPS-C (23.5 x 15.6 mm)
Sensor typeCMOS
Color spacesRGB, Adobe RGB
Color filter arrayPrimary color filters
Image
ISOAuto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800, 25600
White balance presets6
Custom white balanceYes (1)
Image stabilizationSensor-shift
Uncompressed formatRAW
JPEG quality levelsFine, Normal
File format
  • RAW
  • RAW + JPEG
  • JPEG Fine
  • JPEG Standard
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Autofocus assist lampBuilt-in Flash type
Digital zoomYes (2x Clear Image Zoom)
Manual focusYes
Number of focus points15
Lens mountSony/Minolta Alpha
Focal length multiplier1.5×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCDTilting
Screen size2.6
Screen dots230,400
Touch screenNo
Live viewYes
Viewfinder typeElectronic
Viewfinder coverage100%
Viewfinder magnification1.09×
Viewfinder resolution1,440,000
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed30 sec
Maximum shutter speed1/4000 sec
Exposure modes
  • iAuto
  • Superior Auto
  • Program
  • Aperture Priority,
  • Shutter Priority
  • Manual
Scene modes
  • Portrait
  • Sports Action
  • Macro
  • Landscape
  • Sunset
  • Night view
  • Hand-held Twilight (6 shot layering)
  • Night Portrait
  • Picture Effect
Built-in flashYes (Pop-up)
Flash range12.00 m
External flashYes (Hot-shoe, Wireless)
Flash modesAuto, On, Off, Red-Eye, Slow Sync, High Speed Sync, Rear Curtain, Fill-in, Wireless
Flash X sync speed1/160 sec
Drive modes
  • Single Shot
  • Continuous (Hi/Lo)
  • Self-timer (10/2 sec. delay)
  • Bracketing (Cont., Single, White Balance), Remote Control (with optional RM-DSLR1)
Continuous drive6 fps
Self-timerYes (2 or 10 sec, 10 sec 3 or 5 images)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
Exposure compensation±3 (at 1/3 EV steps)
AE Bracketing (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 2/3 EV steps)
WB BracketingYes (3 frames, H/L selectable)
Videography features
Resolutions1920 x 1080 (60, 29.97 fps), 1440 x 1080 (30fps), 640 x 424 (29.97 fps)
FormatMPEG-4, AVCHD, H.264
Videography notes1080i60 or 24 on NTSC models
MicrophoneStereo
SpeakerMono
Storage
Storage typesSD/SDHC/SDXC/Memory Stick Pro Duo/ Pro-HG Duo
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMIYes (Mini Type C)
WirelessEye-Fi Connected
Remote controlYes (Optional)
Physical
Environmentally sealedNo
BatteryBattery Pack
Battery descriptionRechargeable NP-FW50 battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA)500
Weight (inc. batteries)506 g (1.12 lb / 17.85 oz)
Dimensions124 x 92 x 85 mm (4.88 x 3.62 x 3.35)
Other features
Orientation sensorYes
GPSNone
Previous page Next page
45
I own it
8
I want it
6
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 49
LuW
By LuW (6 months ago)

The a37 does not overheat. At least mine does not. I owned a a33 and I know what overheating is.

0 upvotes
newfiebella
By newfiebella (Jul 17, 2013)

Can someone please advise me on how to place my settings so I can take black and white photos ?

0 upvotes
David zzzzzzzzzz
By David zzzzzzzzzz (Jun 20, 2013)

I caution against this camera, have the A35 and am totally underwhelmed by the exposure and color balance. Autofocus is superb and speed is fine, just not happy with white balance.

0 upvotes
manishsharma0604
By manishsharma0604 (Feb 17, 2013)

Can we use external GPS with it?

0 upvotes
Fadhil Parewangi
By Fadhil Parewangi (Dec 2, 2012)

hey, I own this camera too.
well, I was in depth, I bought it 3 days ago.
I felt lucky to get a bonus like "ACC-FW1" and a 50mm f/1.8 SAM.
so far I think this camera is pretty good, and and instead chose A57, I can save $ 200 for an extra lens. Great Save!

0 upvotes
Sumedh Gudur
By Sumedh Gudur (Aug 30, 2012)

Got this thin from one of the store in Banglore(India), this has amazing features and much better performance than nikon D3200, canon 600D....Tried all of them live....most important is print quality....its amazing....!!!!go for it.....

0 upvotes
Francis Sawyer
By Francis Sawyer (Sep 9, 2012)

The camera has a printer built in?

4 upvotes
karlitoz
By karlitoz (Aug 23, 2012)

dpreview wont review this camera till 2013.... we are still waiting for the a57 review which was released in march.......sighhh

0 upvotes
Alfmeister
By Alfmeister (Jun 16, 2012)

I'm with you Swede. I ordered the first day Sony had it available on their site and I received it yesterday. All I can say is wow! It totally exceeds my expectations. I use the LCD screen for high or low shots and it's resolution is just fine. It's actually a better match to the original 3:2 aspect ratio. Today I shot with my Minolta 100 f2.8 macro and the results were stellar. The handgrip fits me like a glove and all of the controls are easy to access. I formally owned an A100 and so this is a big step up. Smaller is better!

1 upvote
Albert Ng
By Albert Ng (May 23, 2012)

Does the A37 really not support the RMT-DSLR1 infrared remote control? As I see in the specifications that one of the Drive modes supports the RMT-DSLR1. Also, there is a visible infrared window on the grip, below the shutter.

However, it may be possible for Sony to leave it out as they did with the NEX-3/C3/F3.

1 upvote
Sumedh Gudur
By Sumedh Gudur (Aug 30, 2012)

It does support that remote...I bought it...

1 upvote
sportbiker_kev
By sportbiker_kev (Nov 27, 2012)

It DOES NOT support that remote!!!! I bought the camera, and The Sony Store sold me that remote, and it DOES NOT work. Sony tech support verified this for me. It only supports the wired remote, which has a 5m long cord. NOT HAPPY!

1 upvote
mannyr
By mannyr (May 21, 2012)

But does it have overheating problems??
I had to sell my A33 because it would overheat after about 30 minutes of being continuously on - not even video, just stills.
No good when you are shooting a concert or performance for business.
If that's fixed, I would reconsider an SLT - very good camera except for that deal killer.

0 upvotes
CTaylorTX
By CTaylorTX (May 22, 2012)

Why were you using their entry-level camera for "business" in the first place? It was probably never designed to be used that way, and thus the overheating problem.

0 upvotes
twmcnulty
By twmcnulty (May 30, 2012)

"never designed to be used that way, and thus the overheating problem".What doest that statement mean? Taking pictures? I also own a A33, while it has many good features, The overheating is a definate drawback, especiality in video mode.
It also has a problem bringing up the image after a wait while shooting, have to turn off and on to get the image back in the viewfinder or live view, causing many problems. Have always been a Nikon user and I guess I have to return to Nikon.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
iHedo
By iHedo (May 31, 2012)

it should not overheat within 30mins of shooting pictures. even at entry level overheating is a troublesome, even when not used in business and concerts...why o why...

1 upvote
danjaria
By danjaria (Jun 7, 2012)

I think the overheating problem was fixed with the A-35, my A-35 does not overheat, I have used it to shoot concerts and weddings.

3 upvotes
kushal raj patnaik
By kushal raj patnaik (May 18, 2012)

hell! this model is so close to the sony slt a57!! gosh!
i was going to buy the a57, but here comes a37 which has again confused me to which model ii should buy!

evn the cost difference is a 100 bucks and the difference between their features is not worth the price change!

really!! sony, the a57 was a drastic change...but, yet another model!

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (May 18, 2012)

IMHO, A57 is SIGNIFICANTLY better camera. The diff is well-worth $200 if you ever going to shoot sports, for example.

0 upvotes
aliquis
By aliquis (May 19, 2012)

In what ways?

1 upvote
Donald B
By Donald B (May 18, 2012)

what is wrong with DPR cant you put the resolution of the Vf ? same as the g3 no figures. also would be nice if you could tell us weather the hdmi is playback only ? or live view !

don

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (May 18, 2012)

The database didn't have a category for viewfinder resolution. One has now been added. I shall look forward to populating it.

3 upvotes
CodySLC
By CodySLC (May 17, 2012)

Very disappointing. I was looking for an A55 replacement with focus peaking and electronic first curtain shutter but still in the awesome small sized body since A57 got much bigger vs A55. Too many downgrades here to consider it, though.

2 upvotes
Dodge_Rock
By Dodge_Rock (May 17, 2012)

Is it just me or do the sample images of auto portrait framing look washed out? Is this the best that could be produced for the preview?

0 upvotes
tkpenalty
By tkpenalty (May 17, 2012)

Sony, just how many bodies do we need?

2 upvotes
Wally626
By Wally626 (May 17, 2012)

4

5 upvotes
Babya
By Babya (May 17, 2012)

The A390' which I own has the same 230k res LCD as the just-announced A36 is 2.7" compared to 2.6" on A37, not too much of a difference and tilts just like the A33 and last entry-level OVF Alpha, my A390.

The grip design is A33 or A390 like, a nice change-with a small black strip part (a bit like my A390's grip-though that one accepts a RM-DSLR1 remote so the black strip for remote sensor is a larger).

Comment edited 10 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (May 17, 2012)

The screen aspect ratios are wrong for the A65 and A77 (and presumably A57). The A33/55/35 all had 16:9 screens, the newer SLTs are 4:3.

3 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (May 18, 2012)

You're absolutely right - I should have checked, rather than trusting the spec list I was given.

2 upvotes
kushal raj patnaik
By kushal raj patnaik (May 18, 2012)

for a57 it is 4:3

1 upvote
perry rhodan
By perry rhodan (Sep 9, 2012)

still incorrect figures for the screens. Come on Richard, takes a minute.
But thanks for the fast and nice previews! That's great!
regards perry

1 upvote
Jim in AZ
By Jim in AZ (May 17, 2012)

I like the A57 better :-)

5 upvotes
Rooru S
By Rooru S (May 17, 2012)

Sigh...7fps but with cropped picture? What the heck?! A33 and A35 were better. 2.6" screen? A33 and A35 were better, Although some will appreciate the tilting screen (although it tilts only, not swing)

Sony..you can do better.

2 upvotes
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (May 17, 2012)

It seems a good camera, the Sony sensors are good they have to make more lenses

0 upvotes
Rmano
By Rmano (May 17, 2012)

...and again, they did not change the crippled AE bracketing. I bought an A55 hoping they will fix such a stupid thing in firmware, but no... so if you like HDR, stay away.

0 upvotes
AmaturFotografer
By AmaturFotografer (May 17, 2012)

Doesn't A55 have built in HDR function?

0 upvotes
Marty4650
By Marty4650 (May 17, 2012)

Yes, it does.

0 upvotes
VipinJoshi
By VipinJoshi (May 17, 2012)

Finally, the Tilt LCD of A33 makes a comeback in the entry level model, the LCD Size & Resolution reduces though. Have been using the A57 for quite a while now and the low light High ISO JPEGs are mind boggling! They seem to outperform almost everything from Canon & Nikon, barring the Full Frames.

The icing on the cake is the SAM 18-135 bundle (across the range), making for a versatile kit at at amazing price. The (exceptional) EXMOR sensor finally gets a better lens to show its true colours (pun intended), as the 18-55 quality wasn't upto the sensor's potential.

Haven't been this surprised since i saw the Olympus OMD-E5 samples. The features set seems exactly the same as the (amazing) A57, which is a good thing. This one looks like a segment beater to me.

0 upvotes
tkpenalty
By tkpenalty (May 17, 2012)

wait what?

0 upvotes
tbcass
By tbcass (May 17, 2012)

What 18-135? I've heard rumors but nothing concrete.

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (May 17, 2012)

http://www.dpreview.com/news/2012/05/17/Sony-launches-SLT-A37-16MP-DSLR

0 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (May 17, 2012)

Great overview.

0 upvotes
ybizzle
By ybizzle (May 17, 2012)

What a downgrade from the 33 and 35 models...Come on Sony!

2 upvotes
ET2
By ET2 (May 17, 2012)

In the intro page's comparison, you list , "Continuous shooting rate (no AF)" That's not true. A77/A65/A57 all do continuous AF in 12//10/12 fps mode.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
3 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (May 17, 2012)

Sorry, I mis-described speed priority mode in the table. It's now been fixed. We're still waiting for clarification on the number of effective dots in the viewfinder - the specs on our page are consistent with the latest information provided by Sony.

0 upvotes
Richard Lewis Ireland
By Richard Lewis Ireland (May 17, 2012)

Any idea when the full review is going to be done on the sony a57 and this camera the a37 ?

0 upvotes
seachicken2000
By seachicken2000 (May 17, 2012)

The finder is 1.44M dots on the Japanese Sony website spec sheet.
http://www.sony.jp/ichigan/products/SLT-A37Y/spec.html

2 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (May 17, 2012)

We've seen a series of different specs from Sony on this. We're waiting for clarification.

0 upvotes
Bernie M
By Bernie M (Jul 5, 2012)

I was looking for the article to help me decide between a Sony A65 and a Nikon D5100. I will also include an additional prime and tele lens.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 49